728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon

Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon

ScaleBlaster is an innovative, computerized water conditioning system that solves hard water problems without the need of chemicals or salt. The product requires no maintenance and is simple to install, with no plumbing required. ScaleBlaster removes and prevents lime-scale deposits in household pipes. It will protect and prolong the life of water heaters, dishwashers and washing machines. Lime-scale deposits on shower heads, sinks and faucets will easily wipe off or disappear. Soap lathers up more, skin feels smoother and hair becomes more manageable. Enjoy healthier and better tasting water as well as brighter, whiter and longer lasting clothes, towels and sheets. Water softeners require salt, waste lots of water and discharge chlorides into the environment. They also require ongoing costly maintenance. For people on salt restricted diets, ScaleBlaster is a healthy alternative. ScaleBlaster is also ideal for tankless water heaters. First appearing in 1995, ScaleBlaster is now successful worldwide.
Overall rating:
3.575 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(87 reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
69%of customersrecommend this product53 of 77reviews
Rating Breakdown 87 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(37)
4
(18)
3
(8)
2
(6)
1
(18)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
69%of customersrecommend this product53 of 77reviews
Customer reviews for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
Review 1 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon

So far, so good

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I don't know the science behind this, but my wife has been on me for years to install a water softener. My in-laws had this installed in their house, so when I saw it on sale at Home Depot, I thought "why not". If it doesn't work I'd blame the precedent setting in-laws.
Well it's been in for two weeks, and we all think the water is softer. The Brita filter doesn't have dried water droplets on it anymore.....soap lathers easier....and wife seems happier (with the water). I know it's only been a few weeks, but we'll see. We did a major CLR cleaning on all the fixtures, so we should know if this continues to work the way we think it is.
Easy to install. One suggestion to make the installation more manageable....wrap the wire around a short piece of pipe before you install, and use that to feed the water supply pipe you are coiling (think kite string on a spool)
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+63points
66out of 69found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Henderson, NV, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product! You can see it working!

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We love this scaleblaster, our only issues so far is getting through the initial cleanup of our pipes as it is dumping out tons of minerals. We did email the manufacturer and they told us this will clear up as the product need approximately 90 days to show its true potential. I recommend not running your heat dry in dishwasher until you are past this stage as it bakes on the minerals... Another thing I wanted to make homeowners aware of is that it is somewhat difficult to install if you follow their recommended directions. You should have the wires on 12 inches of straight pipe and preferably on the main water line into the home as a soft water loop may leave out your kitchen sink. We had a plumber put a loop on our main shutoff so that we attained that and then we did the rest ourselves, very easy with two people, one to hold wires and one to wrap. Then you just plug in.
Pros: Portable, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Nice Design, Light Weight
Cons: difficult to install if you dont have 12 " pipe
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+34points
37out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Silver City, NM 88061, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Questionable results so far

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In the two months it has been installed, I haven’t experienced dramatic results from ScaleBlaster. I think I feel a difference after washing my hair, and it may be removing scale from my pipes. The toilet bowl calcium deposit doesn’t seem to build up as fast. I’ll keep the product since it seems to be doing something, but I don’t think I’d recommend buying it if someone asked. I think it’s going to take more time to judge if it really works.
Installation is easy, but you have to be very selective where you put it, and it would be a good idea to check out the installation instructions before buying it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Newtown PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy installation

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Took us less than an hour to install, haven't had it long enough to be sure it works yet (under 90 days).
Pros: Portable, Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Light Weight, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from El Paso tx
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well Worth the Price

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This system is awesome. We had an old salt water softener in our old house but wanted something different when we moved and this fit the need and then some. While I was installing the system my wife was doing laundry and noticed a difference right away. It took about and hour to install because of the area that I had to work in but the instructions are easy to follow. Soap lathers better, no spots on the dishes, and it even tastes better.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: longer to install in small space
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Hemet, Ca.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't Know yet

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had this installed for over a month and still don't see any difference. I hope I don't have to return it.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: don't know if it works
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Bloomington, IN.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

misunderstanding that this unit is a water sofener

PostedMay 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After reading the reviews, many reviewers think this product is a water "sofner" which it is not. Simply, it lines up the minerals in the water so they do not stick to surfaces such as fixtures, tiles, hair and skin. The water still has the same amount of minerals in it ( thus the reviewers who test their water with the same hardness before and after installation). If the unit is installed correctly, it has huge benefits. My brother tried to install a unit in his home and could not see any results. After redoing the coils on the proper water line that was the incoming source, he is delighted with it. Its a scale blaster, not a so called water sofner as we know it. The benefits of what this unit does makes the water feel softer with out putting chemicals or salts in the water. It makes the minerals in the water from sticking to everything. I have had mine for several years now with great results.
Pros: maintenance free
Cons: can be hard to install
+34points
37out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Chandler, AZ, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install and no upkeep!

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed this mid December and since then hard water spots have disappeared on the facets, my hair and skin is softer (but not slimey like past water softeners I've owned at previous residences) and my drinking water is the most noticable and no longer buy bottled water and neither does the lady of the house. Water is softened and goes through my fridge carbon filter and taste better than anything!
Pros: Portable, Easy to Use, Convenient, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+45points
54out of 63found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from TN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

clear results!

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews, good and bad, and was very skeptical. However, with our water being so hard we needed a solution and introducing salt to soften the water was never a good solution for me, as I have always hated the slimy feeling you get from a salt softened shower.
We have had the scale blaster 175 installed for 4-5 weeks now. There is a noticeable difference in showering. My hair feels much softer and less coarse ...with no slimy feeling! My wife and two children also agree. After cleaning everything with C.L.R. (faucets, utensils, glasses, etc.) several weeks ago, the cloudiness seems to be staying away. As some reviews stated, what deposits do show are easily wiped away.
I could go on and on, but the bottom line is that the scale blaster has lived up to its claim! Cheaper than a softener, small footprint, and NO maintenance.
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Ferguson, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best of both worlds- easy to install, easy to use

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our water is terrible here, so I decided to give ScaleBlaster a try. The product came promptly and was fairly easy to install. The wrapping of the coils was a little bit of a challenge, but otherwise it was fairly quick to install. After installation, I felt a difference a couple of days later as my skin felt softer as well as my hair. My wife says the towels and bed sheets seem softer and brighter. I highly recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+21points
28out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Gilbert Arizona
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excelent product

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed by myself in my brand new home at water loop connection was given in my garage. its very simple to install.
I just moved in from Colorado, so i noticed the water tasted very bad and calcium build up in apartment i was staying temporary so i bought this before i moved in to my new home and after installing and drinking water from my Refrigerator which does have filter... it tasted just like Colorado water. I don't need any other filter beside this and filter installed in refrigerator. So its great product i would recommend everyone to buy it. if its not working for you than it was not installed properly.
Pros: Portable, Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Marginally Effective

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The ScaleBlaster does look good, the cycling lights are attractive and interesting. It was easy to install and requires no operational intervention or maintenance. It does help some with reducing mineral deposits, but nowhere near the amount or speed indicated in the literature and advertisements. Not really worth the investment.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
Cons: only marginally effective
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from La Crosse, WI, USA

The product made the spa water clear and clean without chemicals.

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The ScaleBlaster (SB-175) has solved the water problems I had in my swimming spa--no more dirty and opaque water, chemical smell, checking for need to apply chemcials, applying chemicals, dealing with skin sensitivities to chemicals. I can see the bottom of the spa and it is beautiful! It worked in five days making the water clear.
Pros: Portable, Easy to Use, Light Weight, best product on the market
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
21out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from San Jose, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Have your water tested before investing $495

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Equipment is excellent workmanship, I did not do a water test and wasted $500 plus time. I am sure this product would be ideal in locations that do not have severely hard water. Three months later we got a water softener from Home Depot and the installer tested our water before and after. Now our dishes are clean, everything is not chalky, and I am sure we will spend less time and detergent cleaning all the calcium build up over the year. Not sure what a water test costs around your place but I am guessing its around FREE to $50.
Pros: Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight
Cons: does not work in severely hard water area
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't work for my Well Water

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I tried this product for 30 days and it didn't make any noticeable difference in the water. The house is new, so I don't think that scale build-up in the lines was an issue. I was really hoping this would work, as the price was reasonable. Next step is a water softener? Home Depot took the product back hassle-free! I'll continue to shop there both online and at the stores.
Pros: Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Antioch, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No effect

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product has been installed on our house in the California Eastbay exactly according to the manufactures instructions. It is installed on the main water supply line to the house. I have noticed no change in the soap sud forming characteristics of the water or in the scale formation since installation. My family and I have started using a squeegee on the shower glass and microfiber cloth on the sink tops and faucet fixtures. This has made a huge improvement in scale formation but the edges of the shower glass where a squeegee does not sweep the water form the scale just as before so I think that the product is ineffective.
Cons: ineffective
+3points
9out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Orange
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fails to do what it claims

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was very disappointed with this product. The water spots remain unchanged and does not appear to get any better. For the price of the unit, I expected it to do what it claims and that is to remove the hard water scales from appearing on my fixtures. I will go back to installing a water softener to remove the hard water causing scales. Quite an expensive learning experience.
Cons: does not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Boca Raton, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a General Contractor and did my research. If you follow the directions, it works great. It took me about an hour to install because the cable kept getting tangled while wrapping the pipe, but very easy installation that anyone can do.
It took about 2 weeks for me to start feeling the effects. It has been only 3 weeks and my soap is lathering better, I have noticed that sort of slippery feeling to my water, sort of like when you are in the ocean or when you use conditioner.
The thing I love about this is that you do not need to keep adding salt and that also makes it better for people with high blood pressure, like me.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, works as described, easily removed if you move
+33points
37out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding Product

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very simple, E-Z to install and does the job. Our black kitchen sink never look so black. My wife said her hair is so soft like never B-4. No more white spots arrowed faucets and shower heads. n total ve are very happy. The HD 50% off deal helped.
Pros: Portable, Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, does the job
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Tampa Bay, Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Dont see any difference in water

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This item was supposed to get rid of all the scale and hard water. It is being used with a non-salt softening system and I see no difference in water quality.
Pros: Convenient, Nice Design
Cons: doesnt change water quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>