728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Vacuums or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for DC41 Animal Complete Upright Vacuum Cleaner

DC41 Animal Complete Upright Vacuum Cleaner

DC41 Animal Complete is a full-size Dyson Ball upright vacuum cleaner, engineered for tough tasks and powerful all-round dirt and pet hair removal. It comes with a range of extra tools for whole home cleaning, including a Tangle-free Turbine tool. It has Radial Root Cyclone technology with remodeled airways to maximize suction power, and the cleaner head self-adjusts for optimum contact on every floor type. A lifetime washable filter captures microscopic allergens as small as pollen and mould. With the latest Ball technology, it turns on a dime, and is easy to steer close to edges and into difficult places. DC41 Animal Complete comes with a 5-year warranty – parts and labor.
Overall rating:
4.467 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(107 reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product89 of 101reviews
Rating Breakdown 107 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(83)
4
(10)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(8)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Features 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product89 of 101reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for DC41 Animal Complete Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Review 1 for DC41 Animal Complete Upright Vacuum Cleaner
from Riva, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Dyson is the best!

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
New carpet deserves a new vacuum and the Dyson Animal is everything it is said to be. The price was the best in this area and it shipped immediately.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Self-Propelled, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for DC41 Animal Complete Upright Vacuum Cleaner
from New York
Usage frequency:Weekly

A step down for Dyson

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have two Dyson's that are 5 years old and they are excellent. The best ever. BUT the new animal complete is a total let-down. It's feels cheap, made with more and thinner plastic, the roller wheels make it very hard to maneuver, and I'm not convinced it picks up my Golden Retriever's hair any better than my older Dysons. Why did Dyson do this. I feel betrayed as a loyal customer. I'm waiting for it to break and I've had it only for a month. You're better off to stay with the conventional Dysons but I don't know if they are making those cheaper now.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, nice color
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Install, Difficult to Use, feels cheap, too much thin plastic, auto-stand function is unreliable and flimsy.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
21out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 3 for DC41 Animal Complete Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Weekly

Very good vacuum

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It is a very good vacuum with a lot of features. On a positive note, it has tremendous suction and gets into corners better than any other I have seen. We have no pets and keep a very clean house, yet it was amazing to see how much dirt it picked up in a "clean" room. It is every bit as strong as my shop vac, but does not blow any dirty air back into the room.
There are a couple of negatives: It is pretty heavy and difficult to carry up and down stairs. Also, even though it has built in attachments, I found it difficult to bend the hose enough to comfortably clean carpeted steps.
If you can live with the couple negatives I mentioned, this is a great vacuum. It's pretty pricey, so make sure you buy it when it's on sale - or about 20% off. I saved $100 doing that.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features
Cons: Size & Weight, Difficult to Use
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for DC41 Animal Complete Upright Vacuum Cleaner
from Mount Joy, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

They Shouldn't Call Anything Less a Vacuum

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What this pulled up from my floors was positively frightening. We expected it to pull up a lot of dog hair, since our last vacuum (a Bissell) never seemed to get all of that, but the sheer amount of dirt and dust it grabbed was amazing. I keep a very clean house, and on the first go through of our 2000 square feet, I had to empty the canister 3 times. I still typically fill the canister once a week.
The ball feature isn't really all that impressive to me, and it's about the same size and weight as my last vacuum, but I can't get over what a great job this does. I've also switched to vacuuming our hardwood and vinyl instead of sweeping - this product really doesn't leave you with the need to. I could write wonderful things about this all day.
Lots of people seem to complain that the cord isn't long enough, but it's plenty for me!
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DC41 Animal Complete Upright Vacuum Cleaner

Nothing but trouble

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This vacuum worked wonderfully except that after five minutes it started to smell, a kind of hot/chemical odor that gave me a headache. Contacted Dyson who arranged to have it picked up to be taken for service. It came back a week later with no indication anything had been done to it, yet the smell persisted. They arranged another pick up so back it went again. We got it back Friday and it still smells. This time it's going back for good. We have an older Dyson that's still in excellent shape but wanted to upgrade. Going to stick with the old one.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Lightweight
Cons: awful smell
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from By DysonProductExpertApril 15, 2014By DysonProductExpertApril 15, 2014
Hi there,

This is Joe from Dyson. Thank you for providing a review of your DC41 Animal Complete.

We understand you may have already reached out. However, the issue described is very unusual and we would like to learn more about your experience. Please feel free to send us an email to askdysonUS@dyson.com and we will be in touch.

Best wishes,

JoeDyson-EN_US
Review 6 for DC41 Animal Complete Upright Vacuum Cleaner
from Lake Havasu Arizona
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

This vacuum reigns supreme!!!

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have always wanted a dyson but always was hesitant due to the price. I finally made the decision and it was well worth it. My carpet looks new and has the" bounce" baçk in it like when it was first purchased! It has more suction than you could ever imagine!! Now I know why dyson has such a great reputation
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Easy to Empty Filter
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DC41 Animal Complete Upright Vacuum Cleaner
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Stopped working 8 months from purchase date

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When it worked it did okay. The bin latch does not operate as smoothly as shown and would have needed replacing in the near future The extension hose will be the next component to fail due to poor quality. For the money spent, very disappointed with dyson's quality.
Cons: Build Quality, Performance
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for DC41 Animal Complete Upright Vacuum Cleaner

This is a piece of Junk. It would not even pick up lent from the floor. I do not recommend it to anyone.

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It did not work well enough to even attempt to try any of the features.
Pros: there are no pros
Cons: very little suction.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DC41 Animal Complete Upright Vacuum Cleaner
from NE, Ga.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

It's a Dyson, worth the money.

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our second Dyson upright, first was a DC17 animal, both are worth the $. DC41 is less noisy than the DC17. We owned some of the common brands, in the past and they were, So-So compared to the Dyson's.
Will acknowledge what some other reviewers have stated about the (flimsy plastic feeling) they experienced. But, in order to keep the weight from becoming an issue, I guess this is Dyson's way of keeping the weight to a minimum. I may be wrong, but the DC41 doesn't feel like the main plastic parts are going to break. As a possible solution to that issue, investigating into other types of plastics may be the solution.
I'm very satisfied with the purchase and probably will continue future purchases of vacuum's with Dyson, until some other manufacturer makes a better product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Lots of Features, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DC41 Animal Complete Upright Vacuum Cleaner
from Sunny Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

Can't wait until it breaks!

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am a professional cleaner, and this vac replaced the DC 14 model. They made this cheaper, and doubled the price? It paid for itself in a few days, so the money is not the issue. The cord is constantly in the way. The wand pulls the vac into you, and half the time the vac falls down into my back. It doesn't like to stand upright. I rely on speed and efficiency. This vac just slows me down because it is not user friendly. I thought the DC 14 was plastic junk, but this model is the ultimate piece of plastic junk. The handle will break soon for sure. You can't possibly make a vac that is cheaper than this in construction. I just can't believe that this is on the market!
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use, cord is constantly in the way, wand is not user friendly, the bin doesn't open every time, vac doesn't always stand in upright position
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for DC41 Animal Complete Upright Vacuum Cleaner
from New Hampshire, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Not as good as my last Dyson

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Love the color...easy to empty container...easy to maneuver, handles well...BUT the handle to stand it upright does not lock in easily, it takes a few tries. My last Dyson had the same feature to easily remove the handle to use it as a tool to get to small places, this also has that feature and it is easy to use, then when it is returned to it's spot to start vacuuming again, it sometimes continues to suck through the handle, taking away from the normal vacuum part, it has to be removed and replaced a few times to get it to switch back... my husband hates the vacuum!
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Use, Performance
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for DC41 Animal Complete Upright Vacuum Cleaner

DON'T Do it!!!!

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unless you plan on a vacuum for low carpeting or hard floors I HIGHLY recommend staying away from this EXTREMELY over priced product and I have plans to sell my poor choice at a discount.
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for DC41 Animal Complete Upright Vacuum Cleaner

Awesome!

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just got it today...and used it already! Picks up a lot of that unnoticeable dog hair. I haven't used any of the "tools" yet, but I will this weekend. My only complaint so far, is that it's a little weird to unlock and lean it, to actually use it....thought I had accidentally broken it, before even turning it on! Also, while it's in the upright position, if you turn it on, it'll scare you a bit! There's a little red, vent thing...on top of the handle, that will suck in air if it's in the upright position...hahaha! Overall, I love it so far!
Pros: Lots of Features, High Quality, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for DC41 Animal Complete Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

Very expensive but worth it!

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have to agree that this machine has the best suction I have 2 dogs and the shedding was out of contral till I got this vacuum. I will be ordering more attachments and recommend it to anyone with pets and or just likes their home to be practically dust free.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: Unbalanced, doesn't stand upright easily
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for DC41 Animal Complete Upright Vacuum Cleaner
from Whidbey Island, Washington, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

BEST VACUUM I EVER OWNED

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have 2 dogs and a cat all who shed. My last vacuum wasn't even a quarter as good at cleaning; I did some research and found this vacuum to be 5 star rated with 4 times the suction of shark,hoover,bissell etc...I used to come home and within a hour my nose was getting stuffy!! Now I'm breathing easy!! Definately worth the $
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: no cons
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for DC41 Animal Complete Upright Vacuum Cleaner
from Auburn, CA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

Most powerful & efficient vacuum w/ability to pick up EVERYTHING!!

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well described, timely delivery & best price on web!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for DC41 Animal Complete Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Usage frequency:Weekly

Too fragile for everyday use

PostedJune 8, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
What works…
Great suction, self adjusting brush height, ability to turn off brush for floors
What doesn’t…
The hose – the recoil is way too strong rendering it almost useless.
Fragile parts – many tiny delicate parts hold it together, brush the ball against a wall or push too hard on the canister release and it’s broken again
Pros: Performs Well, Strong Suction
Cons: Build Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for DC41 Animal Complete Upright Vacuum Cleaner
from Fayetteville, NC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

This is our second Dyson vacuum and we love it.

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have been very pleased with all of the Dyson products we have purchased. This is our second Dyson vacuum cleaner and it is wonderful. I really like the rollerball technology - it makes it so easy to maneuver the vacuum cleaner around furniture. The only two gripes I have are small... one of the onboard attachments pops off very easily. Also, when transporting the vacuum cleaner when it is not in use, I am used to tilting the unit back and rolling on the back two wheels. Doing that with this machine doesn't work too well since it causes the handle to release... this just means that the front roller is moving on the carpet when the machine is not turned on. I'll get used to it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features
Cons: onboard attachment pops off, can't transport on back 2 wheels when not on
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for DC41 Animal Complete Upright Vacuum Cleaner
from Wisconsin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

Unbelievable suction

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have an earlier Dyson and updated to the DC41 Animal Complete. I am not crazy about the ball technology. It is very hard on the wrist. This Dyson is considerably louder than my old one. This Dyson has absolutely incredible suction. Cleans pet hair up like no vacuum before. The bin is smaller. I have to reach into it to clean out dirt almost each time I use it even though I empty it twice. The filter takes up too much of the dust bin. The turbo tool is best ever for cleaning upholstery.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value
Cons: Dust Chamber, Noisy, Unbalanced, hard on the wrist
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for DC41 Animal Complete Upright Vacuum Cleaner
from Chicago
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

This product actually does what it claims to do, picks up all the pet hair, dust, etc the first time

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This vacuum actually picks up everything it is advertised to do. It ws expensive but worht the price in the aggrevation it saves. One problem it that the handle is rather flimsy and it somewhat difficult to steer.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: Size & Weight, Build Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>