728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Care or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

HDX Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate kills unwanted plants by inhibiting the production of a substance found only in plants. It enters through the sprayed foliage and moves down to the roots. Avoid direct spray or drift onto desirable plants, lawn grasses, shrubs and trees. Protect desirable plants and vegetation with a piece of plastic or cardboard. If desirable plants are accidently sprayed, wash with water immediately. Any HDX Weed & Grass Killer Concentrate that is not absorbed by the plant is broken down into natural materials. This product has no soil activity. Do not mow, cut or otherwise disturb treated vegetation for at least 7 days following application. Most treated weeds usually show initial symptoms in 2-4 days and complete kill in 1-2 weeks.
Overall rating:
3.352 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(210 reviews) 210
Open Ratings Snapshot
63%of customersrecommend this product130 of 205reviews
Rating Breakdown 210 reviews
3.4 out of 5
5
(89)
4
(36)
3
(11)
2
(8)
1
(66)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
63%of customersrecommend this product130 of 205reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 46 Answers
Customer reviews for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
Review 1 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

Works!

PostedJune 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This stuff is comparatively cheap and works as well as I could have hoped it would. There aren't immediate or next day results, but as you can see in my picture, after five days, the plants it touches are nice and dead. And dead is what I was looking for. Buy it.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

Ineffective. Tried to save $3 but wasted $20.

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Whoever finally sells a less-expensive substitute for RoundUp is going to make millions, and they will deserve every penny of it. But this is not that product.
Following the instructions precisely this product has failed to kill any of the weeds, grasses, and other plants I sprayed it on. Tried again at double, triple, and even quadruple the per-gallon concentrations directed in the instructions, and over a week later the weeds were all still doing just fine. I might as well have given them a glass of water and a bedtime story.
Follow the instructions still does not work = product fail.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Harrisburg, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It works if you use it correctly. The concentration in the bottle is irrelevant.

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Hey follks, this is a concentrate and meant to be diluted. Therefore it is irrelevant that the concentration in the bottle is different than Roundup. Mixed as directed, the resulting concentration of glyphosate will be within an effective range for most vegetation.
I've used this stuff for years. This product contains ONLY glyphosate, and is therefore slow-acting. When comparing to other products that seem to work more quickly, check their labels to see if they also contain imazapic or some other faster acting herbicide. If you want weeds to immediately burst into flames, glyphosate alone won't do it. However, this product is by far the least expensive way to kill weeds if you are patient and don't mind mixing. And glyphosate, despite the hype, is rather safe stuff to use around the house.
It's hard to tell whether the product contains a surfactant to help it spread on foliage. It doesn't hurt to add a bit of dish detergent to help in this regard.
Mix it according to the label, spray it when weeds are actively growing and at least an hour before possible rain, and give it 1-2 weeks. A few hard-to-kill weed species may survive. Hit them one more time. Don't expect that there will be no new weeds popping up later. This is strictly a post-emergent herbicide. You could apply a pre-emergent herbicide, but this can be expensive and any seeds you plant will not grow.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from western ny
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
I've used Roundup for years and it has worked well. I saw that this had a higher concentrate of the active ingredient than Roundup so I thought It would work as well if not better.
I mixed per the instructions. After 5 days, there was no visible effect where the product was sprayed. Some weeds may have shriveled slightly but overall there was no effect.
Pros: Won't kill grass if you accidentally spray it on your lawn.
Con: Doesn't kill ANYTHING
Pros: accidental spillage won't kill grass
Cons: intended spillage doesn't kill anything!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Clinton, MS
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product and good value

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The product worked very well. I recommend it and that you read the label instruction carefully. This product may take one to two weeks for the effects to become visible.
Pros: Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Southeast Florida
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best weed control ever

PostedMay 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
With reviews going from 1 to 5 you HAVE to believe someone is downright wrong. It does NOT work in a "few days" or a week, more like two+ But when it does, it is very excellent.
After using HDX for around two years I have to say... I have a substantial rare tropical fruit collection that I wouldn't trust to any other weed control product near my plants.
Read the directions, be patient, and ignore the 1 reviews.
Pros: Effective, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Oxford, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

HDX vs. Roundup

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the HDX concentrate, which has 41% of the active weed killer ingredient compared to Round UP, which has 18% because I though I would get more for my money. Although, the HDX store brand is more than twice as strong it still doesn't kill the weeds like Round UP will. Some of the reviews I read said HDX works just as well but it takes up to a couple of weeks. My question is...if HDX is more than twice as strong then why doesn't it kill the weeds as quickly or quicker than Round Up, which will kill the weeds in a couple of days. I waited two weeks before writing this review and there is very little signs of it working any where near as well as Round Up.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Chula Vista
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

kill the weeds

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great stuff as good as round up. It takes about a week but then your weeds are dead.
Pros: Durable, Strong
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Cranbury NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

buyer beware

PostedJune 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Good for the environment because it doesn't kill anything. Perfect if you are raising weeds. Mine look healthier and stronger than ever after just one application.
Pros: colorful bottle
Cons: weak
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Frederick, MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great and much lower price than name brands.

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Not as fast nor quite as strong as name brands, but works great. Not sure what people are dogging on it for because it works fine. It takes 2 or 3 days though for plants to die. I use slightly higher concentration and try to make sure it's not going to rain for 24 hours. Huge coverage area for the price.
Pros: Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Conway, AR
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It worked

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Same active ingredient as Roundup. Works just like Roundup. Note: this is not the 1 hour or 24 hours stuff. But give it 3-5 days and the weeds/grass whatever will be dead.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Manvel Tx
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
We started using this instead of Roundup and it works very well but the weeds come back about every other month. Even after two treatments we are getting weeds back again.
Pros: Great Quality
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Parks, Louisiana
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best weed killer ever.

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product, like all HD brand items, is an exceptional value. It really works as advertised. I have been really satisfied with all HD products.
Pros: Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from marysville, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

weed clear

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
label showed same active ingredient as leading brand, but cost was much lower; unfortunately, still waiting on it to kill all that I sprayed
Pros: value price
Cons: slow acting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from spokane wa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

TERRIBLE Doese not work

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I quadrupled the mixture and sprayed on generously. Weeds and grass still growing after 1 week and see no signs of stopping after 2 weeks.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Phoenix AZ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Napalm for weeds

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the second season that I am using this product. In this Phoenix, AZ climate, weeds grow at insane rates after pretty much any rain fall that occurs. I personally make the mix stronger than suggested...1/4 cup to one gallon, and the results are fantastic....no weeds, no complaints from the HOA, one happy homeowner!
Pros: Strong
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Peeples Valley, Arizona
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seems to take abot a week before results

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Takes awhile before you see results, about a week.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from pasadena, ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I think this is weed fertilizer, not weed killer

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have been using round up to control the little weeds that pop up in my decomposed granite. I saw HD last time I was in the store and decided to give it a try since the concentrations were similar. I followed the instructions and actually mixed it a little stronger to be safe. After 4 days, weeds are doing great! I think they are actually bigger which is great for the weeds, bad for me. I guess there is a reason why it is 1/3 the price of the good stuff.
Pros: Vibrant Color
Cons: doesn't kill weeds
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Albuquerque nm
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awsome

PostedApril 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worked great! results in two days. You have to spray a lot but for the comparable prices it's worth it and works better. Use at at work and home!
Pros: Strong
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Value - Buy this Weed Killer!!!

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've been using Round-Up and other name-brand weed killers for years. I use concentrate and mix according to the instructions. The HDX product works fantastically on Florida and North Carolina weeds. Approximately half the price of the big name brands!! A great value. I even bought a container for a place in North Carolina because there's not a Home Depot nearby and I didn't want to waste money at the Lowes.
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>