728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight-DISCONTINUED

24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight-DISCONTINUED

The Cub Cadet 24 in. 208 cc, two-stage snow blower is ideal to tackle winter's big storms. With an electric start Cub Cadet OHV engine, heavy-duty steel augers and steel shave plate this snow blower is ready to clear the harshest conditions. The single-hand 4-way chute control allows you to quickly and effortlessly change the direction and pitch of the snow you throw all from the operator’s station. Cub Cadets signature Cool Blue Skid Shoes are designed to glide along surfaces for ultimate maneuverability without damaging or marking surfaces.
Overall rating:
4.286 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product31 of 33reviews
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(17)
4
(14)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product31 of 33reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight-DISCONTINUED
from Simsbury, CT, USA

Great product

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Saturday morning went to the garage through 3 + feet of snow
I follow the simple instructions on how to quick start it, @ 1st pull it did started. Started moving forward, to my surprised started throwing snow 20 feet away clearing a path down to the asphalt, fantastic!!!.
I'm glad I bought my 2nd Cub-cadet equipment.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight-DISCONTINUED
from Central Pennsylvania
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

"Best bang for your hard earned buck"!

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Received my new "Cub" blower two weeks ago and I've only had to tackle one major PA storm. It worked flawlessly! Powerful 208cc engine with the larger auger and snow chute threw the snow well clear of my drive. Beats my traditional tractor and plow method, hands down. Threw the heavy, wet snow at least 20 feet instead of having it pile up right at the edges of my drive. You may find a less expensive blower in this class and size but i think you will be "hard pressed" to find the quality of a Cub Cadet with this many features for your hard earned dollar!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Self-Propelled
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight-DISCONTINUED
from Maine, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well

PostedNovember 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Like most other manufacturers there are models with more features; however, for the money this has everything you need to get that snow out of your drive way.
It is well built, and starts pretty easily even on those bone chilling days no one wants to be outside clearing snow. Generally an extra prime and pull on the rip cord get it going without an issue.
It cuts through all kinds of snow, including wet heavy slushy snow. Sure there are more beefy engines out there but 208 cc's sure do the trick in getting that snow out of your driveway.
The chute control arm took a bit getting used to after using the crank style for years. However, it is pretty handy that with a push or pull of the lever you can redirect the chute while still clearing the snow.
The in-dash light is definitely useful for those of you who need to clear at night. I made the mistake of listening to my iPod while clearing the driveway and thankfully may neighbor saw the light and stopped as I foolishly turned around in the road (I don't recommend doing that without looking).
The one down fall, and the reason for 4 stars is the gas tank. 2 qt or 1/2 gallon capacity. Other models of similar price are generally in the 3/4 to 1 gallon range. This is particularly an issue for me as I clear my 40' double driveway, and three other elderly neighbors driveways. I usually have to fill the tank a couple times.
Other than that, so far no complaints here.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight-DISCONTINUED
from Chicago, IL, USA

Glad I bought this one!

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Live in Chicago area. I have a long driveway. One stretch has house on one side, fence on the other. This cadet throws the snow a good distance. The joystick which controls the schut is great. I love the traction control and 6 speeds. Put it on speed 6 and let this snowblower do all the work. Delivery company called to schedule delivery. Driver took it to my garage for me. Only assembly required was folding up the handle and screwing on the schute. Very easy. After having a single stage blower, which couldn't handle wet snow, never started despite being electric start this cadet is great! My new cadet is electric start. Didn't come with cord although you can use any outdoor extension. Put choke on, prime 3 times, one some pull of the cord and this starts right away.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Self-Propelled
Cons: electric cord not supplied
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight-DISCONTINUED
from Agawam, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Haven't used it yet

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The machine is very nice and started right up and runs very smoothly. the only issue I had was with the Home Depot site that I order it from because all the models you see are advertised as having steering capabilities and there was nothing to tell you different so when I got this it I had notice that this model did not come with that feature was kind of disappointed so I called them and their solution was a fifty dollars grift card (Really), so as long as your not needing the steering feature it's a good machine. PS: this machine very light and well balanced so turning it won't be an issue for me.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight-DISCONTINUED

Great snow thrower

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This snow blower will do the job. It does some serious throwing. Ran it into snow banks and it handles anything, no problem. Doesn't clog
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight-DISCONTINUED
from Alpena, MI 49707, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good machine - poor customer service

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nice machine, good value. I bought the 524 WE. Which had all the same features of my old machine I replaced. Video on Home Depot site showed it with the finger tip zero turn option, which you have to upgrade to the 524SWE for $50 more (which I would have done had I known). Manuals could be better, calling Cub Cadet for phone support is a joke, find an authorized dealer/service center in your area. I would have given it 5 stars, except for misleading info on HD website and crummy manual/phone support.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Self-Propelled
Cons: poor phone support, poor manual, misleading on hd website
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight-DISCONTINUED
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked liked it supposed to

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Excellent machine, nice handling and ease of use. Easy start and long lasting power.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight-DISCONTINUED

Great power

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Received just in time to use following a 5" snowfall. Cleared the driveway in a snap.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight-DISCONTINUED
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Piece Of Machinery!!

PostedJanuary 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This snowblower is excellent!! I bought it a week before our last snow storm, and it performed wonderfully after it. We had about 7.30in of snow in that storm, but it still cut thru the fluffy & wet, slushy snow with no problems at all. Excellent engine. Easy to start (both pull and electric starts). Great maneuverability of both the chute and the transmission gears as well. It is not really a smoker like many other snowblowers. It runs like a mini go-cart motor lol. I was even suprised that it picked up about an inch of snow that was on the ground. That really shocked me! But, to get the most scraping power from the snowblower (like a shovel would...its job), I would suggest lowering the snow shoes a bit (like it says in the manual), and run it at full power for that, though, of course. However, no problems with it at all so far (knock on wood, lol). A really great snowblower to own! :)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight-DISCONTINUED
from Union, ME, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Blizzard of the Century in Union. Maine!

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent machine! It blow through a 24 inch snow storm during the blizzard of the century in Maine! It was very quick & easy to start with the electric start :) Lots of power & I love the light on it! I named her Bertha after my grandmother , who was strong & independent ! I live in a log cabin & was told that girls shouldn't use power tools! Ha, I could handle the Cub Cadet with ease, even if weighs 50 pounds more than me! I would whole heartily recommend this product.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius, girls can use it!
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight-DISCONTINUED
from Upstate NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great snow blower for the price

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this unit 1 year ago. Have been satisfied ever since. Starts first pull every time. Throws the snow 40 feet when conditions are right. The engine reeves up when getting to the end of the driveway were the heavy wet snow is. It just keeps trowing the snow out of the way. I suggest getting the heated hand grips since my hands stay warm even when using the unit in very cold conditions. Very easy to use. The joy stick type shut position works great and locks the position in place so it does not change direction. Had an Eriens thrower prior to this machine but the shut position would not stay in place. Very cumbersome. Plus the Eriens would stop moving forward at ever bump. Had to manually move the machine over the bump to get it moving again. This machine does not stop at bumps. Just plow's through it. For the money, this machine out performs Eriens for less money. Very satisfied with my snow thrower.
Pros: Durable, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight-DISCONTINUED
from WV Eastern Panhandle
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cub Cadet customer service is excellent!

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Free shipping to my garage! However, crate was slightly damaged and snow blower wouldn't start. I called Cub Cadet and they were EXCELLENT! They made arrangements to have the snow blower picked up, repaired, and returned to may garage within a week (and it was the week between Christmas and New Years...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight-DISCONTINUED

I finally used it yesterday

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So yesterday is the first time i have ever used a snow blower. It saved me a ton of time and effort.
The only imitation i have found is that you can't use it on any slushy or gunky snow.
The only thing i didn't like about it were the wheels. They are not free spinning, because of that, you can't steer it with out dragging the wheels.
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight-DISCONTINUED
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The product had the features that I wanted

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I haven't had a chance to use this product due to no snow.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight-DISCONTINUED
from South Jersey
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Looks great in my garage

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After many years of back breaking shoveling I purchased this baby two years ago and had her ready for the jersey nor'easter snow storms. She is still sitting in my garage, brand new and a little dusty since it didn't snow for two years. Hopes are high for coming winter season.
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ecellent for price

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My 30 year old one died so it was time to replace not repair. The unit worked well the one time I have used it this year. It starts right up and works.
Pros: Self-Propelled
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight-DISCONTINUED

high power engine, skid plates, adjustable chute

PostedNovember 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Heavy duty machine! Worth every penny. Engine is awesome and powerful. Great for driveways and sidewalks. Intake height is immense!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight-DISCONTINUED

Great Snow Blower and Features

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The snow blower was easy to setup and performed perfectly out of the box. I've had a couple of snow blowers and this is the highest quality unit that I've owned. I really like the features, including the handle to move the chute from the handle area. I bought it in September so I can't comment yet on how well it will work in the snow, but the power seems very good and I'm looking forward to that first snow.
Pros: Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Self-Propelled
-3points
6out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Headlight-DISCONTINUED
from CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

solid machine; reasonably priced

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The snowblower arrived on the date promised. It came packaged in a sturdy crate. It required minimal assembly (handle bar, etc), and the main engine, rotor, and all was pre-assembled. It took less than 20 minutes to complete the assembly. So don't be put off by the fact that "some assembly" is required. You don't have to be a mechanic. It started up on the first try. Although we haven't used it yet this season, we are anxiously awaiting our first experience with it. We will be the envy of the neighborhood!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>