728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Fireplace Accessories or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Home>

Customer reviews for Standard Barrel Stove Kit

Standard Barrel Stove Kit

The Bk100E is an all-inclusive kit containing everything you need to convert a 36 or 55 gal. steel drum into a stove. Kit Contains Legs, Door, Flue Collar with Damper and all mounting hardware. The BSK1000 is perfect for a rustic cabin, pole barn or workshop. Simply put, this is the most basic stove you can buy.
Overall rating:
4.3 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product9 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(5)
4
(3)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product9 of 9reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Standard Barrel Stove Kit
Review 1 for Standard Barrel Stove Kit
from Waterdown, Hamilton, ON L0R, Canada
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This barrel stove kit more than met my expectations.

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I set this barrel stove up to make maple syrup. I cut the top out of the barrel to accommodate the sap pan. The sections of the barrel I cut out, I split in two and attached along each side of the barrel to make a channel to hold the gasket to seal the bottom of the pane to the barrel. I used long strips of fiberglass insulation that I wrapped in tin foil, to keep this simple gasket from melting. So far it is working great and we have boiled down about four gallons worth of syrup.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Shape, handles the heat well.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Standard Barrel Stove Kit
from TN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

works great

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
i bought a double barrel kit. works great. took some time to get everything assembled straight. I have built a block building outside my 2800 sf house and taped into the duck work to heat my house. T
he kit doesn't let enough air in, so i opened the 3" port on the btm of the btm barrel and it works great. this way you don't need to leave the door cracked.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Standard Barrel Stove Kit
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple and effective

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am using this for a double barrel smoker and it was easy to install and works great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Seals Well
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Standard Barrel Stove Kit
from C?S, CO.
Gender:Male

By far the best kit out there.

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've built 3 stoves for different shops and this is the easiest, most virsetile and best built kit going. Maybe higher then the others but $ well spent.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Standard Barrel Stove Kit

It does its purpose

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I built a double barrel smoker with the kit and its adaptor kit. The door is heavy duty and I am pleased with it. There is not enough air getting through to the fire so a lot of the time I have to leave the door opened. The stands are ok at best. They could have engineered a better stand product with a little more time/care. Otherwise, this is a decent kit without fabricating one homemade.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Standard Barrel Stove Kit

Quality as expected

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The fit of the legs was disappointing, but everything else worked well enough. Very poor quality hardware, as to be expected. The overall result is wonderful and was overall a relatively simple project for amateurs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Standard Barrel Stove Kit

works well.

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For the price, it creates a great stove. I actually used it to create a maple sap evaporator. The ball on the handle could use some improvement. I had to replace the bolt after the one sent me stripped out.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Standard Barrel Stove Kit

Good for the price.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
One of the stands was broken when arrived. Other than that I think it is a good product.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Standard Barrel Stove Kit
from Emmett, ID 83617, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to use kit took less then 15 minutes to complete.The handle on the door latch is the only thing that wasnt up to par and broke before I could even get the paint burned off of the barrel.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: door latch handle cheaply designed
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Standard Barrel Stove Kit

works well

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Bought for a smokehouse works well for that. The door has to be left open a bit ( 1/2 to 1 3/4 in) to get a good draft. The kits hardware was missing,more annoying than expensive.
Pros: Sturdy, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.