728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Whole House Systems or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System

Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System

Home Master 3-stage whole house filter - great for Well water with iron, manganese, and sulfur problems up to 3PPM combined. Have your well water analysis before buying. For city water consider #HMF2SmgCC. The Home Master Filter Pressure Performance Series was designed with your comfort and convenience in mind. Its uses oversized filters, housings, and fittings to ensure your water pressure never falls short. Larger filters require less frequent service, which in turn saves you time, money, and inconvenience. System treats: sediment, turbidity, iron, manganese, sulfur smell, pesticides, herbicides, and other chemicals. Delivers clean, clear water to every faucet and bath in your home without significantly drawing down water pressure. 1st Stage: Four layer depth polypropylene sediment filter - 25 micron surface, 10 micron layer, 5 micron layer, 1 micron inner core - designed for purity with bacterial and chemical resistance - typical life 12 months depending on usage and sediment quantity. 2nd Stage: Iron, Manganese and Sulfur Reduction - Radial Flow design provides excellent filtration with minimal pressure drop (less than 1 psi) - Effectively reduces Iron, Manganese and Sulfur smell in water up to 3PPM combined contaminant load. 3rd Stage - Radial flow granular activated coconut shell carbon - chemicals, taste, and odor removal -100,000 Gal. In the box: Home Master Filter system with filters, steel mounting bracket with bolts, housing wrench, instructions.
Overall rating:
4.632 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(68 reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product60 of 65reviews
Rating Breakdown 68 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(56)
4
(6)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product60 of 65reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
Review 1 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System

Product works excellently

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We have had this product for several months and have noticed a definite improvement in the water's quality. It removes everything its advertised to filter out, and does so efficiently . I recommend this product to anyone wanting a quality filter for their home.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System

I'd recommend this

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
We have a well with high iron content and after this was installed a few days passed and we already noticed the faucets were clearing of the crust around the handles, the water did not have an Oder and the yellow was not as noticeable in my plastic fixtures. I'd recommend this to anyone that has well water.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Clay NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The right water treatment for my problem

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought a home with a well and immediately noticed the slight odor in the water. The shower and tub started turning orange and I started doing research and even had the water tested - high in iron and total dissolve solids (TDS). I did a thorough review of a number of water treatment systems and decided this one was simple and addressed my iron problem. I also didn't know for sure if there was a sulfur problem or not. The systems that would address everything were over $2,000 and I didn't have that money. I picked the home master 3-stage filtration to address the worst problems. The filter came in quickly and was much simpler to install than I thought it would be. I got the adapters and shutoff valves I needed and had it installed in a couple of hours. Immediately the odor was gone, and I was now able to clean off the rust stains. It's been seven months and they have not come back. It's not time to replace the filters and I will be ordering the replacement elements. It worked and I'm not disappointed at all. I even put 5,000 gallons into my pool through it because I have no unfiltered water.
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System

Excellent Quality

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Everything was as advertised. This unit came just as described, everything fit together perfectly and the housing was bomb proof rock solid steel construction. Could not have asked for a better product. Water quality tastes great, no complaints here! The whole family loves this new addition.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Palm Bay, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

it works good

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
my water was clean after installing the filter. it removed the rust color from the iron, the cloudy from sulfur, and there is no smell anymore. it was easy to install, anyone with basic plumbing skills can put it in.
Pros: Portable, Easy to Clean, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from silver spring, md
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent water filter

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I LOVE this filter. It transformed our water system. We are in a very rural area with a well that had a horrible odor and taste of sulphur. We bought this system and it has fixed the problem 100 percent. we are very happy
Pros: good value, very effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Olympia WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic Filter

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My family and I are in love with this filter system. We actually get excited when we drink our water now. It tastes sooooo good! The water is clean and delicious. We are so happy we got this filter. And it took no time at all to install.
Pros: Convenient, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Olympia, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good buy

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to install if you know a little bit about plumbing. It filters all the sediment in the water from my well. I'm still yet to change the filters,but I beleive it'll be as easy as installing them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: expensive
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I highly recommend this product for anyone who has a well.

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The system was easy to install and does a wonderful job for our 2,500 sf. Texas country home. It filters "Well" water and the performance of the product is outstanding. Foul odor, iron sediments, and dirty brown toilets, sinks, laundry, and tubs are no longer a problem. After only 2 days our family was able to drink fresh clear water. If you live in the country and "bleach" your well, I would recommend installing a dump valve to clean the well and eliminate the bleach from going through the filters or the house pipes. With this system, it is no longer needed. I hope our pictures can help you with your installation. I do think the filters are a little pricey, but we plan to change the sediment one quarterly, and the other two every six months. Unfortunately, you can't see how dirty the filters get, but you can tell if you install a pressure valve before the first filter and right after the last one. When pressure is low on the (output side), it would be time to change them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Nice Design
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Salem, OR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good filter for money

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We purchased this filter for our home. Seems to work well. While I am a DIY kind of guy, this was a little challenging and my valve and pressure connections have slight leaks. Also where the water goes into and out of the filter there is a slight drip.
Filter seems to perform well.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Excellent

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
easy to assemble and install. Instantly improved the color, taste and smell of my water. very well built.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great System

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Has only been installed little over a month so will have to see how long filters last but at the moment works great,have been able to whiten the sinks and toilet and shower and not have the nasty iron stains from water before system installed.Have well water with high iron content and its great to have good water now.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Katy, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far so good.

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I was reluctant to purchase the system because of the hefty price tag, but the constant abuse my fixtures were receiving from the local water convinced me to pull the trigger.
The main body is weighty and sturdy, which is good because the canisters are extremely heavy when full. Overall, installation is pretty easy if you have some basic experience with PVC or copper piping. I would recommend installing a bypass line as well as up and downstream pressure gauges. They are essential for ease of future troubleshooting and maintenance. The only component I didn't trust was the screws provided for mounting the main body. They were probably fine, but I spent a couple of extra dollars at the hardware store on some larger bolts just to be sure. Installation took a few hours.
I am happy with the system so far. The water is no longer cloudy and tastes noticeably cleaner. I also don't have to clean the faucets and tubs as often as I did before. Lastly, I didn't have any problems with pressure drop through the system nor did I have any problems with overall flow after the installation. For reference my house is single story, 1600 sq. ft. with two full bathrooms and the pressure stays at 60 psi. I've showered with the washing machine and dishwasher running and not noticed any issues.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System

GREAT WATER

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our well water was always brown and filled with iron sediment. My laundry used to come out brown. The water also had a funny taste. Now with our new Home Master filter the water is crystal clear and taste great. We can save money by not using bottled water anymore.
Pros: Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Pattison MS
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Crystal Clear "Safe" Water

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We purchased this water system for our new 16x80 camp trailer last year. It has been a whole year now & we are so please with this product. We have well water that was orange & tasted nasty. The unit was very easy to install as well. We spend every weekend & couple days of the week at our new place and it is still clear & tasty as a year ago. I don't have to worry about our new bathroom fixtures being stained either!
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Purcellville VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing Value

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We purchased this product based on the reviews and price. Well I am happy to say that every positive comment we read came true for us also. Within a day we had perfectly clear water and no staining of any vanity, toilet, or appliance. Wish we had done this sooner. I highly recommended this to my neighbor who has to replace his 10 year old $5000 system. Just hope the filters last long enough.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Palm Harbor, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install. Great water quality.

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This unit was easy to install and works great. No complaints.
Pros: Convenient, Looks Great
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Maine
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cleared water instantly

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Before I purchased this system my water had a sulfur smell, was stained orange, and tasted terrible. My water was undrinkable and stained my sink, toilet and shower. The install took about an hour once I had the necessary parts to complete the installation. As soon as it was complete my water no longer had an orange tint to it or that rotten egg smell. I am able to drink the water from the tap. I am completely satisfied with this product and would highly recommend it to anyone with the same troubles.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Pinckney MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Very good whole home water filter system

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I installed it myself in April 2013 and had no problems. Now my water smells and tastes great and my shower and toilet is not covered in rust stains. So glad I got this product.
Pros: works great
Cons: a bit expensive
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Home Master Whole House Three Stage, Fine Sediment, Iron and Carbon Water Filtration System
from Lake Hopatcong, NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beat Our Expectations, works great!

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I did a lot of research before ordering a whole-house water filtration system. We live on a lake and have well water, so when we moved into the house we had big problems with red staining on the toilets, tubs, water faucets and fixtures, low pressure due to clogging, bad odor/taste, you name it. Our water test revealed a lot of manganese, which a lot of systems don't filter well or at all (most stop at iron). so we bought this and had a specialist install it (he does water pumps & filters). He said he has installed many similar systems but never saw one this well built or large capacity, he loved it! It fixed our problems immediately (well after the old water worked through the system) and it's still working perfectly six months later. Very happy with this system.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>