728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater

40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater

Dyna-Glo 360 Degree Tank Top Heaters provide radiant heat in all directions. Radiant heaters are designed to disperse heat on concentrated areas as they are less likely to be effected by external elements such as wind. These CSA certified multi-functional units will heat up to 1000 sq. ft. propane tank not included.
Overall rating:
4.517 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product27 of 29reviews
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(21)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product27 of 29reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer reviews for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
Review 1 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
thatch
from San Diego, Southern Califonia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

PERFECT FOR US

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just received ours by delivery, bought online via Home Depot web site. Prompt Delivery and item well boxed and arrived safe. Easy set up, two screws, that's it. Directions a little vague, but hey - 2 screws.
Lit right away, just follow directions. I like the level of the burner, it's about level with your lap when your sitting in your favorite patio chair, and it throws the heat nicely. I like the match lite vs electronic, piezo's always seem to fail after a bit of use.
Cons- don't see any yet, but we have just started using it. Will be interested in performance in the wind, and on real chilly nights, but so far I am stoked.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
Happy

Great Heater, But check this area...

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this heater to heat my garage and enclosed trailer, it does the job well but. When I took the heater out of the box and set it up, upon lighting it for the first time I discovered a problem. After going through 20-30 matches I decided to take the burner apart and look at the brass Jet the gas goes through. It was clogged with some white sealant that the manufacture used to seal the Jet from leaks. After cleaning the goo off the jet the heater lit the first time and I havent had any problems since. The mounts a little wobbly but If your looking for serious heat for smaller jobs, this is the best one!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
BoostDaddy

Maybe next time!

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I received the heater in great condition on the day it was scheduled to arrive. I loaded it directly in our riding trailer along with a new and freshly filled propane tank. Once at the track I assembled the heater. Regarding all the past post's concerning the 2 screws that were missing, I found mine taped to the styrofoam packaging in a hard to find spot but was relieved to see that at least they were included. Once assembled I glanced thru the instructions and found that it was pretty much the same operating procedure as several other previous portable propane heaters I had owned. I mounted the heater to the propane bottle and attempted to light it. The unit ignited within seconds and was working great until I depressed the pilot button and the heater shut off. I assumed I had not held the pilot down long enough so I re-lit the heater and sat for a good 3-4 minutes in 40 degree temps with no wind and depressed the pilot again and the heater shut off. After several failed attempts and a sore finger from holding the pilot in, I read thru the troubleshooting guide and found that it could be the tip-over safety switch was stuck, not letting the unit run without the pilot. I took the soft rubber handle of a ball peen hammer and tapped on the tip-over safety switch a couple hundred times to no avail. As my son sat there shaking from the cold saying "I thought it was a new heater dad" , I sprung to action and wrapped a zip-tie around the pilot button and diaphragm that would hold the pilot button in and ran the heater on HIGH the rest of the morning with great success! I've since tore the pressure switch apart and found that there was a small molding web from the plastic molder that was holding the valve in the off position and fixed it myself. I hate to have to MacGuyver something new right out of the box but desperate times create desperate measures! All in all the heater now works fine but I was upset to say the least to have to be out in the cold dealing with issues right out of the box. I give it poor ratings simply because I think the manufacturer should have better QC. Home Depot good, Dyna-Glo bad!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, tip-over switch is junk!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
thekid
from Saratoga, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

best heater

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best heater I have ever own. heats the garage in mins. goes together in mins. great product would buy again.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
Jeff
from California, USA

Best Bottle Top Heater I have used

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this in the garage. Working on projects, poker night with the guys, etc. I have had several dfferent models over the years and this one is the best hands down. if you have had a bottle top heater then you know that there is always one friend that steps in front of it bragging about how well it works & how good it feels on those cold nights/ days. Unfortunately this completely blocks the heat from everyone else.
This heater provides 360 degreee of radiant heat that allows 4 or 5 preople to stand around it at the same time. It will raise the temp in a full 2 car garage to a comfortable level. (It gets down to 28 degrees where I live) I have also used it outdoors on cold nights where a camp fire isn't practical. The only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is it is a bit thirsty. It will last about 6-7 hours on a 5 gal. propane tank (but that is on the highest of 3 settings). It also mounts securely to the top rim of the tank and does not rely on the heater to tank connection. I would by one again. If you are concerned about the quality, you can buy a 2 year warranty at the time of purhase.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: thursty
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
Chuck
from Upstate NY

Great Emergency/Space Heaters

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought 2 of these heaters via online. They were shipped within one week undamaged. The heaters themselves were easy to set up on a standard 20 gallon propane tank. I did have a bit of trouble getting them lit. The instructions say to depress the starting plunger for about 10 seconds, it was more like 15 before they would finally stay lit! I allowed them to run for a while, trying all 3 heat positions. They worked great and provided a lot of heat. Being I mostly got these for emergency heat purposes, I basically only tested them to make certain they both worked OK. I did start them each a few different times and allowed them to run for a half an hour, neither had any problems. I would highly recommend these heaters.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install
Cons: a bit difficult to light
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
junior
from Belleville, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A FANTASTIC HEAT SOURCE!!

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this 360' heater for my garage to help take the "chill" out of there, and I was surprisingly pleased with the results!! Not only does it work, but I have NOT had to run the heater above the 'low' setting. Dang thing would run me out of the garage if I did...
I would HIGHLY recommend this tank heater to anyone!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
dno1
from 54140
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product. Heats a large area on low setting. Waiting for the temperatures to drop even further to use the high setting

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product. Works very well in garage, and shop.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, large performance in a small package
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
Greengrower
from Cecil, AL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Great heat for the price

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are using this to heat our Greenhouse on freezing nights. Raised temp from freezing to 69 degrees in 10 minutes on low. Wish we could turn it down more, but can't beat it. Glad to have manual lighter as electronic ones fail after two years. And the heaters we have purchased with electronic lighters are half again as expensive. It will come in handy tonight as temperatures in Alabama are going down to 16 degrees.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: wish we could turn it down further
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
Doreen
from Illinois
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great buy for the money!

PostedApril 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was afraid to purchase this at first. I thought the fumes might over come the garage (room I wanted to use it in). This product worked wonderful! We were having a party and I needed the extra sitting room and tables for eating. There were no fumes. Only problem (if you want to call it that) was that even on the lowest setting the garage (2 car) got very warm. So we just had to shut it off and turn it on as needed.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
sink47
from Alabama, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

value for money

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
purchased this to heat double garage while woodworking during the winter. easy to setup. lit the first time and heat very close to unit. turned up to highest setting and has about 4ft diameter of heat. after a while warmed the garage bit more. would probably have to turn this heater on for at least an hour to be really comfortable but will knock off the chill in a short amount of time. I am very pleased with my purchase. I have another propane heater which heats faster but the noise is so deafening that i dont like to use. this one may take bit longer to make garage comfortable but I prefer waiting a little longer to heat up garage and dont have to put up with all the noise from my other heater. I know there is a side hole which shows to put a lighter or match thru to light unit but I found that by placing lighter at the heating element will light unit without any "blowout" of flame to singe arm hairs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
camaroone
from Manassas, VA, USA

Works GREAT.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This heater works GREAT i use it in my small work shop and it keeps it nice and worm,
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
GrannyBlink

Really did the job of keeping us warm in our barn!

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very pleased with the heater. The portable gas heater radiates heat in all 360 degrees evenly and kept +-1000 square feet of our barn very warm!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
UncleDave
from Maine, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

As Advertised

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Instructions simple to follow. Took about 5 minutes after reading the booklet. Started right up and heated cold basement up by 20 degrees in half hour on low setting. I did buy two carbon monoxide detectors and installed in basement area just in case. So far so good. I can now work in cold basement without adding winter clothes.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
JayDawg
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

High BTU output portable propane heat

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought this tanktop propane heater in lieu of the "sunflower" type models that project heat in one direction. I tried to find it locally, but because it is relatively new, no one carried it and online was the only way to go. I use it in my garage and the heat output is incredible. This unit does not have auto ignite, so a lighter or match is required. It projects heat in all directions and heats my 1000 sq. ft. garage very well. I like it because it is portable and can easily be moved closer to the area I am working if needed. I also have a wall pack propane heater, but it is stationary. The price on these <>$100 is a little high and may come down with time, but this unit is much better than any other I have seen. It would also work well as a camping/patio heater. Shipping was free and it arrived within a week (due to bad weather). I would have rated it 5 stars, but have not had it long enough to see how well it will hold up after time. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a top of the line tanktop propane heater.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
judd

average

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Really poor design on knob assembly to attach heater to the propane bottle needs to be redesigned
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By GHP Group Inc. SupportMarch 14, 2014By GHP Group Inc. SupportMarch 14, 2014
This is a female counter-clockwise fitting nozzle that will work with all vapor-withdrawal propane tanks. Please contact us at customerservice@ghpgroupinc.com with "6440" in the subject line if you are in need of any assistance. Thank you Judd.
- GHP Group Customer Service Teamghpgroupinc
Review 17 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
Fred

Great for the Garage

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this to replace an older two burner type heater. The heater really puts out the heat, and I found the low setting puts out more heat than the high setting on my old heater. One issue the amount of gas used on low is equal to the high setting on my old one, but that stands to reason because of the output. My one complaint is the screws were missing in the box for the attachment of the support. I did have screws at home, but that is besides the point they were missing. Over all I do like the heater and would recommend for the right applications.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: missing screws
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
BobW
from Indiana, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

short heat time

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was excited to get this heater. Wanted to heat some of my garage in case my other heat system went down. I tried it on low with a full 20 pound gas tank and it lasted less than twelve hours. This makes this heater too expensive to operate. Also my floor was wet right around the bottom of the tank and it wasn't even that cold.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Install, not enough info. on heater on line
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By GHP Group Inc. SupportJanuary 31, 2014By GHP Group Inc. SupportJanuary 31, 2014
You should get close to 14.5 hours of usage from a 20lb tank on the low setting. Please contact us at customerservice@ghpgroupinc.com for any assistance you may need, just put "6440" in the subject line. Thank you.ghpgroupinc
Review 19 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
Kevin
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This has already come in handy many nights this winter. It will heat up your garage or other space very quickly. I have used it to heat up the "man cave" and everyone thinks it's great. I've never even had to turn it up past the low setting (but I did , just to make sure it worked). It's very easy to install on your propane tank and operate. Just be sure to leave a way for fresh air to vent into the area you are heating, so you do not get carbon monoxide poisoning.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
David
from Lockport, LA 70374, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

heats up 360 degrees; 3 settings

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
lights up quickly, just the right height to warm hands, great for gatherings, parties, hunting camp & hunting blinds
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, well packaged
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>