728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Refrigerator Water Filters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

This HDX replacement refrigerator water filter fits in place of GE MWF contains a compressed carbon block which provides tremendous capacity to remove and/or reduce impurities and sediment that may be present in your drinking water. The carbon block has millions of active sites on its surface and within the structure which can absorb impurities like a sponge, and can absorb and hold other types of impurities on its surface like a magnet. Additionally, this filter can catalytically breakdown other impurities very similar to the way a catalytic converter works in your automobile. These processes ensure that you are getting the cleanest and best tasting water possible. This economical filter will provide you with fresh and clean tasting water and ice cubes. Twin Value pack saves time and money.
Overall rating:
3.982 / 5
4
 / 
5
(110 reviews) 110
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product83 of 106reviews
Rating Breakdown 110 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(62)
4
(22)
3
(5)
2
(4)
1
(17)
Features 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product83 of 106reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
Review 21 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from washington
Age Range:65 or over
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to instal

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
that is all that I can say.the filter went into its orifice just like the other filters that I HAVE BEEN using for the past four years.I do not know how long that it will be effective because this is the first time that I have sues the product.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Lady Lake, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The price for these are 1/2 the price of the GE brand.

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought 2 of these for the price they wanted for the GE brand filter. Very easy to install. 1/4 turn and pull down and your old filter is out and you are ready to install your new filter. Outstanding value..
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, best value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Chesapeake, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great buy for the price.

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install and ready to use in seconds. Save money on water bottles.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

Filter Review

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Delivered quickly and installed fine on our GE fridge.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from White Lake, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

2 for the price of 1

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Two of Home Depot's filters for the price of one GE. Works great, no issues.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good quality and value. More consideration of connections will be the best
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from New London, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best filter ever!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install. Inexpensive. Now I have clean cold water.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Omaha, NE

Reasonably priced replacement

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After a long search for a replacement refrigerator water filter, I found this HDX replacement. It works the same as the factory original and costs half as much. Finally, the filter is priced right!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Pittsburgh
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Great Price

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Without access to a lab to test the purity of the water, it is impossible to give the product a rating outside of price. And at half the price of GE, I give it 5 stars based on value.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 30 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Casselberry, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Same Quality as OEM, half the price

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this HDX 2-pack of filters for the same price as ONE from GE; appears to be of identical quality - and was even honored for the 25% rebate on filters that comes from the extended warranty (from a GE subsidiary) on my GE refrigerator. We've used it for a month with no discernible difference, and stored the second one for 6 months out. (The GE refrigerator manual of course has a foreboding warning that they can't vouch for the performance of off-brand filters since they haven't tested them. That idea went out of style for auto parts about 1956.)
Pros: High Quality, Easy to Install, advertised as functional equivalent of oem filter, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Fort Collins, CO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Piece of Junk

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this 2 pack, which was the same price as a single GE filter, hoping to save money. Well as the saying goes 'you get what you pay for'. It installed easily & I ran the correct amount of water thru to try & get rid of air pockets in the water line, but it never cleared and after dispensing water into our cups our dispenser now leaks significantly after you stop. I will never purchase this product again.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Sellersville, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Refrigerator Water Filters

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the second time I am purchasing this item.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

Great water filters

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
They are HDX Brand But do the same as GE filters. This is why I bought these.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 34 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Trevor, WI 53179, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works well dont see the need to buiy a 2 pack unless you have 2 identical refrigerators

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
easy to install really didn't need to buy a 2 pack, filters are quite expensive to have laying around especially when I have a ro water system and wont need to change very often
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: have to buy a 2 pack expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Phila

Not so good

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Picked these up as they were a good deal, same price as GE brand but you get two. Installed the HDX and ran 3 gallons of water as per the instructions and the water leaked ( slow drip) at the dispenser. Will return and buy the GE brand.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 36 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from West Caldwell, NJ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good GE alternative

PostedJune 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install. Much cheaper than GE filters. After installing the new filter I could taste the filtered water difference.
Pros: Easy to Install, affordable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Kentucky, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Water flow reduced by 1/2 vs GE filter

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
New filter fit fine but water flow was only about 1/2 the flow out of the GE filter. Returned to store and purchased GE filter. Thought I could save some money but I guess as usual you get what you pay for.
Cons: reduced water flowt
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 38 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Ft. Myers, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

AWESOME FILTER. PEOPLE PLEASE READ INSULATION GUIDE BEFORE GIVING LOW REVIEWS.

PostedApril 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Come on people, either read, or if you cant, have someone read to you, the insulation guide. Almost all the 1 and 2 star reviews are covered with fixes in the guide. If you install either brand of filter wrong you will have same issues with the filters. Product comes with two sets of instructions. Very easy to install, it only took about 8 minutes to flush 7 64oz pitchers of water (3.5 Gallons) through filter. Water tastes AWESOME. Makes me wonder if competitor water filter company is writing bad reviews, so as to sell more of theirs at double the price!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, half the price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from St augustine, FL
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Only good feature is easy installation

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The filter makes the water taste like plastic. We did not get this from the named brand we purchased from another like store. Very disappointed, we bought two now we are stuck with a bad product. Think HD should refund out money and see if we can get a MFG brand we purchased in the past. Will never buy this product brand again.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: makes the water taste like plastic
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 40 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Winston-Salem, NC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install. Water tastes great!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I didn't have any problems installing it. The instructions were concise but detailed enough. The water tastes great. I feel it's comparable to the manufacturer filters.
Pros: High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 >>