728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon

Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon

ScaleBlaster is an innovative, computerized water conditioning system that solves hard water problems without the need of chemicals or salt. The product requires no maintenance and is simple to install, with no plumbing required. ScaleBlaster removes and prevents lime-scale deposits in household pipes. It will protect and prolong the life of water heaters, dishwashers and washing machines. Lime-scale deposits on shower heads, sinks and faucets will easily wipe off or disappear. Soap lathers up more, skin feels smoother and hair becomes more manageable. Enjoy healthier and better tasting water as well as brighter, whiter and longer lasting clothes, towels and sheets. Water softeners require salt, waste lots of water and discharge chlorides into the environment. They also require ongoing costly maintenance. For people on salt restricted diets, ScaleBlaster is a healthy alternative. ScaleBlaster is also ideal for tankless water heaters. First appearing in 1995, ScaleBlaster is now successful worldwide.
Overall rating:
3.61 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(77 reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
70%of customersrecommend this product47 of 67reviews
Rating Breakdown 77 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(33)
4
(16)
3
(8)
2
(5)
1
(15)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
70%of customersrecommend this product47 of 67reviews
Customer reviews for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
Review 1 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon

Did not work

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I could notice NO improvement in water softness. Taste and hardness were unaffected. The product was time intensive to install because the water pipe had to be wrapped 100 times in tight spaces of course.
-7points
16out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Texas, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

a pain to install

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If your plumbing runs along a wall or ceiling be aware that this system is a total pain to install. It took me nearly two hours to wrap the wires around the feed pipe because I needed to fish the wire between the wall and the copper pipe while at the same time maintaining pressure so that it wouldnt unravel! Mounting the box was easy but the wire thing was down right silly. It better work.
Pros: Portable, Takes Less Space
Cons: hard to install
-32points
9out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Windsor, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is not a Water Softener

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wanted a water softener for our new house like we had in our old house. Scaleblaster was supposed to solve our hard water problems without salt like our old water softener did. Using a modulating frequency waveform sounds like magic to me. Our water still feels rough and nothing seems to have changed. I'm returning this and getting a normal water softener that I know has worked in the past, Using Salt.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Takes Less Space
Cons: magical whooie
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-11points
28out of 67found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Illinois
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Does Not Work

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a conventional water softener in my home., but the prospect of not having to carry heavy bags of salt to the basement is what got my interest in this device. I installed it exactly as described in the directions. I then deactivated my regular water softener and engaged the by-pass value so the water would not go through the water softener.
By the second day my wife and I both felt that the water was no longer soft, so I purchased a water testing kit. I tested the water and it showed the water to be moderately hard. I even tried switching the two wires going into the device to change the direction of the electrical flow hoping that might help; it didn't.
I then deactivated the Scale Blaster and ran water through the pipes for several minutes before testing it again. I got the same reading that I had gotten with the Scale Blaster when it was activated. I left the Scale Blaster deactivated and re-activated my water softener. Two days later I tested the water. It was significantly softened as measured by the tester.
I really wanted this device to work. I am returning the device for a refund.
Pros: Portable, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: did not work
+5points
17out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Perris, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dissapointing

PostedJune 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Liked the idea of not wasting water and lugging salt with a water softener. Unfortunately, this product did not work for me. I have a 2350 square foot home with four people living in the house. Based on size of copper pipe I double wrapped per instructions but still no good. Looks like I need to take the bypass of the water softener and return this product. Really wanted it to work.
Pros: Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Nice Design, Light Weight
Cons: doesn't work
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Antioch, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No effect

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product has been installed on our house in the California Eastbay exactly according to the manufactures instructions. It is installed on the main water supply line to the house. I have noticed no change in the soap sud forming characteristics of the water or in the scale formation since installation. My family and I have started using a squeegee on the shower glass and microfiber cloth on the sink tops and faucet fixtures. This has made a huge improvement in scale formation but the edges of the shower glass where a squeegee does not sweep the water form the scale just as before so I think that the product is ineffective.
Cons: ineffective
+3points
9out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A waste of $700.00

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I installed as per instructions with good expectations. After going thru the full 90 days my wife and I saw absolutely no improvement or any change what so ever. I am going to try to return it to Home Depot.
Pros: Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Nice Design, Light Weight
Cons: does not work
+10points
16out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Omaha, NE, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Performance

PostedApril 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We were excited to try this simple solution to softer water. I followed the installation instructions exactly. We used the product for 45 days and did not experience the slightest improvement in our water softness. We are very disappointed.
Pros: Convenient, Good Size & Weight
Cons: the product did not perform as described.
+3points
11out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from sarasota,fl
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A total hassle to instal and did not change water at all.

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not buy. Had to wrap wire around pipe, a near impossible task based on location of pipe and wire was not easy to handle and very long. No difference in water feel at all. This is NOT like a softner!
Cons: Difficult to Use, hard to install
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't work for my Well Water

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I tried this product for 30 days and it didn't make any noticeable difference in the water. The house is new, so I don't think that scale build-up in the lines was an issue. I was really hoping this would work, as the price was reasonable. Next step is a water softener? Home Depot took the product back hassle-free! I'll continue to shop there both online and at the stores.
Pros: Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon

Worked great until it died.

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
The unit worked really well and we like the results. However, after about six months the unit died. I don't know what my options are now. Good luck on your on your purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Indio,CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't work

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I think this is one of those gimmicks for PT Barnum, "there's a sucker born every minute". The only thing that worked was the blinking lights. I very carefully wound 45 coils one way and 45 coils the other and used the provided zip/cable ties all to no avail. Nothing changed water was exactly as before installation. Didn't quite make 90 days maybe 85 days, because warranty said to return within 90 days. Neither my wife or I noticed any change in water.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: doesn't work
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Hillsboro, OR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mineral Taste

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installation went well just a little time consuming. Taste of of the water was very mineraly. Don't know yet about the residue. It changed the color of the pool water to green and we promptly added the appropriate chemicals to stop any more discoloration. We have hooked the soft water tank back up and water is fine. Need to return this item defeating the whole concept of saving money by not buying salt bags.
Pros: Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: see above comments, taste
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Arizona
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Bogus VooDoo Water Device

PostedMay 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This device can not be sold in Canada because it does nothing.
CWQA Position:
CWQA has long maintained that all product performance and benefit claims for all products that
purportedly alter the hardness characteristics of water be based on factual data obtained from tests
conducted by professional competent personnel following established test procedures. Such data should be recent, reputable and verifiable and should substantiate all product performance and benefit claims.
CWQA knows of no generally recognized scientific or technical evidence which proves that magnetic,
electromagnetic or catalytic devices sold to treat water have any measurable physical or chemical effect of water quality.
Cons: junk
+6points
19out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Tucson AZ

Don't waste you money

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We had a ScaleBlaster SB-175 installed as part of getting all of the pipes in our home replaced because they were defective. As part of that the plumbing company highly recommended the ScaleBlaster. The wave of the future, water softeners will be obsolete, have had great experience, everyone loves them, etc.,etc. Because we are gone six months of the year and do not want the hassle of a conventional softener and do not want to drink softened water and do not want to do reverse osmosis we were looking for alternatives. The reviews on Home Depot were positive and the plumbing guy there quite excited. He doesn't make a commission, let's go for it even though it doesn't logically make sense.
We are starting out with a brand new water heater and brand new pipes, not a drop of scale anywhere in the system. We were out of town for the summer when this was all done and I was excited to return and give it a try. I knew my criteria: does it leave water spots in my brand new stainless steel sink and bathroom countertop and do my Glad bins come out of the dishwasher with the normal white film. The results, TOTAL FAILURE. It may not be fair because the sink is brand new and shiny, but the spotting almost seems worse. As to the claim that the water spots will just easily wipe off, even stainless steel cleaners will not take care of them. The only positive is that we do feel a difference in the shower. Cleaner rinsing and more lather and an overall better feel. BUT if the water is going to dry somewhere like in a sink or in a shower the solids are all still there and the solids are still going to spot and scale.
I suspect the ScaleBlaster is probably preventing scale buildup in the pipes. That wasn't my main goal.
Bottom line, don't waste your money because the ScaleBlaster is pretty much useless. We are real users and it is really useless. We have learned an expensive lesson. If something doesn't make sense then believe your instincts, no matter how much you wish it a miracle is not going to happen and change the laws of the universe. If something seems too good to be true them it probably is.
Cons: does not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Tarpon Springs, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Just installed it last Friday...

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Can't really give a good review on this right now. I hear it takes 1 or 2 mos before it shows any signs of working.
Well let you know in a mo,,,,
Pros: Easy to Use, Takes Less Space
-54points
4out of 62found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon

Unsure

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this the last time it was on sale this past year. I connected it per the instructions and after 75 days or so, just short of the return policy date, I returned it. The reason was nobody in the family of 8 realized I had done anything nor did I, as the water did not feel any different than our usuall well water. I am giving it 2 stars because I did not have the water tested for hardness during the time I had it running & only relied on what we felt. So I can't say for sure that it did not change anything in the way of actual hardness levels. We have a new well and the water taste fantastic but it has some hardness to it however I do not want to install a softener, deal with salt for that and then have to put in an RO unit so I can drink my wonderful spring like water. The bottom line is this didn't work for me and it's expensive. So save your receipt and watch the calendar on the return deadline.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I expect more from it

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I can't tell any benefit from it. Maybe after a few months ?
Pros: easy to install ( but will need 2 persons ).
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

scaleblaster

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This unit sounds good but did not live up to the hype. The declared hardness range was up to 19gpg hardness. I am at 18gpg. Maybe if your home is in the low hardness numbers this will be your ticket but then....the unit should not advertise to work in the range I am at.
This did reduce somewhat some of the issues of hardness I have but fell well short of satisfaction.
Pros: Takes Less Space
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Forest Lk, mn
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Too early to tell

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This is way too early to say. Even the product states it may take several weeks to
notice the affects.
Let's try later.
Jim
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>