728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Energy Management or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App

Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App

Convenient control of your home's thermostat is now literally at your fingertips. Easily view or control your thermostat from anywhere with Honeywell's RTH6580WF Wi-Fi Thermostat. Be alerted of temperature swings or make temperature adjustments remotely. You can trust Honeywell's reliable secure network and enjoy maximum comfort by the #1 choice of homeowners and contractors.
Overall rating:
4.204 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(167 reviews) 167
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product135 of 163reviews
Rating Breakdown 167 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(110)
4
(26)
3
(7)
2
(3)
1
(21)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product135 of 163reviews
Customer questions and answers:
58 Questions | 232 Answers
Customer reviews for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
Review 1 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Deltona, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Not for the beginner installer

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my first review. We bought this thermostat for our new house. Easy to install wiring wise, has the openings and labeling. Also came with stickers to help label the old wires. We had a digital and decided this is good for us since its programmable and also has wifi. What I didn't know was that you do have to toggle the proper function on the unit by pressing the up button and another to set the internal function. For my Florida home, it was 2-0. I highly recommend learning what each wire on your thermostat does, like the Green wire really does turn on the fan and it is correct. I had an Orange wire which means not only do I have a heat pump system but also that I had to tell the thermostat that or else it will blow hot air instead of cold air. I did take photos of my install, and it does level nicely. The app is easy to install and hooking the t-stat to the router for wifi was easy. I def did read a lot online about t-stat wires and what they do.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Stylish, Battery Length, Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: need to know your wires
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth every penny!

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works exactly as described! It is set to run a program, but if you leave the house for the afternoon and forget to turn back -you can do so right from your phone..anywhere! On multiple occasions I have been working around the house and get too warm but do not want to take the the time to run upstairs (or down) to turn the heat down, so I just pull out my phone and adjust. Also adjusting the programming schedule from the comfort of bed on the iPad -very nice. Great product and worth the extra money over the cost of a standard thermostat!
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Milwaukee, WI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Why pay more?

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This thermostat is really great. Easy setup, connected to the internet easily, and the free app is awesome. For the price, I don't think you can beat it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Lots of Features, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Brookhaven, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have this item for about 6 weeks now and never had issues with it. It lost Wi-Fi once and it was when we lost power. It is a very reliable thermostat. Even though it has Wi-Fi and you could use it online, it still has the programming features like a normal thermostat and these could be used as a plan B if you live in an area where losing power is not so uncommon.
App is a little slow but very reliable as well.
Overall, this is a great product.
Pros: user-friendly, Reliable
Cons: no cons
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Ypsilanti, MI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great thermostat

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was initially looking at the Nest thermostat but this one was over $100 cheaper and does everything I need it to do and then some. I love the app on my cell phone as well, I can pretty much do everything on the app that I can do from the actual screen. Definitely one of the best buys I've made in a long time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Tampa, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Honeywell Thermostat poor customer service

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thought this was a good unit until it went up in smoke 7 months after installation. Called Honeywell where they asked me to send them a copy of the invoice where we hired a professional AC repair company to diagnose this unit. Paid my AC guy $135 for a service call and to install a new thermostat. Emailed the invoice to ecccustomercare@honeywell.com as requested, never heard back from them. I call in a week later and they pull up the email I sent and then tell me they need the proof of purchase. I don't have a receipt from 8 months ago on a $125 thermostat so they refused to replace it. Their customer support was very weak and I would not choose to do business with Honeywell again because of it.
Cons: died and then poor customer service
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App

Worth every penny

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
At first I was hesitant to spend this much money on a thermostat, but in the end it was 100% worth it. I have COMPLETE control over the heating and cooling in my home now. You can dial it in by 15 minute increments any day of the week.
My frustration with older models is that everything has to be done on the unit itself. This involved pushing a lot of buttons and trying to read small type on a greenish yellow backlight. Because of the WI-FI capability on this unit you do all the programming on your computer!
The other great thing is that between the printed guides and videos you watch online, installation was very simple. This is a fantastic product that I would recommend to anyone.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+70points
83out of 96found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Livonia, Michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No Backup Battery Required. Function Returns after Power Failure

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was very concerned when I read a couple of previous posts stating the thermostat would not return to it's previous setting after a power or internet failure. I am very happy to say those claims are false. I have an occasionally used service garage in Michigan and a 2nd home in Bend Oregon. At both locations I wanted to be able to control the temperature remotely and I was especially concerned about a heating failure that might allow water pipes to freeze and burst like I experienced previously. I extensively tested the thermostat's ability to continue the way it was previously set after power was restored. I verified that it did so minutes, hours or even days after power was removed and restored. The thermostat has what is called non-volatile memory to preserve the pre-power failure setting.
Not only does the thermostat return to it's previous setting after a power failure, but an email is sent to people of your choice during the event or if internet connection is lost. Another email is then sent after internet communication is reestablished. An email can also be sent in the event it gets cooler or warmer than the temperature you choose to be notified of.
My one location required a wifi repeater that I bought new off Ebay fro $20. The signal from the wireless router was too weak because it was located across the street but with the repeater the signal is strong and the thermostat works flawlessly.
I found installation very simple by using my green wire as the common at one location and hooking up an unused brown wire for my "C" terminal at the other location.
Pros: Lots of Features
+42points
42out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Spencerport, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install but you may need power

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I found the installation to be easy but in my situation needed to provide power as my old thermostat was a 2-wire for baseboard HW heat only, no AC. They call for 24 volt DC but I had my security system within a couple of feet and that runs on 16 to 17 volts. Hooked it up to the lower voltage and it seems to work fine.
I check the temp by cell phone and it gives fast and accurate results (the outside temp is based on the internet, not an actual reading). I tested to see what happens if there is a power failure. Of course the wi-fi was out and my furnace couldn't run without electricity. The software notified me and after the power was restored (by me) the system re-set it self with no loss of programming and continued on.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Idaho
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

awesome product!

PostedMay 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For less than $100, you get a 7 day programmable wi-fi thermostat. It's fantastic.
Now when I'm working late, or I'm going to be home early, I can override the settings from my smartphone to save power.
Set up is a little more than your basic programmable thermostat (obviously). But, follow the directions and it' will go smoothly.
If you're unsure about installing it yourself, there are videos online from Honeywell that walk you thru it, and offer some helpful tips.
**NOTE: this unit does not have batteries, and requires the blue "C" wire. BUT, if your blue wire isn't connected (mine wasn't), there's a video from honeywell showing that you can simply plug the green wire in where the blue wire should go (on most households). Doing this will disable your ability to run "fan only" mode.
I would definitely recommend this to friends.
A side-note: the mobile app (apple / android) is a free download. If you want a windows app for your PC, it's 2 bucks.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App

No battery backup! Loose power and totally reprogram.

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Warning: loose power and you will have to totally reprogram time, heating program, cooling program, and Wifi! Hope that designer at Honeywell quit over that mistake. With a battery backup, I would give 5 stars! In less than hour got it installed, programmed, on wifi. Worked great. Next day I went to install on second unit and had to kill power to units for install on 2nd unit. Fast install. Turned power back on and first unit had lost all the programs. A simple battery backup would have prevented this! I refuse to have to reprogram the system anytime a storm makes the power out for a few minutes. Will be returning ASAP for a different brand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Honeywell Good.....Wink bad

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I picked up the Honeywell RTH6580WF (my second honeywell wifi thermostat) and the total connect app worked better than the old radio stat app honeywell used. For $100 bucks you cant go wrong checking the thermostat on the road or in the office . Now the wink hub and app are just sitting there because Wink doesn't recognize the barcode or read the thermostat (keep getting prompt: "UH-OH SOMETHING WET WRONG"). I would refund it but got it for a buck at HD, so not too mad. Praying for a youtube tutorial or an update to start using the Wink hub
Pros: Lots of Features, Clear Instructions, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation, iphone app
Cons: wink sucks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App

Holds WI-FI connection well and IT DOES auto-reconnect upon wireless signal loss!

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This has been a great thermostat. I purchased 1 to test it out and will eventually purchase 3 others for a total of 4 thermostats in my place of business, which is a wedding and reception hall. The reason I wanted remote access control via wifi is because my employees forget to turn off the air conditioning/heat sometimes at the end of the night. I wanted the peace of mind knowing that I can check the system to be sure its turned off. It will also be nice in the winter time to turn the heat on before I go up to the building so it has time to warm up.
There has been confusion as to whether or not these thermostats will auto-reconnect to the wifi network if they lose connectivity temporarily. I can absolutely confirm that they will auto-reconnect. The thermostat actually did lose its wireless signal, and I saw a warning message for a few minutes on the web interface saying that the wifi signal was lost. I left the web page up for awhile and eventually the error message went away and the thermostat automatically reconnected to the wifi network. I also verified this with tech support. I called them and Honeywell tech support said that ALL of their wifi thermostat models will auto-reconnect to the wifi network if the signal is lost.
When I installed the thermostat into the wall, I found that my blue "C" wire was not connected to my blower unit, so I had to go to the blower unit and hook up the blue "C" wire to the "C" terminal. This was fairly easy to do and the thermostat worked great after I did that.
I have been testing out the thermostat using both an internet browser (I use Chrome) as well as the Android application on my Samsung Galaxy SIII. It works great both ways. The easiest way to find the Android app is by searching for "Honeywell" in the Google Play Store. You'll see the Thermostat app pop up.
Android App Features:
Home Screen
-Current Indoor Temp
-Outdoor Forecasted Temp/Humidity (and 5 day forecast)
System Control Screen
-Heat/Cool/Off Controls
Fan Control Screen
-On/Auto Controls
Schedule Screen
-Ability to schedule heat and cool settings based on the day of the week and the time of day for the entire 7 day week
TIPS:
1) Watch the YouTube installation videos. They do a great job at explaining the installation procedure.
2) Have a laptop with you when you install the thermostat. Setting up the thermostat initially is much easier with a laptop than it is with a phone or a tablet. The initial set up requires you to connect to the thermostat's built in wifi "network" to configure it.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Springfield, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far very good

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Worked great right out of the box. Make sure you have a "C" wire before buying, this is needed to power the unit and have the wifi running all the time. I'm pretty handy so this installed in a snap for me. I was very impressed with the detailed instructions, big fold out instruction guide with good pictures and the availability of installation videos online. So many other products have awful instructions. The Wifi setup was a snap. Contrary to the other reviews, the WIFI will reconnect and the schedule will be maintained after a power loss. I confirmed this and worked perfect for me.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Thomson, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent remote access thermostat

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this thermostat for a remote cabin location. The installation went smoothly with excellent instructions. It requires a 5th wire in the control cable to the HVAC unit though they spell out a work around if your control cable only has 4 conductors. The easiest part was joining this thermostat to one's wireless network and then download the App on the Smartphone or web browser to access the thermostat with a secure name and password.. During the setup, you are prompted for the building location. Then both the outdoor & indoor temperature is displayed on your remote App.
Could not be easier. Highly recommend this device. Great design & documentation by Honeywell.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Stylish, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Trophy club,TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best product. I can control temperature from smart phone/computer

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
1)You may not always turn off A/C while going out. But with this product, Now You can do so from your smart phone/computer.
2)You can turn on A/C(Cool/Heat) just 5 or 10 mins before coming home. you are cool when you arrive home.
3)During the night, if i feel too cold, i dont have to get up from bed to turn off the A/C. i can do it from phone next to my bed.
4)you can do everything from smart phone that you will do from thermostat.
5)If i am working on my computer, i dont have to search phone . i can control it from computer also.
right now the app is free.
5)It is pretty cool for me.
6)Installation of thermostat is pretty easy if you follow instructions. Otherwise you just call a technician.
I installed in 10 mins.
7) Right now the app is free. This saves lot of money for me from electricity bill.
I am happy i purchased this product.
Thanks
senthil
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation, wifi
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Houston, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I really like this thermostat. I bought 2

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a programmable thermostat provided by my electric provider. They charged a fee monthly for it's use. I decided it was not worth the fee.
It took about 20 minutes to replace the one in my home. After a little programming it was operating as it should.
I also bought one for the mobile home at my small farm. It is nice going to the farm and having the house cool.
I am very pleased.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App

Satisfied..And happy wife

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
1. 30 minutes to install,
2. 10 minutes to register online and connect to Wi-Fi,
3. 5 minutes lazily setting the schedule on my couch.,
4. Easily impressed wife,
And the people rejoiced...YEAHHHH!!
Good job on this product. Wish I had a reason to buy another one and impress my wife yet again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Castaic, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for second home

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was initially concerned with some reviewers stating connection stability problems with this unit. I have a second home condo that has complex wide internet coverage that isn't exactly dedicated home wifi router strong. I can say without question this thermostat never loses connection in this lightly covered wifi area. The web interface and phone apps work perfect and aren't overly complicated with features that are rarely used. The app has what you need and nothing more to clutter the screen. We have a four hour drive to this condo and it works perfect to set to preheat or precool the unit when we start our journey. Highly recommended.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Iowa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far I love it!

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had been researching for some time for the perfect thermostat for me. I read reviews on this one and was not sure how I was going to install it since I am not very mechanically inclined. I had this installed in no time and working! My system did not have the "c" wire but very easily located a video online showing how to get around it. Looking forward to seeing how it does the next couple days as we go from 70's to 50's!
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>