728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Whole House Systems or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System

Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System

Home Master 3-stage whole house filter Great for Well water with Iron, Manganese, Sediment/Turbidity and Sulfur problems. Treats: sediment, turbidity, iron, manganese, sulfur smell, pesticides, herbicides, and other chemicals. Delivers clean, clear water to every faucet and bath in your home without significantly drawing down water pressure. The Home Master Filter Pressure Performance Series was designed with your comfort and convenience in mind. Its uses oversized filters, housings, and fittings whenever possible to ensure your water pressure never falls short. Larger housings mean larger filters, which require less frequent service, which in turn saves you time, money, and inconvenience. 1st Stage: Four gradient depth polypropylene sediment filter. 25 micron surface, 1 micron inner core - designed for purity with bacterial and chemical resistance - typical life 12 months depending on usage and sediment quantity. 2nd Stage: Iron, Manganese and Sulfur Reduction - Radial Flow design provides excellent iron reduction with minimal pressure drop (less than 1 psi pressure drop) - Effectively reduces Iron, Manganese and Sulfur smell in water up to 3ppm combined contaminant load - Life based upon iron level. 3rd Stage - Radial flow granular activated coconut shell carbon - Chlorine, chemicals, taste, and odor removal -100,000 gallons. In the box: Home Master Filter system with filters, steel mounting bracket with bolts, housing wrench, instructions.
Overall rating:
4.577 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product44 of 49reviews
Rating Breakdown 52 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(43)
4
(3)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product44 of 49reviews
Customer reviews for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
Review 1 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Weimar, TX 78962, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The filter system works as advertised

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had a H2S oder/taste problem with well water. Chlorinator system knocked most of it out but left some and strong chlorine taste in water. Installed the filter system and it removed the H2S and Chlorine. Could then cut back on the amount of Chlorine that was being added to the water! A good system and glad I found it! Would recommend to others who have same problem, just wished would have been cheaper!!!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Convenient, Looks Great, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Palm Bay, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

it works good

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
my water was clean after installing the filter. it removed the rust color from the iron, the cloudy from sulfur, and there is no smell anymore. it was easy to install, anyone with basic plumbing skills can put it in.
Pros: Portable, Easy to Clean, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System

Worth the money

PostedMay 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have a well near the lake at our cabin and there is a LOT of sediment, rust and odor and who knows what else in our water especially in the spring when the snow melts. We couldn't use the water for drinking before installing the filter but afterwards..... The water is crystal clear odor free and tasteless. We love to drink it now and got rid of our bottled water dispenser. If it can work on our water, it can work on any water. Probably the best purchase I made for the cabin besides our boat!
Pros: Easy to Use, works very well
Cons: Heavy
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Olympia, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good buy

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to install if you know a little bit about plumbing. It filters all the sediment in the water from my well. I'm still yet to change the filters,but I beleive it'll be as easy as installing them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: expensive
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System

I'd recommend this

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We have a well with high iron content and after this was installed a few days passed and we already noticed the faucets were clearing of the crust around the handles, the water did not have an Oder and the yellow was not as noticeable in my plastic fixtures. I'd recommend this to anyone that has well water.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System

Exceeded our Expectations:)

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband and I built a new house and a water test was required. The Iron content came back 5X higher than was considered safe. Worried about all the new plumbing and appliances we started doing some quick research and asking questions. Some people suggested a cheaper iron reducing system using salt tablets. We decided a quick no on that, not wanting our water to taste like salt or to have to keep buying salt tablets for the system. There was a 2000.00 iron removal system that cleaned itself, but after putting money towards the home and buying all new appliances, this just wasn't an option.
So, we decided on this system seemed affordable and low maintenance. Just change filters as needed.
I want to tell you the Iron content was so bad from our new well, I was discouraged. You could literally see it in the water running from the faucet. So we ordered this system, had our plumber install it, though it is easy enough to do yourself, and our plumber is related, lol. Anyways, the difference was right away. We ran the water, it started running clean, and has been clean ever since. The fixtures are stain free with no iron deposits, and I am comfortable running our washer, and dishwasher now. We also have no sediment but we did not have that problem. And our water tastes great.
We installed this product in March and it is now November. We have not even had to change the filters yet. This is truly a remarkable product and one that deserves recognition. I would recommend it to anyone.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Nampa, ID
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great System

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased this filter system when we bought our home because the water left rust stains on everything and it had the sulfur smell. Since we put it in we have not had the stains or the smells. I would recommend this system if you are having similar issues.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Flint MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT SYSTEM

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This system was easy to install and the water tastes great. I have well water that I would not drink or cook with and was buying and carting water home weekly. I now just fill up at the tap. From looking around at other systems, this one is by far the best in my opinion.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Salem, OR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good filter for money

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased this filter for our home. Seems to work well. While I am a DIY kind of guy, this was a little challenging and my valve and pressure connections have slight leaks. Also where the water goes into and out of the filter there is a slight drip.
Filter seems to perform well.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Palm Harbor, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install. Great water quality.

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This unit was easy to install and works great. No complaints.
Pros: Convenient, Looks Great
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Charlton, MA 01507, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

solved the sulfer smell problem

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
great performance. No water pressure drop. Easy to install. Water is now clear with no smells, no chemical taste.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Spring Valley, AZ 86333, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This item is quiet and efficient

PostedMay 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a great water filtration system. I am on well water and it has alot of sediment and nitrates. This product changed the quality of my water. I would recommend it to friends and neighbors.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design, Quiet
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to install and great features.

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Can drink water from the tap without any smelly taste
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from silver spring, md
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent water filter

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I LOVE this filter. It transformed our water system. We are in a very rural area with a well that had a horrible odor and taste of sulphur. We bought this system and it has fixed the problem 100 percent. we are very happy
Pros: good value, very effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Maine, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Yummy delicious water:)

PostedMay 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought our home in September of last year and the water was just yucky! It didn't really taste bad, or smell bad, but it stained everything orange. I did alot of research and found that this filtration system was the only one that would filter out ALL of the nasties that were found in our water. The price was a bit off-putting, but we put it on our HD card, so no interest for 12 months:) We've had it for about a month and I couldn't be happier with the purchase!! Ouyr water is delicious and CLEAR!! I've cleaned the shower/tub & toilet, and no ugly stains have come back!! VERY satisfied with this purchase all around. The first week after we had it installed, one of the filters was leaking, but our plumber came back and tightened it up, problem solved:)
So, yes, the price tag was a bit scary, but it was much less scary than the nasties that were living in our water, and I'd buy this unit again in a heartbeat!
Pros: super clean water, easy to install. so our plumber said.
Cons: no info on hd website regarding replacement filter
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
17out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System

Product works excellently

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have had this product for several months and have noticed a definite improvement in the water's quality. It removes everything its advertised to filter out, and does so efficiently . I recommend this product to anyone wanting a quality filter for their home.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System

GREAT WATER

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our well water was always brown and filled with iron sediment. My laundry used to come out brown. The water also had a funny taste. Now with our new Home Master filter the water is crystal clear and taste great. We can save money by not using bottled water anymore.
Pros: Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Katy, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far so good.

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I was reluctant to purchase the system because of the hefty price tag, but the constant abuse my fixtures were receiving from the local water convinced me to pull the trigger.
The main body is weighty and sturdy, which is good because the canisters are extremely heavy when full. Overall, installation is pretty easy if you have some basic experience with PVC or copper piping. I would recommend installing a bypass line as well as up and downstream pressure gauges. They are essential for ease of future troubleshooting and maintenance. The only component I didn't trust was the screws provided for mounting the main body. They were probably fine, but I spent a couple of extra dollars at the hardware store on some larger bolts just to be sure. Installation took a few hours.
I am happy with the system so far. The water is no longer cloudy and tastes noticeably cleaner. I also don't have to clean the faucets and tubs as often as I did before. Lastly, I didn't have any problems with pressure drop through the system nor did I have any problems with overall flow after the installation. For reference my house is single story, 1600 sq. ft. with two full bathrooms and the pressure stays at 60 psi. I've showered with the washing machine and dishwasher running and not noticed any issues.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Olympia WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic Filter

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My family and I are in love with this filter system. We actually get excited when we drink our water now. It tastes sooooo good! The water is clean and delicious. We are so happy we got this filter. And it took no time at all to install.
Pros: Convenient, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Ctwell

Its Perfect

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is exactly what we were looking for. We're on well water and although we have RO for drinking water, we wanted a complete whole-house filter for washing dishes, showering, washing clothes, etc. This three stage filter made a big difference in our water quality and was very easy to install (I installed myself with no trouble).
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>