728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop LED Light Bulbs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 40W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb

40W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb

The EcoSmart A19 6 Watt (40W) LED Light Bulb can replace a standard 40 Watt bulb. The LED bulb puts out 450 lumens with 6 Watts of power and can last up to 23 years for extended use, saving you up to $94 per bulb over the course of the bulb's life. The bulb is designed for indoor use and features an A-line shape and medium base.
Overall rating:
4.471 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product14 of 17reviews
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(13)
4
(1)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product14 of 17reviews
Customer reviews for 40W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb
Review 1 for 40W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb
SmileyFace
from Montgomery, TX, USA

Good Price for LED Bulb!

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Bright White LED is a good price compared to other makers of LED bulbs at $9.97/each. I was amazed by the brightness and how the light that impacted the area showed true colors.
I changed one set of lights in our master bath to the LEDs and compared it to the other set of incandescent bulbs and could definitely see a difference in quality. The Incandescent light left a yellow glow on everything vs. the LED light that showed true colors.
I highly recommend LED bulbs to everyone. Though LED bulbs are pricey, start by replacing highly used lighting first and then gradually redo the rest over time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Replacement, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Easy Installation
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb
thebighash
from GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Bulb! Appears Brighter than a 40W equivalent!

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought one of these bulbs to replace a 60W standard bulb at my front door. It's been running approx 12 hrs a day for almost 3 months and I'm very pleased. I'm happy to save 90% of the energy the other bulb would've consumed, especially since this lamp stays on at night.
Light Output:
The light output is comparable to the 60W so I would say it is definitely brighter than a 40W!
Temperature/Color:
The 3000k color is noticably cooler than a warm incandescent bulb, but is still good where I have it installed.
I'm planning to buy 3 more to install in the living room. I have a ceiling mounted fixture with 13W CFLs with similar color, so this should be a good replacement. I still have my dimmable halogen track lights whenever I need a warmer feel in the room.
Recommended Product!
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb
Jerry

Very good light output, nice color redering, excellent price!

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is used to replace a 9 watt soft white CFL (40w incandecent equivalent) in a hallway. The bulb must be lit all night long (about 8hrs) 365 days a year . I began to feel worried about UV radiation damage to our skin since I noticed some yellowing on the alarm control panel (less than a year old) that faces the lightbulb. Other sides of the panel are still white. It was never exposed to sun light.
This LED light emits a color temp very similar to a halogen lightbulb but with only 6 watts of power consumption!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb
terran3
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product at a decent price

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I seldom write reviews, but pretty much had to on this product. I have been slowly replacing cfl's in my house due to dimming, slow start up times, a concern for uv leakage, and the fact that I really don't like the idea of mercury gas exposure if one breaks.
I bought one of these ecostar 6-watt bulbs to replace a 60-watt equivalent cfl that is on a track over my desk. It is brighter than the cfl it replaced, and seems a bit brighter than the 40 watt incandescent I was thinking of using. Unlike the cfl's I have used in the track before, this lamp has pretty close to natural color rendition. The cfl's always made everything look blue or brownish-yellow tinted, this one is about as close to a true white as I have seen from any energy efficient light.
Warranty length is listed as 5 years, as this is an always-on lamp, no clue if it will last that long. But for the improvement it makes at the desk, it was well worth the money.
Pros: Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb
Robert93
from Oxford, MS, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Light, But Could Use Better Construction

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comparing this bulb to the discontinuing 8W Ecovantage of similar style, just okay. There are,noticeable, loose gaps on this bulb, while they're none on the discontinued 8W. The gaps are located where the socket connects to the middle and where the dome lens meets the middle. The light quality is acceptable but has a faint green tinge to it. The plastic lens does not seem durable enough to withstand a drop. Price is this bulb's strong point where payback will be under a year in high usage areas. It has a decent CRI of 82 and is made by the respected Florida based LED bulb company, Lighting Science. It is also manufactured in Mexico, which supports the North American trade (vs overseas).
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, instant on
Cons: not as well put together as could be
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb
ic70

They do mean bright white

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was looking for a bulb with a whiter color than standard incandescent bulbs, and thought I'd try this one out.
This bright white bulb is whiter than expected, looking very close to neutral white (typically 3500-4100K) that you'd find in a clinic or hospital.
If you're looking for a task light, this bulb is the perfect color for that.
If you want a white like that of a halogen bulb, then look at the Cree warm white LEDs.
Note that the top of the bulb has the cooling tunnel, and does not put out any light. I would not recommend using this in a fixture where the top of the bulb is visible; it would not look that pretty.
Pros: Easy Replacement, Eco-Friendly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb
gascolator

Great for non-CFL compatible fixtures!

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My condo complex put in Heath/Zenith exterior light fixtures during a face-lift a few years back. They were on sensors, did high/low levels on light and motion, but weren't CFL-compatible! They destroyed even "dimmable" CFLs in short order. This bulb has survived very well, gives more light in the right direction than a 60W incandescent, and consumes 1/10 the power. Wouldn't want the bright white for inside, but for inside there are other LEDs. Outside, it's perfect. Now if it doesn't get stolen...
Pros: Easy to Use, Motion-Activated, Easy Replacement, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Great Dimming, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb
buckifan

Fail to turn on predictably

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased 4 of these for a light fixture in my home. Two of them only start intermittently upon flipping the light switch. Sometimes I have to flip the switch 2-3 times to get them to work.
Pros: Eco-Friendly
Cons: does not always work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb
GKGRAD
from BELVIDERE IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT PRODUCT

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
EXCELLENT BULB VERY BRIGHT I USE THEM IN MY CEILING FANS WHICH HAVE 4 BULBS PER FAN I NOW HAVE 8 .EXCELLENT LIGHT QUALITY BEATS CFL LIGHT QUALITY. ECONOMICALLY PRICED . I WILL BUY MORE.
Pros: Very Bright
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb
Swing

Excellent Lighting Alternative!

PostedMarch 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've always been a believer of LED lighting, and have picked them up in every store I see them at, but because of the price I could not stomach to buy them until now. I tried one of these bulbs thinking that it would be blue tinted, or too dim to be worth putting in my home, but when I turned it on for the first time, I knew I'd be picking up more of them. GREAT color light that makes everything look natural, and an excellent price to boot.
My wife and I bought two more today, and now I am going to schedule to replace every bulb with these. Dimmable too! Can't go wrong..
Pros: Eco-Friendly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb
Gungadad
from Redlands, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Surprise

PostedMay 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My first of these bulbs was as a replacement for a cfl in a laundry room controlled by a proximity sensor. The cfl's do not handle the frequent on/off cycles well but these are no problem.
Next was on a mechanics drop light where the vibration and shock had been killing bulbs of all kinds, Again, these are up to the task.
I'm sold on them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 40W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb
ReviewBurner

Great price for a LED

PostedMay 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was worried that a 40w equivalent wouldn't produce enough light, but I really wanted an LED for efficiency. I decided to buy two of these because they are such a deal.
I would equate two 40w LED's to one 100w Incandescent, which is still fairly impressive.
Another huge perk about these? They dim very nicely with a standard incandescent dimmer switch.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Replacement, Eco-Friendly, Great Dimming
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 40W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb
leejo
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great price

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am slowly putting LED in my house. The price on this lamp was very reasonable. The light is perfect... much better than incandescent and even more so than compact fluorescent. Am planning to purchase more and planning on giving some to my child for his home as well
Pros: Easy Replacement, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Great Dimming, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 40W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb
NeoM

not as warm or dimmable as i hoped

PostedApril 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i was hoping these bulbs would be warmer colored and more dimmable than my compact flourescent lamps. they weren't as warm as the Philips 409904 / 423343 Dimmable Ambient LED 12.5-Watt A19 Light Bulb ($17 on amazon). They dimmed pretty good on one of my house's dimmers but not on another. you'd hope that these premium priced bulbs would provide premium performance but they didn't. you'll probably want special dimmers to get them to perform better.
Pros: Easy Replacement, Eco-Friendly
Cons: not warm colored
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 40W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb
Chahill

The quality is the best and suitable for the desk lamp if the shade asked the top portion of the lamp used.

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The lumen with soft white color is suitable for reading. It is comfortable with a relative longer warranty time and supported by Home-depot company!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 40W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb
jpatt55
from Pennsyvania
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Led 6 watt = 40w

PostedApril 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great buy. they come on instantly and are brighter than a standard 40 watt bulb. I bought two of them so far. great for lights that a left on for long periods of time...exterior door lights or inside lamps on timers..definitely will save on the electric bill. Im planning on getting more of them
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Replacement, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 40W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) A19 LED Light Bulb
ch2210
from Sheboygan, WI
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great product

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great product and great service. Everything handled in a very professional and friendly manner. Very easy service, will use again.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Great Dimming, Nice Design
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.