728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Refrigerator Water Filters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

This HDX replacement refrigerator water filter fits in place of GE MWF contains a compressed carbon block which provides tremendous capacity to remove and/or reduce impurities and sediment that may be present in your drinking water. The carbon block has millions of active sites on its surface and within the structure which can absorb impurities like a sponge, and can absorb and hold other types of impurities on its surface like a magnet. Additionally, this filter can catalytically breakdown other impurities very similar to the way a catalytic converter works in your automobile. These processes ensure that you are getting the cleanest and best tasting water possible. This economical filter will provide you with fresh and clean tasting water and ice cubes. Twin Value pack saves time and money.
Overall rating:
4.006 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(162 reviews) 162
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product123 of 158reviews
Rating Breakdown 162 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(92)
4
(33)
3
(6)
2
(8)
1
(23)
Features 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product123 of 158reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer reviews for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
Review 21 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from manteca, ca
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Funny taste

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
There was a funny taste in the water for quite a while.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015
Hi Jayy,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you are experiencing a funny taste in your water that may not be up to your standards. We would recommend you to flush about 2.5 to 3 gallons of water to eliminate any funny taste in your water. If that doesn't seem to help with the taste, I would suggest to try the second filter in the value pack that you purchased and hope that you experience better results. If you do or do not not experience better results with the second filter, we would really like to speak to you by calling into our Customer Service Line at 1-855-849-3589 Monday thru Friday 8am to 5pm PST so that we can assist you further.
Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 22 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Minden, LA.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

wonderful Product

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The water replacement filters are really good. I was pleasantly surprised at the way it works to efficiently filter the water in my refrigerator. The price is is best of all; to be able to get a working item at such a great price was wonderful. I even shared the second filter with my daughter who also needed to change at that time. She loves it as well. The Home Depot Brand Water filter is as good as the GE brand. Thanks Home Depot for the savings.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015
Hi Bobb,
Thank you for sharing your experience with other consumers on this website by writing a review. We appreciate the time you took to write this.I am glad to hear that not only were you satisfied with product overall, but we are also pleased to hear that you shared the second filter with your daughter. We hope that you both will continue to use the HDX brand filters and have success using them. If you ever experience any difficulties, please feel free to contact our Customer Service Team Monday thru Friday 8am to 5pm PST at 1-855-849-3589. Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 23 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Thomasville, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Less expense, same results!

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
works the same as more expensive reccomende filter from GE
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015
Hi Jim, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad to hear that our water filter as met your expectations. If you have any questions, or experience any difficulties, Please do not hesitate to give our customer service team a call at 1-855-849-3589 Monday thru Friday 8 am to 5pm PST.
Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 24 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from ROANOKE VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

SAVED $ BY PURCHASING 2 PACK!

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I discussed with the employee if I should purchase the GE brand. He informed me this was the same and half the price. He showed me the price for the two pack and I would save even more $. Save $..Sounds good to me! The light was on for several months for me to change the filter. I just keep pressing the button as if I had changed it and I hadn't. I changed the one last time and I think I may have broken the Fridge. I had to buy a new Fridge shortly there after. I think I should have turned the water off before changing. Well we did this time.....I had my then fiance now husband do it and it was pretty simple. No problems. Last time when I did it, I heard a loud bang and the Fridge never worked the same after that. So.....turn the water to the Fridge off before changing the filter....save you a lot of headache. Some people may know to do that but I didn't at the time. Looks like it should be changed every 6 months. My Fridge has a little light that tells me when it's time. We put the second in the storage closet so we are ready when the little light comes on......
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015
Hi JJM2015,

Thank you for your review and we appreciate your feedback. We are always glad to hear positive experiences from the consumers. Please remember that you will have to manually resit your refrigerator filter light each time you change your filter. After 6 months, the light will appear letting you know it is time to replace your filter. We hope that you continue to use our filters without any issues. If you ever need assistance with your filter, please feel free to contact our Customer Service Team at 1-855-849-3589 Monday Thru Friday 8am to 5pm PST. Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 25 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Syracuse,NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ez water filters

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Replacement cartridge installed quickly and easily. Done in less than 60 seconds.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015
Hi ZazuPitts,

Thank you for taking the time to review these filters. We are glad to hear that you have had success with the filters. We hope that you continue to have great results and continue to use our HDX brand of filters. If you have any questions in regards to your filter, please feel free to contact our Customer Service Team Monday Thru Friday 7am to 5pm PST. We would be happy to assist you with the filter. Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015
Hi ZazuPitts,

Thank you for taking the time to review these filters. We are glad to hear that you have had success with the filters. We hope that you continue to have great results and continue to use our HDX brand of filters. If you have any questions in regards to your filter, please feel free to contact our Customer Service Team Monday Thru Friday 7am to 5pm PST. We would be happy to assist you with the filter. Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 26 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Wilbur-By-The-Sea, FL 32127, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

filters

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
great price for product. Keep it coming. No problem installing. It just works.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015
Hi langstonha,

Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear that you have been satisfied with the HDX Brand water filters. If you have any additional questions are need assistance with your filter, please feel free to contact our Customer Service Team at 1-855-849-3589 Monday thru Friday 8am to 5pm PST. We are always happy to help.
Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015
Hi langstonha,

Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear that you have been satisfied with the HDX Brand water filters. If you have any additional questions are need assistance with your filter, please feel free to contact our Customer Service Team at 1-855-849-3589 Monday thru Friday 8am to 5pm PST. We are always happy to help.
Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 27 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Costa Mesa, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Filter Failed to work, but Home Depot backed up the product.

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this filter as an alternative to the high priced GE filter and it seemed to work well. I bought a twin pack but when installed it did not pass any water. I tried the second filter and it to did not work. After multiple calls to the filter manufacture, and other attempts at trouble shooting, I had a repair guy come out, thinking that it would be unlikely that two filters would fail after others had worked. He put a GE filter on and everything started working again. I no longer use any of the cheaper alternatives and only GE filters.
I took my receipts to HD and they refunded my money and gave me a new GE filter free of charge. This did not cover my total outlay, but it shows HD is will to work with their customers.
Pros: low cost
Cons: did not work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 21, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 21, 2015
Hi Hotch46,
We apologize for the time needed to get the filter working. Thank you for calling customer service to review the problem. Where there are times the initial flow rate on a filter is low, typically these are corrected through flushing the filter and then possibly letting it sit overnight. Through our quality department we have seen in some cases as much as a 20% increase in flow rate as the carbon block wets out overnight. This is due to air that gets trapped within the tight carbon block. Once this trapped air is purged the water has more flow capability through the filter.
We hope you try the HDX brand again. If you have additional questions, please feel free to call our Customer Service Team Monday thru Friday 8am to 5pm at 1-855-849-3589.

Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 28 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Zephyrhills, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Inexpensive filters

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This twin pack costs less than one of the GE branded filters. These work just as well.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015
HI LW3147,

Thank you for taking the time to review these filters. We hope that you continue to be satisfied with the HDX brand of filters. If you happen to have any questions, please feel free to contact our Customer Service Team at 1-855-849-3589 Monday thru Friday 8am to 5pm PST.
Thank you, Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 29 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Northern VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

significantly lower water flow

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installed when Home Depot didn't have GE MWF filters in stock. The water flow is at best 60% of what it was after years of using GE OEM filters. Plan to have plenty of time to fill a water bottle! I'm going to pull this and return for a GE filter.
Also...the unit is substantially lighter, not sure what's missing but I noticed HDx only claims to filter chlorine, oders, sediment and bad tastes, whereas the GE unit claims cysts, metals, etc.
Otherwise fit fine--no leaks. But the low flow is beyond frustrating
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: very low water flow
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 20, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 20, 2015
Brad,
Thank you for your review. The Initial flow rate for the filter may be a little lower until the carbon filter is fully wetted out. Typically once the filter is installed and the start up flushing is completed if the filter is allowed to sit overnight you will see an increase in flow rate. Again, this is due to trapped air that is caught up in the carbon block that prevents full flow of the water. Once these air pockets are rinsed out the filter will experience increased flow. We hope this will resolve the low flow that you are experiencing. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you. If this does not seem to resolve the flow rate, please contact our Customer Service Team at 1-855-849-3589 Monday thru Friday 8 am to 5 pm PST. We use less plastic when manufacturing the water filters which is why there is a difference in the weight of the filters. Our HDX brand filters are currently only tested to NSF Standard 42 which reduces chlorine taste and odor. We are however in the process to being certified to NSF Standard 53 which is a long and extensive process and until we receive the certification, we are unable to make those same claims as the OEM. We hope to be able to make those same certifications soon. We are however in compliance to Prob 65 which is a requirement from the state of California as these filters are Manufactured in Southern California.

Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 30 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

Filters

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
They work great and a great value compared to the GE brand
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015
Hi Rford,
Thank you for taking the time to review these filters. We are pleased to hear that you have compared them to have a better value to the OEM brand and that they work great. If you experience any difficulties, please feel free to contact our Customer Service Team at 1-855-849-3589 Monday thru Friday 8am to 5pm PST. We hope that you continue to purchase these HDX brand filters and can recommend them to others.
Thank you Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 31 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

bang for the buck?

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Thus filter has a nsf of 42 the ge mwf has a nsf of 42 and 53. Both filters are of the carbon block technology as far as i can tell both filters should be the same.
Why does the HDX not have the same nsf 53 rating, maybe that means it has not been certified by the nsf yet.
Im not privy to the inner workings of companys and institutions so I will trust my belief in the carbon block process.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015
Hi Mike,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the HDX FMG-1 water filter. We are pleased to hear that you are satisfied with the performance and the value of the filter. In regards to the NSF rating, you are correct, the HDX FMG-1 filter has not been certified just yet although we are in the process of obtaining the certification. Once it is received, we will be able to place that NSF rating on the packaging as well. The HDX brand of water filter does indeed use the same carbon block technology. We hope that you continue to experience great results and continue to use the HDX brand of water filters for years to come. If you have any questions or difficulties regarding your filter, please feel free to contact our Customer Service Team at 1-855-849-3589 8am to 5pm PST.
Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015
Hi Mike,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the HDX FMG-1 water filter. We are pleased to hear that you are satisfied with the performance and the value of the filter. In regards to the NSF rating, you are correct, the HDX FMG-1 filter has not been certified just yet although we are in the process of obtaining the certification. Once it is received, we will be able to place that NSF rating on the packaging as well. The HDX brand of water filter does indeed use the same carbon block technology. We hope that you continue to experience great results and continue to use the HDX brand of water filters for years to come. If you have any questions or difficulties regarding your filter, please feel free to contact our Customer Service Team at 1-855-849-3589 8am to 5pm PST.
Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 32 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

2 FOR 1 was a great price

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This item was priced at 2 for the price of one. I normally only buy the Genuine GE parts, but I could not resist this special pricing for these filters. Haven't used them yet, just waiting for the unit to flash & let me know that it's time to replace the filter. Very good price on such a necessary item.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015
Hi Cathy,

Thank you for taking the time to review the HDX FMG-1 filter. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the value that you received by purchasing these filters. We hope that you experience great results when it comes time to replace your filter. If you have any difficulties during installation, please feel free to contact our Customer Service Team at 1-855-849-3589 between 8am to 5pm PST. We are here to assist you. Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 33 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good alternative, better price

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These filters work every bit as well at the manufacture's filters and the price is much better. They last just as long, and fit perfectly. It's just like buying generic medication...works just as well at less cost. Just remember to line up the black triangle on the filter with the triangle on the filter housing when installing.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015
Hi Steve,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we truly appreciate it. We are glad to hear that the HDX FMG-1 water filter has met your expectations and you can compare them to fit and work just as well as the OEM. We hope that you continue to experience great results. If you have any questions regarding the filter, please feel free to contact our Customer Service Team at 1-855-849-3589 8am to 5pm PST. We would be happy to answer any questions and assist you with your filter.
Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 34 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Corpus Christi, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

poor filter for Corpus Christi water, one that came with frig was great

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Filter was easy to install, but failed to filter the water compared to the filter that came with the GE refrigerator. After one week we took it out and replaced it with a GE filter. The GE filter worked. The FMG was half the price but after one week it was in the trash, so not a good buy.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: did not filter
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 21, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 21, 2015
Kiteboarder,
Thank you for your review. We are surprised to hear this as the HDX filter has worked extremely well throughout Texas.Using only high quality coconut shell carbon in conjunction with patented metal absorption media, the filter provides superior filtration for a very broad spectrum of water chemistry. We are sorry to hear that you we not satisfied with our filter. We hope that you would consider giving this HDX FMG-1 filter another try. We would like for you to contact our Customer Service Team Monday Thru Friday 8am to 5pm PST so that we can get additional details if you wouldn't mind taking the time to do so. We appreciate your feedback and your review.
Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 35 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works same as the original GE product at a much better price.

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Performed as expected. Will purchase again as needed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015
Hi Pam1,

Thank you for the review. We appreciate that you have taken the time to write this review that will assist other consumers possibly interested in purchasing this filter. We are pleased to hear that the HDX FMG-1 filter met your expectations and that you have decided to purchase these filters in the future as needed. If you experience any difficulties with the filters, please feel free to contact our Customer Service Team at 1-855-849-3589 Monday thru Friday 8am to 5pm PST.

Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 36 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Highlands Ranch, CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Should have read reviews first.

PostedDecember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Sure, the price is half of an original GE, but the water flow is also about half of the original GE! I'll be returning the two-pack to Home Depot for a refund.
Cons: poor value, weak water flow
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 20, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 20, 2015
Hi Jim,

Thank you for the time you took to write this review. The initial flow rate for the filter may be a little lower until the carbon filter inside is fully wetted out. Typically once the filter is installed and the start up flushing is completed if the filter is allowed to sit overnight you will see an increase in the flow rate. Again, this is due to trapped air that us caught up in the carbon block that prevents full flow of the water. We normally recommend running about 2.5 to 3 gallons of water through the filter. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced with our filter and we hope that you will still consider using our filter again. We would like for you to contact our Customer Service Team at 1-855-849-3589 Monday thru Friday 8 am to 5 pm PST to discuss your concern a bit further.
Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 37 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Spring Grove, MN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

first time on line purchase

PostedDecember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
easy to lnstall this all you wiil get oooooooooooo
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015
Hi Mike,

Thank you for purchasing the HDX FMG-1 water filter. We are glad to hear that you were able to instal your filter with ease. Please know that if you have any questions or experience any trouble with the filter, you may contact out Customer Service team at 1-855-849-3589 Monday thru Friday 8am to 5pm PST

Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 38 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

Good Buy

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works just as good as the brand name filters and it's a much better value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 26, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 26, 2015
Hi Jeff,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are pleased to hear that you feel the HDX FMG-1 filter has met your expectations that you have compared it to be just as good as the brand name filer at a better value. If you have any questions regarding your filter, please feel free to contact our Customer Service Team at 1-855-849-3589 Monday thru Friday 8am to 5pm PST.

Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 39 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

Horrible!

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Terrible!! I took it out 20 minutes after installing. It was discoloring my water and as I took it off could tell that the water pressure had built up to an excessive level
Cons: discolored my water
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 20, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 20, 2015
OldDogNuTrx,
We apologize for the trouble on the replacement of your HDX FMG-1 replacement filter.
There can be some carbon fines that may be released from the filter which can discolor the water. Typically these are completely flushed out during the initial 2.5 gallon flush of the filter when installed. The more water that you run through the filter the quicker your water will clear up. I hope that this will help to resolve the discoloring of your water. The excess water pressure is due to the high amount of air in side of the carbon block. This will also clear up by running more water through the filter. I hope this has given you some insight and that you have been able to use your water filter without any additional issues.

Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 40 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The best way to buy them, two at a time.

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been using these filters for years, on a home I bought a while ago and this house purchased two years ago. We replaced the refrigerator that was here, with our GE and use the filters on schedule. With the "city" water here they don't last the 6 months, but I'm sure it's the water, not the filter! I feel much better knowing the water is filtered for our use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 26, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 26, 2015
Hi Suze,
Thank you for taking the time to review the HDX FMG-1 water filter. We are glad that the filter has performed well for you and you are satisfied with the performance of the filter and best of all the price. If the filter did not last the 6 months, it is usually because as you mentioned, the quality of the water in your area. The filters usually last about 6 months or 300 gallons whichever comes first and of course depending on your areas water quality. If you have any questions regarding your filter, our Customer Service Team is available to assist you Monday thru Friday 8am to 5pm at 1-855-849-3589.

Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 26, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 26, 2015
Hi Suze,
Thank you for taking the time to review the HDX FMG-1 water filter. We are glad that the filter has performed well for you and you are satisfied with the performance of the filter and best of all the price. If the filter did not last the 6 months, it is usually because as you mentioned, the quality of the water in your area. The filters usually last about 6 months or 300 gallons whichever comes first and of course depending on your areas water quality. If you have any questions regarding your filter, our Customer Service Team is available to assist you Monday thru Friday 8am to 5pm at 1-855-849-3589.

Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>