728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Whole House Systems or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System

Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System

Home Master 3-stage whole house filter Great for Well water with Iron, Manganese, Sediment/Turbidity and Sulfur problems. Treats: sediment, turbidity, iron, manganese, sulfur smell, pesticides, herbicides, and other chemicals. Delivers clean, clear water to every faucet and bath in your home without significantly drawing down water pressure. The Home Master Filter Pressure Performance Series was designed with your comfort and convenience in mind. Its uses oversized filters, housings, and fittings whenever possible to ensure your water pressure never falls short. Larger housings mean larger filters, which require less frequent service, which in turn saves you time, money, and inconvenience. 1st Stage: Quadra gradient depth polypropylene sediment filter. 25 micron surface, 1 micron inner core - designed for purity with bacterial and chemical resistance - typical life 6 - 12 months depending on usage and sediment quantity. 2nd Stage: Iron, Manganese and Sulfur Reduction - Radial Flow design provides excellent iron reduction with minimal pressure drop (less than 1 psi pressure drop) - Effectively reduces Iron, Manganese and Sulfur smell in water up to 3ppm total contaminant load - Life based upon iron level. 3rd Stage - Radial flow granular activated coconut shell carbon - Chlorine, chemicals, taste, and odor removal -100,000 gallons. In the box: Home Master Filter system with filters, steel mounting bracket with bolts, housing wrench, instructions.
Overall rating:
4.575 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product39 of 44reviews
Rating Breakdown 47 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(39)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product39 of 44reviews
Customer reviews for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
Review 1 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I highly recommend this product for anyone who has a well.

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The system was easy to install and does a wonderful job for our 2,500 sf. Texas country home. It filters "Well" water and the performance of the product is outstanding. Foul odor, iron sediments, and dirty brown toilets, sinks, laundry, and tubs are no longer a problem. After only 2 days our family was able to drink fresh clear water. If you live in the country and "bleach" your well, I would recommend installing a dump valve to clean the well and eliminate the bleach from going through the filters or the house pipes. With this system, it is no longer needed. I hope our pictures can help you with your installation. I do think the filters are a little pricey, but we plan to change the sediment one quarterly, and the other two every six months. Unfortunately, you can't see how dirty the filters get, but you can tell if you install a pressure valve before the first filter and right after the last one. When pressure is low on the (output side), it would be time to change them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Nice Design
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Pinckney MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Very good whole home water filter system

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed it myself in April 2013 and had no problems. Now my water smells and tastes great and my shower and toilet is not covered in rust stains. So glad I got this product.
Pros: works great
Cons: a bit expensive
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Nampa, ID
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great System

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased this filter system when we bought our home because the water left rust stains on everything and it had the sulfur smell. Since we put it in we have not had the stains or the smells. I would recommend this system if you are having similar issues.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to install and great features.

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Can drink water from the tap without any smelly taste
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Seguin, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy to install, great water

PostedNovember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I attached the system to a 3/4" plywood backing and installed in my well house. A few PVC fittings, a couple of valves I thought might come in handy and it was installed. I replaced a water softener that my family and I were never satisfied with. The 3 stage filtation works perfectly. I did install a prefilter basically thinking I could extend the life of the filters. I have replaced the prefilter after 6 months, but the 3 stage filter still looked good. The water tastes great, in fact we have stopped buying bottled water. I am also amazed at how my hair feels after shampoo and conditioning. Using the same stuff, but no water softener, just the filtration. The wife noticed the change for the better as well.
We have a pretty deep well in central Texas and there was a slight smell to the water before the filters. That is gone now.
Just the savings in buying bottled water for a family of four has paid fo the unit. Very staisfied.
Pros: Nice Design, filters easy to change
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Selah, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works Better Than Expected

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a new deep well that generates a lot of iron in the water; the sinks, toilets and tubs in the house were turning orange. I purchased the 3 stage Home Master system and installed it over a month ago, and the water has since been clean, clear and actually tastes good. The system is well designed to make the most out each filter stage, and the support staff at Perfect Water is knowledgeable and helpful. I installed the system between the pressure tanks and a water softener, and it was a simple installation. The 1 inch fittings really do allow for the full flow of water to the house and full water pressure. I heartily recommend the 3 stage system for those with iron and sediments in their well water.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Convenient, Nice Design, does not decrease water flow
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Weimar, TX 78962, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The filter system works as advertised

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had a H2S oder/taste problem with well water. Chlorinator system knocked most of it out but left some and strong chlorine taste in water. Installed the filter system and it removed the H2S and Chlorine. Could then cut back on the amount of Chlorine that was being added to the water! A good system and glad I found it! Would recommend to others who have same problem, just wished would have been cheaper!!!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Convenient, Looks Great, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Maine
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cleared water instantly

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Before I purchased this system my water had a sulfur smell, was stained orange, and tasted terrible. My water was undrinkable and stained my sink, toilet and shower. The install took about an hour once I had the necessary parts to complete the installation. As soon as it was complete my water no longer had an orange tint to it or that rotten egg smell. I am able to drink the water from the tap. I am completely satisfied with this product and would highly recommend it to anyone with the same troubles.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Spring Valley, AZ 86333, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This item is quiet and efficient

PostedMay 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a great water filtration system. I am on well water and it has alot of sediment and nitrates. This product changed the quality of my water. I would recommend it to friends and neighbors.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design, Quiet
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Olympia, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good buy

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to install if you know a little bit about plumbing. It filters all the sediment in the water from my well. I'm still yet to change the filters,but I beleive it'll be as easy as installing them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: expensive
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System

I'd recommend this

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We have a well with high iron content and after this was installed a few days passed and we already noticed the faucets were clearing of the crust around the handles, the water did not have an Oder and the yellow was not as noticeable in my plastic fixtures. I'd recommend this to anyone that has well water.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Ctwell

Its Perfect

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is exactly what we were looking for. We're on well water and although we have RO for drinking water, we wanted a complete whole-house filter for washing dishes, showering, washing clothes, etc. This three stage filter made a big difference in our water quality and was very easy to install (I installed myself with no trouble).
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Lake Hopatcong, NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beat Our Expectations, works great!

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I did a lot of research before ordering a whole-house water filtration system. We live on a lake and have well water, so when we moved into the house we had big problems with red staining on the toilets, tubs, water faucets and fixtures, low pressure due to clogging, bad odor/taste, you name it. Our water test revealed a lot of manganese, which a lot of systems don't filter well or at all (most stop at iron). so we bought this and had a specialist install it (he does water pumps & filters). He said he has installed many similar systems but never saw one this well built or large capacity, he loved it! It fixed our problems immediately (well after the old water worked through the system) and it's still working perfectly six months later. Very happy with this system.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Wimauma, Fl
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smart Purchase ...

PostedNovember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to install, very efficient, takes up very little space ... We have very hard iron water and this product works very good on filter it out ... I recommend this product ...
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Salem, OR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good filter for money

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased this filter for our home. Seems to work well. While I am a DIY kind of guy, this was a little challenging and my valve and pressure connections have slight leaks. Also where the water goes into and out of the filter there is a slight drip.
Filter seems to perform well.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System

Excellent Quality

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Everything was as advertised. This unit came just as described, everything fit together perfectly and the housing was bomb proof rock solid steel construction. Could not have asked for a better product. Water quality tastes great, no complaints here! The whole family loves this new addition.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Oregon, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worked like a charm!

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had this installed by my contractor (I'm not a DYI kind of gal) and he said it was very straight forward. It has made a big difference in my water quality and has not impacted pressure at all. I have sediment, manganese, iron, sulfer, etc., in my water and was constantly fighting the stains, taste, clogged screens, and smell. This system has taken care of it all! I am very pleased with my choice!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System

Not perfect BUT close!!

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our house is on a well. Lots of clear iron and very hard water. We've been looking at the more expensive $1,000 - $2,000 filter systems. Our biggest concern wasn't necessarily the money but most of those systems had to have a way to backwash. We live in an old restored farmhouse that has a stone basement with nowhere to drain the backwash.
A handyman friend told us about this type of system (replaceable filters). We research it and we bought this one over another system bc this system specifically said for iron/rust removal.
The installation wasn't hard, and in most newer houses it will probably take a lot less time. BUT bc our house is a little older than most it took me about an hour. I am NOT a plumber. I just know enough to make minor fixes around the house, and I was able to install with no problems.
We've had the system about 2 months now. It really is amazing how much better our water is. It is drinkable right from the faucet now. We do still have SOME hardness (my wife can tell when she boils water). There is also still a small trace of clear iron in the water BUT it is NOT enough to stain our clothes, shower, toilets or sinks. PS - we also haven't noticed any water pressure drop.
For the price, the easy installation, and not having to backwash the system... We are EXTREMELY happy with this product and have no regrets buying it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design, Easy to Install, fair price, good quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System

Exceeded our Expectations:)

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband and I built a new house and a water test was required. The Iron content came back 5X higher than was considered safe. Worried about all the new plumbing and appliances we started doing some quick research and asking questions. Some people suggested a cheaper iron reducing system using salt tablets. We decided a quick no on that, not wanting our water to taste like salt or to have to keep buying salt tablets for the system. There was a 2000.00 iron removal system that cleaned itself, but after putting money towards the home and buying all new appliances, this just wasn't an option.
So, we decided on this system seemed affordable and low maintenance. Just change filters as needed.
I want to tell you the Iron content was so bad from our new well, I was discouraged. You could literally see it in the water running from the faucet. So we ordered this system, had our plumber install it, though it is easy enough to do yourself, and our plumber is related, lol. Anyways, the difference was right away. We ran the water, it started running clean, and has been clean ever since. The fixtures are stain free with no iron deposits, and I am comfortable running our washer, and dishwasher now. We also have no sediment but we did not have that problem. And our water tastes great.
We installed this product in March and it is now November. We have not even had to change the filters yet. This is truly a remarkable product and one that deserves recognition. I would recommend it to anyone.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Flint MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT SYSTEM

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This system was easy to install and the water tastes great. I have well water that I would not drink or cook with and was buying and carting water home weekly. I now just fill up at the tap. From looking around at other systems, this one is by far the best in my opinion.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>