728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outlets & Receptacles or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for WeMo Switch

WeMo Switch

The Belkin WeMo Switch works with the free WeMo app to give you wireless control of your home appliances and electronics. Whether you want to turn on a light from your kitchen, front yard, or office, WeMo Switch has you covered.
Overall rating:
4.16 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product21 of 25reviews
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(13)
4
(7)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product21 of 25reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for WeMo Switch
Review 1 for WeMo Switch
from CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Useful and easy to set up: sort of

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Item(s) serve several purposes. When home, it is easy to light your way through the house. And when away from home, more useful than a timer to give the impression someone is present. Installing isn't difficult but the instructions appear on your phone so I would recommend installing the app first. I have an IPhone and during the installation I kept getting the message that the product needed a firmware download. After the first download, I received another message requesting a firmware download. It took four downloads before my IPhone settled down. Botton line is that they work and after all that's what you want.
Pros: Compact, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for WeMo Switch

Good product, still needs some tweaking

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought my first WeMo switch to control the Christmas tree and loved it. I took it and bought a second to use at our vacation home. I didn't learn until I set them up that you cannot have more than one light on at the same time in the Away mode. You can set multiple lights to come on during a period, say 6-11, but the lights alternate when on and off. I wanted multiple lights on at the same time. You also cannot bypass this be creating a second away mode, because once you remove a light it removes it from all modes.
Overall pleased, but wish there was an option to have multiple lights on at the same time in away mode.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for WeMo Switch
from Los Angeles, California
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Good

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The instructions for set up were easy enough to follow. Switch works just like I had hoped. Now, my grandmother thinks my deceased grandfather is visiting her from beyond when her lights go on and off at all hours of the night, all from my phone!
Pros: Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for WeMo Switch

Didn't Work

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
No matter what I tried and no matter what Belkin tried, we could not get it to work remotely. I had to return it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for WeMo Switch

Works.

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Plug it in. Connect to router. Remote control and rules / policies from any where in the world.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for WeMo Switch
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Randomly turns on by itself

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
When it's working it works great. However, there are still a few bugs. The initial software setup is simple. You can have this device working in less than 5 minutes. After that though there are other issues with the software. I have both iPhone and Android phones. Sometimes the switch disappears from the app. You would have to close the app and refresh. The most annoying thing is that it randomly turns on by itself. I think it has to do with buggy rules software. Once the upgrade the software this device would be a five star.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: software glitches
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for WeMo Switch

Great

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is awesome for automating Christmas lights. Totally love these as it is set it and forget it. Only issue is occasional wifi dropout on very windy days for those located far far away from the access point but doesn't seem to effect their automated schedule at all just manual remote control
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for WeMo Switch

Works just like it's supposed to work.

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this shortly after Thanksgiving on sale for $39.99. My plan was you use it to control my Christmas lights. I set this up in my garage which controls the outside outlet which my lights are plugged into.
Initial setup was very easy. It paired with my router and quickly did a firmware update. Actually, it did 2 or 3 updates.
Initially I attempted to trigger on/off at sunset/sunrise through the Wemo app. That didn't seem to work because I couldn't figure out how to invert the time on to sunset and time off at sunrise.
I then authorized my IFTTT (If This Then That) app to work with the switch. Through the IFTTT app I was able to find a recipe to turn on at sunset and turn off at sunrise. It's worked flawlessly since. The on/off toggle switch within the app works great with no lag time.
Now that my Christmas lights are coming down I'm going to use it to control a lamp in my living room. I also have it paired with my smartthings home automation hub. It works pretty well with smartthings but there are some false status indicators through the smartthings app. The Wemo app continues to show correct status.
This is a quick and easy plug and play route for home automation. If you aren't comfortable switching out a hard wired wall outlet, then the Wemo switch is the way to go. There may be better options is you already have a home automation hub set up and want to keep everything branded bit that another topic. This switch can be used with simply your router and phone through Wi-Fi.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for WeMo Switch
from VA Beach, VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Dissappointing

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Works well with one app and one switch but no way to download a second app and use another switch in another house or location
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for WeMo Switch
from Baltimore Md
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great combination of technology and functionality.

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This switch was easy to set up and use with my cel phone and tablet.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for WeMo Switch
from york pa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

WEMO Switch

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great product, works just as described with easy setup. Hasn't failed to perform yet.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for WeMo Switch
from Salem, Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Convenient!

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just plug this unit into the outlet and then plug in the light of your choice. Then download the app and connect to your home wi-fi with your password. I originally had this connected to my family room light to turn on so I would be able to see where I was going once I turned off the office light. I currently have it connected to the Christmas tree lights - Handy for the holidays! Set up was easy and no glitches so far.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for WeMo Switch
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

One Upstairs & One Downstairs

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought a two pack and we never come home to a dark house. We have the switches set to turn on lights at sunset and turn them off at times to remind us to get ready for bed. Love the ability to control remotely when on vacation. Our old timers that turn lights on according to time settings end up turning lights on at times that do not make sense as the daylight hours change. We will not purchase anymore of the old fashioned timers now that we have experienced the conveniences of the WeMo switch!
Pros: very functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for WeMo Switch
from Newberry, Fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Room for improvement

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I used the X-10 system for years which was incredibly easy in it's programming both with versatility and ease of setting different on/off times. X-10 will no longer load on my laptop so I tried this out. It does well what it is supposed to, one switch, one light, one on/off setting. It does this job quite well and makes up for its loss in versatility in the ability to monitor its function and programming over the internet.
Pros: Compact, Easy Replacement
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for WeMo Switch
from Parish NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WeMo - A very good home automation device

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The WeMo is simple to get onto your home network and use. I started by buying 2 units and I now how 11 units.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for WeMo Switch
from Tampa, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great item. Set up was a little tricky.

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works like a charm. Set up and updating software was confusing and took a little longer than I would have liked. Make sure to follow the online instructions for an easier set up.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: set up was a little confusing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for WeMo Switch
from Washington, DC

Clever product but has inconsistent connection to network

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought a two-pack. The first unit set up like a charm in a few minutes. Setting up the second unit has been a horrible experience. It would not consistently connect to the iPhone. I called Belkin Tech support and spent 45 minutes with them and got nowhere. The second unit still does not work. Now I'm waiting for a Level 2 tech rep to call me.
The iPhone app (v1.4 [11794]) is buggy. It keeps asking for a firmware update, but seems to fail with the update.
The concept is clever as is the ability to use rules, but if you can't get the system to connect consistently to the network, the WeMo switch is useless.
Note, that the system will only work on one wifi network. Also, if you have more than one house, the iPhone app will work via the wifi at the house you are at, but the tech rep said that when you are on the cellular network, only one of your houses/networks will show up, and it's random.
Pros: clever idea
Cons: works intermittently
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for WeMo Switch
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Goodbye lighting timers

PostedApril 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a wifi replacement to household lighting timers. You will need a smartphone or tablet to connect and program the WEMO switch. I have programed the three I purchased to turn various lamps on and off at multiple times at night to give the appearance that someone is home and moving about the house. One lamp turns on at sunset and automatically adjusts everyday. The on/off rules are stored in the WEMO switch's memory so even if there is a blackout and after the power is restored, the lights will still follow the same rules that were stored into each switch. If you are arriving home late at night you can turn your house lights on from anywhere via your smartphone so you will not have to arrive to a darkened home.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation, wifi connected, accessible via internet
Cons: not inexpensive, must own a table or smartphone
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for WeMo Switch
from Suwanee Ga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product and easy to install...

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I picked this up today and just wanted to see if it would work. It Did !
Very easy to install, just plugged it into the wall, went to the APP Store for my iPhone5S and downloaded the FREE APP.... followed the instructions and connected it to my home wifi and it was up and running in 5 minutes flat. Great little product, now we just need a Thermostat to use with WeMo....
Pros: Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for WeMo Switch
from Durham, CT, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for remote locations

PostedMay 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This is a great but pricey product. I installed this in my vacation home so when I arrive in the dark my way is lighted. Being connected with my iPhone, there is no reason to have a separate transmitter. The Belkin worked first time right out of the box. I am so pleased I plan on purchasing several wall switches to compliment the WeMo outlet switch.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation, Convenient
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>