728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 8-oz. Cedar Oil

8-oz. Cedar Oil

The Giles and Kendall Cedar Oil is a simple solution to restoring and rejuvenating the aromatic and protective cedar lining of a closet, armoire or chest. Made from 100% aromatic eastern red cedar, this oil contains no additional chemicals, scents or diluents and is suitable for solid cedar planks or cedar flakeboard products. This 8-oz. can renews approximately 300 sq. ft. of cedar surface area and repels moths, cockroaches silverfish and mildew.
Overall rating:
4.478 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product20 of 23reviews
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(17)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product20 of 23reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 8-oz. Cedar Oil
Review 1 for 8-oz. Cedar Oil
from Home owner from Boston
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I had hoped it would be

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Most of my purchases start by reading reviews. As with almost all products the reviews for this oil were mixed. Some people complained about it being too strong, or "not like cedar".
Well, my opinion is that unless the manufacturer is lying that's BUNK. The can clearly states that it's 100% cedar oil steamed from cedar wood. That being the case, there's no "turpentine" or any other solvent.
I found this to smell EXACTLY like the cedar lining that is stocked next to the can. It's eastern red cedar oil. Period.
I mainly wanted to use the oil to darken or enrich the color of the cedar that I installed in a blanket chest and it did that just fine. It's not super rich, like you might get with boiled linseed oil, but you don't want to put anything on cedar that would block the natural oils. I did expect more of a sheen, but that's not what happens. Once it dries (quickly, hours) it's pretty flat.
I do think it's a bit expensive, but it goes a long way and I'm sure it's a pricey process to extract from the wood.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 8-oz. Cedar Oil
from Memphis, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cedar Oil

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I recently purchased an antique bedroom set with a musty smell. I wiped down the drawers of the chest and dresser and it gave a very lovely "old cedar" smell. I then wiped down my old cedar chests. Great product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8-oz. Cedar Oil

Great product does was it says

PostedDecember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Read some reviews before I bought it, don't know why you would leave a review if you didn't use it. Use the recommended sandpaper (I used 150) and wipe with a damp cloth (water) to open up the wood for the oil. No it doesn't smell like cedar WOOD in the can, but it's the real deal. if the wood was previously sealed or if moth balls were used 150 grit may not be enough. And no the room doesn't have to be vacuum sealed in order for it to be effective, its a deterrent. Moths and quite a few other critters seem to hate it. 20 plus years and no issues where previously there was.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 8-oz. Cedar Oil

Fleas

PostedJuly 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product also kills fleas. Great for dogs and safe but not recommended for cats. Google this cedar oil and you'll be happy you did.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 8-oz. Cedar Oil
from Charlotte, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Brings old cedar back to a rich red color and smell like freshly cut wood. Love it!

PostedDecember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this to restore and 100+ year old antique cedar chest that has lost it's smell and red cedar looked. I used half of the container to revitalize the wood. I believe it was because the wood was so old and dry. Smell is restored and amazing!!! The color of the old cedar wood is restored back to like new also. Very happy with this purchase.
Pros: High Quality
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 8-oz. Cedar Oil
from Mississippi
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Cedar Oil

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We used it on some aromatic cedar as well as regular cedar. On the southern (non-aromatic) cedar it made it turn from the light tan/brown to more of the eastern's reddish color. It also added that nice cedar smell to it. i used the 1x4 (actually 3/4x3.5) cedar boards from HD and used it as toe molding. House has that woodsy smell and should also keep roaches and most bugs from the house without needing to spray POISON around the family or dogs. After it dries for a few days it still had made the eastern and southern boards have a slightly more reddish tint but on the southern cedar it had a slightly more brownish darker color than before treatment. *NOTE: picture shows wood when wet, it is less noticeable when dry, but still can tell difference)
Pros: High Quality
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 8-oz. Cedar Oil

Great to have!

PostedAugust 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Reactivate cedar blocks to freshen up closets. Goes a long way!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 8-oz. Cedar Oil
from Ashburn, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I wish we had "Smell-O-Photos"!

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My husband and I have an older home. We've been replacing, repairing and renovating for 20+ years. I am currently converting a spare bedroom into my walk in closet/dressing room. I purchased Giles and Kendall Cedar Oil to use in place of polyurethane. As you can see, it brings out the natural beauty of the wood, it smells AMAZING and provides an added bonus of insect/moth protection. Great bang for the buck! Home Depot is our go-to-store for our personal and business needs and once again, you have not let me down. I normally shop, in store. This product was only available on line. Shipped much faster than they indicated. Packaged well and received in great condition. In store and on line...winner, either way!
(I love my Cordele, Ga store. Every member in the store is pleasant, knowledgable and always helpful.) Thank you, HD!
Sincerely, your loyal and satisfied customer
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, amazing fragrance
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 8-oz. Cedar Oil
from Queensbury, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Holds its Scent

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I had built a large changing room of cedar and it ultimately lost its aroma. This product, when applied to a block of cedar wood occasionally, makes the whole room smell like new. A little pricey but it works.
Pros: Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 8-oz. Cedar Oil

Adds aromatic lustre to all wood projects

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I've been using cedar oil on my wood projects for years and Home Depot was the only place I could find it locally and they gave me free shipping to my home. The cedar aroma fills the house with a fresh outdoorsy fragrance while adding a rich lustre to my projects and bringing out the beauty of the wood grain.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
Cons: if any; the fragrance doesn't last long
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 8-oz. Cedar Oil
from Conway, AR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product.

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This product did exactly as expected. We used it to put aroma back into an older cedar chest and it worked nicely. The only problem I had was the odor. It smelled really loud. That was initially only. I would recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 8-oz. Cedar Oil
from Anderson SC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I needed

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was thrilled to purchase a bargain cedar wardrobe but I wasn't thrilled with how it smelled like mothballs. I lightly sanded and vacuumed the interior and rubbed this on the wood. Now I have a fresh new cedar smelling wardrobe!! Love this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 8-oz. Cedar Oil
from Tulsa Ok
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Moth defense & maintenance. Excellent product for cedar closets!!! Cedar closets must be re-oiled.

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product must be ordered and is not available in the stores. I used almost three cans of oil to revive two cedar closets. I returned the one unopened can to our local Home Depot store. I wish I had known about this product years ago!! I plan to re-oil the closets when the scent is gone-maybe annually? It will be a lot easier now that I have the following method to use.
Our custom, four year old, cedar closets & drawers became moth infested. We had to throw out most of our winter wardrobes. I believe this happened because the cedar scent had worn off. After removing all clothing, I vaccuumed the carpet and all of the cedar siding, shelves, etc. I sanded the cedar, but it did not revive the scent. So, I ordered this cedar oil. It has an extremely strong scent so make sure that you have a fan blowing in the area where you are working! Open windows, if possible. Your skin will absorb the oil, so wear gloves and cover your skin. If you will be applying cedar oil to a ceiling, wear a cap. I learned all of this the hard way!
I found the most effective application method fo re-oiling a cedar closet was the following:
1) Pour some oil into a small disposable bowl. Because of the heavy scent, I poured in a small amount at a time.
2) Dip an inexpensive 2 inch wide brush into the oil & lightly apply oil to a section of the cedar planks
3) Use a rag to rub oil into the cedar. Work in sections.
4 Let the oil dry. I kept the fan running & the window open. If necessary to return the scent, repeat the process.
5)Make sure oil is dry before putting clothing back into the closet & drawerst! It could stain the clothing.
NOTE: Cedar scent only repels and does NOT kill moths. Moths ate holes in our clothing that had been dry cleaned and even brand new silk and cashmere. Yes, they like leather and even ate my best Italian silk and leather shoes. They will lay eggs in down coats and comforters, too. They seek out the human and even aniimal sucrose left in clothing and linens. Supposedly, they hate the smell of dry cleaning fluid.
You have to get rid of all of the moth eggs and larva before you put anything back into the cedar closet. This means washing or dry cleaning ALL surviving clothing (wool blankets, down coats) that was in the infested cedar closet. Moths will lay miniscule eggs on cotton and even polyester. So, you can go to all of the trouble to re-oil your closet and put those moths back in there. Also, I purchased the XXL Ziploc brand bags from Home Depot to store the freshly dry cleaned surviving wools and silks.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: strong scent, must have ventilation while working
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 8-oz. Cedar Oil
from Cypress, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Real Cedar Oil.

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After a lot of so-called cedar oil products bought, this one is real cedar oil. Its working as promised which means a lot to me. Only one issue--it took two weeks to get to my house.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 8-oz. Cedar Oil

It's OK

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought it for the smell of cedar. Nice odor but didn't last 2 days. For the price, I expected something far mos lasting.
Pros: nice smell
Cons: dosen't last long
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 8-oz. Cedar Oil
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It didn't do the job I had hoped

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I acquired a cedar chest that the previous owner apparently used with mothballs. I had hoped that if I sanded the entire interior and applied cedar oil to the entire interior that the mothball smell would go away. It did --- for about 3 days!! This product did not do the job which I had hoped it would. Mothball smell wins.
-1point
6out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 8-oz. Cedar Oil
from Dunwoody, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great features

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great product. Incredible service. Dilvered on time. Nicely packaged. Thanks.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 8-oz. Cedar Oil
from hickory, nc
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this stuff

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I looked all over the stores, HD, Lowes, Ace, etc. and no one had stout. Went on line and it was right there. Shipped exactly as stated and promised. When I went to get it the staff was extremely helpful in locating it and getting it to me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 8-oz. Cedar Oil
from Santa Fe, NM, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

8 oz of pure cedar oil

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
i purchased this to spruce up my home. great product. i'd highly recommend it. also home depot in the only one i could find this product in santa fe, nm. great woodsy product!
Pros: High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 8-oz. Cedar Oil
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The Cedar looks like new

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The oil was very easy to apply. Strong smell of cedar after i applied to the wood. Took about 2 days to dry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>