728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Charcoal & Wood Grills or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Performer Platinum 22.5 in. Charcoal Grill in Dark Blue-DISCONTINUED

Performer Platinum 22.5 in. Charcoal Grill in Dark Blue-DISCONTINUED

The Performer Platinum Grill features an exclusive Touch-N-Go gas ignition system that ignites charcoal briquettes with the push of a button. Especially handy is an LCD countdown cook timer with a large readout. The timer attaches to the grill or can be easily removed if you’d prefer to take it inside or keep it with you. The grill’s classic porcelain-enameled bowl and lid with a One-Touch Cleaning system and high capacity ash catcher make clean up hassle free. Storage options are plentiful with the CharBin storage container which protects your charcoal from the elements and the built-in Thermoset work table that provides a great work surface for preparing your next grilled masterpiece. Also features a wire bottom shelf, no-rust aluminum vent and a glass-reinforced nylon handle.
Overall rating:
4.933 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product15 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
4.9 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product15 of 15reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Performer Platinum 22.5 in. Charcoal Grill in Dark Blue-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Performer Platinum 22.5 in. Charcoal Grill in Dark Blue-DISCONTINUED
from Fenton, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

For the "Charcoal Griller", this is the best!

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Touch-N-Go ignition system is great! No more lighter fluid! Evenly cooks anything with the indirect heat feature. The storage underneath for the charcoal is a great feature as well. The craftsmanship overall is excellent!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Performer Platinum 22.5 in. Charcoal Grill in Dark Blue-DISCONTINUED
from Bluffton, SC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best Grill Ever Made

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is Clearly the best grill ever made. It offers the convenience of a gas starter with the definate advantage of charcoal grilling. Everything about it is perfect. If you buy another type of grill.. you will be sorry once you see and use this one. Simply Awesome
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly, convience of gas with the advantage of charcoal
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Performer Platinum 22.5 in. Charcoal Grill in Dark Blue-DISCONTINUED
from Western Washington

Very pleased with the Platinum Performer

PostedMay 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Straight-forward assembly, fired up first time, easy clean-up. What we learned is, you have to pay closer attention to a charcoal grill than you do a gas grill (have only used the latter for years). The propane burner helps get the coals to where they are ready, reliably and more quickly without fussing with lighting them bu-u-u-t, ya still gotta pay attention. If you don't, you will have to cook longer.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Distributes Heat Evenly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Performer Platinum 22.5 in. Charcoal Grill in Dark Blue-DISCONTINUED
from mn

Awesome grill

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best grill we have ever purchased. Great design and charcoal basket holds more than a full bag.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Performer Platinum 22.5 in. Charcoal Grill in Dark Blue-DISCONTINUED
from Manhattan, KS, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love the Platinum grill!

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The gas starter makes this grill so easy to use and gets the charcoal going super fast!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Performer Platinum 22.5 in. Charcoal Grill in Dark Blue-DISCONTINUED
from Horseheads, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I will never own a Gas Grill Again.

PostedJune 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The gas igniter is amazing. I am ready to cook in less than 10 minutes, Using wood smoke is a breeze and delicious. What I thought would be a difficult assembly was not . I did this in an hour. The two times I got stuck I went and watched the assembly on you tube problem solved. The taste and flavor of food is so way beyond anything you can achieve with gas. The cooking surface is surprising I cooked 16 hot dogs and 12 hot sausages with room to spare. did this in 25 minutes start to finish. Then smoked a chicken with what was left. When you use the indirect cooking in the grates the grill will maintain 350 with vents open. When you spread out the coals sky is the limit as far as heat. Best grill ever made. Easy to use, Easy to put together and makes grilled food better than you can imagine.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly, everything
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Performer Platinum 22.5 in. Charcoal Grill in Dark Blue-DISCONTINUED
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Overall excellent value

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been cooking with a gas grill for about 10 or 12 years and before that I did use a Weber. I did not like the hassell of lighting and dealing with the charcoal. I would have the smell of lighter, the time it took to get coals ready, This Weber has eliminated all that and I am happy to have the taste of charcoal cooking back again. The product was easy to put together and use the portable timer works well. Thing I would design different would be the storage for lid when working with cooking area. It blocks access to grill area. Have adapter to use regular propane bottle. These are things I can overlook for the overall use of the product.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Performer Platinum 22.5 in. Charcoal Grill in Dark Blue-DISCONTINUED
from Thompson, CT, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Definitely worth the money

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have purchased many different grills. All in the $300 range, usually more elaborate stainless gas grills or smokers. I have never been happy with the performance of any of my grills. My friend told me to buy a Weber and I will never want another grill.
I prefer charcoal but I hate chimney starters. This propane ignition system is awesome. Light it for 5 minutes then turn it off. 15 minutes of open top and full draft and the coals are ready to cook. Temperature control is very nice. Usually half way on inlet and outlet will yeild about 300 degrees. As others have stated this grill seals so tight the coals will go out and can be reused.
The charcoal bin stays dry and is a nice touch. I store my gloves in it also.
My only real complaint is the timer is kind of a lame accessory. I use my own timer anyway so it doesn't matter. I just thought it was cheesy and didn't add anything to the grill.
This is the best grill I have ever owned. Going on 3 months now and I have never over cooked anything. It still looks brand new.
I like the charcoal baskets also for indirect heating also. Great for slow cooking for long periods of time. The hinged cooking surface allows refilling the baskets on the fly.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly, Durable, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Performer Platinum 22.5 in. Charcoal Grill in Dark Blue-DISCONTINUED

Best Charcoal Grill Available

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've had this grill for about three weeks and absolutely love it. I have used it a few times a week thus far, and it's perfect for entertaining. I prefer charcoal grilling over gas, and Weber is top of the line. I love the work surface on the grill cart, and the cart itself moves with ease. The detachable timer is handy when starting the fire. I can light the gas, go inside with the timer, then come back out and shut off the gas when it beeps. Easy to put together. Cleans up nicely. Charcoal bin conveniently keeps charcoal stored and dry while also keeping it out of sight. Beautiful blue color. It's an expensive investment, but I couldn't be happier with the purchase.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Durable, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Performer Platinum 22.5 in. Charcoal Grill in Dark Blue-DISCONTINUED
from Virginia, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Weber has always made a grill that was sturdy, reliable and dependable. This one continues that tradition.

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have enjoyed the great features of the Weber Kettle grill for many years. There are 2 things about the grill that I do not like.. waiting for the charcoal to light and lack of a way to adjust the distance from the charcoal to the cooking surface. This grill takes care of one of those problems. With the propane lighter, the charcoals are ready in 10 minutes rather than 45 to 60 minutes using the chimney lighter.
This grill is well worth the price to me. I expect a lot of grilling this summer and for many summers to come.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship, weber dependability
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Performer Platinum 22.5 in. Charcoal Grill in Dark Blue-DISCONTINUED

Excellent everything!

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This grill is awesome! I wanted one that would start faster than a conventional charcoal grill, but I didn't want gas, so I was thrilled when I came across this model. It's a great value for what you get. I've cooked on it several times so far and it's been able to handle whatever I've thrown at it. I'm very happy with this purchase if you couldn't aleady tell.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Performer Platinum 22.5 in. Charcoal Grill in Dark Blue-DISCONTINUED
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

FANTASTIC GRILL

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was purchased as a a gift for my son, I have this same grill that my children purchased for me 5 years ago. I absolutely love it, my wife loves it and all my kids love it.
Charcoal is the only way to go.
*****************DOWN WTITH GAS GRILLS**********************
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly, propane start, side shelf great for prep
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Performer Platinum 22.5 in. Charcoal Grill in Dark Blue-DISCONTINUED
from Fairbanks, AK, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great grill

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have enjoyed this grill since I got it. Cooks great nice and even. Best charcoal grill I have ever owned.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Performer Platinum 22.5 in. Charcoal Grill in Dark Blue-DISCONTINUED

We enjoy all that this product has to offer us

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It arrived in a timely manner at our store to pick up
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Performer Platinum 22.5 in. Charcoal Grill in Dark Blue-DISCONTINUED
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

quality

PostedMay 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is an excellent bbq ! the addition of the ash catcher and built in fire starter is great!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.