728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Toilet Parts & Repair or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap

HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap

Designed by a fourth generation plumber to make toilet installation easier. The HydroCap improves wax ring performance and ensures a better seal than a wax ring alone. Covers wax ring to eliminate waxy mess and allows toilet to be reset without using a new wax ring.
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product32 of 34reviews
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(30)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Ease of installation 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product32 of 34reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
Review 1 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from Paramount, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

DOES EXACTLY WHAT IT'S SUPPOSE TO DO

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Although I thought initially that It would be all I needed but it's used more as a support. I still had to replace the wax but as an addition, the ring cap made the entire installation super easy. I'm sure I could have done fine without it but It literally installed within minutes...5-10 minutes from beginning to end.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from Littleton, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Holy Cow, this product is AWESOME!!!

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was re-installing a toilet and it wouldn't seal with just a wax ring. I tried 3 different times, buying new wax rings, thicker wax rings, stacking wax rings, and NO luck. Every time I would get a water leak when flushing. I finally saw this product and decided to try it. It was so easy to install and worked like a charm. Wished I would have known about this sooner. Thank you American plumbers for inventing this.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from Boca Raton, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Perfect for particular applications

PostedApril 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
While this is not the "solve-all", it is a quick-fix to certain toilet applications. Its useful when swapping out existing toilets, but not so necessary for new construction.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: could be built stronger
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from Chicago, IL

Great product, works well

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used this product on a couple of troublesome toilets in my home where a wax ring alone didn't seal well enough. Very easy to use and self explanitory (explanitions on box are pretty much all you get as far as installation directions go). In for about a week with no leaking issues. Great product.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from Anchorage, AK, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great: simplifies install & improves seal

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this with the hope that it would extend the 5 year warranty that already comes with the Oatey wax ring. This device does exactly what it says on the box, but it also supplies an additional seal between the toilet drain and the flange. Water has to get pretty creative to circumvent all the seals when it's all done correctly. I don't know who thought of this, but they're a genius. This is a great product for the money.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from greenvillle, sc
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great idea

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
very easy to install ... i thought it was a wax ring,but it is all good. worked out great
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from Chicago, Il
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for my situation

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was perfect for my needs. Toilet had been leaking from base and upon inspection the plastic flange was cracked. Combined with the gap from the flange to the tile, the wax ring would never seat completely. This ring cap fit over the entire old drain providing a clean, level surface to work with. Perfect for my situation.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

FIRST TIME USER

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
USE THIS TO REPLACE A TOILET WHER THE TOILET RING WAS LOW DUE TO THE FLOOR BEING RETILED. FIRST I PUT DOWN AN EXTRA THICK WAS RING AND THEN PLACES THIS PRODUCT OVER IT. IT MAKE SETING THE NEW TOILET AS EASY AS COULD BE. AND IF I EVER HAVE TO PUT THIS TOILET FOR SOME REASON I WILL NOT NEED A NEW WAX RING.
GREAT PRODUCT
JOHN FROM CANTON OHIO
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from Washington State
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We'll see

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I just installed a toilet using this product and I am skeptical because none of the wax ring actually touches the base of the toilet. The wax is what I believe keeps water from seeping/leaking out the base of the toilet and with this, the wax is under the product. That being said, I'm using it and watching closely and so far (2 hours) there aren't any leaks. If there are.... the water won't be able to seep down to the sub-floor unseen, it should leak out onto the floor where it can be caught early which is great.
If it works.... changing out a toilet will be an absolute breeze! I have a rental and wish I would have had
these for over there as we all know how hard renters are on your stuff! I'll try to remember to update this if I can, at a later date but so far, so good.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from Charlotte, NC
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

First Toilet installed

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the first toilet I ever replaced and this product made it very easy to do. FYI: when putting the cap on top of the wax make sure it is level and follow the directions for the height. I installed it on 11022013 and no problems or leaks as of yet. (knock on wood lolz)
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from WV
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

if you are a property manager, you want to use these!

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
no more mess dealing with wax rings when you change flooring or have little ones flush things that shouldn't be
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from Plainfield, CT, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did the job needed for exactly

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used it for something completed unrelated to it's purpose and it worked perfectly! :-)
Pros: Easy to Install, additional uses
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from Cowiche, WA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works great!! Love that I can lift the toilet without having to replace the wax ring every time.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from Edgewater, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Necessity

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had to have it! Fixed the problem the 1st time and that's ALWAYS a good thing!
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from Utah, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The perfect option for setting a toilet

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The ultimatel in ease of setting a tiolet and the flexibility to reset it later on if needed without messing with gooey way ring.
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from sc
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

toilet seal

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great product easy to install and sealed perfectly
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from Lansing, KS, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great way to add support to your wax ring, especially if you end up having to take the toilet off and reset it for some reason. Highly recommend this product.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap

Quick and easy

PostedMay 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works like a charm and re-enforces the standard bowl ring while making it easier to move and place the toilet on the mounting bolts.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from flossmoor, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

So far so good. Don't have to worry about leaks in the future.

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My contractor suggested that I buy this product for the installation of my toilets. He says that if for any reason that the toilet has to be removed this item would make it easier for one to do so.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HydroCap Sure Seat Wax Ring Cap
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product when Replacing Wax Ring at toliet Seating

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Good addition to replacing wax ring when reseating toilet.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>