728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Energy Management or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App

Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App

Convenient control of your home's thermostat is now literally at your fingertips. Easily view or control your thermostat from anywhere with Honeywell's RTH6580WF Wi-Fi Thermostat. Be alerted of temperature swings or make temperature adjustments remotely. You can trust Honeywell's reliable secure network and enjoy maximum comfort by the #1 choice of homeowners and contractors.
Overall rating:
4.207 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(193 reviews) 193
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product156 of 189reviews
Rating Breakdown 193 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(128)
4
(29)
3
(8)
2
(4)
1
(24)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product156 of 189reviews
Customer questions and answers:
68 Questions | 289 Answers
Customer reviews for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
Review 1 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth every penny!

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works exactly as described! It is set to run a program, but if you leave the house for the afternoon and forget to turn back -you can do so right from your phone..anywhere! On multiple occasions I have been working around the house and get too warm but do not want to take the the time to run upstairs (or down) to turn the heat down, so I just pull out my phone and adjust. Also adjusting the programming schedule from the comfort of bed on the iPad -very nice. Great product and worth the extra money over the cost of a standard thermostat!
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+24points
26out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Deltona, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Not for the beginner installer

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my first review. We bought this thermostat for our new house. Easy to install wiring wise, has the openings and labeling. Also came with stickers to help label the old wires. We had a digital and decided this is good for us since its programmable and also has wifi. What I didn't know was that you do have to toggle the proper function on the unit by pressing the up button and another to set the internal function. For my Florida home, it was 2-0. I highly recommend learning what each wire on your thermostat does, like the Green wire really does turn on the fan and it is correct. I had an Orange wire which means not only do I have a heat pump system but also that I had to tell the thermostat that or else it will blow hot air instead of cold air. I did take photos of my install, and it does level nicely. The app is easy to install and hooking the t-stat to the router for wifi was easy. I def did read a lot online about t-stat wires and what they do.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Stylish, Battery Length, Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: need to know your wires
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Brookhaven, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have this item for about 6 weeks now and never had issues with it. It lost Wi-Fi once and it was when we lost power. It is a very reliable thermostat. Even though it has Wi-Fi and you could use it online, it still has the programming features like a normal thermostat and these could be used as a plan B if you live in an area where losing power is not so uncommon.
App is a little slow but very reliable as well.
Overall, this is a great product.
Pros: user-friendly, Reliable
Cons: no cons
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Omaha, NE
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So much better than my old one.

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got it just in time to make my life easier during the Fall changeable weather. It got hot, then cold, and the thermostat just worked, changing from heat to cool as needed. One thing, though, you need to download the latest version of the manual, and throw away the one that comes in the box. It is probably too out of date to be useful.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Easy Replacement
Cons: out of date manual in box
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Milwaukee, WI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Why pay more?

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This thermostat is really great. Easy setup, connected to the internet easily, and the free app is awesome. For the price, I don't think you can beat it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Lots of Features, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Spencerport, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install but you may need power

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I found the installation to be easy but in my situation needed to provide power as my old thermostat was a 2-wire for baseboard HW heat only, no AC. They call for 24 volt DC but I had my security system within a couple of feet and that runs on 16 to 17 volts. Hooked it up to the lower voltage and it seems to work fine.
I check the temp by cell phone and it gives fast and accurate results (the outside temp is based on the internet, not an actual reading). I tested to see what happens if there is a power failure. Of course the wi-fi was out and my furnace couldn't run without electricity. The software notified me and after the power was restored (by me) the system re-set it self with no loss of programming and continued on.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App

Worth every penny

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
At first I was hesitant to spend this much money on a thermostat, but in the end it was 100% worth it. I have COMPLETE control over the heating and cooling in my home now. You can dial it in by 15 minute increments any day of the week.
My frustration with older models is that everything has to be done on the unit itself. This involved pushing a lot of buttons and trying to read small type on a greenish yellow backlight. Because of the WI-FI capability on this unit you do all the programming on your computer!
The other great thing is that between the printed guides and videos you watch online, installation was very simple. This is a fantastic product that I would recommend to anyone.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+72points
85out of 98found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Ypsilanti, MI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great thermostat

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was initially looking at the Nest thermostat but this one was over $100 cheaper and does everything I need it to do and then some. I love the app on my cell phone as well, I can pretty much do everything on the app that I can do from the actual screen. Definitely one of the best buys I've made in a long time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App

Great Product

PostedNovember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Free App... yes it works with Wi-Fi. ... I have a heat pump system... my house was built in 2002.. It was time to replace my mercury thermostats. . It wasn't a simple change due to the C wire and the heat pump system... well worth the investment. ... I don't think it's necessary to spend more money... Wi-Fi and all the other functions are included. I can be on bed and change the setting on the thermostat. .. I downloaded the app. .. android and it works great. .. you have to register with the provided cards... I have 2 units in my house. Both in the same account. Contact Honeywell with anyq questions they do help and their chat system works.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Tampa, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Honeywell Thermostat poor customer service

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thought this was a good unit until it went up in smoke 7 months after installation. Called Honeywell where they asked me to send them a copy of the invoice where we hired a professional AC repair company to diagnose this unit. Paid my AC guy $135 for a service call and to install a new thermostat. Emailed the invoice to ecccustomercare@honeywell.com as requested, never heard back from them. I call in a week later and they pull up the email I sent and then tell me they need the proof of purchase. I don't have a receipt from 8 months ago on a $125 thermostat so they refused to replace it. Their customer support was very weak and I would not choose to do business with Honeywell again because of it.
Cons: died and then poor customer service
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Livonia, Michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No Backup Battery Required. Function Returns after Power Failure

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was very concerned when I read a couple of previous posts stating the thermostat would not return to it's previous setting after a power or internet failure. I am very happy to say those claims are false. I have an occasionally used service garage in Michigan and a 2nd home in Bend Oregon. At both locations I wanted to be able to control the temperature remotely and I was especially concerned about a heating failure that might allow water pipes to freeze and burst like I experienced previously. I extensively tested the thermostat's ability to continue the way it was previously set after power was restored. I verified that it did so minutes, hours or even days after power was removed and restored. The thermostat has what is called non-volatile memory to preserve the pre-power failure setting.
Not only does the thermostat return to it's previous setting after a power failure, but an email is sent to people of your choice during the event or if internet connection is lost. Another email is then sent after internet communication is reestablished. An email can also be sent in the event it gets cooler or warmer than the temperature you choose to be notified of.
My one location required a wifi repeater that I bought new off Ebay fro $20. The signal from the wireless router was too weak because it was located across the street but with the repeater the signal is strong and the thermostat works flawlessly.
I found installation very simple by using my green wire as the common at one location and hooking up an unused brown wire for my "C" terminal at the other location.
Pros: Lots of Features
+45points
45out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Prairie Village, KS
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No adjustable swing

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
All Honeywell digital thermostats cannot be adjusted for a swing setting. This causes my AC to cycle way too often. As soon as the +/1 temp is reached, it will kick on again and in a older house with less than perfect insulation, this means my AC is turning on, running, then only off for 2 to 5 minutes. They state it is in the interest of maintaining a more even temperature, but if you don't want your AC to cycle more often, find a different thermostat.
Otherwise, the product is nicely made, requires a C wire if you want independent fan control, and has a decent app for your phone/tablet. I had to contact Honeywell support when their Total Comfort app would not install on my Google Nexus Tablet and they released a new version a week later.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: no swing setting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from By Honeywell SupportAugust 25, 2014By Honeywell SupportAugust 25, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your product. We are constantly updating and innovating our products based on feedback from our customers. We will pass along your review to our product development team.Honeywell
Review 13 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App

No battery backup! Loose power and totally reprogram.

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Warning: loose power and you will have to totally reprogram time, heating program, cooling program, and Wifi! Hope that designer at Honeywell quit over that mistake. With a battery backup, I would give 5 stars! In less than hour got it installed, programmed, on wifi. Worked great. Next day I went to install on second unit and had to kill power to units for install on 2nd unit. Fast install. Turned power back on and first unit had lost all the programs. A simple battery backup would have prevented this! I refuse to have to reprogram the system anytime a storm makes the power out for a few minutes. Will be returning ASAP for a different brand.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Phoenix, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product, Wi-fi app relatively easy to set up. Schedule easy to set up.

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this stat because we are away for long periods and we wanted wi-fi programming capability while away. One thing the instructions could clarify is the function of the 'set clock/day/schedule' feature (button). The bottom line here is that, once you make your wi-fi connection to the internet, the subject button will only function for setting the daily schedules. The unit gets its time and the day of the week from the internet application and pressing the 'set clock/day/schedule' button only takes you to the schedule setting function. Otherwise it installs easily on the heat/ac systems typical in the Phoenix AZ. area.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App

WI-FI issues

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cannot complete registration process, so WIFi cannot be used. Honeywell customer service indicates "their " server is down. Last call resulted in the individual indicating this has been true for 3 weeks, i've been trying for the past week. Was simply told to wait until the problem is fixed.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App

great thermostat

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed myself and had no problem. Then when it came to hooking up to the internet i had a problem, finally called Honeywell and got tech support in 1 minute and the gentleman had me connected in a few minutes. He stayed on the phone till i knew could control my unit with my smartphone! Just plain A plus service.!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Idaho
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

awesome product!

PostedMay 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For less than $100, you get a 7 day programmable wi-fi thermostat. It's fantastic.
Now when I'm working late, or I'm going to be home early, I can override the settings from my smartphone to save power.
Set up is a little more than your basic programmable thermostat (obviously). But, follow the directions and it' will go smoothly.
If you're unsure about installing it yourself, there are videos online from Honeywell that walk you thru it, and offer some helpful tips.
**NOTE: this unit does not have batteries, and requires the blue "C" wire. BUT, if your blue wire isn't connected (mine wasn't), there's a video from honeywell showing that you can simply plug the green wire in where the blue wire should go (on most households). Doing this will disable your ability to run "fan only" mode.
I would definitely recommend this to friends.
A side-note: the mobile app (apple / android) is a free download. If you want a windows app for your PC, it's 2 bucks.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Plymouth, MA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic Thermostat

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this thermostat because I liked the idea of being able to control the temperature in my home when I am away. I also liked the idea of being able to set up email alarm messages when the temp went too high or low (which would be indicating a problem the the heat or air conditioner).
The thermostat was very easy to install. Even though my previous thermostat was powered by battery and did not have the required "C" wire, it was very easy to hook up a "C" wire following the instruction supplied in the box.
Overall I believe it is an excellent value.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App

So far, so great

PostedNovember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just installed two thermostats, one for each furnace in my home. I had read some mixed reviews but overall for the money, this seemed like the one to buy. I knew that I need to bring a C wire to the wall as my old mechanical units did not require one. I did have 2 extra wires in the bundle and was able to hook it up. From opening the box to fully functional took less that 30 minutes each. The app connected flawlessly and I began playing with the best schedule right away. Since I just installed them I don't know how well they will last but so far it has been way better than expected.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Replacement
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wi-Fi 7 - Day Programmable Thermostat + Free App
from Crestwood MO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not worth the extra money

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought two of these despite mixed reviews. I even had to buy new wiring and run it for the older part of the house because these units require a C wire connection. I cannot get either to connect to my WiFi and I have written to Honeywell twice for assistance. Their reply was to contact my service provider. Erm three computers, three streaming devices, three phones and one tablet work fine. These will be getting returned!
Pros: Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: Complicated, wifi does not work!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>