728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Security Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered Black LED Security Light

160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered Black LED Security Light

With its easy setup and lightweight design, the XP645EB conforms to most of your lighting needs. While in AUTO mode (normal operation setting) the light illuminates when it is dark and motion is detected. It is the most cost-effective way to illuminate and protect areas around your home, business and recreational area, especially where AC is not accessible.
Overall rating:
3.04 / 5
3
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
52%of customersrecommend this product13 of 25reviews
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
3.0 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(9)
Appearance 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
52%of customersrecommend this product13 of 25reviews
Customer reviews for 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered Black LED Security Light
Review 1 for 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered Black LED Security Light
from Harvest, AL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Motion detector doesn't work.

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wanted an outdoor light near the back of my yard to keep an eye on the dog when I let her out at night, but I didn't want to run wire and conduit 40+ yards from the house. I thought this light would be a good solution, but so far it's not measuring up to my expectations. I've had it installed for a week, and I haven't been able to get the motion detector to work at all. Here's the story:
I installed the light at the top of one of my 6' fence posts, and the solar panel on the next adjacent post using the included screws. The instruction manual came with 1:1 scale mounting templates for screw placement. Since I was just installing it into wood, I didn't use the wall anchors that were also included. I drilled a pilot for each screw with a 3/32" bit. I found out I had to use a 3" extended Phillips bit to drive the screws because there wasn't room to fit my drill next to the solar panel. Both the light and the solar panel are solidly installed this way, but I'm a little worried about the screws corroding in the treated lumber of the fence. The whole installation process took me under 30 minutes, and I'm a perfectionist when it comes to projects. (I even had my torpedo level out there making sure it was perfectly vertical.) If you're not as detail-oriented as I am, you can probably have this thing installed in under 15 minutes.
I was happy to discover that the light, motion detector, and the solar panel each have two degrees of freedom for angle adjustment (see pictures).
The light has three modes:
(1) Continuous on, which stays on at a dimmer level, and then lights up brighter when the motion sensor is activated.
(2) Motion activated, which has adjustable times for the light to remain on from 5 seconds to a minute.
(3) Off, which will keep the light off but still allow the battery to charge via the solar panel.
The motion sensor sensitivity is supposedly adjustable to trip from 15 to 50 feet, but so far I haven't been able to get it to trigger even once. This is a huge problem, because all operation modes of the light rely on the motion sensor. The light is really bright when I turn it on to the ON setting, but then dims after the initial one minute of brightness. I've tried jumping, running, and waving my hands in front of the sensor at night, but to no avail. It won't activate and the light remains dim. The light won't even turn on at all in AUTO mode. So I'm left with a very dim backyard light that only operates continuously.
I figured I was doing something wrong, so I consulted the owner's manual. One of the troubleshooting suggestions was to wait for the battery to charge for 2+ days. I figured the motion sensor might need more power, so I waited. So far, I've had it installed for 6 days. Granted, most of them have been a little overcast, but at least two of them have been sunny. I just think it's odd that the light has enough power to come on at full brightness, but the motion sensor doesn't have enough power to operate. This makes me think that the motion sensor is actually broken or just very poorly designed. I also checked the motion sensor troubleshooting suggestions, and I don't have the light installed near any source of external heat, which can mess with the infrared detection.
I also called XEPA Technologies (somehow pronounced "apex") at the number listed in the product manual for help. After waiting 5 minutes on hold, I got a recorded message telling me that I should call a separate customer service number. Why did I have to wait on hold to hear a recorded message? When I called the number, the customer service representative was very polite, but wasn't very helpful. He couldn't find any information on the product model, even though I was calling a help number I found in the product manual, and reading the product number directly off of the product manual to him. After 10-15 minutes, he finally asked if he could have someone call me back once they found the information. Still waiting on that call, and it's been about 12 hours.
Overall, this light is a flop. If the motion sensor worked I'd probably be giving it 4 or 5 stars, but without a functional motion sensor it's pretty much useless. Maybe I just got a lemon - I really wanted to like this thing. Customer support was lacking as well. On the bright side, at least I've got a 12V solar charger now.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Very Bright
Cons: poor reliability, poor customer support, non-working motion sensor
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered Black LED Security Light
from Bend, OR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really helpful light on the steps! AIM AWAY FROM SENSOR!

PostedMay 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Originally I was very disappointed. Even after setting the timer for staying on 30 seconds the light would just flash on and then go off. Then I read a review for the Defiant 180 Degree Outdoor Solar. People were complaining and returning it because it was working like a strobe light, just flashing on then going off. One person had a good review because he discovered that you need to angle the light when it goes on to not aim toward the sensor that makes the light only work at night. The light thought it was daytime and would shut it off. I just went out and angled my lights up and now instead of flashing it stays on the full 30 seconds. Originally I had aimed the light down so the brightness would shine on the floor, not in your eyes and blind you. After angling it up it works perfectly, just a little too bright.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered Black LED Security Light
from Utah, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Buy for DYIer

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased 3 of these security lights to illuminate the areas in the back yard that had no light at night. Purchased for myself and my dog. When he goes out at night he is able to see the whole yard and so can I. This is good for the person who wants to install themselves. Easy to install. Illuminates well. Needs to be installed where it could get good sunlight. Great for your electric bill & don't need an electrician. Purchased as a Home Depot special of the day so it was a very good deal. Very happy with my purchase.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered Black LED Security Light
from Agua Dulce, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great security light for a shipping container

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We have a sea container in our yard and it isn't anywhere near an electrical source. We've been looking for an effective method of getting a security light on it so we can create better security for what is in there and also make it easier to get into the container after dark. We thought we'd give this light a try. Compared to running electrical cable underground to the container from our home, this product was a much better option! The solar panel sits on top of the container facing upwards as the container roof gets direct sunlight for most of the day and ensures a good charge of the batteries. The toughest part was mounting the light to keep it out of the way of the container doors. In the end, I used construction adhesive to mount a piece of wood to the container frame above the doors and mounted the backplate for the light and sensor to that. Pretty simple installation and the light works well.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered Black LED Security Light
from Memphis, Tn
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The light is functional and does as advertised. I need a brighter light

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The light is made of plastic but should hold up to the elements. Assembly and installation are simple. The solar panel and battery work as they should. The motion detector and light sensor work as they should. The only con I have is the light is not as bright as I needed. I ended up mounting the light by my rear door to assist in getting in on the nights I return home late and did not leave a light on. A light sensor on my rear door light would do the same. The light will also be used when electrical service to my house is disrupted since it is always charged. I like the solar concept and plan to move more in that direction in the future. I got it on sale and overall it is a good light for the money.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: not as bright as i needed but functional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered Black LED Security Light
from CA

Bought 4 returned 2.

PostedJanuary 10, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 2 of this light first and was quite happy with them. The lights are bright and work very good. The motion detector is very sensitive even at the lowest setting. The light will come on when motion is detected 40+ ft away. Then I bought 2 more for different spots outside the house. Both only worked for about 3 days and refused to turn on. So I have to return the last two. It's good that the lights failed within the first 3 days because I can return them to home depot to get my full refund. If the lights fail after 90 days, it's another story. I'm crossing my fingers for the two that are still working for almost 3 months.
Pros: Very Bright
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered Black LED Security Light
from Centerburg, OH 43011, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great!

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The 160 degree sensor is more like 180 plus and the light output is excellent to light up the area of about 20X20 I am using it for. Five days of clouds and rain and it still just as bright as when the sun was shining. This is an excellent value for the price I paid. Highly recommend it.
Pros: Very Bright
Cons: not the best materials
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered Black LED Security Light
from Cincinnati Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Din't work: You get what you pay for.

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not a good product. Put it together, charged it for 2 + full days under full spectrum lights in my basement.... it blinked then (...play sad trombone music..).
I've had other inexpensive solar lights similar to this and had decent luck. I'd say, spend a little more $ and get something better made.
The solar panel looks sloppy and is poorly constructed, so even if it had worked, I doubt it would have lasted long. The plug from panel to unit is loose. The sensor looked like junk. Overall, the thing just looks sketchy. That's probably why none of the stores carry it.
Not to mention after holding it, the design seems inferior.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered Black LED Security Light

Do not Buy, these are junk

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered three of these over the past 2 weeks, not a one of them worked for more than a day. Stay far away from these, I've since returned all three back to Home Depot.
Cons: doesn't work
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered Black LED Security Light
from Massachusetts
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

well-made, easy to install, bright light, good looking unit

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This unit is very well made and comes with a manual and templates for an easy installation. The 15 foot cord makes mounting easy and allows for placing the unit in an area that will get the greatest solar exposure.
I ordered two of these to give as gifts. Much to my dismay, however, the two units came without individual packaging. Instead, they were both simply placed in a plain cardboard box and shipped to my home. For me to give these units as gifts, required me to find appropriate boxes and repack them. I had expected each unit to arrive in its own box. In addition, I was only given one owner's manual despite having ordered two units. This required a call to the company in California, requesting an additional manual. To their credit, they mailed one out to me within days. These are very nice solar units, but packaging could have been better to enable gift giving.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: Appearance, needs its own packaging
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered Black LED Security Light
from ny
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks Good

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Looks good, easy to install, time will tell if unit is durable, especially in the NE with the terrible winter this year.
Pros: Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered Black LED Security Light
from Mooresville, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your time or money!

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product looks great, but does not hold a charge.
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: does not hold a charge.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered Black LED Security Light
from Rochester NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't work

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The design is perfect for what I wanted (to mount on a shed with no power so dogs have light in that dark area of yard). Problem is, it doesn't turn on. The little indicator light shines, so I know it has some power, but it has sat in the sun for days and won't light up. Going back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered Black LED Security Light
from Vermont, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks great - Doesn't work!

PostedApril 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Out of the box, the light comes on and is bright. After that - nothing! The solar panel doesn't charge it. I tired for days, nothing. I returned it and recevied a replacement - same identical problem. Its going back to HD and I'm done with it! It's cost me more in gas returning this junk then if I bought a quality product - if only I could find one!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Very Bright
Cons: junk - doesnt work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered Black LED Security Light
from FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install, lighting time too short

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Overall really happy with this light. It was easy to install and has good brightness - would like this even more if the motion-activated light stayed on longer. Otherwise, this exactly fills the bill.
Pros: Functional, easy and fast to install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered Black LED Security Light
from NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked only for about a week

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought one installed it and it worked great for about a day or two before I needed to adjust the settings again and again. Then it worked one day and not the next. Thought I may have just bought one that had issues, I had another one sent, only to go though the same issues. I am returning both as soon as it is warm enough to work outside to take it down.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Unique, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: working order
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered Black LED Security Light
from Yuma, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrific lighting!

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is even better than I expected! Installing it was a snap where the solar panel gets full mid-day sun and the light will illuminate the whole back yard. It's the perfect solution for my need and I will be getting another unit for the opposite side of my property!
Pros: Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered Black LED Security Light
from Texas, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It seems to work sometimes & sometimes not.

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought it wasn't working at all but it's sporadic. Perhaps it's not getting enough sun but placement is direct to the sun.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: doesn't always work in dark
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered Black LED Security Light

Could not get the motion activation to work properly once i installed it. The solar panel then broke off the base.

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Poor performance. Would not recommed it to anyone. Very poor construction.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered Black LED Security Light

very bright...love it

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
very bright...love it.................yes will recomend
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>