728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Toilet Parts & Repair or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit

Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit

Sani Seal Toilet Gasket is a revolutionary development in Toilet Bowl-to-Flange sealing that is flexible, wax-less and repositionable. The unique design holds the bolts upright and the gasket in place. The Sani Seal makes installing your toilet extremely quick and easy.
Overall rating:
4.606 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(160 reviews) 160
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product148 of 159reviews
Rating Breakdown 160 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(134)
4
(11)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(10)
Ease of installation 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product148 of 159reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
Review 1 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Buyer beware The warranty on the package clearly states it is for the purchase price only.

PostedJuly 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought this was a great product but beware, it will fail!
I installed this ring on 5/26/15 and on 7/9/15 I noticed water coming up through the seams of the vinyl plank flooring when walking next to the toilet.
When I contacted the company I was told exactly that, "The warranty on the package clearly states it is for the purchase price only". I was also told by them, "not until recently have we heard of a handful of issues with the coating not adhering to the foam."
When this happens it allows the foam core to soak up the dirty water being flushed until it can no longer hold that water and then guess where it ends up. To me this is unacceptable, if my floor had no seams and I was not able to see the water leaking under my floor this could have gone on until much worse had happened.
I would not use this product to prop up a dogs water dish, nor would I put any faith in the company that has told me basically,.... we only tell you that we will cover the cost to replace our product if it fails in our warranty.......so why take that chance. If they don't believe enough in there product to warranty damage why should you???
Here is my failed product.
Cons: Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Akron Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for remodeling.

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
In the middle of remodeling, where I need to pull & reset the toilet everyday. Had been going through a wax ring a day. Did this about 8x before I noticed the Sani Seal hanging next to the wax rings. No more messy, time consuming job of scraping the smashed wax ring everyday. I could have saved a small fortune had I known about this product.
Made another trip to HD to pick another one up for the other toilet.
Truly impressed by such a simple product.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, not messy, saves time
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Wausau, WI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

After a wax ring failed...

PostedJune 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I searched for alternatives to Wax Rings, and found Saniseal...I read through hundreds of reviews on this and other sites, and was really hopeful about this product...I could not believe how easy it was to install. And Plumbing is at the very bottom of the things I like to do. I was so pleased, I am going to replace the wax ring on my other toilet, before it fails. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND the SANISEAL..
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Naples, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This seal was our answer of fearless installation of a toilet.

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My daughter and I watched a TV program about new inventions for the home. This toilet waxless seal was shown and explained. We knew nothing about installing a new toilet, but we decided to do it ourselves. The scary part to us was the wax ring. If you do it wrong...oops it's bad with the wax seal.
The price was a little more for the waxless seal, but it was worth it. Yes, we did not do it perfect the first try or the second try - that would have been 2 wax seals right there. We were able to reposition the toilet with the waxless seal without fear.
What a adventure it was. Two women watching YouTube - how to do it. And we did it! We feel ready now to put in the second toilet. We saved a lot of money doing it ourselves. We probably would have chickened out without the waxless seal.
Don't be afraid...just do it! We give this seal our seal of success.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Greenville, SC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works great, easy to install.

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
After 2 failed, messy attempts to get wax rings and even double wax rings to seal, I found the Sani Seal Toilet Gasket. My PVC toilet flange was approx. 1/8" below concrete surface and the wax rings would not seal properly. The Sani Seal Gasket is very easy to install, and holds the T Bolts in place while you set the toilet over the bolts. The gasket provides a positive seal and no more leaks! Finally after all these decades of messy wax seals that are unreliable someone invented a solution that really works!
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+28points
34out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit

I will never buy a wax ring again

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After having problems setting two toilets, I decided to try the synthetic rings. I liked the feature of being able to reset the toilet if it didn't set the first time. With a wax ring you can't reset once it is deformed. Also, there will NO wax clean up if the ring ever needs to be replaced or the toilet needs to be changed. It cost 3-4 times more (about $3 versus $11) for the ring plus hardware. However, for me $11 is worth avoiding the mess and aggravation of a wax ring. I can understand how someone else will opt for the less expensive wax ring that works. However, once you try it, I believe you might agree this may be the future of toilet rings.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit

Won't work on raised flange

PostedJuly 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Looks like a great product if it fits the application. I tried for an hour to get it to work before I started looking online to find out that this doesn't work if you have a raised flange. Mine raises about 3/4" above the floor and the toilet would just wobble back and forth. I went back to Home Depot and the worker there told me it was the best but it wouldn't work with raised flanges. Wish the product packaging would say that! Got a wax ring and finished the install in 10 minutes.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Williamstown, NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Refuses to leak, even when the best and thickest wax seals have!!

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This seal has provided the best sealing I have ever experienced. With the thicker wax seals I]ve used, I ended up with reduced sewer pipe internal diameter causing a greater tendency to clog the toilet. That hasn't happened with this seal. I have replaced three wax seals with these units and no more clogging events. My new home has smaller toilet drain pipe than standard and still no clogging issues!! It's a tad more expensive, but more than worth every penny and more to me.
Pros: Reliable, No Leaks, no clogs!!!
Cons: no cons!!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from South Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This ring is so easy for us ametures

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I just installed two wax rings that leaked both time. Part of,the problem was to get the wax lined up,correctly without smashing it, and you can not see what the wax ring alignment is.
I found this flexible seal at Home Depot after seeing it on UTube.
This is such a superior product in my opinion to the wax du to the fact it is held in place with the screw studs so you know it's location when seating the heaven toilet and now stickey wax to deal with.
You will not be disappointed with this product , Highly recommended by me.
Wax seals are from the Stone Age
Tom
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit

Better Design, Better Fit, Worth It

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Being my first home, I had never replaced a wax ring before. After I set my new wax ring , I realized the toilet wasn't compressing the ring. I went to the store to find a solution and I discovered this product. I decided to buy two just in case I needed to stack them. I threw out the wax ring and used this product instead. The first seal, which I assumed would have been enough for most toilets, looked like it would have worked, but I used the second for insurance. Being that my toilet sits on ceramic tile that is not even, this product is perfect for the long term. Reason being, a rocky toilet will compress a wax ring which will never spring back to properly seal the toilet. This product will spring back and always keep the seal. In short, this product made the seal replacement project much easier and the design has given me the confidence I won't experience an issue anytime soon. Take it from a beginner, this product is worth the money.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit

Great purchase

PostedJuly 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installation was a snap and there was no leaks. Definitely would recommend this product. I will never use a wax ring again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Bethel Park, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did not work for me

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Due to my flange height (above the finished ceramic tile floor) of 7/16", the ring WOULD NOT COMPRESS enough to allow the toilet base to set flush on the floor. So instead I used a 11/4" wax reinforced ring to complete the installation successfully. There is a very oblique note on the package stating "This product will not work on flanges 7/16" above finished floor". I should have read the package completely before purchasing this 'NO MESS PRODUCT. I would recommend this product if your flange height is within the product requirement of 3/8" above the finished floor.
Pros: Easy to Install
+19points
23out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Commack, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product - as advertised

PostedJuly 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Have use this in several installations. As advertised. Easy to use, re-positionable, no mess.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Hanford, CA 93230, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The best thing since apple pie

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had to repair a wood subfloor due to a leaky toilet which had to dry out a few days before installing the new floor. I also had to leave the toilet for use during this time and then pull and reset it to relay the floor once the repairs were done. Have been in the trades for 35 years and have set hundreds of toilets and Sani Seal is quick, east and clean, it is great!!! I'll never use a wax seal again. I have NEVER endorsed a product before, but this is well worth my time to write.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Clay, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ingenious!

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had to replace a very old toilet, in part due to the old wax ring deteriorating to the point where it partially clogged the bottom hole of it the toilet.
I wanted something that was more than "one use" and would last (seemingly) forever. My hopes were answered with the waxless seal. Not only is it durable, but it installs really easily and I had no leaks the very first time I installed it.
I may be re-finishing the floor in my bathroom, and if I do, I could imagine using this again after some cleaning.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks, multiple uses, Durable
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Gang Mills, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

REusable!

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This product allows you to lift toilet and reuse if needed. Wax seals are only good for one time.
We had adjustments we had to make and had to lift our toilet after getting it set, this seal was no problem doing that and no leaks after!
It takes a little getting used to the 'cushyness' of it but it seals tight. We've had no problems with either one (used upstairs on cork floor and downstairs on concrete).
Very happy with product.
We are homeowners that do our own work in our home, not professionals.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks, adjustable
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit

Flip upside down for inside flange

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed one on an inside flange.
It comes with the circle thing in the middle folded up, unfold that and install it the normal way if installing on an outside flange. Keep it folded up and flip the whole thing over for installation on an inside flange.
When I put the toilet on the sani seal, I was worried it was too thick for the toilet to sit flush with the floor but when I gently tightened the bolts it came down to the floor fine. It is tight for a reason, wont leak that way. Obviously don't overtighten the bolts when they start giving some resistance so you dont break your toilet.
Way better than wax, it wont deteriorate (so you dont have to do maintenance in the first place) and if you do have to move the toilet to maybe install a floor than you dont have to clean up gross wax.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from New York, NY

Good product but installation using provided bolts were tricky

PostedApril 5, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Overall, I was thankful that you don't have to seat the toilet right the first time because I had to do it about 6 times. The problem was with the provided screws (that sit in the flange) and the plastic round clips that keep the screws seated in the flange. A couple of attempts, I missed the holes on the toilet and when I sat the toilet down, the bottom of the toilet would push the screw further down and I wouldn't have enough screw exposed after seating the toilet to bolt it down. Other times, as I was tightening the nuts down, the plastic clips don't keep the screws from twisting themselves and ultimately, the screw would pop out of the flange as it would align with the tracks in the flange. Finally, I just used the old screws and metal clips and all was good. Despite this, it seems like a good product and I certainly would not have liked to have gone through all that with a wax seal (or the many wax seals I would have had to use).
Pros: easy to seat, fits perfectly
Cons: provided bolts were short, bolt clips cheap
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Somerset, MA

No mess. Quick install.

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Product was quickly installed with no messy wax ring. When I was done tightening the closet bolts, I noticed the toilet was slightly askew. No problem. Just loosened the bolts, repositioned the toilet correctly, and retightened the bolts. No leaks and well worth the increase in price versus the wax rings.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Dover, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't work for me!

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The waxless seal didn't work for my application! The closet flange for my toilet bowl was right at 3/8" above the floor which the literature on the waxless seal said it would work on so I tried it and it was to high! The toilet wouldn't tighten down enough to the floor so it would rock back and forth! I had my daughter sit on it (she weighs in at 135lbs) to try and help compress the seal while I tightened down the hardware and that didn't help either! So I ended up getting a wax seal which I had no problem with and cost around $4.00. This might work on a different toilet or if your closet flange doesn't sit up so high? I was installing a Toto Drake bowl model #C744EL #01. So you can go from there! I'll use the wax ring on my next bathroom!
Cons: to thick
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>