728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Energy Management or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App

Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App

Convenient control of your home's thermostat is now literally at your fingertips. Easily view or control your thermostat from anywhere with Honeywell's RTH6580WF Wi-Fi Thermostat. Be alerted of temperature swings or make temperature adjustments remotely. You can trust Honeywell's reliable secure network and enjoy maximum comfort by the #1 choice of homeowners and contractors.
Overall rating:
4.208 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(144 reviews) 144
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product116 of 140reviews
Rating Breakdown 144 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(95)
4
(22)
3
(7)
2
(2)
1
(18)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product116 of 140reviews
Customer questions and answers:
51 Questions | 202 Answers
Customer reviews for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
Review 1 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth every penny!

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works exactly as described! It is set to run a program, but if you leave the house for the afternoon and forget to turn back -you can do so right from your phone..anywhere! On multiple occasions I have been working around the house and get too warm but do not want to take the the time to run upstairs (or down) to turn the heat down, so I just pull out my phone and adjust. Also adjusting the programming schedule from the comfort of bed on the iPad -very nice. Great product and worth the extra money over the cost of a standard thermostat!
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Milwaukee, WI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Why pay more?

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This thermostat is really great. Easy setup, connected to the internet easily, and the free app is awesome. For the price, I don't think you can beat it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Lots of Features, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Ypsilanti, MI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great thermostat

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was initially looking at the Nest thermostat but this one was over $100 cheaper and does everything I need it to do and then some. I love the app on my cell phone as well, I can pretty much do everything on the app that I can do from the actual screen. Definitely one of the best buys I've made in a long time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Brookhaven, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have this item for about 6 weeks now and never had issues with it. It lost Wi-Fi once and it was when we lost power. It is a very reliable thermostat. Even though it has Wi-Fi and you could use it online, it still has the programming features like a normal thermostat and these could be used as a plan B if you live in an area where losing power is not so uncommon.
App is a little slow but very reliable as well.
Overall, this is a great product.
Pros: user-friendly, Reliable
Cons: no cons
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App

Worth every penny

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
At first I was hesitant to spend this much money on a thermostat, but in the end it was 100% worth it. I have COMPLETE control over the heating and cooling in my home now. You can dial it in by 15 minute increments any day of the week.
My frustration with older models is that everything has to be done on the unit itself. This involved pushing a lot of buttons and trying to read small type on a greenish yellow backlight. Because of the WI-FI capability on this unit you do all the programming on your computer!
The other great thing is that between the printed guides and videos you watch online, installation was very simple. This is a fantastic product that I would recommend to anyone.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+68points
81out of 94found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Deltona, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Not for the beginner installer

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my first review. We bought this thermostat for our new house. Easy to install wiring wise, has the openings and labeling. Also came with stickers to help label the old wires. We had a digital and decided this is good for us since its programmable and also has wifi. What I didn't know was that you do have to toggle the proper function on the unit by pressing the up button and another to set the internal function. For my Florida home, it was 2-0. I highly recommend learning what each wire on your thermostat does, like the Green wire really does turn on the fan and it is correct. I had an Orange wire which means not only do I have a heat pump system but also that I had to tell the thermostat that or else it will blow hot air instead of cold air. I did take photos of my install, and it does level nicely. The app is easy to install and hooking the t-stat to the router for wifi was easy. I def did read a lot online about t-stat wires and what they do.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Stylish, Battery Length, Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: need to know your wires
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Livonia, Michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No Backup Battery Required. Function Returns after Power Failure

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was very concerned when I read a couple of previous posts stating the thermostat would not return to it's previous setting after a power or internet failure. I am very happy to say those claims are false. I have an occasionally used service garage in Michigan and a 2nd home in Bend Oregon. At both locations I wanted to be able to control the temperature remotely and I was especially concerned about a heating failure that might allow water pipes to freeze and burst like I experienced previously. I extensively tested the thermostat's ability to continue the way it was previously set after power was restored. I verified that it did so minutes, hours or even days after power was removed and restored. The thermostat has what is called non-volatile memory to preserve the pre-power failure setting.
Not only does the thermostat return to it's previous setting after a power failure, but an email is sent to people of your choice during the event or if internet connection is lost. Another email is then sent after internet communication is reestablished. An email can also be sent in the event it gets cooler or warmer than the temperature you choose to be notified of.
My one location required a wifi repeater that I bought new off Ebay fro $20. The signal from the wireless router was too weak because it was located across the street but with the repeater the signal is strong and the thermostat works flawlessly.
I found installation very simple by using my green wire as the common at one location and hooking up an unused brown wire for my "C" terminal at the other location.
Pros: Lots of Features
+42points
42out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Tampa, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Honeywell Thermostat poor customer service

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thought this was a good unit until it went up in smoke 7 months after installation. Called Honeywell where they asked me to send them a copy of the invoice where we hired a professional AC repair company to diagnose this unit. Paid my AC guy $135 for a service call and to install a new thermostat. Emailed the invoice to ecccustomercare@honeywell.com as requested, never heard back from them. I call in a week later and they pull up the email I sent and then tell me they need the proof of purchase. I don't have a receipt from 8 months ago on a $125 thermostat so they refused to replace it. Their customer support was very weak and I would not choose to do business with Honeywell again because of it.
Cons: died and then poor customer service
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Idaho
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

awesome product!

PostedMay 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For less than $100, you get a 7 day programmable wi-fi thermostat. It's fantastic.
Now when I'm working late, or I'm going to be home early, I can override the settings from my smartphone to save power.
Set up is a little more than your basic programmable thermostat (obviously). But, follow the directions and it' will go smoothly.
If you're unsure about installing it yourself, there are videos online from Honeywell that walk you thru it, and offer some helpful tips.
**NOTE: this unit does not have batteries, and requires the blue "C" wire. BUT, if your blue wire isn't connected (mine wasn't), there's a video from honeywell showing that you can simply plug the green wire in where the blue wire should go (on most households). Doing this will disable your ability to run "fan only" mode.
I would definitely recommend this to friends.
A side-note: the mobile app (apple / android) is a free download. If you want a windows app for your PC, it's 2 bucks.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Denver, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent value, easy to install, save money on your Energy Bills

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have purchased 7 of these over the last year for a commercial building and are great for remote energy management. I have some tenants that share the same HVAC unit, but are in different offices and don't have physical access to the thermostat, so this product really solved this issue.
The physical installation is very easy and will also work with bigger 2 stage HVAC systems. The only requirements are - You need to make sure that your thermostat is in range of your WiFi network, and you need to make sure that you have a "C" wire to power the thermostat.
The first time you connect your thermostat to the web portal, I recommend a lap top or IPad. My smart phone didn't display all the icons and was cumbersome & frustrating.
I would strongly recommend this to anyone as a building manager or even for your home.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Springfield, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far very good

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Worked great right out of the box. Make sure you have a "C" wire before buying, this is needed to power the unit and have the wifi running all the time. I'm pretty handy so this installed in a snap for me. I was very impressed with the detailed instructions, big fold out instruction guide with good pictures and the availability of installation videos online. So many other products have awful instructions. The Wifi setup was a snap. Contrary to the other reviews, the WIFI will reconnect and the schedule will be maintained after a power loss. I confirmed this and worked perfect for me.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Castaic, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for second home

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was initially concerned with some reviewers stating connection stability problems with this unit. I have a second home condo that has complex wide internet coverage that isn't exactly dedicated home wifi router strong. I can say without question this thermostat never loses connection in this lightly covered wifi area. The web interface and phone apps work perfect and aren't overly complicated with features that are rarely used. The app has what you need and nothing more to clutter the screen. We have a four hour drive to this condo and it works perfect to set to preheat or precool the unit when we start our journey. Highly recommended.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Birmingham
Age Range:45 to 54

Still Struggling with It

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I gave one of these as a present & was then thrilled to receive one from my wife after she saw how cool I thought it was. Installation cost me an HVAC service call because it required a C wire to power it. That was worth it, however, to get the remote access control. The unit kept disconnecting from our wifi and had to be reset often. (The wifi transmitter is about 8 ft from the thermostat.) Finally I decided that one unit must be a lemon and returned it for another. Same thing with this one. We've had it for a couple of weeks and haven't once been able to control it remotely. I'm online today looking for other options. I'm giving up on this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By Honeywell SupportJuly 24, 2014By Honeywell SupportJuly 24, 2014
We're sorry to hear you've had a negative experience staying connected with the 7-Day Programmable Thermostat with Built-In WiFi. We'd love to connect with you at 1-800-468-1502 or at ecccustomercare@honeywell.com and we'll do our best to help you out. Thank you for the review.Honeywell
Review 14 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App

Holds WI-FI connection well and IT DOES auto-reconnect upon wireless signal loss!

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This has been a great thermostat. I purchased 1 to test it out and will eventually purchase 3 others for a total of 4 thermostats in my place of business, which is a wedding and reception hall. The reason I wanted remote access control via wifi is because my employees forget to turn off the air conditioning/heat sometimes at the end of the night. I wanted the peace of mind knowing that I can check the system to be sure its turned off. It will also be nice in the winter time to turn the heat on before I go up to the building so it has time to warm up.
There has been confusion as to whether or not these thermostats will auto-reconnect to the wifi network if they lose connectivity temporarily. I can absolutely confirm that they will auto-reconnect. The thermostat actually did lose its wireless signal, and I saw a warning message for a few minutes on the web interface saying that the wifi signal was lost. I left the web page up for awhile and eventually the error message went away and the thermostat automatically reconnected to the wifi network. I also verified this with tech support. I called them and Honeywell tech support said that ALL of their wifi thermostat models will auto-reconnect to the wifi network if the signal is lost.
When I installed the thermostat into the wall, I found that my blue "C" wire was not connected to my blower unit, so I had to go to the blower unit and hook up the blue "C" wire to the "C" terminal. This was fairly easy to do and the thermostat worked great after I did that.
I have been testing out the thermostat using both an internet browser (I use Chrome) as well as the Android application on my Samsung Galaxy SIII. It works great both ways. The easiest way to find the Android app is by searching for "Honeywell" in the Google Play Store. You'll see the Thermostat app pop up.
Android App Features:
Home Screen
-Current Indoor Temp
-Outdoor Forecasted Temp/Humidity (and 5 day forecast)
System Control Screen
-Heat/Cool/Off Controls
Fan Control Screen
-On/Auto Controls
Schedule Screen
-Ability to schedule heat and cool settings based on the day of the week and the time of day for the entire 7 day week
TIPS:
1) Watch the YouTube installation videos. They do a great job at explaining the installation procedure.
2) Have a laptop with you when you install the thermostat. Setting up the thermostat initially is much easier with a laptop than it is with a phone or a tablet. The initial set up requires you to connect to the thermostat's built in wifi "network" to configure it.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Bellaire, Michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic So Far

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The thermostat was very easy to install and set up. It connected seamlessly to my wireless network. I downloaded the app for my phone (Android) and it works wonderfully. I even ran a "power outage" test and everything booted up without a hitch. We are really looking forward to being able to monitor our north Michigan condo this winter from the sunny south. Hopefully no problems come up but if they do, I hope the thermostat notifies me so I can call a heating service person before any pipes freeze. I did have to run a new thermostat wire with a "C" wire but that was also no problem.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Tucson, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The touch is missing

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product is really good. Several options in wiring is missing if you do not have a standard setup. I had a heat pump with a couple of rouge wires. I called customer support and they were extremely helpful in which connection to use with which wire. Then they went beyond my question and made sure it was configured for my heat pump.
The only down side is, a touch screen for the cost would be preferred. Even lacking this feature, the remote wifi access is well worth it. Living in the southwest it is nice to set and monitor my air conditioning.
I would buy another Honeywell thermostat without any reservation. The 4 out 5 is because of the lacking the touch screen, which could be purchased for more money.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Honeywell Good.....Wink bad

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I picked up the Honeywell RTH6580WF (my second honeywell wifi thermostat) and the total connect app worked better than the old radio stat app honeywell used. For $100 bucks you cant go wrong checking the thermostat on the road or in the office . Now the wink hub and app are just sitting there because Wink doesn't recognize the barcode or read the thermostat (keep getting prompt: "UH-OH SOMETHING WET WRONG"). I would refund it but got it for a buck at HD, so not too mad. Praying for a youtube tutorial or an update to start using the Wink hub
Pros: Lots of Features, Clear Instructions, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation, iphone app
Cons: wink sucks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Farmington, MN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good idea. Bad support

PostedJune 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Installed quickly. Setup was not quick. Would not connect with wifi. Tried twice to call customer support and waited 20 minutes but no live person. Found blog online that talked about 10 character limit to router password. Changed my router password and everything worked. Wish Honeywell would put that in their direction. Tried to review on their site but they didn't publish my review.
Pros: Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: poor customer support
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Wesley Chapel FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Inexpensive WiFi thermostat that's easy to install

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This thermostat was easy to install. I replaced a lower Honeywell model that could not be programmed. I did not have to change the screws that held the previous model. It took less than 30 minutes and then an additional 30 minutes to read and sign up online. On my second try, the thermostat connected to my router. I can connect from anywhere to override my 7-day settings and if I'm I forget to change the setting and I leave town, I can still change the setting to lower my power bill. The price was great and I think I will buy another to replace the other on second floor.
Pros: Easy to Use, Lots of Features, Clear Instructions, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Installation, wifi
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Honeywell SupportJuly 25, 2014By Honeywell SupportJuly 25, 2014
Benjamin, we're happy to hear the installation process was a breeze. We hope you grow to love the thermostat! Please feel free to connect with us on Facebook (www.facebook.com/honeywellhome) or on Twitter (@honeywell_home) if you have any questions or concerns. Thanks for the support!Honeywell
Review 20 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy install

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was relatively easy to install this product. I had a little difficulty with adding another wire to the furnace wiring harness as I am not a "handyman" but I did it. Only con is that there is no option button for a back lite. I love being able to control the product away from home. Registering the product on line was a breeze.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy Installation, online registration
Cons: needed a wire added to harness
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>