728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop CO & Smoke Combination Alarms or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm

Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm

Kidde 10 year Smoke Alarm is powered by sealed, long-life lithium batteries for ten years (the life of the alarm), meaning the alarm is always on. The alarm features a unique sensor algorithm that detects real fires faster and reduces nuisance alarms. With a sealed, long-life lithium battery smoke and carbon monoxide combination alarm installed in your kitchen, you can enjoy peace of mind knowing your kitchen smoke alarm is always on; 24 hours/day, seven days a week for a decade.
Overall rating:
3.958 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(72 reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product53 of 67reviews
Rating Breakdown 72 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(42)
4
(12)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(13)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product53 of 67reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer reviews for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
Review 1 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
from Miami, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Second alarm in less than two years - these don't make it to ten...

PostedJune 17, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I want to like this product. But it's beeping in the background as I write this and I can't get it to shut off. This one was installed April 2014 and is failing not 14 months later. The current one was a replacement for another one that also failed before two years of operation. I was lazy and bought another so I could re-use the mounting hub.
The funny thing is the failure this time is the same as the last: the detector started going off, and the "hush" button worked to shut it up. Then it went off again and hush did nothing.
So if you only need a detector for a year or so, get this. If you want something to last longer, look elsewhere.
Pros: Loud
Cons: Burns Out, short useful life, defective trend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
from Raleigh, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Kitchen fume resistant

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The mounting ring on this unit is strange, only about the size of a USA 50 cent piece. (See attached photo of similar unit with same mounting system.)
So they tried something different by having two different ways to mount it, one with traditional screws and anchors, and the other with a central drywall anchor screw. Neither gives me much confidence.
To activate the unit, you have to give it a hard twist on the mounting system, and it felt like I was going to rip it right off the ceiling. I really would prefer a different, more traditional mounting system.
Mounting issues aside, this unit is full of features. CO detection and kitchen fume resistance were why I got this unit. We have wired detectors in our house of ionization type, so the fact that this unit is photo-electric is a perfect complement for our kitchen area.
The unit has passed our "broiler test" with flying colors. No more fanning the fumes from the detector. It can handle a few broiler fumes, no problem.
I can't speak for the CO element. That's something I hope to never test. It is comforting to have as a second CO unit in our house.
Pros: Battery Length
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
from New Jersey
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No Battey-change smoke detector

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very unique and at the same time advantageous. What is better than a smoke detector that has a battery that lasts 10 years, also the time that the sensor lasts in any detector. Ingenious. I placed one directly outside the furnace room, outside my son's bedroom.
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
from Tybee Island, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Failed after a year

PostedJuly 9, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We installed two Kidde smoke detectors as a part of a home renovation. One failed after just over a year of use and while we have been able to silence it so far, the alarm has started going off at least once a day. We thought this was a fluke until we read the other reviews. We will be looking for a different option for a smoke alarm.
Cons: failed during the second year
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm

DO NOT BUY!!!

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought two of these detectors only 8 weeks ago. We had one of the alarms start beeping indicating there was a Smoke Alarm. However, there was NO smoke and NO fire. The Hush button did not work so the alarm continued to go off for the next 1 1/2 hours. Finally, we had to turn the OFF screw which means the detector is no longer useable! It is suddenly a paperweight!
This caused me to look at the second detector. It was then I noticed that one suddenly doesn't work! You have to be kidding me!
After looking at others reviews on line this is par for the course for this make/model. What kind of company sells garbage like this when families are expecting this product to protect their lives? We will never buy another product from Kiddie. Second, we feel let down by Home Depot for selling such junk!
Cons: Burns Out, stopped working, false alarm for no reason, one time use
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
from Germantown, MD
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy Install

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just purchased two of these units. The install is extremely user friendly. You can mount a single drywall screw in the middle or 3 small screws with anchors to mount a quarter size disk. Then a simple 1/4 turn of the unit locks it on to the disk and it beeps to let you know it is now working. This did not take any excessive force and was a quite simple process. Total install time was about 30 seconds. I wish all products put the same thought into making installation easy for the end users. I checked the test button and they are functioning. Other reviews complained about an early end of life so I will just have to wait and see.
Pros: Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
from Toledo
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Failed

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After four months the alarm went off at 2AM. There was no fire and the hush button didnt work. Turned off screw on back to silence and now detector is useless.
Cons: Burns Out
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
from Cleveland, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lump of junk

PostedMarch 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased three of these, one for each floor of my home. Just now the one on the top floor started alarming, indicating a fire. This would be all well and good if the other smoke detector in the same room went off, as well. It didn't. After an hour of checking vents, furnace, stove, and moving different detectors to different rooms, I determined this one was a lemon.
DO NOT WASTE THE $50. READ THIS AND THE OTHER REVIEWS. THIS DETECTOR IS JUNK!
Cons: fails, alarms for no reason, does not last 10 years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
from Oregon
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Hasn't yet succumbed to kitchen smoke! What else can I say?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
from SLC, UT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Battery didn't last

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this detector specifically because of the advertised 10-year life. Only 7 months after installation it started going off and pushing the button to hush it wasn't doing anything. I happened to have a second CO detector in the house and felt comfortable that CO wasn't present. There was no smoke present anywhere either. The only way I could get it to stop was to rip it open and tear out the battery. Now I'm out 50 and need another detector. The 10-year sealed battery life might be a perk to some, but from now on I'm going to want to be able to change the battery, or simply remove it when necessary.
Pros: Loud, Easy Installation
Cons: Short Battery Life
+11points
15out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
from Douglasville, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sleeping well

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this fire/co detector for my garage. It states not to put in the garage. I don't park my car in there. I do have a gas water heater in the garage. This was my point of concern. Like the fact that the unit is SELF SEALED. No battery to change for a decade. Just put the date I bought it on the sticker on the side of it. Then used screw provided with unit and put it on the ceiling by the door leading to the hall into my home. Worth the money for the comfort of knowing if there is a silent killer in my home. Plus not having to change batteries twice a year.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
from CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Expensive but 2 for 1 product

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This combo smoke detector is quite expensive, but you won't have to worry about replacing batteries for 10 years or be annoyed by the chirping. I put these in tenants apartments as the battery(s) cannot be removed by them, which is another plus in my book. Also, because it is 2 for 1 product (smoke and CO), you save the cost of buying two different products, while also saving time because you don't have to change the batteries on two different units/detectors.
Fairly easy installation, but I did prefer the older style of two screws on opposite ends vs. this one that uses a center base to screw in.
4 out of 5 stars.
Pros: Easy to Use, Battery Length
Cons: up front cost is high
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
from Cleveland, OH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Yay, no battery replacements!!!

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I like that the battery is sealed & stated as 10 years. That eliminates the reality of me forgetting to change the battery every daylight savings time change. Installation of the detector was very easy, just a few screws in the ceiling. No malfunctions yet as other reviewers have stated.
Pros: Battery Length, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
from Arkansas, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Received free product:Yes

Outstanding Alarm

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Have been operating very well, went off for a few seconds once when I got some oil to hot in fry pan, shut off when air cleared, so great alarm I can depend on and don't have to worry about changing battery every year. Love it
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Loud, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
from Pittsfield, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Convenient and easy to install

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had plugin carbon monoxide alarms and wanted to free up the outlets. When my old smoke alarm died, this seemed like a nice option, since it would replace both. Although I've always been good about replacing the batteries, I won't have to think about it again for 10 years. Also, changing the backup batteries on the plugin CMAs was a noisy process. I picked this alarm in part because it doesn't have a voice alarm. Let's hope I never have to find out if it works.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Battery Length, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
from Burlington, Ontario
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Expect False Alarms

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this product 6 months ago and installed it close to the furnace. The smoke alarm went off, it turns out that dust or insects can activate the receptors on the alarm. I tested the alarm and then removed it from the area to further test it, finally deactivated it to stop the alarm. Using pressured air to clean any dust/insects before deactivating is recommended by the manufacturer. Kidde is shipping a replacement alarm, without any question, within 7-10 business days.
Pros: Battery Length
Cons: easy false alarms
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm

Awful

PostedApril 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Same story as a lot of others here - installed it, about 6 months later, just starts going off in the middle of the day, can't hush, had to disable permanently using the screw.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
from Laguna Niguel, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ten-Year Battery was the selling point.

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I had some difficulty in mounting the Detector. Had to mount it high on a wall,
Pros: Battery Length
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
from Emmaus, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

'Had to dispose after one alarm! 'Wasted $ !!!!!!!!!

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The alarm was easy to install. It alerted us when our coal stove gave off a slight bit of smoke, and then it had to be disposed! What an awful design, to not be able to use again!!!!!!!
Pros: Loud, Great Sound Quality, Compact, Clear Instructions, Stylish, Easy Installation
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Worry Free 10-Year Kitchen Sealed Lithium Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm
from Sugar Hill, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Plenty of Compromises

PostedApril 30, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought the long battery life in this unit would be great for my kitchen, which has a vaulted ceiling. What I learned is that the battery cannot be replaced, so the entire unit must be replaced when the battery dies. Sort of like buying a lamp that has a sealed-in blub. This doesn't make a lot of sense, but apparently is required by law now in some locations. If you don't live in one of those locations, you can get a better traditionally powered alarm for less money, so this isn't even worth considering.
If you do need a 10 year sealed-power smoke alarm, Home Depot carries cheaper units from Kidde that may offer a better combination of protection. What this alarm lacks is an ionization sensor, which alarms faster with a quick-burning fire. Instead it uses a photoelectric sensor, which is considered better at detecting slow smoldering fires. Kidde does make smoke alarms without CO detection that contain both types of smoke sensors, but unfortunately none that contain CO detection as well.
I did not realize until I had opened this unit this does not actually serve as a single all-purpose detector, as the packaging clearly indicates that an ionization smoke detector should be installed as well. Keep this in mind if you want a quicker alarm indicating a fast-burning fire. Also, many other Kiddie detectors include premium features such as voice alerts or lighting to illuminate the room during an alarm, none of which are found in this unit.
Overall, this is a very basic smoke detector with a standard CO alarm integrated. At this price point I would expect much more, especially if the entire unit must be replaced when the battery dies. Consider only if your location requires sealed batteries, you want CO detection, but don't mind lacking detection of fast-burning fires without adding a separate detector.
Pros: Battery Length
Cons: sealed battery, no ionization detection
+6points
14out of 22found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>