728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon

Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon

ScaleBlaster is an innovative, computerized water conditioning system that solves hard water problems without the need of chemicals or salt. The product requires no maintenance and is simple to install, with no plumbing required. ScaleBlaster removes and prevents lime-scale deposits in household pipes. It will protect and prolong the life of water heaters, dishwashers and washing machines. Lime-scale deposits on shower heads, sinks and faucets will easily wipe off or disappear. Soap lathers up more, skin feels smoother and hair becomes more manageable. Enjoy healthier and better tasting water as well as brighter, whiter and longer lasting clothes, towels and sheets. Water softeners require salt, waste lots of water and discharge chlorides into the environment. They also require ongoing costly maintenance. For people on salt restricted diets, ScaleBlaster is a healthy alternative. ScaleBlaster is also ideal for tankless water heaters. First appearing in 1995, ScaleBlaster is now successful worldwide.
Overall rating:
3.692 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product33 of 46reviews
Rating Breakdown 52 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(25)
4
(10)
3
(4)
2
(2)
1
(11)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product33 of 46reviews
Customer reviews for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
Review 1 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Illinois
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Does Not Work

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a conventional water softener in my home., but the prospect of not having to carry heavy bags of salt to the basement is what got my interest in this device. I installed it exactly as described in the directions. I then deactivated my regular water softener and engaged the by-pass value so the water would not go through the water softener.
By the second day my wife and I both felt that the water was no longer soft, so I purchased a water testing kit. I tested the water and it showed the water to be moderately hard. I even tried switching the two wires going into the device to change the direction of the electrical flow hoping that might help; it didn't.
I then deactivated the Scale Blaster and ran water through the pipes for several minutes before testing it again. I got the same reading that I had gotten with the Scale Blaster when it was activated. I left the Scale Blaster deactivated and re-activated my water softener. Two days later I tested the water. It was significantly softened as measured by the tester.
I really wanted this device to work. I am returning the device for a refund.
Pros: Portable, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: did not work
+6points
15out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon

Did not work

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I could notice NO improvement in water softness. Taste and hardness were unaffected. The product was time intensive to install because the water pipe had to be wrapped 100 times in tight spaces of course.
-7points
15out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Windsor, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is not a Water Softener

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wanted a water softener for our new house like we had in our old house. Scaleblaster was supposed to solve our hard water problems without salt like our old water softener did. Using a modulating frequency waveform sounds like magic to me. Our water still feels rough and nothing seems to have changed. I'm returning this and getting a normal water softener that I know has worked in the past, Using Salt.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Takes Less Space
Cons: magical whooie
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-10points
26out of 62found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Omaha, NE, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Performance

PostedApril 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We were excited to try this simple solution to softer water. I followed the installation instructions exactly. We used the product for 45 days and did not experience the slightest improvement in our water softness. We are very disappointed.
Pros: Convenient, Good Size & Weight
Cons: the product did not perform as described.
+5points
10out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A waste of $700.00

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I installed as per instructions with good expectations. After going thru the full 90 days my wife and I saw absolutely no improvement or any change what so ever. I am going to try to return it to Home Depot.
Pros: Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Nice Design, Light Weight
Cons: does not work
+10points
15out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Texas, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

a pain to install

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If your plumbing runs along a wall or ceiling be aware that this system is a total pain to install. It took me nearly two hours to wrap the wires around the feed pipe because I needed to fish the wire between the wall and the copper pipe while at the same time maintaining pressure so that it wouldnt unravel! Mounting the box was easy but the wire thing was down right silly. It better work.
Pros: Portable, Takes Less Space
Cons: hard to install
-32points
8out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Perris, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dissapointing

PostedJune 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Liked the idea of not wasting water and lugging salt with a water softener. Unfortunately, this product did not work for me. I have a 2350 square foot home with four people living in the house. Based on size of copper pipe I double wrapped per instructions but still no good. Looks like I need to take the bypass of the water softener and return this product. Really wanted it to work.
Pros: Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Nice Design, Light Weight
Cons: doesn't work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Indio,CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't work

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I think this is one of those gimmicks for PT Barnum, "there's a sucker born every minute". The only thing that worked was the blinking lights. I very carefully wound 45 coils one way and 45 coils the other and used the provided zip/cable ties all to no avail. Nothing changed water was exactly as before installation. Didn't quite make 90 days maybe 85 days, because warranty said to return within 90 days. Neither my wife or I noticed any change in water.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: doesn't work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Arizona
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Bogus VooDoo Water Device

PostedMay 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This device can not be sold in Canada because it does nothing.
CWQA Position:
CWQA has long maintained that all product performance and benefit claims for all products that
purportedly alter the hardness characteristics of water be based on factual data obtained from tests
conducted by professional competent personnel following established test procedures. Such data should be recent, reputable and verifiable and should substantiate all product performance and benefit claims.
CWQA knows of no generally recognized scientific or technical evidence which proves that magnetic,
electromagnetic or catalytic devices sold to treat water have any measurable physical or chemical effect of water quality.
Cons: junk
-2points
6out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from sarasota,fl
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A total hassle to instal and did not change water at all.

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not buy. Had to wrap wire around pipe, a near impossible task based on location of pipe and wire was not easy to handle and very long. No difference in water feel at all. This is NOT like a softner!
Cons: Difficult to Use, hard to install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Antioch, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No effect

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product has been installed on our house in the California Eastbay exactly according to the manufactures instructions. It is installed on the main water supply line to the house. I have noticed no change in the soap sud forming characteristics of the water or in the scale formation since installation. My family and I have started using a squeegee on the shower glass and microfiber cloth on the sink tops and faucet fixtures. This has made a huge improvement in scale formation but the edges of the shower glass where a squeegee does not sweep the water form the scale just as before so I think that the product is ineffective.
Cons: ineffective
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Tarpon Springs, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Just installed it last Friday...

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Can't really give a good review on this right now. I hear it takes 1 or 2 mos before it shows any signs of working.
Well let you know in a mo,,,,
Pros: Easy to Use, Takes Less Space
-52points
3out of 58found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I expect more from it

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I can't tell any benefit from it. Maybe after a few months ?
Pros: easy to install ( but will need 2 persons ).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product didn't fit

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This required 6' of pipe to install but my house didn't have that. I returned it
Pros: Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Light Weight
Cons: special installation
-20points
8out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Warren, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Have insufficient proof to draw a conclusion

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Unit claims to improve the water quality. I will sample before and after by sending samples with HD provided kits. Once results are in, I will report on findings.
-8points
2out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from North Carolina, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

time will tell if the product works..hopefully i can comment again in ~120 days.

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
To date the unit has been installed approx. one month. Manufacturer says give it 90 days! What i can say after ~30 days ...if you are looking for "soft waster" it isn't yet. If you are looking for less "spotting" ..my wife thinks it's working on the dishes/glasses that we hand wash, air dry. I can say that the tray under the water/ice dispenser is still showing "spotting" as the water evaporates...The manufacturer does have a 120 day "money back guarantee" ...so time will tell
+3points
11out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Only have had it for several weeks; need at least a couple of months

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Everything is simple on getting this unit up and running. After the first week, I did notice a change in how the water feels. Still showing water stains. Knowing how hard the water is here, I need to wait a couple of months before I give it a seal of approval.
Pros: can be placed most anywhere a water inline is
Cons: have to wait over time to see if it works
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

1 week in - so far so good!

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The setup and install was relatively simple. Took a little more than an hour. Since I had a copper pipe, I required doubling up the signal wires which was a bit challenging. Luckily I had about 4 inches between the pipe and the wall which allowed for easier signal wire wrapping.
Its been a week and I have not bothered to check the benefit. I shall check for water spots on the chrome faucets and shower doors in a month or so and hopefully update this review :-) I hope it is worth the daily special price on the HD site.
Pros: Convenient, Takes Less Space, Light Weight
Cons: wiring is challenging
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's been a month.

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We have heavy deposits of calcium on everything and that's why I bought this product. Our toilets, shower curtains, shower heads and faucets throughout the house seem cleaner and less stained. I cleaned everything with CRS and scrubbed heavily before putting this device in. So far it's keep these in better working condition. However, I'm not quite sure it's doing anything. Was it just my heavy cleaning that did the job? Only time will tell and if I wait to long, I can't get my money back.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Deluxe Electronic Water Conditioner 0-19 Grains per Gallon
from California, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This Scaleblaster device really works

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I studied many reviews from many sites before purchasing this device, they say it needs up to 90 days to see the result, but I saw the result immediately after installing it yesterday - shower feels more refreshing, scales on the shower door was gone after washing it with treated water.
I used to have a salt-based water softener, but it stopped working for a year now, so had scales accumulated around shower stall and faucets. After installed this device, I used water to wash them, and most scales were gone, and I'm very happy with result in just one day of use.
Some reviewers said they tested the water hardness and it made no difference. This device is NOT a water softener, but a water conditioner. It does not reduce the water hardness by removing calcium and magnesium from water, instead it conditions the water so calcium and magnesium don't crystallize and accumulate on surface. This device clearly works as it intents to in my one day use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Nice Design, it really works, Easy to Install, no <aintenance required, no salt to add
Cons: expensive
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>