728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscape & Deck Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Square Plastic Solar LED Pathway Light (6-Pack)

Square Plastic Solar LED Pathway Light (6-Pack)

The Hampton Bay Square Plastic Solar LED Pathway Light (6-pack) is a set of square solar pathway lights with an elegant fluted lens that provides a beautiful lighting effect on your pathway. Enhance your home by adding charm and elegance and also increasing your safety in evening settings. Since the Pathway Lights are solar powered, you can use them anywhere the sun shines on the unit; just stake into the ground (all parts included).
Overall rating:
4.141 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(71 reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product56 of 66reviews
Rating Breakdown 71 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(40)
4
(15)
3
(7)
2
(4)
1
(5)
Appearance 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product56 of 66reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for Square Plastic Solar LED Pathway Light (6-Pack)
Review 1 for Square Plastic Solar LED Pathway Light (6-Pack)
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very easy to install...looks great!

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was a bit sceptical, but these lights are great. They stay on all night and were a snap to install. Planning on purchasing a few more sets for the rest of my yard.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Stylish, Well Made, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Square Plastic Solar LED Pathway Light (6-Pack)
from Erie, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Second set The first set ran all winter !

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These are the best i have used
They are bright and run a long time after dark
most other brands use 1 battery these use 2 two and
run much longer
Pros: Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Square Plastic Solar LED Pathway Light (6-Pack)
from NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for outside the house!

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
spruces up the garden making it feel enchanted with its soft glow.
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Eco-Friendly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Square Plastic Solar LED Pathway Light (6-Pack)
from Montgomery Alabama
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Much sunshine required.

PostedApril 18, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Be advised that a day or more without sun is a night without lighted paths. Do not locate this item in a location without lots of sunshine. Be careful handling as the plastic is thin and easily cracked.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great
Cons: easily cracked
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Square Plastic Solar LED Pathway Light (6-Pack)
from Burlington, WA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great lights

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought my first set last night. These lights were easy to set up and when I went to check on them later on (when it got dark), the lights were surprisingly bright! I actually went out and bought another set for the other side of my back yard and am planning on buying a third set for my front yard! :)
Very happy with my purchase...so far.
Also, very easy to assemble. Assembly consisted of putting the stakes on and taking out the battery tag on each.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Square Plastic Solar LED Pathway Light (6-Pack)
from Oakland, CA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value for solar lights

PostedApril 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We recently purchased a house and our back patio is fenced in and needed something to quick light it up. We nearly killed ourselves a few times over some steps or trying to unlock the back door in pitch darkness. These were on sale, and reviews were reasonably good. A couple important parts are having enough light to make it not pitch black, and enough lights (inexpensively enough) that we could light up important areas. And since we needed lights relatively quickly, using a full wired lights wasn't an option.
These fit the bill perfectly. They're fairly bright (for solar lights). They last well into the evening. (6 hours is more than enough, but most of them run all night if they've been in the direct sun.) Any of them in the direct sun for one day will last a few days after that if it's super cloudy. They're reasonably built. Like most solar lights, they're just plastic, but none of them broke on me. The stake sometimes sticks in the ground if you're moving them around, but it's easy enough to remedy.
The batteries they use is a standard AA battery. They're a low-capacity NiMH (350 mAh). If charged to capacity, they're run for a couple nights even without directly sunlight. (We have a couple areas that don't get a lot of direct sunlight, but they're still run a couple nights even if they don't.)
That said, they are solar lights. They run about as well as can be expected under various conditions. Of course they work best when they get lots of direct sunlight. On very cloudy/rainy days, only the ones that are in direct sun are on at all. (I suspect, they were fully charged a previous day and were running on a long charge.) The batteries are sized at a mere 350 mAh, which honestly will run for about 17 hours when fully charged, or about two evenings, so even if you have one very cloudy day, they'll still operate for another day or two. Most of the lights that are reasonably in direct sunlight for even a couple hours run well into the night. Surprisingly, even lights that get very little direct sunlight, if it's sunny out, they'll still run for a few hours even if they almost never get direct sunlight. (We have an area that's covered that is pitch black, but placing the lights near the outskirts of it will get some light for charging, even if it's relatively indirect.)
You could theoretically install bigger batteries on them to get more life out of them. (AA batteries can store 2000-2800 mAh, which would be enough to run a week in the dark.) I sometimes swap the ones in the direct sun for those in the shade, and I'll get a few days of run time out of them. A combination of that and a bigger battery and theoretically you could get a near month of run time out of them even in a relatively shady area. (I'm going to try that out and see!)
Oh and the instructions recommended putting them in the direct sun for 12 hours. We just put the AA batteries in a charger and fully charged them as it did the same thing.
Overall, I'm pretty happy with them. Our patio is no longer pitch black. Quite the opposite, our path is finally lit and we have yet to trip over anything. Highly recommend them. They're not going to be as bright as wired lights, but since they're relatively inexpensive, stock up on them and use a bunch. We got two six packs (12 total) and that met most of our needs quite well.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, bright for solar lights, very quick to install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Square Plastic Solar LED Pathway Light (6-Pack)

Fantastic Lights!

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
these lights were a fantastic accessory to my yard they are not too bright, easy to install. Although these solar lights di not hold power for long even in direct sunlight 12 hrs or so.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Square Plastic Solar LED Pathway Light (6-Pack)
from Rhode Island
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It keep falling off easily, ....Such a waste of money...very disappointing.

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It keep falling off easily, ....Such a waste of money...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Square Plastic Solar LED Pathway Light (6-Pack)
from Orange County , Ca
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

There ok

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
They are just ok. They were easy to put together but once you put the stake in the ground first, as direction said to, the plastic part that slides onto the stake was flimsy and cracked or broke . I will not purchase this type ever again and would not recommend to others.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright
Cons: break easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Square Plastic Solar LED Pathway Light (6-Pack)
from Fort Collins, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

What a difference

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After an extensive online search, we at the Shambhala Mountain Center decided to go with your Hampton Bay "pagoda style" solar pathway light to illuminate the grounds and trails leading up to our monument for world peace, "The Great Stupa of Dharmakaya". The lights are in the ground now (all 200 of them!), and we are very pleased with the result. These fixtures have a nice "Zen garden" look to them, they switch on promptly at dusk, and they cast a warm, diffused light that's not overpowering. Plus the installation was super easy. We also gave the stupa a fresh coat of paint using about 50 gallons of Behr "Marquee" Exterior Satin Enamel (Ultra Pure White). This is a NICE paint with excellent hiding and a smooth, durable finish. Looks just gorgeous...thanks HD!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Unique, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, warm led lighting, low cost with quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Square Plastic Solar LED Pathway Light (6-Pack)
from Beach Park, IL, USA

The reviews don't lie, a must buy!

PostedApril 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am so glad I read the reviews before purchasing! I almost got the more expense lights and am so stoked I didn't! These are bright, easy and actually look pretty great! I just bought my first home and there are NO lights in the backyard. Pretty scary for a girl and her have-to-go-potty-all-the-time dog. I couldn't see the steps when I went to take her out at night and it was pretty hairy.
I got these in the ground sometime after 6PM and it was overcast and dusk. To my complete surprise, come 8 PM, ALL OF them were on and super bright!!!
I'm picking up more today. I honestly could not be happier.
While plastic, they actually look quite good, ESPECIALLY at night. I mean really great at night. They're super white and sparkle nicely.
I couldn't ask for a better product at a better price.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Square Plastic Solar LED Pathway Light (6-Pack)
from Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wonderful

PostedMarch 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased the solar lights because I will be going out of town soon and wanted there to be light in my front yard. I have a beautiful candelabra light fixture at my front door/porch that has to be turned on when I return home from work. I tried not to turn it on as soon as I get home don't want anyone being able to guess my comings and goings. It took virtually no time to put these solar lights in the ground after using a screwdriver to dig a small opening for them. As night was about to fall I turned on the candelabra light but the solar lights weren't lite I thought until I decided to turn off the candelabra light and my solar lights were glowing they are so cute and the output of light was much more than I expected I am very pleased with my purchase. Also they seem to give out light for more than the expected 8 hours listed on the box.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright
+23points
26out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Square Plastic Solar LED Pathway Light (6-Pack)
from Oklahoma city
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very great solar light

PostedMay 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These are excellent light. We had storms and cloudy days. They lite up every night during the storms.
Very easy to install, if you install the little base first. Also make a small hole in the ground first.
We bought 3 sets
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Square Plastic Solar LED Pathway Light (6-Pack)
from texas
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

i needed path lights

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I wanted path lights and they work no other comment
Pros: Functional
Cons: Appearance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Square Plastic Solar LED Pathway Light (6-Pack)
from perry ga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cute Lights

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I did not know that they use batteries. I realized batteries was needed when pulling the slip of paper off. The lights work perfectly and I love them.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: battery use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Square Plastic Solar LED Pathway Light (6-Pack)
from New York
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice lights

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Nice lights. Sometimes they go out but all you have to do is remove the top and reposition the battery. Thus, 4 stars out of 5. Can't beat the price. Got them on clearance!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright
Cons: sometimes won't light
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Square Plastic Solar LED Pathway Light (6-Pack)
from Lithia Springs, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Impressed!

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had purchased a cheap set of solar lights about 3 years ago and that is about how long they lasted. Had thought of purchasing a more expensive set until I found these. They work great! Much brighter than expected and stay on longer after a charge than expected. Bought 12 and went back to purchase 12 more. HIghly recommended!!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Very Bright
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Square Plastic Solar LED Pathway Light (6-Pack)
from Morro Bay, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

these lights were superior to more expensive lights

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great solar lights very bright and excellent price!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Square Plastic Solar LED Pathway Light (6-Pack)
from Downey
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can't Be Beat!

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought 3 sets for the back yard to replace Low Voltage lights. Tried 1 light first, to see if the wife liked them. She said the head of the light looked "kinda small" but said it was more than bright enough. When I put in all 3 sets (only took about 15 minutes) I put the lights in with a top corner facing the yard. It makes the lights look bigger, and the wife loves them!
I've had them in for 2 weeks, and am very happy with them! They seem to come on about 7:30 pm, and the third day I had them, I was up about 6 am, and the lights were still on!
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Square Plastic Solar LED Pathway Light (6-Pack)
from Peachtree City, Ga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wouldn't buy again

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Made of plastic. Fall over easily in ground and sometimes they worked and sometimes they didn't work. Had to return them and purchased metal ones in their place that work nicely.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>