728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Top Freezer Refrigerators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 28 in. W 16.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White

28 in. W 16.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White

Want it now? Search internet # 203202429 to check store availability. GE appliances provide up-to-date technology and exceptional quality to simplify the way you live. With a timeless appearance, this family of appliances is ideal for your family. And, coming from one of the most trusted names in America, you know that this entire selection of appliances is as advanced as it is practical.
Overall rating:
4.052 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(211 reviews) 211
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product166 of 206reviews
Rating Breakdown 211 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(101)
4
(65)
3
(15)
2
(15)
1
(15)
Features 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product166 of 206reviews
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 40 Answers
Customer reviews for 28 in. W 16.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
Review 1 for 28 in. W 16.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from Monroeville, Pa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Great Unit for the price...

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this refrigerator to replace our vintage 1959 which was still working; but started to freeze food and beverages in fridge part....The new one is exactly what we needed. This is used for overstocking beverages, frozen foods and extra space for foods.. Can't complain - not noisy like others say because our old one was so much more noisy...and - the drawers slide out easily; especially after we discovered a wedge of styrofoam which was placed between both for shipping purposes....couldn't figure out why they were so hard to slide - duh - after looking closely - found the wedge.....lol.....
A great buy for us.....
Pros: Easy to Clean, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 28 in. W 16.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from Irving, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Handle broke

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this eight months ago and it's worked as expected up until today when the door handle broke while I was opening it. If it can't put up with one middle-age female opening and closing the door for eight months, I doubt it will last very long in a family environment. My previous fridge was purchased used from a thrift store. It lasted five years.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Response from By GE AnswersDecember 28, 2013By GE AnswersDecember 28, 2013
Hello TypicalUser765 - this is Nancy at GE and we are very sorry to hear that the handle broke off your refrigerator. This is not what we would expect to hear and are very sorry for this inconvenience. Please contact our GE Factory Service at 1-800-432-2737 and we will be happy to help you. We appreciate you choosing GE and providing your feedback!GE_Appliances
Review 3 for 28 in. W 16.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from Etobicoke, Ontario Canada
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So Far, So Good

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Needed a fridge for the basement to stock beverages and some extra frozen food. Overall, a very good compact fridge. The vegetable/fruit baskets squeek too much; does anyone have a solution to this problem? Don't find the fridge noisy. A good second fridge for a family of five.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 28 in. W 16.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from Stark, NH, USA

Better than I Expected!

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This isn't a high end fridge but it is a good value for the money. The reviews I read about it being noisy scared me to the point I almost cancelled my order but I took delivery Friday, by no means is this a noisy unit, it is comparable to any fridge I have owned. I am not a a big fan of the wire shelves but for the $ this is a good value.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, good value
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 28 in. W 16.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from Camp Verde, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This fridge is cheap and not even worth a low price.

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Large drawers for produce at bottom drag and squeak when pulled and drag the shelf above out of position. It runs most of the time and is very noisy. Poor surface on handles are hard to keep clean. Too few shelves and no secure egg shelf. Could not level it with the front legs because the wheels still kept the front too high off the floor when leveling legs were fully retracted , so it was way off level. I decided to return this after the first 24 hours.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
+17points
22out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 28 in. W 16.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from MD
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Noisy but works like a charm

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This fridge is your standard work-horse. It makes some funny noises when it runs, but the inside is spacious, easy to clean and our food is magically always the perfect temperature. Ahh what a relief!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 28 in. W 16.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from Maine, ME 04736, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Purchase

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good features for reasonable price. Other reviews have said that it was kind of loud . I have not noticed that. Freezer is very quick to freeze cubes . Temperature has remained very steady at what I set it at. I keep a thermometer inside to see if the temperature varies . So far it has been great. (3 weeks) Would recommend to anyone.
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, keeps steady temperature
Cons: wire shelves could be a little stronger
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 28 in. W 16.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White

Great price for an energy efficient fridge.

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's is nothing fancy, a standard fridge but it is a great deal, no issues - for a great price and great energy efficiency.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 28 in. W 16.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from Dallas, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Perfect extra fridge.

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We use this smaller fridge in a room right off the game room and swimming pool. It holds cold drinks, water bottles, pop-cycles, ice cream bars, fruit bars. The many young people that we have at our home on weekends appreciate being able to grab a quick treat or drink and not even miss a beat of what ever else is going on at that time.
This fridge is easy and roomy and efficient on energy so it saves us money too. The fridge we replaced was 20 + years old and froze most things on one side of the refrigerator and we occasionally had drinks bust and make a terrible mess.
We can already see a difference in our electric bill and that made us wonder why we waited so long.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 28 in. W 16.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from Pocono Mts., PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Much quieter than the one it replaced..

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My 16-year old fridge died suddenly on Dec. 17 and I needed this same model to fit in the alcove. Home Depot arranged delivery for two days later during the busiest season of the year! It arrived when the delivery men said they would come. It is not at all noisy, but I wish the freezer had a shelf in the middle. I hate piling all the food on top of each other.The lower section is fine; I do not mind the wire shelves. The lowest shelf is a glass top on the veg. section. Great price and perfect temperature.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean
Cons: no freezer shelf
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 28 in. W 16.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White

Nice basic refrigerator

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased this frig for our office break room and it works great. It's motor is slightly louder than our last frig, but not so much that it bothers anyone.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 28 in. W 16.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from Fremont, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best Option for small spaces

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Like most of the smaller footprint refrigerators this unit does have a bit of a noise issue. After a day or two you don't really notice. That said, everything else about this appliance is ideal. Good value and nice looking.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 28 in. W 16.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from Manteca, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WAY TOO NOISY !!!!

PostedMay 17, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this refrigerator for a mobile home I stay in during the work so I only needed a smalll refer as well as the mobile only offers space. It fits the size bill it's really noisy !!!! It sounds like a jet taking off when it runs and the fan sounds like the one I replaced in my Whirlpool at home because I felt it was too noisy. I'm disappointed.
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 28 in. W 16.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from Harlingen, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for the price.

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Last G.E. only lasted 27 years; replaced with this one. Size was just right for our remodeled kitchen. Installed last December works super. We have a name for her it's "Mona" (like the noise), could care less. Just right for our needs. If it lasts as long as our last G.E. I will be 97 years old. Highly recommend-great delivery and haul off (free) from our local Home Depot store. (depot direct)
Pros: Easy to Clean, High Quality, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 28 in. W 16.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from Brunswick, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great for the money!

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The fridge is great for the garage. Shelves a little flimsy but overall perfect for storage.
Pros: Durable, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 28 in. W 16.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from Fayetteville, AR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great item

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wife was happy with it and good enough for me.Looks great and saves me money.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 28 in. W 16.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from St. Louis, MO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Just what I needed!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A very nice basic refrigerator at a good price. Excellent for small spaces yet roomy on the inside.
Pros: Easy to Clean, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 28 in. W 16.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good value for the price

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Meets all advertised specs and features. Provides an abundance of cooling. Quiet runner.
Pros: High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 28 in. W 16.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
from Los Angeles, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Love my new fridge!

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's a simple, bottom-of-the-line energy efficient fridge, great door space (fits gallon containers!), perfect size for fitting under the cabinets of my 1950s bungalow, just enough shelving, ingenious freezer space
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 28 in. W 16.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White

Wonderful product!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had never bought an appliance online, but needed a fridge at my school right away! The process online was easy, and quite informative! I felt like I knew everything about the product before I bought it! The delivery was flawless and the phone call before was invaluable so we could be ready for the truck when it came. Professional and courteous drivers. In and out in less than 30 minutes.
I will definitely use Home Depot again as well as GE appliances!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>