728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Jumbo Joe Charcoal Grill

Jumbo Joe Charcoal Grill

Need a larger cooking surface from a portable grill tailgaters, campers and grilling families on-the-go will appreciate the Jumbo Joe Gold and extra large, but still very portable, charcoal grill. The Tuck-N-Carry lid lock allows for carrying, and also lowers to double as a lid holder.
Overall rating:
4.955 / 5
5.0
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product22 of 22reviews
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5.0 out of 5
5
(21)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product22 of 22reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Jumbo Joe Charcoal Grill
Review 1 for Jumbo Joe Charcoal Grill
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great little barbaque with 18" grill

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love the way its portable, but need to buy table because when u open lid smoke gets in your eyes.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Durable, Large Cooking Space, potable
Cons: smoke in face
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Jumbo Joe Charcoal Grill
from West Bend, Wi
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love this purchase

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The grill is perfect for what we needed. Easy to assemble, store and use. The grill is large enough for what I had intended it for and it will be easy to transport it...will fit easily in the trunk of the car. The only thing lacking is a plastic or canvas cover for it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Jumbo Joe Charcoal Grill
from Katy, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

FITS THE BILL

PostedMarch 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Jumbo Joe has all the features I had hoped to find in a small grill. Whether you're grilling for a family or for one, the Jumbo Joe fits the bill. It has both a lid lock and a tray to catch the ashes. The lid lock also serves as a handle for transporting, and there are four slots in the bottom of the grill that open to release the ashes to the tray below. I am very happy with this grill.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Jumbo Joe Charcoal Grill
from Brookside, NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Compact Grill

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A great grill for $59 bucks. Compact, but close to Weber's full size grills. A better, more versatile choice than the smaller Weber Smokey Joe. When choosing between the Jumbo Joe and Smokey Joe, remember the Chinese advice about choosing a Wok... you can cook small in a big one, but you can't cook big in small one... It pertains to choosing a grill as well.
Pros: Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Jumbo Joe Charcoal Grill
from Roseville, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Little Charcoal Grill!

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the perfect charcoal grill for a small patio space or tailgating, portable. I also purchased the table and it attaches perfectly for a sturdy surface. Has a large cooking surface! Weber grills are the best!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Jumbo Joe Charcoal Grill
from Fort Collins, CO
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great grill. Has a lot of swag.

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
should have gone with the bigger one but this one is pretty great. Lid holder works very well. Feels very study. Great for camping too.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Jumbo Joe Charcoal Grill
from Northern California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Jumbo Joe

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We were looking for a compact full size BBQ to use in our 5th wheel..this bbq totally fit the bill. It's short, compact, with almost full size grilling area this bbq can do the job easily up to 6 people. you can do both direct and indirect heat with this depending on what you are grilling.Weber won't disappoint
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Jumbo Joe Charcoal Grill
from Camden,Ar
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smartest buy ever

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This grill was very easy to assemble! Excellent buy for the size of the grill is perfect for a family of two!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Jumbo Joe Charcoal Grill

glad to see them back !

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
really missed this compact grill size, seems to last forever even getting banged around!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: Small Cooking Space
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Jumbo Joe Charcoal Grill
from Phoenix, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Love it!

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've owned nothing but Weber charcoal grills since the mid 1970's. Nothing else compares. Have been using a Weber Go-Anywhere for the past 15 years which was ideal for my full-time RV lifestyle. Am back in a home again and wanted a bit larger cooking surface. The Jumbo Joe is a portable that can also "go anywhere" but has the same cooking area as the 18 1/2" wheeled Weber. I paired it with the Weber portable charcoal table, got a set of charcoal rails for indirect cooking, and a cover designed for the Weber Q on a table that fits nicely over the whole set-up. Made cornish game hens for XMAS eve dinner which turned out just great. I had 3 full hens and six halves on the grill using the indirect method, so it can accommodate a generous amount of food. The Jumbo Joe has a heat shield below the handle so you don't need to use a mitt to lift the lid, and the handle that locks the lid in place for travel doubles as a cradle for the lid while flipping/checking the progress of your food. Like all Webers, the Jumbo Joe allows you to extinquish and reuse unexpired coals. If you are a fan of charcoal cooking and have never used a Weber, I'd highly recommend.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Jumbo Joe Charcoal Grill
from Midwest
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Charcoal grill

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm a loyal user of Weber grills as I have owned other brands. Weber makes great grills in any shape or size in my opinion. I have had this grill for a month and wanted a large enough grill for tailgating. Since I prefer charcoal over gas, I went with this one for it's cooking size and portability. I'm very pleased with it so far. The lid locks down during transport and makes it easy to carry around. I also purchased the metal table to go with it so it makes it easy to do your cooking without bending over. It cooks very well and the bowl is large enough to be able to place your coals to one side for searing and the other side for longer cooking. The cooking space is adequate for 8 large burgers.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Jumbo Joe Charcoal Grill
from Virginia Beach VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Downsized everything

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a larger two-chamber grill/smoker and a large gas grill. We moved to a smaller place with a small courtyard area, so I sold the grills to the home-buyer. Replaced it all with a small Weber. Easy to use, Great little grill for small dinners (4-6 people).
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Superior Craftsmanship
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Jumbo Joe Charcoal Grill
from Roswell NM
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The right size Grill for me

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had the smoky joe and it was just not big enough to cook all of the meals at one time. I didn't need the 22.5 big grill since it was just too big and waste of charcoal. This Jumbo Joe is just right for two that love to grill.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
Cons: no cons
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Jumbo Joe Charcoal Grill
from Markham, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great portable grill with a large grilling area. Easy to set up and take with you.

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This grill has the quality and grilling features of a large stationary Weber grill but portable for grilling "on the go". It is easy to carry, use and pack up for the next trip. The grilling area is large for the compact overall size of the grill. Great value and quality.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly, Durable, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Jumbo Joe Charcoal Grill
from Excelsior Springs, MO 64024, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lid holder and bar to keep lid on

PostedApril 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
easy to assemble works great not heavy perfect size
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Jumbo Joe Charcoal Grill
from Appleton, WI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Perfect for my needs

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Needed a good sized grill to put in the camper when camping. Smokey Joe was to little and the long legs on the 18 1/2" were to long and didn't want to always take them off. This is perfect for my needs.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Jumbo Joe Charcoal Grill

Weber big joe

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It's bigger than little joe, yet it has a carry handle to pick up , portable ! The little joe wasn't big enough for shish kabobs? Big joe is the portable charcoal grill of choice? It's almost as big grill with leg, yet take it anywhere!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Jumbo Joe Charcoal Grill

This product is perfect.

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Perfect small, compact size. Easy to assemble. Nice.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly, Durable, Superior Craftsmanship
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Jumbo Joe Charcoal Grill
from Boise, idaho
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great grill

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am not a handy person and even I put this grill together with the clear directions. All the parts are solid and the larger surface size means we can do a whole rack of ribs! Bought it for camping as we have a full size charcoal weber at home.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Jumbo Joe Charcoal Grill
from Rochester, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very good Weber grill

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product was very easy to put together. It works fine. I would highly recommend this product. I want to get the grilling table as well.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>