728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 30-Pint Dehumidifier

30-Pint Dehumidifier

Your GE 30-Pint Dehumidifier features 3 fans speeds, an automatic humidistat, automatic defrost control and automatic shutoff for easy and safe operation. A threaded external drain hose connection allows for easy external drainage using a standard garden hose, providing an alternative to emptying the 9.5-Pint collection bucket.
Overall rating:
4.011 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(271 reviews) 271
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product219 of 264reviews
Rating Breakdown 271 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(125)
4
(87)
3
(21)
2
(13)
1
(25)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product219 of 264reviews
Customer questions and answers:
31 Questions | 93 Answers
Customer reviews for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
Review 1 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very efficient

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I really appreciate that it has the humidity percentage screen and automatically shuts-off when full. The fact that I can hear it shut off from the basement while being upstairs is a plus. It works excellently and is very simple/easy to empty of water.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, easy to empty
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wet Windows

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this dehumidifier to help me rid my house of excess condensation on my interior windows. It is amazing how much moisture is in the air inside a house. This product works as advertised. I have been using for about three weeks now and have had no problems. It shuts itself off and gives an audible alarm when the water collection bin gets full. I am emptying mine out twice a day. My house is only about 900 sq. ft. with really well sealed windows so the moisture has no where to go but hang on the windows. The digital display for the humidity level is nice and seems to work pretty well.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

working great!

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Like another reviewer mentioned, my basement utility room concrete floor was sweating to the point where little rivulets were running down toward the floor drain and the whole basement smelled. I bought two of these little dehumidifiers, one for the utility room side and one for the finished rec room side. They are working great. The humidity level was down to an acceptable range within a day. I hooked a hose up to allow the unity to drain automatically on the utility room side. I can't speak to how long these units will last - I will only be running them during the summer. I'm pleased so far, though.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+53points
54out of 55found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier

Great Dehumidifier

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This dehumidifier does a great job of removing the musty smell from my basement.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from Ridgeland, SC 29936, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Just what you expect from it.

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The best thing I could say about any product is that is does exactly what you want it to do. It has a setting that allows me to control the humidity level, so it does not run non-stop until full. I love it.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+37points
37out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from Newnan, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GE still THE best!

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had foolishly purchased a Haier 32 pint at Walmart that didn't pull any water what-so-every out of the air of my apartment during a downpour of rain for 3 days! I looked at it's trouble shooting guide only to discover that the Haier unit does NOT work below 60 degree's nor does it work if the temperature goes above 95 degree's! I couldn't believe it! What a waste of money! I returned that unit and got my money back.
I then took that money and came to Home Depot to purchase this unit. AAAAHHHHH good 'ol GE Quality! In less than 24 hours (I'd say about 10 hours), the bucket full light came on and I had to empty the bucket. Woooohoooo what a relief! Before selecting this one to purchase, I did check to see about any temperature restrictions. Just 1. It doesn't work at temps below 41 degree's. Yaaaay! I can handle that! I've had it constantly running for 2 days and it's doing an OUTSTANDING job of pulling the humidity out of the air in my apartment. It's not loud and doesn't sound like a lawn mower running like the Haier unit did. Because of the humidity this GE unit is removing from the air, it's warmer in the hallway outside the bathroom where I have it located. It takes in the cold, damp air, and sends out warm dry air. I absolutely love this GE dehumidifier!!! Oh and emptying the bucket is super simple and super easy thanks to GE putting a nice, handy handle to use once you pull the bucket forward just a bit. Thank you GE!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from IL

INFERIOR GE Dehumidifier Floods Floor. Does Not Turn Off When Full.

PostedJune 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I regret purchasing this GE Dehumidifier. It has been a nightmare to use. It worked fine for three months until Day 100 when it overflowed and flooded our basement floor.
The first and most important problem is that this unit NEVER turns itself off when full, like it is supposed to, so it overflows and leaks all over the floor.
The second problem is the bucket is too small and not large enough to keep up with the water sucked from the air daily. My previous dehumidifier was the same size but had a larger bucket and never flooded because, unlike this one, it shut itself off when full.
The only way this unit will turn off on it's own is if I set the timer to shut off after four hours of use. The problem with that is sometimes someone in the family will empty the unit so it doesn't flood (since we are on constant watch) and they might sometimes forget to set the timer for four hours and it floods the floor again. We need to babysit the unit constantly.
This inferior GE product will overflow and leak all over the floor every day unless we empty it at least two or three times a day. This product is a constant annoyance to make sure someone always empties the bucket so it doesn't overflow.
The third problem is that I can only return this unit to the store during the first 90 days and now that time frame has past. What a major disappointment for the buyer who trusted the brand. I thought I was buying a reliable brand with GE. I will certainly remember that with future purchases.
My previous dehumidifier worked fine for a few years and then was suddenly recalled. I bought this GE as a replacement and now I have to tend to the daily flooding unless we empty it religiously and/or only keep it on for four hours at a time. Doesn't ANYONE know how to make a dehumidifier that works these days? Thanks for reading.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use, unit floods floor. does not turn off when full., bucket is too small to hold daily water intake., guarantee only good for 90 .
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
17out of 25found this review helpful.
Response from By GE AnswersJune 16, 2014By GE AnswersJune 16, 2014
Hi Shopper9876-this is Sue from GE. Thanks for your purchase. We can certainly understand your disappointment and regret to hear the auto shut off did not work resulting in water leaking onto your floor. You will want to make sure the foam piece in the bucket assembly is in place. Do not remove this foam piece. If removed, the dehumidifier will not work properly. If it is in place, we encourage you to take advantage of your warranty. After 90 days, Call GE at 1-866-907-1655 to initiate the product replacement process. See the owner's manual for complete warranty details. We hope this information is helpful and apologize for any inconvenience this situation has caused you.GE_Appliances
Review 8 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from Columbus, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overflows

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Dehumidifier overflows each time after owning it for two weeks. The styrofoam piece is still where it should be. Going to return it to Home Depot. I returned the same dehumidifier with the same problem and exchanged it for this one. Whoever from GE is responding, please note that I did not remove the vital styrofoam piece.
On another occasion the little red ball that indicates the bucket is full stayed at the bottom so we could not tell that the bucket was full by a visual inspection.
Cons: overflows
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from Glen Burnie, MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Bad!

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this to replace a similar dehumidifier (different manufacturer)that finally went up on me after 3 years. The automatic shutoff did not work and over the course of the last three weeks we have had huge spills to contend with in the basement! We followed all instructions including not removing the foam piece from the arm in the bucket, as well as trying to adjust fan speed, humidity level, etc and still did not shut off when bucket was full. In fact it kept running even when we removed the bucket to empty! I returned it for a refund and am shopping for a different dehumidifier as the only option Home Depot had in store was the same one, or a larger more expensive model also from GE. I will say returning it was very easy, and I appreciated that.
Cons: did not work as advertised
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier

Water doesn't flow through hose like it should

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I needed a dehumidifier in my garage and wanted one which would drain directly into my sump pump holding pit, so I chose this one. It works well drawing humidity from my once-damp garage. However, I've not been able to get much more than a trickle of water to drain from the hose into the pit - the rest of the water is in the collection bin and I have to empty it every 2 days or it overflows onto the floor. The "out-spout" to which the hose is connected is located in an awkward spot - it's very difficult to get my (average-sized) hand in there to tighten the hose connector. Therefore, most of the water drips into the collection bin instead of flowing through the hose.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By GE AnswersOctober 14, 2014By GE AnswersOctober 14, 2014
Hello Mum2girls - this is Nancy at GE. I'm sorry to hear that your dehumidifier is not draining properly through the hose. Please check the following: 1) Make sure you have a good connection where the garden hose attaches and that there is a rubber washer properly installed in the end of the garden hose. If the connection is loose, gently tighten the connection with pliers. 2) If the hose is pushed into a drain (like a standpipe), make sure it is not pushed in too far. If the hose is touching water, it won’t drain. Pull out the hose until the hose outlet is above the water line. 3) Cut off any excess hose so that it is moving in a straight line to the drain. 4) Avoid using an old or damaged garden hose. I hope this helps!GE_Appliances
Review 11 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from St Anthony, Minnesota

Bucket Full Doesn't Work

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is my 3rd GE dehumidifier. Last two spilled water on the floor. Replaced and after the second one went without for a while. Due to a lot of rain I was in a pinch and had to get another dehumidifier and Home Depot only had GE. Big mistake. I've been emptying the bucket every day to keep on top of it. Forgot to do so the other day and found out the Bucket full function does not work and found water on the floor. Figured it was a one time thing. Same thing today. But hey, the unit is only 30 days old and you can't expect it to last forever. Will be returning this waste of money and buy another brand at another retailer.
Cons: Not Durable
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By GE AnswersMay 29, 2014By GE AnswersMay 29, 2014
Hi Auntie-this is Sue from GE. We can certainly understand your concern and apologize for any inconvenience this situation has caused. There is a piece of styrofoam attached to the float device in the bucket of GE dehumidifiers. This styrofoam is part of the design and should not be removed. We have found that this has been mistaken for packing material. This may be the reason for the issue you are experiencing. We hope this helps!GE_Appliances
Review 12 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from Smithtown, NY

Water collector still fills up even with the hose in place...

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
While the machine works, it does not bypass the collector when the hose is in place. I've retightened to hose to no avail.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier

Works great and easy to use

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This unit works great and is easy to use. Convenient to attach a hose to the unit so you don't have to empty the water container. Automatic shut off works great if you don't use the hose. Easy to empty the water container. Filter is easy to clean too. :)
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Nice Design
+40points
40out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
Age Range:45 to 54

Working great!!

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just bought this unit last night after dealing with days of hot, rainy and humid weather in the north east, that made my finished basement so wet and humid, it started smelling as the floor was literally "sweating". Turned it on around 10pm last night. It showed 85% humidity in the space!!! After about 2 hours, the humidity was down to 60%. It shut off during the night as the container was full. I emptied it this morning and turned it on again. Don't plan on shutting it off until this humid summer is over.....you can feel, never mind smell the difference in the air almost as soon as you turn it on. For the past night's work, I am giving it 5 stars!!! I hope it continues working the same.
+34points
38out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier

Does what it is supposed to do.

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great product for the money. Tells you the current humidity level, three speed settings, shut off timer, good capacity, good size, on wheels, and has a handy carrying handle for ease in moving it around. It has been running solid for over a week now and has really dried out our basement. We didn't want anything too large and hard to move around but still gets the job done and this fits the bill.
Not too noisy but i wish it had one setting lower than low to reduce the sound at night.
good product for the price.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: none
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

VERY GOOD

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
DOES THE JOB WELL. QUIET HARDLY KNOW IT IS ON. moves around to different rooms of the apt. easy to empty
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from oxford, ma
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

hose drain

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm sure the dehumidifier is a qood quality product, if it is used without a hose attached. However, in my celler I need the hose attached to the outlet. Unfortunately, the position of the drain attachment is virtually impossible for an adult to maneuver. The outlet drain is positioned facing to the LEFT, not downward as one would expect water to drain by gravity. The biggest challenge comes screwing a garden hose to that drain outlet. There really is only about an inch to get a hand inside, much less screw it on tight. Very poor engineering and design. For me, it is hooked up , but I still must empty bucket more frequently than I had planned, because only a fraction of water collects and drains in hose.
Cons: poor drain placement
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

dehumidifier

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
did not preform to min expectations leaked and did not work with hose need to be checked often it was returned to store connecting hose was very hard
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Install, Difficult to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have been using this for about two months now in an unfinished basement. I have not had one issue with the unit not shutting off or overflowing. When i read other reviews where customer have these issues, i think 1 of 2 things. 1-For some reason the product had an issue from out of the box, or more likely, 2- someone didn't read the directions. It takes mine about 18hrs to fill the bucket when set on low, im sure this varies though. My only issue is i wish it was an energy savings model whatever. That being said, i am 100% satisfied with how this unit works.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Nice Design
Cons: energy efficient?
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 30-Pint Dehumidifier
from florida
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

try another

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
humidity gauge extreme inaccurate extreme noise every once in awhile cycle on and off every few minutes. not very productive only thing decent was the price. ge is letting me down on many of there products I have tried. took back got a 70 pint unit from another manufacturer and it is simply awesome. does in hour what this one could not do after running all night long.. try the other units after you return this one. preordered for store pickup box was slightly damaged but not interior. still to many issues to blame on beat up box.
Pros: Stylish
Cons: Not Durable
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>