728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outlets & Receptacles or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for WeMo Switch

WeMo Switch

The Belkin WeMo Switch works with the free WeMo app to give you wireless control of your home appliances and electronics. Whether you want to turn on a light from your kitchen, front yard, or office, WeMo Switch has you covered.
Overall rating:
4.031 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product25 of 32reviews
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(17)
4
(7)
3
(2)
2
(4)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product25 of 32reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for WeMo Switch
Review 1 for WeMo Switch
from Los Angeles, California
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Good

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The instructions for set up were easy enough to follow. Switch works just like I had hoped. Now, my grandmother thinks my deceased grandfather is visiting her from beyond when her lights go on and off at all hours of the night, all from my phone!
Pros: Easy Installation
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for WeMo Switch
from CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Useful and easy to set up: sort of

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Item(s) serve several purposes. When home, it is easy to light your way through the house. And when away from home, more useful than a timer to give the impression someone is present. Installing isn't difficult but the instructions appear on your phone so I would recommend installing the app first. I have an IPhone and during the installation I kept getting the message that the product needed a firmware download. After the first download, I received another message requesting a firmware download. It took four downloads before my IPhone settled down. Botton line is that they work and after all that's what you want.
Pros: Compact, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for WeMo Switch
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I love these!

PostedMay 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have these on numerous lights. Living room (2) and bedroom nightstand lamp. They work awesome! Can set on/ off timers so they turn on and off by themselves and you can turn them on/off from phone or tablet. Looking to purchase the switch one so I can put the backyard light on it. Great buy!
Pros: Easy to Use, Lots of Features, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for WeMo Switch

Too many problems

PostedMay 22, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Look for an alternative. There too many software-errors (especially on the we mo app). And the company apparently won't correct the app-issues
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By BelkinStaffMay 25, 2015By BelkinStaffMay 25, 2015
Hi HansDK,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on the Belkin WEMO Switch. We would like to learn more about your WEMO network and assist you in improving your WEMO experience. Please email us your contact details at WEMOHelp@belkin.com so that the team can get in touch with you.


Regards,

Belkin Support
www.belkin.com/support Belkin
Review 5 for WeMo Switch
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Randomly turns on by itself

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
When it's working it works great. However, there are still a few bugs. The initial software setup is simple. You can have this device working in less than 5 minutes. After that though there are other issues with the software. I have both iPhone and Android phones. Sometimes the switch disappears from the app. You would have to close the app and refresh. The most annoying thing is that it randomly turns on by itself. I think it has to do with buggy rules software. Once the upgrade the software this device would be a five star.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: software glitches
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for WeMo Switch
from CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Still Excellent

PostedMarch 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Should be some way to update a previous review but I couldn't find it. Regardless, my experience still positive. A 1,000 miles from my base and my App says new firmware available. I took the chance and did the download. Success. Had a friend go by and while we texted, I had the lights go on/off without a hitch. I use the IPhone App and have a 5s with latest OS running.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for WeMo Switch

Good product, still needs some tweaking

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought my first WeMo switch to control the Christmas tree and loved it. I took it and bought a second to use at our vacation home. I didn't learn until I set them up that you cannot have more than one light on at the same time in the Away mode. You can set multiple lights to come on during a period, say 6-11, but the lights alternate when on and off. I wanted multiple lights on at the same time. You also cannot bypass this be creating a second away mode, because once you remove a light it removes it from all modes.
Overall pleased, but wish there was an option to have multiple lights on at the same time in away mode.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for WeMo Switch
from Brighton, MI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

When it works, it works

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The WeMo switch is a real fickle device. Sometimes I can't pinpoint whether or not its the device's fault, or the app, but either way, this switch only works 50% of the time. It is always losing wifi connection to a router that is in the same room as the switch, leaving us to wonder if our lamp has turned on at all while we are away. Sometimes the switch will turn off our lamp for no good reason at all in the middle of the evening while we are sitting in the room.
On the other hand, when all is running smoothly, its a handy little device. Our dogs get some light in the evenings, and everyone is happy.
Here's hoping there is firmware update in the near future to make the WeMo switch a little more reliable, because I really do enjoy it when it's working.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation, easy to use app
Cons: only works half the time
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for WeMo Switch
from Salem, Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Convenient!

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just plug this unit into the outlet and then plug in the light of your choice. Then download the app and connect to your home wi-fi with your password. I originally had this connected to my family room light to turn on so I would be able to see where I was going once I turned off the office light. I currently have it connected to the Christmas tree lights - Handy for the holidays! Set up was easy and no glitches so far.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for WeMo Switch

over priced remote switch

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
the extra features of this switch don't seem to work properly, sunset / sunrise rule is not self adjusting so you might as well just set the time to turn on and off. on and off functions unreliable when used on led lights ( some times it takes 3 or 4 times for the light to actually com on)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for WeMo Switch
from Wisconsin
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Perfect

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I use these for outdoor cameras and lights. Great on the iPhone to control power from anywhere. I just wish they'd make an app for the Mac too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for WeMo Switch

Didn't Work

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
No matter what I tried and no matter what Belkin tried, we could not get it to work remotely. I had to return it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for WeMo Switch

Works.

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Plug it in. Connect to router. Remote control and rules / policies from any where in the world.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for WeMo Switch

Great

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is awesome for automating Christmas lights. Totally love these as it is set it and forget it. Only issue is occasional wifi dropout on very windy days for those located far far away from the access point but doesn't seem to effect their automated schedule at all just manual remote control
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for WeMo Switch
from VA Beach, VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Dissappointing

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Works well with one app and one switch but no way to download a second app and use another switch in another house or location
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for WeMo Switch

Works just like it's supposed to work.

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this shortly after Thanksgiving on sale for $39.99. My plan was you use it to control my Christmas lights. I set this up in my garage which controls the outside outlet which my lights are plugged into.
Initial setup was very easy. It paired with my router and quickly did a firmware update. Actually, it did 2 or 3 updates.
Initially I attempted to trigger on/off at sunset/sunrise through the Wemo app. That didn't seem to work because I couldn't figure out how to invert the time on to sunset and time off at sunrise.
I then authorized my IFTTT (If This Then That) app to work with the switch. Through the IFTTT app I was able to find a recipe to turn on at sunset and turn off at sunrise. It's worked flawlessly since. The on/off toggle switch within the app works great with no lag time.
Now that my Christmas lights are coming down I'm going to use it to control a lamp in my living room. I also have it paired with my smartthings home automation hub. It works pretty well with smartthings but there are some false status indicators through the smartthings app. The Wemo app continues to show correct status.
This is a quick and easy plug and play route for home automation. If you aren't comfortable switching out a hard wired wall outlet, then the Wemo switch is the way to go. There may be better options is you already have a home automation hub set up and want to keep everything branded bit that another topic. This switch can be used with simply your router and phone through Wi-Fi.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for WeMo Switch
from Baltimore Md
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great combination of technology and functionality.

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This switch was easy to set up and use with my cel phone and tablet.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for WeMo Switch
from york pa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

WEMO Switch

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great product, works just as described with easy setup. Hasn't failed to perform yet.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for WeMo Switch
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

One Upstairs & One Downstairs

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought a two pack and we never come home to a dark house. We have the switches set to turn on lights at sunset and turn them off at times to remind us to get ready for bed. Love the ability to control remotely when on vacation. Our old timers that turn lights on according to time settings end up turning lights on at times that do not make sense as the daylight hours change. We will not purchase anymore of the old fashioned timers now that we have experienced the conveniences of the WeMo switch!
Pros: very functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for WeMo Switch
from Washington, DC

Clever product but has inconsistent connection to network

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought a two-pack. The first unit set up like a charm in a few minutes. Setting up the second unit has been a horrible experience. It would not consistently connect to the iPhone. I called Belkin Tech support and spent 45 minutes with them and got nowhere. The second unit still does not work. Now I'm waiting for a Level 2 tech rep to call me.
The iPhone app (v1.4 [11794]) is buggy. It keeps asking for a firmware update, but seems to fail with the update.
The concept is clever as is the ability to use rules, but if you can't get the system to connect consistently to the network, the WeMo switch is useless.
Note, that the system will only work on one wifi network. Also, if you have more than one house, the iPhone app will work via the wifi at the house you are at, but the tech rep said that when you are on the cellular network, only one of your houses/networks will show up, and it's random.
Pros: clever idea
Cons: works intermittently
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>