728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chainsaws & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw

20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw

The PP5020AV Chainsaw is an excellent all around medium duty chainsaw ideal for general property management and firewood cutting. It features a 50 cc, 2-cycle engine with Super Clean air filter system, aluminum Professional style clutch cover for more durability, automatic gear driven oil pump, tool-less a ccess to the air filter and spark plug, reduced vibration handle with effortless pull starting system, a double post chain brake for added safety and an on-board locking wrench holder is built into the rear handle. 20 in. bar length. Fully assembled. Includes carry case. 2 year limited warranty.
Overall rating:
3.253 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(75 reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
62%of customersrecommend this product44 of 71reviews
Rating Breakdown 75 reviews
3.3 out of 5.0
5
(30)
4
(12)
3
(5)
2
(3)
1
(25)
Features 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
62%of customersrecommend this product44 of 71reviews
Customer reviews for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
Review 1 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Mesa AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

They Don't Make Them Like They Use To!

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I too have been using chainsaws over the last 30+ years. This saw defiantly needs TLC when in use. The saw is a little heavy for cuts above your shoulders. So use caution. The body to me feels a little cheap and loose. I believe the reason for this is to absorb the vibration of the saw. I too, had trouble getting the saw to run after a couple hours of use. Turns out that if you run out of bar chain oil, the saw shuts down or won’t start. Need to check the documentation to see if that is a true statement. Ever since this little discovery, I have been able to keep it running. It is a average chain saw for me. You get what you pay for i guess.
Any saw of substance, I would plan on paying 300+
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful, Great Engine, tool attach to chain saw, not very loud
Cons: tempermental, leaks a lot of bar oil, case is little big and boxy
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do not Buy!

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Made four trips to Town 50 Miles round trip.. Wished I had read the reviews first Pure PARC! Been around Chainsaws all my life.. Hard to start cold, won't start warm, wont idle must keep rpm up to keep running. Returned next day. Thought it was a bad saw - Nope the second one did the same thing too. The salesman said he had the same issues with this saw when he bought one.. He won't sell them and pushes the other brands. Wish I talked to him the first day.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable, Too Heavy
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from West Branch, MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great cutting saw

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had this saw since March of this year and have cut down about 20 trees with it and it just keeps going!!!! It's easy to start and maintain. Don't forget to get carb adjusted after the first few hours of use though!!. I cut nothing but hardwood with this saw and as long a you keep a sharp chain on it, it will do what it is supposed to do--CUT WOOD!! The price was right and it is made by Husqvarna.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Aurora, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Piece of Junk.

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have owned and used chainsaws for 35 years, In my youth I spent 2 years as a topper jack. When my 20 year old McCullogh finally wore out, I picked this up exchanged one and returned the second within 8 hours. It starts hard when cold, will not start when warm, tried one and the chain jumped , found the weak bar to have been deformed, exchanged it, only to find the same cold start issue (but at least it started eventually) then proceeded to spend the next 3 hours fighting warm starts, When I returned it, the sales associate said he would put it with the rest of them to be returned....Found that Husqvarna (they make Poulan) discontinued this model. Spend a little more and get the Echo,
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable, fails to start
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw

Not satisfied cannot recommend

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The saw cut nicely for the first 20 minutes or so with plenty of power but then became temperamental. After multiple trips this seems to be the standard. It does not start easily when warm and most annoying of all it leaks bar oil like a siv! Literally 4 x as fast as fuel consumption and makes a huge mess clogging itself. Have to clean repeatedly during cutting. Very tedious saw and doesn't feel durable in comparison to my other saws. I honestly could not recommend this product to anyone other than the home owner for very minor jobs.
Cons: brand new consumes oil and leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Garbage

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pure junk took it out of the box and it started, the next two times it took forever to get going, the last time it wouldn't start and I returned it.
Pros: has none
Cons: Difficult to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Grand Rapids, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Saw for the Money

PostedMay 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a good value for a chainsaw.
Pros:
Decent power for cutting big logs.
Weight is not too bad for this price range
Cons:
This saw requires lots of TLC.
The air filter clip holds it in place but not very securely. When the filter starts getting clogged, dust will slip past the filter and enter the engine. Clean the filter after every hour of use or you will ruin the engine!
Lots of things to wear out. After the warranty runs out, expect to be taking it apart, cleaning and fixing things frequently. In my case, I fount the nuts holding the carburetor in place started coming loose all the time. The throttle-trigger linkage has a plastic part that wears out pretty quickly and needs to be replaced often.
The Off switch needs to be cleaned because it stops working when dust collects in it.
None of these are major repairs and can be easily performed DIY but the frequency of repairs is down right inconvenient!
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
Cons: Not Durable
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Sellerville, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Disappointed- Beware

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this after I did some research on reviews of this model and make. Seemed to be a good value at the price. I just needed to cut some branches of a tree that fell and have one handy should I come across from free wood. Initially it was a little hard to start, but got it going and worked well. Used it for about 4 hours at first. Used it again a few weeks later and hard to start. Finally got started and worked well, but stalled while using that day. Decided to call it a day. A few weeks later drained gas out and added new gas. Hard to start again and got it running. Did not cut that day. Two days later son was using and again hard to start but once it did ran well. Only 15 minutes into cutting engine cuts out and could not restart. A week later changed out gas again and could not start. Engine kept flooding. Finally got started but would only run on no choke. Once you revved it up after warm up it will not idle and stalls out. Time for service. Not many authorized repair dealers close by and the ones listed on their website some no longer deal with Poulan. I would not recommend this to anyone.
Pros: Cuts Well, Powerful
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Bailey Colorado
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Buyer Beware

PostedNovember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just bought this machine today. Fresh gas and Oil were added, it started up with the choke on but WOULD NOT run with choke off at all. Let it warm up for 15 minutes with choke on half, as soon as I turn choke off machine stalls. This product has inherent carburetor issues.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Maryland
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

DO NOT BUY

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Only used two times for a total of maybe 30 minutes and then wouldnt start. Took back to Home Depot and they had to send it off for repair. When they called me back they said the piston and seal were bad and it wasnt covered under manufacturers warranty. How is that possible with something 2 months old? So now i have to wait until the first year is up and the Home Depot warranty kicks in to take it back and get some resolution. In the mean time i have to buy another chainsaw because this one is GARBAGE.
Cons: Not Durable, Too Heavy, Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Wyoming
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Right price, good quality

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Have only used this saw for one session, but am already very impressed with the quality and features. Handles well, good power and very comfortable to use. Note- The spark plug cap was not properly attached when I first tried starting the saw. Make sure to give everything a once over before starting the first time. Will save you 10 minutes of frustration.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw

Parts?

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Went to two stores, neither carry the replacement cutting chain. I'm giving up on buying anything from HD.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw

Chain Saw

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used chain saw twice and it worked great. Third time and after it wouldn't start. Had to change plug and clean saw ,new gas and cleaned. Still no improvement. Very disappointed.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exceeds expectations

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm a country boy and couldn't live without my pickup and chainsaw. However, I'm not going to pay extra for just a name. I demand durability, and even though I hate plastic, I'll live with it if it brings the price down and still functions. But above all, I want a chainsaw that starts and runs when I need it. I bought the PP5020 because I also have a chainsaw called the "Wildthing" by the same company that I fell in love with it because it started well and was easy to maintain. Its big brother did not let me down! In fact, the PP5020 is even easier to start, I kid you not. In fact, the ease of starting kind of surprised me. I loved it!
You should read the manual or spend a few minutes studying the chainsaw before you try and start it. It is different than the "Wildthing." Another thing, the chain itself appears to be of a slightly higher quality than what I expected. I just downed a 80-100 foot Walnut, cleaned it up, and the chain is still really sharp! Does it have any drawbacks. Maybe. It burns gas quicker than my other chainsaws, but who cares. It runs and starts easily and is a lot more powerful. It definitely isn't afraid of work. It may also be too heavy for some small stature women to use. Many of my friends use the competitor's models, but we all chop down the same trees, and no one is cutting wood any faster than me. I have a collection of chainsaws, but this isn't a collector's piece; this one is a worker, a real keeper for the price.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful, starts easily
+38points
39out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Chesterfield, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far a good saw for the money, 1/2 or less that Stihl, huskvarna or Echo

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a pretty big project ahead of me but a friend brought over a 55' lift and topped 3 big oaks, a small one and a hickory with this saw. About 3 days later and they are all limbed and cut up. So far this saw has been flawless. It starts cold, hot and no problems with cutting off like I have read. I just finished up a gallon of mixed fuel and not one hiccup. Some of these trees are 24 " or more in diameter and every few tanks of gas I touched up the chain to keep it sharp and cutting at it's prime. It has plenty of power and made short order of this tall project. The only thing is for limbing it is heavy but I needed a bigger powerful saw to do the job so that's the breaks. If you plan to do a lot of limbing get the smallest saw you can in addition to this one for that since it will be light. the only reason I did not give it all excellent ratings is I have not had it long enough and used it enough to see how it will hold up. I have been using chainsaws on and off for over 40 years and I can't think of one bad thing to say about this one. So far it has been great and none of the issues I read about. Also wanted to add, it is the best value I could find anywhere. Echo was double the price and Sthil and Huskvarna were more than double. I am sure they are better saws but I did not want to spend that much to get it.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful, Great Engine
Cons: none yet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Wisconsin
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great!

PostedApril 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have never used a chainsaw before so I did my research and purchased this one. I lost 10-12 75'-100' trees over the winter so I was using this to saw those trees into logs and I did not drop any trees with it. I read the directions, bought the bar oil and immediately began sawing up logs anywhere from 6" diameter to 30". I had no problems. After about 15-20 minutes the chain needed to be tightened but the directions said this would occur. The chainsaw started after 5-7 pulls like instructions said it would and I was continually letting it idle or was turning it on/off as I was moving the logs around. No problems cuttting, no problems with it running/idling correctly. Great deal for the money and easy enough to use for a novice.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
+18points
22out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Burlington, Vt.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Broke after 8 min. cutting 4" logs.

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After reading all the bad reviews on this Poulin machine, I decided to buy one based on price and frequency of use. (I deluded myself into thinking that if I was meticulous about setting it up per manufacturer's specs, that all would be well.)
I noted on my watch when 15 min. would be up so that I could re-adjust the chain per manufacturer's instructions, and started cutting.
After literally 8 min. of cutting 4 - 5" logs with no foliage, the chain came off, and bent a piece under the cover, so that I could not repair it or reset the chain.
To Home Depot's credit, I was able to return it to them with absolutely no problems.
I considered buying a good quality battery operated saw, but ultimately decided against it, as I have heard that battery life is poor.
Now the issue is, do I spend an additional $200 for a gas machine that I will use only a couple of times a year, or do I rent.
Pros: Cuts Well, Great Engine, Easy to Store
Cons: Not Durable, poor instruction manual
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from Cadillac, MI 49601, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I'm impressed!

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you follow the instructions for starting it starts up easily. The saw is well balanced and has plenty of power. The case is nice in that there is room inside for hearing protectors, gloves and safety glasses. The location for the chain oil is at an angle that makes it easy to fill.
Pros: Cuts Well, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Easy to Store
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from woodbridge nj
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

junk king of junk

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
2 cycle engines start easy when warm
this junk dont start warm or cold
engine is the worst iv seen
used homelite for 25 yrs this dont hold a candle to it
Pros: junk
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable, Too Heavy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20 in. 50 cc Gas Chainsaw
from SE Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very Difficult To Start

PostedApril 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am now 6 hours into a 2 hour job. If I were trying to make money with this saw, I would fail. This is the hardest 2 cycle engine I have ever worked with and I have owned about 5 other 2 cycle tools. I have about 15 minutes of cutting left. I have been trying to start this saw for the last hour. I walked away. Cuts well when it is running.
Pros: Powerful
Cons: Difficult to Use
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>