728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Toilet Parts & Repair or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit

Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit

Sani Seal Toilet Gasket is a revolutionary development in Toilet Bowl-to-Flange sealing that is flexible, wax-less and repositionable. The unique design holds the bolts upright and the gasket in place. The Sani Seal makes installing your toilet extremely quick and easy.
Overall rating:
4.661 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(127 reviews) 127
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product118 of 126reviews
Rating Breakdown 127 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(108)
4
(9)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(6)
Ease of installation 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product118 of 126reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
Review 1 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Akron Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for remodeling.

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
In the middle of remodeling, where I need to pull & reset the toilet everyday. Had been going through a wax ring a day. Did this about 8x before I noticed the Sani Seal hanging next to the wax rings. No more messy, time consuming job of scraping the smashed wax ring everyday. I could have saved a small fortune had I known about this product.
Made another trip to HD to pick another one up for the other toilet.
Truly impressed by such a simple product.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, not messy, saves time
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Wausau, WI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

After a wax ring failed...

PostedJune 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I searched for alternatives to Wax Rings, and found Saniseal...I read through hundreds of reviews on this and other sites, and was really hopeful about this product...I could not believe how easy it was to install. And Plumbing is at the very bottom of the things I like to do. I was so pleased, I am going to replace the wax ring on my other toilet, before it fails. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND the SANISEAL..
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit

I will never buy a wax ring again

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After having problems setting two toilets, I decided to try the synthetic rings. I liked the feature of being able to reset the toilet if it didn't set the first time. With a wax ring you can't reset once it is deformed. Also, there will NO wax clean up if the ring ever needs to be replaced or the toilet needs to be changed. It cost 3-4 times more (about $3 versus $11) for the ring plus hardware. However, for me $11 is worth avoiding the mess and aggravation of a wax ring. I can understand how someone else will opt for the less expensive wax ring that works. However, once you try it, I believe you might agree this may be the future of toilet rings.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Bethel Park, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did not work for me

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Due to my flange height (above the finished ceramic tile floor) of 7/16", the ring WOULD NOT COMPRESS enough to allow the toilet base to set flush on the floor. So instead I used a 11/4" wax reinforced ring to complete the installation successfully. There is a very oblique note on the package stating "This product will not work on flanges 7/16" above finished floor". I should have read the package completely before purchasing this 'NO MESS PRODUCT. I would recommend this product if your flange height is within the product requirement of 3/8" above the finished floor.
Pros: Easy to Install
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Greenville, SC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works great, easy to install.

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
After 2 failed, messy attempts to get wax rings and even double wax rings to seal, I found the Sani Seal Toilet Gasket. My PVC toilet flange was approx. 1/8" below concrete surface and the wax rings would not seal properly. The Sani Seal Gasket is very easy to install, and holds the T Bolts in place while you set the toilet over the bolts. The gasket provides a positive seal and no more leaks! Finally after all these decades of messy wax seals that are unreliable someone invented a solution that really works!
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+25points
31out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from South Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This ring is so easy for us ametures

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I just installed two wax rings that leaked both time. Part of,the problem was to get the wax lined up,correctly without smashing it, and you can not see what the wax ring alignment is.
I found this flexible seal at Home Depot after seeing it on UTube.
This is such a superior product in my opinion to the wax du to the fact it is held in place with the screw studs so you know it's location when seating the heaven toilet and now stickey wax to deal with.
You will not be disappointed with this product , Highly recommended by me.
Wax seals are from the Stone Age
Tom
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Dover, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't work for me!

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The waxless seal didn't work for my application! The closet flange for my toilet bowl was right at 3/8" above the floor which the literature on the waxless seal said it would work on so I tried it and it was to high! The toilet wouldn't tighten down enough to the floor so it would rock back and forth! I had my daughter sit on it (she weighs in at 135lbs) to try and help compress the seal while I tightened down the hardware and that didn't help either! So I ended up getting a wax seal which I had no problem with and cost around $4.00. This might work on a different toilet or if your closet flange doesn't sit up so high? I was installing a Toto Drake bowl model #C744EL #01. So you can go from there! I'll use the wax ring on my next bathroom!
Cons: to thick
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit

Flip upside down for inside flange

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed one on an inside flange.
It comes with the circle thing in the middle folded up, unfold that and install it the normal way if installing on an outside flange. Keep it folded up and flip the whole thing over for installation on an inside flange.
When I put the toilet on the sani seal, I was worried it was too thick for the toilet to sit flush with the floor but when I gently tightened the bolts it came down to the floor fine. It is tight for a reason, wont leak that way. Obviously don't overtighten the bolts when they start giving some resistance so you dont break your toilet.
Way better than wax, it wont deteriorate (so you dont have to do maintenance in the first place) and if you do have to move the toilet to maybe install a floor than you dont have to clean up gross wax.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from grand Rapids Michigan
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wax seals don't even compare

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this product after doing a lot of research online. I used this to install a kholer cimmeron toilet I purchased from Home Depot. The main issue I had with this install was that my flange was 5/8 below a tile floor that had been added to the bathroom when it was remodeled. I wanted a foolproof seal that didn't involve me having to stack wax rings. I actually need to buy two of these because of the depth of the flange but they stack great. The best part about this product is that it allows you multiple attempts at adjustment without fear of compromising the seal. I will definitely buy this product again when I replace the toilet in my second bathroom. Overall I would highly recommend this product, it is well with the extra cost, and I will never buy/ fight with a wax ring again.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Rochester, MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for a tight situation

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Having a recently (last 2 years) remodeled bathroom and experiencing a slight leak at the toilet base, I took the advice of my DIY friends and checked the wax ring on my toilet. With a deeper gap between my flange and the floor I needed something that would handle the difference. The doubled up wax ring seemed to move and compress and started to leak. I read other reviews that suggested this product. I bought two based on the product literature available on the HD site. It was just what I needed. This was very easy to install. It worked perfectly. You can even pull the toilet off and still reuse, unlike the wax ring. I would definitely recommend this product, especially if you have a little out of the box situation.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Clay, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ingenious!

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had to replace a very old toilet, in part due to the old wax ring deteriorating to the point where it partially clogged the bottom hole of it the toilet.
I wanted something that was more than "one use" and would last (seemingly) forever. My hopes were answered with the waxless seal. Not only is it durable, but it installs really easily and I had no leaks the very first time I installed it.
I may be re-finishing the floor in my bathroom, and if I do, I could imagine using this again after some cleaning.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks, multiple uses, Durable
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit

Save your time and money

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I tried this replacement for a wax ring and I thought I finally found something that was going to work but after a couple of years it began to leak and the search began all over again.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Elk Grove Village, IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best product so far

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Hey, it's a toilet gasket. I found this product easy to use. Not as messy as a standard wax seal. Time will tell if it is a better choice. But as I said, easy to install.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Gang Mills, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

REusable!

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This product allows you to lift toilet and reuse if needed. Wax seals are only good for one time.
We had adjustments we had to make and had to lift our toilet after getting it set, this seal was no problem doing that and no leaks after!
It takes a little getting used to the 'cushyness' of it but it seals tight. We've had no problems with either one (used upstairs on cork floor and downstairs on concrete).
Very happy with product.
We are homeowners that do our own work in our home, not professionals.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks, adjustable
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Hanford, CA 93230, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The best thing since apple pie

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had to repair a wood subfloor due to a leaky toilet which had to dry out a few days before installing the new floor. I also had to leave the toilet for use during this time and then pull and reset it to relay the floor once the repairs were done. Have been in the trades for 35 years and have set hundreds of toilets and Sani Seal is quick, east and clean, it is great!!! I'll never use a wax seal again. I have NEVER endorsed a product before, but this is well worth my time to write.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Columbus, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seems to work, stacked two

PostedApril 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Did a new toilet install, put a new flange in as well as what was there was horrible and not sealed. Was about 1/2 inch too low with it sitting below the linoleum. Normally you need a extender/riser, but I had two of these on hand so I stacked two. Seems like a good seal and also added some extra support to the toilet so it doesn't wiggle. Good thing about these is they flex and move with the toilet in case it moves a little.
If you have a new and perfect install, probably don't need this, but for older installs that might not be perfect, I would recommend this product.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Somerset, MA

No mess. Quick install.

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Product was quickly installed with no messy wax ring. When I was done tightening the closet bolts, I noticed the toilet was slightly askew. No problem. Just loosened the bolts, repositioned the toilet correctly, and retightened the bolts. No leaks and well worth the increase in price versus the wax rings.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from West Covina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great toilet gasket!

PostedDecember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Wax gaskets are a thing of the past I feel.
A contractor had installed tile in bathrooms, and they took care of reinstalling the toilets.
Well after a couple years they started to leak.
I replaced one of the toilets wax gasket with an extra thick gasket. Lasted a couple months.
Just by chance found Sani Seal while I was googling.
EXCELLENT, easy to use and it is not leaking.
Going to be installing Sani Seal on the other toilet soon.
I RECOMMEND YOU BUY THIS INSTEAD OF A WAX GASKET. YES MORE EXPENSIVE BUT WELL WORTH IT.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Norfolk, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What a great product

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A superior product over old style wax rings. Super simple to install even for a first time DIY. I found this product in a YouTube video during the remodeling of my bathroom and had to have it. I was pleasantly suprised that not only was it carried by Home Depot but also that they had several in stock. I actually had the toilet crooked on the first try and was pleased when I took the toilet back off that this product looked like it did when I first put it in place. Got it right on the second try. It's a little more expensive than a regular wax ring. But for an amatuer it saved me a trip to get a new wax ring. I would recommend this to anyone installing a toilet.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from New York
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a Drop!!!!

PostedApril 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Contractor remodeled my bathroom, the toilet worked for a couple of years and then it leaked from the base. When I took toilet off the flange I found out the the following issues: 1) Flange was below the ceramic tile 2) The flange was 11 1/2 off the wall not the standard 12 inches. Tried to reset 3 times with wax rings, messy and leaks.
Tried this product and it worked like a charm. It compensated for the incorrectly set flange. The toilet has not leaked a drop.
I'm very impressed with this product and I will never use a wax ring again.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>