728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 24 oz. Leather Cleaner and Conditioner

24 oz. Leather Cleaner and Conditioner

Zep Commercial Leather Cleaner and Conditioner helps protect your investment by removing dirt and other impurity while restoring natural oils to leather. This cleaner is great for cars, couches, handbags and more. It leaves all types of leather feeling soft and smooth with no sticky residue.
Overall rating:
4.438 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product15 of 16reviews
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(7)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product15 of 16reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for 24 oz. Leather Cleaner and Conditioner
Review 1 for 24 oz. Leather Cleaner and Conditioner
from Northern, NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Know Your Leather Before You Clean It

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm not an expert on leather care but I did my best to research the topic to maintain my leather items. The vast majority of leather used today apparently has a protective finish on it. This includes most leather used for furniture, clothing, automotive upholstery and accessories. Oil based leather conditioners, as this one claims to be, will not penetrate finished leather and frequent use may actually damage the finish. To see if your leather has a protective finish on it place a drop of water in an inconspicuous spot and leave it for a few second then lightly dab it off with a cotton cloth. If the area under where the drop of water has darkened then the conditioners in this product may work for you.
A combination leather cleaner and conditioner is more of a maintenance product to use in between more thorough cleaning. For thorough cleaning you'll want to use a separate cleaner and conditioner. The reason being that a little bit of the cleaner/conditioner is to be left on the leather so the oils can penetrate and condition the leather. If you're using the same product to clean and condition that means that a little bit of dirt that was not picked up by the cleaning cloth is still in suspension in the cleaner/conditioner and will remain on the leather.
I used this cleaner/conditioner on a number of different items including white leather sofas, a couple of black leather jackets and a black leather office chair. All of which have a finish on it but I decided to try the products anyway after testing to make sure it wouldn't damage the leather first. I sprayed the cleaner/conditioner onto a cotton microfiber cloth and used a circular motion with medium pressure to clean the leather. Only use cotton microfiber cloths, sponges or pads. Do not use paper towels as it may scratch the leather.
I cleaned a part of each item with ZEP's Leather Cleaner and Conditioner and it did seem to get the dirt out as evidenced by the dirt picked up on the microfiber cloths. I left it on for a few minutes and then buffed it off with a dry microfiber cloth which also picked up a lot of dirt. It took repeated applications to get the leather clean. My riding jacket had never been cleaned and a lot of road dirt, dead bugs, what have you seemed to come off. It was hard to tell because the items were black how clean it was getting but I went through a lot of microfiber cloths picking up dirt.
Using it on the white sofas I also noticed a lot of dirt being picked up but there was very little visual difference. Comparing two cushions side by side, one cleaned, one not cleaned, there was very little visual difference. Out of curiosity I tried a steam cleaner on the back portion of one sofa with a microfiber cloth and there was a noticeable difference. I don't know if it harms the leather but there was no immediate damage and I'll wait to see how it looks as time passes.
I also cleaned a portion of each item with just a microfiber cloth dampened with warm water and that seemed to do at least as good a job cleaning the leather. Apparently this also helps conditioned these types of finished leathers as some of the water can penetrate the finish to help rehydrate it to restore softness.
One nice thing about the ZEP Leather Cleaner and Conditioner is it has a nice, almost like new leather smell.
This may be a good maintenance cleaner for specific types of leather but there are many different ways leather is finished and ZEP does not indicate what types of leather this is best suited for. I would recommend trying to find out exactly what type of leather you have and using products best suited for that type of leather.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: does not indicate applicability
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24 oz. Leather Cleaner and Conditioner
from San Diego, CA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Zep, you never let me down!!

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is amazing. I was trying to get dried (it's been on the upholstery for almost 4 months) blood stains out of my car's tan leather upholstery. I was struggling to find a product to do this, and after trying several products, I found this stuff and tried it. The secret, I found, was to get a stiff brush(s), clean rag/cloth/towel, and this cleaner. Spray on the spot, scrub like a maniac, maybe spray more if needed, and it comes off. It's not perfect, but is barely noticeable at all now. Always test products in a small, inconspicuous area FIRST, to see how it reacts. But in my experience, this product works wonders. I'll check it again tomorrow, but so far, no complaints! Keep it up ZEP! Yes, you pay a little more for their products, but they are absolutely AMAZING.
P.S. My only problem was with the spray bottle. The "Spray" function was more a stream. I don't know if it was my bottle, but if you buy this product, I'd suggest buying a separate spray bottle and pouring it into that one.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24 oz. Leather Cleaner and Conditioner

Give to me your leather...

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
...and I will clean it!
As a former equestrian, I spent many an hour cleaning leather, so I was a bit skeptical of what Zep Leather Cleaner and Conditioner might do. Lacking a leather couch, I decided to try cleaning the leather handbag that I carry everywhere. The handbag was looking worse for the wear, so I followed the directions on the Zep spray bottle and applied the product to a rag, then rubbed it into the leather. What a difference it made! The scuff marks disappeared and the dirt gently came off, leaving the leather with a soft clean glow.
I'm no longer skeptical about this product. The thick liquid cleaner has a pleasant but not overpowering scent and is easy to squirt out of the nozzle. The liquid may be squirted or sprayed, depending on the size of the job that needs to be done. You can apply it directly to the leather surface or apply it to a rag and rub it in. It does a great job.
WARNING FOR PET OWNERS: My cats were not in the area when I used a rag to clean my purse, but my dogs were. One of them was very interested in the Zep Leather Cleaner and Conditioner and tried to take the rag on which I had applied the product. DO NOT allow pets to ingest the cleaner or lick the rag!
Pros: Easy to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24 oz. Leather Cleaner and Conditioner
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job...

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used the Zep leather conditioner on an old leather chair and ottoman that hasn't been conditioned in years. The spray bottle is a nice touch which allows for both a spray and stream of a white creamy liquid. The instructions say to either put it on with a rag or directly on the leather. Since this chair was a bit dry thought applying it directly was more appropriate. I then wiped off the excess and it left a slight leather like scent and a sheen finish. I was pleased to see that the dry white cracks in spots had disappeared. Its still an old chair, but it looks a lot better now.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24 oz. Leather Cleaner and Conditioner
from Agua Dulce, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for getting stains out of leather car seats

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I got this to try to remove some stains from my beige leather car seats. Over the winter, unbeknowns to me, the car cover on my convertible tore and the soft top was exposed to the winter rain. Somehow water pooled and came through the soft top fabric and managed to stain the leather on the rear seats. This Zep cleaner was easy to use and virtually eliminated the stain from the seat. I was a little worried that using too much product to get the stain out might fade the leather, but the cleaner didn't harm the leather at all. Since the seats were otherwise clean I can't speak to its ability to restore leather with deep engrained dirt, however based on the stain removal success, I plan to give it a try on the tan leather seats on my wife's car which are pretty dirty.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24 oz. Leather Cleaner and Conditioner

nice product

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
nice one for leather . it will bring back shine to leather just like new one
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24 oz. Leather Cleaner and Conditioner
from Silver Spring
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

renews leather smell, refreshes gloss

PostedMay 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works well..renews leather smell, refreshes gloss...I can only suggest that you don't put too much on. Also if you do, consider going over it again with a paper towel to wipe excess.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24 oz. Leather Cleaner and Conditioner
from Dearborn Heights, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Performed well

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Worked well, cleaned nicely, good fragrance, brought back lustre in leather
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24 oz. Leather Cleaner and Conditioner
from Jupiter, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I like this product!

PostedApril 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this leather cleaner on the interior of my Infiniti G35. It was very easy to use- can be sprayed directly on leather or on a sponge or cloth. It did a nice job of removing dirt smudges from the seats. While it does not restore the "new car smell" it does have a pleasant aroma. Unlike other leather cleaners I have used it does not leave a greasy or slick residue on the leather.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, no residue, pleasant aroma
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24 oz. Leather Cleaner and Conditioner
from Cumming, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

My leather jacket loves this ...

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ever since I put the cashmere sweater my wife gave me for Christmas in the dryer I've tried to be extra careful with her gifts. So when my leather jacket began to fade I was a bit nervous. I came across this product and decided to give it a try. Well ... long story short, I could almost hear my jacket saying, "luv you longtime". My wife was suspicious at first but she gave me the nod so I'm safe!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24 oz. Leather Cleaner and Conditioner
from Centerport, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

cleans and conditions

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Tough to say how well this works as I can't say my car is really every that dirty. Or how it will help condition the seats over the long term. But I have had good results with other zep products so I assume it will work well too.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24 oz. Leather Cleaner and Conditioner
from Maryland
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Zep Products All Work Very Well!

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm definitely a fan of this manufacturer. I've found every "Zep" product I've ever used, worked just as advertised, if not better.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24 oz. Leather Cleaner and Conditioner
from Littleton, MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Zep Leather Cleaner & Conditioner

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I tested this product on leather, vinyl and rubber, applying in accordance with manufacturers instructions. I’ve never found leather cleaners to clean very well, generally being void of abrasives, except for removal of very superficial dirt from wear. In that respect, this product from Zep is no different, but it does a decent job of conditioning leather and cleaning vinyl. The product applies easily with a trigger sprayer. The sprayer has a twist setting for spray and stream, but regardless of the setting, the sprayer head on the bottle of product I received would only stream. I generally spray the product on a soft cloth and not directly on the item being cleaned/conditioned, so it wasn’t a problem, but thought I should note it in this review. The product is not as greasy as others I’ve used, and produces a bit of a sheen when buffed with a soft cloth, leaving a nice leather-like scent. Some leather products I’ve tried tend to be harsh and will remove color from dyed leathers, which is visible on the cloth, but this product is mild, and while I did experience a small amount of color transfer to the cloth I was using, it wasn’t excessive. I think with any cleaner, you need to expect some trace amount loss of color. IMO, this product works as well as Blue Coral leather cleaner/conditioner on leather and vinyl, but does not leave leather as buttery soft and supple as Lexol, which is twice the price of the Zep product. This product also works on rubber, although my preference is for a higher gloss, such as may be achieved with Bumper Black or Armor All original formula. Overall, this is a good product for the cost and does what it’s supposed to do. I find that frequent use of conditioners such as this Zep Leather Cleaner and Conditioner will prevent leather and vinyl from cracking and fading due to heat and exposure to UV rays, and will dramatically extend the life and help retain a like-new appearance of leather and vinyl goods.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, low cost, versatile use on leather vinyl and rubber
Cons: does not leave goods as supple as other products, trigger sprayer was defective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24 oz. Leather Cleaner and Conditioner
from Salisbury, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Surprisingly Well!

PostedApril 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:24 oz. Leather Cleaner and Conditioner (Case of 12)
I used Zep Leather Cleaner and Conditioner on several old leather items, including a WWII-era pistol holster and a civil war era sword, and I was VERY pleased with the results. Tried it out on an imitation leather chair (basically a plastic imitation leather that had faded with time) and it brought the original deep leather color back so well that we decided not to get rid of the chair after all. Three months later it looks just as good as the day I cleaned it. I'm really impressed with this stuff... It's NOT a colorant, but a creamy conditioner that brings life back into the leather and allows the original deep color to shine through. It seems to restore the leather's original suppleness and reduce the likelihood of dry cracks developing too. This one bottle is more than enough to do a complete set of furniture - one large leather chair took less than a quarter of the bottle. This stuff is good to have on hand if you have any leather furniture or other items you wish to keep for a long time.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for 24 oz. Leather Cleaner and Conditioner
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product