728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garage Storage Systems & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 32 sq. ft. White Wall Panel Kit

32 sq. ft. White Wall Panel Kit

A Proslat wall solution begins with Proslat’s patented PVC wall panels. Included in this kit: ten 8 ft. panels (assembled equals 4 ft. high by 8 ft. long), plus all necessary trims and mounting screws. Made in Canada from 90% recycled material, Proslat is one of the greenest storage solutions on the market. It is also one of the most versatile, as individual panels may be installed as a track, in a section or over an entire wall. Installation is simple and the unique hidden screw design gives a professional finish. Built to last, Proslat wall panels are up to 25 times more impact resistant than drywall and they hold up to 75 lbs. per linear foot (over 1000 lbs. per section). Panels are not affected by mold, mildew or water so they can be used in damp locations where drywall and wood might absorb the humidity.
Overall rating:
4.643 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product12 of 13reviews
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(1)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product12 of 13reviews
Customer reviews for 32 sq. ft. White Wall Panel Kit
Review 1 for 32 sq. ft. White Wall Panel Kit
from North West, Loudoun Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Clutter is an old story

PostedDecember 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product has offered us incredible flexibility and ease of storage for our garage. It delivered us a smooth ride from clutter to spotless organization of various garage items. It’s a well-thought designed product and absolutely customizable that gave us the categorical capability to arrange the hooks the way we think best for us.
Hooks kit for ProSlat panels contains a great variety to hang various household items.
To add or remove the hooks, the entire concept works like Plug & Play and then Slide & Set, with no tools required. When hanging a real heavy item (e.g. 50+ lbs.), hang the hook exactly where the stud is or else you will notice that wall panel starts to pull away a little bit from the dry wall.
Before you start the installation process, following would help;
1) Watch the ProSlat Installation Video (can be found on YouTube, just search for ProSlat)
2) Follow the exact instructions in the Video or the manual. Video is a better choice.
3) The drill batteries are fully charged, prefer to use drill with cord so no recharging comes into picture.
4) Have a friend or someone to help you during the installation (you will save bunch of time).
I installed it all by myself, took my time and consumed about 4 hours since I had to keep charging the drill batteries.
During installation of 5th panel, I realized that the 2nd panel from the bottom did not fit the way it should be (my mistake), so I un-screwed all the panels again which took like 5 minutes. So, if you want to take ProSlat off the wall after the complete installation, it shouldn’t take more than 10 minutes.
View the pictures to see how it evolves from an empty wall to a customizable panel wall.
This product has made some good contribution in reducing our carbon foot print since it’s made out of 90% re-cycled material, simply makes us proud. Un-affected by mold and water is a guarantee for us that it will last for decades to come. We are very pleased with this product and plan to buy more sets for our remaining garage walls. It’s a great green product.
Go buy it, you will like it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
 
+46points
49out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 32 sq. ft. White Wall Panel Kit
from Portland, OR
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Great Product; Unclear Instructions

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I was actually in between 3 & 4 stars, but the fact I had to re-install the panels a 3RD time eventually was the decider.
So once I got it correctly put together, the product worked exactly how it was supposed to. Installation was another story ... :
First, the instructions do not tell you what orientation to affix the J-trim to the wall. Now I am not extremely mechanically inclined, but I’ve also done my fair share of construction projects, so I’m not completely clueless. However I still put the trim on the wrong way the first time. I looked everywhere for an answer, but could not find any details or even pictures that were close up enough to see the position the trim was affixed.
Eventually I reasoned it out, but c’mon, that’s what instructions are supposed to be for. (By the way - the J-trim goes on with the longer side attached to the wall, bottom facing out, up, or down - depending on which trim piece it is - at least I hope it does because that’s how I installed it). A very helpful thing would be to put marks on the the trim indicating both orientation and what side to screw into.
There are also no (at least not that I could see) pictures of the difference between an L and a J trim. I actually read the instructions as there being only J trim until I realized the trim had slightly different details to it. This should be made much more clear.
Then: adding in the panels to the frame. It took me 3 times of almost building a whole wall before I finally got the panels interlocked in the right way. The first time was probably my fault, as I “locked” the panels together too high up. I was about 3/4 done when I realized I had several more panels than would fit in the frame, and so stopped and re-watched the video and scrutinized the instructions, eventually realizing I wasn’t “interlocking” the panels correctly.
I then built another 3/4 of the wall, only to realize that although I was interlocking the panels correctly, I was not clicking them down in place on each other so they were completely flush (I realized this when I gave a little push down on the 9th panel and it clicked and locked down in place). Again, this could be due to my inexperience with this type of work, but I had assumed there was just a little give between each panel.
Step 9 of the instructions state: “Interlock one end of your next panel with the previous one, insert into one of your vertical J trims, curve your panel and insert into the other side. ... Properly interlocked panels will conceal previous panel’s installation screws”.
This is not as simple as it sounds, at least for me (which may have been due to my wall being a little off true, but still), because you actually have to not only interlock the panels, but push down after you’ve inserted each side in to get them to click and “lock” together.
Also, the note about “properly interlocked panels will conceal previous panel’s installation screws” is misleading because each time I (incorrectly) installed the panels, the previous panel’s screws were covered up.
So, although I take part of the blame, I also think there are other people out there who may also be new to this type of thing, and so the instructions should more explicit in explaining both orientation of materials and proper procedure for fitting panels together.
Once the product was installed correctly, everything looks good and functions well (so far).
(photos are of incorrectly partially installed panels - will try to post photos of completed wall too).
Pros: Durable, Functional, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: inadequate instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 32 sq. ft. White Wall Panel Kit
from Floresville, Tx.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Excellent Product

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is the best product I have ever put in my garage to hang virtually ANYTHING !!!!. I have had pegboards that look bad and only last a few months and of course they ALWAYS break when you try to hang something substantial on them. I have hung 2 wheel dollies, gas trimmers, and even an 18" chain saw from this and it never even sagged. Once you watch the video and put the screws in the studs this product not only looks good but holds more than you would expect. I have had several neighbors ask if this was professionally installed by the builder of my house but they were surprised when I told them they could do themselves. I was somewhat skeptical when I saw the price for the product and the hardware but it was worth every penny.
Pros: Durable, Functional, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 32 sq. ft. White Wall Panel Kit
from Gainesville FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Excellent!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product. Looks great once installed. My only complaint would be that it takes a long time to install.
Pros: Functional, Sturdy, Looks Great
Cons: time consuming to install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 32 sq. ft. White Wall Panel Kit

Extremely versatile and fast installation

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have seen peg board for years but this is a great new system. This looks so much cleaner and the material will not rot or discolor in a damp environment. The slats come in 8 foot sections but my application called for 4 foot sections. The slats were easily cut with only a hack saw. My application was a cinderblock basement wall. I used 1.5" masonry screws with a pan head into predrilled holes on the wall and the slats every 16 inches as instructions specify. Installation took less than 15 minutes for my 4x4 section. I am very impressed with the variety of hangers available. The system feels very sturdy and did not show any stress from heavy items being hung. When first stocking or reorganizing the hangers slide effortlessly to an infinite number of positions. The J channel frames the edges very nicely.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design, versatile, rot proof
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 32 sq. ft. White Wall Panel Kit
from Chester, VT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Great product!!!

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Using it outdoors to hang yard tools and all the garden tools. Easy to assemble.
Pros: Durable, Functional, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 32 sq. ft. White Wall Panel Kit
from Osceola, WI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Garage clutter no more!

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It took me awhile to review this Proslat wall kit as I first had to make room on a wall in my garage to install. I only wish I was able to do it sooner as the organization this has provided is far superior to the shelving I had prior. It is easy to install but will ease the process with a second set of hands to place the slats in place. I definitely recommend watching the install video you can find on the company website. It is much easier to follow and learn from than trying to read the instructions. Otherwise it really is pretty straightforward. I will for sure be getting more hooks and the shelf and basket kit to make this Proslat kit more versatile as I have plenty more room to grow. I have a few hundred pounds worth of tools currently hanging and see no signs of stress to the panels. The 20 pack hook kit is a variety for different weight and tool applications and in my opinion an excellent assortment. I may add more panels to existing space in my garage to further keep things up off of my workbenches or worse yet the floor. I am also considering a kit for my garden shed as that is another disaster with hand tools leaning and falling over one another. The heavy duty magnetic tool bar kit seems ideal for rakes and shovels. Recommend this for anyone looking for more organization in their life.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, recycled material green friendly
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 32 sq. ft. White Wall Panel Kit
from Ms

Good product

PostedApril 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am pleased with this system. It is much better than peg board. Watch the installation video on the Proslat website. It is much better than the instructions.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 32 sq. ft. White Wall Panel Kit
from Azle, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Not your grandma's pegboard

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have around 400 sq ft of pegboard in my workshop, it does not compare to this product. These panels are much sturdier, look great, and hold a lot more weight.
Installation is very simple, and a helpful installation video is available on the web site.
I installed the product in a little more than 15 minutes.
You ensure the first piece is level and is screwed to the studs, then snap the next piece in place before screwing this new piece to the studs. Each new piece covers the screws from the previous piece, and a trim piece is used on the final piece. The end result is a clean surface with no visible screws.
The panel can hold a lot of weight. I have a chainsaw, pole-saws, nail guns, a sledge hammer, step ladders, along with many lighter tools. There is no visible sign of any movement, and the hooks feel very secure.
Tidy freaks and green freaks rejoice.
This product is made from recycled material, it has a nice clean white finish that fits well in any environment. This panel transforms any flat surface in to a usable, and very professional looking, organization and storage system.
The end result looks great, and the versatility is awesome.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Looks Great, Looks High End, Nice Design, made from recycled materials
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 32 sq. ft. White Wall Panel Kit
from Independence, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Easy install, lots of storage space.

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The kit arrived on Tuesday and I installed it on Saturday. The instructions were easy to follow and the parts were well made. The kit came with 2.5 inch screws and the instruction said that when mounting into bare studs I was to us shorter screws. I figured a little extra length wouldn't hurt and the screws went into the old studs (garage built in 1960 and the 2x4s were really 2x4 inches and very hard and dense).
Because I was mounting it 4 feet up the wall I needed my grandson to hold the slats at one end while I set them into the slot at the other end. Each piece went into position with ease and each was screwed into the studs at 18 inch intervals. I said the building was older and the studs were dense. I was able to get each of the ends into studs because the slat wall fits perfectly between a window and a door, both having extra 2x4s for the jack and king studs. This unit will not fall down and will be hard to get down if I ever want to remove it.
After the install I hung garden tools, a receiver hitch shelf, several heavy attachments to my lawn tractor, and a few power tools. I estimate that it is currently holding 250-300 lbs. I looks good and is stable and strong.
Would I recommend this to a friend? Heck, yeh. Would I buy another unit? Sure, if I had another place to put one. Will I buy more hooks and hangers? Yes.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 32 sq. ft. White Wall Panel Kit
from Marietta, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

This is exactly what we needed!

PostedNovember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is amazing. My wife and I had been shopping for a garage organization product for a long time, and we decided on Proslat. While we've only had the product installed for a little under a week, it has exceeded our expectations, and we will be ordering more.
We ordered both an 8 ft. and 4 ft. kit to cover the back of our two car garage. The installation was simple and straight forward. With the instructional video, and my neighbor's help, we had the entire thing up in under an hour! On top of that, the design made it look like professionals had installed it with no screws showing and the trim to cover the edges.
The wall is currently holding between 2 of the shelves all of the spare lumber that was in my garage and a 11ft. Patio Umbrella, baskets full of all of the tie downs and straps I have for my truck, and another shelf that held my motorcycle helmet with my jacket and gloves hanging off of it. None of these are even appearing to put strain on the wall at all, and I have no apprehension about hanging tools and equipment off of this as I continue to add to it.
We ordered a Shelf and Basket Kit, and will be ordering the Hook Kit to finish out this section. I have no doubt in my mind that I will be covering my garage with Proslat in the near future.
Pros: Durable, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 32 sq. ft. White Wall Panel Kit
from Nipomo, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Great shop/garage organization product.

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I never used a product of this type in the past, instead opting for home-made storage solutions like lag-hooks and nails. What a mistake. Proslat was easy to install and looks great. The wide selection of storage hooks made it very easy to organize my varied tools and clamp collection.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Functional, Well Made, Looks High End, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 32 sq. ft. White Wall Panel Kit
from Elmendorf, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Excellent product but...........

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product was great not hard at all to put up, good tutorial video on u-tube, and can hold some nice weight. It does not get five stars because we did not receive any screws in the kit. However proslat did send extra hooks for the inconvenience.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 32 sq. ft. White Wall Panel Kit

Just so so

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I expected one large sheet of slatwall and was a little surprised by the individual pieces. Probably better for shipping. The edging is flimsy. and It was hard to drive the screws between the molded interlocking edge of the slats.
We'll have to wait and see how the system holds up over time.
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.