728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer

4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer

Made from 100% Food-Grade Diatomaceous Earth, a fossilized hard shelled algae. Insect Dust is like crawling over broken glass to insects but is harmless to pets and humans. Use indoors or out, around the foundation of your home as a barrier, on vegetable plants, ornamentals, houseplants, on slugs, snails, ant mounds, earwigs, in cracks and crevices, sprinkle on mattresses to kill bed bugs, on carpet to kill fleas or anywhere else insects are found.
Overall rating:
4.379 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(58 reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product49 of 56reviews
Rating Breakdown 58 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(39)
4
(11)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product49 of 56reviews
Customer reviews for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
Review 1 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
from Marion, IL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product works great

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been battling a severe flea infestation for months. I had read about diatomaceous earth so decided to give it a try. I have an animal in the home so was wary of some chemical means of flea removal.
This product worked great and is very easy to use. I spread it throughout the house, working it in carpets and hard to reach areas. It easily worked into fabrics and furniture. I didn't have to use that much, just spread it evenly. Since then I have been finding tons of dead fleas and have noticed a big reduction in bites.
I will continue to use this product to help with insects, and plan on buying it again.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+21points
24out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
from Florida
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job

PostedApril 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this product for a flea infestation and for roaches. I applied it on my cats fur, beds, furniture, carpet, corners, and practically anywhere the problem was. It took about a week to see it take any affect but I"m satisfied that it works unlike the other chemicals I wasted my money on. It is a bit messy especially since I have tile floor. It's been about 2 weeks since I bought this product and I've only seen one flea which was already slowly dying. overall It gets the job done, eventually.
Pros: Multi Use, Strong
Cons: messy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
 
Products related to my review
 
+61points
63out of 65found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
from Nashville, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product!

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
St Gabriel's diatomaceous earth does exactly what
It is supposed to do. It kills fleas and other insects
Without harming me or my animals. I also feed it
To my dogs daily to kill and prevent worms.
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+27points
32out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Diatomaceous Earth Organic

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product works great! I am so satisfied with this product. I had an overnight bed-bug infestation after I acquired a new house guest. The bed bugs were like little nasty vampires sucking our blood in the wee hours of the night. I got sooooo tired of losing sleep and being on the verge on insanity. I spent hundreds of dollars on extermination fees and do it yourself bed bug kits…nothing seemed to work until I tried this wonderful product. I placed this product everywhere in my house, the couches, baseboards and I even gave some to my neighbors since we all stay in the same condo unit. I have not seen a bed bug in my home in weeks.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Great Quality
+31points
32out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
from Brooklyn, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Fantastic...

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well I brought this because of the scare of getting a infestation of bed bugs. I don't have them and I don't want them. So I cleaned the house and put this powder down everywhere. Cracks, crevices, bed, rail, around the wheels, in corners of drawers. Too my surprise it kills roaches. Came home from work & all around the baseboards were DEAD roaches. Its been almost two weeks and still no sight of no roaches & no bed bugs. I'm gonna put this powder down once a month to avoid and kind of pests. I used a empty baby powder bottle, a paint brush, and a jar with a spout on it to help me put the powder in the different places. Use a mask
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality
Cons: doesn't come with tools to assist with the powder
+72points
75out of 78found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
from Burbank, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Winter Wonderland

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We recently had a flea infestation! We could see the fleas jumping on to my white boxer. I combed 30 fleas off him that morning. (Mind you he is on ComboGuard so if a flea bites him it dies) After manually removing all the fleas with a flea comb and dipping them in soapy water we had a massive count. I started with a non toxic yard spray with a nice cedar smell...no help! It seemed to help the fleas! We then tried Bio-yard spray...no help still fleas jumping even on my legs!
I ordered the food grade DE and made the entire backyard a Winter Wonderland! (Almost 2 1/2 weeks for deliver..iif I would have know I would have Next Day delivery) After the first day of powdering everything with my mask and leaf blower and some with a broom...I saw the fleas almost drop in numbers to maybe 1 in a day. Now to make sure I also bought some Lady in Red Nemotodes (overnight) and sprayed all the shaded landscape areas at 11 at night. I haven't seen a flea on me or my pup in days...ohh also forgot to mention I put the powder on my dogs legs and back before letting him go back out...the powder is still around on the brick, concrete and deck areas do when my dog lays around he has the powder but no fleas!!!!
Pros: Multi Use, Functionality, Great Quality
Cons: track it everywhere but small price to pay
+49points
49out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
from DC subarb
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It took care of a bad flea infestation

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in a small historic property. For that and health reasons, I could not use a commercial or "toxic" product. I researched online and found this product. This stuff was amazing; I sprinkled it on the carpets, dusted it on the floors, and even put it on the pets fur (outside due to dust cloud). (it can be safely ingested in small quantities) Within 2 days, the super bad problem was 80% gone and my pets were a lot happier. The dust helped their skin and ... my feet really seem to like this product too. A few weeks later, still using the powder as a flea precaution and I've only seen 2 fleas since I've started using.
Yes, I would recommend it to a friend, and the vet was pleased at the outcome.
Pros: Functionality, easy to use multi-purpose
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
from Cleveland Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great option found that repels and kills bugs

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was aware of this product for a few years and was happy to see Home Depot carry it. The other big stores did not have it. It was delivered fast and the price was good. It is food grade so if used around pets it is fine. The bugs avoid it and will dehydrate them if they get it on them. I've used it on big ant hills and they are gone. You have to replenish it in some areas around the foundation if it gets wet. I like this brand a lot. I use a mask when putting a lot of dust around the foundation as the fine dust should not be inhaled. I use this in areas as an alternative to chemical pesticides or to use instead in high traffic areas around the outside.
Pros: Great Quality
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works Great!

PostedJune 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this product on my dog for the past 2 months and have had no fleas. Once a week I powder my dog with it outside. To ensure that his skin is not dried out he eats a dry dog food that contains salmon. We live in Houston where fleas and ticks thrive. So far I've had no problem! I absolutely LOVE this product and will use it in my natural that require DE.
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality, inexpensive
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
from Miramar, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

works as descriped

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am using this product for pest control. Namely fleas. I put it on my cats sleeping quarters and some on him. I have noticed a decrease in his scratching himself. Product takes a little time to be effective. But it is non-toxic which is the reason I use it. Some of the leading flea treatments are more toxic to cats. I think this is a better alternative. It also kills ants, bedbugs and other pests. It is like talcum powder, so you have to be careful when spreading it around the house.
Pros: Multi Use, Functionality, Great Quality
Cons: can be messy
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
from Indiana, USA

Great Product

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this for pest control. My yard is full of organic gardens and kids toys. I tried for months to rid my dog of fleas. I tried numerous (the most expensive) flea control drops and shampoos. My dog was still covered and started to get really bad skin irritation. I hated having more chemicals in my house. I applied this to my yard and coated my floors for the night, then vacuumed. It's been over a month, and still no fleas.
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
from Charlotte NC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good stuff

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The bag contains a good amount of dust/powder. I only used it indoors and have yet to apply it outdoos around the perimeter of the house. I see dead bugs everywhere now. My problem was water bugs that came from a inside water leak. Ever since those pesty things have not left even though the leak was fixed. I am hoping to rid them for good!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
from USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Messy but it works

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This stuff really helped cut down the number of insects better than all the toxic sprays I've tried. It isn't easy to spread neatly inside the house--wear gloves and a mask.
Pros: Great Quality
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It does not kill fleas at all !!!

PostedOctober 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this product because the propaganda said that it kills fleas, but this product does not kill fleas at all, I wasted my money.
Cons: it does not kill fleas
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
from Florida
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Organic and Food Grade Fire Ant Control

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Despite needing a couple applications, this is a great organic and food grade solution to fire ant control. Agitate the nest to bring out out the colony. Sprinkle on top to coat as many ants possible for best product effectiveness. Great piece of mind around vegetable crops and being safe for the family dog.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, food grade, organic
Cons: multiple applications needed
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
from Norwalk, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Killed Bugs

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product worked very well in my garden. I used it on cucumbers, green beans, broccoli, zucchini, egg plant, okra, various peppers, tomatoes and carrots. It took a few days but there are virtually no bugs in the garden now.
The powder does itch if it comes in contact with the skin but washes off well.
Helps if you have a good duster to apply the material. You should wear a dust mask when applying.
Pros: Easy to Apply
Cons: irritates skin
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
from Stayton, OR, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can't go wrong with Diatomaceous Earth!

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
First bag I have ever bought but is working to rid my cats of their fleas. I dust them with it. I put too much on my first kitty. A little bit goes a long way. I plan to dust my carpets with it soon. Also will use it on my flowers in the spring. Love the stuff. Natural and safe!
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
from Titusville, Fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best Product I've Found

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The best flea (and other insects) killer going as it is totally safe for use anywhere in your home because there are no poisons or chemicals.
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer
from Pa
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works!

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this for an ant infestation. I had contstant ants in the house for six years and tried all kinds of chemicals/exterminators/home remedies with minimal results. There were always ants crawling around soemwhere or up my leg. I got DE and puffed in into cracks in the baseboards, swept it all over the floor & under the rugs. Puffed it into outlets and any crack I could find. I let it sit for a couple of days before vacuumig the excess which may not have been neccesary but I am so sick of ants I wanted to make sure it worked. Day 1 I saw a huge difference. I spotted 6 ant foragers that day. Day 2 were 3 ants that looked lost and moving slow. Day 3 , one ant. Day 4, No ants!!!! After 6 long years and thousands of dollars later, this $10 tsafe treatment eliminated the ants in less than a week! That was three weeks ago with no return. I treated another room less thoroughly and vacuumed right away, didn't have time to move the furniture around, it took longer to see a change in the ants, its been a week and half for that room and yesterday I saw one ant. Have not found one yet today. It isn't pretty on my dark hardwood floor, but wipes up very easily and hopefully I won't need a visible amount for maintenance. Any white haze is well worth getting rid of the ant plague! I did the whole first floor and have most the bag leftover.
Pros: works
Cons: messy
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4.4 lb. Insect Dust Diatomaceous Earth Organic Crawling Insect Killer

horrible product

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product per instructions provided on bag and even went on their website to get additional instructions. This product did not help at all its been 4 days and still have the same infestation. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY on this product, it is garbage.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>