728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Standard Barrel Stove Kit

Standard Barrel Stove Kit

The Bk100E is an all-inclusive kit containing everything you need to convert a 36 or 55 gal. steel drum into a stove. Kit Contains Legs, Door, Flue Collar with Damper and all mounting hardware. The BSK1000 is perfect for a rustic cabin, pole barn or workshop. Simply put, this is the most basic stove you can buy.
Overall rating:
4.222 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product8 of 8reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(4)
4
(3)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product8 of 8reviews
Customer reviews for Standard Barrel Stove Kit
Review 1 for Standard Barrel Stove Kit
from Waterdown, Hamilton, ON L0R, Canada
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This barrel stove kit more than met my expectations.

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I set this barrel stove up to make maple syrup. I cut the top out of the barrel to accommodate the sap pan. The sections of the barrel I cut out, I split in two and attached along each side of the barrel to make a channel to hold the gasket to seal the bottom of the pane to the barrel. I used long strips of fiberglass insulation that I wrapped in tin foil, to keep this simple gasket from melting. So far it is working great and we have boiled down about four gallons worth of syrup.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Shape, handles the heat well.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Standard Barrel Stove Kit
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple and effective

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am using this for a double barrel smoker and it was easy to install and works great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Seals Well
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Standard Barrel Stove Kit

It does its purpose

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I built a double barrel smoker with the kit and its adaptor kit. The door is heavy duty and I am pleased with it. There is not enough air getting through to the fire so a lot of the time I have to leave the door opened. The stands are ok at best. They could have engineered a better stand product with a little more time/care. Otherwise, this is a decent kit without fabricating one homemade.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Standard Barrel Stove Kit
from C?S, CO.
Gender:Male

By far the best kit out there.

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've built 3 stoves for different shops and this is the easiest, most virsetile and best built kit going. Maybe higher then the others but $ well spent.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Standard Barrel Stove Kit

Quality as expected

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The fit of the legs was disappointing, but everything else worked well enough. Very poor quality hardware, as to be expected. The overall result is wonderful and was overall a relatively simple project for amateurs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Standard Barrel Stove Kit

Good for the price.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
One of the stands was broken when arrived. Other than that I think it is a good product.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Standard Barrel Stove Kit

works well.

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For the price, it creates a great stove. I actually used it to create a maple sap evaporator. The ball on the handle could use some improvement. I had to replace the bolt after the one sent me stripped out.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Standard Barrel Stove Kit
from Emmett, ID 83617, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to use kit took less then 15 minutes to complete.The handle on the door latch is the only thing that wasnt up to par and broke before I could even get the paint burned off of the barrel.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: door latch handle cheaply designed
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Standard Barrel Stove Kit

works well

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Bought for a smokehouse works well for that. The door has to be left open a bit ( 1/2 to 1 3/4 in) to get a good draft. The kits hardware was missing,more annoying than expensive.
Pros: Sturdy, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.