728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 46 in. 20 HP V-Twin Briggs & Stratton Automatic Gas Front-Engine Riding Mower

46 in. 20 HP V-Twin Briggs & Stratton Automatic Gas Front-Engine Riding Mower

This Ariens riding tractor has premium features found on more expensive tractors, such as a powerful Briggs & Stratton 20 V-Twin HP engine, rugged automatic transmission with foot pedal operation and cruise control, plus a wide 46 in. mowing deck with 4 d
Overall rating:
4.302 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(238 reviews) 238
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product199 of 229reviews
Rating Breakdown 238 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(155)
4
(45)
3
(10)
2
(11)
1
(17)
Features 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product199 of 229reviews
Customer questions and answers:
43 Questions | 180 Answers
Customer reviews for 46 in. 20 HP V-Twin Briggs & Stratton Automatic Gas Front-Engine Riding Mower
Review 1 for 46 in. 20 HP V-Twin Briggs & Stratton Automatic Gas Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Bessemer City, NC 28016, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ariens....We love ours

PostedJuly 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The V-Twin 22 horse Briggs and Stratton is a strong dependable engine with less vibration than single cylinders.
Our one acre lawn is easier to manage with this mower and has never looked this good. The four deck wheels and ten height adjustments that keep us from scalping the grass
Plus the automatic with cruise control make this so easy to operate. Ten height adjustments with four deck wheels insure even cutting to make our lawn look great.
The high back seat is very comfortable and adjustable for your height. The hood is steel not plastic, and the deck is heavy gauge steel with a wide cutting path
We are happy with new mower.
Pros: Cuts Well, Powerful, Great Engine, Small Turn Radius, Long-Lasting, wife loves this mower
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 46 in. 20 HP V-Twin Briggs & Stratton Automatic Gas Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Evans, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No tractor In this price range can beat the Ariens 22hp B&S

PostedMay 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Now in my second month of use, I am completely satisfied with the Ariens 46" 22hp riding tractor. After reading some of the reviews, I was a little worried about removing it from the delivery crate. It ended up that was not a problem. I did it by myself in less than 10 minutes. I use the mower on uneven ground including a slop approaching the maximum recommended limit. This tractor has plenty of power for the hill while mowing tall grass. I did my homework on this purchase and no other mower in this price range can beat the value.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+52points
52out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 46 in. 20 HP V-Twin Briggs & Stratton Automatic Gas Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Maine, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Mower

PostedMay 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this mower after doing a lot of research on mowers in this class. I have about 2 acres of lawn to mow and about 8 trees to go around and about 6 bushes. Took a while to mow since this is my first time mowing this property but if I pushed mowed it would have taken days instead of an hour and half. I have some pretty good hills and made it up and down all of them with good control. The 46in deck cut nice and I was mowing pretty tall grass as I waiting a little too long to get one for this season. It also threw the grass about 40 to 80in from the mower. Just and FYI, It took about 2 gallons to mow the 2 acres we have. Only used the cruise a few times my foot didn’t get tired just holding the gas down and I wanted to stay in control since I am pretty much always going up or down a hill. Mowing in reverse was nice when you missed a small patch just take your foot off the forward gas and hit the reverse gas. No gears to switch and was very quick to just back up a foot or two and hit the patch then get back on your way. I think I hit about everything I would want answered before I would purchase a lawn tractor. Hope this helps. One last thing, every piece of equipment is going to have a lemon or two. Don’t take one or two bad reviews and base your decision off of those. Also some of these are Operator error and not the Equipment’s fault, keep that in mind.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+67points
67out of 67found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 46 in. 20 HP V-Twin Briggs & Stratton Automatic Gas Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Lacey, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Machine For The Price

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The 46 inch mower is awesome right out of the box. Just fuel and go! What used to take me hours with my old riding mower has now been cut in half! I LOVE that!
SO glad I bit the bullet and bought it!
*** ONLINE PURCHASES ***
This thing comes in a crate, no joke. You WILL need a hammer and crowbar to open it... or a chainsaw in my case! Either way, once you get past that part... its awesome and you have some new firewood... if you are into that kind of thing. Happy mowing!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 46 in. 20 HP V-Twin Briggs & Stratton Automatic Gas Front-Engine Riding Mower
from SC

Good mower....

PostedApril 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Mower performs great. Starts and runs smoothly and has plenty of power. Make sure you let some air out of the tires, because they come from the factory very overfilled (that first trip around the yard was really bumpy). Transmission is smooth on most shifts, however it will lurch occasionally on very tight turns at slow speeds. I did a lot of comparison shopping and found nothing else that could come close to the features for the price. Happy with this purchase.
My biggest gripe was with the home delivery. I thought I would save myself some effort since the delivery was free. However, the mower comes off the truck in a fully enclosed 250 lb wooden crate. The delivery company left the crate sitting on a skid so the mower wheels were suspended about 8 inches from the ground. (see photo) I had to completely break the crate apart and then get friends to help lift it out of the base. Plus I had to borrow a truck to haul the crate pieces to the dump. It would have been much less work just to pick up a mower from the front of the Local Home Depot store.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Great Engine
Cons: truck delivery service
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+37points
44out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 46 in. 20 HP V-Twin Briggs & Stratton Automatic Gas Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Thorndale, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Darn good replacement

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had to replace my 18 yr. old Murray with twin cylinder B&S. Still ran OK but I needed a lawn tractor with bagger to help in moving lots of leaves in the fall. I looked at several different brands but was astonished at the price for a 46" cut with a twin cyl. engine. Twins run a lot smoother and have more usable torque at the blades since you have a power stroke with each revolution. Also, the two large diameter blades give me a much better cut than the three blades on my old tractor. I think the tip speed of the two blades is higher than three small diameter blades.
This Ariens is a well built tractor with good features for the price. I added a totalizer type hour meter (for $12 at ebay) which has a quartz movement (no internal battery) and is powered by the 12V available at the provided plug, blue and black wires. It installed perfectly in the rectangular hole on the dash.
I am using it on a ranch with some very tough grass and it cuts without loading the motor much at all.
To recap, it is a very good machine and I hope it will serve me well for a long time.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Small Turn Radius, sturdy frame and deck, wide turf tires
Cons: won't make my morning coffee.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
 
Products related to my review
 
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 46 in. 20 HP V-Twin Briggs & Stratton Automatic Gas Front-Engine Riding Mower
from New Jersey, USA

Highly recommended with better value!

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Delivery was quick and on time. I like that it was packed securely and there was no damage. Unpacking was different scenario. I don't anybody to help unpack so I had to improvised and just used a reciprocating saw to cut all the lumber supporting the mower.
Initial setup was not difficult although I it took me awhile to purge the transmission where the instruction was for disengaged transmission. But when I disengage the parking brake, this engages the transmission so when you depress the pedal it moves. The only way to do this process was to keep the parking brake set while depressing the forward pedal. The rest of the setup was not a problem.
First cut was a mistake on my part where the mower height was too low for my liking. I always cut high so my setting ended in the 9 position. I did not initially like the cut of the grass, there was no pattern unlike what my push mower could make. I decided to get the mulching kit and that sure made a lot of difference.
Starting was never a problem. Cleaning the cutting deck is easy. The start and stopping can be jerky but you'll get the hang of it and how to make it smooth. Climbing hilly terrain is not a problem but decided to do the cutting going down on the hilly part. Engine is definitely quieter than my neighbors single cylinder mower but I still wear an earplug.
This is really a value for your money with regards to it's features compared to other brands with the same features.
Pros: Sturdy, Accurate, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius
Cons: regular blades replaced with mulching blade
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 46 in. 20 HP V-Twin Briggs & Stratton Automatic Gas Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Maryland
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Unbelievable value

PostedMay 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got free delivery from an 18-wheeler to my house. It came in what my kids called a "Madagascar crate". If you've seen the animated movie, you know what I mean. It was fully assembled and ready to go. I upgraded from a 42"/16.5hp B/S Murray mower which I bought from Home Depot 9 years ago. This one cuts my lawn about 15% faster due to being automatic and due to the cutting width. I also uses less gas with a larger engine because I keep the throttle down somewhat vs my old mower.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Small Turn Radius
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 46 in. 20 HP V-Twin Briggs & Stratton Automatic Gas Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Crossville, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Bang For The Buck.

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this unit last August ('12). I live in rural Tn on 5 ac, a bit less than 2 ac of basic "weed grass". But it does look presentable when freshly mowed.
When choosing a unit, I decided I wanted the smoothness and dependability of a twin cyl motor. THis Ariens unit offered a 46" deck for the same or less than comparable units. While "L" is close to my house, and HD is about 80 mi away, I determined it was worth the drive in savings. A comparable unit from L would have been $200-300 more.
Right after purchasing, I got a small hr meter (ebay, $11) to help track maint intervals. I installed it in the 'dashboard'. As a mower, it has worked fine. But I often use it to drag either the wood splitter to a work area or a small 3'x5' utility trailer with either a 3KW generator + airless sprayer; or the pressure washer rig; or the 15hp chipper unit, and I leave it in the trailer and attached to the mower while I chip. I drive mower + trailer to the work area, thru the woods. I wish the ground clearance was higher, but I am just careful to avoid obstacles. Tow power is fine. Occasionally, there is a traction issue, as only one of the rear tires is "live".
So far, this mower has been easy to start, even when in the 20°s. Doesnt seem to be a gas hog, and the large tank is nice. Seat is comfortable (Im 6-0, 175). So far, the quality seems quite good. I still need to devise a simple way of raising/locking the chute in the up position, which will make it easier to drive thru the woods and to maneuver in tight spots.
Overall, this is a fine unit, and a good bang for the buck.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, versatile, easy starts
Cons: low ground clearance in transport mode
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+31points
50out of 69found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 46 in. 20 HP V-Twin Briggs & Stratton Automatic Gas Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Huntsville, AL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Value For This Model Mower Offered Under Many Brand Names

PostedMay 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This mower (Model # 960460056 Internet # 203642004 Store SKU # 523543) is built by AYP and is essentially the same as the Husqvarna YTH22V46, Craftsman 28857, and Poulan PRO PB22H46YT. Parts should be interchangeable, I would bet all. The main differences in these specific mowers is the paint, hood and stickers. The craftsman shows 6" turning radius vice 16" for the rest and adds an hour meter. Other mowers use the same chassis and deck but different engines. If you want Ariens specific parts via Ariens Parts Radar then use Ariens part number 936075 for the Ariens Model A22A46 parts searches. Best bet for parts will be sears parts direct (917.28857). If you are an experienced DIY'er you can add an ammeter (AYP-122822X) and/or an hour meter (AYP-110940X or sears 401763). The hour meter is digital and probably has a lithium battery - guessing here. I like a mechanical hour meter so I ordered a propower Hour Meter (Boat,Truck,Tractor - 4-40 V AC or DC Rect). There is a replacement parts list on a sticker inside the hood for blades belts and filters - the BRIGGS AND STRATTON 492932 Oil Filter cross references to a Fram PH8170.
This model Ariens is hundreds less than the other brands of essentially the same mower. They feature the Briggs and Stratton V-Twin cast iron sleeve Intek with pressurized oil and replaceable oil filter (I love this engine). You can find other makes and models with different size decks and motors from Kohler and Kawasaki. My personal preference is a V-twin as they run smoother with power at lower rpms. They also feature the same cast iron front axle and deck garden hose attachment washer, hydrostatic transmission with footpedal control with cruise control, parking brake, adjustable seat, dual blade decks, mow in reverse (ignition key position controlled) and step through design with cupholder on right fender. The seat is ok but nothing special in my book. At least I don't tend to slide out of it. They do have headlights though I'm not sure how good they are as I don't mow in the dark and could care less.
I have an older Montgomery Wards Signature 2000 Elite built by MTD. The Elite is still mowing albeit with some parts replacements which is why I always investigate parts availability before buying a mower. Beyond belts blades and batteries if you keep a mower long enough there is a need to replace spindle assemblies, springs, decks etc. As my son needs a mower I am handing him the Elite and upgrading to this Ariens.
There is nothing special about the blade spindles (no zerks) on these mowers, but they do appear equivalent to the old type used on the MTD built Elite (lasted about 15 years). Most likely sealed ball not greasable roller though I am guessing here.
I have less than an acre to mow with steep hills and this tractor handles it with ease. I do not weed and feed so my "lawn" is mostly weed. But it does all cut green.
This mower cuts well and is a breeze to use. I would rate noise level as average, much less than the Elite. There are muffler mods for those interested in very quiet, just google around. I like the footpedal control for speed control in forward and reverse the hydrostatics offer vice the fender mounted shifter and center mounted forward/reverse lever. The fender mounted deck height adjuster and dash mounted blade clutch works well but I do miss the old handle by the dash that did both on the Elite (Helped me get up and out of the seat lol). I may google for a different seat there are plenty of aftermarket seats with arm rests - don't need to rest my arms just gives me something to push on to get in and out. The seats between the brands appear the same as well.
The tires are nothing special and appear the same between the brand names but they do the job, plenty of aftermarket tires out there too.
Great value for the money compared to other brand names for an AYP built lawn mower. Strong engine, lots of power.
A couple tech tips, follow the manual procedure for purging the transmission - just gets air out of it, you just go forward and back etc no tools needed. Also check deck adjustment (1/8th to 1/2 inch in up) and level (side to side) according to manual. And also check tire pressure (lower tgo 12 psi). Then enjoy mowing.
I find the mower easy to control, easy to turn, turns tight enough for my needs and faster than I need with plenty of power and works on hilly terrain. It cuts really well and I like the fact is has 4 anti scalp wheels vice 2 normally found. I have heard the 42" models require a two inch cut margin on wheel track (easy to get used to on turns but causes some folks problems) but not an issue with this 46".
Some nit picky missing bells and whistles would be a better seat or something for me to grab to get in and out of (not a problem when your under 40) for us older folks. Would like to see ammeter so I know its charging and an hour meter so I know when to do maintenance. But not a problem to add this and still save lots of money over the other brands.
I think if you take care of this mower it will last for many years. I've read lots of reviews and did lots of research. It is possible to get a bad one, if you do, take it back and exchange for another. But this is a good quality mower in this price range. If you can wait, wait for fall clearance prices and get it even cheaper.
Love the deck wash port, beats getting under it with a hose.
I definitely recommend this Ariens for the value.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius, Long-Lasting
Cons: a couple bells & wistles
+71points
73out of 75found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 46 in. 20 HP V-Twin Briggs & Stratton Automatic Gas Front-Engine Riding Mower
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

What Transmission Did You Get ?

PostedJune 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Like everyone else, I did a lot of research. I noticed the vauge references to transmission type on the web page and the incorrect link to parts manual, which is still incorrect and brings up the operator manual....so I went to a local HD and inspected the floor model and found that it had a cast aluminum hydrostatic transmission..and the included parts manual dated 10/12 correctly listed hydrostatic..Since I had an out of state shipping requirement that the local store could not handle, I ordered it online... What I ended up receiving was the same model tractor only manufactured in 01/13 and it now comes with a belt driven black plastic CVT transmission..I was shocked...in my opinion, the change to the plastic CVT did not result in a better product...I immediately returned the one I bough online and went back to the store and bought the floor model with the hydrostatic.....comparing the two.... the hydrostatic is WAY smoother than the jerky CVT, the pedal operating range is tighter on the hydro, better transmission braking and no maintenance to speak of on the hydro....the CVT belts will eventually start to slip from wear or even from just dirt or glazing...CVT belts are wear parts and require maintenance, especially when exposed to the dirt and dust that this mower can kick up.....if you can still find the hydro (and this is not my first hydro experience) buy it.....I wonder how many other people actually even noticed this rather significant drivetrain "revision".?
Cons: specifications subject to change without notice
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 46 in. 20 HP V-Twin Briggs & Stratton Automatic Gas Front-Engine Riding Mower
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Died in 1 year of light use

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Mower died in 1 year. Warranty did not cover "fuel related" issue. Carburetor and battery had to be replaced. Definitely, will never buy another Ariens.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 46 in. 20 HP V-Twin Briggs & Stratton Automatic Gas Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Southaven, MS, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A monster!

PostedApril 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm pretty sure I would have paid at least 600 dollars more for this unit had I test drove it before.... I have 3 acres which include two good sized hills, rough terrain, trees and many uneven surfaces...... This mower makes all that a walk in the park... Very strong motor... Good safety features...and with attachment on cutting deck for water hose clean up is a breeze....very happy!
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 46 in. 20 HP V-Twin Briggs & Stratton Automatic Gas Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Seymour, MO 65746, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I researched many riding mowers before purchasing this one

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After lots of research and comparing features, specifications and reviews I purchased my first riding lawn mower to cut about 1.5 acres of grass. So far so good. Home Depot delivered fully assembled, charged and ready to go. I just added oil and gasoline.
Last weekend I completed my first cut with the mower and for this season. I was really impress with how nice the yard looked afterwards, very smooth and even cut. The biggest thing for me, was that it took me 1 hour and 20 mins to cut, and I feel I went fairly slow, due to first cut, the grass was long and was worried about rocks in yard, plus I wasn't sure what's the best way to map out the yard to be most efficient. I believe as I get better at mapping yard and removing rocks, I could cut yard in 1 hour. (This is going at just average speed). It use to take me between 7-8 hours to cut with a push mower.
I'm a big guy, weigh about 300 pounds and this mower showed incredible power going up hills at just average speed. I also liked how little gas I used to cut my 1.5 acres as I used I figure 1.25 gallons.
I wasn't sure if buying a riding mower where you have to press the pedal like a car was something I really wanted as I figured my foot would get tired. I decided to buy, because a vast majority of reviews said it was a must have and made the cutting experience better, and they were right. I'm glad I have, made cutting the yard so much more easier, and my foot never bothered me, plus even if it did at some point, It has the cruise control feature which is good to have in case you need a break.
Lastly, the mower seemed as noisy as other riding mowers, maybe a bit more quiter (I have used many between my parents and inlaws). It's defiantly very powerful and so far seems to be a great buy, for the money when comparing all you get for this mower. I defiantly at this point would reccomended. The only negative I can say, is the hood cover seems a bit flimsy when opening.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Long-Lasting
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 46 in. 20 HP V-Twin Briggs & Stratton Automatic Gas Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Crownsville, MD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Tractor

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very powerful machine that makes mowing a pleasure. It quickly handles my 1.3 acres. My only complaint; I wish the frame was heavier. Otherwise, very pleased.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Powerful, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius
Cons: light frame
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 46 in. 20 HP V-Twin Briggs & Stratton Automatic Gas Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Illinois
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

46" Lawn Tractor with 22hp B&S V-Twin engine - Great Mower

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Already own an Ariens two stage snow blower which has performed great for the past 3 years.
Researched all brands available in the Riding Lawn Tractor 22HP 46" class. Ariens clearly had the edge with an outstanding, well-built product that also was the best bang for the buck. Has plenty of power, a beautiful cut and the turning radius is so good that I don't need a zero turn mower. Also got the bagger but have not used it yet. Might not need it with the great cut this mower has.
Only feature Ariens might want to add is an hour meter. But one could be easily added if you absolutely have to have one. I keep track of my maintenance on a spreadsheet.
Steering wheel had a couple of cuts in it that must have been from the shipping crate. HD folks uncrated it and loaded it onto an HD rental truck before I had a chance to examine the Tractor so I did not see the cuts. The HD Gardening Mgr. will be out tomorrow to replace the steering wheel at my home so really happy with HD service.
I have about 1.2 acres of lawn to cut. Was taking me about 1.5 - 2 hrs with a 21" Toro propelled lawn mower. With this tractor it takes me about 15 - 20 mins. Very pleased with this product !
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Small Turn Radius
Cons: no hour meter
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 46 in. 20 HP V-Twin Briggs & Stratton Automatic Gas Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Ohio, NE, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A+++ w/ two minor omissions when new

PostedApril 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's a great mower for the money compared to other models...Vtwin 22hp, 46", auto, etc. I just wish the unit came with an hour meter and the additional front bumper. The wiring is there for the hour meter but just have to purchase the switch for $55.00 and the front bumper is available for another $109.00. These two items are available through your local Ariens dealer or internet source. Other than these two items which are easy to add, a great mower..A+++
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius
Cons: imo hr meter needed & ft bumper needed
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 46 in. 20 HP V-Twin Briggs & Stratton Automatic Gas Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Etowah, tn
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money.

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Loved the mower, easy to use, plenty of power but------didn't last 3 months and the transmission developed a noise in reverse. So disappointed!!!!! We returned the mower for repair, returned back to us-wasn't repaired! So we asked for a refund and we were quickly and cheerfully refunded!!!
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius
Cons: Not Durable, noise in transmission after 3 months
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 46 in. 20 HP V-Twin Briggs & Stratton Automatic Gas Front-Engine Riding Mower
Gender:Male

The forward drive pedal on the 46 inch mower is at an awkward height

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would be happy with the mower, but I have one problem. The forward drive pedal is too high. When I use it the tip of my toe barely touches the pedal with my heal on the floor. When I am out of town I have my 18 year old Niece cut my grass for me and she can’t even rest her heal on the floor because of the height of the pedal. It is a very uncomfortable position to have to hold your foot.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
7out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 46 in. 20 HP V-Twin Briggs & Stratton Automatic Gas Front-Engine Riding Mower
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Added a bumper.

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is more of an update since I already posted a review when I received it.
I just added a mulching kit. The grass gets better cut with the mulching blades.
A also added a bumper from craftsman that fits. I really like how it looks and it does the job. I've hit post and trees while turning and just glad I have the bumper.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>