728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Care or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

HDX Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate kills unwanted plants by inhibiting the production of a substance found only in plants. It enters through the sprayed foliage and moves down to the roots. Avoid direct spray or drift onto desirable plants, lawn grasses, shrubs and trees. Protect desirable plants and vegetation with a piece of plastic or cardboard. If desirable plants are accidently sprayed, wash with water immediately. Any HDX Weed & Grass Killer Concentrate that is not absorbed by the plant is broken down into natural materials. This product has no soil activity. Do not mow, cut or otherwise disturb treated vegetation for at least 7 days following application. Most treated weeds usually show initial symptoms in 2-4 days and complete kill in 1-2 weeks.
Overall rating:
3.198 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(106 reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
58%of customersrecommend this product59 of 101reviews
Rating Breakdown 106 reviews
3.2 out of 5.0
5
(40)
4
(19)
3
(6)
2
(4)
1
(37)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
58%of customersrecommend this product59 of 101reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
Review 1 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Lake Wales ,Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

killed them weeds and unwanted grass

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Weed and grass killer at half the price and did a fantastic job. The concentrate allows you the ability to make stronger weed killer for those tough weeds or light concentrate for grass edging.This product did the job for half price.
Pros: Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Norman Park, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does NOT work

PostedMay 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Mix as directed and applied to weeds and I think they got bigger. A waste of time and money is my opinion.
Cons: doesn't work, waste of time, waste of money
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for the price

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I didn't want to spend a ton of money on weed killer and this product fit the bill perfectly. It doesnt kill the weeds as fast as some other products but it does work well. It also was able to kill some ivy that other big name brands had not. Also I like the concentrated version so you can up the does on harder to kill weeds. Overall great product.
Pros: Multi Use, Strong, Great Quality
Cons: slow
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Charlotte NC

HDX Weed and Grass Killer is chemically the same as Roundup Super Concentrate but cost a lot less

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the same thing as Round up but it costs a lot less. In the past, I would order the generic from Amazon. Now, HDX brand price is very competitive compared to Amazon. Unless there is a pricing change, I will buy it from HD.
See the yard that is free of weeds
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Waco, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I think I got pranked... is this really water?

PostedApril 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I tried this product - twice - and it never worked. Tried on many different types of weeds, and different levels of concentration. I'm convinced I actually helped the weeds by spraying HDX on them. If you are looking for an excellent weed stimulant, I recommend HDX.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Winter Park, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No.

PostedMay 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product will not work. My weeds seem to love it and they are alive as ever.
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Surprise, AZ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible stuff, barely works if at all....

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I mixed up a 1 gallon mix with the required amount, and after nearly 3 weeks the weeds are still alive. I even sprayed the weeds rather heavy and made sure it was a cool day so the spray would not evaporate off quickly.
Just like the insecticides that the EPA has so watered down and ineffective they are doing the same thing with weed killer. One might as well be spraying the weeds with water.
I am trying a re-treat again with 7 times the required mix in a gallon to see if that has any more effect. Though I should not have to mix the stuff so strong and use it so heavily that I use 1/3 of a bottle in a 1 gallon sprayer to kill normal weeds.
Cons: ineffective at "stated" ratios
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not so great

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I read the reviews on this product I attributed the bad reviews to people who didn't apply it properly, or perhaps used it right before a rain shower. To all of you, I apologize. You were right to give a bad review. This product is a waste of time. Given a couple of weeks it will make a few varieties of weeds a little sick, but total kill is wishful thinking. I thought glyphosate was all the same, but obviously that's not the case. Spend a little more, get the name brand stuff, and you'll be much happier.
Pros: cheap
Cons: doesn't do the job
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Chattanooga TN

Works, but doesn't show results for several days

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased and have used this weed killer for a month or so. Product works, as far as killing, but it doesn't show immediate results like roundup. I keep spraying the same weeds in a few days thinking that I missed them. Would recommend some sort of additive that helps see what has been sprayed and what has not.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Wilton Manors, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product. Highly concentrated so the amount goes a long way and is much more successful in killing weeds than round-up.
I used this especially to kill Mexican Petunias - which have incredibly deep root systems and are notoriously hard to kill. One application killed 95% of a 10x10' area.
Pros: Strong, Great Quality, cheaper than round-up
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Northern VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor product

PostedMay 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this based on the fact that it is very concentrated. Regardless this stuff doesn't work even at 3-4x the recommended amount. I have bought other HDX products and found them to be a good value but steer clear of this one.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Monument, CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked for me on difficult grass

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I read all the different reviews and mixed as directed. Used a hand garden sprayer and made one application early morning on expected hot day. (USED 1/2 of dawn dish soap in sprayer) Did a great job. I did make second application in areas of heavy growth three days later and killed it all. I have no complaints.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Mckees Rocks
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BE PATIENT

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this product because I needed something heavy duty to kill some very stubborn persistent weeds in my gravel driveway.Read some very negative reviews after I applied the concetrated weed killer. Was a little upset that I may have just bought a bad product. Well the next day came and didn't look like it did anything. So I waited and waited finally 3 days later the weeds appeared to be dying. After about a week they were completly dead. Be PATIENT give it a least 3-4 days and you will be very happy with the results.GOOD PRODUCT.
Pros: Great Quality
Cons: takes a while to work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from 32826
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked as it said it would. Cheaper than the other brand and just as good.

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I mixed the product according to directions and it worked very well. i won't bother buying the more expensive brands thinking the more expensive the better thry will work.
Pros: it works!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Simpliy did not work at all

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I mixed the product as instructed on the label and applied as directed. Three weeks later I'm looking at the weeds and they look fine. Round up would have killed them dead in a week. Do not waste your time and money on this stuff.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works, but takes time

PostedJune 10, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have to follow up on an earlier review where I said this didn't kill anything. I sprayed mostly thistle and dandylion around my house. After 2 days nothing was even wilted. After a week 1/3 of the weeds were dead, 1/3 were dying, but 1/3 were still ok. After 2 weeks everything was dead, dead to the roots, dead thistle plants pulled out roots and all. The grass around where I sprayed was dead for 6-8 inches back from the little bit of over spray that got on it. It was another 2 weeks before anything new even sprouted where I had sprayed. So yes, it works well, it just takes time. I wonder if other reviewers had this experience and didn't follow up with a new review.
Pros: good value, kills weeds completely
Cons: slow to start working
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Bartlett, suburb of Memphis, TN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Effective

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As effective as the much more expensive name brand glysophate. Instructions for use are quite clear. I highly recommend this product.
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Useless Product

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Absolutely useless. Spend a few more dollars and buy the real stuff. Went by the directions for the first spray. 90 % of grass and weeds still green and growing 3 days later. Just poured the rest of the bottle, half, into 1 gallon water and mixed. Sprayed same areas again, just to get rid of it. Buy the name brand and you will be dollars ahead...
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Sneedville, TN 37869, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product worked well for what I used it for

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I found this product to work very well. I sprayed my fences and out buildings and within a few days the weeds were dying..I hate to weed-eat..will buy this again.
Pros: Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

worthless

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Took almost a week to start to work and had to do a second application and had to double the amount to use.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>