728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Nail Guns & Collated Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Pneumatic Upholstery Stapler with 22-Gauge Upholstery Staples (3/8 in., 7/16 in., and 5/8 in.)

Pneumatic Upholstery Stapler with 22-Gauge Upholstery Staples (3/8 in., 7/16 in., and 5/8 in.)

Put your talent to use with this easy to use Surebonder Pneumatic Upholstery Stapler. This fine wire staple gun is ideal for upholstery, automotive vinyl and other fabric projects. There is no need to take your projects to others. You won't be disappointed with this gun.
Overall rating:
4.238 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product19 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(6)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product19 of 21reviews
Customer reviews for Pneumatic Upholstery Stapler with 22-Gauge Upholstery Staples (3/8 in., 7/16 in., and 5/8 in.)
Review 1 for Pneumatic Upholstery Stapler with 22-Gauge Upholstery Staples (3/8 in., 7/16 in., and 5/8 in.)

Upholstery stapler

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needed this to recover some bar stools and other furniture pieces. I loved that it came with three sizes of staples. Big time saver.
Took me a bit to figure out the trigger safety, but the thing works great. Some of the reviews mentioned problems, I had none. Works the way it should. Just take your time , don't try to work fast like a professional, and you'll get good results.
I love that it's small enough to fit comfortably in my hand, I have small hands.
I'm happy with my purchase.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pneumatic Upholstery Stapler with 22-Gauge Upholstery Staples (3/8 in., 7/16 in., and 5/8 in.)
from Long Island, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice tool and a Great buy

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This upholstery stapler is perfect for a DIY like me. What a terrific value - it even comes with an assortment of staples and a storage case (oh, and very clear instructions). Used it to upholster 4 kitchen chair seats. Hasn't jammed once. It isn't a rapid fire like some of the professional models but that's ok for me. No complaints. Go for it.
Pros: perfect for diy
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pneumatic Upholstery Stapler with 22-Gauge Upholstery Staples (3/8 in., 7/16 in., and 5/8 in.)

Has some issues but more reasonable price than others

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I ordered this product so that I could recover a couch. The job got done and I am pleased with the results. I did experience a couple of slight problems:
The "hammer" (the metal piece that actually pushes out the staples) should be oiled. The instruction manual said to oil the stapler daily but only indicated oiling at the air inlet. Once it got to the point that I was opening it up and pushing the "hammer" back into the retracted position after every single staple, I decided to oil that portion. I waited overnight and then shot the empty stapler into scrap wood about 20 times before using it again. It worked much better after that.
These staples break VERY easily. I got pretty frustrated pulling the 2000 or so existing staples out of my project, but most of them came out in their entirety. I would say that these Surebonder staples broke about 80% of the time. It made me more careful to not make mistakes, but when I did, it was really a pain. It will also definitely affect whether or not I will ever recover this couch again. I cannot imagine trying to pull out 2000 of the Surebonder staples.
On the positive side, this stapler is much cheaper than any alternative I found. This set from Home Depot came with lots of staples. I can probably get through one more project before I need more of the 3/8 inch staples. (I only used of few of the other sizes.) I did not experience any difficult jams. It is lightweight and easy to use.
I do recommend this product if you keep in mind to oil the hammer and you are ok with the fragility of the staples.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, quick
Cons: instructions are lacking, staples break easily upon removal
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pneumatic Upholstery Stapler with 22-Gauge Upholstery Staples (3/8 in., 7/16 in., and 5/8 in.)
from San Jose, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little stapler

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the first pneumatic tool that I have worked with. I read all of the instructions and paid particular attention to the "oiling". I have used this for several hours without any staples getting jammed!! Is very easy to handle and the tension setting is easy to use. Takes just seconds to reload. Very good value.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pneumatic Upholstery Stapler with 22-Gauge Upholstery Staples (3/8 in., 7/16 in., and 5/8 in.)
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product failed miserably. Could not finish my project.

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the stapler to re-upholster 4 dining room chairs. The stapler worked as I expected until after I finished the first chair. Air started to escape from the top of the stapler gun. By the time I started working on the second chair, air spewed from the gun. The seal was broken and the gun would not engage again. My project ended. I have 3 dining room chairs unfinished. I had to order another gun from Home Depot because they do not have fine wire stapler guns you can purchase in the store. I ordered the Professional Fine Wire Stapler for $29.99 that others have rated as a 4 star product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pneumatic Upholstery Stapler with 22-Gauge Upholstery Staples (3/8 in., 7/16 in., and 5/8 in.)
from Baltimore, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Buy!

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Came with lots of staples, 3 different sizes. Easy to operate. Works great!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pneumatic Upholstery Stapler with 22-Gauge Upholstery Staples (3/8 in., 7/16 in., and 5/8 in.)
from Turkey, NC 28393, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I Love It!

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my first upholstery stapler. I was very impressed with it's ease of operation. Great price for this product!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pneumatic Upholstery Stapler with 22-Gauge Upholstery Staples (3/8 in., 7/16 in., and 5/8 in.)

Great Stapler

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great stapler I bought it to recover vinyl seats and this worked flawlessly. No jams... none and I shot probably 1000 staples. But what I did after reading some reviews was I put about 5 drops of oil in air connector and also 1-2 drops on staple slide. Then "dry" shot the stapler using no staples about 20 times. Then loaded it w/staples and went to work I also oiled it a drop here and there. No problems. If this ever breaks I would just buy another one...It’s just that good
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Strong, Light Weight
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pneumatic Upholstery Stapler with 22-Gauge Upholstery Staples (3/8 in., 7/16 in., and 5/8 in.)

This product works well for upholstering chairs.

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The stapling gun was purchased for upholstering chairs. It works well most of the time, but had a couple if issues. The piece that holds in the staples is easily knocked loose and the staples fall out sometimes. Also the tool will fail to staple frequently, and requires the user to release the safety mechanism before proceeding. Overall, it does a good job for the price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Cons: prone to jamming, staples fall out easily
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pneumatic Upholstery Stapler with 22-Gauge Upholstery Staples (3/8 in., 7/16 in., and 5/8 in.)
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

poor quality

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Stapler began to jam almost immediately. no more than ten staples into the project, the stapler began to jam and misfire. This is the worst air tool that I have ever owned
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pneumatic Upholstery Stapler with 22-Gauge Upholstery Staples (3/8 in., 7/16 in., and 5/8 in.)
from deep south
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent at such a low price

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've only used it once so far and it worked perfectly. Loaded super easy, not a single jam, staples all seated exactly flat. My use is only for occasional small upholstery jobs, and so far it has made me very glad I choose this gun at this low price rather than something 3 times as expensive. Kudos.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, great price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pneumatic Upholstery Stapler with 22-Gauge Upholstery Staples (3/8 in., 7/16 in., and 5/8 in.)
from Lafayette, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Nice Stapler at a GREAT Price

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The gun works great no jams and sinks the staples further with less air pressure.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pneumatic Upholstery Stapler with 22-Gauge Upholstery Staples (3/8 in., 7/16 in., and 5/8 in.)

Great tool for the price

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've only used this stapler once, but it did a great job. I'm not sure how it would hold up for everyday use, but for a few jobs it is well worth it.
Pros: affordable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pneumatic Upholstery Stapler with 22-Gauge Upholstery Staples (3/8 in., 7/16 in., and 5/8 in.)
from Chubbuck, ID 83202, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Value

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this to recover chair cushions. It performed well--no jams or misfires, Great performance for a reasonable price.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pneumatic Upholstery Stapler with 22-Gauge Upholstery Staples (3/8 in., 7/16 in., and 5/8 in.)
from Burnsville, MN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stapler works as planned

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This stapler is exactly what I needed for doing my upholstery projects. Easy to use and shoots a staple everytime.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pneumatic Upholstery Stapler with 22-Gauge Upholstery Staples (3/8 in., 7/16 in., and 5/8 in.)
from Lewes, DE, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

well built and easy to use

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Order process, shipping and store pick up all flawless. The product itself works as advertised. Thank you.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pneumatic Upholstery Stapler with 22-Gauge Upholstery Staples (3/8 in., 7/16 in., and 5/8 in.)

Works great, fantastic bargain with staples

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It would have been nice to have a longer nose on it to reach tight places, but considering it is only 10% of the price of the bosch or porter cable, you cant beat it. I've upholstered two headboards, two wing chairs, six dining chairs (upholstered seats AND backs and I might have had 3 jammed staples which are a piece of cake to remove. I couldn't be happier. Works best at 70-100lbs pressure, so make sure you don't have a sissy mary compressor.
BUY THE SET THAT COMES WITH THE STAPLES- I think there are 5,000 staples per box, and the staples are usually $12-$15 a box- so if you buy it set, its like paying for the staples and getting the gun for free, and the staples are hard to find in the stores.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pneumatic Upholstery Stapler with 22-Gauge Upholstery Staples (3/8 in., 7/16 in., and 5/8 in.)
from Lake Forest, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product for the price, sometimes misfires

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For the price this stapler is a good value. Used to re-upholster some dining room chairs and it worked well but misfired on a few occasions. More of an annoyance than a problem and otherwise the product worked well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: occasional misfires
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pneumatic Upholstery Stapler with 22-Gauge Upholstery Staples (3/8 in., 7/16 in., and 5/8 in.)
from Maine, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This is a great value

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It original misfired some when I first tried it but by checking
some of the earlier reviews I found by adding a little oil to
the head it worked much better.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pneumatic Upholstery Stapler with 22-Gauge Upholstery Staples (3/8 in., 7/16 in., and 5/8 in.)
from Mississippi
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Performed Well

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Have completed only one upholstery project so far. Worked like a charm once I found the best air pressure setting. Only had one staple jam which was easily cleared. The tool is light and small .... easily to manipulate.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>