728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Toilet Parts & Repair or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit

Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit

Sani Seal Toilet Gasket is a revolutionary development in Toilet Bowl-to-Flange sealing that is flexible, wax-less and repositionable. The unique design holds the bolts upright and the gasket in place. The Sani Seal makes installing your toilet extremely quick and easy.
Overall rating:
4.692 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(91 reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product86 of 90reviews
Rating Breakdown 91 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(79)
4
(6)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(5)
Ease of installation 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product86 of 90reviews
Customer reviews for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
Review 1 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Wausau, WI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

After a wax ring failed...

PostedJune 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I searched for alternatives to Wax Rings, and found Saniseal...I read through hundreds of reviews on this and other sites, and was really hopeful about this product...I could not believe how easy it was to install. And Plumbing is at the very bottom of the things I like to do. I was so pleased, I am going to replace the wax ring on my other toilet, before it fails. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND the SANISEAL..
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit

I will never buy a wax ring again

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After having problems setting two toilets, I decided to try the synthetic rings. I liked the feature of being able to reset the toilet if it didn't set the first time. With a wax ring you can't reset once it is deformed. Also, there will NO wax clean up if the ring ever needs to be replaced or the toilet needs to be changed. It cost 3-4 times more (about $3 versus $11) for the ring plus hardware. However, for me $11 is worth avoiding the mess and aggravation of a wax ring. I can understand how someone else will opt for the less expensive wax ring that works. However, once you try it, I believe you might agree this may be the future of toilet rings.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Norfolk, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What a great product

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A superior product over old style wax rings. Super simple to install even for a first time DIY. I found this product in a YouTube video during the remodeling of my bathroom and had to have it. I was pleasantly suprised that not only was it carried by Home Depot but also that they had several in stock. I actually had the toilet crooked on the first try and was pleased when I took the toilet back off that this product looked like it did when I first put it in place. Got it right on the second try. It's a little more expensive than a regular wax ring. But for an amatuer it saved me a trip to get a new wax ring. I would recommend this to anyone installing a toilet.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Clay, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ingenious!

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had to replace a very old toilet, in part due to the old wax ring deteriorating to the point where it partially clogged the bottom hole of it the toilet.
I wanted something that was more than "one use" and would last (seemingly) forever. My hopes were answered with the waxless seal. Not only is it durable, but it installs really easily and I had no leaks the very first time I installed it.
I may be re-finishing the floor in my bathroom, and if I do, I could imagine using this again after some cleaning.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks, multiple uses, Durable
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Greenville, SC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works great, easy to install.

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After 2 failed, messy attempts to get wax rings and even double wax rings to seal, I found the Sani Seal Toilet Gasket. My PVC toilet flange was approx. 1/8" below concrete surface and the wax rings would not seal properly. The Sani Seal Gasket is very easy to install, and holds the T Bolts in place while you set the toilet over the bolts. The gasket provides a positive seal and no more leaks! Finally after all these decades of messy wax seals that are unreliable someone invented a solution that really works!
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+23points
29out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Bethel Park, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did not work for me

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Due to my flange height (above the finished ceramic tile floor) of 7/16", the ring WOULD NOT COMPRESS enough to allow the toilet base to set flush on the floor. So instead I used a 11/4" wax reinforced ring to complete the installation successfully. There is a very oblique note on the package stating "This product will not work on flanges 7/16" above finished floor". I should have read the package completely before purchasing this 'NO MESS PRODUCT. I would recommend this product if your flange height is within the product requirement of 3/8" above the finished floor.
Pros: Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Western MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finally !!!

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After multiple attempts using the wax ring......This seal saved the day, and possibly a window and marriage. This was in an older home, circa 1952, with the cast flange. The wax rings kept slipping into the opening and would not seal completely. After looking on HD's website I came across this seal and decided to try it. I wish I would have found it earlier. Thank you
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Columbus, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seems to work, stacked two

PostedApril 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Did a new toilet install, put a new flange in as well as what was there was horrible and not sealed. Was about 1/2 inch too low with it sitting below the linoleum. Normally you need a extender/riser, but I had two of these on hand so I stacked two. Seems like a good seal and also added some extra support to the toilet so it doesn't wiggle. Good thing about these is they flex and move with the toilet in case it moves a little.
If you have a new and perfect install, probably don't need this, but for older installs that might not be perfect, I would recommend this product.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Nashville, TN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Much better than wax. Quick and easy

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had to use this when I recently bought a new house. The upstairs bathroom had a toilet that was rocking. When I investigated it the toilet wasn’t actually attached, so I had to remove it and replace the ring. The man at Home Depot, who always helps me in this department and is great, recommended this item and it couldn’t have been easier and I couldn’t have been happier. Super easy to use and you can remove the toilet over and over without having to replace as well.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Middletown CT HD Store
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Waxless Toilet Seal

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Waxless Seal(WL) is the first time I everused this product instead of wax type I have used for decades. The WL fit well attached easily. It is very soft and plyable. The skirt must be unfolded and extended into drain pipe to achieve waste water to flow unincumbered into waste pipeline.
I am giving it a try. Hopefully product material will remain plyable and not deteriate. Its design depnds on gravity to vector waste water into waste pipline. If the wastepipline would plug and back up I question the water tightness as the WL depends on gravity and its length ending below the mating surface of the bottom of the toilet bowl.
Pros: Easy to Install, allows mutiple trial fittings
Cons: instructions need interpretatioon
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Somerset, MA

No mess. Quick install.

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product was quickly installed with no messy wax ring. When I was done tightening the closet bolts, I noticed the toilet was slightly askew. No problem. Just loosened the bolts, repositioned the toilet correctly, and retightened the bolts. No leaks and well worth the increase in price versus the wax rings.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Gang Mills, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

REusable!

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product allows you to lift toilet and reuse if needed. Wax seals are only good for one time.
We had adjustments we had to make and had to lift our toilet after getting it set, this seal was no problem doing that and no leaks after!
It takes a little getting used to the 'cushyness' of it but it seals tight. We've had no problems with either one (used upstairs on cork floor and downstairs on concrete).
Very happy with product.
We are homeowners that do our own work in our home, not professionals.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks, adjustable
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Pinole, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing!

PostedJune 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Replacing a toilet just went from very difficult to very easy. In the past the toilet needed to be lifted, carried and placed on the flange perfectly in one operation. Rest on the way and you chanced messing up the wax ring. Get hung up on a bolt and you risked ruining the wax ring. Now I place the toilet upright on a rug directly in front of the flange. Then I stand over it and lift it over the bolts. It really helps to have the bolts going through this donut; I also suggest painting the top of the bolts with whiteout for better visibility. But even if the toilet hangs up on one or two of the bolts, it is not a problem. This donut stays in place and does not get messed up, even if you have a flange problem and need to install it twice.
This donut is semi-hidden among the wax rings at my local store. It should be placed where everyone will see it. It is so simple and so perfect.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit

Great product!

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It is an innovative way to avoid continual wax ring replacement, especially in a rental unit.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I hate to admit I really love this!

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ok, I don't know who invented this but I will say, EASY, CLEAN, NO MESS OMG! I replaced an old toilet and think the wax rings are garbage, they are dirty, they smell and just isn't the easiest to work with. So, after reading the ratings and truthfully there wasn't much of a cost difference, I decided to go for it. It made installation a breeze on the new toilet, I did clean all the old wax off, YUCK! Major gross. Put the new screws in, dropped the piece into place, made sure to extend the sleeve, put the new toilet on, no muss no fuss. Unbelievable! When I installed a different toilet a couple of years ago, I spent more time screwing around with that wax ring than the entire installation. So,all I can say is that it is worth the couple extra dollars and simplify your life!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Alpena, Michigan
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A little expensive

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to install, especially by yourself. No longer have to worry about destroying the wax ring doing a solo install. I do wonder how long this material will last it is a neoprene type material.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from New York
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a Drop!!!!

PostedApril 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Contractor remodeled my bathroom, the toilet worked for a couple of years and then it leaked from the base. When I took toilet off the flange I found out the the following issues: 1) Flange was below the ceramic tile 2) The flange was 11 1/2 off the wall not the standard 12 inches. Tried to reset 3 times with wax rings, messy and leaks.
Tried this product and it worked like a charm. It compensated for the incorrectly set flange. The toilet has not leaked a drop.
I'm very impressed with this product and I will never use a wax ring again.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Salem, NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm a first time home owner and was kinda scared of trying to swap seals myself, but with guidance and advice from Home Depot it was no problem
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from la grange, illinois
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great new product

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is superioir to wax rings which eventyally leak. It was faster and easier to install than a wax ring. It is foolproof to install and cleaner than a wax ring. I have used it in my house and in a rental unit. I will never consider a wax ring again
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Anderson, IN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Why did it take so long?

PostedApril 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Why did it take so long for someone to solve this problem? Gone is the messy wax that has to be scraped off of the toilet and the flange. In it's place is a clean, resilient, re-usable polymeric gasket that allows for the toilet to be pulled numerous times with no mess, no scraping, and no emergency trips to the hardware store. Brilliant!!!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>