728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

This HDX replacement refrigerator water filter fits in place of GE MWF contains a compressed carbon block which provides tremendous capacity to remove and/or reduce impurities and sediment that may be present in your drinking water. The carbon block has millions of active sites on its surface and within the structure which can absorb impurities like a sponge, and can absorb and hold other types of impurities on its surface like a magnet. Additionally, this filter can catalytically breakdown other impurities very similar to the way a catalytic converter works in your automobile. These processes ensure that you are getting the cleanest and best tasting water possible. This economical filter will provide you with fresh and clean tasting water and ice cubes. Twin Value pack saves time and money.
Overall rating:
4.029 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(170 reviews) 170
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product131 of 166reviews
Rating Breakdown 170 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(96)
4
(37)
3
(6)
2
(8)
1
(23)
Features 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product131 of 166reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer reviews for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
Review 21 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Finally a solution to pricy filters! So far working as well as the original.
Pros: High Quality, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 26, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 26, 2015
Hi DJ1998,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you are satisfied with the performance of the HDX FMG-1 water filter. We are proud to be able to provide a quality filter at an affordable price.If you have any questions regarding your filter, please feel free to contact our Customer Service Team Monday thru Friday 8am to 5pm at 1-855-849-3589.

Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 26, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 26, 2015
Hi DJ1998,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you are satisfied with the performance of the HDX FMG-1 water filter. We are proud to be able to provide a quality filter at an affordable price.If you have any questions regarding your filter, please feel free to contact our Customer Service Team Monday thru Friday 8am to 5pm at 1-855-849-3589.

Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 22 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Mobile, Alabama

Only filters odor

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I recently purchase these for the value versus the OEM from GE. After installation I tested the water with my TDS tester and found that my tap water and the filtered water were only 2 points off from each other whereas the original GE filters were filtering half the total dissolve solids from the tap.
This filter seems to only filter out the smell of chlorine in the water and nothing else. I would spend the extra money to get the GE filters knowing that it filters more TDS.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 28, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 28, 2015
Hi Anonymous,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your concern about the TDS reading. TDS meters test the electrical conductivity of the water. Refrigerator water filters do not remove minerals from the water. Minerals are generally the component of water that conducts electricity. TDS meters only test if there are minerals present in the water. It does not test for any other contaminants and cannot be used to validate the performance of a carbon water filter. In some cases the TDS meter will register a higher number upon installation, due to carbon particles. The carbon particles are electrically conductive which is what a TDS meter specifically tests. We hope that you will give the HDX Brand of Water filters another try in the future. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please feel free to contact our Customer Service Team at 1-855-849-3589 Monday thru Friday 8am to 5pm PST.

Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 23 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Ft worth,TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saving money

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For the price of filters, you cannot beat it. Since you need to change every 6 months, to buy the dual set is a GREAT deal ....have never had trouble with them. I have ordered them for the last 2 years.....
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandFebruary 12, 2015By HDXBrandFebruary 12, 2015
Hi Grandma,

Thank you for taking the time to review. We are pleased to hear you are satisfied with the performance and quality of the HDX FMG-1 Water Filter. We are glad to be able to offer a quality filter at an affordable price. We recommend replacing the filter every six months or 300 gallons depending on your water quality and usage. We stand by our filters 100% and we are so glad to see you do to. If you have any questions, or need any assistance, our Customer Service Team is available Monday thru Friday 8am to 5pm PST by calling 1-855-849-3589. Thank you,

Faith- Customer Service Team
Review 24 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Fallbrook, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value for the price

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These FMG refrigerator filters are sturdy, easy to install, and just as good as the brand replacement product,, at a much more reasonable cost!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandFebruary 12, 2015By HDXBrandFebruary 12, 2015
Hi Jenny,

Thank you for the review. We are so glad to hear you are satisfied with the performance, installation, and value of the HDX FMG-1 Water Filter. We are pleased to be able to offer a quality filter at an affordable price. We hope you continue to remain a satisfied customer. If you have any questions regarding the filters, our Customer Service Team is available Monday thru Friday 8am to 5pm PST by calling 1-855-849-3589. Thank you,

Faith- Customer Service Team
Review 25 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

Good

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
had never had to buy water filters before but the lady in that department helped me find exactly what I needed and they work great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandFebruary 12, 2015By HDXBrandFebruary 12, 2015
Hi Alex,

Thank you for taking the time to review. We are pleased to hear you are satisfied with the performance of the HDX FMG-1 Water Filter. We hope you continue to be a satisfied customer and purchase the HDX Brand water filters. If you have any questions, our Customer Service Team is available Monday thru Friday 8am to 5pm PST by calling 1-855-849-3589. Thank you,

Faith- Customer Service Team
Review 26 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

Refrigerator water filter replacement

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thanks to the very helpful sales lady, we purchased a twin pack that cost about the same amount as the single we were looking for. It fits perfectly and filters just as well as the one we had. And now, we have one on the shelf for the moment the red light comes on next time. Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandFebruary 3, 2015By HDXBrandFebruary 3, 2015
Hi Kathryn,

Thank you for taking the time to review. We are pleased to hear you are satisfied with the performance, quality, and affordable prices. We recommend changing the filter every six months or every 300 gallons, depending on your on your water quality and usage. If you ever have any questions, or need assistance, our Customer Service Team is available Monday thru Friday 8am to 5pm PST by calling 1-855-849-3589. Thank you,

Faith-Customer Service Team
Review 27 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Las Vegas, NV
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Good price but you get what you pay for...

PostedJanuary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I know you get two filters for the price of one factory filter but it last much longer than these cheaper replacements. The first two years I used GE and thought to save a buck third year around but went through two of these filters in less than one year. You can taste the difference and not always will the replacement light come on or in one month it has... UGH
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 21, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 21, 2015
Hi Severalnsummerlin,
Thank you for taking the time to make this review. We recommend for you to replace your filters every 6 months or 300 gallons, whichever comes first depending on your water usage. Your refrigerator water filter light indicator always needs to be reset each time that you replace your water filter. It will always go off at exactly 6 months from the last time that you manually reset your filter light. This is necessary regardless if you replace your filter with a OEM filter or an after market brand. I hope that you will consider trying our product again and have a better experience. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact our Customer Service Team at 1-855-849-3589 Monday thru Friday 8am to 5pm PST. Thank you again for your review, we appreciate your feedback.
Best Regards,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 28 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

works as it should.

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The water filter does exactly what it is supposed to do... Filter water... No complaints yet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 21, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 21, 2015
Hi Jpatrick,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you are satisfied with your purchase. If you do however experience any difficulties, please do not hesitate to contact our Customer Service Team at 1-855-849-3589 Monday thru Friday 8am to 5 pm PST. We will be happy to assist you with any issues you experience with your filter. Thank you, Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 29 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from manteca, ca
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Funny taste

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
There was a funny taste in the water for quite a while.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015
Hi Jayy,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you are experiencing a funny taste in your water that may not be up to your standards. We would recommend you to flush about 2.5 to 3 gallons of water to eliminate any funny taste in your water. If that doesn't seem to help with the taste, I would suggest to try the second filter in the value pack that you purchased and hope that you experience better results. If you do or do not not experience better results with the second filter, we would really like to speak to you by calling into our Customer Service Line at 1-855-849-3589 Monday thru Friday 8am to 5pm PST so that we can assist you further.
Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 30 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Costa Mesa, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Filter Failed to work, but Home Depot backed up the product.

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this filter as an alternative to the high priced GE filter and it seemed to work well. I bought a twin pack but when installed it did not pass any water. I tried the second filter and it to did not work. After multiple calls to the filter manufacture, and other attempts at trouble shooting, I had a repair guy come out, thinking that it would be unlikely that two filters would fail after others had worked. He put a GE filter on and everything started working again. I no longer use any of the cheaper alternatives and only GE filters.
I took my receipts to HD and they refunded my money and gave me a new GE filter free of charge. This did not cover my total outlay, but it shows HD is will to work with their customers.
Pros: low cost
Cons: did not work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 21, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 21, 2015
Hi Hotch46,
We apologize for the time needed to get the filter working. Thank you for calling customer service to review the problem. Where there are times the initial flow rate on a filter is low, typically these are corrected through flushing the filter and then possibly letting it sit overnight. Through our quality department we have seen in some cases as much as a 20% increase in flow rate as the carbon block wets out overnight. This is due to air that gets trapped within the tight carbon block. Once this trapped air is purged the water has more flow capability through the filter.
We hope you try the HDX brand again. If you have additional questions, please feel free to call our Customer Service Team Monday thru Friday 8am to 5pm at 1-855-849-3589.

Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 31 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Minden, LA.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

wonderful Product

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The water replacement filters are really good. I was pleasantly surprised at the way it works to efficiently filter the water in my refrigerator. The price is is best of all; to be able to get a working item at such a great price was wonderful. I even shared the second filter with my daughter who also needed to change at that time. She loves it as well. The Home Depot Brand Water filter is as good as the GE brand. Thanks Home Depot for the savings.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015
Hi Bobb,
Thank you for sharing your experience with other consumers on this website by writing a review. We appreciate the time you took to write this.I am glad to hear that not only were you satisfied with product overall, but we are also pleased to hear that you shared the second filter with your daughter. We hope that you both will continue to use the HDX brand filters and have success using them. If you ever experience any difficulties, please feel free to contact our Customer Service Team Monday thru Friday 8am to 5pm PST at 1-855-849-3589. Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 32 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Thomasville, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Less expense, same results!

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
works the same as more expensive reccomende filter from GE
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015
Hi Jim, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad to hear that our water filter as met your expectations. If you have any questions, or experience any difficulties, Please do not hesitate to give our customer service team a call at 1-855-849-3589 Monday thru Friday 8 am to 5pm PST.
Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 33 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from ROANOKE VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

SAVED $ BY PURCHASING 2 PACK!

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I discussed with the employee if I should purchase the GE brand. He informed me this was the same and half the price. He showed me the price for the two pack and I would save even more $. Save $..Sounds good to me! The light was on for several months for me to change the filter. I just keep pressing the button as if I had changed it and I hadn't. I changed the one last time and I think I may have broken the Fridge. I had to buy a new Fridge shortly there after. I think I should have turned the water off before changing. Well we did this time.....I had my then fiance now husband do it and it was pretty simple. No problems. Last time when I did it, I heard a loud bang and the Fridge never worked the same after that. So.....turn the water to the Fridge off before changing the filter....save you a lot of headache. Some people may know to do that but I didn't at the time. Looks like it should be changed every 6 months. My Fridge has a little light that tells me when it's time. We put the second in the storage closet so we are ready when the little light comes on......
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015
Hi JJM2015,

Thank you for your review and we appreciate your feedback. We are always glad to hear positive experiences from the consumers. Please remember that you will have to manually resit your refrigerator filter light each time you change your filter. After 6 months, the light will appear letting you know it is time to replace your filter. We hope that you continue to use our filters without any issues. If you ever need assistance with your filter, please feel free to contact our Customer Service Team at 1-855-849-3589 Monday Thru Friday 8am to 5pm PST. Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 34 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Syracuse,NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ez water filters

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Replacement cartridge installed quickly and easily. Done in less than 60 seconds.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015
Hi ZazuPitts,

Thank you for taking the time to review these filters. We are glad to hear that you have had success with the filters. We hope that you continue to have great results and continue to use our HDX brand of filters. If you have any questions in regards to your filter, please feel free to contact our Customer Service Team Monday Thru Friday 7am to 5pm PST. We would be happy to assist you with the filter. Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015
Hi ZazuPitts,

Thank you for taking the time to review these filters. We are glad to hear that you have had success with the filters. We hope that you continue to have great results and continue to use our HDX brand of filters. If you have any questions in regards to your filter, please feel free to contact our Customer Service Team Monday Thru Friday 7am to 5pm PST. We would be happy to assist you with the filter. Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 35 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Wilbur-By-The-Sea, FL 32127, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

filters

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
great price for product. Keep it coming. No problem installing. It just works.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015
Hi langstonha,

Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear that you have been satisfied with the HDX Brand water filters. If you have any additional questions are need assistance with your filter, please feel free to contact our Customer Service Team at 1-855-849-3589 Monday thru Friday 8am to 5pm PST. We are always happy to help.
Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015
Hi langstonha,

Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear that you have been satisfied with the HDX Brand water filters. If you have any additional questions are need assistance with your filter, please feel free to contact our Customer Service Team at 1-855-849-3589 Monday thru Friday 8am to 5pm PST. We are always happy to help.
Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 36 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Corpus Christi, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

poor filter for Corpus Christi water, one that came with frig was great

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Filter was easy to install, but failed to filter the water compared to the filter that came with the GE refrigerator. After one week we took it out and replaced it with a GE filter. The GE filter worked. The FMG was half the price but after one week it was in the trash, so not a good buy.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: did not filter
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 21, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 21, 2015
Kiteboarder,
Thank you for your review. We are surprised to hear this as the HDX filter has worked extremely well throughout Texas.Using only high quality coconut shell carbon in conjunction with patented metal absorption media, the filter provides superior filtration for a very broad spectrum of water chemistry. We are sorry to hear that you we not satisfied with our filter. We hope that you would consider giving this HDX FMG-1 filter another try. We would like for you to contact our Customer Service Team Monday Thru Friday 8am to 5pm PST so that we can get additional details if you wouldn't mind taking the time to do so. We appreciate your feedback and your review.
Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 37 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Northern VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

significantly lower water flow

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installed when Home Depot didn't have GE MWF filters in stock. The water flow is at best 60% of what it was after years of using GE OEM filters. Plan to have plenty of time to fill a water bottle! I'm going to pull this and return for a GE filter.
Also...the unit is substantially lighter, not sure what's missing but I noticed HDx only claims to filter chlorine, oders, sediment and bad tastes, whereas the GE unit claims cysts, metals, etc.
Otherwise fit fine--no leaks. But the low flow is beyond frustrating
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: very low water flow
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 20, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 20, 2015
Brad,
Thank you for your review. The Initial flow rate for the filter may be a little lower until the carbon filter is fully wetted out. Typically once the filter is installed and the start up flushing is completed if the filter is allowed to sit overnight you will see an increase in flow rate. Again, this is due to trapped air that is caught up in the carbon block that prevents full flow of the water. Once these air pockets are rinsed out the filter will experience increased flow. We hope this will resolve the low flow that you are experiencing. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you. If this does not seem to resolve the flow rate, please contact our Customer Service Team at 1-855-849-3589 Monday thru Friday 8 am to 5 pm PST. We use less plastic when manufacturing the water filters which is why there is a difference in the weight of the filters. Our HDX brand filters are currently only tested to NSF Standard 42 which reduces chlorine taste and odor. We are however in the process to being certified to NSF Standard 53 which is a long and extensive process and until we receive the certification, we are unable to make those same claims as the OEM. We hope to be able to make those same certifications soon. We are however in compliance to Prob 65 which is a requirement from the state of California as these filters are Manufactured in Southern California.

Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 38 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Zephyrhills, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Inexpensive filters

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This twin pack costs less than one of the GE branded filters. These work just as well.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015
HI LW3147,

Thank you for taking the time to review these filters. We hope that you continue to be satisfied with the HDX brand of filters. If you happen to have any questions, please feel free to contact our Customer Service Team at 1-855-849-3589 Monday thru Friday 8am to 5pm PST.
Thank you, Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 39 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

Filters

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
They work great and a great value compared to the GE brand
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015
Hi Rford,
Thank you for taking the time to review these filters. We are pleased to hear that you have compared them to have a better value to the OEM brand and that they work great. If you experience any difficulties, please feel free to contact our Customer Service Team at 1-855-849-3589 Monday thru Friday 8am to 5pm PST. We hope that you continue to purchase these HDX brand filters and can recommend them to others.
Thank you Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 40 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

bang for the buck?

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Thus filter has a nsf of 42 the ge mwf has a nsf of 42 and 53. Both filters are of the carbon block technology as far as i can tell both filters should be the same.
Why does the HDX not have the same nsf 53 rating, maybe that means it has not been certified by the nsf yet.
Im not privy to the inner workings of companys and institutions so I will trust my belief in the carbon block process.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015
Hi Mike,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the HDX FMG-1 water filter. We are pleased to hear that you are satisfied with the performance and the value of the filter. In regards to the NSF rating, you are correct, the HDX FMG-1 filter has not been certified just yet although we are in the process of obtaining the certification. Once it is received, we will be able to place that NSF rating on the packaging as well. The HDX brand of water filter does indeed use the same carbon block technology. We hope that you continue to experience great results and continue to use the HDX brand of water filters for years to come. If you have any questions or difficulties regarding your filter, please feel free to contact our Customer Service Team at 1-855-849-3589 8am to 5pm PST.
Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 22, 2015
Hi Mike,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the HDX FMG-1 water filter. We are pleased to hear that you are satisfied with the performance and the value of the filter. In regards to the NSF rating, you are correct, the HDX FMG-1 filter has not been certified just yet although we are in the process of obtaining the certification. Once it is received, we will be able to place that NSF rating on the packaging as well. The HDX brand of water filter does indeed use the same carbon block technology. We hope that you continue to experience great results and continue to use the HDX brand of water filters for years to come. If you have any questions or difficulties regarding your filter, please feel free to contact our Customer Service Team at 1-855-849-3589 8am to 5pm PST.
Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>