728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Toilet Parts & Repair or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit

Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit

Sani Seal Toilet Gasket is a revolutionary development in Toilet Bowl-to-Flange sealing that is flexible, wax-less and repositionable. The unique design holds the bolts upright and the gasket in place. The Sani Seal makes installing your toilet extremely quick and easy.
Overall rating:
4.664 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(107 reviews) 107
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product100 of 106reviews
Rating Breakdown 107 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(91)
4
(8)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(6)
Ease of installation 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product100 of 106reviews
Customer reviews for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
Review 1 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Wausau, WI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

After a wax ring failed...

PostedJune 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I searched for alternatives to Wax Rings, and found Saniseal...I read through hundreds of reviews on this and other sites, and was really hopeful about this product...I could not believe how easy it was to install. And Plumbing is at the very bottom of the things I like to do. I was so pleased, I am going to replace the wax ring on my other toilet, before it fails. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND the SANISEAL..
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit

I will never buy a wax ring again

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After having problems setting two toilets, I decided to try the synthetic rings. I liked the feature of being able to reset the toilet if it didn't set the first time. With a wax ring you can't reset once it is deformed. Also, there will NO wax clean up if the ring ever needs to be replaced or the toilet needs to be changed. It cost 3-4 times more (about $3 versus $11) for the ring plus hardware. However, for me $11 is worth avoiding the mess and aggravation of a wax ring. I can understand how someone else will opt for the less expensive wax ring that works. However, once you try it, I believe you might agree this may be the future of toilet rings.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Bethel Park, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did not work for me

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Due to my flange height (above the finished ceramic tile floor) of 7/16", the ring WOULD NOT COMPRESS enough to allow the toilet base to set flush on the floor. So instead I used a 11/4" wax reinforced ring to complete the installation successfully. There is a very oblique note on the package stating "This product will not work on flanges 7/16" above finished floor". I should have read the package completely before purchasing this 'NO MESS PRODUCT. I would recommend this product if your flange height is within the product requirement of 3/8" above the finished floor.
Pros: Easy to Install
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Greenville, SC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works great, easy to install.

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After 2 failed, messy attempts to get wax rings and even double wax rings to seal, I found the Sani Seal Toilet Gasket. My PVC toilet flange was approx. 1/8" below concrete surface and the wax rings would not seal properly. The Sani Seal Gasket is very easy to install, and holds the T Bolts in place while you set the toilet over the bolts. The gasket provides a positive seal and no more leaks! Finally after all these decades of messy wax seals that are unreliable someone invented a solution that really works!
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+24points
30out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit

Flip upside down for inside flange

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed one on an inside flange.
It comes with the circle thing in the middle folded up, unfold that and install it the normal way if installing on an outside flange. Keep it folded up and flip the whole thing over for installation on an inside flange.
When I put the toilet on the sani seal, I was worried it was too thick for the toilet to sit flush with the floor but when I gently tightened the bolts it came down to the floor fine. It is tight for a reason, wont leak that way. Obviously don't overtighten the bolts when they start giving some resistance so you dont break your toilet.
Way better than wax, it wont deteriorate (so you dont have to do maintenance in the first place) and if you do have to move the toilet to maybe install a floor than you dont have to clean up gross wax.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Clay, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ingenious!

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had to replace a very old toilet, in part due to the old wax ring deteriorating to the point where it partially clogged the bottom hole of it the toilet.
I wanted something that was more than "one use" and would last (seemingly) forever. My hopes were answered with the waxless seal. Not only is it durable, but it installs really easily and I had no leaks the very first time I installed it.
I may be re-finishing the floor in my bathroom, and if I do, I could imagine using this again after some cleaning.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks, multiple uses, Durable
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from inkster, Mi
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

One of the biggest improvements in plumbing

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was much easier than the old fashioned wax ring and if you make a mistake you don't have to start with a new one.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice to reposition the toilet without replacing the ring.

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this item after I replaced a wax seal with another wax seal which I ruined when I had to reposition the toilet. Iwas able to reposition the toilet with this ring without any problem and there was no cleanup of the wax before I had to reinstall another wax ring. It's been in a month and working fine. Can't comment on longevity, but like the idea that I can remove the toilet and reuse the ring if necessary.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Middletown CT HD Store
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Waxless Toilet Seal

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Waxless Seal(WL) is the first time I everused this product instead of wax type I have used for decades. The WL fit well attached easily. It is very soft and plyable. The skirt must be unfolded and extended into drain pipe to achieve waste water to flow unincumbered into waste pipeline.
I am giving it a try. Hopefully product material will remain plyable and not deteriate. Its design depnds on gravity to vector waste water into waste pipline. If the wastepipline would plug and back up I question the water tightness as the WL depends on gravity and its length ending below the mating surface of the bottom of the toilet bowl.
Pros: Easy to Install, allows mutiple trial fittings
Cons: instructions need interpretatioon
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Gang Mills, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

REusable!

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product allows you to lift toilet and reuse if needed. Wax seals are only good for one time.
We had adjustments we had to make and had to lift our toilet after getting it set, this seal was no problem doing that and no leaks after!
It takes a little getting used to the 'cushyness' of it but it seals tight. We've had no problems with either one (used upstairs on cork floor and downstairs on concrete).
Very happy with product.
We are homeowners that do our own work in our home, not professionals.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks, adjustable
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Columbus, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seems to work, stacked two

PostedApril 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Did a new toilet install, put a new flange in as well as what was there was horrible and not sealed. Was about 1/2 inch too low with it sitting below the linoleum. Normally you need a extender/riser, but I had two of these on hand so I stacked two. Seems like a good seal and also added some extra support to the toilet so it doesn't wiggle. Good thing about these is they flex and move with the toilet in case it moves a little.
If you have a new and perfect install, probably don't need this, but for older installs that might not be perfect, I would recommend this product.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Colorado Springs
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to Install - Better Seal

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After getting all of the wax removed from the old ring, this product was so easy to install and it sealed places that the wax ring never touched! I would strongly recommend this product to anyone who wants to make sure they don't have to remove that toilet again! :-)
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Norfolk, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What a great product

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A superior product over old style wax rings. Super simple to install even for a first time DIY. I found this product in a YouTube video during the remodeling of my bathroom and had to have it. I was pleasantly suprised that not only was it carried by Home Depot but also that they had several in stock. I actually had the toilet crooked on the first try and was pleased when I took the toilet back off that this product looked like it did when I first put it in place. Got it right on the second try. It's a little more expensive than a regular wax ring. But for an amatuer it saved me a trip to get a new wax ring. I would recommend this to anyone installing a toilet.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Schofield, Wisconsin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Toilet replacement with new seal completed in MINUTES!

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'd never replaced a toilet before and I'd read many horror stories about "setting" the fixture properly on a wax ring. Then I heard about the Sani Seal gasket. I immediately ordered two (I didn't know what my flange looked like below the old toilet prior to pulling everything apart). I was amazed at the ease in which I was able to set the new toilet!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Somerset, MA

No mess. Quick install.

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product was quickly installed with no messy wax ring. When I was done tightening the closet bolts, I noticed the toilet was slightly askew. No problem. Just loosened the bolts, repositioned the toilet correctly, and retightened the bolts. No leaks and well worth the increase in price versus the wax rings.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from OP KS
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

liked it better than the xtra thick-which fell apart.

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We've only had it installed for a month. So we'll see how well it holds up compared to the wax rings.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Western MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finally !!!

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After multiple attempts using the wax ring......This seal saved the day, and possibly a window and marriage. This was in an older home, circa 1952, with the cast flange. The wax rings kept slipping into the opening and would not seal completely. After looking on HD's website I came across this seal and decided to try it. I wish I would have found it earlier. Thank you
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great improvement over the old wax ring!

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This should have happened long ago, yes it is a bit more expensive, but it sure makes the installation go a lot better, and faster, the only question I have, is how long will it hold up. It takes about a week for one to settle in, you just ck wing nuts about every day, and when they get hard to turn by hand, you can put the bolt covers on, this one is rock steady, glad I spent the extra money.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from New York
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a Drop!!!!

PostedApril 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Contractor remodeled my bathroom, the toilet worked for a couple of years and then it leaked from the base. When I took toilet off the flange I found out the the following issues: 1) Flange was below the ceramic tile 2) The flange was 11 1/2 off the wall not the standard 12 inches. Tried to reset 3 times with wax rings, messy and leaks.
Tried this product and it worked like a charm. It compensated for the incorrectly set flange. The toilet has not leaked a drop.
I'm very impressed with this product and I will never use a wax ring again.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Hanford, CA 93230, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The best thing since apple pie

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had to repair a wood subfloor due to a leaky toilet which had to dry out a few days before installing the new floor. I also had to leave the toilet for use during this time and then pull and reset it to relay the floor once the repairs were done. Have been in the trades for 35 years and have set hundreds of toilets and Sani Seal is quick, east and clean, it is great!!! I'll never use a wax seal again. I have NEVER endorsed a product before, but this is well worth my time to write.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>