728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon

Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon

ScaleBlaster is an innovative, computerized water conditioning system that solves hard water problems without the need of chemicals or salt. The product requires no maintenance and is simple to install, with no plumbing required. ScaleBlaster removes and prevents lime-scale deposits in household pipes. It will protect and prolong the life of water heaters, dishwashers and washing machines. Lime-scale deposits on shower heads, sinks and faucets will easily wipe off or disappear. Soap lathers up more, skin feels smoother and hair becomes more manageable. Enjoy healthier and better tasting water as well as brighter, whiter and longer lasting clothes, towels and sheets. Water softeners require salt, waste lots of water and discharge chlorides into the environment. They also require ongoing costly maintenance. For people on salt restricted diets, ScaleBlaster is a healthy alternative. ScaleBlaster is also ideal for tankless water heaters. First appearing in 1995, ScaleBlaster is now successful worldwide.
Overall rating:
3.677 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(62 reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product39 of 54reviews
Rating Breakdown 62 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(28)
4
(14)
3
(5)
2
(2)
1
(13)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product39 of 54reviews
Customer reviews for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
Review 1 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon

So far, so good

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I don't know the science behind this, but my wife has been on me for years to install a water softener. My in-laws had this installed in their house, so when I saw it on sale at Home Depot, I thought "why not". If it doesn't work I'd blame the precedent setting in-laws.
Well it's been in for two weeks, and we all think the water is softer. The Brita filter doesn't have dried water droplets on it anymore.....soap lathers easier....and wife seems happier (with the water). I know it's only been a few weeks, but we'll see. We did a major CLR cleaning on all the fixtures, so we should know if this continues to work the way we think it is.
Easy to install. One suggestion to make the installation more manageable....wrap the wire around a short piece of pipe before you install, and use that to feed the water supply pipe you are coiling (think kite string on a spool)
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+52points
55out of 58found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Henderson, NV, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product! You can see it working!

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We love this scaleblaster, our only issues so far is getting through the initial cleanup of our pipes as it is dumping out tons of minerals. We did email the manufacturer and they told us this will clear up as the product need approximately 90 days to show its true potential. I recommend not running your heat dry in dishwasher until you are past this stage as it bakes on the minerals... Another thing I wanted to make homeowners aware of is that it is somewhat difficult to install if you follow their recommended directions. You should have the wires on 12 inches of straight pipe and preferably on the main water line into the home as a soft water loop may leave out your kitchen sink. We had a plumber put a loop on our main shutoff so that we attained that and then we did the rest ourselves, very easy with two people, one to hold wires and one to wrap. Then you just plug in.
Pros: Portable, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Nice Design, Light Weight
Cons: difficult to install if you dont have 12 " pipe
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+25points
28out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from El Paso tx
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well Worth the Price

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This system is awesome. We had an old salt water softener in our old house but wanted something different when we moved and this fit the need and then some. While I was installing the system my wife was doing laundry and noticed a difference right away. It took about and hour to install because of the area that I had to work in but the instructions are easy to follow. Soap lathers better, no spots on the dishes, and it even tastes better.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: longer to install in small space
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Bloomington, IN.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

misunderstanding that this unit is a water sofener

PostedMay 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After reading the reviews, many reviewers think this product is a water "sofner" which it is not. Simply, it lines up the minerals in the water so they do not stick to surfaces such as fixtures, tiles, hair and skin. The water still has the same amount of minerals in it ( thus the reviewers who test their water with the same hardness before and after installation). If the unit is installed correctly, it has huge benefits. My brother tried to install a unit in his home and could not see any results. After redoing the coils on the proper water line that was the incoming source, he is delighted with it. Its a scale blaster, not a so called water sofner as we know it. The benefits of what this unit does makes the water feel softer with out putting chemicals or salts in the water. It makes the minerals in the water from sticking to everything. I have had mine for several years now with great results.
Pros: maintenance free
Cons: can be hard to install
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from TN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

clear results!

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews, good and bad, and was very skeptical. However, with our water being so hard we needed a solution and introducing salt to soften the water was never a good solution for me, as I have always hated the slimy feeling you get from a salt softened shower.
We have had the scale blaster 175 installed for 4-5 weeks now. There is a noticeable difference in showering. My hair feels much softer and less coarse ...with no slimy feeling! My wife and two children also agree. After cleaning everything with C.L.R. (faucets, utensils, glasses, etc.) several weeks ago, the cloudiness seems to be staying away. As some reviews stated, what deposits do show are easily wiped away.
I could go on and on, but the bottom line is that the scale blaster has lived up to its claim! Cheaper than a softener, small footprint, and NO maintenance.
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Chandler, AZ, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install and no upkeep!

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed this mid December and since then hard water spots have disappeared on the facets, my hair and skin is softer (but not slimey like past water softeners I've owned at previous residences) and my drinking water is the most noticable and no longer buy bottled water and neither does the lady of the house. Water is softened and goes through my fridge carbon filter and taste better than anything!
Pros: Portable, Easy to Use, Convenient, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+41points
50out of 59found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Perris, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dissapointing

PostedJune 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Liked the idea of not wasting water and lugging salt with a water softener. Unfortunately, this product did not work for me. I have a 2350 square foot home with four people living in the house. Based on size of copper pipe I double wrapped per instructions but still no good. Looks like I need to take the bypass of the water softener and return this product. Really wanted it to work.
Pros: Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Nice Design, Light Weight
Cons: doesn't work
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Antioch, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No effect

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product has been installed on our house in the California Eastbay exactly according to the manufactures instructions. It is installed on the main water supply line to the house. I have noticed no change in the soap sud forming characteristics of the water or in the scale formation since installation. My family and I have started using a squeegee on the shower glass and microfiber cloth on the sink tops and faucet fixtures. This has made a huge improvement in scale formation but the edges of the shower glass where a squeegee does not sweep the water form the scale just as before so I think that the product is ineffective.
Cons: ineffective
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Indio,CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't work

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I think this is one of those gimmicks for PT Barnum, "there's a sucker born every minute". The only thing that worked was the blinking lights. I very carefully wound 45 coils one way and 45 coils the other and used the provided zip/cable ties all to no avail. Nothing changed water was exactly as before installation. Didn't quite make 90 days maybe 85 days, because warranty said to return within 90 days. Neither my wife or I noticed any change in water.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: doesn't work
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Less Scale!

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have only had it installed a few weeks, but it seems to be doing it's job. The shower heads, faucet diffusers, and toilets has actually become cleaner, more free flowing. Now, when the toilets refill they can hardly be heard. So far we have not noticed soap lathering any better, but the dishwasher seems to clean better. It was a chore to wrap the wire, but worth it in the long run.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't work for my Well Water

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I tried this product for 30 days and it didn't make any noticeable difference in the water. The house is new, so I don't think that scale build-up in the lines was an issue. I was really hoping this would work, as the price was reasonable. Next step is a water softener? Home Depot took the product back hassle-free! I'll continue to shop there both online and at the stores.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from San Diego
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works!

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is not magic but it does work. Scale on the shower doors can be wiped off.
My great Society antique toilet was out of commision for a few years. It had a rock like build up of scale up to 1/16 of a inch on the throat. It is slowly dissolving away.
Being a great society implement, it has man pleasing power with no fancy stuff. Yet, it does seem to be gaining additional power. I am sure the internal scale was greater than the visible.
I also had been closely watching my 20+ year old water heater. Yes, the only reason it did not leak was the calcium here is so high it sealed the leaks. Calcium deposits began dropping in a half a handful quantity. Then came the water.
So I ran over to Home Depot bought and installed a 40g Rheem. The gain in efficiency and performance will probably pay for the water heater in a year. But the old heater did limit the length of teenager showers.
I do not know about the soft and younger skin. Wife was not impressed but she says soap lathers better.
Installation was easy. However, another poster recommended taking the wire and wrapping it around a stick or core before beginning wrapping the pipe. Which I should have followed in the first place and saved the grief of tangles. The manufacture should just add it to the bom.
I installed on a 1o.5 inch run of pipe between 90 degree elbows. Not ideal, but the unit is clearly working.
I bought this unit on the deal of the day. Which was a real deal. Now that I know this technology works I would pay full freight for it.
It has only been a couple of weeks and the improvement is clear, visible and indisputable. Now it is simply a matter of durability which of course takes time.
Thanks to Scale Buster an American still has his never fails thrown. In California too. So please do not tell the Progressives. They really would bust down the door.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Ferguson, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best of both worlds- easy to install, easy to use

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our water is terrible here, so I decided to give ScaleBlaster a try. The product came promptly and was fairly easy to install. The wrapping of the coils was a little bit of a challenge, but otherwise it was fairly quick to install. After installation, I felt a difference a couple of days later as my skin felt softer as well as my hair. My wife says the towels and bed sheets seem softer and brighter. I highly recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+20points
27out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from alhambra, ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great purchase

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The hard part of this installation is putting the coils on the copper pipe as mine is in the crawl space under my house. After that it was very easy to attach the wires and plug in the box to an outlet. The effect was right away. I really love it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from East Hanover, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Replaced my old water softner

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It took a couple of weeks before we notice the difference, but once of plumbing system was conditioned. We are very happy dish and cloth washers show a real difference.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Hillsboro, OR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mineral Taste

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installation went well just a little time consuming. Taste of of the water was very mineraly. Don't know yet about the residue. It changed the color of the pool water to green and we promptly added the appropriate chemicals to stop any more discoloration. We have hooked the soft water tank back up and water is fine. Need to return this item defeating the whole concept of saving money by not buying salt bags.
Pros: Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: see above comments, taste
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from N.H.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hope this works!

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to set up. 30 minutes taking my time for a nice clean installation. It's been in use for three days and it is too early to tell if it is working. Price on sale was good, and if it works as claimed, it was a worth every penny.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Charles Town, WV
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

If you want to help the environment

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It has only been about 3 weeks, but we have noticed a slight difference in the softness. Feel way better using this than salt
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Canada
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It is as they say

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No more scale on the sides of the pots and pans just a tiny loose deposit that washes away with the leftover water.
Works as good as salt and no health issues.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Metro Atlanta, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It seems to be working. I've only had it installed about a week.

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My son came over and installed this for me about 1 week ago. He said it wasn't too difficult. He was able to follow the instructions with no problem. It seems to be working.
Pros: Convenient
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>