728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chainsaws & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw

20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw

This chainsaw is ideal for general property management and firewood cutting. The 50 cc, two-cycle engine has a super clean air filter system, aluminum professional style clutch cover for durability and an automatic gear driven oil pump. No tools are needed to get to the air filter and spark plug. For comfort, the reduced vibration handle lets you use it longer and the effortless pull starting system lets you start it easier. The double post chain brake provides added safety and an on-board locking wrench holder is built into the rear handle. It comes fully assembled and includes carry case. Backed by a two-year limited warranty.
Overall rating:
3.231 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(104 reviews) 104
Open Ratings Snapshot
61%of customersrecommend this product60 of 99reviews
Rating Breakdown 104 reviews
3.2 out of 5
5
(39)
4
(20)
3
(5)
2
(6)
1
(34)
Features 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
3.2 out of 5
3.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
61%of customersrecommend this product60 of 99reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
Review 1 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent Saw, great price

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you're like me, you read the reviews and notice the distinctive "U" shape: Lots of 5's, and a troubling number of 1's, which may imply a "lemon" problem or an operator issue. Knowing 2-stroke engines and saws, I took a chance.
I hate buying "cheap" tools and I despise overpaying for a good one. The first thing I checked is where it is made. Made in the USA, and owned (now) by Husquverna. I've had few US/Japan/German products that have minor QC issues or rough finish, but never junk. The same cannot be said of products from China/India. This was my primary motivation for giving this one a shot. There were three general issues I saw in the negative reviews, which I address more below:
* Running, idling, and bogging issues: This implies tuning issues, though mine worked perfectly out of the box. It idles smoothly and revs cleanly after a brief warmup. No issues starting warm or cold. I was cutting through a 14" log within minutes of filling. I was switching between a Stihl and this saw, and honestly this saw was starting on one pull, and the Stihl needed about 3. (In all fairness, the 50:1 gas for the Stihl was a little more stale than the fresh 40:1 I bought for this saw)
* Chain (low quality, a few reports of jumping): This is a low quality chain, which is easily mitigated by a $20 Oregon chain, or better yet, an Oregon $50 Pro-Lite chain/bar combo. Chains stretch, and cheap chains stretch even more. You MUST tighten this chain after 30-40 minutes, whereas higher quality chains are pre-streched. After break-in, it was throwing chips.
* Bar oil leaking and over-oiling. There's some truth to heavy oiling, but this is not bad. The correct amount of oil is highly wood-dependent (eg: wet woods tend to wash the oil off), and I'd rather have too much than too little oil. High quality bar oil is $10/gallon. Bar/chain damage is more expensive.
* Minor issues in the other reviews: Stuff loosening (Not on mine. Opposite: everything was very gorilla tight).
I also own Stihl. While I do not currently own another comparible class saw to this one, I can make some general observations. Stihl makes their own high quality bars and chains, I think sometimes to force you to go back to the STIHL dealer to get parts, at a greater cost. Their chain offerings are confusing, to say the least.
I purchased a Pro-Lite Oregon bar and chain combo for this PoulanPro saw, because the reviews said that the chain was rather cheap (yep!), and there were a few reports of chains jumping. This added $50 to the cost, but the bar/chain is where the rubber meets the road, so quality is most important here. They are correct: the chain is junky, but does cut (no jumping at all if adjusted properly). It throws smaller chips, and is only able to bog the motor down with high bumper spike pressure. I'm betting the Oregon chain will make it work harder, but I have not yet tried. I'm still trying to burn up the factory bar/chain.
* What are you getting with a Stihl that this saw doesn't have?
1). Mostly, the dealer. When I buy a Stihl, the dealer takes me out back, fires it up, shows me a bunch of features and such, and makes sure that saw is running like a swiss watch. If not, he takes it inside and tweaks it. With PoulanPro, it comes in a box. If you're making money with the saw, the time YOU spend tweaking it is time you could have spent revenueing, so the Stihl premium may pay for itself.
2). The ergonomics on my Stihl are second to none-- Well balanced with all the controls in the right places.
3). Power to weight. Ironically, the "plastic" that people complain about on a cheap saw is even more prevalent on the expensive one, which is how they make it lightweight. My Stihl is light for the power it produces, but all the plastic does give the Stihl a (false) aura of cheap.
4). As mentioned above, a quality bar and chain, but this is easily swapped.
I don't see a major difference in the two brands to indicate one will outlast the other. As others have mentioned, many parts on the PoulanPro are Husquverna parts. The difference is in the dealer experience and the "feel" of the unit. My Stihl is not without problems. For example, the oiler on my Stihl clogs often and generally under-oils on many woods. The dealer says it's normal for certain wood, but it's annoying to stop and clean the bar and/or carry an oil can to manually douse the chain. Reviews of the PoulanPro claim the opposite problem: overoiling. Bar oil is cheap-- I prefer overoiling to underoiling. (I miss the extra manual oilers!)
Are these things worth the extra money? If you use it professionally, having a dealer there to hold your hand may be. If you use it every day, the ergonomics and slightly lighter weight may be important. Given that I could buy three of these for what I paid for a Stihl, the Stihl would not have been the right "investment" for me. The main cost difference is for the dealer. Some people routinely drop $150 on the Stihl dealer for a tuneup (almost the cost of this PoulanPro saw!). If you're making money with it, that service might be worth the time savings. I prefer to spend some "quality time" with my saw in the evening and do it myself. Also, routine maintenance parts for this saw are very reasonably priced and widely available, unlike Stihl.
I won't be getting rid of my Stihls-- They are great saws. But for the money, I won't be parting with this PoulanPro either. The case is nice, and they included 3 oz of 2-stroke oil. Stihls just came with a bar scabbord.
In summary: If you cut a lot of wood, but are not mechanically inclined, then the Stihl dealer will take good care of you for a price. But if you work on your own saws, and you replace the bar/chain with a quality set, you'll be very happy with this Poulan at 1/3 the cost. This is a serious, well-built saw at an incredible value.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, easy start smooth running
Cons: not the best chain
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from philadelphia
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works great for a homeowner

PostedMay 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this saw yesterday and I cut a tree into pieces with ease. I'm not sure about the long term but if you have a downed tree you need to make it to fire wood this is the saw for you.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from MO
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Saw

PostedJune 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After years of use with my 20 years old smaller poulan chainsaw, the need arose for a larger one. Purchased a 20 inch 50 cc chainsaw, reconditioned one, online for 140 dollars with no sales tax.. Arrived with free delivery and this MO Hillbilly put it to work. Had to make a tool using old screw driver and crimp type electrical fitting to adjust the carb. Waited awhile till the saw broke in and with the carb reset, she cuts just great. The drought in MO several years ago killed my large oak and cedar tress. 6 very large oaks down and cut with 3 more to go. Also cut various other types of trees with my new reconditioned discounted saw. Thank You to all that return new products they do not like.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Mesa AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

They Don't Make Them Like They Use To!

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I too have been using chainsaws over the last 30+ years. This saw defiantly needs TLC when in use. The saw is a little heavy for cuts above your shoulders. So use caution. The body to me feels a little cheap and loose. I believe the reason for this is to absorb the vibration of the saw. I too, had trouble getting the saw to run after a couple hours of use. Turns out that if you run out of bar chain oil, the saw shuts down or won’t start. Need to check the documentation to see if that is a true statement. Ever since this little discovery, I have been able to keep it running. It is a average chain saw for me. You get what you pay for i guess.
Any saw of substance, I would plan on paying 300+
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful, Great Engine, tool attach to chain saw, not very loud
Cons: tempermental, leaks a lot of bar oil, case is little big and boxy
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Los angeles

You Get What You Pay For

PostedMay 27, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Air filter surface area is so small that it will start to clog after a few cuts. Also on mine you have to refill the gas tank when it is about 1/2 full or it will starve for fuel. Not a lot of power either but it will get the job done if you don't mind restarting it often, and it is not easy to start. There is a loop on the handle that you are supposed to put your foot through. Maybe in China this works great. Here, not so much because my boots (Yes, you wear boots when doing this type of work) will not fit in there.
It really is a $199 saw, but if you are a cheap-Charlie like me, and you don't expect to use it more than a few times a year, then I would recommend it.
Pros: will eventually get job done, good price, 20" length
Cons: Difficult to Use, Too Heavy, engine stops often, air filter clogs fast, run-time very short, low power, very hard to start
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from West Branch, MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great cutting saw

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've had this saw since March of this year and have cut down about 20 trees with it and it just keeps going!!!! It's easy to start and maintain. Don't forget to get carb adjusted after the first few hours of use though!!. I cut nothing but hardwood with this saw and as long a you keep a sharp chain on it, it will do what it is supposed to do--CUT WOOD!! The price was right and it is made by Husqvarna.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw

work horse

PostedDecember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this chainsaw against my better judgment and boy am I glad. Took it out gased and oiled it as required. One pull and boom it fired up. I ran 10 tanks of fuel through it and not one problem. I have cut up 30 trees into firewood. I am considering buying another for the future do to the fact that in a few years prices will be way higher. Buy it it's worth every penny. Just pay attention and maintain your saw and it will do wonders for you.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Galloway, NJ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good saw, minor quality control issue.

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I spent a great deal of time reading the good and bad reviews, and being mechanically knowledgeable and on a tight budget I decided to go ahead and buy this saw.
Sure enough, right out of the box it wouldn't start or run at all. A few coughs, pops and backfires was all I got after 20 minutes of trying. Before admitting defeat and returning it however, I thought I owed it at least an equal amount of time in basic troubleshooting as I did cursing and grumbling.
Two stroke motors are simple- they need only spark, air, fuel and compression to run. Pulling the plug told me it had fuel as it was wet. A quick pull on the starter with the plug out and grounded on the head showed me a weak and intermittent spark. Additionally, backfiring on engines is almost always attributable to spark or timing issues. I decided to pull the starter cover off and have a peek at the ignition coil and flywheel.
Once the yellow outer cover is removed (4 screws), there is a black plastic shroud that sits behind it, around the flywheel and over the coil. Upon lifting that off, I immediately saw a wire coming from the coil pinched by that cover against a ground wire also coming from the coil and connected to the kill switch. Closer inspection revealed that the insulation of the wire was cut and that it was grounding out on the other connector, essentially applying the kill switch periodically. I separated the two wires sufficiently enough to allow me to add a rubber insulator around the damaged wire, put it all back together and guess what- that baby fired right up on the very first pull!
I ran a tank of fuel through it (32:1- the instructions suggest 40:1 but that isn't enough oil for breaking in a new motor) and it ran almost perfect- just a slight bog when whacking the throttle wide open from idle. I decided that it was a bit lean on the bottom (low speed); so when I stopped to re-fuel, re-oil and adjust the chain, I used some forceps to reach in and open the low speed mixture screw about a quarter turn. I also noticed that the air filter was hardly sealed to the manifold- add some grease to the groove around the filter plastic so it seals to the plastic manifold attached to the carb.
Fired up first pull again after these tweaks and sitting for about 30 mins- it's good to heat cycle a motor when breaking it in. Ran much much better- perfectly as far as I am concerned- for two more tanks of fuel.
I am very happy with this saw- having owned nothing but worn out, under powered second-hand saws up until now, it is wonderful to have a saw a new and as powerful as this one. There is no doubt some quality control issues and for anyone not mechanically experienced, it would have been a deal breaker and a one star review. Hopefully this review helps someone get theirs running right without returning it and getting frustrated like so many others! Another interesting fact- all of the major components are stamped with the Husqvarna "H" (muffler, clutch cover, carb manifold, etc).
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine
Cons: definite quality control issues at assembly.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Fayetteville, nc
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

fantastic value for homeowner use.

PostedJuly 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
decent power for a consumer saw. peel open the cover, and you find Husqvarna brand stamps all over. This is a lot of saw for the money. Not the equivalent of any commercial saws, but it's value cannot be beaten. the one weakness I experience with this saw is that it is sometimes hard to start. Learn to sharpen the decent safety chain it comes with, and it can make for a very good saw.
Pros: Cuts Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Seguin, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't waste your time

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is one of the poorest chainsaws I have ever owned. I purchased it in Jan. 2015, used it twice and it never ran again. Had it checked out by shop and the head was full of cracks. Was told this was common. Long story short, returned it and spent the extra little bit of money and purchased a Echo.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Grand Rapids, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Saw for the Money

PostedMay 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a good value for a chainsaw.
Pros:
Decent power for cutting big logs.
Weight is not too bad for this price range
Cons:
This saw requires lots of TLC.
The air filter clip holds it in place but not very securely. When the filter starts getting clogged, dust will slip past the filter and enter the engine. Clean the filter after every hour of use or you will ruin the engine!
Lots of things to wear out. After the warranty runs out, expect to be taking it apart, cleaning and fixing things frequently. In my case, I fount the nuts holding the carburetor in place started coming loose all the time. The throttle-trigger linkage has a plastic part that wears out pretty quickly and needs to be replaced often.
The Off switch needs to be cleaned because it stops working when dust collects in it.
None of these are major repairs and can be easily performed DIY but the frequency of repairs is down right inconvenient!
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
Cons: Not Durable
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Mt Dora, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

SAVE YOUR MONEY!!!

PostedJune 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
They works for a little while. Extended Warranty is a joke!
Pros: Cuts Well
Cons: Not Durable, useless extended warranty
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Middletown, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Small adjustments + informed user = Very Good Saw

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a very good chainsaw that just needs some tweaking and an informed user to operate properly,
There are 2 problems I noticed on mine that I think compose a good deal of the complaints I've read online about this saw and its twin the craft$man 35098. The first is the carb needed minor adjustment and the second is the short length of the starter pull cord.
The carb issue makes the saw bog down once warmed up and then eventually stall. Restarting is only possible after saw is cooled down, but the problem reoccurs once warm again (this happens even in low altitude). To remedy this on mine, I ran the engine until the bogging began then turned the LOW SPEED screw counterclockwise while revving the engine up and down until the motor responded without hesitation. Note that the low (& high) speed screws are tamper-resistant but can be turned with the proper tool, or you can make something homemade as I did (a female solderless disconnect jammed on the end of a small screwdriver worked). Since I made this adjustment, I have run my saw probably over 10 hours now and have had no engine issues whatsoever.
The second problem, the short starter cord, makes it VERY EASY to "overpull" the cord beyond its travel length. Pulling too far is probably the biggest reason starter mechanisms like this fail. Be mindful of that when starting this thing and keep your pulls to the bare minimum. At the same time (as with any small engine) do not put much pulling force into the cord until you feel the starter pawl engage the flywheel.
So far, I have been very happy with this saw even when using cheap 87 octane. I've used both Husqvarnas and Stihls and can say this one is pretty close in quality/performance to those brands. I decided to "downgrade" from the big boys was because I got tired of paying an arm and a leg for parts and/or being forced to buy them only from a high markup dealer. One thing I do miss on this saw that the other guys have is a replaceable rim sprocket design. The Poulan combines the sprocket and clutch in one piece, which not only makes it more difficult to replace, but also makes you replace more than is usually necessary.
There are several small gripes I have with the saw worth mentioning, The first is that the base of the air filter where it mates to the carb intake does not make an air tight seal, even when it's locked in place with its retaining clip. Over time, I could see fine sawdust working its way possibly mucking up engine. The problem is easily patched, however, just by adding a small loop of weather-stripping into the underside of the filter. The other complaint is that I found one of the screws on the exterior only threaded halfway in. I tightened it and went over the other exterior ones, but it made me wonder how well the fasteners deeper down were secured.
The bumper spike is a most welcome addition. I’ve had ZERO issues with my saw throwing a chain, even when I've left some slack in it,
Pros: Cuts Well
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Aurora, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Piece of Junk.

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have owned and used chainsaws for 35 years, In my youth I spent 2 years as a topper jack. When my 20 year old McCullogh finally wore out, I picked this up exchanged one and returned the second within 8 hours. It starts hard when cold, will not start when warm, tried one and the chain jumped , found the weak bar to have been deformed, exchanged it, only to find the same cold start issue (but at least it started eventually) then proceeded to spend the next 3 hours fighting warm starts, When I returned it, the sales associate said he would put it with the rest of them to be returned....Found that Husqvarna (they make Poulan) discontinued this model. Spend a little more and get the Echo,
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable, fails to start
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exceeds expectations

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm a country boy and couldn't live without my pickup and chainsaw. However, I'm not going to pay extra for just a name. I demand durability, and even though I hate plastic, I'll live with it if it brings the price down and still functions. But above all, I want a chainsaw that starts and runs when I need it. I bought the PP5020 because I also have a chainsaw called the "Wildthing" by the same company that I fell in love with it because it started well and was easy to maintain. Its big brother did not let me down! In fact, the PP5020 is even easier to start, I kid you not. In fact, the ease of starting kind of surprised me. I loved it!
You should read the manual or spend a few minutes studying the chainsaw before you try and start it. It is different than the "Wildthing." Another thing, the chain itself appears to be of a slightly higher quality than what I expected. I just downed a 80-100 foot Walnut, cleaned it up, and the chain is still really sharp! Does it have any drawbacks. Maybe. It burns gas quicker than my other chainsaws, but who cares. It runs and starts easily and is a lot more powerful. It definitely isn't afraid of work. It may also be too heavy for some small stature women to use. Many of my friends use the competitor's models, but we all chop down the same trees, and no one is cutting wood any faster than me. I have a collection of chainsaws, but this isn't a collector's piece; this one is a worker, a real keeper for the price.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful, starts easily
+40points
41out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Blue Ridge, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

ng

PostedMay 10, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was sent back once for repair and I am doing it again. It won't stay running and when it quits is difficult to start.
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do not Buy!

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Made four trips to Town 50 Miles round trip.. Wished I had read the reviews first Pure PARC! Been around Chainsaws all my life.. Hard to start cold, won't start warm, wont idle must keep rpm up to keep running. Returned next day. Thought it was a bad saw - Nope the second one did the same thing too. The salesman said he had the same issues with this saw when he bought one.. He won't sell them and pushes the other brands. Wish I talked to him the first day.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable, Too Heavy
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Wyoming
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Right price, good quality

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Have only used this saw for one session, but am already very impressed with the quality and features. Handles well, good power and very comfortable to use. Note- The spark plug cap was not properly attached when I first tried starting the saw. Make sure to give everything a once over before starting the first time. Will save you 10 minutes of frustration.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Capitol Heights, MD
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A lot of saw for a little money.

PostedMarch 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is not the saw for a arborist or for the average home owner its for land owners and wood heat families . It burns gas like an 1980 K25 but pulls just as hard. I started with the leftovers from tree trimming ranging from 10" up to a massive 26" in diameter and all 12 feet long and it turned it all into fire wood rounds in minuets. Out of the box is could use a slight tune to even the top end out but man this this is powerful. YOU CAN NOT GET A SAW FOR BIG WOOD FOR THIS PRICE FROM ANY OTHER BRAND. I burn wood as my primary and in years past I would rent a big saw for the logs to big for my PP3516. Now I look back and see I could have bought 3 of these for the money spent.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Powerful, Great Engine, big block power
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Wisconsin
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great!

PostedApril 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have never used a chainsaw before so I did my research and purchased this one. I lost 10-12 75'-100' trees over the winter so I was using this to saw those trees into logs and I did not drop any trees with it. I read the directions, bought the bar oil and immediately began sawing up logs anywhere from 6" diameter to 30". I had no problems. After about 15-20 minutes the chain needed to be tightened but the directions said this would occur. The chainsaw started after 5-7 pulls like instructions said it would and I was continually letting it idle or was turning it on/off as I was moving the logs around. No problems cuttting, no problems with it running/idling correctly. Great deal for the money and easy enough to use for a novice.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
+19points
23out of 27found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>