728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop CO & Smoke Combination Alarms or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm

Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm

Kidde 10 year Smoke Alarm is powered by sealed, long-life lithium batteries for ten years (the life of the alarm), meaning the alarm is always on. This alarm is ideal for the kitchen. This Ten Year Alarm is a combination smoke and carbon monoxide. The alarm features a unique sensor algorithm that detects real fires faster and reduces nuisance alarms. With a sealed, long-life lithium battery smoke and carbon monoxide combination alarm installed in your kitchen, you can enjoy peace of mind knowing your kitchen smoke alarm is always on; 24 hours per day, seven days a week for a decade.
Overall rating:
4.518 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product21 of 23reviews
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(21)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product21 of 23reviews
Customer reviews for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
Review 1 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
Dees
from Willow Grove, PA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

easy to use

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
works well, no battery worries for 10 years, testing it is easy as it goes through all it's settings.
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
MAO76
from SLC, UT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Battery didn't last

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this detector specifically because of the advertised 10-year life. Only 7 months after installation it started going off and pushing the button to hush it wasn't doing anything. I happened to have a second CO detector in the house and felt comfortable that CO wasn't present. There was no smoke present anywhere either. The only way I could get it to stop was to rip it open and tear out the battery. Now I'm out 50 and need another detector. The 10-year sealed battery life might be a perk to some, but from now on I'm going to want to be able to change the battery, or simply remove it when necessary.
Pros: Loud, Easy Installation
Cons: Short Battery Life
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
MEMA
from CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Expensive but 2 for 1 product

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This combo smoke detector is quite expensive, but you won't have to worry about replacing batteries for 10 years or be annoyed by the chirping. I put these in tenants apartments as the battery(s) cannot be removed by them, which is another plus in my book. Also, because it is 2 for 1 product (smoke and CO), you save the cost of buying two different products, while also saving time because you don't have to change the batteries on two different units/detectors.
Fairly easy installation, but I did prefer the older style of two screws on opposite ends vs. this one that uses a center base to screw in.
4 out of 5 stars.
Pros: Easy to Use, Battery Length
Cons: up front cost is high
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
jj123
from Enfield Ct
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

homesafe

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fire department installed them and liked them these replaced our old and outdated units.
Pros: Battery Length, Loud, Great Sound Quality, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
Jazzybaby
from Pittsfield, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Convenient and easy to install

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had plugin carbon monoxide alarms and wanted to free up the outlets. When my old smoke alarm died, this seemed like a nice option, since it would replace both. Although I've always been good about replacing the batteries, I won't have to think about it again for 10 years. Also, changing the backup batteries on the plugin CMAs was a noisy process. I picked this alarm in part because it doesn't have a voice alarm. Let's hope I never have to find out if it works.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Battery Length, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
Gowe
from Texas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

FEEL SAFER NOW

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The instructions were clear and the product was simple to install. It looks consistent with our other smoke alarms. This is our first battery operated smoke alarm and carbon monoxide detector. Our other smoke alarms are wired and wake us up in the middle of the night when the batteries are low. I love the fact that the battery should last ten years and never need replacement. Great product.
Pros: Battery Length, Loud, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
MetalMedic
from The Home of Smucker's Jelly
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Two for one...

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I replaced two units with this single unit. I am assuming it will last 10 years with no issues, but you can't know that until you wait 10 years. At least I am no longer buying 9V batteries every Christmas for smoke detectors...
Pros: Battery Length, two detectors in one unit
Cons: installation instructions could be clearer
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
Theodore
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

set it and forget it

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
worry free ten yrs easy install no problem set and forget
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
travelynnn
from CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great if it works for 10 years

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Supposed to work for 10 years. Never replace the battery. Just dispose of it when it stops working. I've only used for 30 days, so cannot comment on the longevity. I called the company who makes it and they said it can be used in any room, so I installed it in my hallway near my furnace. Piece of mind!
Pros: Battery Length, Compact, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
weld387
from Douglasville, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sleeping well

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this fire/co detector for my garage. It states not to put in the garage. I don't park my car in there. I do have a gas water heater in the garage. This was my point of concern. Like the fact that the unit is SELF SEALED. No battery to change for a decade. Just put the date I bought it on the sticker on the side of it. Then used screw provided with unit and put it on the ceiling by the door leading to the hall into my home. Worth the money for the comfort of knowing if there is a silent killer in my home. Plus not having to change batteries twice a year.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
dervish
from Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I love the ten year lifetime!

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A smoke detector is no good if it's not functional. This one will comes with 10 years peace of mind, a large center button to turn off any false alarms, and is the proper sensitivity to ignore slightly darkened toast. Perfect. Easy to install and nice looking for an alarm - unobtrusive.
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
Jerry
from Beavercreek, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

10 year worry free no battery changes

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Nice design and not having to change batteries for 10 years is a plus. When the battery wears out, it is time to replace the detector anyway. Had to use the traditional screws and anchors. The center self threading dry wall anchor was cheap. Two twisted off and the one that went in did not work that well.
Pros: Battery Length, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: quirky single screw in mount did not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
Dave
from Fairfax, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great detector, combines 2 types into 1.

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No more changing batteries in both a CO2 and smoke detector twice a year. This one lasts 10 years on 1 sealed battery. I put 3 of these in the house and just need to test them once a month, that's it...
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Loud, Compact, Battery Length, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
Gerg
from Atascadero, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice to have the peace of mind from a carbon monoxide detector on the ceiling

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a carbon monoxide detector at ground level but have wondered about my fireplace sending warm air to the ceiling with the possibility of carbon monoxide. Since I needed to replace the smoke detector anyway the option to have a carbon monoxide alarm was an easy choice. Now I don't have to worry.
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Loud, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
njchaos
from NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Expected Lifespan

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quick and easy transaction, easy to install & fast shipping. The unit is loud and obnoxious which is what it should be. No worries for 10 years can't beat that!
Pros: Battery Length, Loud, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
Dtdsunset
from Nj
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Highly recommend

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best deal! It's a fire alarm and carbon monoxide detector all in one. It lasts 10 years, including the battery! So all for about $50!
Pros: Battery Length, Lots of Features, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
Claghorn
from Delray Beach, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

6 weeks, not 10 years

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Six weeks after buying this, it decided it was an alarm clock and went off every morning around 7 AM. The idea was to not have to fiddle with it too much for 10 years. That didn't work so well.
Plus, it was insanely difficult to mount on the wall. You used to just be able to hang these things from a screw, but now there is this elaborate central hub that has no orientation marks so you can't tell how to mount it so the alarm will be vertical once it goes on the hub.
Cons: Complicated, poor quality
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
kodi2k6

No more battery worries

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was looking for a replacement for a regular battery operated smoke/carbon monoxide that was acting up. This one installed easily and has not had any false alarms since its installation a few weeks ago. Other than it being a touch more expensive than the standard models, I am content to have purchased it.
Pros: Battery Length, Easy Replacement
Cons: expensive
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
patrick22152
from Springfield, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A little pricey but well worth it.

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nice combo detector, easy install; drill 3/16" through drywall, gently screw in base plate, click on unit to activate, forget about it for 10 years. Alternate surface screws & anchors provided.
Pros: Battery Length, Loud, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
TriciaD
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good Products - Works Great

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good product; installation was easy. Accurate instructions provided. Good product for the price. Would purchase again. Used in rental units
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Easy Replacement, Battery Length, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>