728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chainsaws & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw

20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw

The PP5020AV Chainsaw is an excellent all around medium duty chainsaw ideal for general property management and firewood cutting. It features a 50 cc, 2-cycle engine with Super Clean air filter system, aluminum Professional style clutch cover for more durability, automatic gear driven oil pump, tool-less a ccess to the air filter and spark plug, reduced vibration handle with effortless pull starting system, a double post chain brake for added safety and an on-board locking wrench holder is built into the rear handle. 20 in. bar length. Fully assembled. Includes carry case. 2 year limited warranty.
Overall rating:
3.333 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(69 reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
65%of customersrecommend this product42 of 65reviews
Rating Breakdown 69 reviews
3.3 out of 5.0
5
(28)
4
(12)
3
(5)
2
(3)
1
(21)
Features 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
65%of customersrecommend this product42 of 65reviews
Customer reviews for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
Review 1 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Mesa AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

They Don't Make Them Like They Use To!

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I too have been using chainsaws over the last 30+ years. This saw defiantly needs TLC when in use. The saw is a little heavy for cuts above your shoulders. So use caution. The body to me feels a little cheap and loose. I believe the reason for this is to absorb the vibration of the saw. I too, had trouble getting the saw to run after a couple hours of use. Turns out that if you run out of bar chain oil, the saw shuts down or won’t start. Need to check the documentation to see if that is a true statement. Ever since this little discovery, I have been able to keep it running. It is a average chain saw for me. You get what you pay for i guess.
Any saw of substance, I would plan on paying 300+
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful, Great Engine, tool attach to chain saw, not very loud
Cons: tempermental, leaks a lot of bar oil, case is little big and boxy
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Grand Rapids, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Saw for the Money

PostedMay 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a good value for a chainsaw.
Pros:
Decent power for cutting big logs.
Weight is not too bad for this price range
Cons:
This saw requires lots of TLC.
The air filter clip holds it in place but not very securely. When the filter starts getting clogged, dust will slip past the filter and enter the engine. Clean the filter after every hour of use or you will ruin the engine!
Lots of things to wear out. After the warranty runs out, expect to be taking it apart, cleaning and fixing things frequently. In my case, I fount the nuts holding the carburetor in place started coming loose all the time. The throttle-trigger linkage has a plastic part that wears out pretty quickly and needs to be replaced often.
The Off switch needs to be cleaned because it stops working when dust collects in it.
None of these are major repairs and can be easily performed DIY but the frequency of repairs is down right inconvenient!
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
Cons: Not Durable
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Aurora, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Piece of Junk.

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have owned and used chainsaws for 35 years, In my youth I spent 2 years as a topper jack. When my 20 year old McCullogh finally wore out, I picked this up exchanged one and returned the second within 8 hours. It starts hard when cold, will not start when warm, tried one and the chain jumped , found the weak bar to have been deformed, exchanged it, only to find the same cold start issue (but at least it started eventually) then proceeded to spend the next 3 hours fighting warm starts, When I returned it, the sales associate said he would put it with the rest of them to be returned....Found that Husqvarna (they make Poulan) discontinued this model. Spend a little more and get the Echo,
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable, fails to start
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Wyoming
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Right price, good quality

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Have only used this saw for one session, but am already very impressed with the quality and features. Handles well, good power and very comfortable to use. Note- The spark plug cap was not properly attached when I first tried starting the saw. Make sure to give everything a once over before starting the first time. Will save you 10 minutes of frustration.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Garbage

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pure junk took it out of the box and it started, the next two times it took forever to get going, the last time it wouldn't start and I returned it.
Pros: has none
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exceeds expectations

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm a country boy and couldn't live without my pickup and chainsaw. However, I'm not going to pay extra for just a name. I demand durability, and even though I hate plastic, I'll live with it if it brings the price down and still functions. But above all, I want a chainsaw that starts and runs when I need it. I bought the PP5020 because I also have a chainsaw called the "Wildthing" by the same company that I fell in love with it because it started well and was easy to maintain. Its big brother did not let me down! In fact, the PP5020 is even easier to start, I kid you not. In fact, the ease of starting kind of surprised me. I loved it!
You should read the manual or spend a few minutes studying the chainsaw before you try and start it. It is different than the "Wildthing." Another thing, the chain itself appears to be of a slightly higher quality than what I expected. I just downed a 80-100 foot Walnut, cleaned it up, and the chain is still really sharp! Does it have any drawbacks. Maybe. It burns gas quicker than my other chainsaws, but who cares. It runs and starts easily and is a lot more powerful. It definitely isn't afraid of work. It may also be too heavy for some small stature women to use. Many of my friends use the competitor's models, but we all chop down the same trees, and no one is cutting wood any faster than me. I have a collection of chainsaws, but this isn't a collector's piece; this one is a worker, a real keeper for the price.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful, starts easily
+37points
38out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Sellerville, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Disappointed- Beware

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this after I did some research on reviews of this model and make. Seemed to be a good value at the price. I just needed to cut some branches of a tree that fell and have one handy should I come across from free wood. Initially it was a little hard to start, but got it going and worked well. Used it for about 4 hours at first. Used it again a few weeks later and hard to start. Finally got started and worked well, but stalled while using that day. Decided to call it a day. A few weeks later drained gas out and added new gas. Hard to start again and got it running. Did not cut that day. Two days later son was using and again hard to start but once it did ran well. Only 15 minutes into cutting engine cuts out and could not restart. A week later changed out gas again and could not start. Engine kept flooding. Finally got started but would only run on no choke. Once you revved it up after warm up it will not idle and stalls out. Time for service. Not many authorized repair dealers close by and the ones listed on their website some no longer deal with Poulan. I would not recommend this to anyone.
Pros: Cuts Well, Powerful
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Illinois
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

GREAT PRODUCT, HORRIBLE SERVICE

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Never owned a chainsaw before. I had to chop down a tree in the yard. This product cuts through everything. Lots of power, little on the heavy side, but I am a big guy. My issue is how much I will be using it for the price; however better than paying for a rental. Love the storage box to keep away from my little one.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store
Cons: a little to heavy
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from branson mo
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worked OKAY for a little while then died

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
old reliable saw died and money was tight so we bough this cheap saw as a temporary replacement. started great every time for first few weeks but eventually got to the point where once the chainsaw warmed up it would bog, stall and refuse to restart. put to the side and bought one at a garage sale for practically nothing. worked for a week then same problem began. wont be buying a poulan product again. in its defense we do cut a lot of wood but the saw should have lasted more than it did.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw

Parts?

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Went to two stores, neither carry the replacement cutting chain. I'm giving up on buying anything from HD.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Wisconsin
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great!

PostedApril 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have never used a chainsaw before so I did my research and purchased this one. I lost 10-12 75'-100' trees over the winter so I was using this to saw those trees into logs and I did not drop any trees with it. I read the directions, bought the bar oil and immediately began sawing up logs anywhere from 6" diameter to 30". I had no problems. After about 15-20 minutes the chain needed to be tightened but the directions said this would occur. The chainsaw started after 5-7 pulls like instructions said it would and I was continually letting it idle or was turning it on/off as I was moving the logs around. No problems cuttting, no problems with it running/idling correctly. Great deal for the money and easy enough to use for a novice.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
+18points
22out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw

Chain Saw

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used chain saw twice and it worked great. Third time and after it wouldn't start. Had to change plug and clean saw ,new gas and cleaned. Still no improvement. Very disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Two failures in almost two years

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first one purchased quit after 3 months of heavy use on a small 5.1 acre farm. After exchanging for a new one the replacement lasted almost 1 1/2 years. Cold starts never really a problem but warm starts were always incredibly difficult. First Poulan suffered a sheared shaft and the second suffered a shattered piston head. Only use high-octane gas and always kept the mixture a little oil rich to ensure enough lubrication during heavy use.
If you want this for the occasional tree limbing or dropping (maybe once or twice a year) it's not a bad deal. After dropping nearly 75 trees (varying thickness) on my property the Poulan's just couldn't keep up. Small ranch or farm use will destroy these chain saws. While I hated to spend the money, the Husqvarna is still going strong after 2 years and has never failed to start (cold, hot, or otherwise).
Some definite quality control issues with this model and would not recommend for anyone requiring constant use of their chainsaw.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Amherst, NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far so good

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Wanted to upgrade from the 16", which I've owned for 3 years to the 20". Picked up at store this AM and spent the day taking down/cutting up at least ten, 50'+ high, 20-40" diameter trees. Performed well with no problems.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Cadillac, MI 49601, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I'm impressed!

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you follow the instructions for starting it starts up easily. The saw is well balanced and has plenty of power. The case is nice in that there is room inside for hearing protectors, gloves and safety glasses. The location for the chain oil is at an angle that makes it easy to fill.
Pros: Cuts Well, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Easy to Store
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Holy Cow

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was going back and forth between this saw and very expensive saw. As a homeowner and not a professional arborist I found this saw extremely good for the price tag. The saw at first glance is pretty intimidating compared to my 18 inch McCullough which finally died on me. My first adventure with it was to section a 12 ft. 20 inch diam. maple log that was dropped 2 years ago.
Picked the saw up at the store, brought it home, opened the package, READ the instruction manual and filled the saw. The saw started after 5 pulls because there is no primer bulb and it ran great.
This thing is a beast it ate right through the seasoned log like butter. I did not have to force anything I just let the saw do the work. 20 min later the log sat in 12 pieces with piles of wood shaving everywhere. I was so happy and impressed that I actually caught myself giggling at times while cutting.
I would and have recommended this saw but it is Not for the faint of heart. If you want a starter saw stick with a good electric saw for a slower pace. if you are familiar with chainsaws and are looking to replace or upgrade your current saw THIS IS THE ONE!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Grand Junction, CO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

this saw is a really good performing saw

PostedApril 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i bought this saw last week as a brush saw and a limbing remover. i also have a 455 rancher husqvarna 20'' bar, and 2 craftsman 20'' bar chain saws that ar 52ccs each. this saw out performed all of them it was better on gas and didn't heat up or bog down like my other saws and i was cutting 50 inch diameter logs.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw

Solid saw performs as advertised

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my 5th Poulan saw over the past 20 years. I have tried others but they don't start or don't cut straight like these do. The only problem is the vibration resistant handle ( caused by the US Government nanny state regulations) Check the springs and keep them tight; if they fall off they are impossible to find.
Pros: Durable, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, easy to start
Cons: vibration resistant handle comes loose over time.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from SE Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very Difficult To Start

PostedApril 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am now 6 hours into a 2 hour job. If I were trying to make money with this saw, I would fail. This is the hardest 2 cycle engine I have ever worked with and I have owned about 5 other 2 cycle tools. I have about 15 minutes of cutting left. I have been trying to start this saw for the last hour. I walked away. Cuts well when it is running.
Pros: Powerful
Cons: Difficult to Use
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Fenton, MI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Bang For Your Buck

PostedApril 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this saw back in January, and have ran about 10 gallons of gas through it. Works great if you do not bear down on it, if you let the saw do the work it will keep up with many of the more expensive saws. If you are in need of more than just a little yard clean up then you will need to purchase a better chain. The one that comes with the saw is a safety chain that cut too slow for my liking. As long as you follow the start up instructions EVERY time then you will not have the problems many other people have. Most of the wood I have been cutting is red oak, white oak, and ash. Some of them have been 30-35 inches in diameter and this saw handled them just fine where as my boss's stihl (comparable size but way more money) bogged out several times.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store
 
Products related to my review
 
+14points
19out of 24found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>