728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

HDX Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate kills unwanted plants by inhibiting the production of a substance found only in plants. It enters through the sprayed foliage and moves down to the roots. Avoid direct spray or drift onto desirable plants, lawn grasses, shrubs and trees. Protect desirable plants and vegetation with a piece of plastic or cardboard. If desirable plants are accidently sprayed, wash with water immediately. Any HDX Weed & Grass Killer Concentrate that is not absorbed by the plant is broken down into natural materials. This product has no soil activity. Do not mow, cut or otherwise disturb treated vegetation for at least 7 days following application. Most treated weeds usually show initial symptoms in 2-4 days and complete kill in 1-2 weeks.
Overall rating:
3.398 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(181 reviews) 181
Open Ratings Snapshot
64%of customersrecommend this product113 of 176reviews
Rating Breakdown 181 reviews
3.4 out of 5
5
(79)
4
(32)
3
(8)
2
(6)
1
(56)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
64%of customersrecommend this product113 of 176reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer reviews for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
Review 1 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Parks, Louisiana
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best weed killer ever.

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product, like all HD brand items, is an exceptional value. It really works as advertised. I have been really satisfied with all HD products.
Pros: Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Phoenix AZ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Napalm for weeds

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the second season that I am using this product. In this Phoenix, AZ climate, weeds grow at insane rates after pretty much any rain fall that occurs. I personally make the mix stronger than suggested...1/4 cup to one gallon, and the results are fantastic....no weeds, no complaints from the HOA, one happy homeowner!
Pros: Strong
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Albuquerque nm
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awsome

PostedApril 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worked great! results in two days. You have to spray a lot but for the comparable prices it's worth it and works better. Use at at work and home!
Pros: Strong
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Chula Vista
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

kill the weeds

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great stuff as good as round up. It takes about a week but then your weeds are dead.
Pros: Durable, Strong
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

Ineffective. Tried to save $3 but wasted $20.

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Whoever finally sells a less-expensive substitute for RoundUp is going to make millions, and they will deserve every penny of it. But this is not that product.
Following the instructions precisely this product has failed to kill any of the weeds, grasses, and other plants I sprayed it on. Tried again at double, triple, and even quadruple the per-gallon concentrations directed in the instructions, and over a week later the weeds were all still doing just fine. I might as well have given them a glass of water and a bedtime story.
Follow the instructions still does not work = product fail.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Oxford, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

HDX vs. Roundup

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the HDX concentrate, which has 41% of the active weed killer ingredient compared to Round UP, which has 18% because I though I would get more for my money. Although, the HDX store brand is more than twice as strong it still doesn't kill the weeds like Round UP will. Some of the reviews I read said HDX works just as well but it takes up to a couple of weeks. My question is...if HDX is more than twice as strong then why doesn't it kill the weeds as quickly or quicker than Round Up, which will kill the weeds in a couple of days. I waited two weeks before writing this review and there is very little signs of it working any where near as well as Round Up.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Lake Wales ,Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

killed them weeds and unwanted grass

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Weed and grass killer at half the price and did a fantastic job. The concentrate allows you the ability to make stronger weed killer for those tough weeds or light concentrate for grass edging.This product did the job for half price.
Pros: Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from NW Missouri
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Might as well have flushed $20 down the toilet

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is, easily, the worst weed killer I've ever tried. First, I mixed it as per directions and it did absolutely nothing to the weeds. I waited a few days and tried it at double strength, still no results. I kept checking the label to make sure it wasn't a weed fertilizer. I might as well have taken a $20 bill and flushed it down the toilet. That would have been as effective as this awful product and would have saved me some time.
Cons: worthless
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Georgia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Slow, but good!

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product kills weeds and undesired plants. I like that it is concentrated because you aren't buying a bunch of water. It is very easy to mix up into a sprayer. The product is very effective but you should note that it takes one to two weeks for plants to show signs of dying if you use the recommended concentration. So if you need something to work overnight go with Roundup or use more of the product when mixing up a batch. This is one of the advantages in that you can control the percentage of this product in what you are spraying.
If you can wait some and want to save money this product is very effective. I have purchased this product many times and have no problems waiting the extra week or so for items to die off. If you spray this product often weeds shouldn't even start growing in the first place. Do keep in mind this product kills any plants so becareful what you spray it on.
Pros: Great Quality
Cons: not as fast as roundup
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Portland, Oregon
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Invasive weed killer

PostedApril 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Worked well on a very invasive weed when other products did not.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

works well

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I used to get HDX solution to rid all of weeds for 1000 sq ft back yard. Works really well. It takes about 3-4 days to see the real result after you spray solution.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

grass killer? Maybe not.

PostedMarch 28, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
I have been trying to kill off my entire yard of bermuda grass. I hate that grass. I sprayed the heck out of it. So far no dead grass. I will spray again and hope it works.
Read the percentage of active ingredient and compare. This stuff should be killing my grass on contact
The jury is still out. I will have to wait and see. It is still too soon to tell.
I might need nuclear reactors to kill bermudagrass. Agent orange?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Wpb
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works perfectly

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Great product, but could have a better price
Work on all sorts of weeds
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Mesa, AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent Product!

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For a fraction of the cost, this works just the same as Roundup.
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

Does not work

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Roundup always works great. This generic glyphosate is worthless. Have used other generic glyphosate solutions with good results. Do not buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Charlotte NC

HDX Weed and Grass Killer is chemically the same as Roundup Super Concentrate but cost a lot less

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the same thing as Round up but it costs a lot less. In the past, I would order the generic from Amazon. Now, HDX brand price is very competitive compared to Amazon. Unless there is a pricing change, I will buy it from HD.
See the yard that is free of weeds
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate

The best

PostedMarch 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product work very good the weeds took about a week to go down but it's prefect ,the price is perfect for the results I got .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DIDN'T KILL ANYTHING, JUST MY TIME.

PostedMarch 22, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Followed instructions to the letter, turned a few weeds yellow and that was it.......returned unused portion to HD and received store credit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from fort myers fl
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buy round up brand

PostedDecember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I always bought round up concentrate and it worked great. Within a day I would see results.
This stuff takes way to long to work if it even does. (two weeks average or longer) I could have plucked my whole yard by now. I bought it because it was cheaper and appeared by the label to be stronger. Well every time I use it, a week later I am re-spraying the same weeds. Round up brand, this never happened. It also says it must be above 60F and sunny. Well I live in Florida and in July it worked a little, and now with the high of 80F in December it did not work at all. So this product must only work in Arizona in record temps.
Since applying this for my last time I decided to share my opinion. I will go back to round up brand.
I hope this helps your next purchase. I wish it had another use besides just watering my weeds. Instead waste of money.
Pros: no pros
Cons: waste of time and money
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 32 oz. Weed and Grass Killer Concentrate
from Mesa, AZ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You might as well spray straight tap water on your weeds. Buy Roundup

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've always cringed spraying $20 bottles of Roundup around the yard so when an employee recommended this concentrate I thought I found the alternative I was looking for. I guess the active ingredient alone isn't enough to go by because this stuff does NOTHING (and I use more than the recommended mix). I guess it's back to Roundup.
Cons: doesn't kill weeds
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>