728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Washers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Cabrio Platinum 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

Cabrio Platinum 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

Clean more with every load in this 4.6 cu. ft. capacity washer. As one half of the industry's largest capacity pair, this Cabrio washer allows you to do 3 baskets of laundry in a single load. And even though you're doing more, you're using less. An ENERGY STAR qualification and CEE Tier 3 rating help you save over $2,100 in lifetime water and energy costs. Activate the EcoBoost option to help save even more energy on select wash cycles while still providing the same great cleaning performance. An Eco Monitor located right on the console allows you to see the eco-friendliness of the cycles and options as you select them. Eleven wash cycles offer cleaning flexibility.
Overall rating:
4.489 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(757 reviews) 757
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product672 of 743reviews
Rating Breakdown 757 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(534)
4
(144)
3
(24)
2
(25)
1
(30)
Features 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product672 of 743reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Cabrio Platinum 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
Review 1 for Cabrio Platinum 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Rochester NY region
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Bestvalue and sce online and amongst local appliance sources

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have had a Magtag Neptune since 2003... one of the first front loaders on the market. It never did really clean our clothes well and became so difficult to clean. Searched all the brands for U.S. made AND quality of front/ or top loaders considerations and the Whirlpool Cabrio so far has NOT disappointed! Home Depot had the best price and delivery service to a significant degree. We read the simple booklet and are following the directions with excellent results. The 4.6 cubic ft. volume is a joy for bedding. The clothes smell and feel cleaner! ONLY regret is not getting a version that had the SOAK cycle but will continue to find the best way to do that.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, actually cleans the clothes
Cons: this version does not have the soak cycle option.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabrio Platinum 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Great Product

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We researched a consumer magazine and came up with this make/model...absolutely no regrets so far. I am amazed at how efficient this machine is; the clothes come out almost dry and the size of the load is incredible. I have cut the number of loads I do each week by at least 1/2. The only pit fall is that I am short (5'2") and need to really stretch to reach the bottom of the tub. Otherwise, love, love, love it!
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabrio Platinum 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

Great for 6 months and then dies

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We have had ours for 18 months and had to have repaired twice. Whirlpool seems more concerned selling us a service plan than getting us a product that works....go look at reviews for people that have had a cabrio for more than 6 months....cause it worked great for us too for 6 months....we are now having to figure out how to replace a TERRIBLY made washer...last washer I had lasted 10 yrs...and was still working great when we replaced just wasnt big enough...would love to have the one that lasts back.
Cons: Not Durable
+20points
24out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabrio Platinum 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Abita Springs, LA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Enjoying my new washer

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Huge capacity. I can wash one load of towels or sheets instead of 2. Cycles are a decen time. Not overly long. I have found washing clothes on something more gentle thatn the normal cycle is best or it will twist them up a bit. Spins everything really well and get most water out so less dryer time. Very satisfied with this purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Lots of Features, Nice Design
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabrio Platinum 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Fredon Township, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Whirpool and Home Depot - can't beat it!

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great Whirlpool machine. It holds large loads (family of 5!), cleans very well, and spins the clothes very dry. Easy to use electronic dashboard. I ordered online and got a discount, besides the sales price. Home Depot delivered and took the old machine away with no shipping costs. It was hooked up and running in about 15 minutes.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabrio Platinum 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Belmont
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Washer died after 2 1/2 years

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I miss my old school washer. After 2 1/2 years the thing just dies. I am worried that it will be a money pit. Also the bleach dispenser does not work and when I talked to the repair man said it would cost around 350 to 550 to fix. (Mother board problem)I am just going to get a new washer after reading that this happen to other people. No good spending good money after bad.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabrio Platinum 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Ennis, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Don't recommend

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have always bought Whirlpool products but the cabrio did not hold up. Worked great for 1st year and was very quiet. Now it sounds like a helicopter taking off during the spin cycle. Repair man said on his last visit out that it would be cheaper to replace than order the part. This is a $600 washer and I have $750 invested in it already and now need to replace it 2 yrs later.
Pros: Lots of Features, Looks Great, Stylish
Cons: Not Durable
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabrio Platinum 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from NC

Does not clean clothes!

PostedSeptember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Despite running clothing through multiple washes with every detergent and booster on the market this machine does NOT CLEAN CLOTHES! I just got back from buying an inexpensive old fashioned NON 'he' machine with an agitator in the drum. I am thrilled to have clean good smelling clothes that doesn't suck up my time doing laundry.
Cons: does not clean clothes
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabrio Platinum 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from California, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wish We'd Bought a Front Loader

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very disappointed in this top loader. It looked great in the store and loved some of the features it offered. In reality it's not functional. You have to be really careful how you load it. It's really loud when operating and has a really lengthy wash cycle. The fabric softener dispenser doesn't completely empty so you get dried gunk in the holder. The only thing that makes me happy about it is the delay start time function so I can put a load in, in the morning and set it to finish about the time I come home from work. So wish we could return it.
Pros: time delay option
Cons: Difficult to Use, long wash time, loud operation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabrio Platinum 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very bad

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It does not clean the clothes. Have to do loads 2-4 times before they are usable. Wash is horrible. Rinse is worse. I'd go back to agitation. The new "mandated", by our gov't, environmentally friendly system is a step backward. As usual.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Nice Design
+3points
8out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabrio Platinum 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

Great washer

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
This washer exceeded my expectation. I went from a Front load that had gone bad 3xs within 4 years. This whirlpool washer is actually smaller in size to fit small laundry room but a much larger load capacity. This washer I would recommend to everyone
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabrio Platinum 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

Pleased so far!

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This washing machine works much better than the over priced LG that I had hauled off after 2 years. So far, so good.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabrio Platinum 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

Buyer Beware

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This machine breaks down regularly as it has a part that is apparently faulty. Whirlpool does NOT stand behind their product. Maybe this corporation is "too big to fail." Don't buy this product!
Pros: Stylish
Cons: Not Durable, a lemon!!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabrio Platinum 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Marietta, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Big washer

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This replaced a traditional agitator model we had. This washer is so much nicer but it is big. It makes my dryer look silly now. This height could be a problem for a shorter person. I'm 5'10" and can just reach the bottom of the tub. It's not real loud, but my kids think it sounds like an airplane getting ready to take off. good value, comparison shopped and HD had best all in price by far. free delivery and take away is VERY nice.
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Durable, Lots of Features, High Quality, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabrio Platinum 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Idaho, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

HORRIBLE ~ DO NOT BUY

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This machine is HORRIBLE!!! We've had it for almost 8 years and had to have the washer repaired a couple times during our extended warrenty (including the cracked drum that the service man said would have came from the factory that way), the mother board has been replaced, and the dryer has had the heating element replaced 2x's also. Our repair guy said that 75% of all warranties he goes out on are for this model. We've muddled it through for the last 2 years post warranty with a bearing going out (or that's what we think), the dryer taking over 2 hours to dry a NORMAL load of cloths, and the washer ends up unbalanced and will just fill up with water. It sounds like an airplane is taking off in our laundry room when it runs the spin cycle. And for energy efficient 2+ hrs to dry is NOT very efficient!!! Whirlpool doesn't seem to care ~ when I called them on it originally for the mother board before it was 2 years old, they told me to go to my extended warranty since that's why I bought it. My sister-in-law got one from a rent to own store and it had to be replaced after 4 months due to the mother board going out. DO NOT SPEND YOUR MONEY ON THIS!!!! HORRIBLE PRODUCT!!! I will NEVER buy Whirlpool again!!!!
Cons: parts are cheap and need replaced too soon!!!
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabrio Platinum 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Care-free cleaning and efficiency

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am coming from a front-load HE washer that vibrated and "walked" no matter what actions we took. I love this washer; my clothes are clean, no intolerable vibrations, it saves soap and money and I just set it and forget it and know my laundry will be taken care of. It does "wrinkle" the wet clothes more than my front loader did, but the dryer takes care of that and in half the time as conventionally washed loads.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabrio Platinum 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Melrose Park, Il
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This is the worse machine I have ever owned.

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Does not get clothes clean. I have to pre-scrub spots that my old Maytag would have never had a problem. I also wash the same load two times, so where is the energy savings?? There isn't near enough water in a load to even get the clothes good and wet! I miss my agitator and the fact I could adjust water levels. This unit is awful.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabrio Platinum 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Florida, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Wife Loves This Washer

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Replaced previous model under warranty. I wanted something simple without all the electronics which failed repeatedly on our last unit. Also wasn't sure about a washer without the agitator. Does a great job. Quiet. Clothes come out very dry. The big question is how well it will hold up. Wife loves it. That means I'm happy.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: too many bells and whistles
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabrio Platinum 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Arlington, VA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Happy so far!

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We've had this washer (and dryer) for a little over a month now and are very happy with it. The capacity is great and has definitely cut down on the number of loads of wash we do weekly, even if each load take a little bit longer than our old machine did. I like that it only uses as much water as it needs to - it does a lot of "sensing" - and I feel like it's more energy efficient than our previous washer.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabrio Platinum 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

About one month down - clean laundry - no problems.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was concerned about some of the poor reviews that I read, but noticed that every washer has a few. I cannot speak to the long term durability, but I run about 8 loads per week and have been very happy with this machine so far. Clothes come out clean and fresh, and nearly dry. My dryer is running for much shorter periods. The noise level is similar to my previous top loader, I would not call it "quiet" at certain times, but that was not a concern of mine. I had one unbalanced load, washing a bed spread that always unbalanced my other machine too. When I opened the top there was plenty of water in the tank to wash the blanket (to address some of the other reviewer's concerns) - and one good repositioning solved the problem. If this keeps up for the long term I will be thrilled to have picked this washer.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, good job cleaning laundry
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>