728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Care or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

HDX Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate kills unwanted plants by inhibiting the production of a substance found only in plants. It enters through the sprayed foliage and moves down to the roots. Avoid direct spray or drift onto desirable plants, lawn grasses, shrubs and trees. Protect desirable plants and vegetation with a piece of plastic or cardboard. If desirable plants are accidently sprayed, wash with water immediately. Any HDX Weed & Grass Killer Concentrate that is not absorbed by the plant is broken down into natural materials. This product has no soil activity. Do not mow, cut or otherwise disturb treated vegetation for at least 7 days following application. Most treated weeds usually show initial symptoms in 2-4 days and complete kill in 1-2 weeks.
Overall rating:
3.389 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(126 reviews) 126
Open Ratings Snapshot
64%of customersrecommend this product77 of 121reviews
Rating Breakdown 126 reviews
3.4 out of 5.0
5
(54)
4
(23)
3
(6)
2
(4)
1
(39)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
64%of customersrecommend this product77 of 121reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer reviews for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
Review 1 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Lake Wales ,Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

killed them weeds and unwanted grass

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Weed and grass killer at half the price and did a fantastic job. The concentrate allows you the ability to make stronger weed killer for those tough weeds or light concentrate for grass edging.This product did the job for half price.
Pros: Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Bear, DE
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This stuff works!

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I buy this stuff every time they have it on sale! You HAVE to use it as directed. Glyphosate is the active ingredient and according to research :"Glyphosate's mode of action is to inhibit an enzyme involved in the synthesis of the aromatic amino acids tyrosine, tryptophan and phenylalanine. It is absorbed through foliage and translocated to growing points. Because of this mode of action, it is only effective on actively growing plants; it is not effective as a pre-emergence herbicide."
So, in order to get the best results:
1) use on plants that get decent sunlight as these plants quickly process the chemical through their foliage
2) use it only on what you want to kill
3) use it a few days before any rainfall. This stuff WILL KILL due to runoff.
4) This not a preventative and should be used on post emergent plants only.
5) Be patient, this stuff may take up to two weeks to work, but it WILL KILL.
The attached picture is of vines mixed with poison ivy two weeks after treatment. The vines were noticablly wilted and obviouisly dying within a week but for hardy stuff, give the chemical two weeks.
This even kills sapling trees! I don't have a picture, but just for giggles I sprayed an annoying sappling that kept growing back no matter how many times I chopped it off at ground level. I didn't feel like digging it up so I gave the sucker a good dose. Two weeks....RIP.
I also use it to treat my asphalt driveway and the stone garden once a month.
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Charlotte NC

HDX Weed and Grass Killer is chemically the same as Roundup Super Concentrate but cost a lot less

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the same thing as Round up but it costs a lot less. In the past, I would order the generic from Amazon. Now, HDX brand price is very competitive compared to Amazon. Unless there is a pricing change, I will buy it from HD.
See the yard that is free of weeds
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for the price

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I didn't want to spend a ton of money on weed killer and this product fit the bill perfectly. It doesnt kill the weeds as fast as some other products but it does work well. It also was able to kill some ivy that other big name brands had not. Also I like the concentrated version so you can up the does on harder to kill weeds. Overall great product.
Pros: Multi Use, Strong, Great Quality
Cons: slow
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Norman Park, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does NOT work

PostedMay 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Mix as directed and applied to weeds and I think they got bigger. A waste of time and money is my opinion.
Cons: doesn't work, waste of time, waste of money
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from corozal, pr
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

the best i ever try

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i have try other grass killer an non of them work as effective as this one. it work strong on grass and kill everything making your job ease to do. thank you for a fine product
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product worked. Everything green died and was brown within several days. Read the label. No need to over apply. Good price too.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Waco, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I think I got pranked... is this really water?

PostedApril 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I tried this product - twice - and it never worked. Tried on many different types of weeds, and different levels of concentration. I'm convinced I actually helped the weeds by spraying HDX on them. If you are looking for an excellent weed stimulant, I recommend HDX.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works pretty good

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This HDX Weed and Grass works just fine the only thing is it is kind of slow acting. If you want those weeds dead this week spend the extra on a Round-up brand. If your not on a schedule this stuff works just as well but might take more than a cou8ple of weeks to totally kill the weeds. I find it particullary useful in large areas thet have to get done frequently like the center of my gravel drive as a ground clear, around multch beds as a spot killer, around fences so there is no trimming, the crackes in the concrete walk, Etc
Pros: total kill
Cons: slow acting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

read the directions and use

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is not a kill all product, but it will kill a bunch.. It will not make areas like flower beds useless for 6-12 months, so for this reason I use it as an alternative to pulling weeds in places I wanna clear and will still be able to plant stuff in these areas in about a week... a little over spray on plants that aren't listed on the kill list will not effect them much and they will survive... SLOw acting, so if you do see Browning on stuff you wanted to keep, just prune the brown off and it won't die...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Winter Park, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No.

PostedMay 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product will not work. My weeds seem to love it and they are alive as ever.
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Tyler, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finally - monopoly broken

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is glyphosate - same chemical as RoundUp, which is now off patent with its original developer (Monsanto?). Unless we get taken advantage of, it should be about half the price of RoundUp. Home Depot should sell a lot of this stuff.
Pros: Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Savannah, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WEED AND GRASS KILLER

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I took the time to compare the HD contents with the Name Brand products. They were basically the same. The HD does a slower kill than the other weed killers that I have used, but it gets the job done.
Pros: Great Quality, price
Cons: slow action
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from St. Cloud, Fl
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works AWESOME.... I found my new grass killer!

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I’ve always been leery with using products w/o known labels on them. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate by HDX was introduced to me by a store representative. I decided to try it compared to the price and size to the competitor. First time I tried it.. when I spray I didn’t notice anything… until a week later… longest period for results… I’m extremely satisfied.
Pros: Durable, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Columbus GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked very well

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It was a little slow to work, it took several days for the brush to actually die and I wondered if it was ever going to work. But within a few days everything was dead and I hope it stays gone for the rest of the season.
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works, but takes time

PostedJune 10, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have to follow up on an earlier review where I said this didn't kill anything. I sprayed mostly thistle and dandylion around my house. After 2 days nothing was even wilted. After a week 1/3 of the weeds were dead, 1/3 were dying, but 1/3 were still ok. After 2 weeks everything was dead, dead to the roots, dead thistle plants pulled out roots and all. The grass around where I sprayed was dead for 6-8 inches back from the little bit of over spray that got on it. It was another 2 weeks before anything new even sprouted where I had sprayed. So yes, it works well, it just takes time. I wonder if other reviewers had this experience and didn't follow up with a new review.
Pros: good value, kills weeds completely
Cons: slow to start working
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Michigan
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works great, but be patient

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is 41% Glyphosate, which is the same active ingredient in the more expensive RoundUp products. It works chemically the same.
I think some of the negative reviews of this product are due to lack of patience & incorrect use. This product will kill weeds dead. Completely dead. However it takes about a week for the Glyphosate to be absorbed by the foliage and translocate throughout the plant. Once it does, goodbye weed.
One of the reasons that products like RoundUp can claim a 24 hour kill is that they add Diquat to their product in addition to the Glyphosate. Diquat kills weeds by defoliation & desiccation (drying out). Those weeds look dead faster, but often times the Diquat causes the plant to defoliate and dry up before the Glyphosate has time to work. This can result in a weed that appears to die quickly, but did not result in a total kill.
Use this, save money, be patient, and you will be rewarded with dead weeds.
Also remember that this product needs to be sprayed on the foliage of the plant, not the roots. Soaking the soil around the weed with this product will not work. It needs to be applied on the foliage of the plant.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

Powerful stuff! Delayed response

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Sprayed weeds around the yard with the stuff. After 2 or 3 days, I didn't notice any change. About a week later i noticed everything was dead. Even stuff i just sprayed the edges of was dead to the root. Much cheaper than roundup. I'll buy it again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent value!

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a good low priced alternative to the branded products. The downside is that it takes a couple of weeks for the weeds to turn brown,
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Oregon
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great, easy to mix good value

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product worked well and as advertised. Easy to mix in the sprayer and seemed to be more effective than competing products I have used. Probably more effective because ingredients list shows a higher concentration of the active ingredient Glyphosate. Better value than competitors. This kills all plants so be careful to use in still wind days and be careful where you aim it.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>