728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder

5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder

This Briggs and Stratton 5500 Watt geneartor is perfect for all of you power needs. Power all of your essentials with the 1450 Series Briggs and Stratton OHV engine, 4 household and 1 locking outlet, and 13 hours run time at 50% load. This unit will ensure you are prepared when the unpredictable happens.
Overall rating:
4.099 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(71 reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product56 of 71reviews
Rating Breakdown 71 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(45)
4
(12)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(11)
Features 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product56 of 71reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
Review 1 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
Cowboy
from Randallstown, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

briggs & stratton

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I brought this genertor 2 years ago and I love It. never had problem with It at all. I hook up everything in my house and also my air conditioner. I even had two of my neighbors hook up. Best investment I ever had. Plus It came with a nice power cord. I ran this genertor for 6 days straight with no problems. It has plenty of power and Ilike all the features.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Compact, Stylish, Lots of Features, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
BrotherBru
from Metairie, LA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what i needed

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this product a couple of days after hurricane isaac.The local home depot was open and i needed a lantern and asw for cutting up tree branches.They had a couple of pallets of them there.After being without power for three days i decided to get it also.I could not be more satisfied.Ran everything i needed.Stand up ac,tv,3 fans 20 and 50 gallon fish tanks and fridge.With this load used approx one half gallon per hour
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design
Cons: Too Heavy
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
TryingToWin
from Fort Sill, OK, USA & Fort Richardson, AK,USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

2 yrs old and still going strong-OK to AK

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
had a ice storm two years ago put us in need of this machine, six days we need this. just needed to live off this generator again for two days, works great. if i remember to turn the gas on, turn the start swtich on and choke it, it starts right up. only thing i dont like, wish it had a load gauage. i wont sell this until i buy another one, want a bigger one. but if you even out the loads, you can do alot.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions
Cons: wheel kit is load-cheap plastic
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
Shah
from Roselle, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Hurricane Sandy Storm Responder !!!!

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Lost Power 5 times tonight in Roselle, and Plainfield NJ due to Hurricane Sandy. once i started both of these puppies up I am back to full capacity Hurricane Sandy you were strong but the Briggs & Stratton 5500-Watt Portable Generator - Storm Responder was stronger. Highly Recommended !
The staff at the Bridgewater NJ store was so helpful. I picked up 2 of these at 2:21 am 10/29/12. Store employee Laurie W.... you are simply the BEST !!! My Daughter & I both thank you,they even had someone there to help me load them into my truck. You guys are Life Savers.
Thanks a Million......... SHAH
Pros: Easy to Use, Lots of Features, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, generator adapter cord 25'
Cons: heavy but woth its weight in gold
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
Mike
from North Reading, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

could handle anything

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
just bought this unit after hurricane Sandy hit. Was hoping for a smaller unit just to run the sum pumps but the store was out of all except 2 of these. The unit started on the first pull and handled 2 pumps 2 refridgerators a lamp and television without any stress on the motor. its a little loud but who cares when you're without power for a couple of days
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions
Cons: big unit
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
Jerseypeac
from Rahway, NJ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I'm so glad I got this pg! It work great and start with no problem. Got it for Sandy and my babies have their milk!
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Compact, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
HitbySandy
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sandy

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is my first generator so all I know is that it ran mine and my neighbor's refrigerators (and whatever else they put on), a space heater and some lights. I am sure it would have easily accommodated my sump pump as well if I needed it to. As I powered each piece of equipment on, the generator barely blinked with that 8K+ starting wattage. It also didn't do too badly on fuel as I ran it for 5 hours at a time using only about 2.5 gallons each run. I like that it comes pre-filled with oil and has the 25ft cable with 4 outlets included.
If you are considering getting an "at the last second" generator, don't forget large fuel containers, fuel stabilizer and extra oil.
Only complaint is that it is LOUD.
Pros: powerful starting wattage
Cons: loud
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
NJG33
from NJ

Kept us going during Sandy!

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Thank you Briggs and Stratton this generator kept us warm, comfortable and kept our food cold during Sandy. It was my first time using a generator and it was simple to set up and use. I even called their help line right before the storm hit and they were very helpful. I am now getting it hooked up to my panel for future use! Great product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
TMB1969
from Salisbury, PA 15558, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This Generator is simple to use and works great!

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got lucky when I walked into Home Depot on 11/30 at 7:30 pm and a truck just arrived with this generator on it.I had just remodeled my basement and had a french drain & sum pump installed .This generator saved me around 20k because my basement would have flooded.It is easy to use and works great.Had my tv,refrigerator,electric heater and light running since I purchsed this.It is loud,but most generators are.Briggs & Stratton engines have always been reputable.This generator made Hurricane Sandy less destructive and stressful.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
Deats
from Barnegat Township, NJ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Generator

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased for Sandy and ran great for 3 days we were without power. We ran our sump pump, fridge, deep freezer, electronic chargers, and tankless water heater for hot water. All ran with no problems. Lent out to family to assist with cleanup to run power tools and received compliments. I recommend this generator.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
JMom
from Pearl River, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

We love this generator

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this generator in preparation for Hurricane Sandy. We were not happy with the cost at first ($850 after tax), but we were desperate so paid it anyway. Turns out it was worth the cost. We lost power at 8:30 pm on Monday and didn't get it back until 10:30 pm on Saturday. The whole time we were out, we had heat and our fridge stayed cold. Our home is a 1500 sq ft cape cod, and we were able to run our furnace with this generator. We had our furnace, our fridge/freezer, 1 TV + cable box and DVD player, 1 computer and 1 lamp all hooked up to the generator and never had an issue. We also charged our phones and nooks periodically. I had read many reviews about these B&S generators so we knew to be careful with the oil. My husband made sure to change the oil after the first 5 hours and then he changed it again after, I think it was 50 hours, per the instruction manual. Most days we ran the generator for the whole day so the house would be warm. I was stuck at home with a sick child so we needed the generator all day. About an hour before bed we cranked the heat up to about 75 to warm up the whole house, and then we turned the generator off while we slept. It's smart to give it a break once in a while to cool down. We probably didn't need to do that but we also didn't want to waste gas. We went through about 5 gallons of gas per day running it about 14 hours per day. My husband would get up around 5 or 6 am and turn it back on so the house would be warm when the rest of us got up. We always turned it off if we went out and no one would be home. We also made sure to keep it a good distance from the house. The first night we had it right against the house by our side door to try and shield it from the wind and rain, and we had a small carbon monoxide scare. So please be careful that you keep it at least 5-10 feet from the house and not by a door or window. And always have working carbon monoxide detectors just to be safe. Thankfully we did and our detectors went off before anything really bad happened.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: it's loud but what generator isn't?
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
GaryDe

great generator

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was lucky enough to be at the right place at the right time! i walked into the Lodi store and did not expect to find a single generator right after hurricane Sandy. Was i surprised to see one Briggs generator and i bought it on the spot. I got it home and set up was very easy, oil was already installed, and i added gas, ONE pull and it started. Yesterday the power went out for about an hour and i figured FIRE THIS BABY UP! I have a transfer switch hooked up and it handled my appliances with ease.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
Suzy1
from Northren Bergen County New Jersey

Hurricane Sandy

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This generator really saved us.Ran refrigerator, two CF lamps. 32"TV cable box, router, computers. Really helped us weather the storm. Have the lamps on really made us feel better during this hurrific storm. (typing this now on generator power). We filled the tank and topped it off with 2 gals gas before bed, it ran from 5PM yesterday all night and we have 1/2 tank left after 18 hours. It is a little noisy, but during an emergency (I think you could run it all night).They have quieter gens. but i think they are less powerful or triple the price.
The casing (pipe handle) allowed us to put plywood on top, weight down by the kids sandbox.. Perfect! The large cord went upstairs, a single outlet allowed one cord to go downstairs to basement refrigerator. Ran three cords upstairs. . We stuffed towel in the window small cracked open for the cord and duct taped the opening. we also plugged in a CO2 alarm to check for fumes.
We were fine all night!! One hint, I would install it in the day light. especially before driving rain.
Be prepared, we are glad we have this generator,
Pros: Loud, Battery Length, Nice Design
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
jrudolph
from New Jersey
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Hurricane Sandy salvation

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased this B&S generator just prior to when Hurricane Sandy hit us in NJ. Came prefilled with oil. Have been powering 2 sumps, 2 refrigerators, hot water heater, laptop/phone use/recharging, and PlayStation at night for the kids (still a week and no power yet from JCP&L). Also have my neighbor's sump hooked up as well. Runs like a champ.
Pros:
*Great output allows powering of significant number of items
*7 gallon tank gives us ~12 hours with all the above items plugged in.
*Easy-to-read fuel gauge let's you quickly see how much fuel is left.
*Easy to move once wheels are installed
*Starts with one or two pulls; most I had to do was three
*Outlet area is lit up so you can see where you have to plug things in
*Built in circuit breaker
Cons
*More difficult than it should have to be to install the stationary support leg due to its location
*Plastic tires are thin and will make moving through saturated ground difficult
*25' storm cord is definitely too short; 50' would be substantially more useful and reasonable
*Area around gas tank cap is indented, which allows an unacceptable amount of rain to collect up to the top of the opening, risking water getting into the tank; large opening poses same problem; need to have dry towels on hand to soak up the water and prevent it from getting into the tank
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
cheated

Briggs & Stratton 5500-Watt Portable Generator - Storm Responder

PostedAugust 2, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not happy with this generator by Briggs and Stratton.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: not reliable
-81points
3out of 87found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
geronimo

bad out of box

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
just bought generator and started it up and the motor, not generator section started smoking as if it were going to blow up shut it down and checked if i did something wrong but oil and fuel were good
Cons: Burns Out
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
Lee123
from NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Damaged unit came in perfect box

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
During recent Ice storm, I was 'lucky' enough to get one of the last 3 generators the store had in stock. I chose the one in the perfect box. Apparently the unit had been dropped (or otherwise crushed) prior to packaging. Recoil and cooling shroud was severely crushed and the frame is bent. Obviously the unit is unstartable.
Since there is no way to prove that I didn't drop it myself, I'll attempt to fix. I just hope it makes electricity if I get it running.
In short, after spending close to $1000 (including accessories), I still froze and had no water for 2 days, and have another $100 to spend on repairs.
If you buy one (any brand), make them un-box it before you load!
Cons: Difficult to Use, damaged in perfect packaging
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
Jscanlan1
from North Bellmore
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hurricane Sandy - Long Beach/North Bellmore

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought 2 of them from East Meadow store, one went to long beach to help with efforts there..the other to north bellmore...lights and refrigerators...great...having electrician come to hook up so heat and hot water will work. (I have been told that this puppy is strong and not to mess around with Electric boxes...leave it to the electricians who understand and respect these things.
You weathered the storm....stay safe!
Pros: Great Sound Quality, Compact, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
MAS41
from Frederick, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good generator with good capacity

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm satisfied with this generator and it's performance. My only warning is make sure the oil level is completely topped off before you use it. It comes with oil in the engine from the factory, but there may not be enough to run very long before the low oil feature cuts the engine off - good feature but should be filled to the top from the factory. Unit is heavy but stable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5,500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Storm Responder
LongIsland
from LI, NY

Great Generator

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great Generator. Picked it up a few days before Hurricane Sandy and the HD folks had them on the carts ready to go. Running running lights, Frig, computer, cable/internet even the boiler. Turner most breakers off and was able to run the washing machice also. No issue, runs strong, a little loud but who cares as long as the power is flowing. Only problem is we have a gas shortage here on Long Island so I won;t keep it running all of the time. This sucker starts up every time with one pull.... Recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>