728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Deck & Patio Restoration or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4-gal. Cape Cod Gray Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer

4-gal. Cape Cod Gray Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer

Deck and Concrete Restore 10X is a problem solving coating formulated to repair beautify and protect. It is ideal for old previously coated wood, bare wood, brushed concrete and most synthetic decking with proper surface preparation. 10X is ten time thicker than ordinary paint.
Overall rating:
2.375 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
38%of customersrecommend this product6 of 16reviews
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
2.4 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(9)
Quality 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
Value 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
38%of customersrecommend this product6 of 16reviews
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for 4-gal. Cape Cod Gray Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
Review 1 for 4-gal. Cape Cod Gray Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Skaneateles, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY

PostedMay 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Our deck is four years old and has never been treated. We were so excited to use Rust-Oleum Restore because it seemed to be a great solution for a deck. We liked the color and mostly liked the reviews and the product guarantee. We had to follow the instructions exactly as stated and we carefully did just that. We did the cleaning, the prep, and put the coats on in order, just as stated. The project was time consuming and expensive and we expected it to last. We don't shovel our deck so imagine our surprise this spring when we came out to find it all bubbling up, not adhering to the wood and worn off in almost all the seams. It was done last fall in dry weather with plenty of time before the snow fell and it looks like it was done five years ago.
We called Rust-Oleum and the company will reimburse us for the product we bought. However the guarantee doesn't buy you back your time and we're now left to re-do the project. Using this product was a complete waste of time; we're still left with an unfinished deck and we need to spend more time scraping this junk off, sanding it down and then spend the money on a product that will work, and paint it again. At this point, we should have just hired someone who was going to use a professional product. We are so upset. What a waste of time and money.
Cons: Scratches Easily, does not adhere, flakes chips, false advertising
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4-gal. Cape Cod Gray Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Colorado Springs, CO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Horrible Product That Chips Weeks After Application

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Restore is a terrible product. I have been a painting contractor for 10 years and have used this on several customer's decks (because they wanted it,). After my last experience I will never use this product again. First off applying the product is terrible, we went through 4 of the restore roller naps to do 2 coats on a 400 Sq ft deck. Second the square footage on the can is not accurate. Third, the customer called me back 4 weeks after we completed the work saying it was already chipping. She waited the 3-4weeks that the can recommends and as she was lightly washing the deck off with the hose, portions of the product came off the deck (see pic below). We then had to go back out and apply a full third coat which cost us another 2 roller naps and a more of the product itself. Forth, we painted a customer's house who used this product on their deck two summers ago and it was completely chipping and coming off. I would never use this product again and tell every customer who is considering it not to use it.
Cons: Scratches Easily
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4-gal. Cape Cod Gray Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Cudjoe Key, Fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

AMAZING PRODUCT,AMAZING RESULT

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I applied this product to my 20 year-old cracked,stained, patched and re-patched concrete dock and the result is AMAZING. I had used another commercial-grade concrete stain a few years ago and the result was dismal in comparrison to Restore. I applied Restore on a hot,south-facing concrete dock so ease and speed of application was important. I recommend working from a bucket with a screen and using large and small rollers and a brush. I chose the roller application for the second coat and am very satisfied with the appearance. Clean-up was easy.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4-gal. Cape Cod Gray Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Branson, Mo.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not last a year.

PostedMay 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Looks great when you first put it down but leave it over a winter and in spring it starts to peal up in big sheets. This stuff was the worst mistake I've made as a homeowner. Think about it, thick water base sand paint, that's all it is, over an old dry wooden board and paint only one side. Over winter the board expands and contracts and absorbs moisture from underneath, and what do you know, it peals up. This is one of those Too good to be true stories for old decks.
Pros: Easy Instructions
Cons: Scratches Easily, poor wear, peals up, looks dirty after short time
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4-gal. Cape Cod Gray Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Salt Lake City, UT
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cannot Think of a Worse Product

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Oh how I hate this product, let me count the ways. Not even after a few months, this stuff peeled. It is gritty, so if my kids fall, it will skin them up. It is really hot so we cannot walk barefoot off it. The most ironic thing is that even though it chips really easily, it is a nightmare to take off. I have spent about 14 hours on 144 sq ft and am still not done getting all of it off my deck. It is also expensive.
If you read forums on this stuff, even the pros will say to either: (1) get a new deck, or (2) flip the boards (which is basically redoing your deck). The paint is so thick that you will have a hard time even finding all the screw to remove.
Some people think this is great. Take my word for it, avoid the hassle because you might want a new deck after using this stuff.
Pros: Modern
Cons: Difficult to Clean, chips easily, is awful to remove, very hot, gritty enough to tear your skin, expensive
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4-gal. Cape Cod Gray Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer

HORRIBLE! WORST PRODUCT EVER

PostedJune 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is a waste of time and money. I followed the directions exactly when applying to a small concrete area. After only 2 weeks it is bubbling and chipping off. Now not only do I have to attempt to remove all of this product (if that's even possible) but I have to purchase something else to try to fix it. I am out 85 dollars and my concrete looks worse than before. PLEASE do not waste your time and money on this.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4-gal. Cape Cod Gray Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from South Plainfield, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Rustoleum Deck Restore saved my deck.

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great way to breath new life into an old deck. Easy to use, went quickly and the results were amazing. I didn't mix any water into it like others recommended and instead of using the 9" roller, I cut it in half and did one board at a time. I used the matching stain first in between the boards and then applied the Deck Restore after.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
15out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4-gal. Cape Cod Gray Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Frankfort KY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I wasted $140!!!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Home Depot, you should consider taking this product off your shelves. Put it on an old deck (for which it should be designed) and looked nice for about 3 months. With 3+/- months gone by, it started peeling and looks horrible. I have a big deck and don't know what I'm going to do to get it all off and use something else. I'm not wasting my time to take a picture of it.
Cons: does'nt adhere
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4-gal. Cape Cod Gray Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Banks, OR 97106, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great deal

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used this product as a non-skid flooring for my 16' boat since marine non skid flooring costs about $70/quart. Bought the 4 gallon bucket and applied it to 3/4" sanded pt plywood per the instructions. Application was very easy for both the flat and vertical surfaces. Has been on the boat for about 3 months now and I have had no issues. Color was as advertised. Have walked on it bare foot in 90 degree weather and it wasn't hot.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Modern, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4-gal. Cape Cod Gray Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer

Looks great when dry - when it rains, it blisters.

PostedMay 4, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
summer 2013 put on a covered, wooden porch, previous stained -~18 years old. powerwashed all loose paint. Let dry. Restore 10X went on pretty easy - took more paint than anticipated - definitely covered most/all cracks. big issue came in spring after a big rain - although porch covered, it is elevated, moisture must have gotton underneath? the deck began to blister as the paint film lifted up off the planks. Looked bad - Rustoluem admitted something wasn't right and it shouldn't have do it. When weather warms up, the blisters disappear. nice product it if stuck to the wood!
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Dries Quickly
Cons: blisters in wet weather on wood
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4-gal. Cape Cod Gray Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from North Ridgeville, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worthless Product -- waist of time and money

PostedMay 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We followed the directions and this product did not last 1 year. Shocked when the snow melted and most of the deck surface was chipped ! Expensive to use so very disappointed in the results.
Cons: Scratches Easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4-gal. Cape Cod Gray Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Ocean Shoes WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

wasted time and money

PostedMay 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First: Required twice the product and time as advertised.
I applied, as per instructions, to front porch/deck. I live on Washington coast so winter weather is wet and windy but rarely any freezing or snow. The front porch gets minimal traffic and is fairly protected from weather. As stated the job required twice the product. It is too thick to get between the boards so had to apply matching paint with sponge applicator to deck board sides.
Finished product looked fabulous. Soft to bare feet! I was very pleased.
However, after one winter large chunks of product are beginning to chip and flake up. Even in spots that have no foot traffic. Product has also chipped off edges of stair treads.
Also, chemical reaction with nails and screws has caused rust to bleed thru to surface - even where I had primered over nails to prevent that possibility. Most deplorable on a light gray deck. Only option I can see is to try "a fix" this summer and take time and money to resurface entire deck.
MORE money and time. Will not recommend this product unless you have unlimited time and financial resources!
Pros: Easy Instructions
Cons: requires double amount of product as advertised, more labor intensive than advertised, inferior product. hasn't even lasted 9 months, started chipping/flaking up after 5 months
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4-gal. Cape Cod Gray Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Lancaster, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not worth time and effort

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After scrubbing down my deck and applying this paint, I am appalled at how much this just peeled and chipped off. Just sweeping the deck the paint comes off. I will stick with Behr next time.
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4-gal. Cape Cod Gray Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer

Great Product!

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product did everything as advertised and Home Depot had the best price on it by far.
Pros: Looks Great, Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean
+5points
11out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4-gal. Cape Cod Gray Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from FLEMINGTON MO.65650
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great product

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
DO THE PREP RIGHT AND THIS STUFF LOOKS GREAT...MADE MY CONCRETE DECK LOOK FRESH AND CLEAN...IMPROVED THE ENTIRE CURB APPEAL OF HOUSE.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4-gal. Cape Cod Gray Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Boston, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Rustoleum Restore for Decks - Disappointing

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have always trusted Rustoleum products. I had hoped for better results on my deck project. Didn't come out as good as I expected. Also, the color was hard to choose online. Project wasn't a total washout, but I'll probably have to put on another coat or two in the Spring.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.