728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Toilet Parts & Repair or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap

HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap

Designed by a fourth generation plumber to make toilet installation easier. The HydroCap improves wax ring performance and ensures a better seal than a wax ring alone. Covers wax ring to eliminate waxy mess and allows toilet to be reset without using a new wax ring.
Overall rating:
4.636 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product29 of 31reviews
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(27)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Ease of installation 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product29 of 31reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
Review 1 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from Chicago, Il
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for my situation

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was perfect for my needs. Toilet had been leaking from base and upon inspection the plastic flange was cracked. Combined with the gap from the flange to the tile, the wax ring would never seat completely. This ring cap fit over the entire old drain providing a clean, level surface to work with. Perfect for my situation.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from Chicago, IL

Great product, works well

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used this product on a couple of troublesome toilets in my home where a wax ring alone didn't seal well enough. Very easy to use and self explanitory (explanitions on box are pretty much all you get as far as installation directions go). In for about a week with no leaking issues. Great product.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap

Much better than a Waz ring

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After having a wax ring fail and having to repair the basement ceiling I tried out this device and it worked perfectly. I since removed the toilet to replace the tile floor and replaced after and it worked the second time too. Much better design than using wax rings alone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from New Jersey

Disappointed

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installed as instructed. After installation, flushed the toilet several times to test for leak. No water showed up for two hours. Then, a tiny amount of water accumulated around the bottom edge of the toilet in the back. I had made sure that the Hydrocap was level before placing the bowl on it and also tested to make sure that the toilet bowl was exactly level after tightening the bolts.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from California, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good but not for my application

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought this to make the job easier, but unfortunately it ended up making the job harder for me. In my cast my toilet is very close to the flange. With this added the toilet was no longer able to touch the floor. If you situation is not like mine it will work great. It makes it easy to install the bolts and align the toilet. In my cast I had to redo it with a second new grease seal after removing and cleaning up the first one. Also, this does not come with the seal.
Pros: Easy to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from New hampshire.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked great!!!

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked as it said on the box....held the bolts in place to make an easier install.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product when Replacing Wax Ring at toliet Seating

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good addition to replacing wax ring when reseating toilet.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from Brewster, NY

Excellent Seal

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have used literally dozens of these units. Make sure you check fit the unit for flange height clearance before you lay down a wax seal.
The chief benefit of this product is that all floors (except solid concrete) will flex even if it is a minute amount. Wax does not recover and will stay compressed and will eventually start to seep over time. This seal tops off the wax seal with a ring that contains a rubber seal that allows for slight flexing whether it is the floor or loose closet bolts allowing it. It is cheap insurance for a water tight installation. The bowl may be removed and reinstalled without replacing the wax seal as the rubber seal in this ring is doing the actual sealing to the bowl, not the wax seal. The wax seal is actually being used more for a "spacer" under this unit sealing it to the floor flange. A very practical idea that I use wherever I can.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from flossmoor, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

So far so good. Don't have to worry about leaks in the future.

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My contractor suggested that I buy this product for the installation of my toilets. He says that if for any reason that the toilet has to be removed this item would make it easier for one to do so.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from greenvillle, sc
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great idea

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
very easy to install ... i thought it was a wax ring,but it is all good. worked out great
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from Ft Worth Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Really secured the installation wiith minimum effort.
Pros: Reliable, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

FIRST TIME USER

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
USE THIS TO REPLACE A TOILET WHER THE TOILET RING WAS LOW DUE TO THE FLOOR BEING RETILED. FIRST I PUT DOWN AN EXTRA THICK WAS RING AND THEN PLACES THIS PRODUCT OVER IT. IT MAKE SETING THE NEW TOILET AS EASY AS COULD BE. AND IF I EVER HAVE TO PUT THIS TOILET FOR SOME REASON I WILL NOT NEED A NEW WAX RING.
GREAT PRODUCT
JOHN FROM CANTON OHIO
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from West Virginia, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

awesome for landlord aplications

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used 4 now each with a positive mess-free seal!
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks, confined the usually messy wax
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from Anchorage, AK, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great: simplifies install & improves seal

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this with the hope that it would extend the 5 year warranty that already comes with the Oatey wax ring. This device does exactly what it says on the box, but it also supplies an additional seal between the toilet drain and the flange. Water has to get pretty creative to circumvent all the seals when it's all done correctly. I don't know who thought of this, but they're a genius. This is a great product for the money.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from WV
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

if you are a property manager, you want to use these!

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
no more mess dealing with wax rings when you change flooring or have little ones flush things that shouldn't be
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap

Quick and easy

PostedMay 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works like a charm and re-enforces the standard bowl ring while making it easier to move and place the toilet on the mounting bolts.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from Boca Raton, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Perfect for particular applications

PostedApril 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
While this is not the "solve-all", it is a quick-fix to certain toilet applications. Its useful when swapping out existing toilets, but not so necessary for new construction.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: could be built stronger
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from Paramount, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

DOES EXACTLY WHAT IT'S SUPPOSE TO DO

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Although I thought initially that It would be all I needed but it's used more as a support. I still had to replace the wax but as an addition, the ring cap made the entire installation super easy. I'm sure I could have done fine without it but It literally installed within minutes...5-10 minutes from beginning to end.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from Los Angeles, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes Wax Seal Replacement Much Easier

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This kit was so worth the $5 or so that it cost that I kept the box on my desk and signed up for a home depot account just so that I could let others know about it.
I did not think much about a seal for the top of a seal when in the store, but wanted to give it a try because I hate the whole process of replacing a toilet seal. I'll have to wait a few years to see how the primary benefit bears out - "Dramatically improves wax ring performance" - but it really did make the installation process easier. First, it lines up the bolts so that one person can fairly easily land the toilet on top of them on the first try. Second, the plastic drain cover that comes with it kept the smell out until the last minute, without having to stuff a rag down the whole (and touch the rag after pulling it out). I'm in no hurry to replace another toilet seal, but I would buy this again if another one goes bad.
Like another reviewer mentioned - I had a raised tile floor, so I believe this will help keep the seal tight, because even an extra large seal is barely tall enough. I can not comment on the performance for a shorter seal one person mentioned, but I would think the plastic flange in the middle would just go further into the pipe.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from Lansing, KS, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great way to add support to your wax ring, especially if you end up having to take the toilet off and reset it for some reason. Highly recommend this product.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>