728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Slate 12 in. x 12 in. Stomp Stone (4-Pack)

Slate 12 in. x 12 in. Stomp Stone (4-Pack)

Create a beautiful and memorable backyard with the Multy 12 in. x 12 in. Slate Stomp Stone. Made from 98% recycled materials, these stomp stones install in seconds, are lightweight and easy to maintain. The stomp stone is comfortable to walk on and can be used in gravel applications, lawn borders or garden paths. No more heavy lifting, timely prep work, or leveling. A sharp, beveled edge cuts easily into the ground, and installs directly on grass, gravel, sand, and soil. Each tile weighs under 2 lbs., and the self-leveling system conforms to the existing ground surface. Just prepare the surface by softening it with water, place the stone in it's desired spot, and step firmly on the stone to cut into the ground drop it, stomp it, your done.
Overall rating:
3.792 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product18 of 23reviews
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(7)
4
(10)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product18 of 23reviews
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for Slate 12 in. x 12 in. Stomp Stone (4-Pack)
Review 1 for Slate 12 in. x 12 in. Stomp Stone (4-Pack)
from North Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product!

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
About 3 months ago I put these in around my existing patio to extend it. Because of shade, grass doesn't grow there so I watered the area to make the ground soft and placed the stones where I wanted them. I was not able to get them to stomp in like the video shows but over time they did sink in nicely! Especially with the large patio table and chairs on top of it. They are make of recycled rubber and seem very sturdy. They are slippery when wet so be careful after a rain! But all in all I have been very pleased. I am a sixty something woman and if I can do it anyone can! It was a much easier and cheaper alternative to concrete stones or having a patio poured.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Slate 12 in. x 12 in. Stomp Stone (4-Pack)
from Rochester, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not what I needed

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
From the description, I thought each block would have more weight. While the blocks were nice and the price was reasonable, they really need to be anchored in either sand or soil. I was using them for a children's play area covered with garden mulch. Without weight, the units were easily moved by children using them as stepping stones and at times their sandals even caught underneath an edge. Returned the blocks for the old fashioned cement style which are staying in place very nicely.
Cons: too lite weight for some purposes.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Slate 12 in. x 12 in. Stomp Stone (4-Pack)
from nj

Cheap, easy solution

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Stomp Stones are exactly what they claim to be: plastic resin pavers that you can install with nothing more than your feet. I bought them for a high traffic grassy area that takes a beating in the Winter.
Tip if installing on turf: Place the Stomp Stone down, apply pressure to it. Remove it, take a knife and cut the turf along the impression lines. Replace Stomp Stone, stomp into place much easier. The bottom of the stones are not sharp enough to cut through tough turf.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical, Light Weight
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Slate 12 in. x 12 in. Stomp Stone (4-Pack)
from Dallas, Tx
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good value

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I wanted something to put at the end of the patio where the dogs launch off into the yard. They've completely beaten down the grass and when it rains, we have a huge mud hole at the end of the patio. I'm using the stomp stones to fill in this no grass zone. They were more expensive than concrete stepping stones but much lighter and easier to install which was important to me. So far they've been adequate for the reason I purchased them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Economical, Light Weight
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Slate 12 in. x 12 in. Stomp Stone (4-Pack)
from Severn, MD, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easy to install, but not as good as real stone.

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
These plastic pavers were easy to put down, and look ok but not great. They were an inexpensive way to expand my patio a few feet without taking on a major project.
Downsides are the cheap look and feel of the pavers, and the fact that they come up and float any time we get a good rain.
Pros: Easy to Install, Economical
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Slate 12 in. x 12 in. Stomp Stone (4-Pack)
from Staten Island,NY
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Stomp Stone Review

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Stomp stones are easy to install and are pretty good looking. I don't know how long they will last but they serve their purpose for now. I would recommend this as a temporary fix.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Slate 12 in. x 12 in. Stomp Stone (4-Pack)
from Portage, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stones are holding up

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I wanted something easy to carry. I used the stones to cover a path the dogs have trampled down. So far, it looks very nice, the dogs are leaving the stones alone and I am planting ground cover to fill in the bare spaces. I bought similar stones from Home Depot 10 years ago and they are still holding up with only a few cracks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Slate 12 in. x 12 in. Stomp Stone (4-Pack)
from michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

disappointed

PostedApril 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
the product is PLASTIC! THE DESCRIPTION SAYS STOMP STONE..
I will be returning these
Cons: plastic
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Slate 12 in. x 12 in. Stomp Stone (4-Pack)
from Lacey, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very disappointing purchase

PostedApril 26, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The description of the stomp stones made them seem like the only sensible option. Of course price was a considertion, but I would gladly have paid a bit more had I realized what a poor choice these would be. They are so light weight that they have yet to sink into the ground. Consequently, they feel "spongey" to walk on.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: don't feel solid, not easy to clean
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Slate 12 in. x 12 in. Stomp Stone (4-Pack)
from Hatfield, AR 71945, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Product work fine, but was a bit over priced.

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
We installed this product directly on to hard ground and back filled with gravel and it is working as advertised. The only problem we've had is with the price of the Stomp-Stones we were limited to only 100 units. You'll need a lot more if your going to put in a patio or long path. They would work really well on top of softer ground.
Bottom line, Cheaper and easier to install then rock, work per spec, takes a lot of stones to cover. Wish to price was lower.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Light Weight
Cons: expensive
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Slate 12 in. x 12 in. Stomp Stone (4-Pack)
from Catonsville, MD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great for temporary use.

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Purchased this product for a path and ladder landing for an above ground pool in my yard. Very easy to "install", provides comfort for bare feet and a professional look.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Great Value
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Slate 12 in. x 12 in. Stomp Stone (4-Pack)
from South Abington, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Daily

Slate 12 in. x 12 in. Stomp Stone (4-Pack)

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very good quality and value for the dollar. They are almost everything they advertise. I did have some problem stomping them in as they would not go even with the ground. I also tried an rubber dead-blow hammer, but after getting one in as far as I wanted, when I pounded the next one in the previous one would bounce out of the ground.
Pros: Stylish, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Cons: vibrates out when installing one next
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Slate 12 in. x 12 in. Stomp Stone (4-Pack)

Stomp Stones

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Darker color than expected and not as rigid as hoped.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Slate 12 in. x 12 in. Stomp Stone (4-Pack)
from Maryland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

OK so far

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The color is described as slate and appears to be gray on the internet. However, the item is black. I decided to keep them anyway and will make them work with my project. They are a little flimsy and will flex under foot if not placed over a material that fills the void. Very light weight and certainly easy to work with. Havent finished my project yet so my opinion may change once I am done. We shall see.
Pros: Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Slate 12 in. x 12 in. Stomp Stone (4-Pack)
from New York
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Very disappointed!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought these after watching a youtube video on how wonderful they work and how easy they are to install, well they were anything BUT!
They were difficult to "stomp" into the ground and even though they were in as much as they could be, the edges lifted when you walked on them and it felt hollow in the center. I took them back and bought a better rubber tile they had in the store, which was much heavier and worked much better.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Slate 12 in. x 12 in. Stomp Stone (4-Pack)

love!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
So easy to install, which makes it so much cheaper and less time consuming than a paver patio. Very sturdy and looks like real slate. Had friends who couldn't believe it was made of rubber!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Slate 12 in. x 12 in. Stomp Stone (4-Pack)
from Long Beach, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Easy to install

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The product was flimsier than I expected but it was easy to install. Make sure it is equally supported under the entire base.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Slate 12 in. x 12 in. Stomp Stone (4-Pack)

Looks great!

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
They look like real stone, the textured surface and coloring are great. They are so easy to arrange for the layout that we wanted. Now that we've tried them we need to order more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Slate 12 in. x 12 in. Stomp Stone (4-Pack)
from michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

works well on the cheap

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
these were very easy to use and seem to hold up very well also holds to the ground nicely
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Slate 12 in. x 12 in. Stomp Stone (4-Pack)
from Memphis, TN
Age Range:17 or under
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Stomp Stones Review

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Very easy to install. They look fine. I can't speak to their longevity, but some have been in my yard for over a year and are still fine. I'll soon order another batch.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>