728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Top Freezer Refrigerators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black

18.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black

Keep your food fresh and refrigerator looking new with this Whirlpool 18.5 cu. ft. ENERGY STAR qualified refrigerator. It features humidity-controlled crispers with selectable humidity levels to help preserve the freshness of fruits and vegetables. SpillMizer glass shelves traps leaks so cleaning up after spills is easy. Plus, a door reversal kit can be ordered for greater installation flexibility.
Overall rating:
3.983 / 5
4
 / 
5
(60 reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product45 of 59reviews
Rating Breakdown 60 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(28)
4
(18)
3
(4)
2
(5)
1
(5)
Features 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product45 of 59reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 18.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
Review 1 for 18.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Highland,IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Fridge.

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
not noisy, seems to be working great. glass shelves are the way to go!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black

good product

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:18.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
Reasonably quiet operation for a budget fridge. Door is a little noisy when full but still solid. Slightly smaller than the fridge we replaced but the excellent organization of the shelf space makes it hardly noticeable.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Lindstrom
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wonderful!

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:18.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Stainless Steel
This refrigerator is worth every penny. My husband and I originally purchased another refrigerator, but dissatisfied with its noise, misaligned door, and dents. We decided to return our faulty refrigerator for this model. I am very happy that we made this decision. It is quiet, stylish, and the drawers open with ease. I can't say enough good things.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+15points
19out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from South Bend, IN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It's a good family size refrigerator.

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:18.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
I bought this refrigerator on online and when I got it there was several things I didn't like about it. The shelves on the side of the door are not adjustable and they are to close that your bottles don't fit. This refrigerator also has a loud whistle when you open the freezer door and then you close it is then when you hear it. I would have not purchase it if I had know that overall it works fine.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Ithaca, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

This fridge is wierd.

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:18.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Stainless Steel
We bought this unit because it fits in the space we have. Installers could not find all the parts for shelving. Whirlpool replaced some but could not replace all because the unit we received had a door design that didn't match that shown in the parts list. Curiously the diagram in the installer's assembly instructions matched the door exactly. We faxed those instructions to Whirlpool but subsequent calls to Whirlpool turned up no solution to the 'shelf without a bottom'! Reviews of this model said it was quiet, but our unit 'growls' intermittently while running--very distracting. It controls temperature well, but runs (and growls) a lot.
Pros: Easy to Use, large cheese drawer
Cons: Difficult to Install, Noisy
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black

Defective shelving

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:18.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Stainless Steel
I had a similar problem to the review below. The shelves that came with the unit were defective, so I declined the refrigerator upon delivery. If you order this product, check to see if the shelving is appropriate.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from TexAS
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Medium Size Regrigerator

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:18.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
Home Depot delivered at no cost and the delivery personnel were fantastic. They really took pride in their job and performed it well. The refrigerator is quiet and during the first 30 days of operation, we have experienced zero problems. I would recommend this for a medium size fridge.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from KY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointing

PostedJune 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:18.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
I got the lemon, did not work; could not cool below 52º inside frig even on max "snowflakes".
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from KY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DO NOT BUY THIS FRIG

PostedJune 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:18.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
Waited a week for delivery, bought June 1, delivered June 7: now after less than 4 days, it is on "5 snowflakes", highest setting....milk and orange juice spoiled, ice cream still soft....temp inside at 52º....health dept recommends 40º...Called this morning, MAYTAG WILL CALL WITHIN 48 MORE HOURS TO SCHEDULE A PICKUP!!
Pros: none
Cons: doesn't work
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for 18.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
Based on the average of (51) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
40 out of 50 recommend this product