728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Space Heaters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater

40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater

Dyna-Glo 360 Degree Tank Top Heaters provide radiant heat in all directions. Radiant heaters are designed to disperse heat on concentrated areas as they are less likely to be effected by external elements such as wind. These CSA certified multi-functional units will heat up to 1000 sq. ft. propane tank not included.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product52 of 56reviews
Rating Breakdown 56 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(40)
4
(11)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product52 of 56reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 52 Answers
Customer reviews for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
Review 1 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
from Covington, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Heater for Workshop

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I had considered several options for heating my workshop and I am happy that I decided on this one. It arrived in a timely manner, Home Depot had the best price I could find, very little assembly required, seems to be well made and best of all it works well. My shop is in an un-insulated 2 car garage and when the temp outside is in the high 30's to low 40's this unit will get it very comfortable within a half hour or so. I suspect that when it gets really cold it may not be adequate but that is not the fault of the unit and they do make bigger ones. The only fault I have noticed so far is that it seems to consume somewhat more gas than the specs would indicate, hence the 4 stars instead of 5.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lots of heat

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This heater is being used in my integral three car garage in Western Pennsylvania. It raised the temperature twelve degrees in less than one hour. I found it easier to light by applying the match flame directly to the heater screen. I kept it on low and it pumped out a lot of heat. I was able to lower the heat, while in the low setting, by turning down the propane tank main valve a little. I have only had this unit a few days so I will report back with any problems.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: difficult to light if you follow the direction.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
from Columbus, OH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great for heating a detached 3 car garage

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I normally don't write reviews but had to on this little heater. I was running a kerosene turbo heater to heat my garage (Roughly 1000 sqft)but the odor was giving me a headache, not to mention the cost of kerosene (Returned it). I had to do some work in my garage and needed a heater (My 30K/60K Propane Turbo hadn't arrived) so I picked one of these up. When I went into the garage this morning it was 32F. After turning this thing on it was up to 42F within 15-20 minutes. Eventually my garage stabilized at roughly 58F, which is perfect for me. That was with me opening and closing the garage for 8-10 times bringing things in and out. My garage has 12' ceiling and a ceiling fan in it. I use the ceiling fan in the winter, regardless of heater type, to get air movement (e.g. Heat rises... :) ). Did I mention there is no fan noise like a turbo heater. I could actually hear the radio. It did such a good job at keeping my garage warm I think I may return new propane turbo heater when it arrives. I highly recommend...
Pros: Easy to Use, Quiet
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
from new tripoli, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A very comfortable heater!

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A grand overall heater for a garage or workshop. The best condition is an insulated ceiling, and walls. The heat output is very very nice, and it is quiet, as compared to the blower heaters. With an average propane tank, it should last about 5-6 hours on the low setting. I am truly happy with this product. Just to be alert: the instructions state that there is a hole at the bottom of the heater to place a match or clicker to ignite the apparatus when the gas is turned on. Do not believe it. Turn on the gas, and click your igniter next to the upper mesh for instant ignition. The directions simply do not work. For best instructions, refer to the youtube evaluation of the product. That is how I learned to light the heater.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
from Milford, MI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Impressed

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I wanted this to warm up my garage so I would be able to take the chill off to work in there.
We have a 3 car garage measuring about 30X24 and this heater was able to raise the temp to 55 degrees when it was 30 outside and it took about 2 hours. My thermometer is on my work bench about 12 feet from where i placed the heater. Right now it is 12 degrees outside and after one hour it has raised the garage interior temp 12 degrees. Both days it was set on low.
It burns hot and efficiently.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
from San Diego, Southern Califonia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

PERFECT FOR US

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just received ours by delivery, bought online via Home Depot web site. Prompt Delivery and item well boxed and arrived safe. Easy set up, two screws, that's it. Directions a little vague, but hey - 2 screws.
Lit right away, just follow directions. I like the level of the burner, it's about level with your lap when your sitting in your favorite patio chair, and it throws the heat nicely. I like the match lite vs electronic, piezo's always seem to fail after a bit of use.
Cons- don't see any yet, but we have just started using it. Will be interested in performance in the wind, and on real chilly nights, but so far I am stoked.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
from Cumming, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great heater for the price

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Overall, this is a great heater. Only heater I have found that is 360 degrees. Seems to lose a lot of heat straight up but the heat generated outward is sufficient. The fixture containing the heating element is held to the support bracket by a couple of screws and regardless of how tight the screws are, the upper fixture is loose. Not sure this is a problem with all of the heaters, or just mine. A possible improvement would be to allow for the attachment of a reflective shield to better direct heat when 360 degrees is not required or to direct the heat outward that is being lost straight up. Still a great heater for the money!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
from clarkston mi
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Get heated up

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works great for out new garage. Heats up a 20X24 garage in 40 minutes. Very pleased.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
from WAYMART PA
Age Range:65 or over
Home Improvement Profile:Other

WORKS GREAT

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
WORK THE FIRST TIME GREAT FOR THE GARAGE more then heat need !!!!!!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
from Missouri
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pleased Customer

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a very good heater. Used it recently at a sporting event and it was awesome. Provides ample amount of heat and worked out very well. Easy to hook up and break down. Takes only 2-3 minutes to cool down after use. I had many compliments on it from others who were standing around it. They all said they were planning to get one for themselves. I used it for over 6 hours on mostly medium setting and only used up about a 1/3 of a tank of propane.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater

works well, heats

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
heats very well, warms up my standard size garage in no time. usually keep on low setting to extend the life of propane tank, which keeps garage warm even on very cold days. nice and quiet
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
from California, USA

Best Bottle Top Heater I have used

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I use this in the garage. Working on projects, poker night with the guys, etc. I have had several dfferent models over the years and this one is the best hands down. if you have had a bottle top heater then you know that there is always one friend that steps in front of it bragging about how well it works & how good it feels on those cold nights/ days. Unfortunately this completely blocks the heat from everyone else.
This heater provides 360 degreee of radiant heat that allows 4 or 5 preople to stand around it at the same time. It will raise the temp in a full 2 car garage to a comfortable level. (It gets down to 28 degrees where I live) I have also used it outdoors on cold nights where a camp fire isn't practical. The only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is it is a bit thirsty. It will last about 6-7 hours on a 5 gal. propane tank (but that is on the highest of 3 settings). It also mounts securely to the top rim of the tank and does not rely on the heater to tank connection. I would by one again. If you are concerned about the quality, you can buy a 2 year warranty at the time of purhase.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: thursty
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
from Salt Lake City, Utah
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Purchase

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was looking for a heater I could use to heat up the garage. I looked at the single and the double propane heaters and finally decided to go with the 360 degree top tank heater and I'm glad I did.
I haven't tried it outdoors yet but I think this heater will also work pretty good outdoors.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design, puts out alot of heat!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater

Great Heater, But check this area...

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchased this heater to heat my garage and enclosed trailer, it does the job well but. When I took the heater out of the box and set it up, upon lighting it for the first time I discovered a problem. After going through 20-30 matches I decided to take the burner apart and look at the brass Jet the gas goes through. It was clogged with some white sealant that the manufacture used to seal the Jet from leaks. After cleaning the goo off the jet the heater lit the first time and I havent had any problems since. The mounts a little wobbly but If your looking for serious heat for smaller jobs, this is the best one!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater

Works great

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Heats up the garage quickly. Used in zero degree weather and was able to work in the garage in a tee shirt. Originally bought s smaller tank top heater with less btus and returned it immediately.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
from NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good heater, good price...

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I've already recommended this to more than a couple of friends...
Pros: efficiency
Cons: a bit loud but not too
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater

Maybe next time!

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
I received the heater in great condition on the day it was scheduled to arrive. I loaded it directly in our riding trailer along with a new and freshly filled propane tank. Once at the track I assembled the heater. Regarding all the past post's concerning the 2 screws that were missing, I found mine taped to the styrofoam packaging in a hard to find spot but was relieved to see that at least they were included. Once assembled I glanced thru the instructions and found that it was pretty much the same operating procedure as several other previous portable propane heaters I had owned. I mounted the heater to the propane bottle and attempted to light it. The unit ignited within seconds and was working great until I depressed the pilot button and the heater shut off. I assumed I had not held the pilot down long enough so I re-lit the heater and sat for a good 3-4 minutes in 40 degree temps with no wind and depressed the pilot again and the heater shut off. After several failed attempts and a sore finger from holding the pilot in, I read thru the troubleshooting guide and found that it could be the tip-over safety switch was stuck, not letting the unit run without the pilot. I took the soft rubber handle of a ball peen hammer and tapped on the tip-over safety switch a couple hundred times to no avail. As my son sat there shaking from the cold saying "I thought it was a new heater dad" , I sprung to action and wrapped a zip-tie around the pilot button and diaphragm that would hold the pilot button in and ran the heater on HIGH the rest of the morning with great success! I've since tore the pressure switch apart and found that there was a small molding web from the plastic molder that was holding the valve in the off position and fixed it myself. I hate to have to MacGuyver something new right out of the box but desperate times create desperate measures! All in all the heater now works fine but I was upset to say the least to have to be out in the cold dealing with issues right out of the box. I give it poor ratings simply because I think the manufacturer should have better QC. Home Depot good, Dyna-Glo bad!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, tip-over switch is junk!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
from Felton, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Had to return twice

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this unit and it would not light at all, I followed the directions to the letter and no heat. Thinking I got a bad unit, I took it back and exchanged it for another one. This unit would light but it would not stay lit. Home Depot took it back and refunded my money.
Cons: did not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By GHP Group Inc. SupportJanuary 23, 2015By GHP Group Inc. SupportJanuary 23, 2015
Hey there,

We are sorry to hear about your experience. If you need any future assistance with our units, feel free to give us a call at 877-447-4768. Thank you.

- GHP Group Customer Service Team ghpgroupinc
Review 19 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater
from West KY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent Effective Area Heater

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After 25 years of a Kerosene Heater, I "upgraded" to Propane. Considerable research led me to this unit. Of all vendors Home Depot has the best price. Order process easy. Delivery as expected. Lighting the unit is a little difficult, and you need patience as it has to get HOT before the thermo-couple locks in. Hold a match or propane lighter at the bottom of the burner shield and ease the gas on while holding the thermo-couple plunger in.
It needs to sit on something solid and level, the unit can be a little top heavy especially on a near empty tank. Don't think about using it for cooking, the flat top wire grid is tempting, but the unit is not stable enough to hold anything on top. But man, does this thing warm a room, even on low, the convective and radiant heating combination is very effective. Kerosene smell is gone, I'm happy.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 40K BTU 360 Degree Tank Top Gas Portable Heater

Quickly heats my shop

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install on the propane tank and easy to light.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>