728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Porcelain Tile or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Montagna Gunstock 6 in. x 24 in. Glazed Porcelain Floor and Wall Tile (14.53 sq. ft. / case)

Montagna Gunstock 6 in. x 24 in. Glazed Porcelain Floor and Wall Tile (14.53 sq. ft. / case)

Montagna Gunstock is a hand scraped wood plank on a porcelain body. The porcelain body allows you to have the look of wood with the durability of porcelain. Unlike conventional wood planks, these porcelain wood planks are not affected by seasonal changes, where the joints expand and contract. Long gone are the days of waxing, staining and sanding.
Overall rating:
4.814 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product40 of 42reviews
Rating Breakdown 43 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(39)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product40 of 42reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Montagna Gunstock 6 in. x 24 in. Glazed Porcelain Floor and Wall Tile (14.53 sq. ft. / case)
Review 1 for Montagna Gunstock 6 in. x 24 in. Glazed Porcelain Floor and Wall Tile (14.53 sq. ft. / case)
FloridaSunshine
from Jacksonville, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful...I Love It!!!

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought several samples home from various stores to help me decide what color and style I wanted. I immediately fell in love with the Marazzi Montagna Gunstock when I saw it online but was worried it would be too dark because I just ordered a dark brown leather living room set. When the installer we hired came over to give an estimate, he recommended the Montagna Gunstock because it has a slight beveled edge and said he would be able to go tight with the grout line which will make it look more like wood planks. We had 580 sq. ft. installed with the #95 non-sanded sable brown grout in the living room, foyer and hallway. OMG...it is beautiful and I am so glad I went with this tile. I have a large light color area rug and that helped transition the floor with the new furniture. Everyone has given positive compliments when they see the floors. My 19 year old son gave it 2 thumbs up and wanted to know why I changed my mine because he thought I was going to go with tile. He was shocked when I told him that it was tile. Several people are seriously thinking about installing it in their home. If you can see the dirt underneath the carpet pads then a lot of people would not have carpet. I can't give an honest opinion for installation since we hired someone but gave it a 5 star because they made it look easy. In the near future we are going to install the same tile in the 3 bedrooms and plan on doing it ourselves with the help of my nephew. I highly recommend this tile and grout.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Comfortable, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Montagna Gunstock 6 in. x 24 in. Glazed Porcelain Floor and Wall Tile (14.53 sq. ft. / case)
DIYGranny
from Gastonia, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love my new floor!

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
LOVE my new kitchen floor. Looks great! Recently had new dining room furniture delivered, and they wanted to put something down so as not to scratch my "wood" floors.
The ONLY thing is, like many have said, the tobacco brown grout dried lighter and more "cement" looking. I found a sealer from This Old Grout that matched exactly and made a HUGE difference. I would definitely recommend.
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Easy to Clean, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Montagna Gunstock 6 in. x 24 in. Glazed Porcelain Floor and Wall Tile (14.53 sq. ft. / case)
armymom5
from Nevada, MO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this tile!!!

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had our floor professionally installed and we couldn't be happier with the way it turned out! I was told that I would love it and I do!!! We chose the herringbone look and I am so glad we did. I still stare at the floor and can't believe that it is mine. Makes the kitchen look so much larger and beautiful!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Comfortable, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Montagna Gunstock 6 in. x 24 in. Glazed Porcelain Floor and Wall Tile (14.53 sq. ft. / case)
Steve
from Banning, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best of both worlds

PostedApril 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this tile because I wanted the wood look but I needed the durability of tile. I am a novice at laying floor tile as I have only done it once before. I installed the tile in my living room and hall. It is beautiful. The tile cut well with no chipping using a 7 inch wet saw. Cut slowly though, its not wood. I found no issues with bowing tiles and I intalled 26 boxes. The store recommended "Tobacco Brown" grout. It looked nice in the store but it did not dry brown. It dried concrete grey. I had to actually color the grout lines when I sealed it. If you use the tobacco brown grout make sure you use distilled water. They said mine turned grey because I used tap water. Overall I am very happy with the tile.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+73points
73out of 73found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Montagna Gunstock 6 in. x 24 in. Glazed Porcelain Floor and Wall Tile (14.53 sq. ft. / case)
Charlotte
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful tile

PostedJune 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this tile to install in a bathroom. I originally wanted wood, but was happy to find this very nice, wood-looking finish in an easy to install, beautiful wood-like finish.
The store model recommends using Tobacco Brown grout. We used Sable Brown instead. It is a much better match to the tile color.
I would also recommend the bullnose molding for a finished look.
I've attached a picture showing the installed tile after adding a sealer.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+48points
48out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Montagna Gunstock 6 in. x 24 in. Glazed Porcelain Floor and Wall Tile (14.53 sq. ft. / case)
manny71
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

beautifull look

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
well this was my first time installing tiles so I must say I was a challenge , but not because of the tiles but because again it was my first time .
I installed them in my kitchen and they definatly changed the look of my kitchen and I love them .
they are easy to install , I used a 1/4 inche spacer but I would recommend 1/8 , again that was my first time and even though they still look great .
on the other hand I use the chocolate grout they recommended in the store I went to , but I wish I would've use something darker , cause remember grout will get lighter as it dries. Also when doing the grout just do a little bit at the time cause it takes lots of cleaning to make sure the tile is clean out of the xtra grout
overall I love my kitchen new floor and I am very happy with it.
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Great Accent
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+37points
40out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Montagna Gunstock 6 in. x 24 in. Glazed Porcelain Floor and Wall Tile (14.53 sq. ft. / case)
ChiefQM
from Belleair, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great looking tile, easy to install

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed the tile on the floor in a small bathroom that had 3 feet of 45 degree angled wall. The tile was easy to cut across the width using a standard tile cutter and lengthwise (rip) using a hand-held tile saw. I used the recommended FlexBond thin-set mortar and Marazzo Tobacco grout. The installation went quickly and smoothly, and I think it looks professionally installed.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Great Accent, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Montagna Gunstock 6 in. x 24 in. Glazed Porcelain Floor and Wall Tile (14.53 sq. ft. / case)
Brian
from Littleton, Colorado
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great "wood look" tile at a fraction of the price.

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Tile does chip easily if you are trying to remove the thin-set after it has dried. Overall very satisfied with the look. Installed about 600 sf in entry, dining, powder bath, kitchen, and living room
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: chips easily
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+39points
39out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Montagna Gunstock 6 in. x 24 in. Glazed Porcelain Floor and Wall Tile (14.53 sq. ft. / case)
Yoda
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not for the OCD

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is a beautiful tile after installed but tough to cut cleanly, diamond wet saw will leave small chips along the cut even with the best blades.
It is a little irregular in thicknesses but gives a great distressed look. There actually is a pattern to it and you have to watch not to stack patterns.
I would not recommend this to the beginner !
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+60points
61out of 62found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Montagna Gunstock 6 in. x 24 in. Glazed Porcelain Floor and Wall Tile (14.53 sq. ft. / case)
rayb
from Cape Coral, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

overall look is beautiful

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The tile is beautiful when laid on the floor. We went from a black oak to this. the wood look is exemplary. one thing our installer complained about was the bowing of some of the tiles. I think there were 2 in 4 boxes. Other than that we are going to use this tile for our living room and dining room.
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: bowing of some pieces
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+55points
55out of 55found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Montagna Gunstock 6 in. x 24 in. Glazed Porcelain Floor and Wall Tile (14.53 sq. ft. / case)
Betsy
from Hawaii

Love love it!

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Gorgeous, easy to clean, feels good under foot. Notes: has a large variance in height - be sure contractor (or you) take that into account when laying to avoid 'lipping'. watch out for putting same patterns side by side (our guy had to rip one out as it made the whole space look ridiculously 'fake'), looks better when laid in 1/3rds offset than with the dreaded "H" pattern, the grout is no where near the color they say. we went with the darker brown (sable) and it still 'reads' grey in certain lights. apparently you have to mix it with distilled water to get the 'true' color (who does that?!) I'd probably go with a different brand grout altogether if did it again but still fabulous and love it!
Pros: Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: Difficult to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Montagna Gunstock 6 in. x 24 in. Glazed Porcelain Floor and Wall Tile (14.53 sq. ft. / case)
SheriD
from Redding, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Gorgeous and Sturdy!

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
OMG, this flooring is absolutely beautiful . Went with contractors suggestion and used non sand charcoal grout with the gunstock tile...as you can see it turned out really great, exceeded my expectations. Takita in the flooring department is what customer service is all about. Thank you thank you thank you!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Comfortable, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Montagna Gunstock 6 in. x 24 in. Glazed Porcelain Floor and Wall Tile (14.53 sq. ft. / case)
Rich
from Oceanside, CA, USA

installed great and looks excellent

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Using this porcelain tile to replace carpet was a great idea. I live very close to the beach and a lot of sand from the beach gets deposited on the floor. It is so much easier to sweep up sand then to have to vacuum it off carpets.
You will need to know your way around a tile cutter and how to set up a plank floor. Remember too that this flooring is tile and you will need to choose a grout color. I would recommend you seal the grout lines.
Once the floor was in I looked closely at how great it looked. I was pleased with how nice it looked.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Great Accent, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Montagna Gunstock 6 in. x 24 in. Glazed Porcelain Floor and Wall Tile (14.53 sq. ft. / case)
Darlene
from Virginia
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Products looks great.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The kitchen floor looks wonderful. We installed ourselves since we have done many tile installations over the years. We have a wet saw so that was a big help. We did have some issues with the edges of the tile being constant in thickness. The tile looks hand scraped so that maybe the issues with the edges. Much work with the install because the kitchen is roughly 20x22. But it is finished and we love it. We used tobacco brown grout and it is a perfect match.
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Comfortable, Great Accent, Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: Difficult to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Montagna Gunstock 6 in. x 24 in. Glazed Porcelain Floor and Wall Tile (14.53 sq. ft. / case)
Adirondackguy
from Saratoga, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

awesome looking!

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Looks just like hardwood flooring with a rustic feel. Easy to clean.
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Montagna Gunstock 6 in. x 24 in. Glazed Porcelain Floor and Wall Tile (14.53 sq. ft. / case)
Tina
from Richmond, il
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Indestructible beauty!

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A wonderful product that looks fantastic!!!!! I am in love with my floor!!
Pros: Good Wood, Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Great Accent, Looks High End, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Montagna Gunstock 6 in. x 24 in. Glazed Porcelain Floor and Wall Tile (14.53 sq. ft. / case)
stickman4037
from Fairfax VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love my new floors!!!

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love my new kitchen floor , it was a bear to install but worth the work. We are DIY's and took 3 times as long as we thought. Used the sable grout instead of tobacco as other reviewers suggested, it was the right choice, dark and dissappears. Also used meduim set mortar and found it was much easier to get tiles level, they wanted to sink into the thinset.
Pros: Looks Like Wood
Cons: Difficult to Install
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Montagna Gunstock 6 in. x 24 in. Glazed Porcelain Floor and Wall Tile (14.53 sq. ft. / case)
JupiterGal
from Jupiter, Fl.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Absolutely Gorgeous!

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We installed about 800 sq. feet of this in our home exactly one year ago and we are still so impressed with the quality and appearance of this tile. We installed the tile at a diagonal which made the rooms look larger and so professional. A tile saw with a new blade, cutting very slowly, does the job nicely. People can't believe that it's not real wood! Perfect for our home here in South Fl. near the beach where tile is preferred. Please heed others suggestions about grout looking cement colored.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Montagna Gunstock 6 in. x 24 in. Glazed Porcelain Floor and Wall Tile (14.53 sq. ft. / case)
DANNY1
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

VERY NICE EXCELLENT LOOK!!!!!!!!!

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
LOOKS VERY NICE I RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT ALTHOUGH THE TOBACCO BROWN GROUT DOES TURN GRAYISH COLOR BUT STILL LOOKS GOOD, IN ANOTHER REVIEW A GUY SAYS USE DISTILLED WATER.
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Comfortable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Montagna Gunstock 6 in. x 24 in. Glazed Porcelain Floor and Wall Tile (14.53 sq. ft. / case)
PatS
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this tile

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tile is so beauiful it was worth all the work from a do-it-yourselfer. There were many tile patterns and every carton had a good mixture of them. I love this tile. The tile is not grouted in the pictures, but will use a Chocolate colored grout to match the darkest color in the tile.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>