728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Whole House Systems or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System

Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System

Home Master 3-stage whole house filter - great for Well water with iron, manganese, and sulfur problems up to 3ppm combined. Have your well water analysis before buying. For city water consider #HMF2SmgCC. The Home Master Filter Pressure Performance Series was designed with your comfort and convenience in mind. Its uses oversized filters, housings, and fittings to ensure your water pressure never falls short. Larger filters require less frequent service, which in turn saves you time, money, and inconvenience. System treats: sediment, turbidity, iron, manganese, sulfur smell, pesticides, herbicides, and other chemicals. Delivers clean, clear water to every faucet and bath in your home without significantly drawing down water pressure. 1st Stage: Four layer depth polypropylene sediment filter - 25 micron surface, 10 micron layer, 5 micron layer, 1 micron inner core - designed for purity with bacterial and chemical resistance - typical life 12 months depending on usage and sediment quantity. 2nd Stage: Iron, Manganese and Sulfur Reduction - Radial Flow design provides excellent filtration with minimal pressure drop (less than 1 psi) - Effectively reduces Iron, Manganese and Sulfur smell in water up to 3ppm combined contaminant load. 3rd Stage - Radial flow granular activated coconut shell carbon - chemicals, taste, and odor removal -100,000 gallons. In the box: Home Master Filter system with filters, steel mounting bracket with bolts, housing wrench, instructions.
Overall rating:
4.582 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(55 reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product47 of 52reviews
Rating Breakdown 55 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(45)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product47 of 52reviews
Customer reviews for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
Review 1 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Spring Valley, AZ 86333, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This item is quiet and efficient

PostedMay 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a great water filtration system. I am on well water and it has alot of sediment and nitrates. This product changed the quality of my water. I would recommend it to friends and neighbors.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design, Quiet
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Selah, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works Better Than Expected

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a new deep well that generates a lot of iron in the water; the sinks, toilets and tubs in the house were turning orange. I purchased the 3 stage Home Master system and installed it over a month ago, and the water has since been clean, clear and actually tastes good. The system is well designed to make the most out each filter stage, and the support staff at Perfect Water is knowledgeable and helpful. I installed the system between the pressure tanks and a water softener, and it was a simple installation. The 1 inch fittings really do allow for the full flow of water to the house and full water pressure. I heartily recommend the 3 stage system for those with iron and sediments in their well water.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Convenient, Nice Design, does not decrease water flow
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Palm Bay, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

it works good

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
my water was clean after installing the filter. it removed the rust color from the iron, the cloudy from sulfur, and there is no smell anymore. it was easy to install, anyone with basic plumbing skills can put it in.
Pros: Portable, Easy to Clean, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Anchorage, Alaska
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great whole home water filter

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install. Three stage filter work very good with my smelly well water. Could barely stand to smell water before installing system, now we drink water from tap. Can use different filters to suit your needs too.
Pros: Easy to Use, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Ctwell

Its Perfect

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is exactly what we were looking for. We're on well water and although we have RO for drinking water, we wanted a complete whole-house filter for washing dishes, showering, washing clothes, etc. This three stage filter made a big difference in our water quality and was very easy to install (I installed myself with no trouble).
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Lamoine , ME.
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

SUPER AWESOME !!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We love it , major improvement our water was gross the smell , taste and the iron colored everything orange .
Really like the construction heavy duty all the way it`s pretty heavy, you know it means business. took about an hour and a half to install no problem and now our water is AWESOME!!!!!! no smell no bad taste no iron color water the it should be and it was around $600.00 but still alot cheaper than the big systems I looked into should have bought this along time ago .
If your is really gross buy this I highly recommend it .
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Seguin, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy to install, great water

PostedNovember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I attached the system to a 3/4" plywood backing and installed in my well house. A few PVC fittings, a couple of valves I thought might come in handy and it was installed. I replaced a water softener that my family and I were never satisfied with. The 3 stage filtation works perfectly. I did install a prefilter basically thinking I could extend the life of the filters. I have replaced the prefilter after 6 months, but the 3 stage filter still looked good. The water tastes great, in fact we have stopped buying bottled water. I am also amazed at how my hair feels after shampoo and conditioning. Using the same stuff, but no water softener, just the filtration. The wife noticed the change for the better as well.
We have a pretty deep well in central Texas and there was a slight smell to the water before the filters. That is gone now.
Just the savings in buying bottled water for a family of four has paid fo the unit. Very staisfied.
Pros: Nice Design, filters easy to change
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Wimauma, Fl
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smart Purchase ...

PostedNovember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy to install, very efficient, takes up very little space ... We have very hard iron water and this product works very good on filter it out ... I recommend this product ...
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Flint MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT SYSTEM

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This system was easy to install and the water tastes great. I have well water that I would not drink or cook with and was buying and carting water home weekly. I now just fill up at the tap. From looking around at other systems, this one is by far the best in my opinion.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Palm Harbor, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install. Great water quality.

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This unit was easy to install and works great. No complaints.
Pros: Convenient, Looks Great
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System

Not perfect BUT close!!

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our house is on a well. Lots of clear iron and very hard water. We've been looking at the more expensive $1,000 - $2,000 filter systems. Our biggest concern wasn't necessarily the money but most of those systems had to have a way to backwash. We live in an old restored farmhouse that has a stone basement with nowhere to drain the backwash.
A handyman friend told us about this type of system (replaceable filters). We research it and we bought this one over another system bc this system specifically said for iron/rust removal.
The installation wasn't hard, and in most newer houses it will probably take a lot less time. BUT bc our house is a little older than most it took me about an hour. I am NOT a plumber. I just know enough to make minor fixes around the house, and I was able to install with no problems.
We've had the system about 2 months now. It really is amazing how much better our water is. It is drinkable right from the faucet now. We do still have SOME hardness (my wife can tell when she boils water). There is also still a small trace of clear iron in the water BUT it is NOT enough to stain our clothes, shower, toilets or sinks. PS - we also haven't noticed any water pressure drop.
For the price, the easy installation, and not having to backwash the system... We are EXTREMELY happy with this product and have no regrets buying it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design, Easy to Install, fair price, good quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Weimar, TX 78962, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The filter system works as advertised

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had a H2S oder/taste problem with well water. Chlorinator system knocked most of it out but left some and strong chlorine taste in water. Installed the filter system and it removed the H2S and Chlorine. Could then cut back on the amount of Chlorine that was being added to the water! A good system and glad I found it! Would recommend to others who have same problem, just wished would have been cheaper!!!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Convenient, Looks Great, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Salem, OR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good filter for money

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We purchased this filter for our home. Seems to work well. While I am a DIY kind of guy, this was a little challenging and my valve and pressure connections have slight leaks. Also where the water goes into and out of the filter there is a slight drip.
Filter seems to perform well.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Kiel, WI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedApril 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our well water is what's considered agressive. Sediment, Iron and Sulfur smell. We were using a salt system for soft water. When the softner needed replacement I was surfing the net to see what I might replace it with. I ran across the Home Master 3 Stage Water Filtration System almost by accident. The thought of a saltless system was interesting. I read the specifications and testimonials and decided to give it a try. I installed the unit myself and it was not difficult. After we turned the water back on and flushed the system the results were amazing. The water quality was better than we ever had with our old salt system. The tap water tastes great. The shower water is softer than anything I can remember. I would recommend this product to anyone.
Pros: Takes Less Space, Nice Design
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System

Excellent Quality

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Everything was as advertised. This unit came just as described, everything fit together perfectly and the housing was bomb proof rock solid steel construction. Could not have asked for a better product. Water quality tastes great, no complaints here! The whole family loves this new addition.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy fix for Fe/Mn/S issues

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was happy to find a product that is easy to install and addresses the issues with my water: Iron, Manganese, and Sulfur. Overall, it seems that the treated water is much cleaner than before. We had issues with staining in the shower and sinks, and the drain lines were all coated with an iron slime which had a gross smell. The water also had a sulfur smell from time to time. Now all of that seems to be fixed, for now. I will have to wait a few more months to see if the staining or smells occur.
A few good features include the 1" plumbing connections, ease of filter change, and the look of the system. I installed the filters with a 1" line from the pump and with a 1" bypass line, and I put pressure gauges on either side of the filters. My gauges read roughly the same pressure, with maybe a 2psi pressure difference, which isn't too shabby. The shower still feels exactly the same, which was important to me.
One thing I noticed is that one of the filter enclosures has a drip of water now and again. I would say 1 drip every 10 minutes. I have not tried to fix it, but I would assume a little tightening would solve the problem.
Pros: Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, large connections, no pressure loss
Cons: filter replacement cost
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System

I'd recommend this

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
We have a well with high iron content and after this was installed a few days passed and we already noticed the faucets were clearing of the crust around the handles, the water did not have an Oder and the yellow was not as noticeable in my plastic fixtures. I'd recommend this to anyone that has well water.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Maine
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cleared water instantly

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Before I purchased this system my water had a sulfur smell, was stained orange, and tasted terrible. My water was undrinkable and stained my sink, toilet and shower. The install took about an hour once I had the necessary parts to complete the installation. As soon as it was complete my water no longer had an orange tint to it or that rotten egg smell. I am able to drink the water from the tap. I am completely satisfied with this product and would highly recommend it to anyone with the same troubles.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from The Dalles, OR
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Home Investment Ever

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased the Home Mater Whole House water filter as part of a kitchen / bathroom remodel project. Part of the project was to replace our hot water heater, kitchen and bathroom sinks and faucets. We are on a community well and have had continuous problems with sediment in our water, clogging the faucet aerators and filling the bottom of the water heater requiring flushing every year. The filter was easy to install even though I am not a plumber, the fine sediment filter lasts approximately 4 months with our dirty water, I changed the iron and carbon filters at 8 months but didn't need to and best of all, a modest investment is protecting our sinks, faucets, water heater, shower, bathtubs, etc. Since installing the system, our water is softer, draining the new hot water heater revealed no sediment, we have not plugged a single faucet aerator screen, the tub and shower water spots are gone, the rotten egg smell in our hot water is gone and I am a happy purchaser. As you can tell, I would purchase this product again and wish I had done so years ago.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Nice Design, pays for itself
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Maine, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Yummy delicious water:)

PostedMay 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought our home in September of last year and the water was just yucky! It didn't really taste bad, or smell bad, but it stained everything orange. I did alot of research and found that this filtration system was the only one that would filter out ALL of the nasties that were found in our water. The price was a bit off-putting, but we put it on our HD card, so no interest for 12 months:) We've had it for about a month and I couldn't be happier with the purchase!! Ouyr water is delicious and CLEAR!! I've cleaned the shower/tub & toilet, and no ugly stains have come back!! VERY satisfied with this purchase all around. The first week after we had it installed, one of the filters was leaking, but our plumber came back and tightened it up, problem solved:)
So, yes, the price tag was a bit scary, but it was much less scary than the nasties that were living in our water, and I'd buy this unit again in a heartbeat!
Pros: super clean water, easy to install. so our plumber said.
Cons: no info on hd website regarding replacement filter
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
17out of 20found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>