728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Refrigerator Water Filters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

This HDX replacement refrigerator water filter fits in place of GE MWF contains a compressed carbon block which provides tremendous capacity to remove and/or reduce impurities and sediment that may be present in your drinking water. The carbon block has millions of active sites on its surface and within the structure which can absorb impurities like a sponge, and can absorb and hold other types of impurities on its surface like a magnet. Additionally, this filter can catalytically breakdown other impurities very similar to the way a catalytic converter works in your automobile. These processes ensure that you are getting the cleanest and best tasting water possible. This economical filter will provide you with fresh and clean tasting water and ice cubes. Twin Value pack saves time and money.
Overall rating:
3.907 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(97 reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product72 of 94reviews
Rating Breakdown 97 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(54)
4
(18)
3
(4)
2
(4)
1
(17)
Features 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product72 of 94reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
Review 21 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Fort Collins, CO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Piece of Junk

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this 2 pack, which was the same price as a single GE filter, hoping to save money. Well as the saying goes 'you get what you pay for'. It installed easily & I ran the correct amount of water thru to try & get rid of air pockets in the water line, but it never cleared and after dispensing water into our cups our dispenser now leaks significantly after you stop. I will never purchase this product again.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 22 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

Great water filters

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
They are HDX Brand But do the same as GE filters. This is why I bought these.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Winston-Salem, NC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install. Water tastes great!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I didn't have any problems installing it. The instructions were concise but detailed enough. The water tastes great. I feel it's comparable to the manufacturer filters.
Pros: High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Clearwater Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install no issues. works as well as the original filter
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from 956 ericksen drive pomona ca 91768
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

FMG REPLACEMENT WATER FILTER

PostedMay 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
very easy to install. I did not have any problem installing this produce and no leaks.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Ft. Myers, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

AWESOME FILTER. PEOPLE PLEASE READ INSULATION GUIDE BEFORE GIVING LOW REVIEWS.

PostedApril 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Come on people, either read, or if you cant, have someone read to you, the insulation guide. Almost all the 1 and 2 star reviews are covered with fixes in the guide. If you install either brand of filter wrong you will have same issues with the filters. Product comes with two sets of instructions. Very easy to install, it only took about 8 minutes to flush 7 64oz pitchers of water (3.5 Gallons) through filter. Water tastes AWESOME. Makes me wonder if competitor water filter company is writing bad reviews, so as to sell more of theirs at double the price!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, half the price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

Good to see

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good to see that HD has put on the shelf a replacement product for GE filters at a lower cost, now I feel I can replace filters on a more regular basis ....now all that remains to be seen is the filter as good a GE;s filter
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Phila

Not so good

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Picked these up as they were a good deal, same price as GE brand but you get two. Installed the HDX and ran 3 gallons of water as per the instructions and the water leaked ( slow drip) at the dispenser. Will return and buy the GE brand.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 29 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from St augustine, FL
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Only good feature is easy installation

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The filter makes the water taste like plastic. We did not get this from the named brand we purchased from another like store. Very disappointed, we bought two now we are stuck with a bad product. Think HD should refund out money and see if we can get a MFG brand we purchased in the past. Will never buy this product brand again.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: makes the water taste like plastic
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 30 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Keller, TX, USA

Great product

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great replacement for expensive name brand. Highly recommend.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Anthem
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth a try

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've bought this to replace the OEM filter in my fridge. Although affordable and produces clean drinking water, it does not last as long as the OEM filters. I dont fill pitchersof water with this thing just glasses of water multiple times a day. It has half the life span of the other (OEM) type.
Tread carefully. Installation was a breeze.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: no longevity
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Kentucky, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Water flow reduced by 1/2 vs GE filter

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
New filter fit fine but water flow was only about 1/2 the flow out of the GE filter. Returned to store and purchased GE filter. Thought I could save some money but I guess as usual you get what you pay for.
Cons: reduced water flowt
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 33 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Almost as good

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is almost as good as original. It seems to be a bit noisy as compared to the original filter. I suspect the flow is less restrictive therefore less filtering. However, I can not detect any less water quality.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from San Jose, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product, great value.

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have used it several times. It's a good product and an excellent value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Took about 10 glasses to see clear water

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The GE brand never did this. No instructions were included.
Cons: No Instructions, poor quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 36 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

Just as Good as Name Brand

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the double pack of HDX filters mainly because of the price. (There was no way I was going to pay $50 for one filter if I could get two for the same price!) As soon as I got home I put one of the new filters in. It was a perfect fit. I have had the filter in for two months now and it is working perfectly. I see no reason to have to buy a GE brand filter. I will definitely be sticking with these.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 37 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Carrollton, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Acceptable filter alternative to GE model

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
When purchasing this item at the store, I spoke with a sales associate. The sales associate did say that they had previously had issues with the gasket leaking on the filters, but he mentioned that he thought they had resolved the leaking issue. I decided to give it try, since it was cheaper than the GE version. We are most of the way through the life of the first filter in the two pack set and all is good so far (no leaking and no noticeable differences in the quality or taste of the water in comparison with the GE filter)
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Tilton, NH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The price was a great value

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The other store didn't have the filter I needed, though the refrigerator was purchased there. I was happy to get two in one package for slightly more than one at the other store.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

Seems to perform as well as the more expensive manufacturer replacement filter.

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Refrigerator water filter appears to work well. Much less expensive than original manufacturer replacement.
Pros: High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Fontana, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You get what you pay for!

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
My neighborhood store seldom has the OEM filter in stock and it's at twice the price of HDX. These HDX filters are an economical alternative, but I find I have to change them more often with our hard water, so the savings are minimal.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: short life cycle with hard water present
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5 >>