728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Wall Heaters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 400-Watt Electric Wall Panel Heater with built-in Thermostat

400-Watt Electric Wall Panel Heater with built-in Thermostat

Heat your room to the perfect temperature with the T400U, runs of only 400-Watt and has a built in thermostat. Wall-mounted electric convection space heaters that use less than 1/3 of the energy typical space heaters use. An environmentally-responsible alternative to 1,500 Watt space heaters. The heater is mounted 3/4 off the wall to create a convection heat channel. The air between the wall and the panel is heated and rises, drawing cool air from the floor. Also comes with a heat reflector so none of the heat is absorbed by the wall.
Overall rating:
3.077 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
52%of customersrecommend this product13 of 25reviews
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
3.1 out of 5
5
(6)
4
(7)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(8)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
52%of customersrecommend this product13 of 25reviews
Customer reviews for 400-Watt Electric Wall Panel Heater with built-in Thermostat
Review 1 for 400-Watt Electric Wall Panel Heater with built-in Thermostat
from Albuquerque, NM, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quiet, easy to install

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had hoped installing this in the master bath would keep the bathroom toasty while providing some extra heat for the bedroom, too. Unfortunately, that's just asking a bit much. The heater works great for the bathroom when the door is closed, but it really can't do it's job when it's trying to heat both areas. Nevertheless, I am impressed enough with it that I'm ordering a second one just like it for the bedroom. I believe that I'll get the results I need by placing one in each room.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Quiet, Lots of Features, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 400-Watt Electric Wall Panel Heater with built-in Thermostat
from Universal City, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works pretty well

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
You have to make sure to put the temp sensor at the bottom as well as pull the temp sense out, otherwise, it won't read correctly. Does a good job heating up our RV bedroom. I installed it on a wall that was not insulated as per other reviewers recommendations, and think that made good sense.
I'm happy enough with it that we're thinking about getting another for the living room.
Another suggestion would be to wipe off the powder on both front and back before the first use. You also want to use the heat shield that it comes with. I didn't use the sticky backing.. I just pinned it (literally) to the wall.
Pros: Easy to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 400-Watt Electric Wall Panel Heater with built-in Thermostat
from Des Moines, IA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have purchased five of these over several years for a variety of uses. The latest was we put two of them in our 8' x 12' shed for an outdoor doghouse/playhouse. We live in a northern state that had several days with below zero temps. last winter with wind chills as low as 30+ below zero. When we went out to play with our dog it was never below 40 degrees and her water dish never froze up the entire winter.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 400-Watt Electric Wall Panel Heater with built-in Thermostat

Heater fit our needs perfectly

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The heater arrived in fine condition as I requested extra packaging due to several website comments about receiving damaged goods due to insufficient packaging. We have a very cold family foyer because there are 3 exterior doors which are mostly glass, the heater raises the room temperature about 10° which brings it to just a bit colder than the rest of the house and is totally acceptable. We haven't received an electric bill so I can't speak to the economy of the unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 400-Watt Electric Wall Panel Heater with built-in Thermostat

Works great

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
We have a rock house, which is very hard to keep warm. We purchased a electric wall heater for our house about a couple of months ago, and we absolutely love it! No more space heater. This is a great product I would recommend to anyone which I have already did!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 400-Watt Electric Wall Panel Heater with built-in Thermostat
from California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It save on space.

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It works great in the rental studio it is a great space saver and heats the room quite
fast and the great thing is it can be painted to match the wall.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 400-Watt Electric Wall Panel Heater with built-in Thermostat
from Northeast Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Total junk--cracked twice as delivered

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Save your time. I ordered one unit, it arrived with a crack the full length of the part even though the packaging looked fine. I returned it to my local Home Depot, no hassles and no shipping cost thankfully. I re-ordered a second unit, same story--cracked in two even though the packaging looks intact. I will return it to the store and not waste my time with this shoddy product. It just is not a durable construction, looks a lot like cheap plaster.
Cons: Not Durable, delivered broken
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 400-Watt Electric Wall Panel Heater with built-in Thermostat
from Portland, OR, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Only Good for Small/ Confined Space

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is not a heater to heat up a whole room or large space. It should only be used for bathrooms or hallways because it doesn't put out much heat. It warms up the wall and maybe a foot around it.
Pluses: Out of the way placement. Space saver. Nothing to trip over or get in the way. Heats the wall. Printable surface. Wall reflector for behind the heater. No noise.
Downside: Installation makes it pretty permanent. After you drill it to your wall you better like it there. It makes big holes and the sticky backing on reflector takes off paint.
Only puts out enough heat for a confined space like your bathroom.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Stylish, Economical
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 400-Watt Electric Wall Panel Heater with built-in Thermostat
from SC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pure Garbage

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered 2 of these heaters directly from ECO-Heaters. One was in good condition the other had a broken thermostat control. I contacted ECO-Heaters directly and they told me to discard the defective unit and they would send me a new one. The replacement arrived within a few days. However, I found footprints on the inside of the lid on the box and the heater was cracked and in two pieces. They claim these are ceramic heaters but they seem to be more like formed plaster with heating elements embedded within them. Don't waste your money.
Pros: none
Cons: Not Durable, cheaply made
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 400-Watt Electric Wall Panel Heater with built-in Thermostat

not hot enough

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
this heater does not get hot enough for a metal shop with no heat
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 400-Watt Electric Wall Panel Heater with built-in Thermostat
from Southwest Wisconsin
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Little Heater

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This heater is easy to install, good looking, quiet, and does its job on 500 watts. Don't expect it to heat a large space quickly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 400-Watt Electric Wall Panel Heater with built-in Thermostat
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for small spaces

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This product is very inexpensive to run. We are using it in a small unheated room (6x8) to regulate the temperature. It doesn't get very warm in that room like it would with a more traditional electric heater, but it keeps it comfortable. It was easy for two people to install this product, it may be difficult for one person to do it on their own. Once installed I don't even have to think about adjusting the heater and since it is mounted on the wall it never gets in the way.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 400-Watt Electric Wall Panel Heater with built-in Thermostat
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Product was functionally defective and was returned

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We have a previous model of this product without built in Thermostat that works great. This newer model with built in thermostat has two fatal flaws:
1. Thermostat does not accurately measure room temperature (Reading is 10 to 15 degrees too high) 2. Heat generated from panel is inadequate to warm even a small room.
We returned all three untis we had purchased..major disappointment.
Cons: product was defective/didn't work
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 400-Watt Electric Wall Panel Heater with built-in Thermostat

I've used the heater for a few weeks. It does what it says, all except for room temperature. I have not used the thermostat at a high setting yet.

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It operates as claimed, but it needs a fan or some other means to perform the convection part of its claims. It needs a very small fan, which might improve performance. Perhaps it could be making a contribution, but only by a few degrees. And perhaps, it might be location. I'm in doubt about its benefits.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: not enough btu's
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 400-Watt Electric Wall Panel Heater with built-in Thermostat
from San Francisco, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Broke

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Received the unit with a big crack, but that's only cosmetics.
The thermostat has always been running a bit high, so we just had to set it a bit higher than what we'd like. After a few months though we cannot go higher than the 99 settings and that's the temperature it is reading no matter how cold the room is. So the unit will never turn on.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 400-Watt Electric Wall Panel Heater with built-in Thermostat
from Kentucky
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great so I can leave it on in a bathroom that since the instillation of a tile floor has become very cold

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Pretty well performs as promised. I found a way to trick it to come on without changing the thermostat. I just dampen the thermostat receiver and the evaporation drops it about 6-7 degrees. Painted to match and buried the cord.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 400-Watt Electric Wall Panel Heater with built-in Thermostat

Easy install and works great!

PostedJanuary 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The install went smoothly and took a few minutes. I haven't painted it yet, but I love the fact that it can be. Working great in our butlers pantry.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 400-Watt Electric Wall Panel Heater with built-in Thermostat

easy to install

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
works well to heat a 133 sq. ft. room to comfortable temperatures. The thermostat doesn't really work since it always says the room is warmer than it is.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 400-Watt Electric Wall Panel Heater with built-in Thermostat
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy to use Excellent heater

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This heater is easy to use and an excellent heater.
If you turn it all the way up it gets hot to the touch. Not for kids!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 400-Watt Electric Wall Panel Heater with built-in Thermostat
from Geneseo, IL 61254, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Extremely Poor Product

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchasing this product was waste of money. After installing the unit and letting it run for days, there was absolutely no change in the temperature of the room. You have to get close to it (within 2") to even feel any heat.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Quiet, Easy to Clean, Light Weight
Cons: does not put out heat
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 >>