728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Charcoal & Wood Grills or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green

Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green

The Performer Platinum Grill features an exclusive Touch-N-Go gas ignition system that ignites charcoal briquets with the push of a button. Especially handy is an LCD countdown cook timer with a large readout. The timer attaches to the grill or can be easily removed if you'd prefer to take it inside or keep it with you. The grill's classic porcelain-enameled bowl and lid with a One-Touch Cleaning System and high capacity ash catcher make clean up hassle free. Storage options are plentiful with the CharBin storage container which protects your charcoal from the elements and the built-in Thermoset work table that provides a great work surface for preparing your next grilled masterpiece. Also features a wire bottom shelf, no-rust aluminum vent and a glass-reinforced nylon handle.
Overall rating:
4.903 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product31 of 31reviews
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
4.9 out of 5.0
5
(28)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product31 of 31reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer reviews for Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green
Review 1 for Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green
from Prescott Valley, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy assembly with great grilling!

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love this grill! It is one of the best that I have ever owned.
-The electronic ignition is fast and convenient and gets rid of the smelly, dangerous charcoal starters.
-The ashes dropped into the holder with a quick flip of the scrapers.
-The moveable charcoal baskets makes cooking even and distributed.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly, Durable, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What a difference from gas

PostedApril 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Setup was a breeze, love the charcoal storage bin and the green color is beautiful, not just black. Huge cooking area and we had forgotten what charcoal barbequing taste like and is that much more work than the old gas grill. We are very happy with our choice.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly, looks sharp
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green

Charcoal Weber

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great upgrade of features from previous charcoal webers. My previous one lasted 11 years of extensive use before the adjacent table cracked - this new one seems to have a sturdier table. Best two new features on the Platinum Performer are
1. Propane starter worked even better than I thought it would - very easy to use.
2. Charcoal bin is ingenious. Not sure why someone didn't think of this one a while ago.
Yes, I was already a big fan of Weber grills. But this one is a great step forward.
Pros: Sturdy
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green

#1 Grill

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought my grill 3 years ago. I love my grill. I keep it in the garage so I should never have to buy another. It's sturdy, wheels that lock, and I don't have to buy lighter fluid. Not one thing bad to say about this grill. Go buy one!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green

Great grill, poor packaging / handling

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This grill is great. It replaces an earlier version of the same grill (with the stainless top) we've had for over 10 years which had started to rust around the bowl.
My only problem is with the packaging and/or handling. When I began to assemble the grill, I found that the plastic table had a crack along one edge, and the dome top had a big dent in the rim. Fortunately, it was easy to get Weber to send me replacements.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green
from St Louis
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Best Grill

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excelant grill at a very decent price for all of the things it will do which is everything imaginable. Highly recommend this grill. There was a slight problem with the lighter when assembled but a call to Weber got a new part within just a couple of days mailing time. They sent replacement part immediately. I can't imagine what else could be added to improve this grill.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green
from Baltimore, Maryland
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Weber is the best!

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Fairly easy to assemble...had it up and running within 40 minutes. Good looking and a great grill unit.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green
from Marietta, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Fantastic Product-Step Up

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Man, this grill works wonders and the best part is the fire starter ignition system. No more starting charcoal fires with chimney's with flying paper starter!
Pros: Easy to Assemble
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green
from MI
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Performer Platinum Charcoal Grill Green

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Grill has some good features. Propane starter option. Temperature gauge. A place to hang the cooking grill. Table to set things on while grilling. I am disappointed with the clean out metal. It is thinner than on previous grills I have purchased. It is difficult to get the clean out pan off. It seems like you could bend the metal and then it will be a real challenge to use the briquet residue clean out system. I purchased a cover for the grill but that is too small and did not close well when I put it on the grill and table.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green
from Greensboro, Veront
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Summer Fun

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
One of my better decisions was to purchase the Weber PERFORMER PLATINUM 22-1/2 IN. charcoal grill in green. I spent the extra $50.00 for the gas ignition and what a difference that makes! Igniting the coals is now fast (less than 10 minutes from cold to blazing hot), easy (a simple click of the starter knob), and CLEAN (no more black hands). The other features, lid holder, tool hooks, ash clean-out container, charcoal dry bin, small containers for indirect heat, off-set hood vent (for drawing the heat across the food), large working surface, wheels, built in thermometer and timer all make using this charcoal grill a real pleasure. I also bought a heavy duty, custom cover to protect the grill from the elements. My ten year old grandson and I were able to assemble the unit in record time as the instructions were clear and easy to follow. I fully expect to be using this grill for many delicious meals in the years to come.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green
from Home
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Even Better Than The Classic Weber Grill

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
They improved a perfect product by adding charcoal storage, a built in tray included in the mobility.
We've had two (2) Weber standard charcoal kettle style grills working over the last 20 years. One rusted out; the other is closely following. We replaced one with this one and are thrilled with it; after reviewing a croweded marked of charcoal, gas, and infrared competitors - this was a great choice for us. Love it!
The propane lighter was a new feature to us - it is great. No need for lighter fluid ever again!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green
from Aurora Il
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I expected from Webber

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble and just what I had expected from Webber. I love the gas starter.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green
from Lancaster, California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finally, the Weber I've always wanted

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I currently own 3 Weber Kettles and the wife bought me the Performer Platinum for my birthday. This is the ultimate Weber Kettle, no more lighter fluid, an attached table. I'm in heaven, think a nice Prime rib would be a good break in meal
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly, Durable, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green
from Milwaukee
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Only choice if you cook with charcoal

PostedJune 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Replaced my 10 year old performer with the new version I loved it so much. My old one had a little rust around the handle and the ignitor didn't work anymore ( I did smoke in it ) but it was still a great grill. I gave it to a co-worker who loves it. This is hands down the best charcoal grill you can buy. It is so nice to not have to use lighter fluid. Excellent for indirect cooking. Thermometer is accurate and it's easy to get correct temperature. It's important to me living in the north because I like to grill year round. Getting the temp right when it's 35 degrees outside is critical to a good meal. Good quality and easy to assemble. Overall just a great grill. I may never cook on a gas grill but lighting the coal with gas is the only way to go.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green

Great Grill

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I really wanted the taste of charcoal but the starting-ease of gas. And I got it with this grill. Assembly took a couple of hours but was very straight forward with no problems.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green
from Chino, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

New to Charcoal and Very Satisfied!

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Assembly was straightforward and pretty easy. I was able to assemble the grill with no help in about 30 minutes. Performance so far has been better than expected and I am slowly learning to master the fire -- which is fun. I used a gas grill for 20 years and cannot believe I waited so long to try live fire grilling. Chops and steaks over lump cannot be beat. Looking forward to mastering low and slow over the summer. Also have used the grill to cook pizzas using the Kettle Pizza insert--makes phenomenal wood fired pies. Highly recommend the propane lighting feature and believe it is the only way to go if you can afford it.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space
Cons: none so far.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green

It's a Weber - what else can I say!

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great grill! Additional features like the electronic lighter and the attached cart make it a real pleasure to use.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green
from Tennessee, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gas lighting is a great feature

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The best charcoal grill with ease of lighting makes the need for a propane/natural gas grill superfluous! The cart is adequate for most cooking, although more counter space, especially when the need to access the charcoal arises, could be considered
Cooked two beef tenders to perfection this weekend!.
Pros: Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green
from Roslindale, MA

Weber Performer Platinum Charcoal Grill

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Got this about three weeks ago and have used it a fair amount of times. It has a decent sized cooking area and maintains a sufficient temperature. Being a low and slow cooker myself, this is definitely a plus. I have not used the propane ignition yet though. I figure that I will when the weather gets a bit more windier and colder.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space
Cons: small charcoal bin
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Performer Platinum 22-1/2 in. Charcoal Grill in Green
from Dearborn Heights MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Purchase!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This was the second purchase of this product, the first was a gift Liked it so much I bought one for myself.
Pros: Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: not enough time to use it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>