728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder

5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder

This Briggs and Stratton 5500 Watt geneartor is perfect for all of you power needs. Power all of your essentials with the 1450 Series Briggs and Stratton OHV engine, 4 household and 1 locking outlet, and 13 hours run time at 50% load. This unit will ensure you are prepared when the unpredictable happens.
Overall rating:
4.099 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(71 reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product56 of 71reviews
Rating Breakdown 71 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(45)
4
(12)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(11)
Features 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product56 of 71reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
Review 1 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
from Metairie, LA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what i needed

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this product a couple of days after hurricane isaac.The local home depot was open and i needed a lantern and asw for cutting up tree branches.They had a couple of pallets of them there.After being without power for three days i decided to get it also.I could not be more satisfied.Ran everything i needed.Stand up ac,tv,3 fans 20 and 50 gallon fish tanks and fridge.With this load used approx one half gallon per hour
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design
Cons: Too Heavy
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
from Randallstown, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

briggs & stratton

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I brought this genertor 2 years ago and I love It. never had problem with It at all. I hook up everything in my house and also my air conditioner. I even had two of my neighbors hook up. Best investment I ever had. Plus It came with a nice power cord. I ran this genertor for 6 days straight with no problems. It has plenty of power and Ilike all the features.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Compact, Stylish, Lots of Features, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
from Roselle, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Hurricane Sandy Storm Responder !!!!

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Lost Power 5 times tonight in Roselle, and Plainfield NJ due to Hurricane Sandy. once i started both of these puppies up I am back to full capacity Hurricane Sandy you were strong but the Briggs & Stratton 5500-Watt Portable Generator - Storm Responder was stronger. Highly Recommended !
The staff at the Bridgewater NJ store was so helpful. I picked up 2 of these at 2:21 am 10/29/12. Store employee Laurie W.... you are simply the BEST !!! My Daughter & I both thank you,they even had someone there to help me load them into my truck. You guys are Life Savers.
Thanks a Million......... SHAH
Pros: Easy to Use, Lots of Features, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, generator adapter cord 25'
Cons: heavy but woth its weight in gold
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
from Fort Sill, OK, USA & Fort Richardson, AK,USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

2 yrs old and still going strong-OK to AK

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
had a ice storm two years ago put us in need of this machine, six days we need this. just needed to live off this generator again for two days, works great. if i remember to turn the gas on, turn the start swtich on and choke it, it starts right up. only thing i dont like, wish it had a load gauage. i wont sell this until i buy another one, want a bigger one. but if you even out the loads, you can do alot.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions
Cons: wheel kit is load-cheap plastic
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
from NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Damaged unit came in perfect box

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
During recent Ice storm, I was 'lucky' enough to get one of the last 3 generators the store had in stock. I chose the one in the perfect box. Apparently the unit had been dropped (or otherwise crushed) prior to packaging. Recoil and cooling shroud was severely crushed and the frame is bent. Obviously the unit is unstartable.
Since there is no way to prove that I didn't drop it myself, I'll attempt to fix. I just hope it makes electricity if I get it running.
In short, after spending close to $1000 (including accessories), I still froze and had no water for 2 days, and have another $100 to spend on repairs.
If you buy one (any brand), make them un-box it before you load!
Cons: Difficult to Use, damaged in perfect packaging
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great little unit, but a bit noisy

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The generator was purchased after an Ice storm and ran for more than 8 days straight, only being shut-off for refueling. The unit ran a complete single family home. The only issue was the generator is fairly noisy.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Noisy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
from Maryland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bought one for Sandy. Did the job so well I bought another.

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My in-laws in coastal NJ asked me to bring them a generator after the storm. Bought my Storm Responder at a Home Depot and took it right up to Jersey. Put it to work right out of the box. It was easy to start and ran like a champ. We ran the generator for nearly 12 hours a day for a week with no problem. The manual says that some types of gasoline work better than others and I found that to be true. I tried to run it on 10% ethanol and the engine did not run smoothly. It ran great on 87 octane from Exxon so that's what I used. Ran a refrigerator, drop light, small space heater and sump pump at the same time with no problem. I was so impressed with the generator that I bought an identical one for myself.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: can be fussy with gas., not the cheapest generator out there.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
from Northren Bergen County New Jersey

Hurricane Sandy

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This generator really saved us.Ran refrigerator, two CF lamps. 32"TV cable box, router, computers. Really helped us weather the storm. Have the lamps on really made us feel better during this hurrific storm. (typing this now on generator power). We filled the tank and topped it off with 2 gals gas before bed, it ran from 5PM yesterday all night and we have 1/2 tank left after 18 hours. It is a little noisy, but during an emergency (I think you could run it all night).They have quieter gens. but i think they are less powerful or triple the price.
The casing (pipe handle) allowed us to put plywood on top, weight down by the kids sandbox.. Perfect! The large cord went upstairs, a single outlet allowed one cord to go downstairs to basement refrigerator. Ran three cords upstairs. . We stuffed towel in the window small cracked open for the cord and duct taped the opening. we also plugged in a CO2 alarm to check for fumes.
We were fine all night!! One hint, I would install it in the day light. especially before driving rain.
Be prepared, we are glad we have this generator,
Pros: Loud, Battery Length, Nice Design
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
from SE Pennsylvania, USA

Hurricane Sandy: Thank you Home Depot and Briggs and Stratton

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Tuesday night, October 30th, went to the local Home Depot, which was running on generator power, to purchase wood for our fireplace. We were without power like so many. To my surprise a shipment of generators just arrived. We purchased the Storm Responder without any research. Hat's off to the Depot for their effort in getting these units to SE PA in the middle of this mess. The Briggs generator performed flawlessly. Powered our fridge, forced air heat (gas high efficiency), gas high efficiency water heater, select lights and TV for 6 days and nights. Started on the first pull and there after. Our power was out until just moments ago, Sunday, November 4th. What a life savor. We lived relatively comfortably with all essentials powered. Can't thank Home Depot and Briggs enough for this well built unit.
Extremely Grateful Customer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Lots of Features, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
from Central NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

reliable and excellent value

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is our Day #11 (Central NJ) without power, thanks to Hurricane Sandy. Bought this from Bridgewater, NJ store (thanks managers Tony and Lisa!) and have been running it about 16 hour per day since Day 1.
Virtually identical to my Generac Wheelhouse 5550 I purchased from Home Depot back in 2004.
Contrary to the description, this B&S unit comes with a 30 amp interlocking connector. Free extension cord is heavy duty and is probably worth $75 bucks alone.
Running a refrigerator, FIOS equipment, few CFL lights, charging laptops and periodically run dishwasher, cloth washer and dryer (dryer is natural gas and I run either or, not both) and gas oven. The only hiccup seems to be when I turn on a small Panasonic microwave oven (takes 3 min to heat a glass of milk instead of usual 1 min).
Make sure to change the factory oil after running it for first few hours. Instead of SAE30, use 5w-30 (for those in cold climate) which has lighter viscosity.
Once I get my power back, I plan on converting it to a duel fuel capable to run gasoline or propane and have spare gasoline and propane tanks in my shed.
-kevin
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: weighs about 160 pounds w/o fuel
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
from Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Failed in 60 hours

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As the others here that have experience complete failure, mine seized up while running, 60 hours in. A total loss and not covered by warranty. Do your own search for this unit and you will find more out there, other than these reviews, where the same thing happens. Granted it seems that only random engines have this defect.
Pros: none
Cons: failed
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
from Lagrange, GA
Age Range:17 or under
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great gift

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was given to us by my grandfather in trade for our smaller one.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sandy

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is my first generator so all I know is that it ran mine and my neighbor's refrigerators (and whatever else they put on), a space heater and some lights. I am sure it would have easily accommodated my sump pump as well if I needed it to. As I powered each piece of equipment on, the generator barely blinked with that 8K+ starting wattage. It also didn't do too badly on fuel as I ran it for 5 hours at a time using only about 2.5 gallons each run. I like that it comes pre-filled with oil and has the 25ft cable with 4 outlets included.
If you are considering getting an "at the last second" generator, don't forget large fuel containers, fuel stabilizer and extra oil.
Only complaint is that it is LOUD.
Pros: powerful starting wattage
Cons: loud
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
from Maine, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked great during the December ice storm.

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Worked great during the December ice storm. Got us through Christmas.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
from Salisbury, PA 15558, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This Generator is simple to use and works great!

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got lucky when I walked into Home Depot on 11/30 at 7:30 pm and a truck just arrived with this generator on it.I had just remodeled my basement and had a french drain & sum pump installed .This generator saved me around 20k because my basement would have flooded.It is easy to use and works great.Had my tv,refrigerator,electric heater and light running since I purchsed this.It is loud,but most generators are.Briggs & Stratton engines have always been reputable.This generator made Hurricane Sandy less destructive and stressful.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder

great generator

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was lucky enough to be at the right place at the right time! i walked into the Lodi store and did not expect to find a single generator right after hurricane Sandy. Was i surprised to see one Briggs generator and i bought it on the spot. I got it home and set up was very easy, oil was already installed, and i added gas, ONE pull and it started. Yesterday the power went out for about an hour and i figured FIRE THIS BABY UP! I have a transfer switch hooked up and it handled my appliances with ease.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
from Louisiana
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overall Good Generator

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Bought in August of 2008, the day before Gustav hit the coast. We used it for 5 days running almost around the clock. I stored it for 2 years and left gas in the carburetor for that time and it did mess up the gasket. I ordered a gasket online and replaced it. Since then I have used it at the hunting camp, and for projects where electricty wasn't available. When stored, use Sta-Bil in the tank and drain the lines by letting it run all of the gas out of the lines after I close them. Since I have done that, absolutely no problems. Starts on first or second pull every time now. Even when I just pulled it out a month ago after a year of sitting, it cranked right up. Have run a window ac unit, fridge, chest freezer, tv, xbox, charging devices and several lights simultaneously with no problems.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Strong, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
from Cincinnati, OH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Unit

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is a great generator. Lot's of power and easy to start as long as you take care of it. I start mine every month for a few minutes. It takes a single pull and fires right up. As with any gas powered device if you don't manage it, it will let you down when you need it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
from North Reading, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

could handle anything

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
just bought this unit after hurricane Sandy hit. Was hoping for a smaller unit just to run the sum pumps but the store was out of all except 2 of these. The unit started on the first pull and handled 2 pumps 2 refridgerators a lamp and television without any stress on the motor. its a little loud but who cares when you're without power for a couple of days
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions
Cons: big unit
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
from NJ

Kept us going during Sandy!

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Thank you Briggs and Stratton this generator kept us warm, comfortable and kept our food cold during Sandy. It was my first time using a generator and it was simple to set up and use. I even called their help line right before the storm hit and they were very helpful. I am now getting it hooked up to my panel for future use! Great product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>