728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chainsaws & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw

20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw

The PP5020AV Chainsaw is an excellent all around medium duty chainsaw ideal for general property management and firewood cutting. It features a 50 cc, 2-cycle engine with Super Clean air filter system, aluminum Professional style clutch cover for more durability, automatic gear driven oil pump, tool-less a ccess to the air filter and spark plug, reduced vibration handle with effortless pull starting system, a double post chain brake for added safety and an on-board locking wrench holder is built into the rear handle. 20 in. bar length. Fully assembled. Includes carry case. 2 year limited warranty.
Overall rating:
3.579 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(57 reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product39 of 54reviews
Rating Breakdown 57 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(27)
4
(10)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(15)
Features 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product39 of 54reviews
Customer reviews for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
Review 1 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Grand Rapids, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Saw for the Money

PostedMay 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a good value for a chainsaw.
Pros:
Decent power for cutting big logs.
Weight is not too bad for this price range
Cons:
This saw requires lots of TLC.
The air filter clip holds it in place but not very securely. When the filter starts getting clogged, dust will slip past the filter and enter the engine. Clean the filter after every hour of use or you will ruin the engine!
Lots of things to wear out. After the warranty runs out, expect to be taking it apart, cleaning and fixing things frequently. In my case, I fount the nuts holding the carburetor in place started coming loose all the time. The throttle-trigger linkage has a plastic part that wears out pretty quickly and needs to be replaced often.
The Off switch needs to be cleaned because it stops working when dust collects in it.
None of these are major repairs and can be easily performed DIY but the frequency of repairs is down right inconvenient!
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Wyoming
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Right price, good quality

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Have only used this saw for one session, but am already very impressed with the quality and features. Handles well, good power and very comfortable to use. Note- The spark plug cap was not properly attached when I first tried starting the saw. Make sure to give everything a once over before starting the first time. Will save you 10 minutes of frustration.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exceeds expectations

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm a country boy and couldn't live without my pickup and chainsaw. However, I'm not going to pay extra for just a name. I demand durability, and even though I hate plastic, I'll live with it if it brings the price down and still functions. But above all, I want a chainsaw that starts and runs when I need it. I bought the PP5020 because I also have a chainsaw called the "Wildthing" by the same company that I fell in love with it because it started well and was easy to maintain. Its big brother did not let me down! In fact, the PP5020 is even easier to start, I kid you not. In fact, the ease of starting kind of surprised me. I loved it!
You should read the manual or spend a few minutes studying the chainsaw before you try and start it. It is different than the "Wildthing." Another thing, the chain itself appears to be of a slightly higher quality than what I expected. I just downed a 80-100 foot Walnut, cleaned it up, and the chain is still really sharp! Does it have any drawbacks. Maybe. It burns gas quicker than my other chainsaws, but who cares. It runs and starts easily and is a lot more powerful. It definitely isn't afraid of work. It may also be too heavy for some small stature women to use. Many of my friends use the competitor's models, but we all chop down the same trees, and no one is cutting wood any faster than me. I have a collection of chainsaws, but this isn't a collector's piece; this one is a worker, a real keeper for the price.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful, starts easily
+35points
36out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Sedro Woolley, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Saw

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wore out my 20 year old Homelite after I moved to the country and starting cutting fire wood for the house, not just limbs for camping. I was looking for a saw that would break the bank at $500 plus, and tried this Poulan saw for under $200. Very impressed, of course it has more power than my old Home-lite, that is expected, but not overly powerfull as to be an intimidating beast. My 13 yr old son can operate it. I am very please with the small investment, and seems to fit the bill for a country home saw cutting about 1 chord of wood every two months. The travel case could use a little improving, storage for files, gloves, rags etc... I would recommend.
Pros: Durable, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from SE Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very Difficult To Start

PostedApril 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am now 6 hours into a 2 hour job. If I were trying to make money with this saw, I would fail. This is the hardest 2 cycle engine I have ever worked with and I have owned about 5 other 2 cycle tools. I have about 15 minutes of cutting left. I have been trying to start this saw for the last hour. I walked away. Cuts well when it is running.
Pros: Powerful
Cons: Difficult to Use
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Roanoke, AL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

UGOGIRL

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very pleased with my new chain saw. Would recommend to anyone.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Burlington, Vt.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Broke after 8 min. cutting 4" logs.

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After reading all the bad reviews on this Poulin machine, I decided to buy one based on price and frequency of use. (I deluded myself into thinking that if I was meticulous about setting it up per manufacturer's specs, that all would be well.)
I noted on my watch when 15 min. would be up so that I could re-adjust the chain per manufacturer's instructions, and started cutting.
After literally 8 min. of cutting 4 - 5" logs with no foliage, the chain came off, and bent a piece under the cover, so that I could not repair it or reset the chain.
To Home Depot's credit, I was able to return it to them with absolutely no problems.
I considered buying a good quality battery operated saw, but ultimately decided against it, as I have heard that battery life is poor.
Now the issue is, do I spend an additional $200 for a gas machine that I will use only a couple of times a year, or do I rent.
Pros: Cuts Well, Great Engine, Easy to Store
Cons: Not Durable, poor instruction manual
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Concord NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Chainsaw

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Runs great, cuts great, and is very easy to use. The only issue i have had with this chain saw is the chain tension, IT is NOT correct right out of the package. I checked it before my first cut out of the box and it looked and felt correct per instructions and the manual, however after the first tree was 99% complete cutting the chain came off and bent the "L shape" chain guard under the cover. it did this 4 more times while cutting and felling tree's......
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: chain tension
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw

Solid saw performs as advertised

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my 5th Poulan saw over the past 20 years. I have tried others but they don't start or don't cut straight like these do. The only problem is the vibration resistant handle ( caused by the US Government nanny state regulations) Check the springs and keep them tight; if they fall off they are impossible to find.
Pros: Durable, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, easy to start
Cons: vibration resistant handle comes loose over time.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Pueblo
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A gift my husband finally liked!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Buying this for my husband was the best gift he has gotten in a long time. He loved that it came in a case and had the oil and cover all in the case. Can't say how it works yet because he is out of town, but I wish I could share the look on his face when he opened his present! Priceless.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Cadillac, MI 49601, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I'm impressed!

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you follow the instructions for starting it starts up easily. The saw is well balanced and has plenty of power. The case is nice in that there is room inside for hearing protectors, gloves and safety glasses. The location for the chain oil is at an angle that makes it easy to fill.
Pros: Cuts Well, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Easy to Store
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Purcellville, Va.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awful saw

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used saws for 35 years and this Poulan simply does not run. I returned it the same day and bought an Echo instead. The Echo runs great and is worth the extra money.
Cons: Difficult to Use, doesn't run
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Wisconsin
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great!

PostedApril 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have never used a chainsaw before so I did my research and purchased this one. I lost 10-12 75'-100' trees over the winter so I was using this to saw those trees into logs and I did not drop any trees with it. I read the directions, bought the bar oil and immediately began sawing up logs anywhere from 6" diameter to 30". I had no problems. After about 15-20 minutes the chain needed to be tightened but the directions said this would occur. The chainsaw started after 5-7 pulls like instructions said it would and I was continually letting it idle or was turning it on/off as I was moving the logs around. No problems cuttting, no problems with it running/idling correctly. Great deal for the money and easy enough to use for a novice.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
+18points
22out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Sellersville, PA, USA

Great Saw For The Price

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had some storm damage and a few large branches to cut. The saw handled it fine. Had trouble starting at first but after a small adjustment ran great. Chain loosens a lot but was noted in manual and not a big deal. After one days use and 3 hours it was great.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Accurate, Easy to Store
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Wyoming, NY53
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overall, the saw is quite good. The chain lite a bit during the first few hours.

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good saw. Like its power. Uses quite a lot of bar oil(guess that's a good thing). Chain stretches quite a lot during the first few hours, resulting in the chain coming completely off the bar. I had to file the sprocket teeth to get the chain to fit back on the bar. Must watch for loosening for the first few hours!!
Pros: Powerful, Cuts Well
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Michigan
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Happy with purchase

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased a display model was a little worried about it. Gave it a try anyway after they said they would return it if I had any problems. Took a little to get it started but once I got it to idle it ran really well. Took out an apple tree and this saw didn't hardly break a sweat. Looked at stihls and huskys but couldn't justify the price, this price sold me, and so far I am happy.
Pros: Great Engine, Cuts Well, price
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Constantly Stalls

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hard to start, easy to flood the engine. Would not recommend. I'm holding onto it for when i have more patience but ended up buying another chainsaw (electric, corded) because of all the issues in this gas-powered model. Had other borrowed gas-fueled chain saws and they weren't as easy to stall or flood as this BRAND new ... would NOT recommend. The Pros - has a good storage container. When it DOES work and not stalling, it does have a good, powerful engine so perhaps mine is a dud.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Store
Cons: Difficult to Use, inconsistent operation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Grand Junction, CO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

this saw is a really good performing saw

PostedApril 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i bought this saw last week as a brush saw and a limbing remover. i also have a 455 rancher husqvarna 20'' bar, and 2 craftsman 20'' bar chain saws that ar 52ccs each. this saw out performed all of them it was better on gas and didn't heat up or bog down like my other saws and i was cutting 50 inch diameter logs.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Salisbury MD
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Save your hard earned money

PostedMay 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This saw worked the first time. The second time it would not start. Off to the repair shop for warranty work. No spark because a flywheel was out of tolerance. Got it stated easily and used it one more time. Third time, starts but stops as soon as the throttle is squeezed. Off to the repair shop. No more warranty and repair cost almost half the price of the saw. Cut my losses, placed forcefully into the trash. Don't buy! Save your money for a more reliable brand. I was warned and I did not listen because I just did not want to spend the extra $100. I wont make the same mistake twice.
Cons: Not Durable, unreliable, poor mechanical design, troublesome
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from San Ramon, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Price, Starting problems and needs too much TLC.

PostedMay 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought first one and immediately had starting problems after first 2 tanks. Returned it and got another one.
Second one did not start after first tank and then it started but the engine got locked and the chainsaw was not moving. (Break was not engaged). Went back to HomeDepot and got a replacement. Got the same one as there was no other 20 inch or bigger in stock.
Third time. Having major starting problems from beginning. I got more tired in starting the saw than doing the actual work. It was too much painful to start the saw. It was stopping on its own and thought to start again. This was the worst part. Will return it again.
Good thing about the saw is that it cuts very nicely but that is not worth the pain that I got starting it again and again.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, starting problems, high gas consumption, high bar and chain oil consumption
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>