728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Refrigerator Water Filters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

This HDX replacement refrigerator water filter fits in place of GE MWF contains a compressed carbon block which provides tremendous capacity to remove and/or reduce impurities and sediment that may be present in your drinking water. The carbon block has millions of active sites on its surface and within the structure which can absorb impurities like a sponge, and can absorb and hold other types of impurities on its surface like a magnet. Additionally, this filter can catalytically breakdown other impurities very similar to the way a catalytic converter works in your automobile. These processes ensure that you are getting the cleanest and best tasting water possible. This economical filter will provide you with fresh and clean tasting water and ice cubes. Twin Value pack saves time and money.
Overall rating:
3.977 / 5
4
 / 
5
(129 reviews) 129
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product98 of 125reviews
Rating Breakdown 129 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(73)
4
(26)
3
(5)
2
(4)
1
(21)
Features 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product98 of 125reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
Review 21 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Indian Land, SC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good filters and cheap compared to GE filters

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These filter as good as expensive GE filters got two filters for the price of one GE filter
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

Great filter

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Super easy to install and my water taste great. I was able to get two filters for the price of the one made by GE
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from San Antonio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value for the price

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
You can buy two of these for the price of one GE oem replacement. They seem to work fine and the water quality is the same.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

Worst Purchase ever!!!!!

PostedJune 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was the worst filter that I have ever purchased! My husband and I were trying to save money by purchasing a cheaper brand, not to mention a twin size pack. Which was like buying two for the price of one. Well we were both wrong. The water from this filter was awful. It tasted like unfiltered water straight from the kitchen faucet, even the ice cubes tasted nasty. And I threw those out as well. Well we ended up taking this filter back and purchasing the original GE brand. There was a night and day difference in taste. My husband and I learned that cheap is not always the way, but it was worth the shot in price.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: bad filter
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 25 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Reno, NV
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Filter and a Great Price

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was always buying the $50 GE replacement filter for my refrigerator until I noticed that Home Depot carried an alternative filter. This is the 2nd filter I have used in 2 years and they are very high quality filters at almost half the price of the manufacturer's filter.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

Useful replacement for GE brand

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This filter is a different shape and shorter than the GE MWF filter, but it does work in the slot. I totally fail at installing the thing (either this one or the previous GE branded ones that I've used before) - whatever I'm doing wrong, it makes water spew everywhere. But my more capable friend installs them for me without problem. (It really isn't that hard - I don't know what I do wrong!)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from NYC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

SO FAR, SO GOOD. NO PROBLEMS.

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A couple of reviews said they had a problem with this filter leaking and some said it did not flow. I have had one in my GE since 08/16/14 and no problems. The water tastes fine, much better than the faucet. Now I do not know if it filters more things than the much more GE brand filters, but I am happy.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from River Ridge, LA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This filter works as well as the original GE brand but is a little more than one half the cost.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Ellenwood, Georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good price!

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product works as well as the name brand filter for my refrig and price for the double pack was about the same as a single pack filter from Sears dept store. My only concern is that there is a hesitation in the water flow coming out when the water is dispensing.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: delay in water dispensing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

Good Filter for the Price

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I recently purchased the third filter (the dual-pak was out). The previous two worked flawlessly and lasted about 6 months each. This one had some air trapped in the line that I couldn't flush. I removed the filter and the air popped out along with a little water, put the filter back and that fixed it. I would give 5 stars if it was rated for gardia
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from caguas, puerto rico
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Is a very good and valuable product comparable to leader brands

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Is very simple to replace it, considering that no tools are needed to replace it in seconds.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

Descent filters, not great though.

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Filters seem to do the job, and at a much cheaper price. However, there is a distinct aftertaste of plastic and chlorine. Neither of which were the case with the original filter. I will probably use these ones from Home Depot until they go bad and then switch back to the GE ones.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Asheville, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic deal

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just like name brand, except getting two for the price of one. Excellent product...
Pros: High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

A knock off

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got this product instead of the MWF after some selling from the HD store person. Its all the same as the MWF and less price. At that time it was $39 and the MWF was $49, I said hey save myself $10. It turned out to be a knock off. I noticed first that every couple of minutes one would hear the sound of water passing through the pipe in the fridge. Then after a couple of weeks a loud rattling sound in the filter of fridge. I though, we have to call a GE fridge guy for $150?? I decided to remove the HDX product and went and bought the GE original MWF. Big difference. I see that HD has raised the price of their product to the same as the MWF? Well you don't have any excuse, get the original. Even if this product was free, I would advise you skip it before you are paying $150 for a technician visit.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Hamilton, NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great price

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Last time I bought the GE brand which was over $40. Now I can get two for the same or less price. Works well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Boston, MA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product. Works as described.

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
works as described, at least at the level that I can tell (it is a filter, cannot see everything)
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Kentucky, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Water flow reduced by 1/2 vs GE filter

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
New filter fit fine but water flow was only about 1/2 the flow out of the GE filter. Returned to store and purchased GE filter. Thought I could save some money but I guess as usual you get what you pay for.
Cons: reduced water flowt
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 38 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Peoria,AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cost saving

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I usually purchase the GE water filter, which is very expensive, but this product is The same filter for much less money. I would definitely buy this again.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Rio Rancho, NM, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

FMG replacement filter for GE refrigerator

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the filter was easy to install, no problem. will continue to utilize
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from washington
Age Range:65 or over
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to instal

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
that is all that I can say.the filter went into its orifice just like the other filters that I HAVE BEEN using for the past four years.I do not know how long that it will be effective because this is the first time that I have sues the product.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>