728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for ArmorMax 3D Tactical Flashlight

ArmorMax 3D Tactical Flashlight

The Defiant ArmorMax flashlight line from Defiant is built to the strictest standard. Powered by premium LEDs, Defiant ArmorMax lights are among the brightest and most efficient on the market. Drop-tested from 30 ft. and waterproof up to at least one meter, these lights are capable of withstanding even the most demanding work conditions. The ergonomically designed aluminum body is also surprisingly lightweight, making everyday tasks that much easier.
Overall rating:
4.032 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(93 reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product75 of 91reviews
Rating Breakdown 93 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(53)
4
(18)
3
(6)
2
(4)
1
(12)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product75 of 91reviews
Customer reviews for ArmorMax 3D Tactical Flashlight
Review 21 for ArmorMax 3D Tactical Flashlight
from nyc
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Light output is incredible!!

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just purchased this Flashlight in a Home Depot in NYC. The light output is awesome compared to it's nearest competitor. I like the 3 different modes of light. I gave it 4 stars only because it is very heavy and that the on/off switch is in the tail cap. Otherwise I'm happy with the purchase and value.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Strong
Cons: Too Heavy
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 22 for ArmorMax 3D Tactical Flashlight
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very bright! Spot lighted wildlife on the ranch

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used the product while visiting family on a ranch in West Texas and was able to shine the light across the cattle pasture to see skunks and deer in the field 100s of yards away. My family was so impressed with the flashlight I left it as a parting gift and have to buy another one. One benefit is the flash light fits the old maglight 3D holders for easy truck/suv mounting.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Strong
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 23 for ArmorMax 3D Tactical Flashlight
from Home owner from Boston
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Built like a tank and B R I G H T !

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I don't know what the actual output of this flashlight is, but it's by far the brightest one I've ever owned. I compared the lights in the back yard at night.
This is my third LED flashlight. My previous two are both small units. I have no complaint about their brightness, especially considering their compact size. But this bad boy puts them both to shame, running on D batteries. This is exactly what I was hoping for. You will not be disappointed by the construction or performance of this flashlight. It comes with large rubber boots for the front and back, making it even more tank-like.
Because of its heft, however, there will definitely be times you'll reach for a compact light, but equally the case, this will be a perfect solution when you want something hefty and powerful. It's even big enough for self defense.
Pros: Sturdy, crazy bright
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 24 for ArmorMax 3D Tactical Flashlight

Blows Maglight's away!!

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Maglights lose in every category compared to this light!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 25 for ArmorMax 3D Tactical Flashlight
from Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very well made cheap flashlight that even has a Cree XM-L2 in it now.

PostedMay 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very good flashlight I had no idea until recently that you could purchase flashlight's in the US with these kind of spec's for this cheap.
The flashlight is made as well as a Maglite product BUT unlike Maglite this product keep's up with the times and load's there light's up with the latest greatest LED's at no extra cost....the two I purchased on 5/24/2014 came loaded with Cree XM-L2 LED's and are EXTEMLY bright...not many folk's are familiar with a "true 600 lumen" flashlight like this one.
Truth be told these light's are not flying off the shelf like Home Depot had hoped which is a shame because they are so cheap for what you get if thing's don't change it will be back to normal again in the US to paying over $100 to get the same type of light.....do yourself a favor and get this light before this happen's.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, xm-l2, bright
Cons: may not be sold in the near future at this price.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 26 for ArmorMax 3D Tactical Flashlight

Super-bright, ALMOST nice flashlight

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Cons:
One MAJOR design flaw: A power button on the tail cap works fine for tiny flashlights, but is a huge problem for a MONSTER like this. You really need BOTH hands to operate this flashlight, all because it was slightly cheaper not to put the button into the tube! Such a huge disappointment, and not something that can be very easily modded after-market.
On my first 3ft/1m drop test, the plug/spring got stuck in the tail cap and flashlight came on, wouldn't shut off, and changed modes on its own. Wasn't all that easy to repair. Manufacturer could fix this, easily.
Too bright even on LOW! Needs a lower/moonlight mode like most other super-powerful lights.
No flood to spot zoom adjustment. The intense spot in the center will blind you when shone onto nearby objects (ground/walls/etc).
A lot of bright spill so when you want to light up a distant object, you're also lighting up a wide swath between you and the target.
Turns-on to the NEXT mode every time you shut it off. You are forced to cycle through 2 bright/flashing annoying modes you don't want to use every time. Practically every other multi-mode flashlights handles this MUCH better.
Pros:
RIDICULOUSLY bright. Think of a car headlight in your hand, but a small flick of your wrist puts ALL that power directly into your neighbors windows. Super-bright even just REFLECTED back up off of a wet road or puddle.
Long-distance throw so you'll see what you're looking at, and EVERYTHING ELSE for hundreds of feet around your target, including all your neighbors' windows.
Heavier than 3xD batteries when empty... Twice as heavy as most other 3xD flashlights with batteries installed. A great little club. The product description of "surprisingly lightweight" is the stupidest thing I've ever heard!
Unscrew the head entirely for maximum flood, you've got a great cordless lamp around the house. Looks like a ~35 watt bulb on low, and maybe a ~120 watt bulb on high.
Tight-fitting dual O-rings everywhere should keep the water out. Tight tail cap means batteries do not rattle at all.
Makes a just passable flooder if you partially unscrew the cap (still water-tight). The bright spot diverges and goes dark. Makes this light less intense, just enough that it can be used for indoor and most day-to-day light purposes. Yet another reason you need both hands to use it.
Brightest flashlight you've ever seen, and you will never want anything brighter after you've used it. LOW mode is legitimately TOO bright for everyday use unless you find some way (like the above) to block some of the output. More like a spotlight with 18 hour runtime.
Suggestions:
Lube all the threads, O-rings, and the front rubber cap with grease or vasoline to protect them, and so it won't take such a Herculean effort to work with. But do NOT lube the rear rubber protector or you'll have no grip on the tail cap and won't be able to change the batteries.
For $30, this is easily worth the purchase. Wipes the floor with other much more expensive lights across the board, though their zoom capabilities and a clicky button on the side would be greatly appreciated here.
Pros: Durable, Long-Lasting
Cons: no-flood, too-bright
+12points
16out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 27 for ArmorMax 3D Tactical Flashlight
from Houghton Lake, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Heavy duty flashlight!

PostedFebruary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is one heavy duty light! The quality is evident by the weight & the machining. The knurling is even & relatively fine, just right for providing a good grip. I like that it came with removable rubber caps for both ends.
I haven't really needed the different modes but could see using the low setting - probably not the strobe however. This would make a great work, camping or tactical/emergency light - or just about any other use where the weight or large size would not be an issue.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Cons: useless strobe mode
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for ArmorMax 3D Tactical Flashlight
from California, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing flashlight

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Amazing quality for the price. Less than half the price of other less bright flashlights. Very sturdy construction. You can actually switch through different mods (high, low, & strobe) without turning it off if you soft press the switch (press it half way). This led flashlight blows My 4d Led maglite in to the water.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Strong, heavy duty
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 29 for ArmorMax 3D Tactical Flashlight
from Bruce, Mississippi
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best flashlight I have ever used .

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am a night shift electrician in a facility that has a harsh indoor and outdoor enviorment. I use a flashlight many times during each shift and this is the best light I have ever had. It has spent a lot of time in rain , it has been dropped over 15 feet to a concrete floor and bounced and rattled around in every way imaginable. I decided to write this review after leaving it turned on high and jammed on top of a motor when I left at 0600 a.m. and it was still bright when I found it 7:00 p.m.that night. The hi -low beam option is very good. The high beam is great for long beams outside but too bright for close up work where the low beam is just right.. Having D cell batteries is a definite plus. The strobe is the only downside for my use and a mild irritation but it might be useful for someone else. Six months of rough use so far and it has no problems. When it finally fails I will buy another without hesitation.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 30 for ArmorMax 3D Tactical Flashlight
from Crawfordsville, IN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

MagLite Killer

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased a small version of this to keep in a laptop bag. After using it a lot more than I ever expected to and loving it. I decided to check out the big brother 3D model. I am NOT disappointed. I've in the last week replaced 3 Mag's with these. I now own 5 total(different sizes) I am overall a huge fan of CREE LEDs. They should be in all lights. Honestly this makes my LED Mag look like a Zippo. Great construction, great defensive weight, rubber ends are neat (though aren't being used) just buy one if you have even thought about it.
CON: "Difficult To Use" I checked that due to the tailcap power button..... I'm not overly joyed about it but it is what it is. I would like to see future models with a standard shaft mounted button.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 31 for ArmorMax 3D Tactical Flashlight
from Milwaukee, WI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very durable

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great light...Only wish you did not have to "toggle" through lighting options.
Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for ArmorMax 3D Tactical Flashlight
from Napa ca

Defiant flashlight

PostedFebruary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The BEST flashlight you will ever own. The light shines so far and bright. You will love it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for ArmorMax 3D Tactical Flashlight

Great Flashlight

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The rubber ends are nice in case you drop the flashlight. I like the brightness of the light for walking the dog at night. The weight is good also incase you need for additional protection as well.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 34 for ArmorMax 3D Tactical Flashlight
from Idaho, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very Bright LED Flashlight w/ Nice Features

PostedJune 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
High, Low, Strobe features. Good price. I can set on my deck & spot deer in my orchard 150 yards away.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 35 for ArmorMax 3D Tactical Flashlight
from Baltimore, MD
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Thanks g2barbour - moved red lead to L1, works great!

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Brain-dead 3-step switch had me stumped.
g2barbour (April 7, 2014) saved me hours of head scratching.
Everything unscrews easily. Just move the red lead from L2 to L1 and voila!
Switch is now simple ON-OFF.
Seems there is more oriental wisdom in the design department than marketing...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for ArmorMax 3D Tactical Flashlight
from Sterling, CO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great solid heavy duty flashlight

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great value for a heavy duty flashlight. Comes with rubber caps for both ends to protect it when dropped. Double o-ring gaskets make it waterproof but even better for our job keeps dust out of the body of the flashlight. I like the high and low beam setting, I wouldn't personally use the strobe but I guess if you needed it in an emergency it could come in handy. Definitely a great heavy duty flashlight, will probably put one in each of our vehicles too.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 37 for ArmorMax 3D Tactical Flashlight
from Houston
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good Light with limits

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The line of Defiant lights at HD continue to impress. This is one of the brightest lights I have ever seen. It is large, and you need to think about size before buying. The 3 D cells makes the light heavy but support a really good run time.
However, because of the weight, the "Tail Switch" is really bad choice. You would have to practice, and have very strong hands/forearms to hold this light for an extended period while using the tail switch.
Otherwise a tough quality light, and a DEAL for the money.
Pros: Sturdy, super-bright
Cons: Too Heavy, Difficult to Use, tail switch
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 38 for ArmorMax 3D Tactical Flashlight
from New England
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worked for all of two minutes

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Stay away if you are really serious about getting a good flashlight. This one is way to fragile and poorly made.
Cons: Not Durable, poorly made, very fragile led fixture
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 39 for ArmorMax 3D Tactical Flashlight
from Canton, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

one of the best flashlights i have ever owned!!!!!!!

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
led is extremely reliable.lot more for your money, have compared to way more expensive brands.the strobe feature does tend to come on when i first turn it on, not a big deal with me at all .everyone tries to buy it from me . i have had alot more expensive flashlight that don't even come close to measuring up with any defiant led flashlights that i have purchased in the past.WELL WORTH THE RESONABLE PRICE 100%
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, superior quality great price, stobe is great not worth complaining about perfect, all around great quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 40 for ArmorMax 3D Tactical Flashlight
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best flashlight ever for the $$$

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this for my 88 year old Father he said he could see a mouse at 100 yards!!!
Pros: Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5 >>