728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon

Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon

ScaleBlaster is an innovative, computerized water conditioning system that solves hard water problems without the need of chemicals or salt. The product requires no maintenance and is simple to install, with no plumbing required. ScaleBlaster removes and prevents lime-scale deposits in household pipes. It will protect and prolong the life of water heaters, dishwashers and washing machines. Lime-scale deposits on shower heads, sinks and faucets will easily wipe off or disappear. Soap lathers up more, skin feels smoother and hair becomes more manageable. Enjoy healthier and better tasting water as well as brighter, whiter and longer lasting clothes, towels and sheets. Water softeners require salt, waste lots of water and discharge chlorides into the environment. They also require ongoing costly maintenance. For people on salt restricted diets, ScaleBlaster is a healthy alternative. ScaleBlaster is also ideal for tankless water heaters. First appearing in 1995, ScaleBlaster is now successful worldwide.
Overall rating:
3.944 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product25 of 30reviews
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(19)
4
(7)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product25 of 30reviews
Customer reviews for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
Review 1 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
DIDITMYSELF

So far, so good

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I don't know the science behind this, but my wife has been on me for years to install a water softener. My in-laws had this installed in their house, so when I saw it on sale at Home Depot, I thought "why not". If it doesn't work I'd blame the precedent setting in-laws.
Well it's been in for two weeks, and we all think the water is softer. The Brita filter doesn't have dried water droplets on it anymore.....soap lathers easier....and wife seems happier (with the water). I know it's only been a few weeks, but we'll see. We did a major CLR cleaning on all the fixtures, so we should know if this continues to work the way we think it is.
Easy to install. One suggestion to make the installation more manageable....wrap the wire around a short piece of pipe before you install, and use that to feed the water supply pipe you are coiling (think kite string on a spool)
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
rehabdiva
from Henderson, NV, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product! You can see it working!

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We love this scaleblaster, our only issues so far is getting through the initial cleanup of our pipes as it is dumping out tons of minerals. We did email the manufacturer and they told us this will clear up as the product need approximately 90 days to show its true potential. I recommend not running your heat dry in dishwasher until you are past this stage as it bakes on the minerals... Another thing I wanted to make homeowners aware of is that it is somewhat difficult to install if you follow their recommended directions. You should have the wires on 12 inches of straight pipe and preferably on the main water line into the home as a soft water loop may leave out your kitchen sink. We had a plumber put a loop on our main shutoff so that we attained that and then we did the rest ourselves, very easy with two people, one to hold wires and one to wrap. Then you just plug in.
Pros: Portable, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Nice Design, Light Weight
Cons: difficult to install if you dont have 12 " pipe
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
Ostranza
from Chandler, AZ, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install and no upkeep!

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed this mid December and since then hard water spots have disappeared on the facets, my hair and skin is softer (but not slimey like past water softeners I've owned at previous residences) and my drinking water is the most noticable and no longer buy bottled water and neither does the lady of the house. Water is softened and goes through my fridge carbon filter and taste better than anything!
Pros: Portable, Easy to Use, Convenient, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+33points
37out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
Rozz
from La Crosse, WI, USA

The product made the spa water clear and clean without chemicals.

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The ScaleBlaster (SB-175) has solved the water problems I had in my swimming spa--no more dirty and opaque water, chemical smell, checking for need to apply chemcials, applying chemicals, dealing with skin sensitivities to chemicals. I can see the bottom of the spa and it is beautiful! It worked in five days making the water clear.
Pros: Portable, Easy to Use, Light Weight, best product on the market
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
1dad
from TN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

clear results!

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews, good and bad, and was very skeptical. However, with our water being so hard we needed a solution and introducing salt to soften the water was never a good solution for me, as I have always hated the slimy feeling you get from a salt softened shower.
We have had the scale blaster 175 installed for 4-5 weeks now. There is a noticeable difference in showering. My hair feels much softer and less coarse ...with no slimy feeling! My wife and two children also agree. After cleaning everything with C.L.R. (faucets, utensils, glasses, etc.) several weeks ago, the cloudiness seems to be staying away. As some reviews stated, what deposits do show are easily wiped away.
I could go on and on, but the bottom line is that the scale blaster has lived up to its claim! Cheaper than a softener, small footprint, and NO maintenance.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
Tishimself
from North Carolina, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

time will tell if the product works..hopefully i can comment again in ~120 days.

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
To date the unit has been installed approx. one month. Manufacturer says give it 90 days! What i can say after ~30 days ...if you are looking for "soft waster" it isn't yet. If you are looking for less "spotting" ..my wife thinks it's working on the dishes/glasses that we hand wash, air dry. I can say that the tray under the water/ice dispenser is still showing "spotting" as the water evaporates...The manufacturer does have a 120 day "money back guarantee" ...so time will tell
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
Hork
from Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's been a month.

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We have heavy deposits of calcium on everything and that's why I bought this product. Our toilets, shower curtains, shower heads and faucets throughout the house seem cleaner and less stained. I cleaned everything with CRS and scrubbed heavily before putting this device in. So far it's keep these in better working condition. However, I'm not quite sure it's doing anything. Was it just my heavy cleaning that did the job? Only time will tell and if I wait to long, I can't get my money back.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
jes2bme
from Ferguson, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best of both worlds- easy to install, easy to use

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our water is terrible here, so I decided to give ScaleBlaster a try. The product came promptly and was fairly easy to install. The wrapping of the coils was a little bit of a challenge, but otherwise it was fairly quick to install. After installation, I felt a difference a couple of days later as my skin felt softer as well as my hair. My wife says the towels and bed sheets seem softer and brighter. I highly recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+18points
25out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
MJinMass
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

1 week in - so far so good!

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The setup and install was relatively simple. Took a little more than an hour. Since I had a copper pipe, I required doubling up the signal wires which was a bit challenging. Luckily I had about 4 inches between the pipe and the wall which allowed for easier signal wire wrapping.
Its been a week and I have not bothered to check the benefit. I shall check for water spots on the chrome faucets and shower doors in a month or so and hopefully update this review :-) I hope it is worth the daily special price on the HD site.
Pros: Convenient, Takes Less Space, Light Weight
Cons: wiring is challenging
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
mrKeithSIUC
from Tucson, AZ, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Seems to be working.

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Only been on for 3 weeks but seems to be working. Soaked kitchen faucet in CLR before installing this product and have had zero built up so far. I have really bad water so I expected some build up by now. Also, dishes definitely seem more clear than before and a lot less foggy and spotty.
I can't really say if my soaps and shampoos are lathering up more than normal. I got it on the Home Depot daily deal for $299 (originally $499) so I am ecstatically pleased with the results.
Pros: Convenient, Takes Less Space, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
InKenYouTrust
from California, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This Scaleblaster device really works

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I studied many reviews from many sites before purchasing this device, they say it needs up to 90 days to see the result, but I saw the result immediately after installing it yesterday - shower feels more refreshing, scales on the shower door was gone after washing it with treated water.
I used to have a salt-based water softener, but it stopped working for a year now, so had scales accumulated around shower stall and faucets. After installed this device, I used water to wash them, and most scales were gone, and I'm very happy with result in just one day of use.
Some reviewers said they tested the water hardness and it made no difference. This device is NOT a water softener, but a water conditioner. It does not reduce the water hardness by removing calcium and magnesium from water, instead it conditions the water so calcium and magnesium don't crystallize and accumulate on surface. This device clearly works as it intents to in my one day use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Nice Design, it really works, Easy to Install, no <aintenance required, no salt to add
Cons: expensive
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
Guero
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Only have had it for several weeks; need at least a couple of months

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Everything is simple on getting this unit up and running. After the first week, I did notice a change in how the water feels. Still showing water stains. Knowing how hard the water is here, I need to wait a couple of months before I give it a seal of approval.
Pros: can be placed most anywhere a water inline is
Cons: have to wait over time to see if it works
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
Henry
from Houston, TX 77041, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

product has been working great. It took me less than 15 minutes to install.

PostedApril 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
my wife and I see, feel and taste the water much better now.
Pros: Easy to Use, Portable, Convenient, Takes Less Space, Nice Design, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
Koozie72
from Boca Raton, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a General Contractor and did my research. If you follow the directions, it works great. It took me about an hour to install because the cable kept getting tangled while wrapping the pipe, but very easy installation that anyone can do.
It took about 2 weeks for me to start feeling the effects. It has been only 3 weeks and my soap is lathering better, I have noticed that sort of slippery feeling to my water, sort of like when you are in the ocean or when you use conditioner.
The thing I love about this is that you do not need to keep adding salt and that also makes it better for people with high blood pressure, like me.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, works as described, easily removed if you move
+30points
32out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
jjhugs
from Vacaville, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product works to reduce scale

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed this scalebuster about a month ago, thought it would work fairly well but was pleased in how well it works the water seems less hard. Film on shower is becoming less and soap lathers better. Laundry seems a bit softer, and don't have the slick feel as from a water softener.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
Broco
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy to install

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Not sure yet on how well product is yet since it has only been a day since I got it working. This was easy to install. Don't do what I did and cut the long cable in half you might need more than you think. I think it's best to leave it rolled up the way it comes and then unroll as needed for wrapping around the pipe. Our water is so hard where we live I hope this takes the edge off of it. I do think I can already tell a little difference in water although it says on instructions that it could take a whole longer before noticing a difference.
Pros: Convenient, Takes Less Space, Nice Design
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
Disappointed
from Illinois
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Does Not Work

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a conventional water softener in my home., but the prospect of not having to carry heavy bags of salt to the basement is what got my interest in this device. I installed it exactly as described in the directions. I then deactivated my regular water softener and engaged the by-pass value so the water would not go through the water softener.
By the second day my wife and I both felt that the water was no longer soft, so I purchased a water testing kit. I tested the water and it showed the water to be moderately hard. I even tried switching the two wires going into the device to change the direction of the electrical flow hoping that might help; it didn't.
I then deactivated the Scale Blaster and ran water through the pipes for several minutes before testing it again. I got the same reading that I had gotten with the Scale Blaster when it was activated. I left the Scale Blaster deactivated and re-activated my water softener. Two days later I tested the water. It was significantly softened as measured by the tester.
I really wanted this device to work. I am returning the device for a refund.
Pros: Portable, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: did not work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
MrBear
from Warren, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Have insufficient proof to draw a conclusion

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Unit claims to improve the water quality. I will sample before and after by sending samples with HD provided kits. Once results are in, I will report on findings.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
brillo
from Bastrop, TX 78602, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

it works great and easy to install

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had a new kitchen installed with midnight black quart counter tops and started to notice white stains from hard water. No more stains on countertop/shower curtains.
Use less soap and shampoo. Installation anyone can do.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Light Weight, saves space
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
Robert
from Pottstown
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Product was simple to install and took up far less room than a regular water softner would have.

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product was easy to install, took me around 30 minutes. Instructions were fairly easy to understand. It may take the scaleblaster a bit longer in my house since i have never had any water conditioners. Its been close to three weeks and there has been a inprovement in the water hardness. Like more suds when i take a shower so less soap. My laundry is newer looking than before. The big test will be what should be coming out of my two hot water heaters, hopefully some of the calcium build up from the copper pipping.
Pros: Portable, Easy to Use, Convenient, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Light Weight
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
1 2 >>