728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Care or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

HDX Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate kills unwanted plants by inhibiting the production of a substance found only in plants. It enters through the sprayed foliage and moves down to the roots. Avoid direct spray or drift onto desirable plants, lawn grasses, shrubs and trees. Protect desirable plants and vegetation with a piece of plastic or cardboard. If desirable plants are accidently sprayed, wash with water immediately. Any HDX Weed & Grass Killer Concentrate that is not absorbed by the plant is broken down into natural materials. This product has no soil activity. Do not mow, cut or otherwise disturb treated vegetation for at least 7 days following application. Most treated weeds usually show initial symptoms in 2-4 days and complete kill in 1-2 weeks.
Overall rating:
2.969 / 5
3
 / 
5
(64 reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
54%of customersrecommend this product33 of 61reviews
Rating Breakdown 64 reviews
3.0 out of 5.0
5
(22)
4
(11)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(28)
Quality 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
54%of customersrecommend this product33 of 61reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
Review 1 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
Todd
from Waco, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I think I got pranked... is this really water?

PostedApril 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I tried this product - twice - and it never worked. Tried on many different types of weeds, and different levels of concentration. I'm convinced I actually helped the weeds by spraying HDX on them. If you are looking for an excellent weed stimulant, I recommend HDX.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
azpyroguy
from Surprise, AZ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible stuff, barely works if at all....

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I mixed up a 1 gallon mix with the required amount, and after nearly 3 weeks the weeds are still alive. I even sprayed the weeds rather heavy and made sure it was a cool day so the spray would not evaporate off quickly.
Just like the insecticides that the EPA has so watered down and ineffective they are doing the same thing with weed killer. One might as well be spraying the weeds with water.
I am trying a re-treat again with 7 times the required mix in a gallon to see if that has any more effect. Though I should not have to mix the stuff so strong and use it so heavily that I use 1/3 of a bottle in a 1 gallon sprayer to kill normal weeds.
Cons: ineffective at "stated" ratios
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
woods007
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Simpliy did not work at all

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I mixed the product as instructed on the label and applied as directed. Three weeks later I'm looking at the weeds and they look fine. Round up would have killed them dead in a week. Do not waste your time and money on this stuff.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
Dockside
from florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Useless Product

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Absolutely useless. Spend a few more dollars and buy the real stuff. Went by the directions for the first spray. 90 % of grass and weeds still green and growing 3 days later. Just poured the rest of the bottle, half, into 1 gallon water and mixed. Sprayed same areas again, just to get rid of it. Buy the name brand and you will be dollars ahead...
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
GreenThumb

worthless

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Took almost a week to start to work and had to do a second application and had to double the amount to use.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
night
from Orlando, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

total product failure

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
2 applications nothing happened. 3 days in between.
weeds loved it
Cons: did not work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
tjcarita
from St. Augustine, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I read the other reviews and had to see for myself

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read how some people said it don't work waist of money and so on.
I'm 67 and have owned 4 homes over the years and I have used many products to keep the weed or overgrowth under control. I took a chance to save a few bucks and bought some HDX Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate. I can tell you this. It takes a few days or a week or more depends on how mother nature is acting. But while I wasn't looking, every weed and grass blade I hit with this stuff died completely. Worked like a charm! Ok, Now for the negative part. Be very careful that you don't OVERSPRAY this onto an area you DO NOT want to kill. No wind what so ever when spraying. You will be sorry you if your not very careful! I take every precaution when spraying any vegetation killer and with this product you need to be even more careful where you spray it. I had my doubts about this product because it was much less in cost but don't be fooled by the cost and the people that say it don't work. This kind of talk can bring you to letting your guard down when applying this product if you ever do use it and that would be a big mistake!!!
BE VERY CARFULL using this potent Grass and Weed Killer!!!!!!!!
Pros: Strong, Great Quality, excellent weed killer give it time to work, kills the grass and weed dead!, great price
Cons: none, con's about this product are all wrong!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
1956
from Yavapai County, Arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works well

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in the high desert in Arizona. Our weeds are quite hardy. I found if you use 3 1/2 ounces it will kill just about anything. Do not be stingy really soak the weeds and be patient, it will work. I can go through at least 5 gallons of prepared solution at a time. It averages out to about a dollar a gallon the way I mix it which is very reasonable. RU is good but I have had weeds and desert grass that will not die out completely so I would have to spray them again with it. HD works better for my purpose. Also if you check it out the same people who make HD weed and grass killer are the same ones who make Spectracide.
Pros: good value
Cons: takes awhile to work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
devlin1k
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works, but takes time

PostedJune 10, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have to follow up on an earlier review where I said this didn't kill anything. I sprayed mostly thistle and dandylion around my house. After 2 days nothing was even wilted. After a week 1/3 of the weeds were dead, 1/3 were dying, but 1/3 were still ok. After 2 weeks everything was dead, dead to the roots, dead thistle plants pulled out roots and all. The grass around where I sprayed was dead for 6-8 inches back from the little bit of over spray that got on it. It was another 2 weeks before anything new even sprouted where I had sprayed. So yes, it works well, it just takes time. I wonder if other reviewers had this experience and didn't follow up with a new review.
Pros: good value, kills weeds completely
Cons: slow to start working
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
Pete
from Vancouver Wa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worst weed and grass killer i've ever used

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
mixed 2 gal as instructions say, 2 weeks later no visiable sign of anything even wilting, doubled the amount and got the same results, even poured full strenght on some weeds and grass, a week later there was some yellowing but they still continued to grow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
Chainranch
from Glendale
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

weed killer

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very good product used in landscaping business very reliable definitely recommend
Pros: Multi Use, Functionality, Durable, Easy to Clean, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
Lionel
from Houston, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good Product

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It takes longer to kill weeds than Roundup but on the other hand they seem to stay dead longer. I use this around fence lines and it flat kills everything that gets sprayed. Again it take longer, maybe a week or two but it appears that the weeds are not coming back. I mix about 3 oz to a gallon, 4 if they "look" hard to kill. Good stuff.
Pros: Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
weeder
from arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is slow acting on some weeds but it kills them roots and all. I had faster results with other brands but some of the weeds came back. (new growth on old plants)
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
intheweeds
from Tampa. Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very slow acting

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you are accustomed to using Roundup and bought this as less expensive alternative, don't expect to see similar results. I have two different homes I need to exercise some kind of weed control at. One house the weed killer is primarily used to spray borders for easier mowing and control of weeds in a paver driveway. With Roundup you can easily see in a day if you missed anything or not. Even applying HDX exactly as directed you often have to wait a week or more to see results. The second home is in the Florida Keys with a rock lawn where anything that grows is sprayed. I get the same results there, it's difficult to know if you do a good job or not, especially if you aren't going to be there for a long enough period to see if you got all the weeds killed.I haven't tried increasing the concentration, yet anyway. if you have to double it up to make it work like Roundup, you may as well buy the Roundup. A laymen's read of the ingredients made me think this was enough alike Roundup to be effective, but it isn't
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
Azwild
from Casa Grande, AZ, USA

Would not buy again

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Mixed as directed and used as directed produced little results. Waited one week to see if it was just a little slow. Tripled the mixture and weeds started to die off more quickly. Have used ground clear with much better results.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
Icetea1228
from Laveen Village, Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This produce is terrible.

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product don't work at all basically garbage! It don't work at all!
Cons: useless in killing weeds or grasses!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
BigLink

works great

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It needed a few days to see the results but it killed my winter weeds.
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
Cindy

Kills from the root and kills completely!

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just 1 month, and everything is dead dead.
To me, 1 month is pretty fast for what this product does, which is killing the entire plant from foliage all the way down to the roots. Don't be put off by the other negative reviews, they are inaccurate because the reviewers did not allow enough time to pass to see the actual results, and the actual results blew me away. If you are a patient person like me, you will be awarded with amazing results. I think it is rather irresponsible for those other reviewers to ultimately benefit from using this product and not remembering or not bothering to come back to this website and update their reviews to reflect the changes. It's not fair for them to bash a product that works extremely well and deserves recognition.
This is an outstanding herbicide. I highly recommend this product.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
David
from Cathedral City, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not worth buying!

PostedMay 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I didn't believe the reviews of HDX so I bought a 32 oz. bottle and tried a test against my regular weed killer. I sprayed half a mound of grass with HDX and the other half with my regular weed killer using their recommended formulas. I photographed the results at 24 hours.
The HDX half shows no signs of change. The other half is already brown. See photo.
Cons: disappointing
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-5points
3out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
Yardie
from VA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is overall a good weedkiller but not the best

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I liked the compact container but did not like the whole mixing part of it. It did the job but it took way more time than the direction said. I was really looking for something that would kill in a day...and turn everything brown and dry. I was trying to reseed a large area. It did not work as well as the other leading weed/lawn killer. You will need to be patient.
Pros: mix only what is needed for the job
Cons: will need to have a spray gun, mixing /measuring can be messy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>