728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Refrigerator Water Filters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

This HDX replacement refrigerator water filter fits in place of GE MWF contains a compressed carbon block which provides tremendous capacity to remove and/or reduce impurities and sediment that may be present in your drinking water. The carbon block has millions of active sites on its surface and within the structure which can absorb impurities like a sponge, and can absorb and hold other types of impurities on its surface like a magnet. Additionally, this filter can catalytically breakdown other impurities very similar to the way a catalytic converter works in your automobile. These processes ensure that you are getting the cleanest and best tasting water possible. This economical filter will provide you with fresh and clean tasting water and ice cubes. Twin Value pack saves time and money.
Overall rating:
3.975 / 5
4
 / 
5
(118 reviews) 118
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product89 of 114reviews
Rating Breakdown 118 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(67)
4
(23)
3
(5)
2
(4)
1
(19)
Features 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product89 of 114reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
Review 21 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

Descent filters, not great though.

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Filters seem to do the job, and at a much cheaper price. However, there is a distinct aftertaste of plastic and chlorine. Neither of which were the case with the original filter. I will probably use these ones from Home Depot until they go bad and then switch back to the GE ones.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Asheville, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic deal

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just like name brand, except getting two for the price of one. Excellent product...
Pros: High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Hamilton, NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great price

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Last time I bought the GE brand which was over $40. Now I can get two for the same or less price. Works well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

A knock off

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got this product instead of the MWF after some selling from the HD store person. Its all the same as the MWF and less price. At that time it was $39 and the MWF was $49, I said hey save myself $10. It turned out to be a knock off. I noticed first that every couple of minutes one would hear the sound of water passing through the pipe in the fridge. Then after a couple of weeks a loud rattling sound in the filter of fridge. I though, we have to call a GE fridge guy for $150?? I decided to remove the HDX product and went and bought the GE original MWF. Big difference. I see that HD has raised the price of their product to the same as the MWF? Well you don't have any excuse, get the original. Even if this product was free, I would advise you skip it before you are paying $150 for a technician visit.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Boston, MA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product. Works as described.

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
works as described, at least at the level that I can tell (it is a filter, cannot see everything)
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Peoria,AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cost saving

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I usually purchase the GE water filter, which is very expensive, but this product is The same filter for much less money. I would definitely buy this again.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Rio Rancho, NM, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

FMG replacement filter for GE refrigerator

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the filter was easy to install, no problem. will continue to utilize
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from washington
Age Range:65 or over
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to instal

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
that is all that I can say.the filter went into its orifice just like the other filters that I HAVE BEEN using for the past four years.I do not know how long that it will be effective because this is the first time that I have sues the product.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great purchase

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great filter! The filter brings good tasty water to my fridge.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Lady Lake, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The price for these are 1/2 the price of the GE brand.

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought 2 of these for the price they wanted for the GE brand filter. Very easy to install. 1/4 turn and pull down and your old filter is out and you are ready to install your new filter. Outstanding value..
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, best value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Chesapeake, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great buy for the price.

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install and ready to use in seconds. Save money on water bottles.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

Filter Review

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Delivered quickly and installed fine on our GE fridge.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from White Lake, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

2 for the price of 1

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Two of Home Depot's filters for the price of one GE. Works great, no issues.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Kentucky, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Water flow reduced by 1/2 vs GE filter

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
New filter fit fine but water flow was only about 1/2 the flow out of the GE filter. Returned to store and purchased GE filter. Thought I could save some money but I guess as usual you get what you pay for.
Cons: reduced water flowt
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 35 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Pittsburgh
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Great Price

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Without access to a lab to test the purity of the water, it is impossible to give the product a rating outside of price. And at half the price of GE, I give it 5 stars based on value.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 36 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good quality and value. More consideration of connections will be the best
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Fort Collins, CO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Piece of Junk

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this 2 pack, which was the same price as a single GE filter, hoping to save money. Well as the saying goes 'you get what you pay for'. It installed easily & I ran the correct amount of water thru to try & get rid of air pockets in the water line, but it never cleared and after dispensing water into our cups our dispenser now leaks significantly after you stop. I will never purchase this product again.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 38 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from New London, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best filter ever!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install. Inexpensive. Now I have clean cold water.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Phila

Not so good

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Picked these up as they were a good deal, same price as GE brand but you get two. Installed the HDX and ran 3 gallons of water as per the instructions and the water leaked ( slow drip) at the dispenser. Will return and buy the GE brand.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 40 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Omaha, NE

Reasonably priced replacement

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After a long search for a replacement refrigerator water filter, I found this HDX replacement. It works the same as the factory original and costs half as much. Finally, the filter is priced right!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 >>