728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Top Freezer Refrigerators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18.2 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black

18.2 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black

The Frigidaire 18.20 cu. ft. Top Freezer has 2 full-width wire shelves and humidity-controlled Crisper Drawers for storing fruits and vegetables. It also has racks in the door that provide space for large items such as gallons of milk.
Overall rating:
3.921 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product30 of 36reviews
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(13)
4
(17)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(3)
Features 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product30 of 36reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for 18.2 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
Review 1 for 18.2 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black

Not for garage use

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not buy this refrigerator if you want to have it in your garage. It is not garage ready and will not work properly if temperatures in the garage are too high or too low.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18.2 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Plainfield IL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

More space and better Value for money

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this product couple of months ago and so far its working out great. Two thumbs up, at first I was not so sure about this brand as I never before bought a FrigedAir but it turns out to be very good. Its more specious and well built and looks durable. I would give 5 starts if it wont make as much sound but besides a bit more sound it is a very good buy and the price is just right. If you are looking for a fridge than this is a great one with excellent price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Nice Design
Cons: makes more sound than an expensive brand
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18.2 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Wide door shelving is great. I really like glass shelving too

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Out all the stores I went to I found Home depot best in sevice. delivery, price, and overall excellence. The Fridgidaire is really great and I am very pleased with it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18.2 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
Gender:Male

Good Fridge for the Price!

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Cost being my main focus, this fridge was a very pleasant surprise in options, price and style. Would recommend it to anyone short on $ but wishing a quality product.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18.2 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Orange City, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Quiet and cold.

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Perfect for a single person. Plus a perfect fit for a smaller place,.It is quiet and cold.The lighting is great. I can see everything without eye strain. The shipping was fast and the removal of the old was perfect. Could not ask for better satisfaction.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18.2 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black

Does the job nicely at a reasonable price

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We picked this model largely because its economical. We're satisfied with it in every way.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18.2 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Necedah, WI 54646, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great price, simple clean design

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great price, basic but functional. I like the simple easy to clean design.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18.2 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Huntington Beach, Ca
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Freezer doesn't cool adequately

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:18.2 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
We needed to replace our second refrigerator and thought this was a good choice. We didn't need any frills just a basic refrigerator for a low price. Ordering it on Homedepot.com was easy and the fridge was delivered a few days later. Unfortunately, the freezer has never worked properly. It keeps the temperature between 6 and 20 degrees F when it should be between -10 and +10 deg F. We had 4 technicians from 3 different companies out to fix it under warranty repair but to no avail. It's been over 6 weeks and we're waiting now to hear if Fridgeaire will replace the unit.
Pros: good design for a no frills fridge
Cons: freezer didn't work properly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18.2 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Cincinnati, OH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:18.2 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
I am pleased with the purchase. Great price! The regfrigrator is the right size for our family.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18.2 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from San Jose, CA, USA

Great bargain fridge.

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:18.2 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
We bought this fridge to replace a much older model in our rental apartment. A very basic model for a good price. Doesn't have a lot of frills, but perfect if you're only cooking for one or two and don't want to spend a lot of money. Fairly quiet. If this were our permanent residence, I would spring for a bottom freezer - much better design.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18.2 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Gloucester City, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very disappointed

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:18.2 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
My first delivery the refrigerator had a dent on the side and was very wobbly. I called and requested a pick up and a new refrigerator delivered. Had to wait another week. When the second delivery came the second refrigerator also had a dent. The driver said they were all like that. I called the company and they said they would take $50.00 off the purchase in the form of a gift card ( I have yet to receive) I had to keep the refrigerator because I did not have one and could not go with out one. Very Very disappointed.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: dent in side.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18.2 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Santa Fe, NM, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nothing fancy but a good quality standard refrigerator

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:18.2 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
This refrigerator was to replace a similar 25 year old model in a rental apartment. I wanted a good-sized basic refrigerator without the fancy bells and whistles since it is used by renters. Home Depot had the best price and ordering online was easy. Free delivery, door swing change and installation went totally smoothly. Have bought all replacement appliances in the last few years from Hom Depot and am extremely satisfied.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Clean, High Quality
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18.2 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Florida

It IS Loud!

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:18.2 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
We bought this to use as a second fridge, put it in our garage. Thank goodness it's in the garage because I wouldn't be able to tolerate it in the house. The motor runs VERY LOUD - so loud, that I can hear it from in the house, through the door.
Other than that, it's a nice, average size fridge with glass shelves - not the wire shelves the description mentions. There is a wire shelf in the freezer and I should probably mention it bows under the weight of 4 frozen pizzas, so...
It would be good a second fridge or the primary fridge for a couple or small family.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: loud
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18.2 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black

Lovely to look at, but NOISY.

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:18.2 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
As soon as the Frigidaire was plugged in it was loud. The delivery man wrote on the invoice that "customer says it is too noisy", but I hoped it would 'wear in' in a day. Not to be. Noise when unit was in its cooling cycle drove me and my wife out of the kitchen. Fortunately my local Home Depot has a 48 hour 'no questions' return policy and the Home Depot personnel were very helpful in fulfilling that policy. Currently looking for a different brand of refrigerator.
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: very noisy
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18.2 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Dallas, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great new fridge!!

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:18.2 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
The refrigerator fit right into my kitchen. Works beautifully!! Not a bit noisy!! and plenty of room.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18.2 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from California, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great refrigerator, more energy efficient.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:18.2 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
I purchased this refrigerator to replace a 25-year old one that we had and when I checked the energy consumption on the old one, it was terrible. This new refrigerator does a great job for less than 1/3 the electricity. That fact alone provides a payback in about 2 years. It's a nice frig.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18.2 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black

Good size for the money

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:18.2 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
This fridge is pretty large for the lower price category. It was purchased as a replacement at a rental home and my tenants are very happy with it. It looks good and fits in any basic kitchen.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18.2 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black

Good, basic fridge

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:18.2 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
This product fit our needs for a low-price but good quality fridge. The inside is spacious and there's plenty of space on the door shelves too. It is also easy to clean. The only thing I miss from my last fridge is a small shelf for ice cube trays in the freezer.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18.2 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Canon City CO 81212
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Price

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:18.2 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
Perfect fit. Works great and the price was outstanding.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18.2 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

very nice

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:18.2 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
we purchased this sight unseen after visiting our local store but no frigidaires on the floor. ordered online only to discover on delivery that the door handles on this brand are not reversable - which we noted in our order. you must place order at the store for that to be implemented. this feature wasnt a deal breaker and we selected this model based on deli drawer and hopefully substantial crisper drawers. these all seem to slide better than other brands at the store. we are downsizing from 19 cf side by side and this seems very roomy. not as quiet as our old model but not deafening either. totally acceptable. i just want dependability. plastic edging on shelves more substantial than most in this price range. im not used to the deeper door shelves so things are sliding around a lot but im sure ill get used to it. exterior appearance nice - handles easy to grip for senior hands. well lit interior.
Pros: Easy to Clean, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>