728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Vacuums or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner

DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner

DC44 Animal is the new Dyson Digital Slim vacuum cleaner - the cordless machine that doesn't lose suction. It has been engineered for floor to ceiling cleaning. Powered by the Dyson digital motor, it is the most power-efficient cordless vacuum. It has an increased run time compared with DC35: 20 minutes of constant high suction. The motorized floor tool has anti-static carbon fiber filaments to remove fine dust from hard floors. A mini motorized tool removes pet hair and dust from awkward spaces and upholstery. DC44 Animal comes with a 2 year warranty, parts and labor.
Overall rating:
4.684 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(2318 reviews) 2212
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product2,231 of 2,316reviews
Rating Breakdown 2,318 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(1,741)
4
(500)
3
(29)
2
(18)
1
(30)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product2,231 of 2,316reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner
Review 1 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

Hubby Loves It!! Everything the commercials say and more

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My husband has been wanting a Dyson since he saw the commercials. They are so expensive that I thought we could never afford one. Well, I decided to buy him this Dyson for a Xmas present. Gave it to him before Xmas and he absolutely loves it. He vacuums everyday now, which is a good thing for me!? The vacuum is all it says it would do and I would recommend it especially if you have animals. Cleans up the pet hair...oh ya!!!
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner
from California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Excellent!

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is exactly as described. A very useful, lightweight vacuum. Very easy to use, easy to clean, and does a great job. Love it!
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner
from IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not Worth The Money

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wanted to love this vacuum - I really did. But...after getting it, fully charging it and testing it on hardwood, tile, carpet and rugs I am very disappointed. Hardwood performance was good, tile was good. The minute you hit the carpet it does not glide smoothly and there is not enough suction to pull dog hair out of the carpet. The charge time, while longer than the last model, it completely inadequate for a whole room cleaning, much less a whole house, if you have pets. I had to go over the same areas several times and still did not get the hair up because the battery exhausted itself. I have 2 dogs and this just can't handle it. After using it, I spent 20 minutes cleaning the hair that had wrapped around the brush and was blocking the bristles. I love the features, the adapabilty and the convenience, but the power just isn't there for a machine that touts itself as a pet vac. For the price of this, I can go through 3 or 4 cheaper and just as highly rated vacuum cleaners. Sorry Dyson - this one is a bust.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use
Cons: Dust Chamber, Clogs, Performance, brush clogs easily, Short Battery Life
+29points
39out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 4 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner
from Lincoln, NE, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Works great

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I use this product mainly for quick pick ups & stairs. It has great suction & the battery lasts more than long enough for me to do the stairs & the kichen. It is light weight & easy to use. We purchased the "animal" version because we have a Samoyed dog and it does a great job of picking up the dog hair. The only problem I have is the dog hair wraps itself around the brush & I have to take it out & clean after every use & the slot provided to access the brush is a pain to open & close.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner
from Mass
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

Great if you live in a shoe box

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Battery life is only about 10 minutes then you have to recharge for 5 hours. At that rate it would take about a week to do an entire house. Additional battery is $70.00, that would give you 20 minutes. Returned mine. Does work well - for the entire 10 minutes.
Pros: Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight
Cons: Build Quality, Difficult to Empty Filter, battery life, cost of additional batteries
+12points
17out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner
from Aurora CO

Love love love this vacuum

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love this vacuum! It is one of the best decisions I have made to take care of lots of dog hair and the normal dust, crumbs, coffee grounds that happen every day. It is easy to use, charges quickly, and has great suction. I just walk through the house and it picks up everything along the way. Works great on hardwoods, tile and area rugs. Have not tried it on carpet. I already told my sister about it, she bought one, and loves hers to!
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner
from Florida, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great portable vacuum

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a perfect vacuum for touch up cleaning. This is not a vacuum for whole house cleaning. Perfect for cleaning out the car and small cleaning jobs. It has a push to operate switch that is not a problem for short duration cleaning, which is what this vacuum is designed for. Easily mounts on wall for storage. Catch it on sale for best value.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner

Best buy purchase ever.

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The vacuum was really easy to assemble, lightweight and no noisy. I am really pleased with the battery life and was able to use the vacuum with charging for less half hour heavy duty use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner
from Sandy Springs, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

We are very pleased with our purchase.

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Dyson DC44 is light and easy to operate.We are able to reach high spaces because of its weight and mobility. It gives a sterling performance in cleaning our condo.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner
from Daphne, AL
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Weekly

Very satisfied - with one reservation

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
All in all, this is a great machine. Light-weight, functional attachments, easy to empty, small enough to maneuver in even the tightest spaces. 20 minutes is not really long enough to vacuum an entire house, but still it's easy enough to recharge and finish in a few hours or the next day. What I don't like is that you must continuously hold down the "trigger" mechanism to make it work. This was a very poor design and is tiring. There should be a locking mechanism that you can use to keep the trigger pressed so you don't have to do it yourself. Performs great on hard surfaces, less well on carpets. And it could definitely use a better instruction guide than one with nothing but pictures.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Quiet, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: no locking mechanism on trigger
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner
from Southern California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

GREAT little Vacuum

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have had this vacuum for only a short period of time and I am wondering how many miles I can get on the roller ball. Only kidding, this thing is fantastic. I have one of the larger corded Dyson vacuums but this is great for quick pick ups and the best tool for my new hardwood floors.
I would like to say that when I took it out of the box the thing ran great. I was using it for about five minutes and it just shut off. That let the wind out of my sails so I broke out the owners manual and it didn't say anything about rapid cutoffs except for overheating, so thinking the worst, I hung it on the wall in the charger, said a prayer and was going to call customer support in the morning. OK Dyson, you need to put something in the owners manual for new owners that when the battery dies, it doesn't fade off slowly like other battery operated products, so don't become dismayed. When the battery dies, it cuts off like the owner's manual says about the over heating. You can imagine how I felt when I woke up in the morning and a Christmas miracle happened after charging this little jewel overnight. Nothing is mentioned in the owners manual about what happens when the battery is dead. OK, it may be in there but I didn't see it. Like all men, we run it for a while until there is a problem and then we break out the manual. GREAT little vacuum. Looking forward to a long and happy life together.
Dyson, I have seen the pros and cons for the trigger switch. I understand your reasoning for having a hold down switch but could you make it an optional switch that either locks or doesn't lock?
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner
from Colorado
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

Very good for what it does best: Clean floors

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The floor element is easy to use and does a good job on all surfaces that I've used it on, moving easily
from carpet, wood floors and tile in the process. It has good suction and is exactly what I was looking for in a vacuum I can use to do touch ups and pick up dust in corners and behind furniture I can't or don't want to move (beds for instance). It was easy to assemble and is easy to empty and swap out the different elements. The other handheld elements are difficult to hold and move around, especially the small brush, which doesn't have sufficient soft brush depth. The suction on this element is also disappointing.
However, I bought the vacuum mostly for cleaning floors so I'm satisfied with its usability. I will expect that any repairs needed will be done as quickly and effortlessly as its purchase turned out to be, and after its high cost not unusually expensive.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Quiet, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: Unbalanced
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner

Price is not right for what it can do.

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
You have to charge every 8 or 20 minutes depending on use of Max function.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By DysonProductExpertDecember 12, 2014By DysonProductExpertDecember 12, 2014
DC44 Animal cordless vacuum has a run time of 20 minutes or 8 minutes on Boost mode. If you would like to learn more please email your contact details to us at askdysonus@dyson.com. We will be sure to be in touch. Best wishes, JayDyson-EN_US
Review 14 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner
from Indianapolis, IN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

Dyson does have great suction

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I like the ease of vacuuming in half the time without having to deal with a cord. The suction is great. It runs for about 20 minutes though and I am not able to vacuum the entire house in 20 minutes. This vacuum is best on hard floors, but I took the beater brush out because I didn't want to clean hair out of the brush every time I used the vacuum. Unfortunately, it will not work on carpet without the brush. I wish there was an easier way to transition from floors to carpets without having to take out the beater brush. I also found the machine to be top heavy. I have arthritis in my hands and wrists and it is diffifult to manipulate the machine for long periods of time--I have to use both hands to control it sometimes. It is also noisy (with a kind of high-pitched whine) but then what vacuum isn't? I still have an electric stick vac which works great but the cord is a definite hassle and it is not good on carpeting so I don't regret buying the Dyson, which is quite expensive, but it is not ideal.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: Dust Chamber, Noisy, Difficult to Use, Unbalanced
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner
from Titusville, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Daily

Not worth the money and difficult to maneuver.

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was very disappointed first that the hanger with the power plug doesn't make proper contact to charge the vacuum, so now I have to prop the vacuum up in a corner and hope it doesn't fall. Secondly, it is too heavy and to have to keep a constant finger on the trigger instead of having an on-off button is another pain to my wrist and forearm! The pivot on the head isn't good either. The pipe that less from the vacuum head to the handle gets clogged full of debris and I have to take a bent clothes hanger to get it out or the motor wavers. This stick vac is an expensive piece of junk!!!
Pros: Strong Suction
Cons: Size & Weight, Clogs, Difficult to Use, Performance, hanger doesn't allow for a charge.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner
from Berlin NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

Terrible

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Flimsy, doesn't hold a charge. Stops working in the middle of vacuuming. Does not work on carpet. Doesn't have good suction
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Suction, Performance, doesn't hold charge
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By DysonProductExpertSeptember 16, 2014By DysonProductExpertSeptember 16, 2014
Hi Lisa, this is Joe with Dyson. DC44 requires approximately 5.5 hours to fully charge. The machine will flash an indicator light when the battery is low to alert the user that the machine needs to be charged.

DC44 also features a MAX power mode for tougher jobs. We would like to ensure your machine is operating as intended, please send us an email with your contact information to askdysonUS@dyson.com and we will be in touch.

Best wishes,

Joe
Dyson Customer ServiceDyson-EN_US
Review 17 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner
from Georgetown, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

This product is not worth the amount of money I spent.

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cannot hold a charge long enough to do the whole house. Must empty the bin 3 to 5 times during a touch up house cleaning. Cleaning the filters on a regular basis as dictated by the instructions is a royal pain. Holding the on trigger for extended periods is difficult for people with arthritis, needs a hold button. Price of the product exceeds its value.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Quiet, Self-Propelled
Cons: Dust Chamber, Difficult to Use, Difficult to Empty Filter, price to value
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner

not happy with the product for the money

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
instructions - nothing written, just pictures
must hold in the on button for it to work, doesn't stay on
head isn't firm, flops down when not on the floor, so you pick it up and it goes down
Cons: Difficult to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner
from Highland Lakes
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Daily

Great hand held vacuum

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great hand held vacuum with great tools. Powerful and with the wand it is a great all around vacuum for the house. The wall mount is also great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner
from Easton, CT, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

Makes Life Easier

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
While I've only had the Dyson for a few weeks now...I already notice how much cleaner my house is (and how much dirtier it was!!!). With 2 kids under 5, there is a constant stream of crumbs and sparkles and bits of paper strewn across our house. Throw in our dog and you can imagine the mess. This Dyson is lightweight, very easy to use and so convenient that you'll find yourself not only enjoying vacuuming but also doing it much more often than you did with a bigger machine.
What shocked me most was how often the dirt container would fill up even when I didn't think there was that much to vacuum up! Clearly it's a powerful vac given what it's collecting. To boot, this is going to save me a fortune in vac bags for my larger vac.
Haven't used it long enough to really have any complaints. I did have a problem where the motor was revving but realized that there was a jam up in the vac head (tried to vac up a huge pile of Christmas tree debris that I probably shouldn't have thrown its way). Once I cleared it it was fine.
Bottom line, this is an item that will put your life in better order! It's a time saver, a habit forming tool and I will never live without it again :)
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Cons: expensive
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>