728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Space Heaters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater

40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater

Dyna-Glo 360 Degree Tank Top Heaters provide radiant heat in all directions. Radiant heaters are designed to disperse heat on concentrated areas as they are less likely to be effected by external elements such as wind. These CSA certified multi-functional units will heat up to 1000 sq. ft. propane tank not included.
Overall rating:
4.447 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product43 of 47reviews
Rating Breakdown 47 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(33)
4
(9)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product43 of 47reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 47 Answers
Customer reviews for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
Review 1 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
from Covington, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Heater for Workshop

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I had considered several options for heating my workshop and I am happy that I decided on this one. It arrived in a timely manner, Home Depot had the best price I could find, very little assembly required, seems to be well made and best of all it works well. My shop is in an un-insulated 2 car garage and when the temp outside is in the high 30's to low 40's this unit will get it very comfortable within a half hour or so. I suspect that when it gets really cold it may not be adequate but that is not the fault of the unit and they do make bigger ones. The only fault I have noticed so far is that it seems to consume somewhat more gas than the specs would indicate, hence the 4 stars instead of 5.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
from Columbus, OH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great for heating a detached 3 car garage

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I normally don't write reviews but had to on this little heater. I was running a kerosene turbo heater to heat my garage (Roughly 1000 sqft)but the odor was giving me a headache, not to mention the cost of kerosene (Returned it). I had to do some work in my garage and needed a heater (My 30K/60K Propane Turbo hadn't arrived) so I picked one of these up. When I went into the garage this morning it was 32F. After turning this thing on it was up to 42F within 15-20 minutes. Eventually my garage stabilized at roughly 58F, which is perfect for me. That was with me opening and closing the garage for 8-10 times bringing things in and out. My garage has 12' ceiling and a ceiling fan in it. I use the ceiling fan in the winter, regardless of heater type, to get air movement (e.g. Heat rises... :) ). Did I mention there is no fan noise like a turbo heater. I could actually hear the radio. It did such a good job at keeping my garage warm I think I may return new propane turbo heater when it arrives. I highly recommend...
Pros: Easy to Use, Quiet
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lots of heat

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This heater is being used in my integral three car garage in Western Pennsylvania. It raised the temperature twelve degrees in less than one hour. I found it easier to light by applying the match flame directly to the heater screen. I kept it on low and it pumped out a lot of heat. I was able to lower the heat, while in the low setting, by turning down the propane tank main valve a little. I have only had this unit a few days so I will report back with any problems.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: difficult to light if you follow the direction.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
from Cumming, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great heater for the price

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Overall, this is a great heater. Only heater I have found that is 360 degrees. Seems to lose a lot of heat straight up but the heat generated outward is sufficient. The fixture containing the heating element is held to the support bracket by a couple of screws and regardless of how tight the screws are, the upper fixture is loose. Not sure this is a problem with all of the heaters, or just mine. A possible improvement would be to allow for the attachment of a reflective shield to better direct heat when 360 degrees is not required or to direct the heat outward that is being lost straight up. Still a great heater for the money!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
from WAYMART PA
Age Range:65 or over
Home Improvement Profile:Other

WORKS GREAT

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
WORK THE FIRST TIME GREAT FOR THE GARAGE more then heat need !!!!!!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
from San Diego, Southern Califonia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

PERFECT FOR US

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just received ours by delivery, bought online via Home Depot web site. Prompt Delivery and item well boxed and arrived safe. Easy set up, two screws, that's it. Directions a little vague, but hey - 2 screws.
Lit right away, just follow directions. I like the level of the burner, it's about level with your lap when your sitting in your favorite patio chair, and it throws the heat nicely. I like the match lite vs electronic, piezo's always seem to fail after a bit of use.
Cons- don't see any yet, but we have just started using it. Will be interested in performance in the wind, and on real chilly nights, but so far I am stoked.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
from Felton, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Had to return twice

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this unit and it would not light at all, I followed the directions to the letter and no heat. Thinking I got a bad unit, I took it back and exchanged it for another one. This unit would light but it would not stay lit. Home Depot took it back and refunded my money.
Cons: did not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By GHP Group Inc. SupportJanuary 23, 2015By GHP Group Inc. SupportJanuary 23, 2015
Hey there,

We are sorry to hear about your experience. If you need any future assistance with our units, feel free to give us a call at 877-447-4768. Thank you.

- GHP Group Customer Service Team ghpgroupinc
Review 8 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater

Maybe next time!

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
I received the heater in great condition on the day it was scheduled to arrive. I loaded it directly in our riding trailer along with a new and freshly filled propane tank. Once at the track I assembled the heater. Regarding all the past post's concerning the 2 screws that were missing, I found mine taped to the styrofoam packaging in a hard to find spot but was relieved to see that at least they were included. Once assembled I glanced thru the instructions and found that it was pretty much the same operating procedure as several other previous portable propane heaters I had owned. I mounted the heater to the propane bottle and attempted to light it. The unit ignited within seconds and was working great until I depressed the pilot button and the heater shut off. I assumed I had not held the pilot down long enough so I re-lit the heater and sat for a good 3-4 minutes in 40 degree temps with no wind and depressed the pilot again and the heater shut off. After several failed attempts and a sore finger from holding the pilot in, I read thru the troubleshooting guide and found that it could be the tip-over safety switch was stuck, not letting the unit run without the pilot. I took the soft rubber handle of a ball peen hammer and tapped on the tip-over safety switch a couple hundred times to no avail. As my son sat there shaking from the cold saying "I thought it was a new heater dad" , I sprung to action and wrapped a zip-tie around the pilot button and diaphragm that would hold the pilot button in and ran the heater on HIGH the rest of the morning with great success! I've since tore the pressure switch apart and found that there was a small molding web from the plastic molder that was holding the valve in the off position and fixed it myself. I hate to have to MacGuyver something new right out of the box but desperate times create desperate measures! All in all the heater now works fine but I was upset to say the least to have to be out in the cold dealing with issues right out of the box. I give it poor ratings simply because I think the manufacturer should have better QC. Home Depot good, Dyna-Glo bad!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, tip-over switch is junk!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater

Quickly heats my shop

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install on the propane tank and easy to light.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
from West KY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent Effective Area Heater

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After 25 years of a Kerosene Heater, I "upgraded" to Propane. Considerable research led me to this unit. Of all vendors Home Depot has the best price. Order process easy. Delivery as expected. Lighting the unit is a little difficult, and you need patience as it has to get HOT before the thermo-couple locks in. Hold a match or propane lighter at the bottom of the burner shield and ease the gas on while holding the thermo-couple plunger in.
It needs to sit on something solid and level, the unit can be a little top heavy especially on a near empty tank. Don't think about using it for cooking, the flat top wire grid is tempting, but the unit is not stable enough to hold anything on top. But man, does this thing warm a room, even on low, the convective and radiant heating combination is very effective. Kerosene smell is gone, I'm happy.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater

Outstanding heater

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I use this to heat my garage while I am working on projects in the winter months. Even when it is close to freezing outside, the heater will warm the area enough to work comfortably in a t-shirt. I have never even had to use anything other than the "low" setting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater

Great Heater, But check this area...

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchased this heater to heat my garage and enclosed trailer, it does the job well but. When I took the heater out of the box and set it up, upon lighting it for the first time I discovered a problem. After going through 20-30 matches I decided to take the burner apart and look at the brass Jet the gas goes through. It was clogged with some white sealant that the manufacture used to seal the Jet from leaks. After cleaning the goo off the jet the heater lit the first time and I havent had any problems since. The mounts a little wobbly but If your looking for serious heat for smaller jobs, this is the best one!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
from California, USA

Best Bottle Top Heater I have used

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I use this in the garage. Working on projects, poker night with the guys, etc. I have had several dfferent models over the years and this one is the best hands down. if you have had a bottle top heater then you know that there is always one friend that steps in front of it bragging about how well it works & how good it feels on those cold nights/ days. Unfortunately this completely blocks the heat from everyone else.
This heater provides 360 degreee of radiant heat that allows 4 or 5 preople to stand around it at the same time. It will raise the temp in a full 2 car garage to a comfortable level. (It gets down to 28 degrees where I live) I have also used it outdoors on cold nights where a camp fire isn't practical. The only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is it is a bit thirsty. It will last about 6-7 hours on a 5 gal. propane tank (but that is on the highest of 3 settings). It also mounts securely to the top rim of the tank and does not rely on the heater to tank connection. I would by one again. If you are concerned about the quality, you can buy a 2 year warranty at the time of purhase.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: thursty
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
from Philadelphia, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very satisfied

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to assemble and keeps me warm in 16' x 16' shed. Just make sure to open a window slightly for ventilation. The first time I used it I didn't and got a little light-headed.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
from Austin, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Hot and Easy

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to assemble and start. Produces a ton of heat... probably a wee bit more than I needed for the space I'm using it in. Seems a tab overpriced, but does keep things hot.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: pricy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
from Al
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

can't go wrong w/purchase

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Seen all the reviews before purchase, took me longer to unpack from box than put together! Works Better than great, use it everyday and to this day, i have never used other than low, have to turn it off because of room gets to hot, that's on LOW! Purchased (2) of them and one still in box because one does the job!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater

Dyna Glo is the way to go

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Fantastic product and delivered as stated. Other competitors to Home Depot carry inferior products compared to this heater.
Very pleased. Heats my 12x16 workshop quickly and doesn't have the loud noise vs a jet heater. Easy assembly and easy use. Great for the days that drop below freezing
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater

Pretty Disappointed

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After reading the manual and following the instructions exactly, as well as troubleshooting, we are unable to keep it lit. As soon as you release the plunger, it goes out. We taped it to make it stay lit, which is a short term fix, but when you're freezing and desperate, you do what you have to do. Maybe we purchased a "bad one", I don't know. It's such a pain to return items; we don't live close to a Home Depot. Ugh.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By GHP Group Inc. SupportDecember 4, 2014By GHP Group Inc. SupportDecember 4, 2014
Hey Mary,

We are sorry to hear you are having trouble with your heater. Please give us a call at 877-447-4768 and we can assist you in resolving this issue. Thank you!

- GHP Group Customer Service Teamghpgroupinc
Review 19 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
from Kansas City, MO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product!

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The heater is perfect for tailgaiting. Tried to buy a couple of more but Home Depot is out of stock.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
from Illinois
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great buy for the money!

PostedApril 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was afraid to purchase this at first. I thought the fumes might over come the garage (room I wanted to use it in). This product worked wonderful! We were having a party and I needed the extra sitting room and tables for eating. There were no fumes. Only problem (if you want to call it that) was that even on the lowest setting the garage (2 car) got very warm. So we just had to shut it off and turn it on as needed.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>