728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Washers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Adora 4.8 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

Adora 4.8 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

Your GE 4.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in Metallic Carbon is Auto Load Sensing and has Precise Fill feature. The clear glass lid lets you see your washer at work on the tough stains you may have. The 1000 RPM maximum spin speed will get spin water out of your clothes allowing for less time in the dryer. Bleach, Fabric Softener, and detergent dispensers make your job easy. At GE, we work hard to make our appliances more efficient, with advanced technologies and superior settings. Our washers are loaded with features perfect for getting your laundry cleaner and saving you time and money. With a variety of cycle and temperature options, these washers offer the control you require and the ease-of-use you prefer. Search Electric Dryer model GHDS830EDWS or Gas Dryer model GHDS830GDWS. Also available in Metallic Carbon model GHWN8355DMC.
Overall rating:
3.8 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
67%of customersrecommend this product20 of 30reviews
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(17)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(4)
1
(5)
Features 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Quality 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
Value 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
67%of customersrecommend this product20 of 30reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for Adora 4.8 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
Review 1 for Adora 4.8 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
edison
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Wow

PostedJune 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had this washer for a week now. Love it.Very impressed with the features, operation and looks. Even my 17 year old son commented that the washer is "cool". GE delivery & install was without a hitch and they gave me an initial rundown of the operation.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Adora 4.8 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
Donald
from Chardon, OH 44024, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best washer we have ever owned.

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had a problem with the onboard computer at first, some of the lights on dial remained on, board was replaced and is woking great.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Adora 4.8 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
mark
from Carrollton, Ga
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Washer, no problems after 2 years

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this model to replace the mildew smelling LG front load washer, does great on any setting. With a family we average two-three loads a day, not one ounce of trouble. If the machine gave up tomorrow I would feel as if I had gotten my monies worth from it, I know it has probably ran at least 800 loads in two years.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Adora 4.8 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
nellie
from The Villages
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Quiet! Lots of nice features.

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Lots of nice features. Quiet. Looks great, if you want to watch your washer/dryer. Easy to use!!!!
Pros: Lots of Features, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Adora 4.8 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
crazyfinger
from cleveland tn, usa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

More settings to do different jobs.

PostedMay 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Well pleased with my decision on the purchase of my GE washer and dryer. Clothes do seem cleaner and instead of clothes being clumped together when I get them out of the dryer they are fluffy and untangled. My only problem was with delivery. Wish Home Depot had there own crew from their own store and work with the paying customers themselves.
Pros: Lots of Features, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Adora 4.8 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
DYPJ
from Romeoville, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Nice!

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The GE Adora model washer and dryer was just delivered to my home on 11/19/13. I couldn't wait to utilize them so I immediately did a couple loads of clothes (a heavy duty large load and a smaller less soiled load). Thus far, they have functioned very well. I just love the way the washer and dryer communicate and the musical chime to let you know when the job has been completed and they are not so noisy. Nice touch!!
Never having owned a high efficient washer/dryer, I must say, I was a bit concerned when the washer first began, only a small amount of water entered the tub and then, it began to spin. But, I quickly discovered that this tells the washer how much water is required to complete the load. Cool!
Now, if they continue to function this well in the future, I am going to be one happy GE customer!!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Adora 4.8 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
WashingInTx
from Ellis County, TX
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

huge capacity. Washing takes more time

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Nice, good looking washing machine. Says it is energy efficient, but not so sure due to length of washing cycle.
Bought this washer mainly for its capacity - and it is huge. I think I could even take a bath in it. However; not having the middle agitator takes a couple loads to get used to. You do have to load the washer a little differently. When washing a large, or extra large, load, doesn't seem to have enough water nor enough agitation to mix everything around in the soapy water. Small and medium loads have been no problem.
Wash cycles take more time than the old washer did. Clothes don't seem whiter and brighter - seems about the same.
While the washer is an upgrade, just not sure if I would call these new agitator-less, HE washers the future. 90 minutes to wash a load of clothes? Wish I could have tried some front-loading machines (even though smaller capacity) so I could compare.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: washing cycles take a long time., white clothes don't sparkle for the $$$., for the price my clothes should smell like roses., did i mention wash cycle takes forever?
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Adora 4.8 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
BusyMom
Age Range:25 to 34

Does not clean well

PostedJune 23, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This machine may save you money on water, but it will cost you more in time and pre-treaters! Clothes that just need to be freshened come out fine; however, if you're washing children's dirty play clothes or your "working outside" dirty clothes you can expect to have to wash at least 2 times and plan on using Clorox 2 in EVERY load. Visibly dirty clothes have to be pre-treated and soaked in the laundry tub prior to putting them in the washer with more pre-treaters and additional soak time. Very disappointed, wished I would have went with my original plan to buy the traditional washer!
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: does not clean visible dirt
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Adora 4.8 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
TaylorMade
from Tomah, Wisconsin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

a big disappointment

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased Adora washer a year ago. I was sold on features like hand wash, delicate, auto load sensor & the capability to launder larger rugs w/o going to a laundromat. Today I started a load of perma press. It's been over an hour & I went to transfer to dryer. The machine is off & the clothes are soaking wet. Can't tell if the load completed wash but didn't spin or what so I've started the cycle again. This happens at least half of the time I do laundry. No signal/warning of problem that may occur during the cycle. Owner's manual says it's because the load is unbalanced but I'm not sold. Wish there was a signal for unbalanced loads. A big disappointment.
Pros: Lots of Features, Good Size & Weight, Large Capacity
Cons: no warning indicator for problems, stops mid-cycle & power goes out
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Adora 4.8 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
dissapointed
from calif
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

SKIP THIS ONE! WASTE OF YOUR MONEY!skip this one waste of your mone

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have owned this one for only 3 yrs and Im out looking for a new washer. Two service calls later and the gears are gone. Im single and do a couple sm to med loads a week. Skip this one!
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, skip this one! waste of your money!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Adora 4.8 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
DOkie
from Oklahoma City
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked perfectly for 2 loads, then???

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first couple of loads, the machine worked perfectly. It was quiet, spun clothes until most moisture was gone, used little water and got clothes clean. On the third load, it stopped and we had to push the start button to resume the cycle. After a couple more loads, it simply would not finish a load at all. It kept shutting off, would only power on for a minute or so without doing much of anything other than adding a bit more water. I'll call GE tomorrow and see what they say and will update my review.
Pros: Lots of Features, Stylish, Nice Design
+9points
19out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Adora 4.8 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
dawn1977
from Texas, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buyer Beware

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is terrible! It does not clean clothes and leaves food particles dried onto the clothes. Why waste your time cleaning when nothing comes off? I have two small children, so mess is just part of the game. I thought I was upgrading from my front loader, but feel like this is a lemon.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: does not clean
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Adora 4.8 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
MOISTURE
from Miami, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So, so due to beneath moisuture from ADORA 4.8

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Moisture on floor from GE ADORA 4.8 Washer
I bought it on April 30, 2013. Even water is selected COLD, there are always moisture on beneath of GE washer. I think something is leaking from GE ADORA 4.8 that means packing is not so correctly design. I do not recommend ADORA 4.8 on wood or laminated floor. =end=
Cons: bottom moisture from adora
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Adora 4.8 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
Disappointed
from tx
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

disappointed !!!!

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We got this washer and at first ti was good ! Then I started to see water on the floor, and a lot of water, so i thought it was the pipe or something eels, to this point I have not seen where the water comes from ??? so we have moved the dryer to a side and the water is still there ?? so now I stand beside it to see what is going on ??? I hope I can figure this out ?? A few day later it started to make this grinding noise like if some stuff are rubbing together !! Very DISAPPOINTED !!!!
And What is up with hardly any water !!! I know it said it safes water but come on !!!!
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from By GE AnswersJanuary 8, 2014By GE AnswersJanuary 8, 2014
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you. We are very sorry to hear that your washer is not operating properly. We would not have expected this outcome. There are some things you can check. First, please make certain that you are using He detergent and not too much detergent, particularly if you have soft water. Also, please check the fill and drain hoses to verify they are not leaking. Lastly, please make certain that your household drain is not clogged in any way. If these suggestions do not help, please contact GE Factory Service at 1-800-432-2737 and they will be happy to help you. Thank you for your review.GE_Appliances
Review 15 for Adora 4.8 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
CJ123
from Albuquerque, NM
Age Range:25 to 34

Worst Washing Machine Ever

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I selected this washing machine because of the features & design. I was very excited to get it. It was delivered yesterday & I am already returning it. Immediately after installation, the washing machine began leaking water all over the floor. Then, the locking mechanism that holds the lid closed while washing began clicking repeatedly until I finally stuck my finger inside to press the latch down manually. The installers returned to address the water issue & I asked about the lock, which they said was normal. I gave them the benefit of the doubt & gave the washing machine a second chance. RE-washing my first load, the washing machine STOPPED working during the spin cycle, leaving sopping wet clothes in the drum. So I restarted the load on the drain & spin setting & it sat in the cycle balancing mode for over 15 minutes & then began the drain & spin cycle. Within minutes, the washing machine began spinning so violently that it spun the ENTIRE washing machine 90 degrees. It put a dent in my wall & a dent in the washer as it slammed against the dryer. If it would have gone any farther before I ran in & turned it off that it would have ripped the hoses & plugs out of the wall. Oh ya, and then the locking mechanism began clicking repeatedly again. Any time the cycle completes, the lock clicks until you press your finger in to the opening to stop it. Since ordering this washer & dryer, every person I've spoken to has warned me that GE makes inferior products, which I have now learned for myself. The dryer was OK, but the drum came full of scratches & there were chips of plastic in between the clear panels of the door. Overall, this washing machine is ridiculously flawed! What a terrible lemon! Don't even get me started on GE's customer service either (although, I will say that Home Depot's customer service has been very helpful! They are helping return these terrible appliances so that I can get a better set. They've been very understanding.)
Pros: Lots of Features
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Install, Difficult to Use, low quality, inferior, doesn't work properly
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Adora 4.8 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
Based on the average of (15) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
14 out of 15 recommend this product