728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Upright Freezers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 15.8 cu. ft. Frost Free Upright Freezer in White

15.8 cu. ft. Frost Free Upright Freezer in White

This refrigerator checks in with you when it needed to. The temperature monitor alarm on this frost-free ENERGY STAR qualified 15.8 cu. ft. Upright Freezer sounds if the conditions dip below a safe freezer temperature. Plus, you can bring groceries back to their correct temperature when you get them home from the store with the Fast Freeze setting. When selected, it runs almost continuously to provide freshly cooled air to drive the freezer temperature 10 degrees colder than the lowest setting. Empowerment never felt so cool.
Overall rating:
4.169 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(59 reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product49 of 57reviews
Rating Breakdown 59 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(36)
4
(9)
3
(6)
2
(4)
1
(4)
Features 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product49 of 57reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for 15.8 cu. ft. Frost Free Upright Freezer in White
Review 1 for 15.8 cu. ft. Frost Free Upright Freezer in White
from Fairport, NY 14450, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Toss your food..same result

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My 9 month old freezer died while we were out of town (of course)... was a balmy 68 degrees inside the stupid thing this afternoon when we got home..the result was a loss of over $500 worth of food. The alarm was beeping...not that we could even hear it even while upstairs (freezer is in basement). Still haven't dealt with Whirlpool..hope for some reimbursement and a different freezer. Wish I could get rid of this one altogether and not have to even have it repaired. I will never trust it again, nor will I EVER buy another product from Whirlpool.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Nice Design
Cons: totally unreliable
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 15.8 cu. ft. Frost Free Upright Freezer in White
from Texas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Throw your food away now it will save you the time

PostedJune 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
At some point Whirlpool used to stand behind their products, now all they seem to do is hide behind their warranties! I purchased an upright freezer back in March only to have it break less than a month later. Worse was that it was fully stocked, after going to Costco the week before, and had to throw away at least $300 worth of food. Called Home Depot where I purchased the freezer and was instructed to contact Whirlpool's warranty service department. Of course since it was brand new I just wanted a new freezer, but they informed me that they would have to send out a service tech to inspect the machine. Tech came out two days later and discovered their was a leak in the coil and that the freon had all leaked out causing the freezer to stop working. Freezer repaired I waited a couple of days to make sure it was working before restocking the freezer. Less than a month later the same thing happened, and I had to toss another $300 worth of food. This time when I spoke with someone from their solutions team, I was very adamant about wanting the freezer replaced and not repaired. However I was informed by one of their supervisors that, "Unfortunately we cannot make all of our customers happy." Needless to say I found this to be more than unprofessional for someone in the service industry. Unfortunately I had no other option and once again they sent out a service technician, not an actual Whirlpool employee, came out to look at the freezer. The tech determined that the source of the leak was in the cabinet and therefore the unit was unrepairable. He informed me that he was filing his report with Whirlpool and that I should here back from them within 24 hours as to the next step. Two days later and no phone call I get a hold of the the service company only to discover that someone at Whirlpool had overridden his diagnosis and was instructing them to come back and make another repair. I called Whirlpool once more and spoke with yet another solutions team supervisor and finally was able to have them schedule a replacement freezer. Was the delivery person on time, of course not they were two hours late and didn't even make the effort to call ahead and let me know but then why should I be surprised Whirlpool uses third parties so that they can avoid being held accountable. After all of this I call one more time to file a complaint about how my entire experience was. I ultimately asked to speak with a manager after speaking to a supervisor who could not resolve my issue in a manner I would have liked. She informed me that there was no one to speak with at the time but that she would pass my information on. I requested that they call me the following morning at 9:00 am as I would be home from work. Four days later I have not received phone call and have decided to post this instead.
Cons: Not Durable, awful service, no replacement for lost food, hides behind their warranty
+43points
43out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 15.8 cu. ft. Frost Free Upright Freezer in White
from Tulsa, OK
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Won't buy this brand again

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After only two months the freezer stuck in defrost mode and I lost over $300 worth of food. There was no instructions in the booklet that came with the unit to show you how to reset defrost. It was a simple thing the repair man showed me how to do, tool required - one screwdriver. The unit doesn't hold temperature and can only use the lower two shelves and the basket and on the door can only use the lower three shelves. Total waste of space for upper third of unit due to food not staying frozen in these locations. It does set in the garage but didn't even hold temperature when the temperature was zero degrees this winter. I bought this to replace a 30 year old freezer that had to be defrosted. I wish I had kept the old one and defrost it. It worked even during 100 degree in the summer. Next purchase will be another freezer that needs defrosting. At least you can store food in the entire unit and get your money's worth. Recommend do not buy this item.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable, does not hold proper temperature for freezer
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 15.8 cu. ft. Frost Free Upright Freezer in White
from Richmond, VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this freezer

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I knew when I bought the freezer I wanted the many features but it had no lock on the door and the electric cord could have been longer since I had to use an outlet to the side in the garage. The delivery people showed me the issue with reversing the door: that the light switch would not turn off automatically. I love honesty in delivery people. I am still going to reverse the door and use freezer tape to keep the light from being on all the time. When I needed to further adjust the front feet to fix a wobble, it was easy to have someone tilt the empty freezer so I could turn the leveling feet. This upright with the bottom basket is so much easier to use than my former chest freezer. I am glad I made the purchase
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 15.8 cu. ft. Frost Free Upright Freezer in White
from Whidbey Island, Washington, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This freezer had all the features we needed. Plus it fit perfectly in the space available in our utility room.

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The freezer was just what we wanted. I was impressed by the delivery persons who were willing to bring down the freezer by hand truck down our rather long driveway because their truck was too large, due to the overhanging trees, and installed it quickly and efficiently.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 15.8 cu. ft. Frost Free Upright Freezer in White
from Wilsonville, OR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Happy to have a new unit

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our old freezer was 12 years old when we purchased it "used" from some friends. It lasted 21 years longer but was a manual defrost and the seal was failing. Fearing the end was near we purchased this brand new freezer that is frost free, has a temperature monitor alarm, a power indicator light, and a compact 15.8 cu. ft. of space for my wife and I which is more than enough now that the kids are gone. It seems quiet enough but, I admit, it is in our garage so any excess noise is not audible anyway. It has an interior light which is great and frankly we are very happy with the unit so far!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 15.8 cu. ft. Frost Free Upright Freezer in White
from Mill Creek, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is the last Whirlpool appliance for me!

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this freezer because it was a top rated one by the Consumer Reports. What a mistake!!!
It is going to cost me almost the same amount of money to buy a new one to have it fixed. It's only over one year old. Probably it will last only for another year after it is fixed. Please stay away from this brand.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 15.8 cu. ft. Frost Free Upright Freezer in White

Nice looking.

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I like the way the interior is set up. I also like the fact that there is a light inside. For many years I had a freezer without a light and it was like searching in a dark hole for the food. It is also quiet and there is a light on the front to let me know that it is plugged in and working.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 15.8 cu. ft. Frost Free Upright Freezer in White
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Freezer is just right for what I need!

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Freezer works well. It does make a little noise but since I have it in the garage, that's not a problem. I am very happy with the product.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 15.8 cu. ft. Frost Free Upright Freezer in White

Great Freezer

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great freezer. Quiet, which was very important. Lots of room.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, nice and quiet!
Cons: warms up small room it is in., no outside controls, a little bit deeper than i thought
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 15.8 cu. ft. Frost Free Upright Freezer in White
from Baton Rouge
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worst Purchase I've Made

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this product Oct. 15, 2012, broke within 8 mos. has defrosted twice with a fair amount of food in it. Handle kept coming off in your hand when opening. It's broke again now, so temperature control problem, waiting on a part. Bought Whirlpool because they are supposed to be the best this was a joke. This is a piece of junk that probably won't last 5 years. worth the warranty I have on it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 15.8 cu. ft. Frost Free Upright Freezer in White
from Overland Park, KS, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It performs exactly as it should

PostedMay 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The refrigerator has sufficient capacity for my needs ,all shelves are easily accessible, and the door storage does not allow items to fall off or through.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 15.8 cu. ft. Frost Free Upright Freezer in White
from Arlington, ma
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what we wanted

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This freezer is just right for us. Great loading capacity. It is efficient and we're going to keep it full of yummy food!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 15.8 cu. ft. Frost Free Upright Freezer in White

Excellent product for the price!

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love the light and the alarm feature! Works great so far!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 15.8 cu. ft. Frost Free Upright Freezer in White
from Woodbury, MN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks great and is very quiet.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It was time to replace our old Whirlpool upright freezer and we are very happen with this model. It looks great, is quiet and enery efficient. The only downside is that it has only 3 shelves versus the 5 that our old one had.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 15.8 cu. ft. Frost Free Upright Freezer in White
from arizona
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It is exactly what I wanted. The temp. control is steady, however, the alarm buzzer could be louder.

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
They did an excellent job moving the freezer in and making sure it was working, They were very friendly and congenial..
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 15.8 cu. ft. Frost Free Upright Freezer in White

Lots of room...freezes everything solid...even ice cream!

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A little noisier than our old freezer but so much more sleak and roomy. The light is a real plus along with the alarm.
Pros: High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 15.8 cu. ft. Frost Free Upright Freezer in White
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Does keep food cold but locking system poor...have to constantly check to be sure door is sealed tight

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not thrilled. Very basic without door lock which means always checking to see if gasket on door closes properly..shelving too far apart to be efficient for storage. No choice. Hope it lasts. Disappointed and wish i had purchased different machine.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: no door lock door gasket weak, poor shelving configuration
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 15.8 cu. ft. Frost Free Upright Freezer in White
from Montgomery, AL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

this product has great features

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
like the alarm feature in case of temperature drop, and the light to show its on. Like that it is energy star rated.
the delivery had a snag, but I'm satisfied with my purchase.
Pros: Lots of Features
Cons: delivery problem
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 15.8 cu. ft. Frost Free Upright Freezer in White

Nice looking; working well so far

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Home depot had the lowest price by far, and we are very pleased with the product. Notification of delivery and the delivery process all went very smoothly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>