728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 8-oz. Cedar Oil

8-oz. Cedar Oil

Have an older cedar-lined closet, armoire, or chest that the Aromatic Cedar no longer has its protective cedar aroma. If you can't smell the aroma, you know the protective qualities of aromatic cedar are not working. Then, it is time to rejuvenate and restore your cedar lining with Giles and Kendall's 100 percent pure Cedar Oil.
Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product10 of 12reviews
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product10 of 12reviews
Customer reviews for 8-oz. Cedar Oil
Review 1 for 8-oz. Cedar Oil
from Home owner from Boston
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I had hoped it would be

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Most of my purchases start by reading reviews. As with almost all products the reviews for this oil were mixed. Some people complained about it being too strong, or "not like cedar".
Well, my opinion is that unless the manufacturer is lying that's BUNK. The can clearly states that it's 100% cedar oil steamed from cedar wood. That being the case, there's no "turpentine" or any other solvent.
I found this to smell EXACTLY like the cedar lining that is stocked next to the can. It's eastern red cedar oil. Period.
I mainly wanted to use the oil to darken or enrich the color of the cedar that I installed in a blanket chest and it did that just fine. It's not super rich, like you might get with boiled linseed oil, but you don't want to put anything on cedar that would block the natural oils. I did expect more of a sheen, but that's not what happens. Once it dries (quickly, hours) it's pretty flat.
I do think it's a bit expensive, but it goes a long way and I'm sure it's a pricey process to extract from the wood.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 8-oz. Cedar Oil
from Mississippi
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Cedar Oil

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We used it on some aromatic cedar as well as regular cedar. On the southern (non-aromatic) cedar it made it turn from the light tan/brown to more of the eastern's reddish color. It also added that nice cedar smell to it. i used the 1x4 (actually 3/4x3.5) cedar boards from HD and used it as toe molding. House has that woodsy smell and should also keep roaches and most bugs from the house without needing to spray POISON around the family or dogs. After it dries for a few days it still had made the eastern and southern boards have a slightly more reddish tint but on the southern cedar it had a slightly more brownish darker color than before treatment. *NOTE: picture shows wood when wet, it is less noticeable when dry, but still can tell difference)
Pros: High Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8-oz. Cedar Oil
from Cypress, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Real Cedar Oil.

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After a lot of so-called cedar oil products bought, this one is real cedar oil. Its working as promised which means a lot to me. Only one issue--it took two weeks to get to my house.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 8-oz. Cedar Oil
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The Cedar looks like new

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The oil was very easy to apply. Strong smell of cedar after i applied to the wood. Took about 2 days to dry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 8-oz. Cedar Oil
from Dunwoody, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great features

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product. Incredible service. Dilvered on time. Nicely packaged. Thanks.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 8-oz. Cedar Oil

Adds aromatic lustre to all wood projects

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've been using cedar oil on my wood projects for years and Home Depot was the only place I could find it locally and they gave me free shipping to my home. The cedar aroma fills the house with a fresh outdoorsy fragrance while adding a rich lustre to my projects and bringing out the beauty of the wood grain.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
Cons: if any; the fragrance doesn't last long
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 8-oz. Cedar Oil
from chapin, sc
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

cedar oil for cedar chest

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The oil came as promised and had the typical odor of a cedar chest indicating it came from the appropriate wood. I have ordered other oil only to find out that it came from western cedar wood and did not have the correct odor.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 8-oz. Cedar Oil
from Anderson SC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I needed

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was thrilled to purchase a bargain cedar wardrobe but I wasn't thrilled with how it smelled like mothballs. I lightly sanded and vacuumed the interior and rubbed this on the wood. Now I have a fresh new cedar smelling wardrobe!! Love this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 8-oz. Cedar Oil
from Frederick, MD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a terrific cedar oil. Wipe it on, let it sit, wipe up any excess, you're finished. beautifully restored cedar chest interior. Highly recommend.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 8-oz. Cedar Oil
from Conway, AR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product.

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product did exactly as expected. We used it to put aroma back into an older cedar chest and it worked nicely. The only problem I had was the odor. It smelled really loud. That was initially only. I would recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 8-oz. Cedar Oil
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It didn't do the job I had hoped

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I acquired a cedar chest that the previous owner apparently used with mothballs. I had hoped that if I sanded the entire interior and applied cedar oil to the entire interior that the mothball smell would go away. It did --- for about 3 days!! This product did not do the job which I had hoped it would. Mothball smell wins.
-1point
5out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 8-oz. Cedar Oil
from PA

Didn't smell like cedar

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had hoped this product would revive the fresh cedar smell in a 60+ year old cedar chest, but when I opened the can, it didn't even smell like cedar! Maybe I got a dud can, but it smelled like pine/turpentine to me. I didn't bother even using it on the cedar chest. I took it back to the store and will see if I can find some cedar blocks or balls to stick inside instead.
-7points
4out of 15found this review helpful.