728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Charcoal & Wood Grills or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for One-Touch Gold 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Black-DISCONTINUED

One-Touch Gold 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Black-DISCONTINUED

Featuring 363 sq. in. of cooking space, the Weber One-Touch Gold 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Kettle Grill consists of a heavy-gauge porcelain-enameled lid and bowl for durability and long grill life. The grill features a factory assembled stainless steel One-Touch cleaning system, a hinged cooking grate and a removable high-capacity ash catcher to make grilling easier. The built-in lid thermometer allows you to monitor your grill’s temperature and a new bowl handle design includes an integrated tool hook for easy and convenient storage.
Overall rating:
4.531 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(64 reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product58 of 64reviews
Rating Breakdown 64 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(51)
4
(6)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product58 of 64reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer reviews for One-Touch Gold 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Black-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for One-Touch Gold 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Black-DISCONTINUED
from Charlotte, NC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product and excellent support

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This my 3rd Weber and I grill frequently. This model was an upgrade to a previous 22" grill that was slightly warped (lid would not seal)...The additional features this grill has, is a lid mounted thermometer, however when my son opened the box, there was no pre-drilled hole for the thermometer. I called Weber, sent them a picture and I got a new lid by FedEx! In addition, the rep mentioned that the warped grill has a 10 year warranty and I could get that piece replaced too! I was not aware of this and I was so happy with the old grill I didn't bother to check the warranty (it was over 6 years old). Will always buy Weber charcoal grills!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly, great company
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for One-Touch Gold 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Black-DISCONTINUED
from Flowery Branch, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The most versatile grill

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
<DISCLAIMER> This is a machine, not an appliance. To use this grill effectively will require experience, or practice if you are new to charcoal grills. You can "set it and forget it" once you know what you are doing. </DISCLAIMER>
I didn't want a charcoal grill. I wanted a quick and easy gas grill I could flip on and in five minutes start grilling chicken. However, I was not willing to spend more money on a grill that would wear out after two or three years of regular use. The gas grills with the build quality I wanted were in the $500 and up price category and I didn't have the funds.
What brought this grill to my attention was everyone who actually enjoyed grilling either uses this grill (or version of it) or has this grill in the grill stable. I read about how just by changing the amount and arrangement of the coals you could sear a dozen steaks at the same time or slow smoke a turkey in 5 hours. This has turned out to be true. For once you can believe the hype about something.
I've done everything but smoke a turkey on this thing, and I've already started making plans for that. I recently cooked an entire dinner for 5 people on this grill. It was tight when I had four large steaks, ten potato halves, and a pound of asparagus spread out on the grates, but I made it work and everyone was impressed with the quality and flavor. Even The Wife was impressed! I baked the potatoes off to the side, then put them right over the coals to give them crispy skins. The steaks were done the same way, each served with a dark brown crusty sear I was never able to create on my old gas grill.
By going charcoal you are substituting propane tanks, lines, knobs, valves, heat shields, and double-level grates for a snug metal kettle and red hot embers. Since a charcoal grill is so simple, the parts that remain need to be high quality or their deficiencies will show up quickly and frustrate the user. This grill is solid but not too heavy. The fit and finish on my grill actually exceeded my expectations. Despite their simple installation, the wheels roll well over grass. The tripod design means the grill never wobbles on uneven terrain, which is a big deal when you are taking the lid off and on over the course of cooking. The thermometer on my grill's lid seems to be off by only 20 °F (though I've heard horror stories of some being off by as much as 50). The one-touch ash removal system is a pretty big deal, allowing me to keep the air inlet clear of ash and allowing me to precisely adjust the temperature without the need for mitts. The Gold level keeps the ashes contained in a handy pan. My experience with the Silver was that ashes could fly over everyone and everything as temperature adjustments were made since the slightest wind would liberate them from the catch tray. In my experience, it's the Gold level or keep saving up to get the Gold since the Silver level just makes an ashy mess. Also, the Gold level comes with a grate that has hinges on the ends to allow you to add more coals or smoking wood to the fire without disturbing your food. The Silver doesn't have this feature and the cost of this upgrade halves the price distance between the two.
Important Features:
- Highly wind-resistance ash collection and cleaning
- Hinge grates make smoking and adding coals very simple
- Light enough to move, heavy enough to resists windy gusts
- Can fit enough food for five adults on the grates
- Compact, most most grilling surface for the space on your deck
Also Required:
- Chimney lighter, use as a measuring cup for the coals so you can hit the same temperature each time and reduce start up time significantly
- Welding glove, more dexterity than an oven mitt and needed to handle the chimney once the coals are all lit
- Long metal tongs, to manipulate coals under the grate
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Durable, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 3 for One-Touch Gold 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Black-DISCONTINUED

The Best

PostedJune 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm giving it 5 stars, even if the instructions were poor to follow. I'm going to start saying after I opened the little brochure for the instructions, I was frustrated, after 3 minutes of trying to figure it out how to do it I went to youtube and found a video on how to assemble it. Thanks to that person I was available to do it in 30 minutes. Other than that, it's an excellent item.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for One-Touch Gold 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Black-DISCONTINUED
from East Rochester, NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing customer service

PostedApril 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have owned a Weber grill in the past and recently decided to upgrade to the One-Touch Gold model. While assembling the grill, I made a mistake and hammered the hub cap before putting on one of the legs. I quickly called to order the replacement parts. I spoke with Tammy who could tell I was distraught about the mistake I had made. She contacted a supervisor and was able to arrange to have all the replacement parts (one triangle brace, two back legs, two wheels and two hubcaps) sent to me free of charge. Their willingness to help me with a mistake I had made was simply amazing. I can not thank Tammy enough for being so thoughtful and helpful. This is the best customer service I have ever received, I am still shocked. Weber earned a customer for life! Thank you Tammy!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship, amazing customer service
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for One-Touch Gold 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Black-DISCONTINUED

Great grill!

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great grill. Just make sure you hold onto the lid when moving it because mine fell off and the lid was chipped a bit. Get the chimney to start your fires. Love having a thermometer. I love having the ash pan because it makes clean up easier. This has the perfect amount of grill space. If you only grill for yourself and one other person, the smaller one may be fine, but if you grill for 4 or more, you'll need to get this one. I bought this one because it was the cheapest weber with a thermometer. The key to grilling is getting good hardwood charcoal. Avoid small chips because they get hot fast but burn out quickly. Amazon has some good ones.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 6 for One-Touch Gold 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Black-DISCONTINUED
from Southeastern South Dakota
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Grill Ever

PostedJune 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was my first time purchasing a Weber grill, and I have to ask why I waited so long. Everything they say about Weber being the #1 grill is true. It took about 20 minutes to put together by myself. The picture-only instructions are a little difficult to understand, but fortunately I've had many years experience in putting together a variety of household items, including 2 previous grills. I wanted to try out the grill before writing a review. I started with hamburgers, figuring nothing could go wrong, and they turned out great. Next, a beef roast, perfectly roasted to medium done. Finally, the real challenge -- smoking a whole chicken. I used the indirect grilling method and apple wood chips. I always put a can of water on the side of the grill for moisture. After about 2 hours, I had the most delicious chicken I've ever eaten! One more thing, this is the first time I've had a grill with a thermometer that actually works.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Superior Craftsmanship
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for One-Touch Gold 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Black-DISCONTINUED
from Hastings, MN 55033, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good product but disappointed in small dome of lid.

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Disappointed in the small dome size of lid. Can not cook beer can chicken and can only cook small ribs.
Pros: Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for One-Touch Gold 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Black-DISCONTINUED
from Texas, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great grill!

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a very nice, feature packed grill. Having used "Ol' Smokey" units in the past, this is a huge upgrade. Although more expensive, I believe it's worth every penny. The ash catcher, thermometer, lid hook, and hinged grill are just some of the features that make this grill so nice. I read the other reviews and I'm not sure where some of the stuff comes from... nothing to complain about with this grill. The first thing I cooked on it was baby back ribs.... came out great! It was so nice to have the hinged grill to add charcoal during cooking. Highly recommend!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Superior Craftsmanship
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 9 for One-Touch Gold 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Black-DISCONTINUED
from Mattoon IL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

What a great grill.

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this grill for low and slow cooking. This is the best investment that i have made in a long time. I was unsure when I first thought about getting the grill if it could do real smoked BBQ. Well it only took one cook to see that this was a great purchase. I have made two Boston butts for pulled pork, both have turned out perfect. I will never be without this grill or great BBQ ever again.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for One-Touch Gold 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Black-DISCONTINUED
from Dryden, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A simple and necessary grill!

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have owned this for about a year and could not be happier! This was my first charcoal grill after years of grilling with gas - never going back! Get a chimney and use lump charcoal, everything made on it comes out great. This is the ultimate multitasker! The only way to improve is to have it 100% American (USA) made. I know I'm hard to please.
Mine has a very handy lid hook on the underside to hang it on the side of the grill.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 11 for One-Touch Gold 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Black-DISCONTINUED
from Portland Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

So easy to assemble!

PostedJune 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had it together in 15 minutes and were roasting a chicken within 30 minuets. We switched to a gas barbecue 12 years ago and sold the weber in a garage sale. I have missed it ever since! I loved my old Weber and this one is just a well made, even though it doesn't have wooden handles. I will use the gas barbecue for burgers and veggies, but the Weber will be the one I use for roasting. Nothing can beat the smoky, juicy meat a Weber produces. Happy Fathers Day to Me!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for One-Touch Gold 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Black-DISCONTINUED
from Westchester County, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Pleased

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Assembled this grill yesterday with my daughter. Instructions could be better, but a call to Weber Customer Service was very helpful. Quality is excellent, and heats up very quickly using chimney starter. The ash catcher and thermometer are worth the extra money.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for One-Touch Gold 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Black-DISCONTINUED
from Danville, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The Weber grill has been an excellent choice

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife and I bought this grill in April 2012. We have retired our gas grill. Well worth the money. It is easy to assemble and easy to use. It is not a bulky grill and easy to store when not in use.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for One-Touch Gold 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Black-DISCONTINUED
from Oviedo, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best grill for family of 4

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use and clean- food cooks fast and evenly distributed.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for One-Touch Gold 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Black-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Weber grills ROCK!

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have never owned one before now. I just couldn't understand how they could live up to the hype. Well, I'm here to tell you that they do! Easy temperature regulation, even heating across the entire grill when using direct cooking methods, and awesome results from indirect, low and slow cooking. I am more pleased that i now have one than I ever thought I would be. And also more disappointed that I waited so long to do it. Buy one today; you'll be glad you did.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly, best ash pan and cleaning system
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for One-Touch Gold 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Black-DISCONTINUED
from Tampa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Perfect!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This grill is of good quality and easy to assemble.
Has a thermometer which is nice.
We purchased this grill because a neighbor recommended it.
so glad we did!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for One-Touch Gold 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Black-DISCONTINUED
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Weber Grill are the BEST!

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed to replace the same model grill after 17 years, so I know it is the best grill on the market. The features - ash removal, thermometer, and vent holes are the best. Can't wait to use it - the weather here in Ohio hasn't been conducive to grilling just yet!
Pros: Durable, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for One-Touch Gold 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Black-DISCONTINUED
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

great features, easy to clean ash, and add somker wood

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nice grill - great features, easy to clean ash, and add somker wood. Worth the extra $.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for One-Touch Gold 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Black-DISCONTINUED
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Weber is the best

PostedJune 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have all three sizes of the kettle grills and like this one the best. It has the most accessories available of the 3 sizes and the only one that has a rotisserie attachment that is available from Weber.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for One-Touch Gold 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Black-DISCONTINUED
from Hutchinson, MN 55350, USA

Nice grill, but quality control was an issue

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this to replace the identical grill that I have had outside for a decade, year-round, uncovered. Even in Minnesota, I will occasionally grill in the winter months. It has been a great grill, with the ash catcher a particularly attractive feature. Unprotected, the old grill was beginning to show it's age...
The problem with my new grill was obvious only after I have started putting it together. I noticed that the bottom bowl's leg receptors had been stamped too deeply, causing the enamel painted interior to show bare metal.
I immediately took photos and contacted Weber. They were quite willing to send a new replacement bottom. It was a hassle taking apart the new grill and replacing the bottom, but it is a fine grill nevertheless.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>