728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer

4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer

Made from 100% Food-Grade Diatomaceous Earth, a fossilized hard shelled algae. Insect Dust is like crawling over broken glass to insects but is harmless to pets and humans. Use indoors or out, around the foundation of your home as a barrier, on vegetable plants, ornamentals, houseplants, on slugs, snails, ant mounds, earwigs, in cracks and crevices, sprinkle on mattresses to kill bed bugs, on carpet to kill fleas or anywhere else insects are found.
Overall rating:
4.526 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product33 of 36reviews
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(28)
4
(6)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product33 of 36reviews
Customer reviews for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
Review 1 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
Tami
from Florida
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job

PostedApril 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this product for a flea infestation and for roaches. I applied it on my cats fur, beds, furniture, carpet, corners, and practically anywhere the problem was. It took about a week to see it take any affect but I"m satisfied that it works unlike the other chemicals I wasted my money on. It is a bit messy especially since I have tile floor. It's been about 2 weeks since I bought this product and I've only seen one flea which was already slowly dying. overall It gets the job done, eventually.
Pros: Multi Use, Strong
Cons: messy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
 
+45points
45out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
ojrocks
from Marion, IL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product works great

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been battling a severe flea infestation for months. I had read about diatomaceous earth so decided to give it a try. I have an animal in the home so was wary of some chemical means of flea removal.
This product worked great and is very easy to use. I spread it throughout the house, working it in carpets and hard to reach areas. It easily worked into fabrics and furniture. I didn't have to use that much, just spread it evenly. Since then I have been finding tons of dead fleas and have noticed a big reduction in bites.
I will continue to use this product to help with insects, and plan on buying it again.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
msjjohnson
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Diatomaceous Earth Organic

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product works great! I am so satisfied with this product. I had an overnight bed-bug infestation after I acquired a new house guest. The bed bugs were like little nasty vampires sucking our blood in the wee hours of the night. I got sooooo tired of losing sleep and being on the verge on insanity. I spent hundreds of dollars on extermination fees and do it yourself bed bug kits…nothing seemed to work until I tried this wonderful product. I placed this product everywhere in my house, the couches, baseboards and I even gave some to my neighbors since we all stay in the same condo unit. I have not seen a bed bug in my home in weeks.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Great Quality
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
Lucydog
from Nashville, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product!

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
St Gabriel's diatomaceous earth does exactly what
It is supposed to do. It kills fleas and other insects
Without harming me or my animals. I also feed it
To my dogs daily to kill and prevent worms.
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
Tony
from Burbank, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Winter Wonderland

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We recently had a flea infestation! We could see the fleas jumping on to my white boxer. I combed 30 fleas off him that morning. (Mind you he is on ComboGuard so if a flea bites him it dies) After manually removing all the fleas with a flea comb and dipping them in soapy water we had a massive count. I started with a non toxic yard spray with a nice cedar smell...no help! It seemed to help the fleas! We then tried Bio-yard spray...no help still fleas jumping even on my legs!
I ordered the food grade DE and made the entire backyard a Winter Wonderland! (Almost 2 1/2 weeks for deliver..iif I would have know I would have Next Day delivery) After the first day of powdering everything with my mask and leaf blower and some with a broom...I saw the fleas almost drop in numbers to maybe 1 in a day. Now to make sure I also bought some Lady in Red Nemotodes (overnight) and sprayed all the shaded landscape areas at 11 at night. I haven't seen a flea on me or my pup in days...ohh also forgot to mention I put the powder on my dogs legs and back before letting him go back out...the powder is still around on the brick, concrete and deck areas do when my dog lays around he has the powder but no fleas!!!!
Pros: Multi Use, Functionality, Great Quality
Cons: track it everywhere but small price to pay
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
WonderMom
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works Great!

PostedJune 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this product on my dog for the past 2 months and have had no fleas. Once a week I powder my dog with it outside. To ensure that his skin is not dried out he eats a dry dog food that contains salmon. We live in Houston where fleas and ticks thrive. So far I've had no problem! I absolutely LOVE this product and will use it in my natural that require DE.
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality, inexpensive
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
Famadore5
from Brooklyn, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Fantastic...

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well I brought this because of the scare of getting a infestation of bed bugs. I don't have them and I don't want them. So I cleaned the house and put this powder down everywhere. Cracks, crevices, bed, rail, around the wheels, in corners of drawers. Too my surprise it kills roaches. Came home from work & all around the baseboards were DEAD roaches. Its been almost two weeks and still no sight of no roaches & no bed bugs. I'm gonna put this powder down once a month to avoid and kind of pests. I used a empty baby powder bottle, a paint brush, and a jar with a spout on it to help me put the powder in the different places. Use a mask
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality
Cons: doesn't come with tools to assist with the powder
+56points
59out of 62found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
Taipantim
from Norwalk, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Killed Bugs

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product worked very well in my garden. I used it on cucumbers, green beans, broccoli, zucchini, egg plant, okra, various peppers, tomatoes and carrots. It took a few days but there are virtually no bugs in the garden now.
The powder does itch if it comes in contact with the skin but washes off well.
Helps if you have a good duster to apply the material. You should wear a dust mask when applying.
Pros: Easy to Apply
Cons: irritates skin
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
Customer
from DC subarb
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It took care of a bad flea infestation

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in a small historic property. For that and health reasons, I could not use a commercial or "toxic" product. I researched online and found this product. This stuff was amazing; I sprinkled it on the carpets, dusted it on the floors, and even put it on the pets fur (outside due to dust cloud). (it can be safely ingested in small quantities) Within 2 days, the super bad problem was 80% gone and my pets were a lot happier. The dust helped their skin and ... my feet really seem to like this product too. A few weeks later, still using the powder as a flea precaution and I've only seen 2 fleas since I've started using.
Yes, I would recommend it to a friend, and the vet was pleased at the outcome.
Pros: Functionality, easy to use multi-purpose
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
dragon
from USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Messy but it works

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This stuff really helped cut down the number of insects better than all the toxic sprays I've tried. It isn't easy to spread neatly inside the house--wear gloves and a mask.
Pros: Great Quality
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
Jeannie
from Indiana, USA

Great Product

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this for pest control. My yard is full of organic gardens and kids toys. I tried for months to rid my dog of fleas. I tried numerous (the most expensive) flea control drops and shampoos. My dog was still covered and started to get really bad skin irritation. I hated having more chemicals in my house. I applied this to my yard and coated my floors for the night, then vacuumed. It's been over a month, and still no fleas.
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
Harry
from Pa
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works!

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this for an ant infestation. I had contstant ants in the house for six years and tried all kinds of chemicals/exterminators/home remedies with minimal results. There were always ants crawling around soemwhere or up my leg. I got DE and puffed in into cracks in the baseboards, swept it all over the floor & under the rugs. Puffed it into outlets and any crack I could find. I let it sit for a couple of days before vacuumig the excess which may not have been neccesary but I am so sick of ants I wanted to make sure it worked. Day 1 I saw a huge difference. I spotted 6 ant foragers that day. Day 2 were 3 ants that looked lost and moving slow. Day 3 , one ant. Day 4, No ants!!!! After 6 long years and thousands of dollars later, this $10 tsafe treatment eliminated the ants in less than a week! That was three weeks ago with no return. I treated another room less thoroughly and vacuumed right away, didn't have time to move the furniture around, it took longer to see a change in the ants, its been a week and half for that room and yesterday I saw one ant. Have not found one yet today. It isn't pretty on my dark hardwood floor, but wipes up very easily and hopefully I won't need a visible amount for maintenance. Any white haze is well worth getting rid of the ant plague! I did the whole first floor and have most the bag leftover.
Pros: works
Cons: messy
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
1singleladyinStayton
from Stayton, OR, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can't go wrong with Diatomaceous Earth!

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
First bag I have ever bought but is working to rid my cats of their fleas. I dust them with it. I put too much on my first kitty. A little bit goes a long way. I plan to dust my carpets with it soon. Also will use it on my flowers in the spring. Love the stuff. Natural and safe!
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
HH432
from central PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Product works well for fleas

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product is a good natural alternative to flea control. Takes about 3 weeks to see serious results but starts working in only a few hours. Also kills ants and other weird stuff that crawl into old houses during summer.
Pros: Multi Use, Functionality, Great Quality
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
OrganicMC
from Hyattsville, MD, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Organic Product!

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great organic product that works! No more ants! This product works on all types of insects that can get into your home. It's a safe product and easy to clean-up. Just vacuum.
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality, great organic product, great service from home depot staff, great store
Cons: online delivery took longer than we were told.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
catsden
from Kentucky
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Natural Insect killer

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was clearly labeled and specified food grade which other places did not. Was a good price for the amount. It was only a couple of days and it was ready to pick up.
Pros: Good Shape
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
lynn
Age Range:45 to 54

Easy to use

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product is as fine as baby powder. We used a small metal strainer to apply. No smell and very little dust. This bag realy does go along way, most of the house is done with lots of product left.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
Princess

Helped get rid of flea larva in the house. Safe for my pets

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very fine dust so be careful when opening. Its great because you dont havento remove the pets. It is food grade and dries up the fleas.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
Savannasport
from Long Island, New York, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

What a great product"

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had a problem with fleas and after using this product, no more fleas. We were giving our dogs bathes every day until we used this. Highly recommend for all crawling insects
Pros: Multi Use, Effective
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
BigDEfan
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

So glad this product is available.

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I found out about DE thru Mother Earth News many decades ago. Finding sources was not so easy. If only I could find a way to keep it working thru the Florida rains.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>