728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Vacuums or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner

DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner

DC44 Animal is the new Dyson Digital Slim vacuum cleaner - the cordless machine that doesn't lose suction. It has been engineered for floor to ceiling cleaning. Powered by the Dyson digital motor, it is the most power-efficient cordless vacuum. It has an increased run time compared with DC35: 20 minutes of constant high suction. The motorized floor tool has anti-static carbon fiber filaments to remove fine dust from hard floors. A mini motorized tool removes pet hair and dust from awkward spaces and upholstery. DC44 Animal comes with a 2 year warranty, parts and labor.
Overall rating:
4.68 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(1377 reviews) 1318
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product1,319 of 1,375reviews
Rating Breakdown 1,377 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(1,036)
4
(289)
3
(22)
2
(12)
1
(18)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product1,319 of 1,375reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner
Review 1 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

Hubby Loves It!! Everything the commercials say and more

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband has been wanting a Dyson since he saw the commercials. They are so expensive that I thought we could never afford one. Well, I decided to buy him this Dyson for a Xmas present. Gave it to him before Xmas and he absolutely loves it. He vacuums everyday now, which is a good thing for me!? The vacuum is all it says it would do and I would recommend it especially if you have animals. Cleans up the pet hair...oh ya!!!
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner
from Titusville, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Daily

Not worth the money and difficult to maneuver.

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was very disappointed first that the hanger with the power plug doesn't make proper contact to charge the vacuum, so now I have to prop the vacuum up in a corner and hope it doesn't fall. Secondly, it is too heavy and to have to keep a constant finger on the trigger instead of having an on-off button is another pain to my wrist and forearm! The pivot on the head isn't good either. The pipe that less from the vacuum head to the handle gets clogged full of debris and I have to take a bent clothes hanger to get it out or the motor wavers. This stick vac is an expensive piece of junk!!!
Pros: Strong Suction
Cons: Size & Weight, Clogs, Difficult to Use, Performance, hanger doesn't allow for a charge.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner
from Tennessee
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

It's a light weight Vacuum Cleaner with a short fuse...goes off to quick

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
First DC44 Animal Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner I've ever owned, so I will say it seems to do a good job. I have a large house and wish the battery lasted longer, on high power you only get I think 8 minutes and I'm 61 so that doesn't work well for me and the 20 minutes on the less powerful setting isn't enough either because it takes a good while to really clean vacuum. Good quickie though! LOL I also have Rheumatoid Arthritis and having to hold the push in button all the time to keep it running really hurts, so I would not recommend this vacuum to a R.A. person. Other than that I think it's an ok product, a little pricey. Full Charge time is way way to long! 5.5 hours......good gracious! Better plan on vacuuming to be a full days job or divided up into two days.
But with the negatives, there is always sunshine, and over all I would purchase another product from them. So have a nice day and enjoy cleaning with your new vac.
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner
from Saratoga, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

second one

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After using the first Dyson for a few months, we got a second one to have handy. It's very flexible for floors, walls, and furniture. It stores compactly on its wall bracket, but it doesn't appear to accomodate the smaller brush attachment on the holder so you need a nearby location to keep it handy. Brush attachments do nicely on the carpets and rugs, crevice attachment and snout attachments are easy to install for small locations and quick pickup. We got it mainly for floors as we also purchased a lithium battery handvac for small jobs. We find the trigger operation to be just fine since you don't usually keep at one spot for more than half a minute at a time. Like all vacuums with any power, it's a bit noisy. Noisier when set to max power, but it really pulls out the dirt on max. I like the way you can easily turn on and off the max power while you're working.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner
from Lincoln, NE, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Works great

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I use this product mainly for quick pick ups & stairs. It has great suction & the battery lasts more than long enough for me to do the stairs & the kichen. It is light weight & easy to use. We purchased the "animal" version because we have a Samoyed dog and it does a great job of picking up the dog hair. The only problem I have is the dog hair wraps itself around the brush & I have to take it out & clean after every use & the slot provided to access the brush is a pain to open & close.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner
from IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not Worth The Money

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wanted to love this vacuum - I really did. But...after getting it, fully charging it and testing it on hardwood, tile, carpet and rugs I am very disappointed. Hardwood performance was good, tile was good. The minute you hit the carpet it does not glide smoothly and there is not enough suction to pull dog hair out of the carpet. The charge time, while longer than the last model, it completely inadequate for a whole room cleaning, much less a whole house, if you have pets. I had to go over the same areas several times and still did not get the hair up because the battery exhausted itself. I have 2 dogs and this just can't handle it. After using it, I spent 20 minutes cleaning the hair that had wrapped around the brush and was blocking the bristles. I love the features, the adapabilty and the convenience, but the power just isn't there for a machine that touts itself as a pet vac. For the price of this, I can go through 3 or 4 cheaper and just as highly rated vacuum cleaners. Sorry Dyson - this one is a bust.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use
Cons: Dust Chamber, Clogs, Performance, brush clogs easily, Short Battery Life
+29points
39out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

Love it

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have to agree that holding down the power button stinks but this vacuum is so easy to use and powerful I can live with it. Great pulling dog hair out of the sofa microsuede and easy to get up under the furniture and close to the walls. Worth the money so far.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: cost
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner
from Mass
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

Great if you live in a shoe box

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Battery life is only about 10 minutes then you have to recharge for 5 hours. At that rate it would take about a week to do an entire house. Additional battery is $70.00, that would give you 20 minutes. Returned mine. Does work well - for the entire 10 minutes.
Pros: Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight
Cons: Build Quality, Difficult to Empty Filter, battery life, cost of additional batteries
+12points
17out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner
from Florida, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great portable vacuum

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a perfect vacuum for touch up cleaning. This is not a vacuum for whole house cleaning. Perfect for cleaning out the car and small cleaning jobs. It has a push to operate switch that is not a problem for short duration cleaning, which is what this vacuum is designed for. Easily mounts on wall for storage. Catch it on sale for best value.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner

For battery operated, awesome machine

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use it in my office and hear my staff saying they wish the head could be bigger (wider) so they can vacuum wider areas at once.
I tell them, this is a battery operated machine, and for a battery operated machine, this is probably as good as it gets.
I personally love it. It even picks up dust, which I used to either mop or Swiffer it off my hardwood floor. Now, i just vacuum it.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner
from Sandy Springs, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

We are very pleased with our purchase.

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Dyson DC44 is light and easy to operate.We are able to reach high spaces because of its weight and mobility. It gives a sterling performance in cleaning our condo.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner
from Bel Air, MD 21014, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Daily

Quick,light and easy to use

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I got this for quick clean ups and for my carpeted stairs. Love it! Having to hold the button for the power is a little bit of a pain in the finger but not a deal breaker for me! I did my whole first floor (wood and carpet) on one charge. This does carpet but it not a deep clean as my regular dyson, just skims the top. I wish there was a power indicator light of some sort. When the power is out, it shuts off, no warning. Highly recommend. Watch online for a sale and Home Depot gives free delivery and can be returned to the store if there is a problem.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner
from Maine
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

Got it for half price

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Called my local Home Depot and asked if they carried the DC 44 Animal and a nice man with an English accent said my dear this is your lucky day. They had one left that was on sale for $199.00. He put my name on it took it to the service desk to wait for me to arrive. So easy to use. Love the removable brushes easy to clean hair and anything else caught up in the brushes. I can do what I have to vacuum for 2 days on one charge. Great lightweight vacuum. I own a Kirby that I love but it's to hard to get those hard to reach places...under tables, coffee tables, couches. This vacuum is the BEST for stairs!!!
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner
from Daphne, AL
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Weekly

Very satisfied - with one reservation

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
All in all, this is a great machine. Light-weight, functional attachments, easy to empty, small enough to maneuver in even the tightest spaces. 20 minutes is not really long enough to vacuum an entire house, but still it's easy enough to recharge and finish in a few hours or the next day. What I don't like is that you must continuously hold down the "trigger" mechanism to make it work. This was a very poor design and is tiring. There should be a locking mechanism that you can use to keep the trigger pressed so you don't have to do it yourself. Performs great on hard surfaces, less well on carpets. And it could definitely use a better instruction guide than one with nothing but pictures.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Quiet, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: no locking mechanism on trigger
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner
from Dyersburg Tn
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

Good Product

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Received product b/4 suggested delivery time and was happy with the way it did the Job
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner
from Brooklyn, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

great quick fix

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product was highly recommended to me because I have 5 cats and am always vacuuming. I have to say I was a bit disappointed. It definitely does the job… but the charge doesn't last long enough and you need to constantly keep your finger on the button to keep it vacuuming. So it's a bit annoying.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By DysonProductExpertJune 25, 2014By DysonProductExpertJune 25, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for your review of DC44.

DC44 features 20 minutes of contestant suction and 8 minutes on MAX power for tougher jobs. Our cordless vacuums, such as DC44, are intended for quick pick-ups in between larger jobs therefore the power button does not permanently engage. Many other cordless vacuums remain switched on from the moment cleaning starts, and battery power is wasted between cleaning tasks. The run-time enhancing trigger means that battery power is only used for cleaning tasks.

By ensuring that the run-time enhancing trigger fits flush to the handle of the machine, the load is shared across the whole hand, putting less pressure on the wrist and fingers.

We would love to discuss your experience in greater detail, please feel free to contact us at askdysonUS@dyson.com and we will be in touch.

Best wishes,
Joe
Dyson Customer ServiceDyson-EN_US
Review 17 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Daily

Great little vaccum with lots of power.

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love my new Dyson! It is so light and easy to use. The battery life is much better than I expected. Wonderful product.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Good for All Surfaces, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner
from Poughkeepsie, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Convenient and easy to use

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'd wanted both a cordless and hand-held vacuum for quick and cursory clean-ups around the house and in the car. This vacuum fit the bill for both. I love that it has attachments to use as a vacuum for the floor and also, as a hand-held for the car, furniture, ceilings, etc. I was able to take advantage of the docking station for storage and charging by installing it in the pantry after adding an outlet. It's conveniently and readily accessible and always charged. We were a bit challenged in finding a location for the docking station because the design requires a fair amount of clear space to hang/remove the unit with the floor attachment because it must go in on an angle. But we were able to find a place for it and it was definitely worthwhile. The suction is pretty good though I had expected better... though perhaps my expectations weren't reasonable for a cordless vacuum. The beater bar on the floor attachment works nicely on carpets and fine dust on hard floors. However, I have found it simply pushes larger objects (e.g. a popcorn kernel) around and I have to make an overt effort to "place" the vacuum head over the object to pick it up. Not a big deal now that I'm used to it. Though the vacuum was on sale for the holidays, it was still pricier than most brands. But given the Dyson reputation for quality and its features, I felt the vacuum would be a worthwhile purchase and so far, it's proven to be.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner
from Simi Valley, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

Excellent Vacuum with only one draw back

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this vacuum for my new house. We moved into and had hardwood floors throughout. It looks great but with a big dog that sheds a ton it wasn't long before we had tumble weeds of hair blowing around our floor. Our old place had carpet and it was easy to just vacuum once a week, but with the new hardwood floors once a week just wouldn't cut it. My wife wanted something that would be easy to carry around the room and quick to use without the need of winding up cords every time. I saw the DC44 at home depot and decided we would give it a try. IT WORKED GREAT!!! It was exactly what we needed. It had enough battery charge to do all the rooms in the house. The canister needed to be emptied after a couple rooms but that is easily done with the push of a button. We thought it was going to be everything we needed. Then about 3 months in we hit a problem, more of an annoyance. The battery is located on the bottom of the vacuum. On our DC44 the battery has gotten loose. It doesn't fall off but it comes just loose enough to cut the power to the vacuum. You have to push it back in place every time it cuts out to get it to work again. If you hold it in place it won't ba an issue but it makes carrying the vacuum a little tricky. We spoke with Dyson and they are happy to replace the unit via warranty. Haven't decided if I am going to send it in since it isn't a huge deal but I might since it is covered anyway.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Cons: battery comes loose after a while.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for DC44 Animal Digital Slim Cordless Stick Vacuum Cleaner

great tool, easy and convenient to use

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The best tool I have purchased in a long time. It is quick and easy to use for small jobs. You will still need an electric vacuum for bigger jobs. All of our floors are tiled and my wife loves it for around the house, do to its convenient and easy use, she vacuums more often.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>