728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop CO & Smoke Combination Alarms or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm

Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm

Kidde 10 year Smoke Alarm is powered by sealed, long-life lithium batteries for ten years (the life of the alarm), meaning the alarm is always on. This alarm is ideal for the kitchen. This Ten Year Alarm is a combination smoke and carbon monoxide. The alarm features a unique sensor algorithm that detects real fires faster and reduces nuisance alarms. With a sealed, long-life lithium battery smoke and carbon monoxide combination alarm installed in your kitchen, you can enjoy peace of mind knowing your kitchen smoke alarm is always on; 24 hours per day, seven days a week for a decade.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product32 of 37reviews
Rating Breakdown 42 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(29)
4
(6)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product32 of 37reviews
Customer reviews for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
Review 1 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm

DO NOT BUY!!!

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought two of these detectors only 8 weeks ago. We had one of the alarms start beeping indicating there was a Smoke Alarm. However, there was NO smoke and NO fire. The Hush button did not work so the alarm continued to go off for the next 1 1/2 hours. Finally, we had to turn the OFF screw which means the detector is no longer useable! It is suddenly a paperweight!
This caused me to look at the second detector. It was then I noticed that one suddenly doesn't work! You have to be kidding me!
After looking at others reviews on line this is par for the course for this make/model. What kind of company sells garbage like this when families are expecting this product to protect their lives? We will never buy another product from Kiddie. Second, we feel let down by Home Depot for selling such junk!
Cons: Burns Out, stopped working, false alarm for no reason, one time use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
from Sugar Hill, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Plenty of Compromises

PostedApril 30, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought the long battery life in this unit would be great for my kitchen, which has a vaulted ceiling. What I learned is that the battery cannot be replaced, so the entire unit must be replaced when the battery dies. Sort of like buying a lamp that has a sealed-in blub. This doesn't make a lot of sense, but apparently is required by law now in some locations. If you don't live in one of those locations, you can get a better traditionally powered alarm for less money, so this isn't even worth considering.
If you do need a 10 year sealed-power smoke alarm, Home Depot carries cheaper units from Kidde that may offer a better combination of protection. What this alarm lacks is an ionization sensor, which alarms faster with a quick-burning fire. Instead it uses a photoelectric sensor, which is considered better at detecting slow smoldering fires. Kidde does make smoke alarms without CO detection that contain both types of smoke sensors, but unfortunately none that contain CO detection as well.
I did not realize until I had opened this unit this does not actually serve as a single all-purpose detector, as the packaging clearly indicates that an ionization smoke detector should be installed as well. Keep this in mind if you want a quicker alarm indicating a fast-burning fire. Also, many other Kiddie detectors include premium features such as voice alerts or lighting to illuminate the room during an alarm, none of which are found in this unit.
Overall, this is a very basic smoke detector with a standard CO alarm integrated. At this price point I would expect much more, especially if the entire unit must be replaced when the battery dies. Consider only if your location requires sealed batteries, you want CO detection, but don't mind lacking detection of fast-burning fires without adding a separate detector.
Pros: Battery Length
Cons: sealed battery, no ionization detection
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
from Cleveland, OH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Yay, no battery replacements!!!

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I like that the battery is sealed & stated as 10 years. That eliminates the reality of me forgetting to change the battery every daylight savings time change. Installation of the detector was very easy, just a few screws in the ceiling. No malfunctions yet as other reviewers have stated.
Pros: Battery Length, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
from Raleigh, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Kitchen fume resistant

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The mounting ring on this unit is strange, only about the size of a USA 50 cent piece. (See attached photo of similar unit with same mounting system.)
So they tried something different by having two different ways to mount it, one with traditional screws and anchors, and the other with a central drywall anchor screw. Neither gives me much confidence.
To activate the unit, you have to give it a hard twist on the mounting system, and it felt like I was going to rip it right off the ceiling. I really would prefer a different, more traditional mounting system.
Mounting issues aside, this unit is full of features. CO detection and kitchen fume resistance were why I got this unit. We have wired detectors in our house of ionization type, so the fact that this unit is photo-electric is a perfect complement for our kitchen area.
The unit has passed our "broiler test" with flying colors. No more fanning the fumes from the detector. It can handle a few broiler fumes, no problem.
I can't speak for the CO element. That's something I hope to never test. It is comforting to have as a second CO unit in our house.
Pros: Battery Length
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
from New Jersey
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No Battey-change smoke detector

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very unique and at the same time advantageous. What is better than a smoke detector that has a battery that lasts 10 years, also the time that the sensor lasts in any detector. Ingenious. I placed one directly outside the furnace room, outside my son's bedroom.
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
from SLC, UT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Battery didn't last

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this detector specifically because of the advertised 10-year life. Only 7 months after installation it started going off and pushing the button to hush it wasn't doing anything. I happened to have a second CO detector in the house and felt comfortable that CO wasn't present. There was no smoke present anywhere either. The only way I could get it to stop was to rip it open and tear out the battery. Now I'm out 50 and need another detector. The 10-year sealed battery life might be a perk to some, but from now on I'm going to want to be able to change the battery, or simply remove it when necessary.
Pros: Loud, Easy Installation
Cons: Short Battery Life
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
from Minnetonka, MN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Purchase only if you understand how smoke and carbon monoxide work

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I would recommend this with limitations. Smoke rises and carbon monoxide is heavy. I live in a split level home. The main living space is the second floor. This type of alarm would not work for this floor. As I found out, if mounted on or near the ceiling I would be dead before the carbon alarm would go off. The people working this department in your store need to know this. And the packaging needs to clearly reflect this information.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Installation
Cons: Complicated, needs to note that it is not ideal for upper level, see comments above.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
from 9 mi Due North of Obama's house

Not Worry-Free

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installed 6 matching Smoke detectors and one of these per county ordinances. The combo detector was the only one immediately alerting on a low battery. Have contacted Kidde but I suspect I'll just get it replaced at the local HD. Packaging has "Worry-Free" on it. How worry free can it be if the first one I bought doesn't even work out of the box?
Cons: doa
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
from CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Expensive but 2 for 1 product

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This combo smoke detector is quite expensive, but you won't have to worry about replacing batteries for 10 years or be annoyed by the chirping. I put these in tenants apartments as the battery(s) cannot be removed by them, which is another plus in my book. Also, because it is 2 for 1 product (smoke and CO), you save the cost of buying two different products, while also saving time because you don't have to change the batteries on two different units/detectors.
Fairly easy installation, but I did prefer the older style of two screws on opposite ends vs. this one that uses a center base to screw in.
4 out of 5 stars.
Pros: Easy to Use, Battery Length
Cons: up front cost is high
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
from Arkansas, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Really liking this alarm

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First one I got was bad. Talked to cust. service and they got me out a new unit. Installed this one and it is working great, so am pleased. Have installed 1000's of units over the years as am an electrician and only have run into a few that are bad, so was happy the factory took care of this quickly.
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Loud, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
from Douglasville, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sleeping well

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this fire/co detector for my garage. It states not to put in the garage. I don't park my car in there. I do have a gas water heater in the garage. This was my point of concern. Like the fact that the unit is SELF SEALED. No battery to change for a decade. Just put the date I bought it on the sticker on the side of it. Then used screw provided with unit and put it on the ceiling by the door leading to the hall into my home. Worth the money for the comfort of knowing if there is a silent killer in my home. Plus not having to change batteries twice a year.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
from Pittsfield, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Convenient and easy to install

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had plugin carbon monoxide alarms and wanted to free up the outlets. When my old smoke alarm died, this seemed like a nice option, since it would replace both. Although I've always been good about replacing the batteries, I won't have to think about it again for 10 years. Also, changing the backup batteries on the plugin CMAs was a noisy process. I picked this alarm in part because it doesn't have a voice alarm. Let's hope I never have to find out if it works.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Battery Length, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
from Pasadena, MD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy purchase, came quickly

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Needed a new smoke alarm, easy to install and arrived quickly.
Pros: Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
from NEW ORLEANS, LA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

very loud+++

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
very easy to install.
very straight forward instructions.
very loud which is what you want a smoke detector to be.
i love that you have to change it out every 10 years.
perfect.
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Compact, Battery Length, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
from Willow Grove, PA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

easy to use

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
works well, no battery worries for 10 years, testing it is easy as it goes through all it's settings.
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
from Fairfax, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great detector, combines 2 types into 1.

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No more changing batteries in both a CO2 and smoke detector twice a year. This one lasts 10 years on 1 sealed battery. I put 3 of these in the house and just need to test them once a month, that's it...
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Loud, Compact, Battery Length, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
from Woodhaven, New York USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Safety in a Nutshell

PostedMay 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install, one piece smoke alarm with carbon monoxide detector alarm that will last for 10 years is the best idea. I now can relax for a while and feel safe.
Pros: Lots of Features, Compact, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
from Enfield Ct
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

homesafe

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fire department installed them and liked them these replaced our old and outdated units.
Pros: Battery Length, Loud, Great Sound Quality, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
from Westminster, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Priceless Protection

PostedMay 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I never thought I would say I love a smoke alarm, but I'm saying that now! This alarm is made for use in the kitchen area and that is where mine was easily installed. Unlike with my previous alarm, I no longer have to worry about replacing the battery every 6 months. And, I don't have to listen to that annoying beep, beep, beep sound when it needs to be replaced. We recently installed a gas fireplace in my country kitchen/family room, so now I also have the peace of mind that a carbon monoxide alarm provides. Yes, this alarm is more expensive, initially, than my old alarm but my old alarm was for smoke/fire only and I had to pay for all of the replacement batteries. Plus my local fire department recommends replacing alarms every 10 years, which is the life of the batteries in this alarm. Most importantly this alarm gives my family a loud warning in the event of fire or carbon monoxide leak, which is truly priceless.
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Loud, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
from Alexandria, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best CO/Smoke Detector Ever

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Finally found a CO/Smoke Detector with the Long-life Li Battery!
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Nice Design, Easy Installation
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>