728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Care or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

HDX Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate kills unwanted plants by inhibiting the production of a substance found only in plants. It enters through the sprayed foliage and moves down to the roots. Avoid direct spray or drift onto desirable plants, lawn grasses, shrubs and trees. Protect desirable plants and vegetation with a piece of plastic or cardboard. If desirable plants are accidently sprayed, wash with water immediately. Any HDX Weed & Grass Killer Concentrate that is not absorbed by the plant is broken down into natural materials. This product has no soil activity. Do not mow, cut or otherwise disturb treated vegetation for at least 7 days following application. Most treated weeds usually show initial symptoms in 2-4 days and complete kill in 1-2 weeks.
Overall rating:
3.365 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(170 reviews) 170
Open Ratings Snapshot
63%of customersrecommend this product104 of 165reviews
Rating Breakdown 170 reviews
3.4 out of 5
5
(72)
4
(31)
3
(8)
2
(5)
1
(54)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
63%of customersrecommend this product104 of 165reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer reviews for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
Review 1 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Lake Wales ,Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

killed them weeds and unwanted grass

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Weed and grass killer at half the price and did a fantastic job. The concentrate allows you the ability to make stronger weed killer for those tough weeds or light concentrate for grass edging.This product did the job for half price.
Pros: Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

Does not work

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Roundup always works great. This generic glyphosate is worthless. Have used other generic glyphosate solutions with good results. Do not buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

The best

PostedMarch 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product work very good the weeds took about a week to go down but it's prefect ,the price is perfect for the results I got .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DIDN'T KILL ANYTHING, JUST MY TIME.

PostedMarch 22, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Followed instructions to the letter, turned a few weeds yellow and that was it.......returned unused portion to HD and received store credit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Oxford, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

HDX vs. Roundup

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the HDX concentrate, which has 41% of the active weed killer ingredient compared to Round UP, which has 18% because I though I would get more for my money. Although, the HDX store brand is more than twice as strong it still doesn't kill the weeds like Round UP will. Some of the reviews I read said HDX works just as well but it takes up to a couple of weeks. My question is...if HDX is more than twice as strong then why doesn't it kill the weeds as quickly or quicker than Round Up, which will kill the weeds in a couple of days. I waited two weeks before writing this review and there is very little signs of it working any where near as well as Round Up.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Mesa, AZ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You might as well spray straight tap water on your weeds. Buy Roundup

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've always cringed spraying $20 bottles of Roundup around the yard so when an employee recommended this concentrate I thought I found the alternative I was looking for. I guess the active ingredient alone isn't enough to go by because this stuff does NOTHING (and I use more than the recommended mix). I guess it's back to Roundup.
Cons: doesn't kill weeds
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from fort myers fl
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buy round up brand

PostedDecember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I always bought round up concentrate and it worked great. Within a day I would see results.
This stuff takes way to long to work if it even does. (two weeks average or longer) I could have plucked my whole yard by now. I bought it because it was cheaper and appeared by the label to be stronger. Well every time I use it, a week later I am re-spraying the same weeds. Round up brand, this never happened. It also says it must be above 60F and sunny. Well I live in Florida and in July it worked a little, and now with the high of 80F in December it did not work at all. So this product must only work in Arizona in record temps.
Since applying this for my last time I decided to share my opinion. I will go back to round up brand.
I hope this helps your next purchase. I wish it had another use besides just watering my weeds. Instead waste of money.
Pros: no pros
Cons: waste of time and money
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Port Charlotte, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Weed Killer

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The weed killer worked awesome. I would buy it again.
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Charlotte NC

HDX Weed and Grass Killer is chemically the same as Roundup Super Concentrate but cost a lot less

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the same thing as Round up but it costs a lot less. In the past, I would order the generic from Amazon. Now, HDX brand price is very competitive compared to Amazon. Unless there is a pricing change, I will buy it from HD.
See the yard that is free of weeds
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

no good, no bueano

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product to its full strength and had no results. I tried it again at double strength and adding some dawn to help stick to the weeds this time they wilted but they are still there going strong. Should have went with a name brand like ground clear.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

don't waste your money

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I applied his product twice. The first time as the directions stated and the second time double strength. It did nothing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Florida

HDX weed and grass killer

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This product works fine if you have the patience to wait at least two weeks. If you are looking for a quick fix this is not the product for you. Kills grass and weed in at least two weeks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Glendale, AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Even the people at Home Depot agreed with me when I said it was a waste of my time and money...no offer of. Refund however.
Cons: doesn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Norman Park, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does NOT work

PostedMay 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Mix as directed and applied to weeds and I think they got bigger. A waste of time and money is my opinion.
Cons: doesn't work, waste of time, waste of money
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works, but takes time

PostedJune 10, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have to follow up on an earlier review where I said this didn't kill anything. I sprayed mostly thistle and dandylion around my house. After 2 days nothing was even wilted. After a week 1/3 of the weeds were dead, 1/3 were dying, but 1/3 were still ok. After 2 weeks everything was dead, dead to the roots, dead thistle plants pulled out roots and all. The grass around where I sprayed was dead for 6-8 inches back from the little bit of over spray that got on it. It was another 2 weeks before anything new even sprouted where I had sprayed. So yes, it works well, it just takes time. I wonder if other reviewers had this experience and didn't follow up with a new review.
Pros: good value, kills weeds completely
Cons: slow to start working
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

garbage

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I live in chandlrr, az, used this last sunday front and backyard, been 5 days nothing is happening, wasted my money time effort and sweat, will ask for refund.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from hollywood fl
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great strong product and a great price

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
stronger product for a cheaper price. works great does take a little time to work, but works great.
Pros: Strong, Great Quality
Cons: have to mix in a sprayer
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Waco, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I think I got pranked... is this really water?

PostedApril 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I tried this product - twice - and it never worked. Tried on many different types of weeds, and different levels of concentration. I'm convinced I actually helped the weeds by spraying HDX on them. If you are looking for an excellent weed stimulant, I recommend HDX.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Bear, DE
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This stuff works!

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I buy this stuff every time they have it on sale! You HAVE to use it as directed. Glyphosate is the active ingredient and according to research :"Glyphosate's mode of action is to inhibit an enzyme involved in the synthesis of the aromatic amino acids tyrosine, tryptophan and phenylalanine. It is absorbed through foliage and translocated to growing points. Because of this mode of action, it is only effective on actively growing plants; it is not effective as a pre-emergence herbicide."
So, in order to get the best results:
1) use on plants that get decent sunlight as these plants quickly process the chemical through their foliage
2) use it only on what you want to kill
3) use it a few days before any rainfall. This stuff WILL KILL due to runoff.
4) This not a preventative and should be used on post emergent plants only.
5) Be patient, this stuff may take up to two weeks to work, but it WILL KILL.
The attached picture is of vines mixed with poison ivy two weeks after treatment. The vines were noticablly wilted and obviouisly dying within a week but for hardy stuff, give the chemical two weeks.
This even kills sapling trees! I don't have a picture, but just for giggles I sprayed an annoying sappling that kept growing back no matter how many times I chopped it off at ground level. I didn't feel like digging it up so I gave the sucker a good dose. Two weeks....RIP.
I also use it to treat my asphalt driveway and the stone garden once a month.
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from santa rosa, ca

Says it kills Mallow but it doesn't. Been 4 days yet they look healthier than ever.

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Says it kills Mallow but it doesn't. Been 4 days yet they look healthier than ever.
It did kill fine blades surrounding the weed, but not the Mallow which is growing rampant. And I mixed it more concentrated that the directions say to.
Cons: only works on light thin weeds
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>