728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 30-Pint Dehumidifier

30-Pint Dehumidifier

Your GE 30-Pint Dehumidifier features 3 fans speeds, an automatic humidistat, automatic defrost control and automatic shutoff for easy and safe operation. A threaded external drain hose connection allows for easy external drainage using a standard garden hose, providing an alternative to emptying the 9.5-Pint collection bucket.
Overall rating:
4.257 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(596 reviews) 596
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product508 of 581reviews
Rating Breakdown 596 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(345)
4
(157)
3
(33)
2
(24)
1
(37)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product508 of 581reviews
Customer questions and answers:
51 Questions | 157 Answers
Customer reviews for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
Review 1 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wet Windows

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this dehumidifier to help me rid my house of excess condensation on my interior windows. It is amazing how much moisture is in the air inside a house. This product works as advertised. I have been using for about three weeks now and have had no problems. It shuts itself off and gives an audible alarm when the water collection bin gets full. I am emptying mine out twice a day. My house is only about 900 sq. ft. with really well sealed windows so the moisture has no where to go but hang on the windows. The digital display for the humidity level is nice and seems to work pretty well.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from Marathon, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't Count on GE Warranty!

PostedMay 31, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As read in other reviews, the off-switch on the fill bucket failed and it flooded the room I was "drying". What a mess! In January, I returned it to Home Depot but they would not take, said since it was 5 months old I needed to contact the manufacturer, GE, which I did. There is a one year warranty (LOL). Customer Service said they could not repair and take it back to Home Depot which I did. Home Depot checked with their GE rep who said no credit. So back to GE. Customer service rep said cut cord and send pictures of cut cord and serial number and he would issue a rebate. Feb 18th, I emailed the pictures. I received the rebate form in March. It was NOT a rebate for the defective unit. I had to go buy another $169 dehumidifier (or other GE appliance) and send the completed form along with the new receipt (yes the form was dated so you cannot use the original defective unit receipt). GE forgot about sales tax. March 15th I mailed the completed form and receipt for a new dehumidifier (now nearly $400 into this fiasco). May 19th, I sent an email asking where is my money? Reply received, you never sent the photos we closed the case. Forwarded the Feb 18th email of the photos and told him that I received the rebate form, bought the appliance, mailed with the completed form March 15th, and have not received the rebate. He reopened the case, passed to someone else, who wants to issue another rebate form. I would then need to buy a third $169 appliance and wait 8 weeks to hopefully get the rebated money. It has been nearly six months, I am still storing the defective unit, and have gotten nothing from GE other than the opportunity to buy another of their appliances.
Moral: a warranty is only as good as the company that issues it
I still have a defective $169 appliance, and have spent countless hours trying to resolve to no avail.
Cons: bad warranty, defective off-switch
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Response from By GE AnswersJune 3, 2015By GE AnswersJune 3, 2015
Hello MarathonMama - this is Nancy at GE. We are very sorry to hear of this unfortunate experience with your dehumidifier. GE does offer a one-year warranty on our dehumidifiers. Please contact the GE Answer Center at 1-800-626-2000 who can properly direct you for further assistance. We hope to restore your faith in GE! GE_Appliances
Review 3 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from Clinton, Ohio

Terrible lifespan

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have purchased and used two GE dehumidifiers in a row; one, a 60 pint and this last one, a 30 pint. None has lasted more than 13 mos. I urge you to not think your purchase will somehow last longer. It will not.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Looks Great, relatively quiet
Cons: Not Durable, expensive cost of ownership
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

working great!

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Like another reviewer mentioned, my basement utility room concrete floor was sweating to the point where little rivulets were running down toward the floor drain and the whole basement smelled. I bought two of these little dehumidifiers, one for the utility room side and one for the finished rec room side. They are working great. The humidity level was down to an acceptable range within a day. I hooked a hose up to allow the unity to drain automatically on the utility room side. I can't speak to how long these units will last - I will only be running them during the summer. I'm pleased so far, though.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+56points
58out of 60found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very efficient

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I really appreciate that it has the humidity percentage screen and automatically shuts-off when full. The fact that I can hear it shut off from the basement while being upstairs is a plus. It works excellently and is very simple/easy to empty of water.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, easy to empty
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from Ridgeland, SC 29936, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Just what you expect from it.

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The best thing I could say about any product is that is does exactly what you want it to do. It has a setting that allows me to control the humidity level, so it does not run non-stop until full. I love it.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+42points
42out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier

Great Dehumidifier

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This dehumidifier does a great job of removing the musty smell from my basement.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from Volant, Pa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Disappointed

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We were initially happy with this purchase, however it quit working properly after 15 months. I know we are in a throw away society, but what happened to quality in what we purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable, not longlasting
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier

Broke after 6 months

PostedMay 23, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked for 6 months and then the sensor that detects if the bucket is full stopped working. Thus leading to flooding my carpeted living room while we were out for the day.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from Toledo, OH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Disappointment in GE

PostedMay 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked well for two summers. Turned on this year and will not dehumidify. Fan and compressor runs constantly without pulling moisture froim the air. Compressor very warm to the touch. Buyer Beware!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable, junk
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By GE AnswersMay 17, 2015By GE AnswersMay 17, 2015
Hello Eddie - this is Nancy at GE. We are very sorry to hear that your dehumidifier is not working properly. First, please make certain that your room is not 41 degrees F or below. If you have not cleaned the filter, please do so. Set the dehumidifier to continuous for maximum dehumidification. Check that all the doors and windows are closed tightly. I hope this helps! Thanks for providing your feedback! GE_Appliances
Review 11 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from Maine
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

got 1 year out of it.

PostedAugust 20, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got this a little over a year ago from Home Depot. I ran it for three months during the summer. It was between 70-85 degrees at all times in the basement where I ran it. It pulled water out fine that first summer, then midway through this summer I came down into the basement to empty the bucket and found water all over the basement floor and the dehumidifier still running. I thought maybe it might be a one time thing. It worked ok a few times after that then flooded the basement again. I cant find my receipt from a year ago, but I think I charged it on my card so I'm going to see if Home Depot will refund it. Here in Maine we have whats called a 4 year implied warrenty of mercantability. Everything except a used car is covered for 4 years by the merchant, not manufacturer. Not many people know of this law, but its on the books. Only Maine and like three other states have this law. Check it out. But I would not recommend this to anybody else. This seems to be some kind of manufacturing defect and GE so far doesn't seem to be acknowledging it. Too bad, they used to be a good company. My parents I'm 44) had a GE dehumidifier from the 70's that still works like a charm. Look elsewhere now though.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier

Lemon

PostedApril 5, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It worked great at first. I owned this model for 10 months, and the compressor went out. (Moderate usage and properly maintained). I gave an extra star because Home Depot replaced me it for me with no problem under warranty.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from Springboro, OH
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't last 2 years

PostedApril 9, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This model worked great for the first year (1 year limited warranty) in our finished basement, but died a few months later. I expected more from this GE appliance, and then I noticed it was made in China....buyers beware.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from IL

INFERIOR GE Dehumidifier Floods Floor. Does Not Turn Off When Full.

PostedJune 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I regret purchasing this GE Dehumidifier. It has been a nightmare to use. It worked fine for three months until Day 100 when it overflowed and flooded our basement floor.
The first and most important problem is that this unit NEVER turns itself off when full, like it is supposed to, so it overflows and leaks all over the floor.
The second problem is the bucket is too small and not large enough to keep up with the water sucked from the air daily. My previous dehumidifier was the same size but had a larger bucket and never flooded because, unlike this one, it shut itself off when full.
The only way this unit will turn off on it's own is if I set the timer to shut off after four hours of use. The problem with that is sometimes someone in the family will empty the unit so it doesn't flood (since we are on constant watch) and they might sometimes forget to set the timer for four hours and it floods the floor again. We need to babysit the unit constantly.
This inferior GE product will overflow and leak all over the floor every day unless we empty it at least two or three times a day. This product is a constant annoyance to make sure someone always empties the bucket so it doesn't overflow.
The third problem is that I can only return this unit to the store during the first 90 days and now that time frame has past. What a major disappointment for the buyer who trusted the brand. I thought I was buying a reliable brand with GE. I will certainly remember that with future purchases.
My previous dehumidifier worked fine for a few years and then was suddenly recalled. I bought this GE as a replacement and now I have to tend to the daily flooding unless we empty it religiously and/or only keep it on for four hours at a time. Doesn't ANYONE know how to make a dehumidifier that works these days? Thanks for reading.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use, unit floods floor. does not turn off when full., bucket is too small to hold daily water intake., guarantee only good for 90 .
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
23out of 34found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By GE AnswersJune 16, 2014By GE AnswersJune 16, 2014
Hi Shopper9876-this is Sue from GE. Thanks for your purchase. We can certainly understand your disappointment and regret to hear the auto shut off did not work resulting in water leaking onto your floor. You will want to make sure the foam piece in the bucket assembly is in place. Do not remove this foam piece. If removed, the dehumidifier will not work properly. If it is in place, we encourage you to take advantage of your warranty. After 90 days, Call GE at 1-866-907-1655 to initiate the product replacement process. See the owner's manual for complete warranty details. We hope this information is helpful and apologize for any inconvenience this situation has caused you.GE_Appliances
Review 15 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works!

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works great. It's running in a bedroom about 150sqft with a source of humidity. This unit keeps the humidity way down. As with any dehumidifier, it produces heat. I run a portable A/C unit in the bedroom as well to pump the heat out. Without the A/C unit and the door closed, temperatures would quickly raise to the 80s. Keep in mind this is a small bedroom. Without a dehumidifier, the room would raise to about 78% humidity. This unit keeps the humidity down to 37%.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from Ypsilanti, MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I Like It

PostedMay 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I use this for a small finished basement. It works very well. We have to drain it almost daily in very humid weather. I don't mind, though. It is very easy to do. I like the washable filter. Nice to not have to purchase filters. I like the multiple fan speeds, although the lowest is still a little loud for our space. We watch television in the basement, so sometimes have to turn of the dehumidifier while watching. The wheels make it really easy to move and the cord is very sturdy and long. Overall, I think this is a great product - so much so that I'm headed out to purchase another one for our crawl space.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, works well
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from Lorain, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice dehumidifier

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Humidity was at 85% in the basement and was deteriorating stored items. On the first day it removed a gallon every 3 to 4 hours. By the fourth day the humidity was down to the set level of 60%. There was a lot of moisture built up in the concrete walls and floor! I have since set it to 55%. When running daily it will cost about $20.00/month. I now run it every few days for a few hours or when humid or it rains. It quickly attains the 55% setting and then cycles on and off. Quiet and easy to use. Now connected to a hose for continuous draining.
Pros: Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier

doesn't continuously drain

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought the hose because it says it has a continuous drain feature however it's is not draining we followed all of the suggestions in the users manual and we still have to empty every few hours
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from MN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Do not buy this Product

PostedAugust 19, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After 18 months the unit quit working. As I started reading reviews on the GE dehumidifiers there seems to be a pattern of them quitting working around 2 years. It will be interesting to see what GE will do about it I want a new one at no cost to me. I am not sure how much shipping is from China however it would be a small expense compared to all the damage words can do.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier

It works very well

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This unit works well and dehumidifies the air. Next time I may shop for a unit that has more auto off time options if one is available.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>