728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Laminate Tile & Stone Flooring or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Canyon Slate Clay 8 mm Thick x 15-5/8 in. Wide x 50-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (22.11 sq. ft. / case)

Canyon Slate Clay 8 mm Thick x 15-5/8 in. Wide x 50-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (22.11 sq. ft. / case)

Exclusive to The Home Depot, new laminate flooring from Hampton Bay provides a realistic look at an unbelievable price. With an easy click together installation and simple maintenance, this product gives you the warmth of slate without the worry. Made in USA.
Overall rating:
3.857 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
57%of customersrecommend this product8 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(0)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(1)
Appearance 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
57%of customersrecommend this product8 of 14reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Canyon Slate Clay 8 mm Thick x 15-5/8 in. Wide x 50-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (22.11 sq. ft. / case)
Review 1 for Canyon Slate Clay 8 mm Thick x 15-5/8 in. Wide x 50-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (22.11 sq. ft. / case)
from Spotswood, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

ease of installation,great looking finish, no chipping when cut.

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great looking product that was easy to install. The width of the sheet was the most appealing for my installation.
Material is easy to cut to size, no chipping when cut, very good inpact resistance but will chip if not handled properly.
One item of concern was the slight corner damage from a unopened box that showed no outside damage. Replacement product was quick and easy to have shipped.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Great Accent, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Canyon Slate Clay 8 mm Thick x 15-5/8 in. Wide x 50-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (22.11 sq. ft. / case)
from Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

CANYON SLATE CLAY 8 MM THICK X 15-5/8 IN. WIDE X 50-3/4 IN. LENGTH LAMINATE FLOORING

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I love this product, seems durable. Expensive but with the Manufacturer Warranty of 25 Year Residential Warranty I'm hoping in the long run it will save money. I do not reccomend someone whom is a first time do it yourselfer put this down. I was hoping to do this by myself in the future, my father helped me, whom use to own and make his own custom cabinets. Needless to say, I don't think I will attempt this w/o him in the future. They are no way I could've ever got the precision cuts immaculate as he did. Also, it is very labor intense work. Not to mention the existing sub floor wasn't the flatest surface in some spots. It took everybit of both of us to get this flooring down. We installed 15 cases of this flooring and almost ran out. We didn't allow for waste due to matching up. It has 5 designs, the 5th design we may have had a total of 10 boards and an abundance in a few of the others. You really need to pay close attention when starting and laying out your first run. Once you get your first several runs together, it's okay. But it still takes the longest to pick-out which boards to use on your next runs because we didn't want the same boards running together. I would really suggest in the beginning having an area near but out of the way of opening your cartons up and separating the different ones , facing in the same direction. This helped us a lot. This is definitely not for the first time do it yourselfer though, I can say I'm really glad my father helped me on this job. Without him it would've been a disaster. But I do love the look and the duribility in the flooring itself. We had several family members over during the holidays lots of traffic on this flooring installed in the kitchen, hallway and bathroom areas. High traffic areas, so far, no scratches. The chairs have slide back in forth from the table, etc... seems to look like it's going to hold up very well. Also, we used 3/8ths thick plywood under where we are adding additional cabinets to save money and to avoid running out of the material. As I stated earlier, we should've accounted for more waste, even though in the end we managed to use most of our waste along the way and had very little waste. We also used the scraped to go up on the kick plate of the cabinets which isn't shown in the picture here. It was my fathers idea and because I believe it will be so durable and it looks very nice we decided to use the small leftover pcs that we'd normally throw away for that.
Also, because I originally wanted to go with Ceramic Tile and we had opened the kitchen up and made it larger by taking the wall between the kitchen and the enclosed porch down. The porch floor was cement and the sub floor for the kitchen was wood. We felt better using this product and it holding up due to the contracting of the wood from hot to cold, etc...
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Modern, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Great Accent, Looks High End, if your floor isn't perfectly level this works
Cons: Difficult to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Canyon Slate Clay 8 mm Thick x 15-5/8 in. Wide x 50-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (22.11 sq. ft. / case)
from Casa Grande, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product met all of my expectations

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wanted a laminate floor that had the look of tile but is a laminate. The finished product is beautiful. I constantly get compliments on how beautiful it looks. It resists water and is relatively easy to install. I would recommend it to everyone. The only con I had is the way it is packaged. The vendor should do a better job of packaging the product so that the ends are not damaged.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Comfortable, Great Accent, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Canyon Slate Clay 8 mm Thick x 15-5/8 in. Wide x 50-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (22.11 sq. ft. / case)
from Missouri
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awful locking system!

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The pieces don't "lock" together as they should and the result is sliding and gapping. Worst locking system I've ever installed. Took 3-5 times longer to install than it should have. Finished project looks okay, but there are still a few tiny gaps. Maybe I'll be the only one to notice. Hope it holds up!
Next time, I'll stay with Pergo or Armstrong. Both fit together much, much better!
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great
Cons: No Instructions, Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Canyon Slate Clay 8 mm Thick x 15-5/8 in. Wide x 50-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (22.11 sq. ft. / case)
from Philadelphia Pa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The caynon clay floor was a little tricky to install, but when taking your time to do it right, it comes out
just beautiful
Pros: High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Effective
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Canyon Slate Clay 8 mm Thick x 15-5/8 in. Wide x 50-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (22.11 sq. ft. / case)
from Pavilion, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent Product

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love my new floor. Looks and feels like high quality.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Looks Great, Modern
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Canyon Slate Clay 8 mm Thick x 15-5/8 in. Wide x 50-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (22.11 sq. ft. / case)
from East Northport

Beautiful Floor

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Love the lamenet floor. My first customer service by Austin was excellent. I wasn't happy that the price in the store was lower than what was on line and it couldn't be changed. Austin did accomodate that when I made an instore purchase. I picked up my order in the store and everything was perfect. I came back to order another box of flooring and the associate (not Austin) but he was very helpful too, except he did not ask me if I wanted to pick it up and I didn't think about it either. I was surprised when it was delivered to my home. When my installer opened the box 3 out of 4 pieces were damaged. Since it was for a small area, he was able to work with it. I paid 70.00 and most of it was damaged. I will address it at the store.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Canyon Slate Clay 8 mm Thick x 15-5/8 in. Wide x 50-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (22.11 sq. ft. / case)
from Spartanburg, SC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

looks great easy to install

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy installation looks very good high quality would highly recommend
Pros: Good Wood, Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Great Accent, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Canyon Slate Clay 8 mm Thick x 15-5/8 in. Wide x 50-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (22.11 sq. ft. / case)
from Bartlett,IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

canyon slate by armstrong

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased 3 cartons (12 pcs) of this product via special order through Home Depot. The store held up their end of the bargain, Armstrong did not. Out of 12 pcs, 6 of them had broken corners and/or chips of the product missing. A couple of the pcs did not have a straight edge rendering them useless. I will absolutely, positively never buy another Armstrong product again. I have two other laminate floors in my home manufactured by Pergo. They are flawless! One of the floors is 15 yrs old and looks as good now as the day it was put down.
If there was any way to get my money back on this Armstrong product I would do it in a heartbeat. I am now faced with tearing up the floor and finding an alternate product.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Install, Scratches Easily
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Canyon Slate Clay 8 mm Thick x 15-5/8 in. Wide x 50-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (22.11 sq. ft. / case)
from ma
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

VERY DISSAPOINTED

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The locking system is very cheap and does not hold so well. The worst of it was 3 out of 6 boxes had smashed corners. The damage had to be done before they got packaged because the boxes looked perfect showing no damage. This is no reflection on HOME DEPOT
Pros: Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Canyon Slate Clay 8 mm Thick x 15-5/8 in. Wide x 50-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (22.11 sq. ft. / case)
from Murfreesboro, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

LOVE this floor

PostedApril 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had this floor professionally installed through Home Depot about a month ago. Installer had no problems. We absolutely love this floor. The floor is beautiful and so easy to care for. It was installed in our kitchen. We have had a ton of compliments on it.:)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Canyon Slate Clay 8 mm Thick x 15-5/8 in. Wide x 50-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (22.11 sq. ft. / case)

Not easy installation

PostedApril 17, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have installed laminate flooring throughout my house over the past 10 years. This flooring was the worst I used. Some of the panels do not lock in tight and this causes problems as you progress through the installation. I had to glue some of the panels to keep them tight.
I installed it in my kitchen. I had Al-Loc flooring in there previously but we wanted a new look. I will say the look of the floor is great but I hope it holds up. Not the quality I expected.
Pros: Looks Great, Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Install, instructions could be better
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Canyon Slate Clay 8 mm Thick x 15-5/8 in. Wide x 50-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (22.11 sq. ft. / case)

Consider other alternatives first

PostedJune 28, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just finished installing this product and was very disappointed with the way the floor panels installed. My wife and I thought that with the Click and Lock on much larger panels than standard that this would be a quick installation. Took 3 days on an 11 x 12 room. Because the panels are so large, the Click and Lock actually works to a disadvantage because you often cannot adequately lock in the sides. Also panels kept loosening. In spite of warning that you should leave the necessary gap for expansion, still had to shim the ends to prevent the panels from loosening. Since it was installed in 98 degree weather outside with high humidity, I don't think I'm going to get much expansion. Looks great and probably will wear well, but would not recommend doing installation yourself.
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Great Accent, Looks High End
Cons: Difficult to Install, click & lock is disadvantage
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Canyon Slate Clay 8 mm Thick x 15-5/8 in. Wide x 50-3/4 in. Length Laminate Flooring (22.11 sq. ft. / case)
from NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Floor looks very nice, however installation was not easy.

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Floor looks nice, came with no instructions and installation was difficult.
Pros: Looks Great, Easy to Clean
Cons: No Instructions, Difficult to Install
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.