728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Toilet Parts & Repair or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit

Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit

Sani Seal Toilet Gasket is a revolutionary development in Toilet Bowl-to-Flange sealing that is flexible, wax-less and repositionable. The unique design holds the bolts upright and the gasket in place. The Sani Seal makes installing your toilet extremely quick and easy.
Overall rating:
4.632 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(114 reviews) 114
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product105 of 113reviews
Rating Breakdown 114 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(96)
4
(8)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(6)
Ease of installation 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product105 of 113reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
Review 1 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Wausau, WI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

After a wax ring failed...

PostedJune 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I searched for alternatives to Wax Rings, and found Saniseal...I read through hundreds of reviews on this and other sites, and was really hopeful about this product...I could not believe how easy it was to install. And Plumbing is at the very bottom of the things I like to do. I was so pleased, I am going to replace the wax ring on my other toilet, before it fails. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND the SANISEAL..
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Akron Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for remodeling.

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
In the middle of remodeling, where I need to pull & reset the toilet everyday. Had been going through a wax ring a day. Did this about 8x before I noticed the Sani Seal hanging next to the wax rings. No more messy, time consuming job of scraping the smashed wax ring everyday. I could have saved a small fortune had I known about this product.
Made another trip to HD to pick another one up for the other toilet.
Truly impressed by such a simple product.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, not messy, saves time
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit

I will never buy a wax ring again

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After having problems setting two toilets, I decided to try the synthetic rings. I liked the feature of being able to reset the toilet if it didn't set the first time. With a wax ring you can't reset once it is deformed. Also, there will NO wax clean up if the ring ever needs to be replaced or the toilet needs to be changed. It cost 3-4 times more (about $3 versus $11) for the ring plus hardware. However, for me $11 is worth avoiding the mess and aggravation of a wax ring. I can understand how someone else will opt for the less expensive wax ring that works. However, once you try it, I believe you might agree this may be the future of toilet rings.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Bethel Park, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did not work for me

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Due to my flange height (above the finished ceramic tile floor) of 7/16", the ring WOULD NOT COMPRESS enough to allow the toilet base to set flush on the floor. So instead I used a 11/4" wax reinforced ring to complete the installation successfully. There is a very oblique note on the package stating "This product will not work on flanges 7/16" above finished floor". I should have read the package completely before purchasing this 'NO MESS PRODUCT. I would recommend this product if your flange height is within the product requirement of 3/8" above the finished floor.
Pros: Easy to Install
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Greenville, SC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works great, easy to install.

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After 2 failed, messy attempts to get wax rings and even double wax rings to seal, I found the Sani Seal Toilet Gasket. My PVC toilet flange was approx. 1/8" below concrete surface and the wax rings would not seal properly. The Sani Seal Gasket is very easy to install, and holds the T Bolts in place while you set the toilet over the bolts. The gasket provides a positive seal and no more leaks! Finally after all these decades of messy wax seals that are unreliable someone invented a solution that really works!
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+24points
30out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit

Flip upside down for inside flange

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed one on an inside flange.
It comes with the circle thing in the middle folded up, unfold that and install it the normal way if installing on an outside flange. Keep it folded up and flip the whole thing over for installation on an inside flange.
When I put the toilet on the sani seal, I was worried it was too thick for the toilet to sit flush with the floor but when I gently tightened the bolts it came down to the floor fine. It is tight for a reason, wont leak that way. Obviously don't overtighten the bolts when they start giving some resistance so you dont break your toilet.
Way better than wax, it wont deteriorate (so you dont have to do maintenance in the first place) and if you do have to move the toilet to maybe install a floor than you dont have to clean up gross wax.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Buffalo, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Trying something new

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I wanted to try one of these after seeing them advertised. I bought a new toilet and bought one to try it out. The wax is always messy when you have to replace a toilet. This is a much cleaner alternative to the wax ring. It holds the bolts in place while lowering the toilet. My biggest concern was that this ring was to thick and would not compress down enough to keep the toilet from rocking. This was not a problem. You may have to ask yourself if the price of this ring is worth the price compared to wax on something you do not replace that often. The next person who replaces my toilet will be happy not to have deal with the mess of wax.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Clay, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ingenious!

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had to replace a very old toilet, in part due to the old wax ring deteriorating to the point where it partially clogged the bottom hole of it the toilet.
I wanted something that was more than "one use" and would last (seemingly) forever. My hopes were answered with the waxless seal. Not only is it durable, but it installs really easily and I had no leaks the very first time I installed it.
I may be re-finishing the floor in my bathroom, and if I do, I could imagine using this again after some cleaning.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks, multiple uses, Durable
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from inkster, Mi
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

One of the biggest improvements in plumbing

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was much easier than the old fashioned wax ring and if you make a mistake you don't have to start with a new one.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from vancouver wa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

both plumbers i consulted do not like product

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this after destroying 2 wax rings trying to reinstall the toilet myself. then i realized that the flange on the floor was broken beyond my abilities and had to call a plumber. first plumber did not have time, second plumber came to fix. Both plumbers said they do not use this ring and only use the wax ring because the wax ring works and this one fails. based on their experience I would not use again. however i did not have a chance to use it so I cannot report on the actual efficacy. Plumber had me buy a wax ring for him to use.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Dover, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't work for me!

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The waxless seal didn't work for my application! The closet flange for my toilet bowl was right at 3/8" above the floor which the literature on the waxless seal said it would work on so I tried it and it was to high! The toilet wouldn't tighten down enough to the floor so it would rock back and forth! I had my daughter sit on it (she weighs in at 135lbs) to try and help compress the seal while I tightened down the hardware and that didn't help either! So I ended up getting a wax seal which I had no problem with and cost around $4.00. This might work on a different toilet or if your closet flange doesn't sit up so high? I was installing a Toto Drake bowl model #C744EL #01. So you can go from there! I'll use the wax ring on my next bathroom!
Cons: to thick
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Gang Mills, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

REusable!

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product allows you to lift toilet and reuse if needed. Wax seals are only good for one time.
We had adjustments we had to make and had to lift our toilet after getting it set, this seal was no problem doing that and no leaks after!
It takes a little getting used to the 'cushyness' of it but it seals tight. We've had no problems with either one (used upstairs on cork floor and downstairs on concrete).
Very happy with product.
We are homeowners that do our own work in our home, not professionals.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks, adjustable
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Middletown CT HD Store
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Waxless Toilet Seal

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Waxless Seal(WL) is the first time I everused this product instead of wax type I have used for decades. The WL fit well attached easily. It is very soft and plyable. The skirt must be unfolded and extended into drain pipe to achieve waste water to flow unincumbered into waste pipeline.
I am giving it a try. Hopefully product material will remain plyable and not deteriate. Its design depnds on gravity to vector waste water into waste pipline. If the wastepipline would plug and back up I question the water tightness as the WL depends on gravity and its length ending below the mating surface of the bottom of the toilet bowl.
Pros: Easy to Install, allows mutiple trial fittings
Cons: instructions need interpretatioon
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice to reposition the toilet without replacing the ring.

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this item after I replaced a wax seal with another wax seal which I ruined when I had to reposition the toilet. Iwas able to reposition the toilet with this ring without any problem and there was no cleanup of the wax before I had to reinstall another wax ring. It's been in a month and working fine. Can't comment on longevity, but like the idea that I can remove the toilet and reuse the ring if necessary.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Columbus, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seems to work, stacked two

PostedApril 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Did a new toilet install, put a new flange in as well as what was there was horrible and not sealed. Was about 1/2 inch too low with it sitting below the linoleum. Normally you need a extender/riser, but I had two of these on hand so I stacked two. Seems like a good seal and also added some extra support to the toilet so it doesn't wiggle. Good thing about these is they flex and move with the toilet in case it moves a little.
If you have a new and perfect install, probably don't need this, but for older installs that might not be perfect, I would recommend this product.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Somerset, MA

No mess. Quick install.

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product was quickly installed with no messy wax ring. When I was done tightening the closet bolts, I noticed the toilet was slightly askew. No problem. Just loosened the bolts, repositioned the toilet correctly, and retightened the bolts. No leaks and well worth the increase in price versus the wax rings.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Norfolk, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What a great product

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A superior product over old style wax rings. Super simple to install even for a first time DIY. I found this product in a YouTube video during the remodeling of my bathroom and had to have it. I was pleasantly suprised that not only was it carried by Home Depot but also that they had several in stock. I actually had the toilet crooked on the first try and was pleased when I took the toilet back off that this product looked like it did when I first put it in place. Got it right on the second try. It's a little more expensive than a regular wax ring. But for an amatuer it saved me a trip to get a new wax ring. I would recommend this to anyone installing a toilet.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Colorado Springs
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to Install - Better Seal

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After getting all of the wax removed from the old ring, this product was so easy to install and it sealed places that the wax ring never touched! I would strongly recommend this product to anyone who wants to make sure they don't have to remove that toilet again! :-)
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Western MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finally !!!

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After multiple attempts using the wax ring......This seal saved the day, and possibly a window and marriage. This was in an older home, circa 1952, with the cast flange. The wax rings kept slipping into the opening and would not seal completely. After looking on HD's website I came across this seal and decided to try it. I wish I would have found it earlier. Thank you
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Toilet Gasket Flexible Waxless Seal - Universal Fit
from Schofield, Wisconsin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Toilet replacement with new seal completed in MINUTES!

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'd never replaced a toilet before and I'd read many horror stories about "setting" the fixture properly on a wax ring. Then I heard about the Sani Seal gasket. I immediately ordered two (I didn't know what my flange looked like below the old toilet prior to pulling everything apart). I was amazed at the ease in which I was able to set the new toilet!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>