728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop LED Light Bulbs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 120W Equivalent Daylight (5000K) PAR38 Dimmable LED Flood Light Bulb

120W Equivalent Daylight (5000K) PAR38 Dimmable LED Flood Light Bulb

Philips Energy Saving LED 19.5-Watt PAR38 indoor flood light is ideal for use in kitchens, living rooms and dining rooms. It provides a light similar to natural daylight and is perfect for general room and accent lighting. Fully Dimmable, this medium base flood light replaces your current 120-Watt halogen PAR38, saving you up to $276.38 in energy costs. Philips Energy Saving LED PAR38 flood light can be used in recessed cans and track light fixtures.
Overall rating:
4.231 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product10 of 13reviews
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product10 of 13reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for 120W Equivalent Daylight (5000K) PAR38 Dimmable LED Flood Light Bulb
Review 1 for 120W Equivalent Daylight (5000K) PAR38 Dimmable LED Flood Light Bulb
from California
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Package should say "Stadium Light"

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
My neighbor asked me when I installed my stadium lights one evening when he was walking by.
I bought two and installed them in my motion light in my front yard. These things are BUHRIGHT!
I gave an excellent overall rating because for 20watts, these things light up my driveway, the street, my neighbors driveway and house across the street and next door.
I've read a few reviews about shadows in the kitchen lighting application, I just don't see that, but again, mine are outside under my eves lighting up my driveway and front yard.
They definitely are directional and do not spread out the light throw close up, so maybe that's what's going on in the kitchen, they ARE flood lights people, and by definition, directional yet powerful.
I love them, and really like the daylight color, there's nothing better for lighting IMO. Why light anything with even the slightest yellow hue/color?
The price on the other hand is a bit outrageous and gouging for sure. LED technology and costs are actually much less than incandescent, but hopefully this will level out as the LED lights become more popular as they already are getting. I've found less expensive brands and alternatives online, but as always they usually come from china.
So if you have money to waste on great lights that are comparable to stadium lights for a fraction of the cost to operate, then these lights are awesome.
Just keep in mind, these are FLOOD LOGHTS, treat your application as such and you will not be disappointed at their performance, just the really high price.
Oh, and the review about destroying the packaging while opening, thus they would not return them..?... If you have your receipt, or even if you used a credit card they can track your purchase, and I have NEVER had any issues returning things at the depot, even without a receipt or any packaging to speak of. But next time, just take a utility knife and carefully and EASILY just slice the plastic clam shell around the light and it comes out so easily. Even scissors will cut through it and or around it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Cons: expensive
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 120W Equivalent Daylight (5000K) PAR38 Dimmable LED Flood Light Bulb
from Redding, Ca
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Value For Bright Light

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very bright, clean 5000k light especially for cost. May need to tighten fixture adjustment points as this light is somewhat heavy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Cons: Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 120W Equivalent Daylight (5000K) PAR38 Dimmable LED Flood Light Bulb
from Mansfield, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this to replace a flood light in my kitchen. Though it was Very bright, it was more like a spot light than a flood light- it didn't spread the light everywhere. I put it over the kitchen sink instead. Also, the plastic packaging is completely sealed, so I couldn't return the bulb since I had to destroy the packaging to get it out.
Pros: Very Bright
Cons: more like a spot light
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 120W Equivalent Daylight (5000K) PAR38 Dimmable LED Flood Light Bulb

One of the best things we've done for our kitchen!

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We LOVE these lights!! It's like being outdoors in the broad daylight! I have no excuses now about missing anything when I clean my kitchen! We have them on a dimmer switch and use them at "high beam" when we're cooking. However, we were amazed at how soothing to our eyes they were when we dim them to their lowest setting. We replaced standard 150 watt incandescent bulbs, so, in spite of their initial cost, these new lights will pay for themselves in energy savings and long life, plus they don't generate the heat that incandescent lights do.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Replacement, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Great Dimming, Easy Installation
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 120W Equivalent Daylight (5000K) PAR38 Dimmable LED Flood Light Bulb
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works great

PostedJune 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
bought one to light up my terrarium, the light goes down with minimal light to the sides. the plants love it, they are growing as if they were on steroids LOL. going back to HD to get 2 more
Pros: Compact, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: expencive
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 120W Equivalent Daylight (5000K) PAR38 Dimmable LED Flood Light Bulb
from East Troy, WI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This is an outstanding bright light

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed this light in a outside light covering my driveway. Most bulbs barely lite up 3/4 of my driveway. This one lights up my complete drive way and across the street to my mail box. It is doing it for a fraction of cost. The bulb is expensive but is worth it in the long run. Thanks Home Depot!
Pros: Very Bright
Cons: pricey
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 120W Equivalent Daylight (5000K) PAR38 Dimmable LED Flood Light Bulb

Works well in large kitchen for area work.

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works well for work area. Would prefer a softer light around 3000K.
Pros: Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 120W Equivalent Daylight (5000K) PAR38 Dimmable LED Flood Light Bulb
from Dix Hills, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

product is good

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
product is very good , bright and usesalot less electricity than normal or flourescent bulb
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Great Dimming, Very Bright, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 120W Equivalent Daylight (5000K) PAR38 Dimmable LED Flood Light Bulb
from RI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Flood Light

PostedApril 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Have several of these already as part of replacing my high watt incandescent bulbs. These bulbs are extremely bright and light up my entire back yard when letting the dogs out at night. Had tried CFL's and they are terrible as they can take up to 2 minutes or so to come up from dim to full brightness and are not as energy efficient as these LED ones. They are pricey and have been coming down but the energy savings off-sets that.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright
Cons: expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 120W Equivalent Daylight (5000K) PAR38 Dimmable LED Flood Light Bulb

Quites expensive and not a true flood light.

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Throws a lot of light but falls short of the coverage of a regular flood light. All at a very high price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Replacement, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 120W Equivalent Daylight (5000K) PAR38 Dimmable LED Flood Light Bulb
from florida

EXPENSIVE AND CASTS SHADOWS

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this bulb to put in my kitchen floodlighting ...first of all, I would need 5 and that certainly was going to be expensive, but if they looked good and was what I wanted, that would have been fine. Sorry to say, they are very bright, however, cast shadows all over the place. I don't know if because it is "daylight" or because it really is not spreading out the light, just casting it down. needless to say, they are going back. Will try the ecosmart brand next. Did not realize this was going to be such a hassle coverting to led and needing a high wattage due to kitchen being on dark side and having high ceilings (12ft).
Pros: Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: casts shadows, expensive
-6points
2out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 120W Equivalent Daylight (5000K) PAR38 Dimmable LED Flood Light Bulb
from Lynchburg, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bright lights for a dark kitchen

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Feels like you are bringing in the sunlight. Expensive, no doubt, but makes a huge difference.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Replacement, Eco-Friendly, Great Dimming, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for 120W Equivalent Daylight (5000K) PAR38 Dimmable LED Flood Light Bulb
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
0 out of 1 recommend this product