728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Deluxe 0-19 gpg Electronic Water Conditioner

Deluxe 0-19 gpg Electronic Water Conditioner

The ScaleBlaster Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner is an innovative, computerized water conditioning system that solves hard water problems without the need for chemicals or salt, making it a healthy option for individuals on salt-restricted diets. This water conditioner removes and prevents lime scale deposits in household pipes, protecting and prolonging the life of water heaters, dishwashers and washing machines. Lime scale deposits on showerheads, sinks and faucets will easily wipe off or disappear, and soap lathers up more, leaving your skin feeling smoother and your hair more manageable. Enjoy healthier and better tasting water, as well as brighter, whiter and longer lasting clothes, towels and sheets. This water conditioner requires no maintenance and is simple to install with no plumbing required.
Overall rating:
3.553 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(141 reviews) 141
Open Ratings Snapshot
68%of customersrecommend this product86 of 127reviews
Rating Breakdown 141 reviews
3.6 out of 5
5
(60)
4
(27)
3
(16)
2
(7)
1
(31)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
68%of customersrecommend this product86 of 127reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer reviews for Deluxe 0-19 gpg Electronic Water Conditioner
Review 1 for Deluxe 0-19 gpg Electronic Water Conditioner
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Low cost to operate and it works

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We purchased the scale blaster when it was the "deal of the day" ($270) at Home Depot a few weeks ago. We didn't have particularly "hard water" (higher concentrations of Ca & Mg) but it does appear to work. The water tastes better and the sinks & faucets appear to be cleaner. Don't expect immediate results. The science takes a little time to work on the deposits in pipes, fixtures, etc. Our goal is to extend the life of our water heater, dish washer, and washing machine which should accumulate fever water deposits over time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, cost-effective to use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Deluxe 0-19 gpg Electronic Water Conditioner

So far, so good

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I don't know the science behind this, but my wife has been on me for years to install a water softener. My in-laws had this installed in their house, so when I saw it on sale at Home Depot, I thought "why not". If it doesn't work I'd blame the precedent setting in-laws.
Well it's been in for two weeks, and we all think the water is softer. The Brita filter doesn't have dried water droplets on it anymore.....soap lathers easier....and wife seems happier (with the water). I know it's only been a few weeks, but we'll see. We did a major CLR cleaning on all the fixtures, so we should know if this continues to work the way we think it is.
Easy to install. One suggestion to make the installation more manageable....wrap the wire around a short piece of pipe before you install, and use that to feed the water supply pipe you are coiling (think kite string on a spool)
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+97points
103out of 109found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Deluxe 0-19 gpg Electronic Water Conditioner
from Henderson, NV, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product! You can see it working!

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We love this scaleblaster, our only issues so far is getting through the initial cleanup of our pipes as it is dumping out tons of minerals. We did email the manufacturer and they told us this will clear up as the product need approximately 90 days to show its true potential. I recommend not running your heat dry in dishwasher until you are past this stage as it bakes on the minerals... Another thing I wanted to make homeowners aware of is that it is somewhat difficult to install if you follow their recommended directions. You should have the wires on 12 inches of straight pipe and preferably on the main water line into the home as a soft water loop may leave out your kitchen sink. We had a plumber put a loop on our main shutoff so that we attained that and then we did the rest ourselves, very easy with two people, one to hold wires and one to wrap. Then you just plug in.
Pros: Portable, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Nice Design, Light Weight
Cons: difficult to install if you dont have 12 " pipe
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+60points
65out of 70found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Deluxe 0-19 gpg Electronic Water Conditioner

If only it worked...

PostedApril 23, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I really wanted this to work. I wanted the science of electric pulses knocking minerals out of the water leaving it "softer" to be true. But it just do anything. After having the device installed for 2 months, there was absolutely no difference in the feel of the water, the taste of the water, the scale the built up on fixtures. If the device itself was only say fifty bucks, then maybe I'd give it more of a chance. But even at the sale price of $250, I absolutely cannot justify not seeing any results. I flat out cannot recommend the ScaleBlaster.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Deluxe 0-19 gpg Electronic Water Conditioner
from Glendale, AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product!

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had the SB-75 installed in a house we were renting in CA. After initial installation, it wasn't immediately apparent it was really doing anything (they say give it 90 days), though I could tell hardwater spots weren't as prominent around the sink and washing the car (I installed it on the water main). But when it stopped working (about after a year), we could tell immediately because the water went from "soft" to hard. You could really tell when washing hands or taking a shower.
We just bought a house in Phoenix and the first thing my wife asked was, "When are you installing the Scaleblaster?" LOL Which is funny, because she was the one not sold on it in the beginning. But this time, I went with the SB-175 so I could again install it on the main without having to drill holes through the foundation to run the 18-gauge wires. I'm also tapping into the power that's running the swimming pool equipment. I'll post pics when it's completed. However, the internal SB-75 is easy to install.
Btw, the folks at Scaleblaster were great to deal with when it stopped working. They paid shipping both ways with a 2 day turn around. Though I had to go almost a week without.
Do your pipes a favor, get this device. I'll likely stop using the water softener once this takes over, saving me the cost of salt and wasted water flushing the softener
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Deluxe 0-19 gpg Electronic Water Conditioner
from California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really Works

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I admit I was very skeptical in buying the Scale Blaster. We are on a private well for water and it is extremely hard. Interesting enough we are on a city sewer system and they have been sending flyers to the house with ways to cut down on salt/sodium going into the waste/sewer water and were offering a $25.00 rebate on these types of products, so when The Home Depot put the Scale Blaster on one day sale at 50% off and with the $25.00 rebate from my utility company I thought I would try one.
It was easy to instal, I have mine after the existing water softener which I have lowered the times of regeneration from every 3 days to once every 7 days with no problems. It doesn't soften the water but makes it lather and fell like soft water, so do not be confused. Only time will tell if the scale build up on faucets and pipes decreases.
Knowing buying it from Home Depot if I wasn't happy with it they will take it back that was another plus.
Pros: Convenient
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Deluxe 0-19 gpg Electronic Water Conditioner
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works!

PostedDecember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was a little skeptical of this quasi-magic ionizer. But I figured if Home Depot was selling it, I could get my money back. It works!
The bad news is that we moved into a house where there is tremendous mineral content in the water and the plumbing was without water softener protection for years. Scale buster warns you that until it cleans out the accumulated junk in the lines you will have a lot of lime deposits for a while in your dish washer. They are right.
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Deluxe 0-19 gpg Electronic Water Conditioner
from Newtown PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy installation

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Took us less than an hour to install, haven't had it long enough to be sure it works yet (under 90 days).
Pros: Portable, Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Light Weight, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Deluxe 0-19 gpg Electronic Water Conditioner

Forget the sceptics who don't have one, this softener Works Great!

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
You can read a lot about the technology and question if this will really work, but step up and buy it. It really works! I had deposits on my shower walls and faucets and now they are gone. Once you install this softener and clean the existing deposits, you will not see any more build up. I have had it for over a year and still no build up of water deposits.
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Deluxe 0-19 gpg Electronic Water Conditioner
from new jersey
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worst product since Edsel !!

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Good news only took 1/2 hr. to install bad news didn't do anything !!! Waited the 90 days , same amount of scale in dishwasher and tea pot ! Should have spent 272.00 on pizza and beer , wouldn't had to hear my wife tell me " I TOLD YOU SO !
Pros: Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: doesn't work
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Deluxe 0-19 gpg Electronic Water Conditioner
from Denver, CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do not wate your money

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had this in my home for a year and it does not affect your water in any way!! If you are wanting soft water buy a water softener. We went with RainSoft and they have excellent products for a reasonable price.
Pros: none
Cons: does not work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Deluxe 0-19 gpg Electronic Water Conditioner
from Silver City, NM 88061, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Questionable results so far

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In the two months it has been installed, I haven’t experienced dramatic results from ScaleBlaster. I think I feel a difference after washing my hair, and it may be removing scale from my pipes. The toilet bowl calcium deposit doesn’t seem to build up as fast. I’ll keep the product since it seems to be doing something, but I don’t think I’d recommend buying it if someone asked. I think it’s going to take more time to judge if it really works.
Installation is easy, but you have to be very selective where you put it, and it would be a good idea to check out the installation instructions before buying it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient
+22points
27out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Deluxe 0-19 gpg Electronic Water Conditioner
from El Paso tx
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well Worth the Price

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This system is awesome. We had an old salt water softener in our old house but wanted something different when we moved and this fit the need and then some. While I was installing the system my wife was doing laundry and noticed a difference right away. It took about and hour to install because of the area that I had to work in but the instructions are easy to follow. Soap lathers better, no spots on the dishes, and it even tastes better.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: longer to install in small space
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Deluxe 0-19 gpg Electronic Water Conditioner
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding Product

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very simple, E-Z to install and does the job. Our black kitchen sink never look so black. My wife said her hair is so soft like never B-4. No more white spots arrowed faucets and shower heads. n total ve are very happy. The HD 50% off deal helped.
Pros: Portable, Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, does the job
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Deluxe 0-19 gpg Electronic Water Conditioner
from Ferguson, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best of both worlds- easy to install, easy to use

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our water is terrible here, so I decided to give ScaleBlaster a try. The product came promptly and was fairly easy to install. The wrapping of the coils was a little bit of a challenge, but otherwise it was fairly quick to install. After installation, I felt a difference a couple of days later as my skin felt softer as well as my hair. My wife says the towels and bed sheets seem softer and brighter. I highly recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+24points
32out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Deluxe 0-19 gpg Electronic Water Conditioner
from Bloomington, IN.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

misunderstanding that this unit is a water sofener

PostedMay 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
After reading the reviews, many reviewers think this product is a water "sofner" which it is not. Simply, it lines up the minerals in the water so they do not stick to surfaces such as fixtures, tiles, hair and skin. The water still has the same amount of minerals in it ( thus the reviewers who test their water with the same hardness before and after installation). If the unit is installed correctly, it has huge benefits. My brother tried to install a unit in his home and could not see any results. After redoing the coils on the proper water line that was the incoming source, he is delighted with it. Its a scale blaster, not a so called water sofner as we know it. The benefits of what this unit does makes the water feel softer with out putting chemicals or salts in the water. It makes the minerals in the water from sticking to everything. I have had mine for several years now with great results.
Pros: maintenance free
Cons: can be hard to install
+76points
80out of 84found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Deluxe 0-19 gpg Electronic Water Conditioner
from Chandler, AZ, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install and no upkeep!

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I installed this mid December and since then hard water spots have disappeared on the facets, my hair and skin is softer (but not slimey like past water softeners I've owned at previous residences) and my drinking water is the most noticable and no longer buy bottled water and neither does the lady of the house. Water is softened and goes through my fridge carbon filter and taste better than anything!
Pros: Portable, Easy to Use, Convenient, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+39points
59out of 79found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Deluxe 0-19 gpg Electronic Water Conditioner
from Tucson, Arizona
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not effective if you live in Arizona

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have had this one installed since November of 2014. The instructions wants you to allow 3 months before any noticeable change due to contaminants already in your pipes. Once February came around, I was disappointed. Didn't see any change in the water and just a few days ago had a water softener company come to test the water. Water is still hard with no change from someone without this system. We have particularly hard water in Arizona, so I cannot speak to how this might work for someone where the water isn't as rough. I ended up buying a water softening system. This system was a waste of money for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Deluxe 0-19 gpg Electronic Water Conditioner
from Las Vegas, NV
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far so good

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this instead of going the water softener route. Within one day we've noticed a difference in the clarity of our glassware. Before I installed this my dishes would have white water spots. Within one day of this being installed they were gone. I haven't noticed a difference when I shower though. My skin still gets dry(Las Vegas hard water problems...I guess). According to the description it may take some time for us to notice a difference with that. But we'll see. Overall, I'm very happy with the product. I'm not sure I would've paid full price for this, but I'm lucky I snagged it during the 'Deal of the day' special. Really easy to install.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Deluxe 0-19 gpg Electronic Water Conditioner
from San Diego, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not so difficult to install. I am really pleased with the feature of this product.

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Installation of this product was not too difficult. I basically followed the instruction instructions. I did cut open the drywall where the supply pipe is located at. Installation was successful however It will probably take sometime to find out the true advantage of this unit compared to other water conditioner that uses salt.
Pros: Convenient, Looks Great, Nice Design, very simple
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>