728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 30-Pint Dehumidifier

30-Pint Dehumidifier

Your GE 30-Pint Dehumidifier features 3 fans speeds, an automatic humidistat, automatic defrost control and automatic shutoff for easy and safe operation. A threaded external drain hose connection allows for easy external drainage using a standard garden hose, providing an alternative to emptying the 9.5-Pint collection bucket.
Overall rating:
3.941 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(188 reviews) 188
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product150 of 183reviews
Rating Breakdown 188 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(81)
4
(64)
3
(14)
2
(9)
1
(20)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product150 of 183reviews
Customer questions and answers:
23 Questions | 63 Answers
Customer reviews for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
Review 1 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

working great!

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Like another reviewer mentioned, my basement utility room concrete floor was sweating to the point where little rivulets were running down toward the floor drain and the whole basement smelled. I bought two of these little dehumidifiers, one for the utility room side and one for the finished rec room side. They are working great. The humidity level was down to an acceptable range within a day. I hooked a hose up to allow the unity to drain automatically on the utility room side. I can't speak to how long these units will last - I will only be running them during the summer. I'm pleased so far, though.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from IL

INFERIOR GE Dehumidifier Floods Floor. Does Not Turn Off When Full.

PostedJune 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I regret purchasing this GE Dehumidifier. It has been a nightmare to use. It worked fine for three months until Day 100 when it overflowed and flooded our basement floor.
The first and most important problem is that this unit NEVER turns itself off when full, like it is supposed to, so it overflows and leaks all over the floor.
The second problem is the bucket is too small and not large enough to keep up with the water sucked from the air daily. My previous dehumidifier was the same size but had a larger bucket and never flooded because, unlike this one, it shut itself off when full.
The only way this unit will turn off on it's own is if I set the timer to shut off after four hours of use. The problem with that is sometimes someone in the family will empty the unit so it doesn't flood (since we are on constant watch) and they might sometimes forget to set the timer for four hours and it floods the floor again. We need to babysit the unit constantly.
This inferior GE product will overflow and leak all over the floor every day unless we empty it at least two or three times a day. This product is a constant annoyance to make sure someone always empties the bucket so it doesn't overflow.
The third problem is that I can only return this unit to the store during the first 90 days and now that time frame has past. What a major disappointment for the buyer who trusted the brand. I thought I was buying a reliable brand with GE. I will certainly remember that with future purchases.
My previous dehumidifier worked fine for a few years and then was suddenly recalled. I bought this GE as a replacement and now I have to tend to the daily flooding unless we empty it religiously and/or only keep it on for four hours at a time. Doesn't ANYONE know how to make a dehumidifier that works these days? Thanks for reading.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use, unit floods floor. does not turn off when full., bucket is too small to hold daily water intake., guarantee only good for 90 .
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Response from By GE AnswersJune 16, 2014By GE AnswersJune 16, 2014
Hi Shopper9876-this is Sue from GE. Thanks for your purchase. We can certainly understand your disappointment and regret to hear the auto shut off did not work resulting in water leaking onto your floor. You will want to make sure the foam piece in the bucket assembly is in place. Do not remove this foam piece. If removed, the dehumidifier will not work properly. If it is in place, we encourage you to take advantage of your warranty. After 90 days, Call GE at 1-866-907-1655 to initiate the product replacement process. See the owner's manual for complete warranty details. We hope this information is helpful and apologize for any inconvenience this situation has caused you.GE_Appliances
Review 3 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from Ridgeland, SC 29936, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Just what you expect from it.

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The best thing I could say about any product is that is does exactly what you want it to do. It has a setting that allows me to control the humidity level, so it does not run non-stop until full. I love it.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from Glen Burnie, MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Bad!

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this to replace a similar dehumidifier (different manufacturer)that finally went up on me after 3 years. The automatic shutoff did not work and over the course of the last three weeks we have had huge spills to contend with in the basement! We followed all instructions including not removing the foam piece from the arm in the bucket, as well as trying to adjust fan speed, humidity level, etc and still did not shut off when bucket was full. In fact it kept running even when we removed the bucket to empty! I returned it for a refund and am shopping for a different dehumidifier as the only option Home Depot had in store was the same one, or a larger more expensive model also from GE. I will say returning it was very easy, and I appreciated that.
Cons: did not work as advertised
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from St Anthony, Minnesota

Bucket Full Doesn't Work

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is my 3rd GE dehumidifier. Last two spilled water on the floor. Replaced and after the second one went without for a while. Due to a lot of rain I was in a pinch and had to get another dehumidifier and Home Depot only had GE. Big mistake. I've been emptying the bucket every day to keep on top of it. Forgot to do so the other day and found out the Bucket full function does not work and found water on the floor. Figured it was a one time thing. Same thing today. But hey, the unit is only 30 days old and you can't expect it to last forever. Will be returning this waste of money and buy another brand at another retailer.
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By GE AnswersMay 29, 2014By GE AnswersMay 29, 2014
Hi Auntie-this is Sue from GE. We can certainly understand your concern and apologize for any inconvenience this situation has caused. There is a piece of styrofoam attached to the float device in the bucket of GE dehumidifiers. This styrofoam is part of the design and should not be removed. We have found that this has been mistaken for packing material. This may be the reason for the issue you are experiencing. We hope this helps!GE_Appliances
Review 6 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from florida
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

try another

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
humidity gauge extreme inaccurate extreme noise every once in awhile cycle on and off every few minutes. not very productive only thing decent was the price. ge is letting me down on many of there products I have tried. took back got a 70 pint unit from another manufacturer and it is simply awesome. does in hour what this one could not do after running all night long.. try the other units after you return this one. preordered for store pickup box was slightly damaged but not interior. still to many issues to blame on beat up box.
Pros: Stylish
Cons: Not Durable
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from Johnston, RI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Dehumidifier leaks water

PostedJune 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have the same problem with the bucket full, and find water on the floor. I did not remove the Styrofoam, I do not have a hose attached. I just bought this unit this year and just started using it. I wrote to the manufacturing and was advised to return it where I bought it. I will return it.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: water overflows onto floor
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from Caldwell NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awful. Do not buy

PostedJune 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The shutoff switch didn't work, so after the bucket got full it spilled on the carpet. We verified that the bucket was inserted properly, that the styrofoam piece was in the bucket, etc. and it happened again. We expected better from GE.
Cons: Not Durable, it didn't work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By GE AnswersJune 11, 2014By GE AnswersJune 11, 2014
Hi Pete-this is Sue from GE. We are sorry to hear the auto shut off feature did not work and apologize for any inconvenience this situation has caused. This is certainly unusual as we are committed to manufacturing quality appliances for our consumers. We encourage you to take advantage of the 1 yr. "replacement" warranty through the retailer. The sales receipt is required to make a warranty claim. Again, we apologize for this unfortunate experience and hope to have a future opportunity to restore your faith in our products.GE_Appliances
Review 9 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier

Too Noisy

PostedMay 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased the 30 pint model after the compressor on the larger GE model a few years old stopped working. While it works okay, when the compressor on this model is running there is a very loud vibration noise from the plastic cabinet. It is so loud I can hear it from the second floor of my house and cannot run the unit at night when we are trying to sleep. I looked up on the web and found this is a common problem with this model so I am returning. I am surprised GE would put their name on a product this low quality.
Cons: Noisy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier

Works great and easy to use

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This unit works great and is easy to use. Convenient to attach a hose to the unit so you don't have to empty the water container. Automatic shut off works great if you don't use the hose. Easy to empty the water container. Filter is easy to clean too. :)
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Nice Design
+40points
40out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
Age Range:45 to 54

Working great!!

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just bought this unit last night after dealing with days of hot, rainy and humid weather in the north east, that made my finished basement so wet and humid, it started smelling as the floor was literally "sweating". Turned it on around 10pm last night. It showed 85% humidity in the space!!! After about 2 hours, the humidity was down to 60%. It shut off during the night as the container was full. I emptied it this morning and turned it on again. Don't plan on shutting it off until this humid summer is over.....you can feel, never mind smell the difference in the air almost as soon as you turn it on. For the past night's work, I am giving it 5 stars!!! I hope it continues working the same.
+34points
38out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

stupid design flaw don't buy this one

PostedJune 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This dehumidifier does not cut itself off when the bucket is full. It just pours water on the floor! This is my second dehumidifier for my condo. The first was another brand and it cut off when the bucket was full. No mess, ever. Not so with the GE.
The GE does have a timer for cut off. You try to guess if you will fill the bucket in 2 hours or 4 hours and set the timer. Guess wrong and you clean up the mess. Even worse, THE TIMER DOESN'T STAY ON, you have to remember to reset it every time you push the power button.
I am so disappointed in this machine, this is a true design flaw. I can't believe it got off the drawing board this way.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Use, design flaw no full cut off
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By GE AnswersJune 16, 2014By GE AnswersJune 16, 2014
Hi FeBe-this is Sue from GE. Thanks for your purchase. We are sorry to hear of this unfortunate experience and apologize for any inconvenience this water leak caused you. This model does feature Auto shutoff to turn off the dehumidifier when the bucket is full to prevent overflow. You will not want to remove the foam piece in the bucket assembly. If removed, the dehumidifier will not work properly. If the foam piece was missing, we encourage you to take advantage of the warranty and return to the retailer with the sale receipt for a replacement. See the owner's manual for warranty details. Also, this model does not feature a timer but Delay Off feature. While the unit is in operation, press the Delay Off pad to set it to automatically turn off in 2 hours or 4 hours. We certainly understand your disappointment and hope this information is helpful.GE_Appliances
Review 13 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier

Does what it is supposed to do.

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product for the money. Tells you the current humidity level, three speed settings, shut off timer, good capacity, good size, on wheels, and has a handy carrying handle for ease in moving it around. It has been running solid for over a week now and has really dried out our basement. We didn't want anything too large and hard to move around but still gets the job done and this fits the bill.
Not too noisy but i wish it had one setting lower than low to reduce the sound at night.
good product for the price.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: none
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from CT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Did not work as advertised

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product was advertised as having an automatic shut off feature. This did not work. The unit filled with water and did not shut off. As a consequence I had water soak into the carpeting all around it before I realized it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: does not shut off automatically
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By GE AnswersJune 5, 2014By GE AnswersJune 5, 2014
Hi Mahr-this is Sue from GE. We can certainly understand your concern and apologize for this unfortunate experience. There is a piece of styrofoam attached to the float device in the bucket of GE dehumidifiers. This styrofoam is part of the design. If removed, the dehumidifier will not work
properly. See the owner's manual for reference. We hope this solves the issue. This model does features a 1-yr. replacement warranty from the date of purchase for any product which fails due to a defect in materials or workmanship. Return the product to the retail location where it was purchased with a copy of the sales receipt. Thanks for reaching out to us.GE_Appliances
Review 15 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Hose hookup gone wrong

PostedMay 11, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had this for almost a year now, to keep a very small basement from being too humid. We hooked it up to a small hose going to a small utility pump/reservoir that empties out automatically. This is unit has a too-small reservoir and a hose hookup that does not seem to work long-term. It worked for a while, maybe a few months, but now it really just does not work with the hose anymore. It seems to drip from condensed water up above where the bucket sits, and this dripping fills up the bucket. I now end up emptying the water bucket three times a week minimum. Bottom line: works fine, but do not buy if you want to use a hose hookup.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: bad design
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from Parma Heights, Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Big Disappointment

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wish I had read the reviews before I purchased this 30 pt. GE dehumidifier. My dehumidifier does not automatically shut when full and has spilled all over the basement floor twice. Also, the humidity level has only gone down to 75 after operating for almost two weeks. I've had to go down the basement every four hours to empty the bucket except during the night when I am asleep. This humidifier is a big disappointment to me because my family has faithfully purchased GE products over the years with satisfaction. If GE is aware of this problem, which I am sure they are, consumers should not have to find this out on their own and be inconvenienced in the process. I really love this little unit, but what good is that if it doesn't work. I will be returning it to the store for a refund as this store only carries GE humidifiers.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: does not work
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from Minnetonka MN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Quality Control

PostedJune 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased two defective units from Home Depot and I had to return them. One would not stay running and had too much vibration. The other one had a bad humidistat and would not shut off. The design and materials seem of good quality, but the manufacturing of this product makes it a gamble. As far as the design goes, there are a couple of detractors: It's noisy and it is difficult to attach a hose to it. I purchased a 70pt Danby for the same price elsewhere that.performs well. Home Depot lost my business for two appliances to a competitor due to defective products and lack of stock.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: poor quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from Collierville, TN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do Not Buy

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First two days of use it worked fine. On the 3rd day the float mechanism failed and it didn't turn off when the catch basin was full. It overflowed and soaked the carpet. I emptied it hoping it wouldn't happen again. It did. Returned it to Home Depot to exchange it for another and had to do a return instead because they didn't sell it anymore. Purchased a similar LG model for the same price to replace it.
Cons: defective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from Villa Park, IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great use for the basement

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy empty. Very lightweight and easy to maneuver.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy
Cons: none yet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier

Good product.

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Good product fills quickly and needs to be taken out carefully otherwise you will spill it!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>