728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Toilet Parts & Repair or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap

HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap

Designed by a fourth generation plumber to make toilet installation easier. The HydroCap improves wax ring performance and ensures a better seal than a wax ring alone. Covers wax ring to eliminate waxy mess and allows toilet to be reset without using a new wax ring.
Overall rating:
4.636 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product29 of 31reviews
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(27)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Ease of installation 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product29 of 31reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
Review 1 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from Anchorage, AK, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great: simplifies install & improves seal

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this with the hope that it would extend the 5 year warranty that already comes with the Oatey wax ring. This device does exactly what it says on the box, but it also supplies an additional seal between the toilet drain and the flange. Water has to get pretty creative to circumvent all the seals when it's all done correctly. I don't know who thought of this, but they're a genius. This is a great product for the money.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from East Newark, NJ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I bought this at homedepot great price for what I think is a great product.

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a leak at parents 2 family . their was waste water going through to first floor bathroom ceiling. This happened before about 10 years ago. What happened was the wax seal failed on 2nd fl. It happened again the tenants do not use a/c and it gets very hot the wax seal was either wasted away or partially melted. No ,the toilet did not move side to side it was firmly bolted down flange was in very good shape. Again, I am not sure why this happened only a possible theory. I had other toilets and orig.wax seal last 30-40 years with no problems. All I know is this looked like an extra insurance against wax failure by protecting the wax seal. It was good quality and fit perfectly even with tight bend on pipe . I feel like this time it will make wax seal last longer than 10 yrs.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, well built
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from New Jersey

Disappointed

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installed as instructed. After installation, flushed the toilet several times to test for leak. No water showed up for two hours. Then, a tiny amount of water accumulated around the bottom edge of the toilet in the back. I had made sure that the Hydrocap was level before placing the bowl on it and also tested to make sure that the toilet bowl was exactly level after tightening the bolts.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

FIRST TIME USER

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
USE THIS TO REPLACE A TOILET WHER THE TOILET RING WAS LOW DUE TO THE FLOOR BEING RETILED. FIRST I PUT DOWN AN EXTRA THICK WAS RING AND THEN PLACES THIS PRODUCT OVER IT. IT MAKE SETING THE NEW TOILET AS EASY AS COULD BE. AND IF I EVER HAVE TO PUT THIS TOILET FOR SOME REASON I WILL NOT NEED A NEW WAX RING.
GREAT PRODUCT
JOHN FROM CANTON OHIO
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from Cowiche, WA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great!! Love that I can lift the toilet without having to replace the wax ring every time.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from Los Angeles, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes Wax Seal Replacement Much Easier

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This kit was so worth the $5 or so that it cost that I kept the box on my desk and signed up for a home depot account just so that I could let others know about it.
I did not think much about a seal for the top of a seal when in the store, but wanted to give it a try because I hate the whole process of replacing a toilet seal. I'll have to wait a few years to see how the primary benefit bears out - "Dramatically improves wax ring performance" - but it really did make the installation process easier. First, it lines up the bolts so that one person can fairly easily land the toilet on top of them on the first try. Second, the plastic drain cover that comes with it kept the smell out until the last minute, without having to stuff a rag down the whole (and touch the rag after pulling it out). I'm in no hurry to replace another toilet seal, but I would buy this again if another one goes bad.
Like another reviewer mentioned - I had a raised tile floor, so I believe this will help keep the seal tight, because even an extra large seal is barely tall enough. I can not comment on the performance for a shorter seal one person mentioned, but I would think the plastic flange in the middle would just go further into the pipe.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from Fishers, IN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Resolution to Adjust from Vinyl to Tile

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Tiled the bathroom and tried a XL Wax Ring but it still leaked. I tried this which laid over the tile cutout and was perfect. So a simple solution to raising the toilette base.
I would rather prefer it be changed or offered in stainless steel to be little more sturdy for uneven surfaces and weight.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: prefer a little thicker\sturdy metal
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from Ft Worth Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Really secured the installation wiith minimum effort.
Pros: Reliable, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from Paramount, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

DOES EXACTLY WHAT IT'S SUPPOSE TO DO

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Although I thought initially that It would be all I needed but it's used more as a support. I still had to replace the wax but as an addition, the ring cap made the entire installation super easy. I'm sure I could have done fine without it but It literally installed within minutes...5-10 minutes from beginning to end.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from Washington State
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We'll see

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just installed a toilet using this product and I am skeptical because none of the wax ring actually touches the base of the toilet. The wax is what I believe keeps water from seeping/leaking out the base of the toilet and with this, the wax is under the product. That being said, I'm using it and watching closely and so far (2 hours) there aren't any leaks. If there are.... the water won't be able to seep down to the sub-floor unseen, it should leak out onto the floor where it can be caught early which is great.
If it works.... changing out a toilet will be an absolute breeze! I have a rental and wish I would have had
these for over there as we all know how hard renters are on your stuff! I'll try to remember to update this if I can, at a later date but so far, so good.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from Littleton, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Holy Cow, this product is AWESOME!!!

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was re-installing a toilet and it wouldn't seal with just a wax ring. I tried 3 different times, buying new wax rings, thicker wax rings, stacking wax rings, and NO luck. Every time I would get a water leak when flushing. I finally saw this product and decided to try it. It was so easy to install and worked like a charm. Wished I would have known about this sooner. Thank you American plumbers for inventing this.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from Kennewick, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works just like it is supposed to

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works just like it is supposed to. Needed it and you had it. Thanks
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from Edgewater, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Necessity

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had to have it! Fixed the problem the 1st time and that's ALWAYS a good thing!
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from the styx of missouri
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

my fingers were crossed

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had to set this toilet several times until I bought this item. It works and finally no leaks!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from flossmoor, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

So far so good. Don't have to worry about leaks in the future.

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My contractor suggested that I buy this product for the installation of my toilets. He says that if for any reason that the toilet has to be removed this item would make it easier for one to do so.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product when Replacing Wax Ring at toliet Seating

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good addition to replacing wax ring when reseating toilet.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from Chicago, Il
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for my situation

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was perfect for my needs. Toilet had been leaking from base and upon inspection the plastic flange was cracked. Combined with the gap from the flange to the tile, the wax ring would never seat completely. This ring cap fit over the entire old drain providing a clean, level surface to work with. Perfect for my situation.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from Orem, UT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The product is easy to use

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product is inexpensive but most of all I'm glad I took the chance and bought it it made it so much easier to install the toilet and the leak stopped immediately
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from Brewster, NY

Excellent Seal

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have used literally dozens of these units. Make sure you check fit the unit for flange height clearance before you lay down a wax seal.
The chief benefit of this product is that all floors (except solid concrete) will flex even if it is a minute amount. Wax does not recover and will stay compressed and will eventually start to seep over time. This seal tops off the wax seal with a ring that contains a rubber seal that allows for slight flexing whether it is the floor or loose closet bolts allowing it. It is cheap insurance for a water tight installation. The bowl may be removed and reinstalled without replacing the wax seal as the rubber seal in this ring is doing the actual sealing to the bowl, not the wax seal. The wax seal is actually being used more for a "spacer" under this unit sealing it to the floor flange. A very practical idea that I use wherever I can.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap

Horrible experience.

PostedApril 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Too tall, doesn't work, absolute waste of money. Would not recommend.
Cons: too tall, doesn't work
-10points
1out of 12found this review helpful.
1 2 >>