728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon

Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon

ScaleBlaster is an innovative, computerized water conditioning system that solves hard water problems without the need of chemicals or salt. The product requires no maintenance and is simple to install, with no plumbing required. ScaleBlaster removes and prevents lime-scale deposits in household pipes. It will protect and prolong the life of water heaters, dishwashers and washing machines. Lime-scale deposits on shower heads, sinks and faucets will easily wipe off or disappear. Soap lathers up more, skin feels smoother and hair becomes more manageable. Enjoy healthier and better tasting water as well as brighter, whiter and longer lasting clothes, towels and sheets. Water softeners require salt, waste lots of water and discharge chlorides into the environment. They also require ongoing costly maintenance. For people on salt restricted diets, ScaleBlaster is a healthy alternative. ScaleBlaster is also ideal for tankless water heaters. First appearing in 1995, ScaleBlaster is now successful worldwide.
Overall rating:
3.692 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product33 of 46reviews
Rating Breakdown 52 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(25)
4
(10)
3
(4)
2
(2)
1
(11)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product33 of 46reviews
Customer reviews for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
Review 1 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon

So far, so good

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I don't know the science behind this, but my wife has been on me for years to install a water softener. My in-laws had this installed in their house, so when I saw it on sale at Home Depot, I thought "why not". If it doesn't work I'd blame the precedent setting in-laws.
Well it's been in for two weeks, and we all think the water is softer. The Brita filter doesn't have dried water droplets on it anymore.....soap lathers easier....and wife seems happier (with the water). I know it's only been a few weeks, but we'll see. We did a major CLR cleaning on all the fixtures, so we should know if this continues to work the way we think it is.
Easy to install. One suggestion to make the installation more manageable....wrap the wire around a short piece of pipe before you install, and use that to feed the water supply pipe you are coiling (think kite string on a spool)
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+47points
50out of 53found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Henderson, NV, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product! You can see it working!

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We love this scaleblaster, our only issues so far is getting through the initial cleanup of our pipes as it is dumping out tons of minerals. We did email the manufacturer and they told us this will clear up as the product need approximately 90 days to show its true potential. I recommend not running your heat dry in dishwasher until you are past this stage as it bakes on the minerals... Another thing I wanted to make homeowners aware of is that it is somewhat difficult to install if you follow their recommended directions. You should have the wires on 12 inches of straight pipe and preferably on the main water line into the home as a soft water loop may leave out your kitchen sink. We had a plumber put a loop on our main shutoff so that we attained that and then we did the rest ourselves, very easy with two people, one to hold wires and one to wrap. Then you just plug in.
Pros: Portable, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Nice Design, Light Weight
Cons: difficult to install if you dont have 12 " pipe
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+21points
24out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from El Paso tx
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well Worth the Price

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This system is awesome. We had an old salt water softener in our old house but wanted something different when we moved and this fit the need and then some. While I was installing the system my wife was doing laundry and noticed a difference right away. It took about and hour to install because of the area that I had to work in but the instructions are easy to follow. Soap lathers better, no spots on the dishes, and it even tastes better.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: longer to install in small space
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Bloomington, IN.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

misunderstanding that this unit is a water sofener

PostedMay 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After reading the reviews, many reviewers think this product is a water "sofner" which it is not. Simply, it lines up the minerals in the water so they do not stick to surfaces such as fixtures, tiles, hair and skin. The water still has the same amount of minerals in it ( thus the reviewers who test their water with the same hardness before and after installation). If the unit is installed correctly, it has huge benefits. My brother tried to install a unit in his home and could not see any results. After redoing the coils on the proper water line that was the incoming source, he is delighted with it. Its a scale blaster, not a so called water sofner as we know it. The benefits of what this unit does makes the water feel softer with out putting chemicals or salts in the water. It makes the minerals in the water from sticking to everything. I have had mine for several years now with great results.
Pros: maintenance free
Cons: can be hard to install
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Antioch, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No effect

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product has been installed on our house in the California Eastbay exactly according to the manufactures instructions. It is installed on the main water supply line to the house. I have noticed no change in the soap sud forming characteristics of the water or in the scale formation since installation. My family and I have started using a squeegee on the shower glass and microfiber cloth on the sink tops and faucet fixtures. This has made a huge improvement in scale formation but the edges of the shower glass where a squeegee does not sweep the water form the scale just as before so I think that the product is ineffective.
Cons: ineffective
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Less Scale!

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have only had it installed a few weeks, but it seems to be doing it's job. The shower heads, faucet diffusers, and toilets has actually become cleaner, more free flowing. Now, when the toilets refill they can hardly be heard. So far we have not noticed soap lathering any better, but the dishwasher seems to clean better. It was a chore to wrap the wire, but worth it in the long run.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from TN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

clear results!

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews, good and bad, and was very skeptical. However, with our water being so hard we needed a solution and introducing salt to soften the water was never a good solution for me, as I have always hated the slimy feeling you get from a salt softened shower.
We have had the scale blaster 175 installed for 4-5 weeks now. There is a noticeable difference in showering. My hair feels much softer and less coarse ...with no slimy feeling! My wife and two children also agree. After cleaning everything with C.L.R. (faucets, utensils, glasses, etc.) several weeks ago, the cloudiness seems to be staying away. As some reviews stated, what deposits do show are easily wiped away.
I could go on and on, but the bottom line is that the scale blaster has lived up to its claim! Cheaper than a softener, small footprint, and NO maintenance.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Perris, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dissapointing

PostedJune 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Liked the idea of not wasting water and lugging salt with a water softener. Unfortunately, this product did not work for me. I have a 2350 square foot home with four people living in the house. Based on size of copper pipe I double wrapped per instructions but still no good. Looks like I need to take the bypass of the water softener and return this product. Really wanted it to work.
Pros: Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Nice Design, Light Weight
Cons: doesn't work
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Chandler, AZ, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install and no upkeep!

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed this mid December and since then hard water spots have disappeared on the facets, my hair and skin is softer (but not slimey like past water softeners I've owned at previous residences) and my drinking water is the most noticable and no longer buy bottled water and neither does the lady of the house. Water is softened and goes through my fridge carbon filter and taste better than anything!
Pros: Portable, Easy to Use, Convenient, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+41points
50out of 59found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Ferguson, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best of both worlds- easy to install, easy to use

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our water is terrible here, so I decided to give ScaleBlaster a try. The product came promptly and was fairly easy to install. The wrapping of the coils was a little bit of a challenge, but otherwise it was fairly quick to install. After installation, I felt a difference a couple of days later as my skin felt softer as well as my hair. My wife says the towels and bed sheets seem softer and brighter. I highly recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+20points
27out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Bristol, CT.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

well worth it!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The water electronic water scale blaster was easy to install - no plumbing needed! My wife has been complaining of the "hard water" for a long time but this product has solved that problem. No more dry skin - clothes wash better - over all a great product. We have told our family and friends about it and they have also purchased it!
Pros: Convenient, easy to install - works great!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from California, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This Scaleblaster device really works

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I studied many reviews from many sites before purchasing this device, they say it needs up to 90 days to see the result, but I saw the result immediately after installing it yesterday - shower feels more refreshing, scales on the shower door was gone after washing it with treated water.
I used to have a salt-based water softener, but it stopped working for a year now, so had scales accumulated around shower stall and faucets. After installed this device, I used water to wash them, and most scales were gone, and I'm very happy with result in just one day of use.
Some reviewers said they tested the water hardness and it made no difference. This device is NOT a water softener, but a water conditioner. It does not reduce the water hardness by removing calcium and magnesium from water, instead it conditions the water so calcium and magnesium don't crystallize and accumulate on surface. This device clearly works as it intents to in my one day use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Nice Design, it really works, Easy to Install, no <aintenance required, no salt to add
Cons: expensive
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Tucson, AZ, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Seems to be working.

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Only been on for 3 weeks but seems to be working. Soaked kitchen faucet in CLR before installing this product and have had zero built up so far. I have really bad water so I expected some build up by now. Also, dishes definitely seem more clear than before and a lot less foggy and spotty.
I can't really say if my soaps and shampoos are lathering up more than normal. I got it on the Home Depot daily deal for $299 (originally $499) so I am ecstatically pleased with the results.
Pros: Convenient, Takes Less Space, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Arizona
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Bogus VooDoo Water Device

PostedMay 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This device can not be sold in Canada because it does nothing.
CWQA Position:
CWQA has long maintained that all product performance and benefit claims for all products that
purportedly alter the hardness characteristics of water be based on factual data obtained from tests
conducted by professional competent personnel following established test procedures. Such data should be recent, reputable and verifiable and should substantiate all product performance and benefit claims.
CWQA knows of no generally recognized scientific or technical evidence which proves that magnetic,
electromagnetic or catalytic devices sold to treat water have any measurable physical or chemical effect of water quality.
Cons: junk
-2points
9out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Omaha, NE, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Performance

PostedApril 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We were excited to try this simple solution to softer water. I followed the installation instructions exactly. We used the product for 45 days and did not experience the slightest improvement in our water softness. We are very disappointed.
Pros: Convenient, Good Size & Weight
Cons: the product did not perform as described.
+5points
11out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from La Crosse, WI, USA

The product made the spa water clear and clean without chemicals.

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The ScaleBlaster (SB-175) has solved the water problems I had in my swimming spa--no more dirty and opaque water, chemical smell, checking for need to apply chemcials, applying chemicals, dealing with skin sensitivities to chemicals. I can see the bottom of the spa and it is beautiful! It worked in five days making the water clear.
Pros: Portable, Easy to Use, Light Weight, best product on the market
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+14points
21out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Indio,CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't work

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I think this is one of those gimmicks for PT Barnum, "there's a sucker born every minute". The only thing that worked was the blinking lights. I very carefully wound 45 coils one way and 45 coils the other and used the provided zip/cable ties all to no avail. Nothing changed water was exactly as before installation. Didn't quite make 90 days maybe 85 days, because warranty said to return within 90 days. Neither my wife or I noticed any change in water.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: doesn't work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Illinois
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Does Not Work

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a conventional water softener in my home., but the prospect of not having to carry heavy bags of salt to the basement is what got my interest in this device. I installed it exactly as described in the directions. I then deactivated my regular water softener and engaged the by-pass value so the water would not go through the water softener.
By the second day my wife and I both felt that the water was no longer soft, so I purchased a water testing kit. I tested the water and it showed the water to be moderately hard. I even tried switching the two wires going into the device to change the direction of the electrical flow hoping that might help; it didn't.
I then deactivated the Scale Blaster and ran water through the pipes for several minutes before testing it again. I got the same reading that I had gotten with the Scale Blaster when it was activated. I left the Scale Blaster deactivated and re-activated my water softener. Two days later I tested the water. It was significantly softened as measured by the tester.
I really wanted this device to work. I am returning the device for a refund.
Pros: Portable, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: did not work
+8points
17out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy to install

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Not sure yet on how well product is yet since it has only been a day since I got it working. This was easy to install. Don't do what I did and cut the long cable in half you might need more than you think. I think it's best to leave it rolled up the way it comes and then unroll as needed for wrapping around the pipe. Our water is so hard where we live I hope this takes the edge off of it. I do think I can already tell a little difference in water although it says on instructions that it could take a whole longer before noticing a difference.
Pros: Convenient, Takes Less Space, Nice Design
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon

Scale has been blasted.

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As others have said it takes up to 90 days to become fully functional. This doesn't make your water soft, but it does stop and reverse scale buildup. I know the reversal is working because I found 3 inches of scale in the bottom of my toilet one day that had become descaled. This would make me think every day more and more is making its way to my septic and the cause of my clogged toilets (due to paper sticking on the scale) is decreasing.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>