728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Care or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

HDX Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate kills unwanted plants by inhibiting the production of a substance found only in plants. It enters through the sprayed foliage and moves down to the roots. Avoid direct spray or drift onto desirable plants, lawn grasses, shrubs and trees. Protect desirable plants and vegetation with a piece of plastic or cardboard. If desirable plants are accidently sprayed, wash with water immediately. Any HDX Weed & Grass Killer Concentrate that is not absorbed by the plant is broken down into natural materials. This product has no soil activity. Do not mow, cut or otherwise disturb treated vegetation for at least 7 days following application. Most treated weeds usually show initial symptoms in 2-4 days and complete kill in 1-2 weeks.
Overall rating:
3.384 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(224 reviews) 224
Open Ratings Snapshot
64%of customersrecommend this product141 of 219reviews
Rating Breakdown 224 reviews
3.4 out of 5
5
(96)
4
(40)
3
(11)
2
(8)
1
(69)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
64%of customersrecommend this product141 of 219reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 54 Answers
Customer reviews for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
Review 1 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Harrisburg, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It works if you use it correctly. The concentration in the bottle is irrelevant.

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Hey follks, this is a concentrate and meant to be diluted. Therefore it is irrelevant that the concentration in the bottle is different than Roundup. Mixed as directed, the resulting concentration of glyphosate will be within an effective range for most vegetation.
I've used this stuff for years. This product contains ONLY glyphosate, and is therefore slow-acting. When comparing to other products that seem to work more quickly, check their labels to see if they also contain imazapic or some other faster acting herbicide. If you want weeds to immediately burst into flames, glyphosate alone won't do it. However, this product is by far the least expensive way to kill weeds if you are patient and don't mind mixing. And glyphosate, despite the hype, is rather safe stuff to use around the house.
It's hard to tell whether the product contains a surfactant to help it spread on foliage. It doesn't hurt to add a bit of dish detergent to help in this regard.
Mix it according to the label, spray it when weeds are actively growing and at least an hour before possible rain, and give it 1-2 weeks. A few hard-to-kill weed species may survive. Hit them one more time. Don't expect that there will be no new weeds popping up later. This is strictly a post-emergent herbicide. You could apply a pre-emergent herbicide, but this can be expensive and any seeds you plant will not grow.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

Works!

PostedJune 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This stuff is comparatively cheap and works as well as I could have hoped it would. There aren't immediate or next day results, but as you can see in my picture, after five days, the plants it touches are nice and dead. And dead is what I was looking for. Buy it.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Southeast Florida
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best weed control ever

PostedMay 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
With reviews going from 1 to 5 you HAVE to believe someone is downright wrong. It does NOT work in a "few days" or a week, more like two+ But when it does, it is very excellent.
After using HDX for around two years I have to say... I have a substantial rare tropical fruit collection that I wouldn't trust to any other weed control product near my plants.
Read the directions, be patient, and ignore the 1 reviews.
Pros: Effective, Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Clinton, MS
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product and good value

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The product worked very well. I recommend it and that you read the label instruction carefully. This product may take one to two weeks for the effects to become visible.
Pros: Great Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

Ineffective. Tried to save $3 but wasted $20.

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Whoever finally sells a less-expensive substitute for RoundUp is going to make millions, and they will deserve every penny of it. But this is not that product.
Following the instructions precisely this product has failed to kill any of the weeds, grasses, and other plants I sprayed it on. Tried again at double, triple, and even quadruple the per-gallon concentrations directed in the instructions, and over a week later the weeds were all still doing just fine. I might as well have given them a glass of water and a bedtime story.
Follow the instructions still does not work = product fail.
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Downers Grove, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Effective Weed Killer

PostedJuly 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a very effective and economical weed (and any other type of flora) killer. I used it to kill off about 200 sqft of sprawling ivy ground cover, and wanted to make sure the roots were dead before uprooting the vines. This product worked great, but required about 3 applications, using about 1.5 times the concentration than recommended on the label. Just be careful of overspray and preparing the spray canister -- I wound up with a few brown spots on the lawn. Not recommended for spot sraying individual weeds (like dandelion) growing in the midst of flora you want to keep around (like a lawn).
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Cranbury NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

buyer beware

PostedJune 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Good for the environment because it doesn't kill anything. Perfect if you are raising weeds. Mine look healthier and stronger than ever after just one application.
Pros: colorful bottle
Cons: weak
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

Best product out there

PostedJuly 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I tried other products that claimed to be concentrate and they didn't work at all.
This worked excellent. The only thing is you have to be sure you spray ONLY on what you want gone.
I promise you it will be gone.
All weeds, grass, stump,vines.
Add a few drops of dish soap to your spray tank to make the poison stick to the sprayed area. 100% recommended
LOVE IT!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Chula Vista
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

kill the weeds

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great stuff as good as round up. It takes about a week but then your weeds are dead.
Pros: Durable, Strong
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from USA

Terrible Product!

PostedJuly 24, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this according to the directions. A week later the weeds are still there and doing great. I added it to round up to get a little more out of my 4 gal sprayer and it actually reduced the effectiveness of round up. I will stick with the round up alone!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

AWESOME

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
WHOEVER SAYS THIS DOES NOT WORK, DID NOT MIX IT CORRECTLY. I MIXED IT AS THE INSTRUCTIONS SAY AND 3-4 DAYS LATER THE THINGS I SPRAYED WAS DEAD!!! VERY AWESOME...KEY IS TO SPRAY WHEN THE WEATHER IS HOT HOT HOT LIKE THE INSTRUCTIONS SAY GUYS !!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

Waste of money

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used in different portions of yard right after a more expensive brand and this product failed. Weeds everywhere even after using it at a heavy strength and applying liberally. I was fooled by the cheaper price tag. Not again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works ok, but takes longer than Round-up

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Has the same ingredient as Roundup, but takes a lot longer to start working. It took about 1 week before I noticed weeds starting to die. It costs a lot less than the name brand Roundup though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

Good stuff

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I needed something to kill everything. (Grass and weeds) this did the job. Will buy again and the price is good at the side of others but remember it kills all vegetation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

Better than roundup

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I used roundup several times and the weeds kept coming back so fast! This worked much better, the really big ones took longer to did, but they did.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Payson, AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Have been using this product for the last year. Kills my weeds.
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from western ny
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
I've used Roundup for years and it has worked well. I saw that this had a higher concentrate of the active ingredient than Roundup so I thought It would work as well if not better.
I mixed per the instructions. After 5 days, there was no visible effect where the product was sprayed. Some weeds may have shriveled slightly but overall there was no effect.
Pros: Won't kill grass if you accidentally spray it on your lawn.
Con: Doesn't kill ANYTHING
Pros: accidental spillage won't kill grass
Cons: intended spillage doesn't kill anything!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Oxford, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

HDX vs. Roundup

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the HDX concentrate, which has 41% of the active weed killer ingredient compared to Round UP, which has 18% because I though I would get more for my money. Although, the HDX store brand is more than twice as strong it still doesn't kill the weeds like Round UP will. Some of the reviews I read said HDX works just as well but it takes up to a couple of weeks. My question is...if HDX is more than twice as strong then why doesn't it kill the weeds as quickly or quicker than Round Up, which will kill the weeds in a couple of days. I waited two weeks before writing this review and there is very little signs of it working any where near as well as Round Up.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Sarasota, fl

good -product

PostedJuly 8, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The Product works slowly, but eventually it gets the job done. Does well on nearly all grasses (I'd say 99%) but only about 90% on other weeds. It's worth the price, now I just have to see how long the protection lasts.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Washington, DC

Works just fine, ignore the naysayers

PostedJuly 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Don't believe the naysayers -- this vegetation killer WORKS JUST FINE. As others have reported, it won't yield instant results, and some weeds will appear to be unaffected after a week or more. However, all of a sudden they'll droop and turn brown.
I did not have immediate success with HDX weed and grass killer.. However, I increased the mix to about 125% of what the bottle recommends, and that seemed to help. Also, and THIS IS IMPORTANT -- your sprayer needs to be putting out the correct size drops of spray. If your spray is too fine, the atomized droplets are going to blow everywhere and not land on whatever you're trying to kill. If your droplets are too large and heavy, they're going to bounce or roll off the plants and land on the ground where they won't do any good. One thing that helps is to test your spray pattern on the driveway or sidewalk before you start spraying plants so you can see what the spray pattern looks like and adjust as needed.
Some tank sprayers come with multiple nozzles and/or adjustable spray tips -- be sure you're using the correct nozzle and that it's putting out a medium-size drop. Also be sure that you're keeping the sprayer at a relatively uniform pressure -- pump regularly as you're spraying, and remember that you'll need to pump the handle more times to maintain a consistent spray as the tank has less liquid in it and more air. It's easier to tell what the "right" spray looks like after you've had some practice.
Finally, for those doing cost comparisons, the 32oz bottle of HDX grass and weed killer costs a few dollars less than the 32oz bottle of RoundUp, but the truly important metric is that the Roundup covers 3000 square feet while the HDX will cover over 6000. The bottom line is that the HDX costs less than half of Roundup. The math: Roundup is 0.63 cents per square foot, HDX is 0.26 cents per square foot.
When you're done, don't forget to fill your sprayer with clean water, pump it up, and flush the water through the hose and wand. That way, you won't be left with any residue in the tank that you wouldn't want to accidentally spray later on anything else, and your tank parts won't corrode or get sticky, etc. from having leftover chemical sitting on them.
Pros: Easy to Install, Strong, Great Quality, good value for money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>