728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Care or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

HDX Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate kills unwanted plants by inhibiting the production of a substance found only in plants. It enters through the sprayed foliage and moves down to the roots. Avoid direct spray or drift onto desirable plants, lawn grasses, shrubs and trees. Protect desirable plants and vegetation with a piece of plastic or cardboard. If desirable plants are accidently sprayed, wash with water immediately. Any HDX Weed & Grass Killer Concentrate that is not absorbed by the plant is broken down into natural materials. This product has no soil activity. Do not mow, cut or otherwise disturb treated vegetation for at least 7 days following application. Most treated weeds usually show initial symptoms in 2-4 days and complete kill in 1-2 weeks.
Overall rating:
3.363 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(190 reviews) 190
Open Ratings Snapshot
64%of customersrecommend this product118 of 185reviews
Rating Breakdown 190 reviews
3.4 out of 5
5
(82)
4
(33)
3
(8)
2
(6)
1
(61)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
64%of customersrecommend this product118 of 185reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 43 Answers
Customer reviews for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
Review 1 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

Ineffective. Tried to save $3 but wasted $20.

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Whoever finally sells a less-expensive substitute for RoundUp is going to make millions, and they will deserve every penny of it. But this is not that product.
Following the instructions precisely this product has failed to kill any of the weeds, grasses, and other plants I sprayed it on. Tried again at double, triple, and even quadruple the per-gallon concentrations directed in the instructions, and over a week later the weeds were all still doing just fine. I might as well have given them a glass of water and a bedtime story.
Follow the instructions still does not work = product fail.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from western ny
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
I've used Roundup for years and it has worked well. I saw that this had a higher concentrate of the active ingredient than Roundup so I thought It would work as well if not better.
I mixed per the instructions. After 5 days, there was no visible effect where the product was sprayed. Some weeds may have shriveled slightly but overall there was no effect.
Pros: Won't kill grass if you accidentally spray it on your lawn.
Con: Doesn't kill ANYTHING
Pros: accidental spillage won't kill grass
Cons: intended spillage doesn't kill anything!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Parks, Louisiana
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best weed killer ever.

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product, like all HD brand items, is an exceptional value. It really works as advertised. I have been really satisfied with all HD products.
Pros: Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Phoenix AZ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Napalm for weeds

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the second season that I am using this product. In this Phoenix, AZ climate, weeds grow at insane rates after pretty much any rain fall that occurs. I personally make the mix stronger than suggested...1/4 cup to one gallon, and the results are fantastic....no weeds, no complaints from the HOA, one happy homeowner!
Pros: Strong
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Albuquerque nm
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awsome

PostedApril 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worked great! results in two days. You have to spray a lot but for the comparable prices it's worth it and works better. Use at at work and home!
Pros: Strong
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Chula Vista
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

kill the weeds

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great stuff as good as round up. It takes about a week but then your weeds are dead.
Pros: Durable, Strong
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Oxford, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

HDX vs. Roundup

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the HDX concentrate, which has 41% of the active weed killer ingredient compared to Round UP, which has 18% because I though I would get more for my money. Although, the HDX store brand is more than twice as strong it still doesn't kill the weeds like Round UP will. Some of the reviews I read said HDX works just as well but it takes up to a couple of weeks. My question is...if HDX is more than twice as strong then why doesn't it kill the weeds as quickly or quicker than Round Up, which will kill the weeds in a couple of days. I waited two weeks before writing this review and there is very little signs of it working any where near as well as Round Up.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

You get what you pay for.

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have learned over the years if you buy cheap there is a reason it is cheap. Usually when dealing with weeds and other unwanted plant life in my Desert landscape I buy the higher end weed killer. This time I decided to go with this product. This is do to the fact that I could mix my own portions and I figured it would last me through are upcoming summer months. Unfortunately I sprayed this product after following the mixing ratio stated on the bottle. 3 days later you would of thought I actually watered the weeds. like my title said you get what you pay for. I went cheap and got cheap results.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Placerville Ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This is exactly the same as roundup pro 41% glyphosate

PostedMay 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you rate this down compared to roundup concentrate, you don't have a clue what you are talking about. The active AND inert ingredients are identical. They both work exactly the same. As per label, full kill on some weeds/grass may not be seen for 7-10 days, this is normal for glyphosate.
If you are comparing this to the other roundup products all of them have other ingredients besides glyophosate, to serve different purposes.
Sprayed professionally for 20 years. Roundup grass/weed killer always works the same as any off branded grass killer
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Mesa, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedMay 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was not sure if I would like this product. I tried it, applied it with both a tank sprayer and hose end sprayer and it worked as advertised. Killed all my weeds dead in two weeks, even weeds 6 feet tall and palm tree sprouts in ONE application. Just be patient, it works.
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

Hdx stinks

PostedMay 18, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't waste your money on this stuff. Stick to round up. I will. Didnt kill one weed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Blue Ridge, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Dissappointed

PostedMay 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would give this less than 1 star but that is the lowest rating option. Home Depot should remove this from the market as it DOES NOT WORK.....period. I caution you do not waste your money and purchase Roundup. There is a reason for that old phrase "You get what you pay for". Wish There was a way to get my $20 plus bucks back because this is a useless product.
Cons: it does not kills weeds period.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Harrisburg, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It works if you use it correctly. The concentration in the bottle is irrelevant.

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Hey follks, this is a concentrate and meant to be diluted. Therefore it is irrelevant that the concentration in the bottle is different than Roundup. Mixed as directed, the resulting concentration of glyphosate will be within an effective range for most vegetation.
I've used this stuff for years. This product contains ONLY glyphosate, and is therefore slow-acting. When comparing to other products that seem to work more quickly, check their labels to see if they also contain imazapic or some other faster acting herbicide. If you want weeds to immediately burst into flames, glyphosate alone won't do it. However, this product is by far the least expensive way to kill weeds if you are patient and don't mind mixing. And glyphosate, despite the hype, is rather safe stuff to use around the house.
It's hard to tell whether the product contains a surfactant to help it spread on foliage. It doesn't hurt to add a bit of dish detergent to help in this regard.
Mix it according to the label, spray it when weeds are actively growing and at least an hour before possible rain, and give it 1-2 weeks. A few hard-to-kill weed species may survive. Hit them one more time. Don't expect that there will be no new weeds popping up later. This is strictly a post-emergent herbicide. You could apply a pre-emergent herbicide, but this can be expensive and any seeds you plant will not grow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

The was alittle to much and really didn't know what I was getting

PostedMay 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It took way to much to kill the weeds and long time
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from NW Missouri
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Might as well have flushed $20 down the toilet

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is, easily, the worst weed killer I've ever tried. First, I mixed it as per directions and it did absolutely nothing to the weeds. I waited a few days and tried it at double strength, still no results. I kept checking the label to make sure it wasn't a weed fertilizer. I might as well have taken a $20 bill and flushed it down the toilet. That would have been as effective as this awful product and would have saved me some time.
Cons: worthless
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

It works

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great value and will never pay for roundup again!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Lake Wales ,Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

killed them weeds and unwanted grass

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Weed and grass killer at half the price and did a fantastic job. The concentrate allows you the ability to make stronger weed killer for those tough weeds or light concentrate for grass edging.This product did the job for half price.
Pros: Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Georgia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Slow, but good!

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product kills weeds and undesired plants. I like that it is concentrated because you aren't buying a bunch of water. It is very easy to mix up into a sprayer. The product is very effective but you should note that it takes one to two weeks for plants to show signs of dying if you use the recommended concentration. So if you need something to work overnight go with Roundup or use more of the product when mixing up a batch. This is one of the advantages in that you can control the percentage of this product in what you are spraying.
If you can wait some and want to save money this product is very effective. I have purchased this product many times and have no problems waiting the extra week or so for items to die off. If you spray this product often weeds shouldn't even start growing in the first place. Do keep in mind this product kills any plants so becareful what you spray it on.
Pros: Great Quality
Cons: not as fast as roundup
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Charlotte NC

HDX Weed and Grass Killer is chemically the same as Roundup Super Concentrate but cost a lot less

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the same thing as Round up but it costs a lot less. In the past, I would order the generic from Amazon. Now, HDX brand price is very competitive compared to Amazon. Unless there is a pricing change, I will buy it from HD.
See the yard that is free of weeds
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Portland, Oregon
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Invasive weed killer

PostedApril 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Worked well on a very invasive weed when other products did not.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>