728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Flow-Through Bypass Humidifier

Flow-Through Bypass Humidifier

The Honeywell HE240 Flow-Through Bypass Whole House Humidifier works with your home's heating and cooling system to maintain a proper, comfortable humidity level throughout the home. Besides protecting your woodwork and furniture from drying and cracking. The humidifier can reduce the incidence of static electricity, promoting a safer home environment.
Overall rating:
3.364 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
64%of customersrecommend this product7 of 11reviews
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
3.4 out of 5
5
(5)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
64%of customersrecommend this product7 of 11reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for Flow-Through Bypass Humidifier
Review 1 for Flow-Through Bypass Humidifier
from Bowie,MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great humidifier, good value - preparation & patience are key

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
So far I'm really pleased with the very noticeable over-night increase in humidity ~20% --> ~40%+. I decided to go with this model based on size,price, & features. Install overall took me about 6 hours. Most of that time was watching videos, reviewing instructions & planning! Remember (Measure x 3) = (Cut 1). Get familiar with tin snips! Wiring was easier since I could tap 24V side of furnace control board (R + C) - didn't need to run another 120V line nor use the included trans. Adjust water valve down to minimize excess. I added a 5-year ice-maker type filter on to mitigate sediment build-up. Seal her up good & get ready to breathe easy!!
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Cons: excess water run-off (design tradeoff)
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Flow-Through Bypass Humidifier
from Traverse City, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't Do It!!!

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I recently hired a Contractor to install a humidifier on my furnace. Given the configuration of my furnace, the humidifier had to go on the cold inlet side of the furnace. My Contractor suggested I have him install this model after doing some research and reading that this product can be installed in this configuration. I told him to proceed and he procured the unit from our local Home Depot store and installed the unit relatively easily, but he could not get water to flow to the filter media. After checking and rechecking every fitting, wire connection, and running through all of your trouble shooting tips, he was left without a cause as to why it would not operate. By all appearances the solenoid valve was not working.
He called and consulted with one of Honeywell's service representatives on the phone and after a lengthy phone call, and again walking through all the trouble shooting steps, the service rep concluded that the solenoid valve must be faulty. The rep directed him to remove the unit, return it, and reinstall a different one as the remedy. My Contractor did this, and the new unit is suffering from the same malfunction. Again my Contractor spent several hours trying to trouble shoot the problem, verified that all connections have been property made. My Contractor again consulted a Honeywell rep who again concluded that a faulty solenoid must be the cause for the problem. I have now spent $400 in service fees to have the unit installed, uninstalled, and reinstalled, along with several hours of trouble shooting, and it is still inoperable.
I did a bit of research on the internet and have come to learn that I am not the only one to experience a faulty solenoid. I filed a request for assistance with Honeywell explaining that I can not continue to fund returning and re-returning this product to the store in hopes that I get one that actually works. 11 days later, I received this utterly worthless response:
"Please be advised that the limited retail product warranty that accompanies your HE240 Retail Humidifier is limited to receiving a warranty exchange or refund on a defective unit directly through the retailer where the product was purchased upon return of the unit in question together with proof of purchase.
However, the decision to enlist the services of a professional contractor for assistance before, during, or after the install of the retail product shall be done at the sole discretion of the retail consumer irrespective of any potential product defect situation.
Paul Arntzen
Honeywell Customer Care Lead"
Honeywell clearly has no confidence in their product and offers their customers no remedy for having purchased one (in my case, two) of their defective products. I strongly urge any potential buyers to pursue another, more reliable brand.
Cons: Not Durable, does not work
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Flow-Through Bypass Humidifier
from Pittsburgh, PA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product, easy install

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
During the winter months my house has had very low humidity that drops as low as 22%. Humidity this low causes uncomfortably dry skin and static electricity (I was getting shocked every time I touched a light switch). I did some research and found this to be the best value solution.
The humidifier comes with everything you need for the install (minus the tools) and even foil tape was included. There's a handy YouTube video by Honeywell that helps with the installation, although it took me 4 hours instead of the 1 hour they claim in the video and I consider myself handy. I have two furnaces (one in the attic and one in the basement) for my house which is approximately 3000 sq ft. I installed the humidifier above the A/C chiller box on the supply side on the basement unit because the attic has no easily accessible water supply.
I have the humidistat set on 40%, but the humidity in the house doesn't seem to go above 35-38%. This is probably because the furnace is sized for half house so the air flow isn't sufficient to draw enough moisture into the air to get the humidity up for the whole house.
Overall, I'm happy with the purchase and getting the humidity 10-15% higher in the house has made it much more comfortable.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Flow-Through Bypass Humidifier

Installation is a hassle, output is poor.

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pain to install. Supplied hardware doesn't grip the sheet metal very well. It is level and sealed to the supply duct but output disappointing. 2600 sq ft, 10 year old home and still need to use portable units to get humidity above 30%. Definitely not worth the cost, especially if you need to install power nearby and buy sheet metal tools to install it.
Cons: Difficult to Install, poor performance
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Flow-Through Bypass Humidifier
from Columbus, OH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth it to install it yourself.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought this in November of 2013 in anticipation of a cold winter. YouTube has an excellent install video, just type in "Honeywell HE240". Watch the entire video before buying. The only difference between the video and our unit was the fact that all the wiring is HE280. There is no more differences.
We have CPVC pipes, the included saddle valve is for copper. The plumbing department sold us a GATORBITE. I had to add a T to our pipes with some more 1/2" tubing. Pretty straight forward install. DO NOT USE A CONPRESSION FITTING ON CPVC, it cracks the plastic. Also bought some of the yellow (primer already in the glue) cement.
I followed the recommendation of another review. We installed a ice maker water filter in the line and I slowly closed the water valve to reduce the waste to a trickle. Just keep closing the valve until the humidity falls off from your set value. Then just open it 1/8 turn. We bought a humidity sensor thing at Harbor Freight for cheap.
Not only would I install this again but I recommended it to friends. Works great.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Flow-Through Bypass Humidifier
from Cedar Papids, IA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Straightforward easy install

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After we determined that all the parts were included in the box, the installation was fast and easy. As others have pointed out it is important to have everything to do the install at hand. We could not find the bypass duct in the box and took it back to The Home Depot. They called Customer Care with us after they opened another box and did not find the bypass in that box either. They gave us the parts to complete the install.
Wheh we got home and started the install, we removed the cover to the humidifier and found the duct and the remainder of the parts. It would be really helpful if this was noted in the inatallation pamphlet. After we determined that everything was there, it only took a couple of hours to cut the holes and install the humidifier and bypass duct. The instructions are very easy to follow. Any do-it-yourselfer shouldn't have a problem installing it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: better detail on parts location in box.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Flow-Through Bypass Humidifier
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Honeywell HE 280 humidifier

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the Honeywell H 280 humidifier and after 2 seasons the solenoid broke and I have to pay about half of the original price for a new solenoid.
Cons: Not Durable
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Flow-Through Bypass Humidifier
from st louis
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works perfectly

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed this from scratch.Easier to install since they use a vacuum switch now instead of wiring into the blower system.Piece of cake if you are a handy person.Simple wiring.Follow the directions it goes easy.You will need a sharp pair of tin snips and a 3/4 inch drill bit for the pressure switch.Unit operates great!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Flow-Through Bypass Humidifier
from Belpre , Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Humidifier and easy to install !

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I am very happy with my purchase and would reccomend it to a friend , I have nothing but good things to say about Home Depot !
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Flow-Through Bypass Humidifier
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

this product came with everything needed for installation

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
this product came with everything needed for installation
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Flow-Through Bypass Humidifier
from ST Malo Manitoba
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

honeywell he240 humidifier

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I installed a he240 and very disappointed , we waste 54 gallons of water per 24hr day . the drum types are more maintenance but there is a float valve that does not waste water , therefore this unit is very expensive to operate and not environment friendly.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: wastes water
-7points
2out of 11found this review helpful.