728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Toilet Parts & Repair or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit

Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit

Sani Seal Toilet Gasket is a revolutionary development in Toilet Bowl-to-Flange sealing that is flexible, wax-less and repositionable. The unique design holds the bolts upright and the gasket in place. The Sani Seal makes installing your toilet extremely quick and easy.
Overall rating:
4.694 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(144 reviews) 144
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product135 of 143reviews
Rating Breakdown 144 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(124)
4
(10)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(6)
Ease of installation 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product135 of 143reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
Review 1 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Akron Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for remodeling.

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
In the middle of remodeling, where I need to pull & reset the toilet everyday. Had been going through a wax ring a day. Did this about 8x before I noticed the Sani Seal hanging next to the wax rings. No more messy, time consuming job of scraping the smashed wax ring everyday. I could have saved a small fortune had I known about this product.
Made another trip to HD to pick another one up for the other toilet.
Truly impressed by such a simple product.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, not messy, saves time
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Naples, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This seal was our answer of fearless installation of a toilet.

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My daughter and I watched a TV program about new inventions for the home. This toilet waxless seal was shown and explained. We knew nothing about installing a new toilet, but we decided to do it ourselves. The scary part to us was the wax ring. If you do it wrong...oops it's bad with the wax seal.
The price was a little more for the waxless seal, but it was worth it. Yes, we did not do it perfect the first try or the second try - that would have been 2 wax seals right there. We were able to reposition the toilet with the waxless seal without fear.
What a adventure it was. Two women watching YouTube - how to do it. And we did it! We feel ready now to put in the second toilet. We saved a lot of money doing it ourselves. We probably would have chickened out without the waxless seal.
Don't be afraid...just do it! We give this seal our seal of success.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Wausau, WI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

After a wax ring failed...

PostedJune 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I searched for alternatives to Wax Rings, and found Saniseal...I read through hundreds of reviews on this and other sites, and was really hopeful about this product...I could not believe how easy it was to install. And Plumbing is at the very bottom of the things I like to do. I was so pleased, I am going to replace the wax ring on my other toilet, before it fails. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND the SANISEAL..
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from South Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This ring is so easy for us ametures

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I just installed two wax rings that leaked both time. Part of,the problem was to get the wax lined up,correctly without smashing it, and you can not see what the wax ring alignment is.
I found this flexible seal at Home Depot after seeing it on UTube.
This is such a superior product in my opinion to the wax du to the fact it is held in place with the screw studs so you know it's location when seating the heaven toilet and now stickey wax to deal with.
You will not be disappointed with this product , Highly recommended by me.
Wax seals are from the Stone Age
Tom
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit

I will never buy a wax ring again

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After having problems setting two toilets, I decided to try the synthetic rings. I liked the feature of being able to reset the toilet if it didn't set the first time. With a wax ring you can't reset once it is deformed. Also, there will NO wax clean up if the ring ever needs to be replaced or the toilet needs to be changed. It cost 3-4 times more (about $3 versus $11) for the ring plus hardware. However, for me $11 is worth avoiding the mess and aggravation of a wax ring. I can understand how someone else will opt for the less expensive wax ring that works. However, once you try it, I believe you might agree this may be the future of toilet rings.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Greenville, SC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works great, easy to install.

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
After 2 failed, messy attempts to get wax rings and even double wax rings to seal, I found the Sani Seal Toilet Gasket. My PVC toilet flange was approx. 1/8" below concrete surface and the wax rings would not seal properly. The Sani Seal Gasket is very easy to install, and holds the T Bolts in place while you set the toilet over the bolts. The gasket provides a positive seal and no more leaks! Finally after all these decades of messy wax seals that are unreliable someone invented a solution that really works!
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+26points
32out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit

Better Design, Better Fit, Worth It

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Being my first home, I had never replaced a wax ring before. After I set my new wax ring , I realized the toilet wasn't compressing the ring. I went to the store to find a solution and I discovered this product. I decided to buy two just in case I needed to stack them. I threw out the wax ring and used this product instead. The first seal, which I assumed would have been enough for most toilets, looked like it would have worked, but I used the second for insurance. Being that my toilet sits on ceramic tile that is not even, this product is perfect for the long term. Reason being, a rocky toilet will compress a wax ring which will never spring back to properly seal the toilet. This product will spring back and always keep the seal. In short, this product made the seal replacement project much easier and the design has given me the confidence I won't experience an issue anytime soon. Take it from a beginner, this product is worth the money.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Bethel Park, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did not work for me

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Due to my flange height (above the finished ceramic tile floor) of 7/16", the ring WOULD NOT COMPRESS enough to allow the toilet base to set flush on the floor. So instead I used a 11/4" wax reinforced ring to complete the installation successfully. There is a very oblique note on the package stating "This product will not work on flanges 7/16" above finished floor". I should have read the package completely before purchasing this 'NO MESS PRODUCT. I would recommend this product if your flange height is within the product requirement of 3/8" above the finished floor.
Pros: Easy to Install
+17points
20out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit

Flip upside down for inside flange

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed one on an inside flange.
It comes with the circle thing in the middle folded up, unfold that and install it the normal way if installing on an outside flange. Keep it folded up and flip the whole thing over for installation on an inside flange.
When I put the toilet on the sani seal, I was worried it was too thick for the toilet to sit flush with the floor but when I gently tightened the bolts it came down to the floor fine. It is tight for a reason, wont leak that way. Obviously don't overtighten the bolts when they start giving some resistance so you dont break your toilet.
Way better than wax, it wont deteriorate (so you dont have to do maintenance in the first place) and if you do have to move the toilet to maybe install a floor than you dont have to clean up gross wax.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Clay, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ingenious!

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had to replace a very old toilet, in part due to the old wax ring deteriorating to the point where it partially clogged the bottom hole of it the toilet.
I wanted something that was more than "one use" and would last (seemingly) forever. My hopes were answered with the waxless seal. Not only is it durable, but it installs really easily and I had no leaks the very first time I installed it.
I may be re-finishing the floor in my bathroom, and if I do, I could imagine using this again after some cleaning.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks, multiple uses, Durable
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Dover, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't work for me!

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The waxless seal didn't work for my application! The closet flange for my toilet bowl was right at 3/8" above the floor which the literature on the waxless seal said it would work on so I tried it and it was to high! The toilet wouldn't tighten down enough to the floor so it would rock back and forth! I had my daughter sit on it (she weighs in at 135lbs) to try and help compress the seal while I tightened down the hardware and that didn't help either! So I ended up getting a wax seal which I had no problem with and cost around $4.00. This might work on a different toilet or if your closet flange doesn't sit up so high? I was installing a Toto Drake bowl model #C744EL #01. So you can go from there! I'll use the wax ring on my next bathroom!
Cons: to thick
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Arlington, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works as described - now over a year

PostedMarch 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Thought I'd check in - I had to replace the toilet multiple times so the wax gunk was killing me - found this thing online looking at instillation videos. This is...exactly as described. I just have moved the toilet 20 times ... and then replaced the toilet with another (don't ask) and moved IT 20 times.
It's over a year later and not one drop, not one problem, with this green foamy seal. I will recommend it to any family or friend (and have).
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Sun City CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I couldn't believe how much easier this was to install. It has holes in it to keep the bolts upright.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from West Covina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great toilet gasket!

PostedDecember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Wax gaskets are a thing of the past I feel.
A contractor had installed tile in bathrooms, and they took care of reinstalling the toilets.
Well after a couple years they started to leak.
I replaced one of the toilets wax gasket with an extra thick gasket. Lasted a couple months.
Just by chance found Sani Seal while I was googling.
EXCELLENT, easy to use and it is not leaking.
Going to be installing Sani Seal on the other toilet soon.
I RECOMMEND YOU BUY THIS INSTEAD OF A WAX GASKET. YES MORE EXPENSIVE BUT WELL WORTH IT.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit

Best Seal Ever!!

PostedMarch 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installed this seal on New Toilet!! Where has this been No mess no Fuss I will never use a wax seal again No leaks Great Product!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Gang Mills, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

REusable!

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This product allows you to lift toilet and reuse if needed. Wax seals are only good for one time.
We had adjustments we had to make and had to lift our toilet after getting it set, this seal was no problem doing that and no leaks after!
It takes a little getting used to the 'cushyness' of it but it seals tight. We've had no problems with either one (used upstairs on cork floor and downstairs on concrete).
Very happy with product.
We are homeowners that do our own work in our home, not professionals.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks, adjustable
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Hanford, CA 93230, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The best thing since apple pie

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had to repair a wood subfloor due to a leaky toilet which had to dry out a few days before installing the new floor. I also had to leave the toilet for use during this time and then pull and reset it to relay the floor once the repairs were done. Have been in the trades for 35 years and have set hundreds of toilets and Sani Seal is quick, east and clean, it is great!!! I'll never use a wax seal again. I have NEVER endorsed a product before, but this is well worth my time to write.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Lexington SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wax rings be gone forever.

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I would never install a toilet with a wax ring ever again. This flexible wax-less seal is everything it should be. Effortless, no mess, good fit, inner gasket to help insure flow into drain line, pre-drilled holes for toilet base attachment bolts. It insures easy alignment when placing the toilet base onto the drain flange.
Did I say: No wax ring mess.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Crescent City, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Well Worth It!

PostedMarch 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Purchased this seal, to use in place of the wax one that came with my new toilet, due to a recommendation/review by professional plumber. I'm really glad we took his advice. Toilet seated much better than the wax seal (which had to be replaced twice) used on the old toilet. We will be replacing the toilet in our second bathroom soon and will definitely purchase this seal again.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit

Save your time and money

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I tried this replacement for a wax ring and I thought I finally found something that was going to work but after a couple of years it began to leak and the search began all over again.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>