728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon

Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon

ScaleBlaster is an innovative, computerized water conditioning system that solves hard water problems without the need of chemicals or salt. The product requires no maintenance and is simple to install, with no plumbing required. ScaleBlaster removes and prevents lime-scale deposits in household pipes. It will protect and prolong the life of water heaters, dishwashers and washing machines. Lime-scale deposits on shower heads, sinks and faucets will easily wipe off or disappear. Soap lathers up more, skin feels smoother and hair becomes more manageable. Enjoy healthier and better tasting water as well as brighter, whiter and longer lasting clothes, towels and sheets. Water softeners require salt, waste lots of water and discharge chlorides into the environment. They also require ongoing costly maintenance. For people on salt restricted diets, ScaleBlaster is a healthy alternative. ScaleBlaster is also ideal for tankless water heaters. First appearing in 1995, ScaleBlaster is now successful worldwide.
Overall rating:
3.592 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(76 reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
70%of customersrecommend this product46 of 66reviews
Rating Breakdown 76 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(32)
4
(16)
3
(8)
2
(5)
1
(15)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
70%of customersrecommend this product46 of 66reviews
Customer reviews for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
Review 1 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon

So far, so good

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I don't know the science behind this, but my wife has been on me for years to install a water softener. My in-laws had this installed in their house, so when I saw it on sale at Home Depot, I thought "why not". If it doesn't work I'd blame the precedent setting in-laws.
Well it's been in for two weeks, and we all think the water is softer. The Brita filter doesn't have dried water droplets on it anymore.....soap lathers easier....and wife seems happier (with the water). I know it's only been a few weeks, but we'll see. We did a major CLR cleaning on all the fixtures, so we should know if this continues to work the way we think it is.
Easy to install. One suggestion to make the installation more manageable....wrap the wire around a short piece of pipe before you install, and use that to feed the water supply pipe you are coiling (think kite string on a spool)
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+60points
63out of 66found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Henderson, NV, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product! You can see it working!

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We love this scaleblaster, our only issues so far is getting through the initial cleanup of our pipes as it is dumping out tons of minerals. We did email the manufacturer and they told us this will clear up as the product need approximately 90 days to show its true potential. I recommend not running your heat dry in dishwasher until you are past this stage as it bakes on the minerals... Another thing I wanted to make homeowners aware of is that it is somewhat difficult to install if you follow their recommended directions. You should have the wires on 12 inches of straight pipe and preferably on the main water line into the home as a soft water loop may leave out your kitchen sink. We had a plumber put a loop on our main shutoff so that we attained that and then we did the rest ourselves, very easy with two people, one to hold wires and one to wrap. Then you just plug in.
Pros: Portable, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Nice Design, Light Weight
Cons: difficult to install if you dont have 12 " pipe
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+32points
35out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Silver City, NM 88061, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Questionable results so far

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In the two months it has been installed, I haven’t experienced dramatic results from ScaleBlaster. I think I feel a difference after washing my hair, and it may be removing scale from my pipes. The toilet bowl calcium deposit doesn’t seem to build up as fast. I’ll keep the product since it seems to be doing something, but I don’t think I’d recommend buying it if someone asked. I think it’s going to take more time to judge if it really works.
Installation is easy, but you have to be very selective where you put it, and it would be a good idea to check out the installation instructions before buying it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from El Paso tx
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well Worth the Price

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This system is awesome. We had an old salt water softener in our old house but wanted something different when we moved and this fit the need and then some. While I was installing the system my wife was doing laundry and noticed a difference right away. It took about and hour to install because of the area that I had to work in but the instructions are easy to follow. Soap lathers better, no spots on the dishes, and it even tastes better.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: longer to install in small space
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Newtown PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy installation

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Took us less than an hour to install, haven't had it long enough to be sure it works yet (under 90 days).
Pros: Portable, Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Light Weight, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Bloomington, IN.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

misunderstanding that this unit is a water sofener

PostedMay 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After reading the reviews, many reviewers think this product is a water "sofner" which it is not. Simply, it lines up the minerals in the water so they do not stick to surfaces such as fixtures, tiles, hair and skin. The water still has the same amount of minerals in it ( thus the reviewers who test their water with the same hardness before and after installation). If the unit is installed correctly, it has huge benefits. My brother tried to install a unit in his home and could not see any results. After redoing the coils on the proper water line that was the incoming source, he is delighted with it. Its a scale blaster, not a so called water sofner as we know it. The benefits of what this unit does makes the water feel softer with out putting chemicals or salts in the water. It makes the minerals in the water from sticking to everything. I have had mine for several years now with great results.
Pros: maintenance free
Cons: can be hard to install
+30points
33out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Chandler, AZ, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install and no upkeep!

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed this mid December and since then hard water spots have disappeared on the facets, my hair and skin is softer (but not slimey like past water softeners I've owned at previous residences) and my drinking water is the most noticable and no longer buy bottled water and neither does the lady of the house. Water is softened and goes through my fridge carbon filter and taste better than anything!
Pros: Portable, Easy to Use, Convenient, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+44points
53out of 62found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from TN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

clear results!

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews, good and bad, and was very skeptical. However, with our water being so hard we needed a solution and introducing salt to soften the water was never a good solution for me, as I have always hated the slimy feeling you get from a salt softened shower.
We have had the scale blaster 175 installed for 4-5 weeks now. There is a noticeable difference in showering. My hair feels much softer and less coarse ...with no slimy feeling! My wife and two children also agree. After cleaning everything with C.L.R. (faucets, utensils, glasses, etc.) several weeks ago, the cloudiness seems to be staying away. As some reviews stated, what deposits do show are easily wiped away.
I could go on and on, but the bottom line is that the scale blaster has lived up to its claim! Cheaper than a softener, small footprint, and NO maintenance.
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Marginally Effective

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The ScaleBlaster does look good, the cycling lights are attractive and interesting. It was easy to install and requires no operational intervention or maintenance. It does help some with reducing mineral deposits, but nowhere near the amount or speed indicated in the literature and advertisements. Not really worth the investment.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
Cons: only marginally effective
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Ferguson, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best of both worlds- easy to install, easy to use

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our water is terrible here, so I decided to give ScaleBlaster a try. The product came promptly and was fairly easy to install. The wrapping of the coils was a little bit of a challenge, but otherwise it was fairly quick to install. After installation, I felt a difference a couple of days later as my skin felt softer as well as my hair. My wife says the towels and bed sheets seem softer and brighter. I highly recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
27out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't work for my Well Water

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I tried this product for 30 days and it didn't make any noticeable difference in the water. The house is new, so I don't think that scale build-up in the lines was an issue. I was really hoping this would work, as the price was reasonable. Next step is a water softener? Home Depot took the product back hassle-free! I'll continue to shop there both online and at the stores.
Pros: Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Antioch, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No effect

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product has been installed on our house in the California Eastbay exactly according to the manufactures instructions. It is installed on the main water supply line to the house. I have noticed no change in the soap sud forming characteristics of the water or in the scale formation since installation. My family and I have started using a squeegee on the shower glass and microfiber cloth on the sink tops and faucet fixtures. This has made a huge improvement in scale formation but the edges of the shower glass where a squeegee does not sweep the water form the scale just as before so I think that the product is ineffective.
Cons: ineffective
+3points
9out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from La Crosse, WI, USA

The product made the spa water clear and clean without chemicals.

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The ScaleBlaster (SB-175) has solved the water problems I had in my swimming spa--no more dirty and opaque water, chemical smell, checking for need to apply chemcials, applying chemicals, dealing with skin sensitivities to chemicals. I can see the bottom of the spa and it is beautiful! It worked in five days making the water clear.
Pros: Portable, Easy to Use, Light Weight, best product on the market
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
21out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Indio,CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't work

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I think this is one of those gimmicks for PT Barnum, "there's a sucker born every minute". The only thing that worked was the blinking lights. I very carefully wound 45 coils one way and 45 coils the other and used the provided zip/cable ties all to no avail. Nothing changed water was exactly as before installation. Didn't quite make 90 days maybe 85 days, because warranty said to return within 90 days. Neither my wife or I noticed any change in water.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: doesn't work
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Lincoln, NE, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Have only had two weeks-evaluation is still out!

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Have only had this unit for two weeks so I haven't come to a conclusion about its effectiveness. Installed per instructions after sending a picture of our setup to company and getting their advice. After I installed to their recommendations and sent them a picture of the final installation they recommended i move it up on the copper pipe about 4" so that didn't set well with me.
So far (after two weeks) we don't seem to notice any change. We have copper pipes coming off the water main in the basement going to a copper manifold where pex lines run throughout the house. The townhome is only 4-1/2 years old so there shouldn't be much accumulation in the pipes to-date. Not yet convinced that it has made any difference but will give it a few more weeks!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Less Scale!

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have only had it installed a few weeks, but it seems to be doing it's job. The shower heads, faucet diffusers, and toilets has actually become cleaner, more free flowing. Now, when the toilets refill they can hardly be heard. So far we have not noticed soap lathering any better, but the dishwasher seems to clean better. It was a chore to wrap the wire, but worth it in the long run.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Boca Raton, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a General Contractor and did my research. If you follow the directions, it works great. It took me about an hour to install because the cable kept getting tangled while wrapping the pipe, but very easy installation that anyone can do.
It took about 2 weeks for me to start feeling the effects. It has been only 3 weeks and my soap is lathering better, I have noticed that sort of slippery feeling to my water, sort of like when you are in the ocean or when you use conditioner.
The thing I love about this is that you do not need to keep adding salt and that also makes it better for people with high blood pressure, like me.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, works as described, easily removed if you move
+33points
37out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Arizona
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Bogus VooDoo Water Device

PostedMay 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This device can not be sold in Canada because it does nothing.
CWQA Position:
CWQA has long maintained that all product performance and benefit claims for all products that
purportedly alter the hardness characteristics of water be based on factual data obtained from tests
conducted by professional competent personnel following established test procedures. Such data should be recent, reputable and verifiable and should substantiate all product performance and benefit claims.
CWQA knows of no generally recognized scientific or technical evidence which proves that magnetic,
electromagnetic or catalytic devices sold to treat water have any measurable physical or chemical effect of water quality.
Cons: junk
+6points
19out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy water quality improvement

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installed easily using just a screwdriver and wire cutter. a seconfd pair of hands was needed because the installation was on a vertical pipe in close quarters.
I have had it for about 45 days and have seen an increase of water pressureand haven't seen any buildup of scale, which we cleaned of before installation.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Convenient, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Manning SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Scale Buster Review

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was pleasantly supprised that it functioned as flanted. It allowed me to clean my fausets and have them stay clean of white calcium buildup. Our car is free of white spots after washing and soap actually lathers making showers much more pleasant. A little pricey, but worth it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>