728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Vacuums or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum

Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum

The Shark Rotator Professional Lift-Away is a powerful never loses suction upright vacuum that features a unique detachable and portable canister that lifts away for effortless cleaning in and around the home. The extra large capacity dust cup and Anti-Allergen Complete Seal Technology traps over 99.9% of dust and allergens inside the vacuum. Enhanced swivel steering provides the ultimate control to get in and around obstacles, furniture, ultra-quiet technology allows for operation anywhere, anytime. The powerful motorized brush roll can be turned on or off, providing superior performance on both carpets and bare floors. Includes a range of tools.
Overall rating:
4.742 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product30 of 31reviews
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(26)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Features 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product30 of 31reviews
Customer reviews for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
Review 1 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
BESTvac
from Rock Hill, South Carolina
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Better than ANY I'VE EVER OWNED!!!

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've owned several vacs over the years and even tried my moms Kirby and my sisters Rainbow. Vaccumed my floor with the what was explained to me as the best vac ever made and then came right behind that one with my new Shark and hands down this vaccum picked what the water based rainbow left behind. I should've youtubed the whole ordeal. I would recommend this vaccum to anyone that does not have an extra $600 for the Dyson or upwards of $2500 for the rainbow.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
Ccgrendel
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Weekly

Much better than expected

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Our old vacuum broke and with two dogs in the house we needed a replacement immediately and within our budget. Like everyone else I want the Dyson but it was just too expensive. We were skeptical of the Shark but it had great reviews and more importantly was within our budget. We left the store saying "if we don't like the Shark we'll ask for the Dyson for Christmas and the Shark just has to get us through a few months."
Well after one use we realized a Dyson would have been a complete waste of money! It pulled more dirt and dog hair out of a 10x10 area than my old vacuum pulled out of the whole house, and I swear it out-performed my mothers Dyson. For performance this vacuum is the best.
Assembly was simple and intuitive. I love that the head can reach under my sofa, bed and toe-kicks. But the power button is in an awkward location; it's not on the handle where I'd expect it to be, it's on the body of the vacuum and looks much like the release buttons for the wand and canister. The accessories are great but have an awkward connection to the wand- great for reaching up high but can't really maneuver around furniture. Over time I am sure I will adapt to these minor inconveniences.
It is quiet as far as vacuums go and the canister is easy to empty. Because this vacuum is so effective I have to empty the canister frequently but I view that as making progress towards cleanliness! It's lighter than my previous vacuum so I can get it up and down stairs just fine.
I would definitely recommend this vacuum and I'm glad I ended up with the Shark Rotator Pro!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
redwitch
from Jackson NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Best vacuum EVER!

PostedMay 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this vacuum based on a glowing review by Consumer Reports Shop Smart magazine. It is the best one I have ever owned! It came with every attachment you could imagine, was a snap to put together, literally, and it works great. Emptying the dirt cup is really easy. It swivels, has a powerful beater brush, which turns on and off, and it's quieter than my previous vacuums. It works as an upright, canister, or lift-off. It also has a nice long cord. The only things I would change are to add an edger and make the 'power' button a different color. It has quite a few buttons for the attachments and finding this one quickly would be easier if they weren't all the same. Otherwise, I couldn't be happier with it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Self-Propelled, Nice Design
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
Colorow
from California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

It's amazing how much dirt and pet hair the new shark removes from my old carpet

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This vacuum does a fantastic job on my carpet. I have not had a chance to use all of the features or attachments,but attachments seem a bit clumsy.
Pros: Easy to Clean, High Quality, very strong vacuum
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
Laura
from Florida, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

Excellent Vacuum

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We recently purchased this product to replace a Dyson that we'd had for 7 years. I was surprised at how well the Shark did in comparison with the Dyson. We had just vacuumed the day before with the Dyson and it was amazing how much this vacuum picked up. Although it has a smaller vacuum head, it is much quieter and seems to pick up a lot more dirt. I would recommend this vacuum to anyone looking for a new vacuum. At half the price of a Dyson, it's worth the money!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Quiet
Cons: smaller vacuum had than a dyson
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
Doug
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

NV501 Great idea, works well, top heavy small dust cup

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The shark NV501 was pitted against a Dyson DC14 Animal hair (Purple), older model before the ball. Vacuumed a room with Dyson, immediately followed by the shark and pulled a large wad of pet fur and ground in dust/dirt/sand. It looked like it pulled a lot, but the placement of the tall foam filter significantly reduces the capacity of the dust bin.
We bought the optional caddy, not worth the money, but is useful to convert it to a true and useful canister. The motor is too heavy to carry around for most applications and is not stable when the want is used to get into tighter spaces and further away from the base without the caddy. The same issue as with the Dyson - too many tools and not enough places to store them in the unit. Also some interesting tools, but not necessarily as multi-function as they would have us believe. The tools for other vacuums will not fit, because of the non-standard size hoses. The optional access tools are also well overpriced and if all are purchased, will more than double the price of the unit.
They claim the unit is quiet, but it is still a shrill high pitched whine. If used for a prolonged period, may give a headache. It is practically self propelled, when using the beater brushes, and cleans more on the return portion of the stroke as it lifts the carpet pile or knap. When brushes are turned off, it doesn't pick up gravel and sand off variable height tile floors, when turned on, it sprays the dirt forward, like many other vacuums. The tools and unit do not adjust to variable height flooring.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter, Self-Propelled
Cons: Dust Chamber, Unbalanced
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
DogcrazyMama
from California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

The Best Ever!

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I couldn't be more pleased with this vacuum. It was easy to assemble, has no parts that are going to fall off by themselves when you remove a tool, is maneuverable beyond belief-under tables, in between chairs and small areas, there's no need to adjust from carpet depth to floors or throw rugs, and it is the BEST dog hair vacuum I have ever owned! I have two golden retrievers! You won't spend a fortune on filters either, because they are washable. The suction is incredible and the vacuum cuts down on cleaning time because it is so efficient. You won't be sorry if you purchase this vacuum.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, easy to accemble in minutes
+29points
32out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
Pkmn
from Minnesota
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

So glad I picked this vacuum!!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was really looking at spending more on a Dyson - but SO glad I picked the Shark! It is a wonderful Vacuum at an affordable cost! Works so well- and I have 3 dogs in the house - I will never buy anything else! I am sold on this vacuum!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
ABCDiaz
from Anaheim, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Best Vacuum ever!

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this vacuum. It is easy to use, comes with a bunch of attachments, and is easy to use on stairs. It has similar technology to the Dyson ball but is actually affordable. It's also nice that it is bagless. Highly recommended. You will not be sorry.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
becka
from Vermont, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Lots of attachments, great suction and very versatile!

PostedJune 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had been considering purchasing a much more expensive vacuum because we have a dog who sheds a lot. But after reading the reviews for this vacuum cleaner, we decided to order it online from the Home Depot. We love the versatility of the canister/upright/roller options and the suction is great! There are many tools that help in a variety of situations. I also really like the pivoting head on the upright. The only downside was that there is one more tool than there is a location to store it on either the vacuum canister itself or on the rolling caddy, but it is not too big a deal, as we leave the vacuum as an upright most of the time for storing. Also, the vacuum seems to be pretty quite. We previously had a smaller apartment sized canister vacuum that our dog would always run away from when it was turned on (presumably from the loud noise). Our dog has not done that with this vacuum.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design, versatile
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
bunkyj62

Best vacuum I have ever owned!

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After doing a lot of research, I bought this vacuum and I can't believe how well it works! I have had 2 high-end vacuums in the past and this one works better than either of those. I have a black lab dog and shedding is a problem so I wanted a vacuum to pick up dog hair and this is it! I have stairs so the lift-off was essential so keep that in mind if you have stairs.
Pros: Lots of Features, High Quality
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
Carbide
from Jacksonville, IL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Rotator lifts nothing away!!

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have nothing but hardwood floors throughout my house and have been having a hard time finding a vacuum that will pick up dirt and pet hair. I checked many reviews and decided on the Shark Rotator Lift Away because of all of the added attachments and the fact that it converts to a canister vac that could be easily used on my staircase. I put it together and plugged it in then fired it up. I ran over pet hair and the hair remained in the same spot untouched. I went over other pieces of pet hair over and over and the vac never picked it up. The easy stering was not so easy on the slick hardwood. The hard plastic wheels just scooted across the floor whenever I tried to turn it. I had to pull a wand out every time I wanted to vac along the edges of the floor next to the walls. I have no idea how well the vac works on carpeting because I have none. But definitely not a hard floor vac. I opted for ordering a Bissell Poweredge online for $50.00. The Poweredge works amazingly well and picks up what the Shark Rotator would leave behind in half the time because it is small and light and easy to handle.
Pros: Lots of Features
Cons: Suction, Performance
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
Jd25
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great purchase

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Could not be happier with this. Much better than my moms dyson
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Self-Propelled, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
Carol
from Vermont
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

This vacuum works better than any others I have owned.

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I would buy this vacuum again. The suction is great and you have to hold on to it on carpet as it takes off on it's own if you are not careful.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Self-Propelled, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
phoneybadger

Observations about the weight listed in the specs and noise levels...

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The weight given in the specs is 19-something #, but that must include all attachments. Placed the Shark on the scale as it would be configured for floor vacuuming, and it weighed 15.5 pounds, which actually had a full dirt canister, come to think of it. Wanted to compare it to our old Bissell "Pet Hair Pulverizer" (or whatever they call it), which seemed as heavy as my mother's Kirby, Bissell tipped the scale at a hefty 22.5#. The pet hair tool on the Bissell was better, and very effective removing fur from the stair carpets, but the Shark is so light and nimble that we keep it assembled and vacuum the stair treads easily and in less time.
Could not accurately compare sound pressure levels, but the Bissell's whine feels like an assault in the category of Rosanne Barr singing the National Anthem over loudspeaker. To experience about the same sound pressure as the Shark, one needs to stand about 12 feet away from the Bissell while in carpet sweeping operation.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Quiet, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Lots of Features
Cons: pet hair tool
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
Mindy

Great Vacuum Cleaner

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are very happy with this purchase. It sucks much better than our old vacuum cleaner.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: Noisy, cord is not rectructible
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
ChefHolt
from Rome GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great vacuum!

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Vacuum works very well. I would buy this vacuum again.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Self-Propelled, Nice Design
Cons: picks up so much i wish the chamber was larger.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
Bigbassdrum50
from St. Louis Mo.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Daily

Move over Dyson

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an addendum to what I wrote earlier. Mr. Dyson now has a TV ad pitching his cordless battery powered vac against the Shark rotator. Only down item that Mr. Dyson brings to bare is, THE SHARK HAS A CORD!....So what? It still saves you about $250 compared to Mr. Dyson's Cordless vac and his doesn't have the power this Rotator Vacuum by Shark has. No comparison Mr. Dyson...read it and weep.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
Vacmansam
from Logan, UT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

excellent value, powerful suction, very maneuverable

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this vacuum sucked out a canister full of dog hair and fine sand trapped in our carpet which had just been covered by our former upright vacuum. I had seen an infomercial, was intrigued, and convinced to purchase from the numerous five-star ratings like I am currently writing. It is everything the shark claimed to be. Highest recommendation...making cleaning a pleasure!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
1026
from Woburn, MA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Seems heavy. Not used to uprights.

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Seems to clean well. Have been away and need more time with it. Pulls hard with brush mode on.
Pros: Looks Great, Strong Suction, Lots of Features
Cons: Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>