728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Interior & Closet Doors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door

Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door

The 3-Panel Molded Interior door from JELD-WEN is perfectly suited to classic American architecture. This door has a woodgrain surface with a modified cove and bead sticking profile. We understand your time is valuable and we want to make the process of updating your home as easy as possible. Our factory-finish doors have a beautiful smooth finish that you cannot achieve by painting your doors with a brush. One way JELD-WEN supports sustainable construction is by using recycled materials in the production of our Molded Interior doors. In fact, these molded door skins are made using 80 percent recycled content.
Overall rating:
3.805 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(149 reviews) 149
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product109 of 140reviews
Rating Breakdown 149 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(57)
4
(52)
3
(12)
2
(10)
1
(18)
Appearance 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product109 of 140reviews
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
Review 1 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
from Texas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BEWARE if you are ordering more than 2.

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
I ordered 2 of these doors in feb when i started a BIG remodel and just installed them last weekend..the model and sku and packaging was exactly the same. However the hardware was a little different on each door and it made them hang differently, which we didn't realize that was going to happen until we had them up. Anyway emailed customer service no response just chatted with customer service who told me that I had to take both doors down take them to my local store get a refund and than reorder the doors. They could easily send me another door and I would keep the one it matches and return the other.....but NO....that make's to much sense. How would I know that I wouldn't get two different doors again....seems like a lot of work on my part to end up in the same spot......SOOOOOO I guess I will take down these doors and return them and get a refund and go ELSEWHERE to buy my doors!
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Quality, Size, Appearance, customer service and online ordering
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
from Boise, ID
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fast. Easy. Looks and works great!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
Good value. Easy install. Looks and works great! I'd use this door sgain.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit
Cons: the knob was ok but i used another one.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Narrower than specifications say

PostedJune 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
I have a 31" opening and bought a 30" door. I figured a half-inch on each side would be acceptable. However, the actual door is 29.5" wide, not the 30" reported in the specs. So there's a little more space than I would like. The door can't be centered in the slot because the bottom bracket doesn't allow for that much distance. I'm probably going to have to add more to the jamb and redo the trim, which is truly annoying.
The door itself is solid and went in easily. If not for the sizing issue, it would have been perfect.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Size
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
from Las Vegas, NV
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks fine, lightweight.

PostedMay 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
These look nice. Used them on his and hers closets, double doors. They are made from easily-scratched pressboard so make sure you paint them right away. I removed the hinges before painting. I saw some reviews said the door handles can spin. Well, make sure you drill the holes slightly smaller than the screw size--just like the instructions say, works fine. These operate very smoothly and easily.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install, Functional, Good Size & Fit
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
from PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

REAL SPACE SAVER

PostedApril 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
THIS PRODUCT WAS INSTALLED IN A SMALL BATHROOM WITH AJOINING BEDROOM. BECAUSE OF STRUCTURAL ISSUES, A POCKET DOOR WAS NOT A CONSIDERATION, AND BECAUSE OF SPACE LIMITATIONS, A FULL SIZE DOOR WAS CONSIDERED TO BE INAPPROPRIATE.
THIS PRODUCT REALLY FIT THE BILL. IT IS WELL MADE; THE 6 PANEL DECOR IS ATTRACTIVE, AND IT OPERATES EASILY.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Functional, Easy to Clean, High Quality
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
from Austintown, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
Great price and value. Easy to install, instructions easy to follow.
Pros: Great Value, Well Made, Beautiful Appearance, Good Size & Fit, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
from Miami, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Bi-fold Closet Door

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
Bi-fold Closet Door, good finish and easy to install
Pros: Easy to Install, Functional, High Quality
Cons: color
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door

Very nice looking at a great price. Ready to paint.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
Easy to install. I was able to use some of the parts from the doors that were replaced.
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Beautiful Appearance, Good Size & Fit, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door

spinning knobs

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
The door is decent enough. (Let's face it, they are their cheapest alternative.) I do like 6 panels better than slats, though. Quality sticklers may want to opt to order the solid versions. My only real complaint is even though they are hollow core, I expected there to be a solid strip in the center to attach the knob through...there isn't! So, you can't get your knobs to keep from spinning, unless you start crushing the center of the door. Also, because the knob area is hollow, I added fender washers under the knob's screw heads, to feel secure that the knobs wouldn't pull through the door over time.
+78points
79out of 80found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door

no brace for the knob

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
The door is decent enough. (Let's face it, they are their cheapest alternative.) I do like 6 panels better than slats, though. Quality sticklers may want to opt to order the solid versions. My only real complaint is even though they are hollow core, I expected there to be a solid strip in the center to attach the knob through...there isn't! So, you can't get your knobs to keep from spinning, unless you start crushing the center of the door. Also, because the knob area is hollow, I added fender washers under the knob's screw heads, to feel secure that the knobs wouldn't pull through the door over time.
+51points
51out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
from Wesley chapel,fl
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Replacemen closet door

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
Worked great as a replacement of 20 yr old door in the kitchen
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Functional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door

Bi-fold Closet doors

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
Very well made & easy to install. We gave the primed doors 2 coats of white satin paint. I think they are worth their value especially if you compare it to the finished ones. They look just as nice as the solid core doors for alot less!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door

spinning knobs

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
The door is decent enough. (Let's face it, they are their cheapest alternative.) I do like 6 panels better than slats, though. Quality sticklers may want to opt to order the solid versions. My only real complaint is even though they are hollow core, I expected there to be a solid strip in the center to attach the knob through...there isn't! So, you can't get your knobs to keep from spinning, unless you start crushing the center of the door. Also, because the knob area is hollow, I added fender washers under the knob's screw heads, to feel secure that the knobs wouldn't pull through the door over time.
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Immediate, inexpensive update

PostedJuly 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
I bought four doors, 2- 36" and 2-24" to replace old louver look doors. What an immediate difference. I did not use the knobs provided but bought separately brushed silver knobs. The ease of installation was awesome too, as a single lady I easily handled this task.
One thing to note is that Home Depot doesn't really protect their products from in-store damage so be sure to check out the doors for damage before leaving. Out of 10 doors in stock I chose the best 4 for my project.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional
Cons: h.d. doesn't protect products from in-store damage
+55points
56out of 57found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
from Rockaway, NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Doors and Easy To Install

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
I have an older home and my hardwood floors are not level. I was still able to easy install and adjust the doors with the uneven floors. I also noticed that some other reviews had mentioned a problem with the knobs on the hollow core door. I did not find this to be a problem. The doors are also easy to paint and they looked good.
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Good Size & Fit, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
from Daytona Beach, FL

No Thanks.......

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
This door is so cheaply made. Even though it looks like it has been primed in an off white color (not sure why it couldn't be primed in white), it soaked up the paint. I had to sand the edges to smooth them out prior to painting. I accidently left a damp papertowel underneath the door while painting. Ruined the door - made the wood swell. Tossed the door in the trash. I was not looking for a cheap door. I would have gladly paint twice or three times the price to get some decent quality. I ended up going to Lowe's and purchased a similar cheap door (that's all I could find). Their brand was cheap quality also, but better than this one - their primer coat was better and I didn't need to sand the edges. I'm a Home Depot fan, but this was very disappointing.
Cons: Quality
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
from Ontario, Ca
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointing purchase

PostedDecember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
Not only did it take about a month to receive this item, but by the time we were ready to install it, we came to realize that the door was an inch shorter than it was supposed to be (79 inches instead of 80). Very disappointing being that we no longer have the receipt and cannot return it.
Cons: Size
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
from Home, Mobara, Chiba Prefecture, Japan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

bifold closet doors

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
It will take a while before I know If I truly like these doors. I previously had metal doors with slat breathing wholes that were a horrible pain to clean and the doors rusted near the louvres. I am hopping thius door will live a long happy life in my home looking beautiful (as it does because I was able to paint it to match the trim with a paint that is cleanable with a rag and water). I believe this is going to be a great purchase. He had to add a header wall because to get a door the write width it was way to short unless I special ordered which would be way to expensive (but that was the builders fault not yours)
Pros: Great Value, Fits in Various Rooms, Functional, Well Made, Multi Use, Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Great Detail
Cons: Size
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

can not be trimmed at top or bottom

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
Was replacing one of 4 existing doors that had broken. Needed it 1/2 inch shorter - took 1/4 inch off top and bottom but after trimming the pins are not sturdy and the door sags when open. Will need to tear it apart and add real wood to the pin mount area
Cons: not functional, flimsy, can not trim top or bottom
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
from nj
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great if you don't have to shorten.

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
These doors are normally fine but I had to shorten the length of door. I only had to take off about 3/4" off the bottom. Usually there is about a two inch filler however this door only had about an inch or less. So by the time I cut the door I had a wafer thin piece of filler at the bottom. That is normally ok with most pre-hung doors or slabs but these doors need to support their weight and the pin the door rests on. I repacked it as I usually do after stripping the filler piece but because it was so thin It would not hold up door after a couple open and closings the filler dropped out. Oddly enough today I installed two bypass doors today both of which had to be cut. Filler size.... 2" !!!! If this was in the bi fold the problem wouldn't exist. Very disappointed. How hard/expensive would it be to put 3" of filler in every door???!!!!! It would eliminate everyone's headaches with these doors. People wonder why a $30 door costs $125 to install. Wasting our time with these fillers and repacking!
Pros: Great Value
Cons: Quality, minimal filler/packing on base
+16points
20out of 24found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>