728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Refrigerator Water Filters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

This HDX replacement refrigerator water filter fits in place of GE MWF contains a compressed carbon block which provides tremendous capacity to remove and/or reduce impurities and sediment that may be present in your drinking water. The carbon block has millions of active sites on its surface and within the structure which can absorb impurities like a sponge, and can absorb and hold other types of impurities on its surface like a magnet. Additionally, this filter can catalytically breakdown other impurities very similar to the way a catalytic converter works in your automobile. These processes ensure that you are getting the cleanest and best tasting water possible. This economical filter will provide you with fresh and clean tasting water and ice cubes. Twin Value pack saves time and money.
Overall rating:
4.007 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(147 reviews) 147
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product112 of 143reviews
Rating Breakdown 147 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(84)
4
(29)
3
(6)
2
(7)
1
(21)
Features 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product112 of 143reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
Review 21 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

Good Buy

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works just as good as the brand name filters and it's a much better value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 26, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 26, 2015
Hi Jeff,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are pleased to hear that you feel the HDX FMG-1 filter has met your expectations that you have compared it to be just as good as the brand name filer at a better value. If you have any questions regarding your filter, please feel free to contact our Customer Service Team at 1-855-849-3589 Monday thru Friday 8am to 5pm PST.

Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 22 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Costa Mesa, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Filter Failed to work, but Home Depot backed up the product.

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this filter as an alternative to the high priced GE filter and it seemed to work well. I bought a twin pack but when installed it did not pass any water. I tried the second filter and it to did not work. After multiple calls to the filter manufacture, and other attempts at trouble shooting, I had a repair guy come out, thinking that it would be unlikely that two filters would fail after others had worked. He put a GE filter on and everything started working again. I no longer use any of the cheaper alternatives and only GE filters.
I took my receipts to HD and they refunded my money and gave me a new GE filter free of charge. This did not cover my total outlay, but it shows HD is will to work with their customers.
Pros: low cost
Cons: did not work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 21, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 21, 2015
Hi Hotch46,
We apologize for the time needed to get the filter working. Thank you for calling customer service to review the problem. Where there are times the initial flow rate on a filter is low, typically these are corrected through flushing the filter and then possibly letting it sit overnight. Through our quality department we have seen in some cases as much as a 20% increase in flow rate as the carbon block wets out overnight. This is due to air that gets trapped within the tight carbon block. Once this trapped air is purged the water has more flow capability through the filter.
We hope you try the HDX brand again. If you have additional questions, please feel free to call our Customer Service Team Monday thru Friday 8am to 5pm at 1-855-849-3589.

Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 23 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

Horrible!

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Terrible!! I took it out 20 minutes after installing. It was discoloring my water and as I took it off could tell that the water pressure had built up to an excessive level
Cons: discolored my water
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 20, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 20, 2015
OldDogNuTrx,
We apologize for the trouble on the replacement of your HDX FMG-1 replacement filter.
There can be some carbon fines that may be released from the filter which can discolor the water. Typically these are completely flushed out during the initial 2.5 gallon flush of the filter when installed. The more water that you run through the filter the quicker your water will clear up. I hope that this will help to resolve the discoloring of your water. The excess water pressure is due to the high amount of air in side of the carbon block. This will also clear up by running more water through the filter. I hope this has given you some insight and that you have been able to use your water filter without any additional issues.

Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 24 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Corpus Christi, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

poor filter for Corpus Christi water, one that came with frig was great

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Filter was easy to install, but failed to filter the water compared to the filter that came with the GE refrigerator. After one week we took it out and replaced it with a GE filter. The GE filter worked. The FMG was half the price but after one week it was in the trash, so not a good buy.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: did not filter
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 21, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 21, 2015
Kiteboarder,
Thank you for your review. We are surprised to hear this as the HDX filter has worked extremely well throughout Texas.Using only high quality coconut shell carbon in conjunction with patented metal absorption media, the filter provides superior filtration for a very broad spectrum of water chemistry. We are sorry to hear that you we not satisfied with our filter. We hope that you would consider giving this HDX FMG-1 filter another try. We would like for you to contact our Customer Service Team Monday Thru Friday 8am to 5pm PST so that we can get additional details if you wouldn't mind taking the time to do so. We appreciate your feedback and your review.
Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 25 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The best way to buy them, two at a time.

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been using these filters for years, on a home I bought a while ago and this house purchased two years ago. We replaced the refrigerator that was here, with our GE and use the filters on schedule. With the "city" water here they don't last the 6 months, but I'm sure it's the water, not the filter! I feel much better knowing the water is filtered for our use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 26, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 26, 2015
Hi Suze,
Thank you for taking the time to review the HDX FMG-1 water filter. We are glad that the filter has performed well for you and you are satisfied with the performance of the filter and best of all the price. If the filter did not last the 6 months, it is usually because as you mentioned, the quality of the water in your area. The filters usually last about 6 months or 300 gallons whichever comes first and of course depending on your areas water quality. If you have any questions regarding your filter, our Customer Service Team is available to assist you Monday thru Friday 8am to 5pm at 1-855-849-3589.

Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 26, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 26, 2015
Hi Suze,
Thank you for taking the time to review the HDX FMG-1 water filter. We are glad that the filter has performed well for you and you are satisfied with the performance of the filter and best of all the price. If the filter did not last the 6 months, it is usually because as you mentioned, the quality of the water in your area. The filters usually last about 6 months or 300 gallons whichever comes first and of course depending on your areas water quality. If you have any questions regarding your filter, our Customer Service Team is available to assist you Monday thru Friday 8am to 5pm at 1-855-849-3589.

Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 26 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

Generic Brand - Great Price But…

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We have a GE refrigerator. This filter is marketed to fit the model fridge we
have. Water tastes great. The only concern is that the red filter button does not turn green, as it's supposed to, even though the filter is adjusted to fit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 20, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 20, 2015
Stephanie,
Thank you for taking the time to review the product and your comment regarding the filter indicator light. This indicator light, called a performance indication device, is built in to the refrigerator which monitors gallons and time. The indicator light needs to be reset whenever the filter is changed, unfortunately just the replacement of the filter itself does not automatically reset the indicator light.
Frequently resetting the indicator light just requires holding down the indicator button for a few seconds. You can check with the manual that you have with the refrigerator, or you can contact our Customer Service Team Monday thru Friday 8am to 5pm PST at 1-855-849-3589 and we can help walk you through this procedure.
Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 27 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

FITS LIKE THE GE

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It fits and doesn't leak. I guess it works , water tasks fine, it tasted fine before I replaced filter. Light turns red on fridge means 6 months is up, and I replace the filter, but the HD filter is about 1/2 the cost of the GE so if it is doing the job its a good deal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 26, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 26, 2015
Hi Scoobydoo,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate every consumers feedback. We are pleased to hear that you are satisfied with the performance and value of the HDX FMG-1 water filter. We hope that you have continued to be satisfied with the performance of the filter. If you have any questions or difficulties with your filter, please feel free to contact our Customer Service Team at 1-855-849-3589 Monday thru Friday 8am to 5pm PST.
Thank You,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 28 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from NE Indiana

2 for very nearly the price of 1

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This pair of refrigerator water filters is an excellent buy - high quality at almost half the price of two single cartridges.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

I recomended

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Is chep ,and do the same job .of the original thas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 20, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 20, 2015
Hi Iron4,

Thank you for your review and comments on the HDX Brand filter. We are pleased to hear that the filter has performed well for you.These HDX Water Filters are proudly manufactured and assembled in the USA, the HDX brand refrigerator filter provides quality at an affordable price.

Thank You, Julie - Customer Service Team
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 20, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 20, 2015
Hi Iron4,

Thank you for your review and comments on the HDX Brand filter. We are pleased to hear that the filter has performed well for you.These HDX Water Filters are proudly manufactured and assembled in the USA, the HDX brand refrigerator filter provides quality at an affordable price.

Thank You, Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 30 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Chico, Ca.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worst purchase ever

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
A General Electric refrigerator water filter was replaced by one of the double pack of replacement FMG filters.
It has been installed twice, but still leaks air to the point that house animals and we home occupants will not drink from the cold water of the GE refrigerator. Installation is simple, put in place and twist until it stops, but the product does not do as it should and still leaks air into the out put water in the freezer door.The leak leaves the filtered water product full of air bubble after setting and the door output sputters when it comes out.
Cons: leaks air into water
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 21, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 21, 2015
BillB,

We apologize for the trouble with this filter. This is a very unusual problem. It sounds like there was some problem with the o-ring seal. Know that we have strict quality checks through production in order to ensure form, fit and function. Throughout the production cycle, random filters are continually pulled off the production line and quality checked for fit, flow, structural integrity and taste quality. In cases like this please contact customer support at 1-855-849-3589 to review. Especially with this unusual issue, we would have liked to send you a replacement filter and then get the filter back for our engineering and quality team to evaluate. We hope that you will give our filter another try.
Thank you, Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 31 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Westlake OH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Last years model good,this years very bad.

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought one last year and worked great.This years model has a different design where it screws into refigerator.4 tiny air holes instead of 2 larger ones.The rubber o ring ends up blocking them when fastened to refrigerator.Water flow is bad and tastes bad too.Home Depot should buy from last years supplier.Check out last years reviews.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HDXBrandJanuary 21, 2015By HDXBrandJanuary 21, 2015
Hi Lenny,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that your experience this time around wasn't as great as your first time.There has been a change in the design since last year. We made this change based on other customer feedback regarding the o-ring getting misplaced or lost. Since the o-ring is now internal and not external, there is no need for any o-rings on the outside of the filter. If there are any additional o-rings inside of your refrigerator left behind from your last filter, please remove any o-rings left behind, Regarding your concern about the water flow, this is due to trapped air inside of the filter. Your water flow should increase by running 2.5 to 3 gallons of water through the filter. This will also help with any bad taste that you may be experiencing. We hope that since this review, you have been able to use your water filter without any further issues and that these issues have been resolved. If you are continuing to experience these same issues, please feel free to contact our Customer Service Team Monday thru Friday 8am to 5pm PST at 1-855-849-3589.
Thank you,
Julie - Customer Service Team
Review 32 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

Replacement filters

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After market filter works as good as the original brand name. Highly recommend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Conyers, Ga
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

refrigerator water filters

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These HD filters are much cheaper than the ge brand that we bought before.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from guaynabo, puerto rico
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best buy ever

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product offers a good option because the price is excellent.
Pros: Durable, the price is low
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

Great and economical

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This item works the same as the GE filter at half the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Denver
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Must be harder to make than it looks.

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought a 2 pack for the price of 1 GE filter. I've been through several GE filters with no problem; but with the MADE IN USA badge and half the price; thought it was worth a try.
Installed the first filter; and tried to run water through it. Worked for a few seconds; then the flow dropped off to a trickle. Installed the second filter with the same results. 0 for 2.
Put the old GE back in till I can return and purchase new GE.
Sad deal for USA.
Pros: low price
Cons: doesn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators

Worst Purchase ever!!!!!

PostedJune 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was the worst filter that I have ever purchased! My husband and I were trying to save money by purchasing a cheaper brand, not to mention a twin size pack. Which was like buying two for the price of one. Well we were both wrong. The water from this filter was awful. It tasted like unfiltered water straight from the kitchen faucet, even the ice cubes tasted nasty. And I threw those out as well. Well we ended up taking this filter back and purchasing the original GE brand. There was a night and day difference in taste. My husband and I learned that cheap is not always the way, but it was worth the shot in price.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: bad filter
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 38 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Mesquite
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

will continue to buy product

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am extremely happy HOME DEPOT stocks the twin pack water filter. This is very convenient for
me. The store is very close to where I live
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from La Porte, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great filter!

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
very easy installation and great fit/value! half the cost of OEM replacement filter.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for FMG Replacement Refrigerator Water Filter Twin Value Pack for GE Refrigerators
from Indian Land, SC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good filters and cheap compared to GE filters

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
These filter as good as expensive GE filters got two filters for the price of one GE filter
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>