728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Vacuums or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum

Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum

This Never Loses Suction upright vacuum features 3 vacs in one! (1)A powerful upright, (2)a Lift-Away pod for portable cleaning and (3)a convenient canister vacuum. The extra large capacity dustcup and Anti-Allergen Complete Seal + HEPA traps over 99.99% of dust and allergens inside the vacuum. Enhanced swivel steering provides the ultimate control to get in and around obstacles and furniture and ultra quiet technology allows for operation anywhere, anytime. The premium Rotator power nozzle come with headlights and a brushroll shutoff, providing superior performance on both carpets and bare floors. Includes a premium pet power brush, flexible crevice tool, canister caddy, straight suction nozzle, and a premium multi-angle tool for versatile cleaning throughout the home. An extra long 30 ft. long power cord provides maximum range for cleaning large spaces quickly and easily.
Overall rating:
4.596 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(57 reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product53 of 57reviews
Rating Breakdown 57 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(46)
4
(6)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Features 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product53 of 57reviews
Customer reviews for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
Review 1 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
from El Paso, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Wonderful Vacuum

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I consider myself a neat freak! I have a long-haired breed of cat and I am constantly cleaning/vacuuming. I had a several year old Hoover upright that I always thought did a good job. Man was I wrong. The Hoover broke and I did my due diligence and decided to give the Shark a shot over the Dyson.
I was shocked at how much additional pet hair and dust was pulled from the carpet. Assembly was easy as pie. Lightweight and very easy to dump when full. Power button could be in a better spot but that is a small .price to pay for the other features.
2 thumbs up and I will be recommending the Shark to friends.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Quiet, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: power button not in a great spot
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
from Union Springs, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Love this vacuum

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to use and convert from regular to canister while in use, lightweight, long air hose which makes it easy to reach everywhere, long cord to go from room to room, easy buttons to change between bare floor and carpet/handle use and roller brush, many options for use in every vacuum situation in my home. Great for dusting, cobwebs in corners and on the ceiling, under furniture, and all the attachments for canister and regular use get all the jobs done. Did not want to spend so much on a vacuum, but using credit card with cash back and shopping online through ebates, got money back on the purchase, and it was worth it. Hoping this vacuum will last me forever!
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Self-Propelled, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

This thing really sucks!

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After reading lots of reviews, I chose the Rotator Pro Lift-Away, for its value and performance. I am so happy with my purchase. The suction of this vacuum is excellent and I really love the ease of emptying the canister. The cord is a little bit of a hassle and the power button is a bit awkward to turn off and on during a cleaning session. This is not a reason to pass on this vac though. I have already recommended this vacuum to several other people because I really love the job it does on my floors, both carpeted and non-carpeted!
Pros: Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Cons: Unbalanced
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
from Rock Hill, South Carolina
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Better than ANY I'VE EVER OWNED!!!

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've owned several vacs over the years and even tried my moms Kirby and my sisters Rainbow. Vaccumed my floor with the what was explained to me as the best vac ever made and then came right behind that one with my new Shark and hands down this vaccum picked what the water based rainbow left behind. I should've youtubed the whole ordeal. I would recommend this vaccum to anyone that does not have an extra $600 for the Dyson or upwards of $2500 for the rainbow.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
+45points
45out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
from Jackson NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Best vacuum EVER!

PostedMay 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this vacuum based on a glowing review by Consumer Reports Shop Smart magazine. It is the best one I have ever owned! It came with every attachment you could imagine, was a snap to put together, literally, and it works great. Emptying the dirt cup is really easy. It swivels, has a powerful beater brush, which turns on and off, and it's quieter than my previous vacuums. It works as an upright, canister, or lift-off. It also has a nice long cord. The only things I would change are to add an edger and make the 'power' button a different color. It has quite a few buttons for the attachments and finding this one quickly would be easier if they weren't all the same. Otherwise, I couldn't be happier with it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Self-Propelled, Nice Design
+37points
37out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Weekly

Much better than expected

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Our old vacuum broke and with two dogs in the house we needed a replacement immediately and within our budget. Like everyone else I want the Dyson but it was just too expensive. We were skeptical of the Shark but it had great reviews and more importantly was within our budget. We left the store saying "if we don't like the Shark we'll ask for the Dyson for Christmas and the Shark just has to get us through a few months."
Well after one use we realized a Dyson would have been a complete waste of money! It pulled more dirt and dog hair out of a 10x10 area than my old vacuum pulled out of the whole house, and I swear it out-performed my mothers Dyson. For performance this vacuum is the best.
Assembly was simple and intuitive. I love that the head can reach under my sofa, bed and toe-kicks. But the power button is in an awkward location; it's not on the handle where I'd expect it to be, it's on the body of the vacuum and looks much like the release buttons for the wand and canister. The accessories are great but have an awkward connection to the wand- great for reaching up high but can't really maneuver around furniture. Over time I am sure I will adapt to these minor inconveniences.
It is quiet as far as vacuums go and the canister is easy to empty. Because this vacuum is so effective I have to empty the canister frequently but I view that as making progress towards cleanliness! It's lighter than my previous vacuum so I can get it up and down stairs just fine.
I would definitely recommend this vacuum and I'm glad I ended up with the Shark Rotator Pro!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum

Great vacuum!

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Growing up my parents had a Kirby vacuum and I always wanted one but they are extremely expensive so I never bought one, just borrowed my parents from time to time. I finally had enough with my vacuum and decided to do a little research and decided the Shark Rotator Pro Lift-Away was for me. When I bought this vacuum I had just used my parents Kirby on the entire house but went ahead and used my new Shark just to see how good it worked. I was very surprised by just how powerful it was, picking up stuff the Kirby did not get. I could actually see my carpet lift up from the ground, that is how powerful the suction is with this vacuum. Best vacuum purchase I ever made!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
from Florida, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

Excellent Vacuum

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We recently purchased this product to replace a Dyson that we'd had for 7 years. I was surprised at how well the Shark did in comparison with the Dyson. We had just vacuumed the day before with the Dyson and it was amazing how much this vacuum picked up. Although it has a smaller vacuum head, it is much quieter and seems to pick up a lot more dirt. I would recommend this vacuum to anyone looking for a new vacuum. At half the price of a Dyson, it's worth the money!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Quiet
Cons: smaller vacuum had than a dyson
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
from Ocean Gate, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Vaccuum really SUCKS!

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the Shark Professional Rotator Lift-Away to replace a Hoover bagless wind tunnel Vaccuum.. it worked great but the drive belts broke way too often... heavy to move up and down the carpeted stairs when using the power hand brush.. The SHARK bagless is awesome.. plus when I do the stars with the power brush on the wand, it's lightweight and easy to carry as a cannister.. as a floor vac. its awesome.. like the Dyson thats at least twice the price, it doesnt lose suction.. Empties quickly in our trash and doesnt create a huge cloud of dust.. our hoover bagless always made me wonder why the hyped the HEPA filter and then when emptying it made a HUGE cloud of dust.. We just love our Shark!
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design, no dust cloud when emptying!
Cons: would've been nice to have a retractable cord.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
from California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

It's amazing how much dirt and pet hair the new shark removes from my old carpet

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This vacuum does a fantastic job on my carpet. I have not had a chance to use all of the features or attachments,but attachments seem a bit clumsy.
Pros: Easy to Clean, High Quality, very strong vacuum
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum

shark upright vacuum

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Absolutely love this vacuum! Easy to use. Picks up dirt quickly. This is a must have to have a clean house.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
from Denver, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

Did not like it!

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought one of these in May as I really liked my Shark vacuum 5 years ago which finally gave out. Wow this one isn't even in the same league. It clogs so easily and after cleaning filter and cleaning track 3 times to see if something was caught I finally just said forget it. I was excited for another Shark but this makes me think their not made like they used to be.
Pros: Looks Great, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Cons: Dust Chamber, Clogs, Build Quality, Performance, Unbalanced
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
from California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

The Best Ever!

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I couldn't be more pleased with this vacuum. It was easy to assemble, has no parts that are going to fall off by themselves when you remove a tool, is maneuverable beyond belief-under tables, in between chairs and small areas, there's no need to adjust from carpet depth to floors or throw rugs, and it is the BEST dog hair vacuum I have ever owned! I have two golden retrievers! You won't spend a fortune on filters either, because they are washable. The suction is incredible and the vacuum cuts down on cleaning time because it is so efficient. You won't be sorry if you purchase this vacuum.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, easy to accemble in minutes
+30points
33out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
from San Francisco
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Daily

Very Good Vacuum

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Shark sales pitches on TV may be a turn-off for some. The product itself (this NV501) is definitely a winner. I can't vouch for its long-term durability, since I have had it for only 1 week.
Versatility wise, it is an upright (great for carpets); it is a canister (tow-around on hard floors) it is a lift-away (for stairs, etc). Suction is great (try it on an open nozzle). It reasonable quiet also (wind noise only - little whining). Only minus is that it feels rather heavy as an upright (weight up high). The nice handle alleviates some of that.
Best feature is how well sealed it is. On the vacuum side (before the motor), leakage reduces suction. Look carefully at each connection seal and you will find each being carefully designed and well executed. On the pressure side (after the motor), there is only one seal around the HEPA filter. This all important seal does a good job preventing fine dust from leaking out around this final filter (thus creating invisible dust storms in use). I am an allergy sufferer (thus importance).
Previous "HEPA filtered" vacuums I had used (which will go nameless) were poorly sealed at the pressure side. They leaks around the final HEPA. There is fine stuck-on dust all over after some uses. I didn't realize how bad that was until I used them on sanding dust from wall patching compounds. The white dust made that leakage highly visible.
Learn well to use it. You should be delighted overall.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
from Tacoma, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

AN ABSOLUTELY OUTSTANDING VACUUM *****

PostedMay 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had an older Shark Navigator vacuum and always felt it did a super job, particularly with out Yellow Lab pet hairs. LOL When we purchased the newer Shark Rotator 501, I was blown away with how much suction power it has and the dirt and dog hairs that it was removing!! The adjustable suction feature makes this great for cleaning drapes and our linoleum floors also. I thought the Shark Navigator was doing a super job but this vacuum is even better. Compared to the Dyson for cleaning and price, this vacuum is superior. Can't say enough good things about this machine. Very pleased.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, cleans miniblinds, great for vehicle too
Cons: none that i can think of
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
from FLORIDA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

This REALLY sucks!!

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Dreaded buying a new vacuum but my 15 yr old Hoover windtunnel had had it.
This one came highly recommended and had the beater brush shut off I need for my terrazzo floors. WOW!! The lift away is great for taking it outside to do the car and also to just do a quicky clean up of the dog hair before someone stops over. It is not the greatest in corners with the regular assembly head but the wand is easy enough to pull out get it up and into crevices. I am happy with my dreaded purchase.
Pros: Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
from Houma,La.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

Vacuum

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best vacuum ever. Put the Dyson in the shed. Can't say enough about how well this vacuum works and all the attatchments to meet every need.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, good long cord
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
from Lawrence, KS
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

A great value

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A powerful and versatile system that is more than worth the great price.
Pros: Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
from Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Love my Shark!

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am so glad I didn't have company over the first time I used my Rotator Pro Lift-Away upright Vacuum! I know that I have always vacuumed my floor at least once a week, but after seeing what the Shark pulled out of my carpet, I'm not sure that anyone else would believe me!
I have been looking at the Shark for a long time and had to talk my husband into it. The first trip around the house made a believer out of him!
I love all of the features and have not had any issues with performance. My dog and cat are both in shedding season, (along with myself!) and the Shark picks all of that up. With my old vacuum cleaner, I could roll over the same clump of hair several times, all different directions, and would still have to pick up behind it. (And it claimed it was made for pet hair?!)
I love my Shark!
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Rotator Pro Lift-Away Upright Vacuum
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

NV501 Great idea, works well, top heavy small dust cup

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The shark NV501 was pitted against a Dyson DC14 Animal hair (Purple), older model before the ball. Vacuumed a room with Dyson, immediately followed by the shark and pulled a large wad of pet fur and ground in dust/dirt/sand. It looked like it pulled a lot, but the placement of the tall foam filter significantly reduces the capacity of the dust bin.
We bought the optional caddy, not worth the money, but is useful to convert it to a true and useful canister. The motor is too heavy to carry around for most applications and is not stable when the want is used to get into tighter spaces and further away from the base without the caddy. The same issue as with the Dyson - too many tools and not enough places to store them in the unit. Also some interesting tools, but not necessarily as multi-function as they would have us believe. The tools for other vacuums will not fit, because of the non-standard size hoses. The optional access tools are also well overpriced and if all are purchased, will more than double the price of the unit.
They claim the unit is quiet, but it is still a shrill high pitched whine. If used for a prolonged period, may give a headache. It is practically self propelled, when using the beater brushes, and cleans more on the return portion of the stroke as it lifts the carpet pile or knap. When brushes are turned off, it doesn't pick up gravel and sand off variable height tile floors, when turned on, it sprays the dirt forward, like many other vacuums. The tools and unit do not adjust to variable height flooring.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter, Self-Propelled
Cons: Dust Chamber, Unbalanced
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>