728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Care or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

HDX Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate kills unwanted plants by inhibiting the production of a substance found only in plants. It enters through the sprayed foliage and moves down to the roots. Avoid direct spray or drift onto desirable plants, lawn grasses, shrubs and trees. Protect desirable plants and vegetation with a piece of plastic or cardboard. If desirable plants are accidently sprayed, wash with water immediately. Any HDX Weed & Grass Killer Concentrate that is not absorbed by the plant is broken down into natural materials. This product has no soil activity. Do not mow, cut or otherwise disturb treated vegetation for at least 7 days following application. Most treated weeds usually show initial symptoms in 2-4 days and complete kill in 1-2 weeks.
Overall rating:
3.458 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(155 reviews) 155
Open Ratings Snapshot
66%of customersrecommend this product99 of 150reviews
Rating Breakdown 155 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(68)
4
(30)
3
(7)
2
(5)
1
(45)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
66%of customersrecommend this product99 of 150reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer reviews for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
Review 1 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Lake Wales ,Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

killed them weeds and unwanted grass

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Weed and grass killer at half the price and did a fantastic job. The concentrate allows you the ability to make stronger weed killer for those tough weeds or light concentrate for grass edging.This product did the job for half price.
Pros: Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Oxford, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

HDX vs. Roundup

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the HDX concentrate, which has 41% of the active weed killer ingredient compared to Round UP, which has 18% because I though I would get more for my money. Although, the HDX store brand is more than twice as strong it still doesn't kill the weeds like Round UP will. Some of the reviews I read said HDX works just as well but it takes up to a couple of weeks. My question is...if HDX is more than twice as strong then why doesn't it kill the weeds as quickly or quicker than Round Up, which will kill the weeds in a couple of days. I waited two weeks before writing this review and there is very little signs of it working any where near as well as Round Up.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Charlotte NC

HDX Weed and Grass Killer is chemically the same as Roundup Super Concentrate but cost a lot less

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the same thing as Round up but it costs a lot less. In the past, I would order the generic from Amazon. Now, HDX brand price is very competitive compared to Amazon. Unless there is a pricing change, I will buy it from HD.
See the yard that is free of weeds
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Bear, DE
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This stuff works!

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I buy this stuff every time they have it on sale! You HAVE to use it as directed. Glyphosate is the active ingredient and according to research :"Glyphosate's mode of action is to inhibit an enzyme involved in the synthesis of the aromatic amino acids tyrosine, tryptophan and phenylalanine. It is absorbed through foliage and translocated to growing points. Because of this mode of action, it is only effective on actively growing plants; it is not effective as a pre-emergence herbicide."
So, in order to get the best results:
1) use on plants that get decent sunlight as these plants quickly process the chemical through their foliage
2) use it only on what you want to kill
3) use it a few days before any rainfall. This stuff WILL KILL due to runoff.
4) This not a preventative and should be used on post emergent plants only.
5) Be patient, this stuff may take up to two weeks to work, but it WILL KILL.
The attached picture is of vines mixed with poison ivy two weeks after treatment. The vines were noticablly wilted and obviouisly dying within a week but for hardy stuff, give the chemical two weeks.
This even kills sapling trees! I don't have a picture, but just for giggles I sprayed an annoying sappling that kept growing back no matter how many times I chopped it off at ground level. I didn't feel like digging it up so I gave the sucker a good dose. Two weeks....RIP.
I also use it to treat my asphalt driveway and the stone garden once a month.
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Norman Park, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does NOT work

PostedMay 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Mix as directed and applied to weeds and I think they got bigger. A waste of time and money is my opinion.
Cons: doesn't work, waste of time, waste of money
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for the price

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I didn't want to spend a ton of money on weed killer and this product fit the bill perfectly. It doesnt kill the weeds as fast as some other products but it does work well. It also was able to kill some ivy that other big name brands had not. Also I like the concentrated version so you can up the does on harder to kill weeds. Overall great product.
Pros: Multi Use, Strong, Great Quality
Cons: slow
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Waco, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I think I got pranked... is this really water?

PostedApril 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I tried this product - twice - and it never worked. Tried on many different types of weeds, and different levels of concentration. I'm convinced I actually helped the weeds by spraying HDX on them. If you are looking for an excellent weed stimulant, I recommend HDX.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Phoenix, AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Slow acting

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product has nearly twice the active ingredient that you'll find in the other leading brand, but it takes far longer for it to work. If you're in no hurry to kill the weeds - this product is fine. In a side-by-side comparison with Round-Up, the HDX sprayed weeds still looked green and viable after a 5 days. The Round-Up sprayed weeds had begun to wilt and turn yellow by the next morning. It took nearly 8 days for the HDX weeds to finally start looking like they were dying.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Cary, North Carolina
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Very Well, But Slow

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product works very well for normal grass and weeds, not so great with the hardy stuff. Be sure to give it time to work, it took almost a week for the vegetation to turn brown. It is all dead now, just not going to see the instant browning like with the more expensive products. I would recommend this product as an inexpensive alternative to the Name Brand products.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Functionality, Great Quality
Cons: slow acting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from MALABAR, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

DID NOT WORK

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used it twice and did not do the job. Used Specticide and it worked well!
I would like to return it for a refund.
Cons: did not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Columbus, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just as good (if not better) than the top name brands. Spray-it-and-forget-it...that's all there is to it. This is a broad range defoliant; be careful where you spray it. I always try to shop for the HD Brand when it's available; always just as good (if not better) than the top name brands...and ALWAYS a GREAT value.
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works, but takes time

PostedJune 10, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have to follow up on an earlier review where I said this didn't kill anything. I sprayed mostly thistle and dandylion around my house. After 2 days nothing was even wilted. After a week 1/3 of the weeds were dead, 1/3 were dying, but 1/3 were still ok. After 2 weeks everything was dead, dead to the roots, dead thistle plants pulled out roots and all. The grass around where I sprayed was dead for 6-8 inches back from the little bit of over spray that got on it. It was another 2 weeks before anything new even sprouted where I had sprayed. So yes, it works well, it just takes time. I wonder if other reviewers had this experience and didn't follow up with a new review.
Pros: good value, kills weeds completely
Cons: slow to start working
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Michigan
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works great, but be patient

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is 41% Glyphosate, which is the same active ingredient in the more expensive RoundUp products. It works chemically the same.
I think some of the negative reviews of this product are due to lack of patience & incorrect use. This product will kill weeds dead. Completely dead. However it takes about a week for the Glyphosate to be absorbed by the foliage and translocate throughout the plant. Once it does, goodbye weed.
One of the reasons that products like RoundUp can claim a 24 hour kill is that they add Diquat to their product in addition to the Glyphosate. Diquat kills weeds by defoliation & desiccation (drying out). Those weeds look dead faster, but often times the Diquat causes the plant to defoliate and dry up before the Glyphosate has time to work. This can result in a weed that appears to die quickly, but did not result in a total kill.
Use this, save money, be patient, and you will be rewarded with dead weeds.
Also remember that this product needs to be sprayed on the foliage of the plant, not the roots. Soaking the soil around the weed with this product will not work. It needs to be applied on the foliage of the plant.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Glendale, Arizona
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good price, works great.

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Main active ingredient is glyphosate which is absorbed in leaves and stems to kill weeds and grasses. You can buy more expensive name-brands, but this concentrate makes 21 gals of spray and lasts a long time. Does the job inexpensively.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

jalicea06

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Is work good dry all weed fast and easy to mix with water
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

Amazing!!

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have never used a product that completely obliterates the weeds. This value is absolutely amazing and there is nothing else like it for this price. Don't waste your time with the big namebrand we killers as they do not kill the weeds. With constant use this keeps the weeds from coming back all together. Don't expect immediate results the next day it takes about a full week for them to completely die but when they die they go.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Cape Cod, MA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

HDX Weed & Grass Killer Review

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I recommend this product solely because it works as well as other products that perform the same function. You do have to spray it when there is no wind or you'll end up with dead grass where you want live grass. It's been on a few places in our yard and nothing is growing there yet, but it's fall here in MA and I'm not sure if weather has anything to do with the lack of growth.
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from corozal, pr
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

the best i ever try

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i have try other grass killer an non of them work as effective as this one. it work strong on grass and kill everything making your job ease to do. thank you for a fine product
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Cost effective alternative

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bottle sated that it could make up to 21 gallons with 32 ounces of product. I was mixing into a 2.5 gallon container, so in keeping with the 21 gallons per bottle, I mixed in 4 ounces of the material. 3 Days after spraying, I checked the treated area, and it was clearly showing signs of effectiveness, and within one week, was truly showing full effectiveness. Within 1.5 weeks, everything was definitively dead. Would recommend this product as a direct alternative to the name-brand products.
Pros: value
Cons: wear safety equipment while mixing
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

Herbicide

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first time I applied this product I doubled the mix to insure a good kill, well after a week went bye I knew I would never buy this product again.
You shouldn't sell this in the Hill Country area without testing it here first..
It's weak when compared to other retail herbicides..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>